Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

About La Mar Cebicheria Peruana

Inspired by the thousands of cebicherias found throughout Peru, La Mar Cebicheri­a Peruana, was created as an attempt to globalize and enshrine one of the best guarded treasures of Peruvian cuisine: cebiche, Peruvian seafood and the scenery created to enjoy them, the Peruvian style cebicheria.

Pier 1 1/2
San Francisco, CA 94111
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Peruvian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: 7 days a week 11:30am - 2:30pm

Dinner: 7 days a week

Sunday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Washington and The Embarcadero

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 397-8880

Website:
http://www.lamarsf.com/

Entertainment:
Happy Hour Every day 3:00pm - 6:00pm

Parking Details:
Parking can be found on Pier 3.
Lunch: $10 for first 2 hours ($5 each additional hour)
Dinner: $20 Flat rate

There is also a public parking across the street on the Northwest corner of Washington St. and the Embarcadero.

Public Transit:
Muni:

To Embarcadero & Washington or Steuart & Market

BART:

To Embarcadero Station

Public Water Taxi Service: There is a public pier behind the restaurant, for small boats to park free for a maximum of 3 hours.

Executive Chef:
Gastón Acurio / Victoriano Lopez

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Go to Lamarsf.com to check out our weekly specials!

* Patio seating is on a first come first serve basis and cannot be guaranteed.
** Individual items may be subject to change depending on availability









Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

La Mar is a stunning, historic setting to host an event with an added Peruvian flare. Inspired by the thousands of Cebicherías found throughout Peru, La Mar Cebichería Peruana was created to globalize and preserve one of the best guarded treasures of Peruvian cuisine: Cebiche.

La Mar Cebicheria Peruana Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (121)
Creative Cuisine (88)
Scenic View (88)
See All
Special Occasion (85)
Fit for Foodies (82)
Good for a Date (77)
Great for Outdoor Dining (73)
Authentic (67)
Fun (60)
Good for Groups (52)
Business Meals (45)
Good for Birthdays (44)
Tapas (43)
Handcrafted Cocktails (40)
Hot Spot (39)
Good for Anniversaries (39)
Tasting Menu (38)
Romantic (33)
Great for Lunch (32)
Worth the Drive (32)
Casual (31)
Vibrant Bar Scene (29)
Notable Wine List (24)
Spicy (23)
Bar Seating (22)
Happy Hour (19)
Local Ingredients (19)
People Watching (18)
Good Vegetarian Options (15)
Gluten Free Options (13)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Cozy (12)
Comfort Food (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Seasonal (9)
Great for Brunch (9)
Disabled Access (8)
Late-night Find (7)
Paleo Friendly (7)
Organic (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Quick Bite (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Great Beer (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Live Music (1)
Live Sports (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
4070 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Consistent and excellent food & drinks. Been here number of times, and still perfect, even though they've changed the format a little. Everything, beginning with the great waitstaff, through the Prickly Pear Margarita, the classic (totally yummy) Cebiche & choco-maracuya dessert were excellent. This is a truly great San Francisco restaurant--always fun, too!

Tags: People Watching, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Waterfront, Tasting Menu, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

As any other Embarcadero restaurant, this place was over priced and not good. The cebiches were mediocre, the waitress took our order and never came back. WE had to hunt someone to get our check and then hunt someone again to pay at the end. Nonetheless, the hostess was very courteous and friendly. We won't be coming back.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

"Gourmet" Peruvian food is delicious, and this place has it nailed.

Tags: Waterfront, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

The only negative was that it was extremely expensive .

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Beautiful restaurant, delicious food. Definitely need more wait staff. We were there 40 minutes & only had water & menus. I know you can do better! You guys were slammed which is great BUT service was seriously lacking which lead to a disappointing experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Dinner and drinks were delicious, service was excellent, and they generously provided a birthday dessert. My only complaint would be that the serving size is small and the prices are high. I would consider this a special occasion place due to the expense.

Tags: Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 10, 2017

tasty peruvian food, excellent fish of the day, nice atmosphere. We had a reservation for 7:15 pm andwere sent to the bar for a few minutes to have a drink, at 8:00 I asked if we could have our table. It was only then we were showed our table. Otherwise everything was good.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 10, 2017

Excellent food and customer service! I dinned here with friends and coworkers to celebrate my birthday and was delighted with the food and with the service. I was expecting more variety of ceviche, comparing to La Mar Lima not much, but overall great! I would definitely recommend it and I will definitely dine there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 9, 2017

Great spot for a girls night out - the food was delicious and visually very nice. The cebiches were fun to share, although we LOVED the causas, particularly the nikei (we shared that one and then the limena as well). Also great cocktails. View wasn't so bad either!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Healthy, Good for Groups, Fun, Waterfront, Tapas, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 8, 2017

The restaurant was slammed on a holiday weekend, but the service was friendly and attentive nonetheless. The menu is interesting, and well explained by our waitress. The only minor issues were some overlooked tuna skewers and the rather high noise level on a busy night. I'd certainly return when next in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Never fail to be pleased with food, ambience and service. Staff is friendly and knowledgeable- welcoming questions and helpful in directing selections. Nice selection of wines.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Tapas, People Watching, Scenic View, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Arrived 45 minutes before our reservation and asked host if that was okay and she said yes but that the only tables she had available were in the sun.We reluctantly agreed.

As we were led to the dining area we see multitudes of available seating. But we were being taken to the furthest table outside the overhead cover under the heat of the sun. We politely asked the person seating us if we could have one of the other tables in the shade and we were accommodated. So, the host at the front was one big fat liar who apparently lies through her teeth with a straight face.

Other than that our servers were very polite and friendly. Took long for our mains to arrive though.

We had the 4 Cebiche combo which was just average. I was expecting the fish meats to have cured somewhat, but the cebiches were very much raw fish cut into cubes with a collection of fresh ingredients and some type of either foamed/cold sauce. The flavors were okay if not typically too acidic. But, there was nothing about it that garnered the exorbitant prices for what was really just a glorified poke dish I could’ve gotten from a poke restaurant for one fourth the price.

I had the salmon over a molded rice/mung bean base with a citrus sauce. Salmon was on point but the base was somewhat starchy and needed an “acquired” taste. My partner had the catch of the day, Tombo Tuna (White or Albacore Tuna). That thing was cooked like there was no tomorrow. It wasn’t charred because the outside was grilled very nicely. But if you were ever in need of a $32 hockey puck, this is the place to go. Just ask for the Tombo Tuna.

The one dish that shined were the complimentary fried plantains with their delicious house sauce. It’s something most would crave for.

Overall, the place was very nice especially on a beautiful clear day. Maybe we just need to know what to order next time (if there is a next time). This experience gets placed in the “did that” category and don’t need to repeat it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Gaston please visit SFO La Mar and taste the Cebiche clasico, I dont think you will approve it

Tags: Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

I requested a table by the dock on my reservation, they didn't comply however the hostess did try to get me one. Their pisco Sour seemed watered down very amateur stuff. Food was great and our table server too.

Yesterday i met with a bar tender friend that worked there and told that the pisco sours in this place are done with a pre assorted mix...no wonder. :/

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Flew to SF from Dallas. We went directly to La Mar...my husband kicking and screaming "no" to La Mar en route.

La mar is superb. Real ceviche, exquisite seafood, authentic empanada. Wine $20 cheaper than Dallas. Angelo's service was impeccable . He patiently explained the nuances ..ceviche vs cebiche, leche de tigre, Tacuba taxi, pisco, ají. Everything we ordered was uncontrived, fresh, healthy including quinoa apple pie/quinoa ice cream. View of Bay, air show overhead, perfect temperature for outdoor lunch!!! Thank you ... and my husband loved our unforgettable afternoon at La Mar

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vegan, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Spicy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Good but a bit noisy and more expensive than expected.
With 15% price reduction it would be better aligned with the quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

It was a great experience dining here! The food and ambiance was superb. The only item I could critique would be the service. It was hard to get our servers attention/place orders as it was very busy there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (London)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Great quality.
Love the empanadas

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Recommemded by a relative, we found the food very good, the service spotty but friendly and the dishes, for the most part, unlike those we have had at Peruvian restaurants in S. Florida. Overall a good experience. Inside very noisy and we chose to eat on the partially enclosed rear patio. Weather was perfect for it. I had the Saltaldo and my wife enjoyed a mix of seafood. Both very good. The Nigiri with wagyu was good, but a waste of calories (rice).

Tags: Casual, Fun, Authentic, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 6, 2017

WE LOVED THE FOOD. We had the ceviche sampler, the empanada sampler and then the whole halibut entree. We loved it all.

We sat outside near the bay and it was a dream. nice warm night with a breeze. Totally clear skies.

Robert the server was great and the sommelier helped us choose a great wine.

Just loved everything.
What a fun place to dine. A small active bar, a sushi station and the restaurant, inside and out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Great spot to take my mom when she came in town for her birthday!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 5, 2017

This is a fun restaurant. The menu takes a little bit of thinking about - but that's part of the fun of the experience. Cebiche is obviously a highlight (and the three-version sampler is definitely a good way to go) and it's unusually fresh and un-limey here. Certainly a nice way to enjoy bright flavors and good seafood. (The empanadas were also unusually good.)

Tags: Fun, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 3, 2017

Second time at La Mar, and it never disappoints! Food was excellent, creative, perfectly cooked, the service was outstanding and the scenery in the terrace was great. Will go again, definitely.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Authentic, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Waterfront, Scenic View, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 2, 2017

Wonderful food. Neglectful service; we asked for water 3 times. dinner was 9/10ths complete when I rose from the table to inquire about the wine we ordered. They redeemed themselves by gifting us the wine. It remains one of my husbands favorite restaurants.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on October 2, 2017

Delicious food. Excellent service. Nice wine selection.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

Amazing find in SF. Excellent food - very tasty and interesting flavors. They try hard to accomodate food allergies and sensitivites - with what tasted like little effect on flavor! Yum!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Waterfront, Pre/post Theatre, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Let's spend Diva Nite at LaMar! Here we are again for another Diva Nite. We're looking forward to trying something new. Cocktails!! Prickly pear, with tequila, prickly pear purée, lime and simple syrup was a tasty treat. We didn't really care for the green salty trim on the rim. Lyche Nada made of Lychee juice, lemon juice, simple syrup and grenadine was some fruity goodness. Not too many places offer non-alcoholic beverages so we were surprised and ecstatic it was offered. Summer Splash, was great and refreshing, the absolute elucidate vodka, peach liqueur, yuzu, honey syrup and sparkling sake complimented my meal. The garnish of mint leaves and a flower brought the rustic gold flower pot cup to life.

The Mushroom empanadas filled with mozzarella cheese was flavorful. The choclo (corn) empanadas were ok, very simplistic offering a burst of flavor.

The Special, Cooked oh so perfectly, scallops in sauce with rice and lentil fried was excellent; a favorite! It was an interesting combo. Anticuchos: Carne, sirloin, fingerling potato, corn and polleria sauce was beautifully plated. Although, we had a little of a hard time getting the sirloin off the skewer.

On to the dessert. El mousse e chocolate, Peruvian chocolate mousse, caramelized quinoa meringue and lucuma ice cream was at minimal a very creative blend. Quinoa was the ingredient of the evening. It gave this dessert a nice crunch which gave it texture. Choco-maracuya, passion fruit mousse and chocolate mousse layered with raspberry compote and almond praline was good. We expected a more of a spongy cake base/texture but it still quenched the sweet tooth. Overall we'll be back again.

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Late lunch - waited almost 20 minutes for a server to approach. First server was rude and impatient. Service improved with an alternate server. Portions were small for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
·Dined on September 29, 2017

The noise from the boat engines was very loud. The patio heaters were going full blast and too hot for us.
Otherwise, food was very good and we had a lovely time together. Thank you!!! ❤️

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Fantastic food and service! Explained our menu well and guided us to a great meal
We'll be back!

Tags: Fun, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Waterfront, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 29, 2017

Very great service. Food was great. The waiter made amazing wine suggestions to pair with the food! I will recommend to my friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 29, 2017

The lombo saltado was delicious, and the dessert les tres leches was fantastic !

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Fantastic food. Great service.
Seems authentic, I have never been to Peru, but it did not taste like anything I have tasted before, it had edge that made it special and fantastic.
Really worth a drive to try.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Healthy, Waterfront, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 28, 2017

Food was magnificent! Dessert not so much. The drink prices were delicious, but a little too $$$

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 27, 2017

Killer spot. Highly reccomend. Every course from the salmon and Kobe beef nigir to the empanadas was unreal. So happy we found this incredible cutlural fusion of heavenly flavours!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tapas, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Fun, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 27, 2017

I specially visit this restaurant whenever in town for business. But my favorite dish was removed from the menu. I was so disappointed. My understanding it was one of the most popular dishes.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
·Dined on September 27, 2017

Had such a lovely time here celebrating my boyfriend's birthday. The service was very attentive and the food was delicious. The ceviche sampler was really creative without being too out there, we couldn't decide which of the three we enjoyed most. We ordered a beautiful Whole Fish meal for two, it was generously portioned and all the flavors were in agreement. Drinks and desserts were also incredible, they really impressed us with their approach on the flavors and ingredients. It was lovely when it began to get dark out, they lit everyone's table candles and the room sort of transformed. Great experience, I can't wait to spend another special evening here.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 26, 2017

Good food, attentive service, ceviche was very fresh and entrees were tasty.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Casual, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 26, 2017

I love Peruvian food and go to.many Peruvian rest including in Peru. This food is just ok. They make.it toned down in spice for.more.generalnpublic..for a cebicheria ( should be spelled Cevicheria by the way) those are average and Uber expensive. 48$ for 4 bowls with 4 over sized pieces of marinated fish! The limo.saltadonalso disapoints. Good.meat but balnd taste and 4 pieces of meet for 22$! Other than that service is ok and what saves the day is the place is really nice both location and atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 26, 2017

The food was good but not as good as I remember. The desserts were not very enticing either.
It was also disappointing that there were no plantain chips and nothing was given to make up for it.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.