About La Caille Restaurant

9565 Wasatch Blvd
Sandy, UT 84092
View Larger Map

La Caille is Utah's premier luxury dining experience. Located on 20 acres of Salt Lake's most coveted Little Cottonwood Canyon property, La Caille's grounds offer breathtaking views, manicured gardens, canyon rivers, lush vineyards, winding brick lanes and authentic French decor. La Caille itself is housed in an 18th century French-inspired Chateau. Guests dine in one of three unique dining rooms and, during summer months, on one of our three spectacular patios. La Caille is a twelve-year AAA Four-Diamond Award recipient and our contemporary French menu and service has earned praise nationwide. La Caille is also a destination restaurant for wine lovers, offering over 850 selections alongside its extensive list of liquors and inspired cocktails.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Monday-Saturday 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Dinner Sunday 5:00pm - 8:00pm
Saturday Brunch 10:00am - 2:00pm
Sunday Brunch 10:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
3500 E. 9500 S.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 942-1751

Website:
http://www.lacaille.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking for restaurant guests

Executive Chef:
Billy Sotelo

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
La Caille specializes in well-executed corporate events, spectacular weddings and perfect private parties from 15 - 600 people. We look forward to creating a unique event that will exceed your expectations. Please call or email us to start planning your next gathering.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

La Caille specializes in well-executed corporate events, spectacular weddings and perfect private parties from 15 - 600 people. We look forward to creating a unique event that will exceed your expectations. Please contact us to start planning your next gathering.

La Caille Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (31)
Special Occasion (29)
Good for a Date (25)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Scenic View (20)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Worth the Drive (17)
Fireplace (14)
Cozy (13)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Notable Wine List (11)
Authentic (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Great for Brunch (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Historic (7)
Seasonal (7)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Private Room (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Fun (4)
Business Meals (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Organic (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Vegan (1)
People Watching (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
S
1061 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Not one, but two amuse bouche servings. ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

Not one, but two amuse bouche servings. And a palate cleanser. And the best bread service in recent memory. THEN there's the food you're actually there for, which is simply amazing. My spouse and I eat well pretty regularly, but this was a real treat. Felt like more of an event or special occasion than anything else we've had in Utah, and was simply wonderful.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A stroll through acres of beautiful gard ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

A stroll through acres of beautiful gardens, an amazing three course meal, and great service, La Caille was definitely the perfect Valentine's Day restaurant and would be good for any occasion. My date and I loved our trip to La Caille and I was very satisfied with the price for such a fantastic experience.

Tags: Modern Decor, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was disappointed in the valentines day ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I was disappointed in the valentines day menu. it was a struggle to decide what to eat out of the 4 options. my girlfriend had never been here before so I was very excited for her to be able to try escargot, and the carmel banana desert. neither were an option on the menu. I think there should be more options for such a special day, leaving the restaurant I felt that I myself could have cooked us a better meal at home for a quarter of the price. defiantly will come back just not for any holiday or when there is a specific menu.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value2

Overall, not worth the money. Had to wai ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Overall, not worth the money. Had to wait a while for a drink. Things seemed rushed. Had to refill my own wine glass. Tartar was basic. Soup was good. Tuna was prepared well and fresh, but greens with the dish were gritty and couldn't be finished. Next course was brought before the prior was finished. Desert was very well done. Water glass sat empty for a while. It was Valentine's Day, but seemed chaotic throughout the night and was difficult to relax and enjoy the dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

The whole experience was great,will do i ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The whole experience was great,will do it again next year,

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Fantastic. This was easily one of the be ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Fantastic. This was easily one of the best dining experiences in Utah.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a reservation at 7:45 the day bef ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We had a reservation at 7:45 the day before valentines day. We were not seated until 8:05. The waiters promptly greeted us and took our drink orders. After another 15 minutes we received our drink order. Another 15 minutes went by before the waiter asked if we were ready to order our food. It was about 55 minutes between arriving at the restaurant to having our orders taken. Other than having to wait a considerable amount of time before getting attention at the restaurant, it was an okay experience. The food was great, the drinks were great, and the menu seemed fairly priced for what you were getting. After explaining our frustration to the waiter, he asked management to comp us 25% on our ticket. In addition we were given a $50 gift card for a return meal. The issues were noticed and we were given sympathy and the employees did their best to fix the situation. As a customer I feel that was a great thing to do however, going to a restaurant like this and spending over $250-300 for two people, I expect top notch customer service. Hopefully they can take this review and make things better.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value3

The food is very good. The atmosphere i ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The food is very good. The atmosphere is incredible but I wouldn't go back. The pricing is beyond other comparable places. The service was very average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value1

Always a pleasant place to dine. Great ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Always a pleasant place to dine. Great food, great staff, beautiful atmosphere.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Only real complaint is the food could ha ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Only real complaint is the food could have been hotter. Most dishes were served room temperature.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Wonderful place to celebrate our anniver ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Wonderful place to celebrate our anniversary but very pricey. Enjoyed the food and the excellent service and the location is stunning.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

We were pleasantly surprised with the th ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 2, 2017

We were pleasantly surprised with the the extensive wine list to match each course of our meal.

The staff was very attentive. Additionally the staff was dressed far more conservative than the last time I visited.

The Lamb was outstanding, and a must, if you enjoy lamb. The majority of people dining in our area were celebrating special events which came with a flaming dessert which was fun to watch.

I would say it is a must if you come to the area.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing food, amazing service. Beautiful ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Amazing food, amazing service. Beautiful grounds and restaurant. Will return for years to come!

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Historic, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the food and service was over the top, e ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 25, 2017

the food and service was over the top, even down to the valet bringing the car around and having it warmed up on our departure.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I returned to La Caille after an incredi ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 21, 2017

I returned to La Caille after an incredible dining experience 25 years ago when visiting Salt Lake City on an Air Force trip. For 25 years I have been telling my wife (and others) how wonderful the restaurant is. Finally, on the way to Sundance, I was able to show my wife La Caille in person. And believe me, the restaurant did not disappoint either of us ! Outstanding across the board. Don't miss for a extraordinary dining experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Better than 5 star! The atmosphere and a ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Better than 5 star! The atmosphere and ambience are over the top romantic !

Tags: Romantic, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quality of food has dimished. Have visi ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Quality of food has dimished. Have visited for many years and selection and quality of food was less than previous years. Great ambiance did not offset disappointment in food.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

everything was great except my steak see ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 3, 2017

everything was great except my steak seemed like something I'd get at a Sizzler.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfectly romantic setting for NYE! The ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Perfectly romantic setting for NYE! The menu was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Fantastic and rich food. By far the most ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Fantastic and rich food. By far the most expensive and high class meal I've ever indulged in. Spent about $100 a person, but thoroughly enjoyed it as a special occasion treat, and would do it again. Treat yo self!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Wood Oven, Seasonal, Authentic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Such a special spot. Lots of questions ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Such a special spot. Lots of questions recently about how it is doing and the answer is La Caille is better than ever. We were completely cared for throughout the meal. The portions were outstanding and flavorful. The beverage options were excellent. Valet team was outstanding as well. But it will always be the setting that is beyond breathtaking. During Christmas, it was truly magical.

Tags: Private Room, Worth the Drive, Vegan, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Fun, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere , outside was spectacul ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Great atmosphere , outside was spectacular view. My wife and daughter loved it. Great food and service. Thanks

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Historic, Fun, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a gorgeous restaurant. The grounds ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2016

What a gorgeous restaurant. The grounds are spectacular and the interior is like French mansion.

We had the Xmas eve special menu with wine pairing. Everything was delicious. Highly recommended to make the detour to this incredible restaurant located in Granite not far from Cottonwood ski area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is our 3rd anniversary going to La ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 24, 2016

This is our 3rd anniversary going to La Caille for an intimate corporate Christmas party. As usual, it was fantastic. You really feel like you are being treated like royalty. We enjoyed drinks in the lounge prior to dinner and then took our time taking in the snow globe like scenery. The head chef, Billy Sotelo, is amazingly talented and you won't be disappointed.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My second event this year first for a Ha ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 24, 2016

My second event this year first for a Halloween witches brunch with grand daughters and sister then returned taking my sister and husband son daughter in law and grand kids for Christmas dinner together it was fabulous. I have spent a little of 800.00 for meals there this year the food is excellent, I wish it was a little cheaper but I understand the reasoning. My server was fabulous and proudly he did notice my grandchildren ages 8-12 and comments on how polite they were.

Thank you

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Great for Brunch, Organic, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Fireplace, Historic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Authentic, Scenic View, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took my wife of 43 years out to for a ni ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Took my wife of 43 years out to for a nice dinner and to show her off! We have been there before several times and it is always a special place, especially in the Winter. Everyone was so nice and polite, it really added to our experience, and the food is always outstanding! I missed the peacocks this time!

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From the entrance of the drive to the re ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 19, 2016

From the entrance of the drive to the restaurant front door is about a half mile of sparkling lights and ducks swimming on ponds. When there is snow, it is spectacular. The food prices are similar to other steak houses of this quality.

We tried the crispy Brussel Sprouts were really good, but very filling. The rack of lamb is excellent as is the potato crusted Sea Bass was nicely accented with lentils in a delicious Tarragon Pernod Sauce. One complaint; we asked for mint sauce or jelly for the rack of lamb and they didn't offer any.

The special sparkler in a mousse for our anniversary was wonderful and the bananas Foster was tasty but the ice-cream was too hard.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Sunday Brunch was amazing! We could not ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Sunday Brunch was amazing! We could not have had a better experience. The food, staff and surroundings were memorable!

Tags: Special Occasion, Private Room, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for Groups, Historic, Fireplace, Romantic, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is expensive but well worth i ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 14, 2016

This place is expensive but well worth it. I had high expectations and it exceeded those. Very nice.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fireplace, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We visited on Sunday, December 11th for ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We visited on Sunday, December 11th for the Santa brunch. It was our children's first time and they were blown away. The facility itself, the decorations, the atmosphere is amazing. It truly can not be beat. However, the service is severely lacking and for a brunch totaling $175.00, I expect stellar service and we didn't receive anything close to it.

Once we sat down, it took 20 minutes for our server to speak to us. Another 20 to place our drink orders, and yet another 20 to receive them- mind you, the drink orders were 2 hot chocolates, 1 mimosa and 1 coffee. Once we ordered, it took another 30 minutes to receive our food. In total, we were sitting at our table for close to 2 hours with empty cups, cold eggs, and annoyed kiddos.

I love La Caille. I think it's beautiful and the food great. I think the ownership and management have gone down hill and the service is horrible. The visit was very disappointing and not worth the money.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value2

Our order was finally right on the third ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Our order was finally right on the third try. First was not as-ordered, the waiter took the whole plate and left me sitting there with nothing as the rest of my party ate. So I filled up on croissants. The second plate they brought me was missing 3 of the sides, and had the wrong entree, but i was hungry, and it was tasty, so i started to eat it. Alone. Everyone else was done. The waiter then showed up with my third plate of food (I started to feel ridiculous at this point) and it was the correct entree! But all my sides were gone. The coffee came upon request instead of refills making their way around the room. Can live with that. And I finally asked for the side I never saw at the end of the meal- my son was hoping to share it with me. They brought part of it, and the last bit as we were finishing the side up.

They were fairly disorganized overall as well, we saw other tables having order issues and receiving the complimentary appetizer twice, or not at all.

Otherwise, the ambience was great! The valet service was fast and spot on, the santa was one of the best I'd seen before, and the fireplace was quite charming. All in all, would maybe go back to have some coffee by the fire and soak in the ambiance. But not going to waste my money and patience on trying to eat there again.

Tags: Cozy, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value1

Food was fantastic. Service was excelle ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Food was fantastic. Service was excellent. The whole experience was outstanding. Highly recommended and I will be back

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a little disappointing. I haven' ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 7, 2016

It was a little disappointing. I haven't been in a year or more and it's got a very different feel and vibe now. The food was not the "wow" i was looking for. However, the drive up to the restaurant and the lights are very pretty. Service was great, very different than the past but good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

Amazing experience and the staff was ext ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Amazing experience and the staff was extremely responsive and catering. Also the food was amazing.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the most beautiful restaurants in ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 5, 2016

One of the most beautiful restaurants in Utah, it is very beautiful. Both inside, & out. The staff is extremely friendly & helpful. I had a most pleasant experience with my fiancé. Which I proposed at the restaurant. I highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a beautiful date, special occasion, etc.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant offers the best food alo ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 3, 2016

This restaurant offers the best food along with the best views. The ambience of the place is so welcoming and romantic. So glad that I chose La Caille for my anniversary brunch!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Fireplace, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely Evening! We went to celebrate my ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Lovely Evening! We went to celebrate my birthday & enjoy the holiday decorations. It was very nice. They sat us in a little room on the main floor which we've never been seated in before. It was quaint & nicely decorated. We visited on a Wednesday night & it wasn't particularly busy, which was nice. We've had hit & miss on ordering steaks or other meats to temperature, but this night both my rack of lamb & my husband's filet were cooked just as requested. Also, we started with their mussel appetizer which was REALLY good! The mussels were huge & succulent! Our server, Meg did a great job as did the rest of her supporting staff. It was a perfect evening. Thank you!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was very so-so. My salad was dr ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The food was very so-so. My salad was drenched in too much dressing. The tarragon sauce on the sea bass lacked flavor. I was served a cocktail which I did not order. The ambient music seriously needs updated!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Such a wonderful place to share Thanksgi ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Such a wonderful place to share Thanksgiving dinner with my 88 year old Mother. Even though she has Alzheimer's, she enjoyed the moment and that thrilled me. The wait staff was kind and attentive to Mom...perfect!

Tags: Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Authentic, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was very slow -- food was poor. ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Service was very slow -- food was poor. Creme puffs were completely frozen. $200 for a very AVERAGE meal. Very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.