Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

About La Mar Cebicheria Peruana

Inspired by the thousands of cebicherias found throughout Peru, La Mar Cebicheri­a Peruana, was created as an attempt to globalize and enshrine one of the best guarded treasures of Peruvian cuisine: cebiche, Peruvian seafood and the scenery created to enjoy them, the Peruvian style cebicheria.

Pier 1 1/2
San Francisco, CA 94111
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Peruvian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: 7 days a week 11:30am - 2:30pm

Dinner: 7 days a week

Sunday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Washington and The Embarcadero

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 397-8880

Website:
http://www.lamarsf.com/

Entertainment:
Happy Hour Every day 3:00pm - 6:00pm

Parking Details:
Parking can be found on Pier 3.
Lunch: $10 for first 2 hours ($5 each additional hour)
Dinner: $20 Flat rate

There is also a public parking across the street on the Northwest corner of Washington St. and the Embarcadero.

Public Transit:
Muni:

To Embarcadero & Washington or Steuart & Market

BART:

To Embarcadero Station

Public Water Taxi Service: There is a public pier behind the restaurant, for small boats to park free for a maximum of 3 hours.

Executive Chef:
Gastón Acurio / Victoriano Lopez

Private Party Facilities:
We are open for private events ranging from 14 - 200 guests and can cater to your every need.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Go to Lamarsf.com to check out our weekly specials!

* Patio seating is on a first come first serve basis and cannot be guaranteed.
** Individual items may be subject to change depending on availability









Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

La Mar Cebicheria Peruana Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (103)
Scenic View (76)
Creative Cuisine (74)
See All
Fit for Foodies (64)
Good for a Date (63)
Authentic (59)
Good for Groups (58)
Special Occasion (56)
Fun (47)
Tapas (42)
Great for Outdoor Dining (41)
Good for Birthdays (37)
Hot Spot (36)
Modern Decor (34)
Business Meals (31)
Handcrafted Cocktails (31)
Worth the Drive (28)
Great for Lunch (27)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Romantic (24)
Healthy (23)
Vibrant Bar Scene (23)
Happy Hour (22)
Bar Seating (22)
Casual (21)
People Watching (19)
Open Kitchen (18)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Tasting Menu (17)
Good Vegetarian Options (16)
Spicy (16)
Great for Brunch (15)
Sunday Lunch (15)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Family Style (14)
Notable Wine List (14)
Local Ingredients (12)
Cozy (10)
Late-night Find (10)
Gluten Free Options (10)
Molecular Gastronomy (7)
Disabled Access (7)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Great Beer (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Fireplace (3)
Historic (3)
Private Room (3)
Organic (3)
Seasonal (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
3806 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 3 days ago

One of the most unique, wonderful dining experiences imaginable, my wife and I have eaten there 20 times. Best Latin/Peruvian food on the planet. Great room wondeful decor, a huge menu with one brilliant, colorful, delicious dish after another. MOSES, our waiter, was as charming, friendly and attentive as they come. We brought two friends from Seattle and they could not stop raving about it.

Tags: Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Overall, a great experience. Their cocktail program is on the decline, and they've changed a few of their core dishes that I personally preferred above the newer takes. They accommodated dietary restrictions flawlessly, which I appreciate!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

I have been to La Mar several times and it is always an excellent dining experience. The food is great, creative and unusual; the service is sharp and the servers know the menu ingredients well. It's noisy in a fun, convivial way.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was tasty, the staff was very friendly, and waterfront view was pleasant, overall it was a great experience!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Unbelievably fresh seafoods and ceviche. The tuna belly dish was phenomenal. Service staff was super attentive and knowledgeable of all menu offers. It was an incredible dining experience, thanku!!!!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

I love Peruvian food, so La Mar is an oasis in the city

Tags: Healthy, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Hot Spot, Tapas, Molecular Gastronomy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Always good! We sat outside on a beautiful day. The service was great and unhurried. The food is fresh, creative, and superb.

Tags: Tapas, Scenic View, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Great overall experience!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 17, 2017

As always La Mar delivered. We had a friend visiting from Munich and he was very impressed. It was a beautiful, sunny day and we ate on the patio at a table nearest to the Bay. We pretty much always order the same ceviche dishes, each of which is shared.

Tags: Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 16, 2017

170 $ meal, we barely eat any of them. Nothing taste fresh, very disappointed. I understand many people think the color of the food looks good, but the taste isn't .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Nice people and delicious food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Flavorful food but small portions. Thank goodness for the chips. We ordered what turned out to be a deep fried crab. Problem was the crab was so small it was basically eating fried crab shell. I let me wife eat what little meat there was on it - i didnt eat any of it. Dessert was the best part and only course worth the price.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 15, 2017

We were there for a Mother's Day dinner for my wife. The ceviches were beautiful and delicious! Our main dishes were a little late arriving but that was understandable with it being Mother's Day but not terribly long! Our waiter apologized for the delay but that ok. When our food arrived it was worth the wait! The scrimp and squid pasta was delicious as was the lomo saltado! Kenzo, the manager and his staff were extremely nice! Can't say enough except you need to come down and try for yourself! Cheers!

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, People Watching, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 15, 2017

everything was good except it was too slow getting our food and I had to ask a busboy to push.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Salty beef stew
Too expensive for the quality of the food
Slow service
Dirty bathroom

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Went to La Mar as we tried to go to the one in Peru, but it was closed for Good Friday! I should mention, we did go on Mothers Day, so this could have been why the service was just ok. We had a reservation, got seated about 15 minutes after the reservation as they didn't open on time. Waiter come and was helpful, but didn't seem that into it or us. He did give a great wine recommendation, and the food was good. Service was just rushed, no information as to what was what when it was set on the table (we ordered tasting things with multiple items on it), and took a while to get the menu. I guess it just kind of felt like a SF tourist restaurant, not a locals place. I will go back as I enjoyed the food, and hoping the service issues were just due to the fact it was Mothers Day.

Tags: Family Style, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We went to celebrate Mother's Day and were so pleased with our dining experience: brunch offerings, wait staff and ambiance. The food quality was fabulous, appetizers with the freshest of ingredients. Our appetites easily satisfied with the appetizers, Margurita ( Fantastic) and mini desserts. Staff were professional and cheerful!

We actually took our entrees home to watch the Warriors win!

Tags: Waterfront, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

La Mar is a really fun restaurant. The food is great and the atmosphere is always upbeat and fun. I've come here for business lunches and dinners as well as with family and friends. It works well for all occasions. The view from almost any table is wonderful, right on the water. The bar does a nice job with the Peruvian drinks. Pisco Sours, etc. I especially like the ceviches and the empanadas.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Disabled Access, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Monterrey)·Dined on May 14, 2017

My third time in la mar. Best tiraditos ever. But in this ocasion the cebiches we tasted were not too good. La leche de tigre had a bad apeareance, and the taste not as good as other times.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The cerviche appetizers were good. The entree of various sea food was over cooked and really dry. The ladies room is dirty and the inside of the door is gross and also needs to be painted.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

An exciting and vibrant place with stunning interior and gorgeous views… All so beyond my expectations! And the food was fantastic and full of wonderful flavors and freshness… We had so many fascinating dishes that we all shared together – totally love this place and want to go back for more!

Tags: Scenic View, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, People Watching, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Staff was gracious and flexible at all times.
The place is gargantuan and we were seated next to a happy, noisy group. Overall it was pleasant and we were lucky to get a table and have a drink at the waterfront, which was what my guest wanted. But I may rule out La Mar on Friday nights.
We order the excellent causas and a very forgettable selection of overpriced fritters called anticuchos. If in doubt, go with the ceviche!

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Tasting options were amazing - would definitely go back. I wish I lived nearby so I could go back soo

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Things we ordered (wine/apps) took about 30 minutes to arrive to the table after asking where they were. I wanted to take my parents to a nice dinner and ended up apologizing for the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Food looked great but tasted a bit bland. Service was a bit slow for lunch. Took 90 minutes for a business lunch and that's way too long.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Good original restaurant, with interesting flavors etc. It is a very large restaurant, that is also loud, and is located in a very touristy part of town. It is not inexpensive, however the food was worth the trip and the cost.

Tags: Family Style, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Lovely setting on the bay - great room, very elegant.
We found the menu confusing.
We were seated in the far eastern tented portion overlooking the bay and the level of noise was unbearable - almost impossible to have a conversation. We asked to be seated inside which was better.
The food and service were very good.
It always amazes me that SF can support so many high end eateries.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2017

This place is great for a sunny day. The patio was large, the seating comfortable and the food amazing. Great service and ambiance.

Tags: Bar Seating, Tapas, Notable Wine List, Afternoon Tea, Open Kitchen, Fun, Good for a Date, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 7, 2017

I hold great expectations since my last visit, and experiences with other restaurants of Gastón Acurio (La Mar, Panchita in Lima, Chicha in Cusco) I was dissapointed..the food was not Peruvian or Peruvian-American taste. The typical drinks were returned for more Pisco and less ice. The service and atmosphere were good.
Hope it will get better...Peru, Gastón and people who loves to have a nice meal deserve it!

Cordially,

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Overall a good experience, but they missed entirely the occasion of my visit that to celebrate my wife birthday... small details that in the customer satisfaction. O jovial place with a lively atmosphere. Some of the appetizers are overpriced for what you get. Menu has been downsized from years past but what we ordered was well done.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We are on holiday from the UK.
Found the restaurant on trip adviser. Walked from our hotel, the Fairmont, we had an excellent evening.Peruvian lead waiter was great.

Tags: Waterfront, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Good food but small portions for the price
nice decoration and atmosphere
Too noisy

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Outstanding evening. The pesco before dinner was superb, followed by outstanding Peruvian Japanese sushi. Great French Chardonnay with meal at reasonable cost. I had pasta with squid ink and shrimps. Served hot and great toast. Reminded me of meals in Peru. Highly recommended. All at table agreed.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Our party of two arrived early for 5:30p reservations, and our request for patio seating was fulfilled. Ian took terrific care of us, and we started with two pisco cocktails - the Pisco Punch and the Mosto Verde Pisco Sour - both flavorful and smooth. We started with the clasico cebiche - halibut briefly marinated in 'leche de tigre' - delicate flavors, clean beautifully presented. Next, limena causas with dungeness crab - a party for your palate! Absolutely delicious. We finished with the empanada sampler - empanadas, croquettes, and yuquitas - all deep fried and every bite scrumptious. For dessert, we shared the Peruvian chocolate mousse, caramelized quinoa, with meringue and lucuma ice cream along with the suggested pairing of * NV César Florido Moscatel Pasas, Chipona, Spain. Chocolate heaven. Light, incredibly flavorful, and every bite savored.

There's something for everyone at La Mar, even for the less adventurous of palate. Fit for first-timers, and those familiar with the flavors of Peru. Reservations strongly recommended.

Tags: Good for Groups, People Watching, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, Good Vegetarian Options, Waterfront, Romantic, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Healthy, Modern Decor, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Love this restaurant! Food is always interesting and well prepared/presented. The crab sandwich was excellent! Waiter, host, and all others friendly and helpful. Setting scenic and restaurant itself is designed in an open, airy, and contemporary style with the touch of a grand room in some exotic locale.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 4, 2017

We were disappointed with the limited menu and the small portions of food. The food was ok if you have never eaten Peruvian food in Lima or Miami to compare it to. Also so many of the spices and flavors that make it fusion food were not added to the food, making the food very bland.

If you never had Peruvian food before, try the food. You will more than likely enjoy it. If you have eaten Peruvian food before, save your money

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Fantastic food and a fun vibe. Would love to come in a social setting and be able to relax and take some time to enjoy more of the many options

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Terrible service, misleading regarding happy hour, overcharged based on restaurant error.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Peruvian food at its best by world famous chef Gaston Acurio. Food is a modern take on Peruvian classics -- full of flavor with just a little bite. Well worth it. The ceviche is tasty, the causa creamy (get it with the tuna) and the lomo saltado is rich and flavorful.

Tags: People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Spicy, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Delicious entree's, excellent service - highly recommend to foodies.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.