Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

About La Mar Cebicheria Peruana

Inspired by the thousands of cebicherias found throughout Peru, La Mar Cebicheri­a Peruana, was created as an attempt to globalize and enshrine one of the best guarded treasures of Peruvian cuisine: cebiche, Peruvian seafood and the scenery created to enjoy them, the Peruvian style cebicheria.

Pier 1 1/2
San Francisco, CA 94111
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Peruvian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: 7 days a week 11:30am - 2:30pm

Dinner: 7 days a week

Sunday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Washington and The Embarcadero

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 397-8880

Website:
http://www.lamarsf.com/

Entertainment:
Happy Hour Every day 3:00pm - 6:00pm

Parking Details:
Parking can be found on Pier 3.
Lunch: $10 for first 2 hours ($5 each additional hour)
Dinner: $20 Flat rate

There is also a public parking across the street on the Northwest corner of Washington St. and the Embarcadero.

Public Transit:
Muni:

To Embarcadero & Washington or Steuart & Market

BART:

To Embarcadero Station

Public Water Taxi Service: There is a public pier behind the restaurant, for small boats to park free for a maximum of 3 hours.

Executive Chef:
Gastón Acurio / Victoriano Lopez

Private Party Facilities:
We are open for private events ranging from 14 - 200 guests and can cater to your every need.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Go to Lamarsf.com to check out our weekly specials!

* Patio seating is on a first come first serve basis and cannot be guaranteed.
** Individual items may be subject to change depending on availability









Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

La Mar Cebicheria Peruana Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (113)
Creative Cuisine (84)
Scenic View (82)
See All
Fit for Foodies (82)
Special Occasion (76)
Good for a Date (70)
Authentic (65)
Great for Outdoor Dining (65)
Fun (53)
Good for Groups (49)
Business Meals (45)
Great for Lunch (36)
Good for Birthdays (35)
Good for Anniversaries (35)
Tapas (35)
Handcrafted Cocktails (35)
Hot Spot (34)
Tasting Menu (34)
Romantic (32)
Worth the Drive (29)
Vibrant Bar Scene (28)
Casual (27)
Notable Wine List (22)
Spicy (21)
Bar Seating (20)
Happy Hour (20)
People Watching (16)
Good Vegetarian Options (15)
Local Ingredients (14)
Gluten Free Options (13)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Paleo Friendly (10)
Cozy (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Disabled Access (8)
Great for Brunch (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Organic (6)
Seasonal (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Great Beer (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Live Music (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
4016 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined a day ago

We had dinner at 8:30 on a Saturday and the place was booming. I would definitely go back because the service was incredible and the food was excellent as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined a day ago

Amazing service. Incredible food. Always a good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined a day ago

Awesome food and ambience... sat outside and it was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined a day ago

Great food as always but service needs so work. It was a very different experience than dinner service. It took 10 minutes after being seated to get drinks ordered. Our server only came by twice - take the initial food order and to bring us the check. And he gave us the check for another table. Not sure if it was an off day for La Mar, but our server was definitely checked out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined a day ago

Great service with lots of suggestions to try different flavors and dishes. Chocolate mousse was unique and wonderful. Love this place.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

Had an amazing time at La Mar - good food, good drink, and good company. Will definitely return!

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Waterfront, Business Meals, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Wonderful food and ambient

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

I really appreciated the food, service (awesome) and place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Manuel provided excellent and professional customer service! We will go back!

Tags: Waterfront, Good Vegetarian Options, Scenic View, Happy Hour, Romantic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

The food is always so wonderful and tasty and speaks for itself.John was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Amazing food. Great service. Not noisy. One of the top restaurants around.

Tags: Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

First-rate, world-class food. My second visit, and I can't wait to return. The perfect combination that won't shred your wallet: the 4 ceviches and the roasted vegetable plate. More than enough for two. Then, if you feel like it, their toasted quinoa, chocolate mousse, and lucuma ice cream is a perfect combination of flavors and textures.

Tags: People Watching, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 18, 2017

It was our first visit. We booked on Open Table and I made sure to mention that it was our Anniversary so I was surprised when we were seated on the long bench where all the tables were a foot apart. This is the only reason I am giving 4 stars instead of 5.

The food was amazing and our waiter was personable and knowledgeable. We had the cebiche sampler. Definitely something to try! And our waiter brought us bubbles to toast our anniversary. Such a sweet touch.

We will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Fabulous in all regards. Every bite delicious. Wait staff exceptional, no interrupting of conversations, plates removed professionally. Can you please teach other restaurants??

Tags: Fun, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 17, 2017

The best Peruvian Food in the West Coast. Fresh and seasonal ingredients, beautiful colors in the food, and pleasing presentation of the food. The services also reminded me of the great service received at La Mar's in Lima, Peru.

Tags: Bar Seating, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 16, 2017

A little pricey for what you get, but the ceviches were delicious. With a seemingly large bar, it's Too bad they doesn't accomodate regular cocktails... they only offer their own specialty drinks.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 15, 2017

we had a superb waiter, helpful and knowledgable. The tuna cerviche was fabulous. Overall, different, exciting food and good wine.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Authentic, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

Very nice restaurant, too loud but service was nice and food was very good (we took many fish to share, salmon, tuna and clamps - all very good)

Tags: Waterfront, Fun, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 13, 2017

I wanted to order the entire menu and got a severe case of plate envy when looking around my table of 8.

Great authentic & funky Peruvian food, great spot for views out of the back of the restaurant.

Tags: Scenic View, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 12, 2017

The Service was horrible, all The people of The restuarnt have a bad attitude and we're hiring me to leave the restaurant to set table for an Event.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Perfect as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Excellent food in a waterfront atmosphere. Helpful staff.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 9, 2017

If you have an allergy to onions, this is not your place. Everything on the menu has red onions. The waiter was very accommodating in trying to identify dishes that could work, and eventually arrived at a fish with some vegetables and a green salad. When the plate came, the vegetables were grilled with onions and there were shaved onions in the salad. I'm kind of wondering if the chef has stock in an onion farm. So that part of the experience failed. The waiter was great, and apologetic, and they comped us dessert. The mixed drinks were a miss as well - too heavy with sugar. All in all, I won't return. Even without my guest's allergy to onions, I think I'd like a meal with more creativity. And drinks without 50% sugar. Lazy, IMHO.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Everything we ate was perfectly and beautifully prepared and served.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 7, 2017

One of my favorite restaurants in SF -- love coming here. Great ceviches and fish. Try to go with people who will share :)

Tags: Waterfront, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Fun, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Always dependable for good service and food, this restaurant has never disappointed me, thanks and keep up the good work!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

Sophisticate and modern Peruvian food with fresh ingredients and beautiful colors!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 6, 2017

The dressing on the tuna salad was overly sweet. Otherwise amazing ceviche and great ambiance!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 5, 2017

We have been the their flagship restaurant in Lima and were very excited to try this location. The food was fantastic and one of our favorites of the trip! Anyone who appreciates seafood (or any sushi lovers) should not miss the opportunity to try Peruvian ceviche and tiradito at La Mar

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 4, 2017

I booked La Mar for my niece's birthday and had never been there before. It looked like a nice place to go on the water and offered a nice variety of seafood, which was a priority since my niece and daughter are both pescatarians. We arrived and we're seated at a lovely outside table and were offered menus and the waiter explained the menu. We ended up ordering a sampling plate of the ceviche-like bowls to share which was $45 for 4 very small bowls of ceviche each with a different fish and different sauce. It was good, not great and had a lot of beans in place of fish. We also had one order of octopus, one order of a seafood paella which had one large shrimp and a few tiny shrimps and the rest was rice. Definitely not enough seafood to command the very hefty price.
All in all we had one glass of Pinot Grigio, two cocktails, one non alcoholic beverage, one entree and two appetizers. The bill came to $173 without the tip! That seems outrageous given the amount of seafood on the plate. It's not as if we each had a giant plate of lobster.
The ambiance is nice but as we sat there it got very busy and we lost contact with our waiter and had to wait a long time for the bill.
Don't think I will go out of my way to go back.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 4, 2017

We have been there several times before and I always suggested it to my visitors because we always had a good time. This time was NOT a very memorable dinner. Strating with the hostess and finishing with the food. Everything we ordered was MEDIOCRE . One thing it was not mediocre was our bill. One more thing, every Chinaware used to served our $34 apetiizer was chipped.
Too bad and BYE La Mar!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

Very busy and it seemed staff could be overwhelmed at times, but they were very courteous and helpful when available. The food is outstanding--fancy versions of coastal Peruvian seafood and indigenous highland cuisine. Unexpectedly generous portions and incredibly fish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 4, 2017

We went to La Mar for the first time on Sunday, Sept. 3, 2017. We were intrigued by the menu and looked forward to this dinner. We were seated right away but that was the first and last thing to go well. We waited a long time just to get beverages. We ordered dinner and waited a long time, so long that the manager came over and offered us more drinks. We declined. Then
the main course came for two of us but not for the third in our party. We were finished with our
meal when he finally got his and he sent it back because it was no longer wanted. We left a small tip but we paid nothing for the meal. The whole meal was comped! That tells you how the manager felt about our service ! We will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

I love the place. Good food and great ambience! Quick service.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Great for Outdoor Dining, Organic, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 3, 2017

We love Peruvian food and had heard good things about this restaurant. It is a bit pricy, but the food is fresh, authentic, and delicious. We had a couple of appetizers--tiraditos (Peruvian sashimi) and ceviche, of course--and then split the whole charred octopus, accompanied by Pisco Sours. Delicious!

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 3, 2017

I'd give service 5 stars except that the hostess was so miserable to talk to

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 3, 2017

We were seated quickly upon arrival. The staff person taking care of us was attentive, knowledgeable and friendly. The pisco sour was one of the best I've had in the States. The food was delicious! We were seated next to friends and colleagues. We were able to share some of the starters and catch up on news.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Ceviche sampler and empanada sampler both wonderful. The classic Causa was fantastic as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 2, 2017

La Mar is an exquisite restaurant with a beautiful view of the bay. Great place for a romantic date. Our server explained the menu and answered our questions. Really liked the lomo saltado and seafood dishes. Overall, a positive dining experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Seasonal, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 2, 2017

A friend had recommended the restaurant to to me, and I am very glad that she did.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.