About La Mar Cebicheria Peruana

Pier 1 1/2
San Francisco, CA 94111
View Larger Map

Inspired by the thousands of cebicherias found throughout Peru, La Mar Cebicheri­a Peruana, was created as an attempt to globalize and enshrine one of the best guarded treasures of Peruvian cuisine: cebiche, Peruvian seafood and the scenery created to enjoy them, the Peruvian style cebicheria.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Peruvian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: 7 days a week 11:30am - 2:30pm

Dinner: 7 days a week

Sunday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Washington and The Embarcadero

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 397-8880

Website:
http://www.lamarsf.com/

Entertainment:
Happy Hour Every day 3:00pm - 6:00pm

Parking Details:
Parking can be found on Pier 3.
Lunch: $10 for first 2 hours ($5 each additional hour)
Dinner: $20 Flat rate

There is also a public parking across the street on the Northwest corner of Washington St. and the Embarcadero.

Public Transit:
Muni:

To Embarcadero & Washington or Steuart & Market

BART:

To Embarcadero Station

Public Water Taxi Service: There is a public pier behind the restaurant, for small boats to park free for a maximum of 3 hours.

Executive Chef:
Gastón Acurio / Victoriano Lopez

Private Party Facilities:
We are open for private events ranging from 14 - 200 guests and can cater to your every need.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Go to Lamarsf.com to check out our weekly specials!

* Patio seating is on a first come first serve basis and cannot be guaranteed.
** Individual items may be subject to change depending on availability









Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

La Mar Cebicheria Peruana Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (79)
Fit for Foodies (62)
Good for a Date (57)
See All
Creative Cuisine (55)
Scenic View (55)
Special Occasion (46)
Authentic (44)
Good for Groups (40)
Fun (40)
Good for Birthdays (34)
Handcrafted Cocktails (34)
Tapas (33)
Good for Anniversaries (32)
Great for Outdoor Dining (28)
Business Meals (26)
Modern Decor (26)
Bar Seating (25)
Hot Spot (24)
Romantic (24)
Great for Lunch (22)
Casual (21)
People Watching (19)
Happy Hour (19)
Healthy (18)
Tasting Menu (18)
Open Kitchen (18)
Worth the Drive (16)
Family Style (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Notable Wine List (13)
Local Ingredients (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Spicy (10)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Cozy (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Organic (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Seasonal (2)
Private Room (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Vegan (1)
Great Beer (1)
Fireplace (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
3667 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Happy Hour drinks were amazing.

Good flavors at good value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

This was our second visit and it was as good as the first. We highly recommend La Mar! Great service! Fair pricing! And exceptional food!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Waterfront, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Delicious and unique food, nicely presented. Prices are unreasonable though . $240 for lunch for 4 and 4 glasses of wine. Crazy! Women's restroom had moldy tiles and stained floor from leaky toilet. Ugh.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Great visit again whilst in SFO but didn't enjoy being seated in the make-shift dining area near the front bar which was freezing. Shame for this usual diner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Simply excellent food and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on February 15, 2017

La Mar is one of the best Peruvian restaurants in town! Great vibes, super hip. My dad lives in San Diego and flies each year for his bday just to eat at La Mar 💕

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Spicy, Family Style, Happy Hour, People Watching, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Tapas, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Great for Brunch, Fireplace, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 15, 2017

Business dinner on Valentine's Day, so a bit awkward in the candlelit patio but pretty nonetheless. Awful part was getting the worst food poisoning I've ever had: 11 hours of expelling dinner from La Mar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

 
·Dined on February 15, 2017

A taste of Peru with an American twist. I was just in Peru the prior two weeks so eating here was interewting to see what they did. The dishes were well done and highly seasoned and visually well presented. Taste wise they captured the Peruvian taste but was localized for an upscale American restaurant. Most of the dishes we ate in Peru were less seasoned and complex.

The food was worth the visit. The service was less then desired.

I will blame that on Valentines day. We were very rushed to order and our dishes served instantly. The servers were not on thier game and conistently delivered the wrong drinks and dishes to us.

Tags: Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
·Dined on February 13, 2017

Great flavor combinations. Happy hour excellent. Highly recommended.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 12, 2017

If you haven't been, it is worth going. If you have you know it is worth going back. The chebiche and nigiri samplers are nearly a meal to themselves. Dinner portions are HUGE and probably best shared.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on February 12, 2017

Ceviche was awesome but entree was so, so. Fish over cooked. Service was terrible. Waiter was surly and it took 35 minutes to get first drink and appetizers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
·Dined on February 12, 2017

Drinks were delicious but weak. The cerviche wasn't as good as usual

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
·Dined on February 11, 2017

The experience was amazing. Great food, great view, and great service.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food is excellent and the atmosphere is certainly like a large restaurant with much noise. But it was also perfect for having a child with us. Overall pretty satisfied.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 11, 2017

An pretty easy going guy here who likes dine nicely bout 1x a month. Usually write 5 star reviews here on Open Table - but just cannot for this place.

Ordered New York steak and their version of paella, some white egg cocktail and some wine we didn't want. Both my date and I got sick! The paella, tasted like a soggy mess with some sauce drizzled on top. I ate a third, as my date took bites too.

The server suggested some wine to go with the steak. I did not order it but it was brought to our table anyway. Wanted to have a good evening so didn't argue with the server. With this and both of us getting sick the next morning, I AM NEVER GOING BACK! Last night was like the bad Sex and the City episode. I don't want re live the memory of soggy paella with frequent trips, throughout the nite afterward to you know WHERE!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value3

 
·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great service, and very attentive, friendly, and personable staff, from the time you enter until you leave (but not overbearing). Food was very tasty, as always, and we enjoyed our dining experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on February 7, 2017

Food doesn't taste the same.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on February 5, 2017

The food was outstanding but it was a little bit noisy. Service was good and it was a vibrant scene with great views.

Tags: Authentic, Scenic View, People Watching, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on February 5, 2017

La Mar was a great date place! I went on a Saturday night around 7:15pm, and sat in the patio area. I wish the weather was nicer, but it was quite gloomy and cold outside. We sat underneath heaters though, which was great. The restaurant wasn't too busy until 8:00pm. The patio had a more quiet, romantic ambiance - perfect for a date. The inside was a more lively - better for larger groups and social gatherings.

Food:

  1. The banana chips and sauce were amazing and complimentary!

  2. Classic ceviche tasted so good. Possibly my most favorite dish of the night. The fish was extremely fresh, and the acidity was spot on. Initially, I imagined this ceviche dish to be a salsa for chips, but the dish was a decent sized fish dish - no chips! It didn't need the chips at all.

  3. La Mar Arroz was pretty tasty. I liked the variety of seafood included.

  4. Octopus skewer dish was okay. My boyfriend and I weren't the biggest fans. I liked the salad and mashed potatoes that it came with though.

Drinks:

I ordered the passion daquiri. I loved it! I could barely taste the alcohol, but still felt it throughout the meal. I would definitely order it again.

Service:

Our waiter was very sweet and attentive. He described the dishes well and checked in on us often.

Note: only service dogs are allowed.

Tags: Romantic, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on February 5, 2017

Delicious with attentive service in a unique setting.

Tags: Family Style, Waterfront, Open Kitchen, People Watching, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 5, 2017

Very courteous team from the time we arrived to the time we left!! Everyone was very respectful and really great!

My friends arrived much later than expected, and the staff gave me a Pisco Sour on the house. Delicious! It was a very kind gesture and did not go unnoticed. I think the management does something special each time I come here, and I feel very grateful. Their attention to hospitality is really one of their greatest strengths.

The food was spectacular as always. Fun presentation. And full of flavor! We had a mix of empanada sampler and causa sampler, anticuchos de corazón, and lomo saltado. Along with pisco sours and chicha morada for drinks. As a Peruvian, La Mar is still the Crown Jewel of Peruvian cuisine in SF.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 5, 2017

Empanadas too cheesy for price

Lost taste w mostly cheese and fried pastry

Good salmon nothing extra special -

Pulpo ok .

Best thing we're small pisco sours

Too exp for what you get

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
·Dined on February 4, 2017

Normally I love La Mar and have always recommended it to friends and family as a great Peruvian spot with incredible ceviche! The food was gorgeous and delicious but definitely not the refined experience I'm used to having there. We were seated outside around 230 and were surrounded by families with kids watching movies (audibly). When we were wrapping up the staff was quick to clear our food, even though I still had food on my plate. The waiter also cleared my drink that wasn't done yet! I'll likely try somewhere else next time as the experience related to the cost wasn't there for me.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great food and very friendly service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on February 4, 2017

We had ceviche for starter and halibut for main course. very fresh and delicious.

Excellent service.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 3, 2017

Always wanted to have a proper meal here after many bar visits. It did not disappoint! I learned that family style is the tip since many of the killer dishes are basically whole fish. Everything is great for sharing and service support this model. Everything is fresh, crisp flavored and diverse - spicey/sweet, savory, etc. I cannot think of one item that was noticeably overdone. Each dish had great balance and flavor. Everything is fresh, fresh, fresh. Drinks and wine were all phenomenal too.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Healthy, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on February 3, 2017

A wonderful surprise! The food was fantastic and unexpected. Didn't realize all of the Japanese and African influences in the food. Service was well paced and very knowledgeable

Tags: Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on February 1, 2017

This is a special place. The food is beautifully presented, but more importantly it is so delicious. A lively and fun place to be as well.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Waterfront, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
·Dined on January 30, 2017

Even though we had a reservation for 8:15, we got seated right away when we arrived at 8pm. Our waitress was really knowledgeable about the menu and provided us the best options to order enough to share around the table. Everything came out beautifully, and we were stuffed! Not the type of restaurant I would come to on a daily basis because of the prices, but it was perfect for a special occasion. Would recommend! :)

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Tapas, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on January 30, 2017

La Mar is a special place. Casual dining with an interesting mix of people. The food is stunning, but we had to go back another night to complete sampling the incredible Peruvian dishes. Portions are large and beautifully presented. Servers are very helpful with the challenging menu. Just a fabulous evening.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on January 29, 2017

We had ceviche combo, octopus on skewer, halibut special & squid ink pasta with dungeness crab special. Specials could feed (2) people & were excellent. However, they were $69 & $58 respectively. Lunch with tip & taxes for (4) was almost $150 / couple. Pretty pricy but very tasty.

Tags: Waterfront, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on January 29, 2017

The service was slow. We made a reservation for 7 people for brunch at noon. Our waiter discouraged us from getting the SF dine week option said it was for kids. We still ordered that option and it was plenty of food. Our ceviche appetizer never came out and he recommended it. We asked for only 1 order of the dessert to go and he made all of them to go.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
·Dined on January 29, 2017

We learned a VERY expensive lesson on Sunday. NEVER order the specials without asking price. $65 for a halibut dish? $58 for a crab and pasta dish? We usually love this restaurant, but $222 (BEFORE TIP) for a brunch for three people (no alcohol, one appetizer, three entree's, no dessert) is utterly RIDICULOUS. If I had known the prices, I would have told the server they were cold by the time they made it to our table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

 
·Dined on January 28, 2017

Food is really good, everything we have tasted. However it's expensive

Hostess are not really friendly, Latino people are normally really friendly and make you feel welcome, this was not the case, definitely a spot for improvement

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value2

 
·Dined on January 28, 2017

Way overpriced for what it is. In the Bay Area there are other, not-Gaston-Arcurio-run Peruvian restaurants that are better for much better value. The Pisco was more a lemonade, the Ceviche half the size of other places and lacked salt, and the rest of the food just ok. To be fair, the Lomo saltado was great. I know I am Peruvian and therefore very critical of the food, but overall, this place is overpriced for tiny portions. I would not recommend it.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
·Dined on January 28, 2017

Tried the 3 entree specials from Restaurant Week. Spectacular

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 28, 2017

Horrible time delays. Service is not efficient.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
·Dined on January 27, 2017

I was looking forward to La Mar and was slightly disappointed in the end. The service was extremely slow (2+ hours for a weekday lunch) and I was mislead by our server. When mentioning the daily specials, he described a grilled halibut dish that sounded perfect. Not once did he mention that this was an ENTIRE grilled halibut that, at market price, ended up costing $70. I was looking for something light and a whole fish did not fit the bill.

As this was a business lunch that was being paid for by my colleague, it was embarrassing to accidentally order the most expensive item on the menu without knowing the full story. I will be sure to ask for more details in the future but I think that details were intentionally left out of his description. Though it was a meal that tasted fine, I was not floored by the extremely slow service, the deceptive lack of description and the tab at the end of the meal. Nice views but not worth the price.

Tags: Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
·Dined on January 27, 2017

Beautiful setting; very mediocre, overpriced food; aggressive service, pushing the sale of dishes, but with a smile.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
·Dined on January 27, 2017

The food and service are always great. The staff is very attentive and knowledgeable of the menu.

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on January 27, 2017

Fish as you've never enjoyed it before...unless you come from Peruvian haute cuisine. Even then, this is a stellar food experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on January 27, 2017

The most interesting and exciting menu. I think the soft belly Tuna was more delicious than anything I have ever eaten. Each bite was a flavor explosion and the plate was massive. OMG.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on January 26, 2017

My coworker and I made reservations explicitly for SF's Restaurant Week. We weren't impressed by La Mar's RW entrees; the pasta was very cheesy (reminded me of Kraft's mac n cheese!), and the chicken dish was heavy on fries and packaged-looking Caesar salad. I'd like to come back and try the normal menu, but I won't fall for RW "deals" again. Service and ambiance were both wonderful, though.

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on January 26, 2017

amazing prix fixe lunch for restaurant week! the soup and cebiche sampler was amazing. the service was attentive but not annoying. it was a gorgeous day on the deck.

Tags: Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 25, 2017

Selected this restaurant since it participated in Restaurant Week. Unfortunately, the online menu advertised a 3-course meal, while in-house, it was only 2 courses. The waiter did an excellent job of offering the advertised 3-course meal, so we had a pleasant time at La Mar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on January 25, 2017

The location is perfect for walking around and viewing the bay after the ferry building. Service is good, wine list is nice. Food is pricy but mostly good. The small plates are great stick with that. The entrees are very expensive and not worth it. It's $$$.

Tags: Tapas, Business Meals, Authentic, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on January 22, 2017

Exciting menu options. Great atmosphere, location and views. Don't pass up the Tres Leches dessert!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Sunday Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on January 22, 2017

Truly excellent flavors, fine cocktails, and excellent attentive staff (even on a very very busy Saturday night) - 2 person dinner with 2 appetizers, 1 split entree, 2 cocktails, and tea & coffee for dessert - total was almost $130. EVERYTHING was absolutely delicious, and the portions were just right (no leftovers). Excellent experience - wonderful view (esp for Lunch) - great staff - just a bit on the pricey side - not a "once a week" destination

Tags: Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Authentic, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on January 21, 2017

I went there for the SF dining week with my family, and it doesn't worth it . Very simple food, nothing special really.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great food and service. Was a little disappointed our "Restaurant Week" prix fixe lunch did not come with dessert as stated on the Restaurant Week homepage. Waiter informed us why but still kinda hurt our experience.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.