Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 0.78mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 0.78mi
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

Miku RestaurantMiku Restaurant
(2247)
$$$$
Japanese | Coal Harbour, Vancouver
Booked 155 times today
NightingaleNightingale
(904)
$$$$
Canadian | Coal Harbour, Vancouver
Booked 131 times today
Osteria Savio VolpeOsteria Savio Volpe
(685)
$$$$
Italian | Mount Pleasant, Vancouver
Booked 66 times today
Blue Water CafeBlue Water Cafe
(3421)
$$$$
Seafood | Yaletown, Vancouver
Booked 116 times today
Minami RestaurantMinami Restaurant
(982)
$$$$
Japanese | Yaletown, Vancouver
Booked 65 times today
L'Abattoir RestaurantL'Abattoir Restaurant
(2054)
$$$$
French | Gastown, Vancouver
Booked 61 times today
Arriva RistoranteArriva Ristorante
(190)
$$$$
Italian | Commercial Drive, Vancouver
Booked 3 times today
Hawksworth RestaurantHawksworth Restaurant
(2076)
$$$$
Canadian | Downtown, Vancouver
Booked 76 times today
Seasons in the ParkSeasons in the Park
(3027)
$$$$
Northwest | Riley Park, Vancouver
Booked 72 times today
Lupo Restaurant & VinotecaLupo Restaurant & Vinoteca
(1682)
$$$$
Italian | Yaletown, Vancouver
Booked 39 times today
Joe Fortes Seafood & Chop HouseJoe Fortes Seafood & Chop House
(3338)
$$$$
Seafood | West End, Vancouver
Booked 128 times today
Bauhaus RestaurantBauhaus Restaurant
(400)
$$$$
Modern European | Gastown, Vancouver
Booked 29 times today
Federico's Supper ClubFederico's Supper Club
(600)
$$$$
Italian | Commercial Drive, Vancouver
Booked 6 times today
Black & Blue SteakhouseBlack & Blue Steakhouse
(1872)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Downtown, Vancouver
Booked 28 times today
The Teahouse RestaurantThe Teahouse Restaurant
(1996)
$$$$
Northwest | Stanley Park, Vancouver
Booked 63 times today

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 0.78mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 0.78mi

About La Mezcaleria

La Mezcaleria in Vancouver, sources ingredients locally to create Mexican recipes, as well as serving ocean-friendly seafood options. La Mezcaleria also serves a wide variety of the highest-quality mezcals and tequila cocktails inspired by different regions in Mexico.

For brunch, lunch or dinner, you�ll find dishes inspired by classical, Mexican favorites at La Mezcaleria. Tacos with an assortment of meats like carne asada, al pastor and tinga de pollo are available. You can also order other entr�es like the pancita en salsa verde, parrillada de mariscos, queso fundido and much more. Drinks on the menu include a huge assortment of mezcals and tequilas, as well as cocktails specialty cocktails like the lost lake and Pablito�s way.

1622 Commercial Drive
Vancouver, BC V5L 3Y4
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mexican

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am.

Cross Street:
1st Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(604) 559-8226

Website:
http://lamezcaleria.ca/

Sort By:
S
27 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 10, 2014

The food was amazing! We were at a table behind the band and it was definitely hard to talk or hear each other a lot of the time. The music was very good though, authentic Mexican :) The service was also very good, Friendly waiter and no complaints here. They brought our friend the Birthday boy a nice little Birthday desert which was very tasty!

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 31, 2014

Amazing vibe in this little restaurant! Food was great, service good too. They were very accommodating with our large group. I spent my birthday there and would definitely recommend La Mezcaleria for an occasion or any night!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 28, 2014

Great Mexican food, authentic and delicious. Service was good, prices were decent, and did I mention that the food was like taking a trip to Mexico? Queso Fundido is a must, the tuna ceviche was fantastic. I'd recommend eating "Mexican Familia Style", just order a bunch of stuff and share it around, you won't be able to go wrong. Definitely recommend going with a few people so you can make a reservation and not have to wait at the door.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 25, 2014

They have live entertainment and talking amongst yourselves is not an option, you have to yell. Food is over rated, we tried 5 dishes and only the lamb was decent. The fish tacos had very little fish but lots of fillers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2

 
 (México)·Dined on June 21, 2014

Prices are fair, but the food was not that good and the service was not very amicable. It looks like you're just one more client. They don't care at all about you while you're waiting for a table. I think the experience starts from the moment you step into the restaurant and ends till you leave.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 27, 2014

They were so accommodating with our reservation and the service was great. The food was AWESOME and so authentic. I can't wait to come back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 23, 2014

Great room, innovative menu, excellent service. Refreshing for the Drive!
Our 8 year old says she liked the food, and loved the virgin piña colada!
Luckily we made an early reservation, the lineup we passed on our way out looked to be punishing.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 21, 2014

A high energy atmosphere with great food. Worth the long wait if you enjoy the loud vibe, are in the mood to be part of this youthful and busy big city scene and don't want to have a serious conversation. Has more drinks offerings than food. Service is professional and efficient

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 20, 2014

Went to La Mezcaleria to celebrate a birthday. Food was very tasty and perfect for sharing. Didn't get to try many of the drinks on offer as it was a weeknight but our server Megan was awesome, very knowledgeable about the menu, traditions and stories behind the food! Would highly recommend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 14, 2014

Very loud- in the corner during a band playing the whole time. Stuck in a small corner. Food felt overpriced. Charged extra for limes due to a "lime shortage". It was not worth the hype

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 19, 2014

This is a entertaining restaurant -- upscale food and drinks. The atmosphere is busy, noisy, and active. Most times I visited, there were some children next to us. The staff are happy, knowledgable, and accommodating. The food is well prepared, and we have enjoyed sitting at the bar and watching how the chefs prepare the various selections. Everything we tried was well prepared, but the Enchiladas were my favourite. The Cheese fondue appetizer was a highlight for our group. It was my wife's birthday, and the staff provided a delicious complimentary Creme Carmel in recognition of her special day. Good service, good food, and a happy atmosphere are a great mix.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 4, 2014

I stumbled upon this place about two months ago and I could not be happier that I did!! This is my absolute new place to go to. The staff are not only super friendly, but the vibe of the restaurant is awesome. The food is also pretty amazing!!! Highly recommended!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 1, 2014

as was the tequila! Will definitely go back. Vegan and vegetarian friendly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 29, 2014

I have searched far and wide for good authentic Mexican food in Vancouver and have yet again been very disappointed. After this latest experience, I may have to give up the search entirely. This place was so well rated by others but I have no idea why. The food is not authentic at all. The guac, salsas and the tacos (we tried 4 kinds!) were bland even with the hot sauce - something you would never associate with Mexican food. The ceviches (we ordered both) were....greasy and bland, when they should be refreshing and tangy. In my book, if a restaurant can't make a decent guac and salsa, it can't call itself a Mexican restaurant. To be fair though, service was excellent and the ambiance was fun and hip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 22, 2014

Second time here and will continue to come back! Excellent food, tasty cocktails and friendly, fast service. The queso fundido and guacamole are must have starters. The enchiladas clasicas are simple yet delicious and I was very impressed with the flavours of the vegan vege parillada. Be prepared to wait for a table if you don't have a reservation...it's worth it though!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 20, 2014

Food = awesome
Service = very quick and attentive
Ambience = loved the kitchen and bar, the only thing is the music was pounding a little too loud for my tastes. It's great that everyone was talking so loudly in the restaurant but in a group of 6 it was a little hard to hear my friends at times from across the table.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 1, 2014

Love this place, very easy to eat here often. Authentic Mexican food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 29, 2014

Excellent food and service! We had not been to commercial drive for dinner for awhile and enjoyed our experience immensely

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 24, 2014

I made a reservation a few nights in advance and they had a table ready for us when we arrived at 10pm. It was fairly busy with an upbeat atmosphere. It was late night and most of our group had been drinking so we stuck to the basics of drinks and tacos. We all ordered from the variety of tacos listed on their menu, everyone said the pollo con mole, al pastor and cachete were all very fresh and very tasty.

I had a Negra Modelo beer and a few friends bought me a flight of Mezcal for my birthday. The Mexican drinks went perfect with the assortment of great tacos.

Overall, great place to be with friends and I'd like to try other items on their menu sometime.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 4, 2014

Loved the fun ambience of this small Commercial Drive Restaurant. Enjoyed sharing all the tasty Mexican fusion dishes with our friends and the lively music and atmosphere made for a memorable evening. It was a great choice for a small group gathering. If you are looking for romantic and quiet, however, I would maybe try it out in a weeknight as weekends are pretty vibrant!

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 7, 2013

the food here is excellent - particularly for the completely reasonable prices (at least for the tacos - other menu items are significantly more expensive). drinks were great. service was fine - nothing too special and it seemed like perhaps they needed a few more staff on to adequately cover the tables. ambience up in front is great - i would specifically request to be up there next time - we were put in the back corner and it felt pretty removed from the rest of the restaurant and was pretty drafty/you got a lot of the noise from the dish room. that said, i would definitely go back here.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 26, 2013

I was so disappointed with La Mexcaleria, since the reviews I have read were glowing. We arrived at 6:30 and received a glass of water 15 minutes later and as I was about to ask for a stronger drink the server raced off into the crowd. Another 10 minutes pass and finally someone comes to take our order for the alcohol! So we waited 30 minutes to get our first drink. We were then finally asked for our food order. We all ordered various tacos. Such a disappointment. Boring to look at and the meat and fish were dry. We left feeling hungry and MUCH lighter in our wallets. Never again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 16, 2013

La Mezcaleria came very highly recommended so my expectations were very high. Many highlights on the night.
Small, but impressive craft beer list. Enthusiastic, knowledgeable staff. Great atmosphere. We were a group of 5 and we shared a few item to start and then all had tacos for entrees. The made to order guacamole was as good as I have ever had. Queso fundido was a highlight. The flavours developed as it sat at the table. My biggest surprise was the ceviche flight. I didn't think I would enjoy it as much as I did. Not enough room here to break it down, all I can say is order it, you won't be disappointed. Everyone's tacos were superb as well. All and all, the bar was set very high and La Mezcaleria over delivered.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 13, 2013

Very impressed with the food at La Mezcaleria. Cheese was tasty and a good novelty with the hot stone bowl. Ceviches were nice (had the sampler). Everyone enjoyed their meals - tacos, short ribs, etc. Also enjoyed the variety of hot sauces and strong margaritas. Definitely disappointing in the service department though. Our server was fairly attentive, but sour faced and not friendly. I still don't understand why restaurants hire rude people - so common in Vancouver. Maybe they turn on the charm in the interview or are a friend or something, but it doesn't make for a pleasurable dining experience. Might go back but hope they reconsider their servers soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 8, 2013

Great little spot for dinner with friends. You can spend a little (4 tacos for $9) or a lot (lenthy list of tequila & mezcal and many amazing food choices)!
The cheese fondue was delish! And the mezcal margarita is a good requirement when visiting a "mezcaleria"!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 3, 2013

The cheese volcano was aaamaazzinnngg!!! We had two - may have been to much - love the tequila and mezcal list - unabashed about no wine in the house - one can always get a bottle to bring from Liberty next door...
The food was flavourful and similar to what I have eaten south of the border (Mexico not US) as opposed to bland American take on latin american food. Their salsas were fresh and authentic. Guacamole better than I can make - go figure!
Staff was friendly and helpful and didn't laugh at my fractured attempts to speak Spanish. Lots of energy in the place - not for a romantic dinner for two if you like to have quiet conversation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 2, 2013

Finding authentic, great food in Van can be tough, especially if you've travelled a lot. This place has some of the best Mexican food in town: the real deal, actually spicy (they offer 4 salsas - go for the habanero one if you like heat) but with creative, refined spins. Brought a gang there and we had a great time, feeling cozy and festive enough to stay till closing. We had the vegan tacos, the carnivore one too, vegetarian portobello plate and the fondue. All excellent. Only downsides were that the cocktails, though creative, were badly balanced - will stick to the straight up tequila next time for which they have an extensive selection. Our server changed half way through and forgot desert. All the same can't wait to return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.