About La Caille Restaurant

La Caille is Utah's premier luxury dining experience. Located on 20 acres of Salt Lake's most coveted Little Cottonwood Canyon property, La Caille's grounds offer breathtaking views, manicured gardens, canyon rivers, lush vineyards, winding brick lanes and authentic French decor. La Caille itself is housed in an 18th century French-inspired Chateau. Guests dine in one of three unique dining rooms and, during summer months, on one of our three spectacular patios. La Caille is a twelve-year AAA Four-Diamond Award recipient and our contemporary French menu and service has earned praise nationwide. La Caille is also a destination restaurant for wine lovers, offering over 850 selections alongside its extensive list of liquors and inspired cocktails.

9565 Wasatch Blvd
Sandy, UT 84092
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Monday-Saturday 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Dinner Sunday 5:00pm - 8:00pm
Saturday Brunch 10:00am - 2:00pm
Sunday Brunch 10:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
3500 E. 9500 S.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 942-1751

Website:
http://www.lacaille.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking for restaurant guests

Executive Chef:
Billy Sotelo

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
La Caille specializes in well-executed corporate events, spectacular weddings and perfect private parties from 15 - 600 people. We look forward to creating a unique event that will exceed your expectations. Please call or email us to start planning your next gathering.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

La Caille specializes in well-executed corporate events, spectacular weddings and perfect private parties from 15 - 600 people. We look forward to creating a unique event that will exceed your expectations. Please contact us to start planning your next gathering.

La Caille Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (53)
Romantic (44)
Good for a Date (42)
See All
Scenic View (33)
Good for Anniversaries (32)
Quiet Conversation (26)
Worth the Drive (23)
Fireplace (23)
Notable Wine List (19)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Great for Brunch (17)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Cozy (16)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Authentic (13)
Historic (11)
Local Ingredients (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Private Room (8)
Business Meals (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Healthy (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Fun (3)
Waterfront (3)
Seasonal (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Family Style (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Organic (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Dancing (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
S
1121 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

This was my fifth or sixth time at Le Caille. Once again it did not disappoint. The ambiance makes one think you are in a Chateau in France. Food was superb and the service excellent. Staff very attentive. The inside and the grounds are breathtakingly beautiful. My colleagues who dined with me were super impressed. I will go back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 21, 2017

It has lost a lot of appeal to see the animals and character, food is very good but the appeal as a special place is gone

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 21, 2017

The original fine dining restaurant in Utah has maintained its excellence over time. While expensive, there is nothing on the menu that isn't world class. Coupled with the beautiful grounds, La Caille is an absolute can't miss.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Great service. They were very accommodating with our special requests that were a little unusual.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 20, 2017

I wrote one and got gobbled up-//Steven our waiter was exceptional-he was aware of menu items, specials, history of La Caille, owners goals, etc we were seated downstairs by a table facing the stream watching wild life[ heard guests mentioning the white swan by exit--several suggestions - a gift shop-t-shirts, book on La Calle, history of area, pictures. Can I use my receipt from 5/20 as a ticket to tour grounds? At the end of your meal Steven came out with a fizzling candle that dazzled her as well as other guests seated by us

Tags: Organic, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Awesome and attentive service. Experience was amazing and really enjoyed my time at the restraunt. Never felt rushed and the wine was amazing.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The price of the buffet was not in line with the food offered. As I recall for Mother's Day Brunch, the price was over $65 and with 2 glasses of wine and a tip my bill was over $100. Salads were weak, there was no real bread, bacon was overcooked, no good vegetables at all. The only food of substance was a nice prime rib and the macaroons. I will not ever do a brunch there again.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value1

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Very expensive relative to the value and selection vs others such as he glittertind at the stein Erickson lodge. Not as good a selection so it felt like it should have been about $50 a person not close to 70. Beverages not included

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I brought my mom to La Caille for a special Mother's Day brunch. There was a buffet for the occasion and a flower potting activity for the kids. The food was very good, although I think that similar quality could be found elsewhere at a much lower price point. (Except for the eggs benedict. I've never seen an egg so perfectly poached). The mimosa and the mom-osa (mimosa but with pomegranate instead of orange juice) were quite good. Our server was charming and attentive. (His name was Taylor; he deserves a raise). The exorbitant price had more to do with the venue than the food -- yes, you're paying for a well crafted meal and great service, but you're mostly paying for the privilege of saying, "I had brunch at that fancy French place! The one with the swans and the peacocks!"

Overall, beautiful exterior, good food, great service, a little stuffy, and incredibly expensive.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We went for our 40th wedding anniversary. The service is exceptional, the grounds spectacular.

Tags: Romantic, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I went to La Caille with my girlfriend in order to propose to her because she loves the movie Dumb & Dumber and there are several scenes that were shot at the restaurant. I had heard from some friends that the food wasn't that great for the price you pay so I was a little skeptical coming into it. We got there and they sat us immediately even though we were early for our reservation. The food was fantastic and the ambiance excellent. The food was obviously very expensive, but I thought it was fantastic. We got the rib eye steak and lobster tail and it was quite good. The grounds are beautiful and it was a perfect setting for me to propose. We enjoyed our visit!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Romantic, Scenic View, Historic, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 11, 2017

One of my best dining experiences! Very tentative staff, amazing cocktails, the food was outstanding, and the grounds are so beautiful to walk in the day and at night. The prices are high, but I highly recommend this restaurant for special occasions.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Have had great meals and experiences there through the years; it may have just been an off night, but the servers seemed new and inexperienced, the service thereby slow and my Filet Mignon meat quality was sub par (to be nice) and significantly worse than my last experience there last July.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Took my wife here, we drove 900 miles to come here and we are so glad we did it was a spectacular night, service was great. I would love to come here again.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 7, 2017

You don't come here for the food...keep your expectations low and your wallet wide open.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Our waiter, Stephen, was fantastic. He really made our dining experience exceptional!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great dine dinning near Salt Lake City. Great food, great ambiance, romantic, good service.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 6, 2017

My girl friends and I had the greatest brunch at La Caile this weekend. The weather was great and we were treated like royalty. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal including their complimentary melon soup, croissants etc. We will certainly be coming back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Food and location can't be beat, and our server, Steven, was excellent! Would definitely go again!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 5, 2017

My parents were ecstatic about taking their friend to birthday dinner at La Caille based off a previous visit. The food is full of flavor and cooked perfectly. This is the destination for making lasting memories for any special occasion. A table visit from the manager and Chef made us feel appreciated and welcome. Five Stars all around. We will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 4, 2017

La Caille is Fantastic! The food, the service, the ambiance are by far the best I have had in Utah.
Its more than a fantastic meal. Its a fantastic experience! Highly recomend!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Authentic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Very pretty restaurant and views outside. Great alcohol selection and fire show with the Irish coffee. Decent food. Server was Steve and he was very good.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Cozy, Historic, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 2, 2017

I celebrated my 31st birthday at La Caille with my wife earlier this week. It was the best dining experience of my life. We both had the filet mignon, which was to die for. The Lobster Bisque was especially unique and special. Each bite transported me back to my time in Europe. The outside environment, the inside beauty, the waiter, the service, the food....there's nothing bad about La Caille. Everyone should make it a point to visit!

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Historic, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Organic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We celebrated our 5 year wedding anniversary, and it was my first time at La Caille. I loved it! There are 3 reasons I gave it 4 stars for the food: 1. My non-alcoholic berry mohito was too sweet, and tasted like Sprite rather than a real mohito with crushed lime, mint, and sugar or simple syrup. 2. My delicious vegetarian polenta with sautéed seasonal vegetables was a bit on the salty side. 3. A party member ordered lamb chops medium, but they came med-rare. Otherwise, my experience was fabulous! I plan to go back many times!

Tags: Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Amazing service as well as food. If you're looking for a terrific evening and wish to surprise your significant other with romance I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 24, 2017

We enjoyed a lovely birthday celebration for our mother. Our server, Steven, took excellent care of every detail for us. We all felt very welcome & special. The food was amazing. Everyone's steak was cooked perfectly. The irish coffee show as well as the flaming birthday cake were a lot of fun to finish the evening. Thank you so much!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 23, 2017

There is only disability access for the restaurant. There are no ramps for the beautiful scenery out doors. I'm in a wheelchair therefore unable to enjoy the peacocks except through the dining room windows :-(. Honestly I'm not sure how you're getting away with it. We will not recommend La Calle nor return until all amenities can be enjoyed.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 23, 2017

First time my wife and I been to La Caille. We celebrated her birthday with the brunch. We definitely enjoyed the service and ambiance. It is a very special atmosphere with the grounds and structures.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Very few guests but service seemed exceptionally slow. Drinks were ordered but came very late. Meals were delivered to wrong parties.
This is a beautiful venue therefore the service can be overlooked somewhat as it was still a lovely time with dinner guests however, with the prices what they are and gratuity included I would expect to have exceptional service!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Outstanding food and service. Could not have been better.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 22, 2017

I have never dined at a place like this. Go see for yourself, you will be blown away.

Tags: Private Room, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We celebrated our 12th anniversary. The staff made our night amazing and beautiful. We will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The escargot is always delicious. Great wine list and beautiful entrees. Basmati rice was surprisingly divine!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Family Style, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 19, 2017

We've impressed by their great environment, the food and the service. I suggest to arrive there early so that you can have a little walk around their 22 acres yard with great landscapes. The quality of the food was among the top of UT restaurants. The service was excellent. Steven has done a great job during our visit. With this kind of food and service, we are expecting La Caille to earn their Michelin stars soon.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Fireplace, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 18, 2017

As always, la cailIe delivered great food. This was a visit on a Monday night, so it was not very busy. Usually I come on weekend nights and the atmosphere is much better and louder with more going on. Benefit of going on a Monday is we did have more attention from the staff, although they sat three tables right next to each other as opposed to spreading then out amongst the open tables.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We visited La Caille for the second time to celebrate Easter. Both my daughters are allergic to gluten and buffets are often difficult when you have dietary restrictions. I contacted La Caille a week ahead of time and the chef was wonderful in accommodating us. They made gluten-free French Toast and Eggs Benedict served on polenta, especially for them. The service and ambience are both wonderful and the grounds are lovely for taking pictures.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Fireplace, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We love the LaCaille! The atmosphere is so wonderful! We came back for the second year for Easter brunch and the food was delicious! I would say the only thing that I would like improved is the upkeep on the landscaping. It is starting to look very rundown. Over all it is an awesome restaurant.

Tags: Fireplace, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Note to chef: Eggs Benedict and Eggs Florentine are not the same dish. There was a lot of spinach in the "Benedict."

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Beautiful venue, excellent dishes and meal presentation, but mostly my scoring is high because of the perfect service. Never experienced better service anywhere in the world!

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We went to LaCaille for an engagement celebration brunch and was amazed by the service, the food and the beautiful atmosphere. It was definitely worth the price.

Tags: Private Room, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.