About La Provence

25020 Highway 190
Lacombe, LA 70445
View Larger Map

Country French inspired restaurant. At La Provence, “cooking with heart” means everything. The menu blithely ignores the cutting edge of urban contemporary French food, and instead reflects the time-honored, time-consuming rustic techniques that in turn reflect the rugged earthiness of the ingredients.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Wednesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 3:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(985) 626-7662

Website:
http://www.laprovencerestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
From New Orleans: Take I10 west to Causeway Blvd. North towards Mandeville, approximately 24 miles. Upon exiting the bridge stay right on
Highway 190 East. Continue on 190 East approximately 8miles. La Provence will be located on your right side 2 miles past Fountainbleau State
Park.

Executive Chef:
Erick Loos IV

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Fireplace, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

At La Provence, we have a private dining room available for social and corporate events, with seating for up to 75 and 125 guests reception style. The beautiful Garden Room features a large fireplace, custom artwork and opens on to the courtyard with fountain.

La Provence Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (44)
Good for Anniversaries (43)
Special Occasion (39)
See All
Local Ingredients (38)
Worth the Drive (37)
Cozy (37)
Creative Cuisine (35)
Good for a Date (35)
Fireplace (33)
Quiet Conversation (28)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Authentic (19)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Seasonal (16)
Great for Brunch (13)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Notable Wine List (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Historic (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Business Meals (5)
Organic (5)
Family Style (5)
Wood Oven (4)
Casual (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Private Room (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Fun (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Spicy (1)
People Watching (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
S
1448 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 19, 2017

As always the food was excellent. Love the ambiance. Worth the drive from New Orleans on a pretty day. Bar is slow but drinks were good.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The food was outstanding and the service was intelligent and sincere. The Oooh la la oysters were fantastic...beet salad and crab bisque delicious. We had the puppy drum which was very good. Our drinks were on time and again our service pleasant. We will definitely be back! Thank you!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Organic, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Disappointing...limited and unimaginative menu, at premium prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 18, 2017

This is a wonderful restaurant tucked away in sleepy LaCombe. I've been coming here for 20 years and John Besh has done a marvelous job of keeping it the cozy, romantic find that it is. Besh is known for his use and love of local ingredients and it's no different here. The food is delicious, thoughtful and downright sexy. The atmosphere is warm and charming. Think French farm chic. Service is attentive and knowledgeable. This is a perfect for a date or special occasion or if you want a luscious meal and don't want to head across the lake... LaProvence is among the few top notch restaurants on the North shore.

Tags: Cozy, Family Style, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Best food- had the lamb- will have again

Sat near fire place- unique

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I was so excited to eat here after hearing great things. It was Valentine's and my wedding anniversary, the food was absolutely horrible! How does a Besh restaurant mess up crab bisque?? Nothing was seasoned, not the bisque, not the rack of lamb, nothing. My husband's filet had a musky aftertaste. The worst meal I've ever spent over $100 on.

Tags: Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Outstanding food and preparation. Would highly recommend for a special occasion.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My wife and I went for Valentine's day. I ordered the special for the day and it was disappointing in general but in particular for this restaurant. It was a pasta dish with seafood. The oysters were barely cooked and dominated the entire dish. It was like eating a raw oyster pasta.

My wife's selection was from the regular menu and was good.

My server was new, someone they just brought on for the day. She was very nice but did not know anything about the menu.

I will go again, but not for a special occassion. They were not at their best.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We've been to this restaurant half a dozen times and it is consistently great.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Excellent food, great menu and very warm inviting ambiance!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Wonderful meal. Excellent waitress. My husband and I will be coming back.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Always a great experience. Excellent food, great service.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Wife and I enjoyed our first experience to one of Besh's restaurants. The service was great. The staff was very friendly and the food was great. I must say the after dinner French press coffee was the best I ever had. If you haven't been to LA Provance, you need to try it. Enjoy!!!

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Family Style, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 11, 2017

A great restaurant for a quiet and delicious dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 10, 2017

LaProvence is an excellent destination restaurant on the Northshore of Lake Ponchartrain. Service is first class and the food will exceed your expectations. The quaintness of the restaurant, along with an outdoor patio to enjoy, makes your experience even that much more enjoyable. The quality of fresh ingredients and a menu that highlights those local ingredients takes LaProvence a step above the rest.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Private Room, Historic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Groups, Fireplace, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 5, 2017

First time here. Much anticipated. Not disappointed. Drove 2 hours to meet family for Sunday brunch. Everyone was very happy with meal. A little disappointing that some of items were not available. The service we received from Miranda was excellent. We look forward to coming here again. We have eaten at other Besh restuarants but did not enjoy as much as this one.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Lovely brunch for my great aunts 95th birthday, they even gave us a celebratory glass of champagne.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Always great food and service Very special restaurant with great ambiance. You feel like you are really in the French countryside.

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Wonderful food in rustic/lodge style restaurant on a rural setting. Will go back next time we're in the area.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Wednesday dinner night out with another couple. Quiet with nice music softly playing in the background. Attentive service, knowledgeable about menu options. One of our party has gluten allergy, our server made recommendations to accommodate that issue. We each got a different entree and were thoroughly pleased. There is a working farm on the property that provides some of the products used in the kitchen. The quality/taste of the meal reflects the commitment to using fresh, locally sourced ingredients. The price also reflects the thought and care that goes into preparing the food. Certainly not cheap, but several notches above most of the other "nice" restaurants in the area.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Nice set up. Good creative food. The warm mushroom dish was excellent. Overall a very good experience. Only downside is that it's a bit pricy!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Chef Eric took down my dietary restrictions and prepared a perfect meal for me! We love La Provence every time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Outstanding country French cuisine in a casual, intimate setting. Simple, elegant usage of local (as in, backyard farm) ingredients. It was our first visit since 1998 and was well worth the drive from New Orleans. Hope I have business in The Big Easy soon, so we can return for another excellent dining experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 15, 2017

La Provence is a wonderful tradition in our family and is always a memorable occasion, with fabulous food, excellent service, in an atmosphere that evokes a French restaurant in the countryside.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 15, 2017

It was an amazing meal and experience! We love this place. The food is top notch! I would recommend this restaurant for any special occasion or just a wonderful night out!

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 15, 2017

My experience was fantastic beginning to end. One of the best meals i have had. If hangar steak is on the menu, get it! Your taste buds will thank you. Went for birthday celebration and was treated like a king. Great drinks.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 15, 2017

I thought the food was delicious however it was lukewarm. I like a hot plate and hot food. It was so delicious though. I had the puppy drum and the brussel sprouts were really great. I just do not understand why a fabulous restaurant like this can serve lukewarm food. My husband had the 3 coarse meal and his soup was lukewarm. We both agreed the food was delicious .

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We appreciated the quality of food and excellent service. The warm, friendly atmosphere added to our family birthday experience. Much enjoyed!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 14, 2017

Although the service was very good, I am not sure the food selection was worth the price. I knew that this was a pricey restaurant and I don't mind paying for great service and taste this only reached the very good level. The salad was a half head of lettuce with a butter sauce that was extremely difficult to finish. A choice of dressings may have helped, but some additions would have made it a bit more tasty.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We had an incredible experience. The food was excellent and the staff was friendly and accommodating. We look forward to coming back with friends.

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Organic, Quiet Conversation, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Always love our meal at La Provence! I am a fan of ordering what is in season locally and they are wonderful about offering these choices all across the menu, from cocktails to dessert!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 7, 2017

we were freezing cold. drafty. the few tables seated in front of the fireplace were lucky. with so many great restaurants in new orleans i have a hard time sending people to the north shore for just an okay one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Was incredibly underwhelmed. If you are asked to spend 700 dollars on a meal at a restaurant with an outstanding reputation and John Besh's name attached, you expect absolutely delicious, perfect food. The food was either overdone or completely lacking. In the past, this has been my wife's favorite restaurant, but after Friday night, I will be reluctant to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 6, 2017

The food was fabulous! The wait staff was very friendly and attentive. And, as always the restaurant is simply beautiful.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Great food and service! Was not rushed through the meal. Great place for a special occasion. Great ambience with fireplace. Would definitely return.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Cozy, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Our first time dining at Chef Besh' restaurant. Wonderful rustic atmosphere and very friendly service. Food left a little to be desired but overall great experience!!!

Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Romantic, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Cozy, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We went for New Years Eve, and it was just what we wanted! New Orleans quality food without the traffic, especially on a holiday. We left full, but not uncomfortably so even though we ate every last bite of the 4 course meal. We also left smelling like the wood burning fire place which was kinda nice too. The only complaint was the price was high, but for the quality, ambiance, and not having to go to the city on a holiday, it was pretty much a fair trade.

Tags: Special Occasion, Spicy, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 31, 2016

On our recent visit to La Provence, we had a lovely meal. By far, La Provence is the best restaurant on the Northshore, and one of the top dining spots in all of the New Orleans metro area. We had the kale salad with roasted mushrooms and the beet and crab salad to start. Such great flavors. Loved both dishes. I had the lamb and my husband had mahi. Great plates, both perfectly prepared. Superb service. The atmosphere evokes Southern France, especially on winter nights when the fireplace is lit. Love this place.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great romantic French-country restaurant with exceptional food and service. Our pre-dinner drinks at the bar were smooth and delicious. My wife had amazing venison on the Réveillon Dinner and I had the pork chop. Both food selections were top notch. Overall this place is really special and we will be back in the spring.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Night before New Years!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We were celebrating a milestone birthday and it was our first visit to the restaurant. It exceeded our expectations. We were greeted with champagne, which was an unexpected surprise. From the appetizers to the entrée and dessert, everything was perfection. The food was delicious, our server was magnificent, we couldn't ask for anything more. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 29, 2016

La Provence has always been consistently good. Our dinner did not disappoint. One of our party required gluten free options and there were many. Was a lovely evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The restaurant was a huge disappointment on Christmas Day due to the menu offerings that had been sold out....Prime Rib and Goose, two Christmas traditions. The chef was not able to substitute and the remaining offerings were not appealing to our party....a local lake fish, wild boar with pasta, shrimp with pasta and a venison offering with an additional $27 charge. The manager appropriately comped the round of cocktails and a bottle of wine that we ordered. The reviews and star ratings built up our excitement to be able to travel over two thousand miles for a culinary holiday and it was not met.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Had Ms. Brittany (Britney ?) for a waitress. Told her how much we appreciated her working Christmas Day so people like us had some good food to experience.She looked a little tired but took fine care of my wife and me. Liked the setting,liked my food and will return when we can...

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Have been here many times. The food is always wonderful, the service just seem to run into a snag at the end of the meal. Once the entree's were dropped we seemed to be ignored. After entrée plates were removed we had about a 45 minute gap of any table visit or maintenance. Has never really happened before so I with out a doubt be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Dinner on Christmas Eve started with being seated 30 minutes late. It seemed as though the restaurant was not staffed adequately as service was a bit slow. The food was very good and overall it was a nice experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 25, 2016

When you spend 600.00

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 24, 2016

This is a special place to enjoy the consumption of food at leisure, and without any annoyances. We have given several of our friends, a gift certificate for their pleasure in dining.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 18, 2016

As usual, great food!! My other half loves the pumpkin soup. Karen, our server, who is THE best!, last time said they were not going to have it on themenu this season. Then a couple of weeks passed and she called me and said she talked to the chef and if we give him a couple of days, he would make ir specially for her!! And that they did!!

Great place!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fireplace, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 18, 2016

My meal was extraordinary two of my colleagues didn't fare so well

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.