About La Provence

Country French inspired restaurant. At La Provence, “cooking with heart” means everything. The menu blithely ignores the cutting edge of urban contemporary French food, and instead reflects the time-honored, time-consuming rustic techniques that in turn reflect the rugged earthiness of the ingredients.

25020 Highway 190
Lacombe, LA 70445
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Wednesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 3:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(985) 626-7662

Website:
http://www.laprovencerestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
From New Orleans: Take I10 west to Causeway Blvd. North towards Mandeville, approximately 24 miles. Upon exiting the bridge stay right on
Highway 190 East. Continue on 190 East approximately 8miles. La Provence will be located on your right side 2 miles past Fountainbleau State
Park.

Executive Chef:
Erick Loos IV

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Fireplace, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

At La Provence, we have a private dining room available for social and corporate events, with seating for up to 75 and 125 guests reception style. The beautiful Garden Room features a large fireplace, custom artwork and opens on to the courtyard with fountain.

La Provence Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (38)
Good for Anniversaries (38)
Good for a Date (34)
See All
Worth the Drive (34)
Local Ingredients (33)
Special Occasion (33)
Creative Cuisine (32)
Cozy (31)
Quiet Conversation (31)
Authentic (24)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Fireplace (20)
Notable Wine List (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Seasonal (13)
Great for Brunch (13)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Historic (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Organic (7)
Private Room (7)
Business Meals (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Casual (5)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Family Style (3)
Scenic View (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Healthy (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Vegan (2)
Fun (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
1488 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Excellent Food and Service. As everyone said the Patè is out of this world!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 18, 2017

We had a great experience and will be back again soon.
One of the owners, Jennifer took a personal interest in helping us celebrate our anniversary. Very thoughtful and nice!
Thank you

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Very nice atmosphere and the food was really good. The Ambiance was nice with authentic French touches.

Tags: Fireplace, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 14, 2017

La Provence was very accommodating of our 6 adult & 2 child party. The 3-course brunch menu was a big hit with our guests from out of town. The children loved seeing the pigs and chickens in the back of the restaurant. The staff was friendly and the food was delicious. We'll definitely be back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Fun, Historic, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Good for Groups, Fireplace, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We had a lovely Mother's Day brunch. The Oysters Ooh La La was delicious and my entree, the chicken dish was very good - however, it was overly salted.
The ambience and the grounds are beautiful. Will definitely return again.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We went for Mother's Day 2017. The food was very good, but not really worth the pricetag, especially the children's menu options.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 13, 2017

This was a combination of birthday and Mother's Day and both of us were impressed with the flavor and the amount of the food. It was costly but I did not feel cheated as I have in others. This meal was worth the cost. We will be back possible to try the price fixe meal.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 12, 2017

La Provence was a wonderful experience. The staff was very attentive, friendly and the food was delicious and creative. Everything we ordered was fabulous. We had a beautiful evening and the restaurant will be definitely on our list whenever we're in New Orleans!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Very knowledgeable staff. Wonderful food cooked perfectly. They even suggested a stroll around the garden before the third and finishing course. So much for the Restaraunt is raised/ grown on site. The ambiance is probably the best I've experienced. This is just a great experience on all levels. It's well worth the short drive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Fantastic dinner - wonderful appetizers authentic french appetizers and main courses. The restaurant is a fair drive from NO, and we traveled with Uber there - fortunately our driver was willing to come back for us or it would have been difficult to get back to hotel, but was worth the trip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Again, kind of pointless to review Le Provence. The food, the service, the ambience, the entire dining experience; all perfect. I could tell you our choices, but that's up to the individual anyway.

Everything was perfect.

They start with incredible pate and crostini.

She had the warm mushroom salad, I had the diver scallops, both perfect.

A glass of Riesling. Great.

She had the puppy drum with crab and I had the duck. You know my opinion.

A glass of Pinot Noir. Also great.

Perfect coffee.

Did something we never do. Two desserts instead of sharing one. The vanilla bean creme brûlée with liqueur marinated berries and a cookie. Also the unbelievers chocolate cake with peanut butter ice cream and amaretto meringue (it had a different name).

Wow. Just wow.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Organic, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Good for a Date, Authentic, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 4, 2017

John Besh sold La Provence to the right folks (Eric & Jennifer Hunter). The new owners (husband chef and wife manager) are super nice and will go above and beyond to make your experience a good (to great) one. We ate there on my wife's birthday (made no mention of that) last Thursday. My bride had the Warm Mushroom Salad to begin, followed by the Gulf Puppy Drum. She reports both as excellent. Along with a French Cab (she drinks red with everything). After my required Sazarac, it was on to the excellent Quail (dirty rice stuffed) Gumbo followed by the equally delightful Duckling entree. We finished with the Creme Brulee - topped with a shortbread cookie and red wine stewed berries. My favorite dessert...and it was a great end to our meal. Karen, our waitress, could not have been better - warm, informative & very attentive. I expect La Provence will remain the top restaurant on the Nothshore and equal to the best in NOLA. We shall be returning.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 3, 2017

La Provence is under new ownership, but the quality has not declined. Our vegan meal was delicious!!!! The rest of our part was not vegan and enjoyed every bite! The new chef & his wife will continue with the creative, delectable, farm to table type food. I wish them much success!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Vegan, Good for Groups, Cozy, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 30, 2017

This was truly one of the best meals I have had in a while

My only complaint was that it was very warm in the restaurant; but the food was amazing.

Tags: Scenic View, Family Style, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Food was excellent. Tenderloin was the best ever. Duck was good. Service was super. Disappointed in the wine list and the bar based on the website.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Great food and service. Would highly recommend and will come again.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 29, 2017

From beginning to end absolutely perfect! The house made Pate, which is presented before bread and butter, is perfectly smooth and delicious. Knowledgeable help with wine selection. My first course was the Seared Diver Scallops with green garlic puree, garden pea tendrils, pickled carrot, grapefruit. My main course was the Pan Seared Gulf Puppy Drum jumbo lump crabmeat, mushrooms, brown butter hollandaise sauce. Both completely fantastic! The service is impeccable. Great knowledge of the menu and helpful descriptions and suggestions. Our waitress was very nice, giving us extra pate and bread to take home. Highly recommended!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Received undivided attention from our server/bartender, Brittany. Wonderful food and overall experience. Definitely worth a drive from New Orleans (or stay in a less expensive hotel somewhere on the North Shore)

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 22, 2017

It had been several months since we last dined at La Provence - it was one of our favorite places for special occasions. But this meal was very disappointing. The chef appears to have altered the preparation of various dishes and added new ones that are unappealing. For example, I chose a gazpacho from the prix fixe menu as a starter, and instead of the usual cold soup, I was presented with a luke warm dish whose taste was interesting, but that lacked the zest of its namesake. My wife's chopped salad with shrimp was truly bizarre and unappetizing. On to the main course: both my wife's puppy drum and my striploin were properly cooked, but both also were over seasoned - not spicy, but too much salt was added.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 15, 2017

my wife and I celebrated our 10th anniversary here, it was wonderful. The service is always very good, and the food is extremely good. We enjoyed appetizers of diver seared scallops and oysters oh la la. For our entree I had the Pan Seared Gulf Puppy Drum and my wife had the Slow roasted glazed duckling.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 13, 2017

My fourth visit to La Provence over the last 40 years - it is my favorite all time restaurant - food, service - second to none

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Private Chef's tour! They out did themselves. Spectacular!

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Coffee, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Frickin a-maz-ing!! This was a great experience, awesome food, awesome setting. I cant wait to bring my husband and friends back for another great meal!

Tags: Fireplace, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Organic, Cozy, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 2, 2017

This was our fist time dining there for brunch. Very tasty! We can't wait t go back and try the Oysters Ooh La La.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Celebrating my birthday. LaProvence is a world class restaurant by any measure. Authentic food and a wine list that is selected to fit the food, rather than the trends. Best service staff, too. A must visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Sat us next to the bar and the restaurant was not full. Shame on us for not asking to be moved before we were settled in. The food was good BUT, not 'Besh' good. My Salmon was medium when ordered medium rare. The cooked oyster appetizer was slightly over cooked also. The dinner bread was late to the table and not worth the calories. Good drinks, good service, no issues there. It is just when you are paying those prices, you expect much better.

Been here several times and always very impressed but missed this time!!!

Disappointed........

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Another year of marriage and another great meal. Would reccomend this place to anyone.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 31, 2017

This is a great restaurant away from the hustle of New Orleans. We love it and make a detour to La Provence every time we visit New Orleans. The manager, Dale makes everyone feel at home. Our server, Miranda, was friendly without being obtrusive, and anticipated our every need. I can't wait to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 30, 2017

My wife and I went to La Provence for a weeknight meal just to spend some time together. The food was amazing- there was a special sausage plate appetizer I'd recommend. We both got fish for entrees and both were amazing.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Casual, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Food was outstanding as was the service. Pricey, but wonderful destination for special occasion or treat. If on the menu, order the diver scallops, outstanding.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The smoked duck was good but a little salty. Everyone said their meal was really good. The service was great and we enjoyed ourselves a lot. I would repeat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The food and service was above average. The blue crab bisque was outstanding.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Did not disappoint. So pleased with the food and the service. They made a special occasion even more special with complimentary drinks and dessert l, and well the food - amazing!

Tags: Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Wood Oven, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The restaurant provides a cozy setting with a great ambience. The food has a delicious combination of flavors.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The chef made my husband and I a very delectable vegan meal. It's nice to have a chef that will accept the challenge and present us with tasty beautiful vegan dishes. Our other party enjoyed their food as well. The quail gumbo and drum were among the favorites!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We were seated in front of the open fireplace. It was a great experience

Tags: Fireplace, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Mississippi)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Always a great experience! Romantic rooms with fireplaces! Food is wonderful and unique! A Northshore jem for special occasions!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Historic, Fireplace, Bar Seating, Cozy, Business Meals, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Have always wanted to go here but never made "the drive" across the lake, then decided during a stay-cation to just do it. It was delightful. A 2 1/2 hours dinner. Great ambiance. Delicious food... some unique take on sauces, but just read the description well. The redfish, butter lettuce salad and cheesecake with rasberries was delicious.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We were visiting in New Orleans from Los Angeles for mardigras with family...
First of all at arrival at your restaurant, your wonderful vegetable gardens and space around your place...
The beautiful choice of food and wines and the recipes...
We were exploring and we found full satisfaction after our endless drive over the bridge...
It was a great experience all together...

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Cozy, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Molecular Gastronomy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 19, 2017

As always the food was excellent. Love the ambiance. Worth the drive from New Orleans on a pretty day. Bar is slow but drinks were good.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.