Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.80mi
  3. Distance: 1.22mi
  4. Distance: 1.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.80mi
  3. Distance: 1.22mi
  4. Distance: 1.34mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.80mi
  3. Distance: 1.22mi
  4. Distance: 1.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.80mi
  3. Distance: 1.22mi
  4. Distance: 1.34mi

About KUU Restaurant

Former Nobu London Chef Adison Lee brings his imagination to life with his restaurant KUU in Houston. Chef Adison Lee uses unique flavor combinations to take you on a journey of culinary excellence. Features a seasonal menu and responsibly fished seafood from local fishermen and the world famous Tsukiji Fish Market in Japan. KUU is committed to serving small, sharable plates with stimulating flavors and plating. Our devotion to responsibly sourcing our products shows through the ever evolving seasonal menu. KUU will be offering an extensive list of imported sakes and wines along with our hand crafted cocktail menu by our mixologist.

947 Gessner
Suite A180
Houston, TX 77024
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 12:00pm- 9:00 pm

Cross Street:
I 10

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 461-1688

Website:
http://www.kuurestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
We have both valet and an attached garage

Executive Chef:
Adison Lee

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

KUU Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (31)
Good for a Date (29)
Creative Cuisine (29)
See All
Special Occasion (26)
Modern Decor (18)
Tasting Menu (14)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Tapas (14)
Romantic (14)
Healthy (13)
Bar Seating (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Good for Groups (12)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Authentic (11)
Business Meals (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Open Kitchen (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Hot Spot (10)
Fun (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Cozy (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Private Room (4)
People Watching (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Casual (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Seasonal (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Fireplace (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Organic (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Vegan (2)
Spicy (1)
Scenic View (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Live Music (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great Beer (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sort By:
S
384 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Tremendous selection of fish with beautiful and creative presentations. Liquor prices are pretty steep.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 16, 2017

I went here last night for date night and we sat outside. They have a great patio. It was decorated nice and very romantic. The food was so delicious. We tried the garlic edamame and three different rolls. Good wine and mixed drinks too! Our waiter was very attentive and overall the experience was great. We will come back to Kuu for sure.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Love social hour at Kuu!!! Food is so great!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (London)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The food was delicious, the service was very quick and efficient. A very pleasant dining experience.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 10, 2017

The food was good , the service was really bad. The waiter we had was not trained and could have cared less, it was a special event , and I let them know when I made the reservation nothing was done to make it special. The food was pushed out so fast that at one time we had 3 different dishes on the table and they were trying to bring another and this was after we ask them to slow it down and let us dine. The portions were for 2 people instead of 4, one dish that was served was scolops and sautéed mushrooms , it came with one scolp for 4 people and then the alcohol pairings really bad, the waiter could not tell us about the different wines and soky , and where some of the fish and dishes originated because he did not know; at one point he said I just bring what the chef makes. This was their food and alcohol pairings at 180 a person was not cheap and I expected more. I was embarrassed in front of the guest I took there because I had bragged to them about this place . I will not recommend this place again and probably want be back. I tried contacting the restaurant before I wrote this review , but never got a response, so l guess they don't care.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 9, 2017

I've been wanting to try this place and I'm so glad I finally had a chance to. It was amazing, everything was fresh and delicious and our waitress was very knowledgeable and helpful. And if you get nothing else get the bacon wrapped scallops... my God. 10 of 10

Tags: Tapas, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Nice restaurant with good food.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Would like to have been able to order coffee. Please consider making it available. Business men like coffee. That was a bit disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 7, 2017

First time to Kuu and it was well worth it. Surprisingly empty for a Saturday night. Got great service and excellent cocktails and smashing rolls. Definitely would recommend this place and we will likely be back soon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Food was not up to par with the price paid. Bland food. Service was so so. Very disappointed. Took entire family but will not return again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 6, 2017

This was our first experience with KUU, but will not be our last! We try to find new and exciting dining opportunities in west Houston that take a reservation, have easy parking and outside seating. KUU met the criteria. Warm and friendly greeting, modern decor, prompt service, knowledgeable staff, extensive and interesting menu. Our server, Joel, did an excellent job of describing and taking us through the menu since it was our first visit. The tapas style menu (I don't know the Japanese word for tapas) gave us an opportunity to try many different items (raw, cold, hot, tempura - all were delicious). The mouth watering aromas and presentation prompted us to order more dishes than our initial order.

Tags: Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Good Vegetarian Options, People Watching, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Fantastic from start to finish

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Delicious with great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Fantastic food. Pricy but worth it. Great service - only reason to score service 3 instead of 4 is that our waiter forgot to bring part of our order, which caused a considerable delay during our business lunch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Vegan, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Kuu has been one of our favorites since it opened. We ate here at least once a week. The past few times we have been here we have noticed that the management has changed which has caused service to go down. We always sit at the sushi bar and love all the chefs. They always take such good care of us. The waitstaff however needs work. There are a couple of waiters who are very good but the rest just aren't attentive enough. The last time we we were there they had two new young managers. We sat at the sushi bar and proceeded to wait for a waiter. The sushi chef had to get the manager to come over. The manager got us a waitress but never came back to check on us. The sushi quality also is not what it used to be. They used to change up the menu but lately it has remained the same. I think they have given up quality for making sure the tables are filled. I should have known when they introduced a frequent diner club that things were going downhill. We are very saddened as this was our favorite sushi restaurants but after our last experience we will not be back.

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 24, 2017

TERRIBLE service and no one was in there. Also, Christmas music playing in April?

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Outstanding sushi on the west side. Modern inviting space, attentive service and excellent management. It's a bit pricey but the quality is top notch. Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The food was incredible. Fresh and delicious! It was art on each plate. The portions are tiny so you are ordering 3-4 bites per plate so it is quite pricey. Our server was extremely knowledgeable about each item and was very attentive. We stayed for 3 hours, had 4 people in our party, and our tab was $460 plus tip. If you have a special occasion, this is definitely some of the best sushi in Houston!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Food was super expensive. Almost all their dishes where over sauced, and rolls were mushy. For $10 a piece for o-toro, we expected buttery, melt-in-your mouth tuna. Instead we got chewy pieces. Can't even come close to Uchi and MF Sushi and yet we paid over $200 for 2 people. Not worth it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Our waiter, Hanny, was wonderful. Very observant and warm. Our food was served quickly and was intricately repared. Is recommend Kuu for literally any might out. Plus, it's the most beautiful restaurant in Houston.

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Private Room, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Vegan, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Great Beer, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Organic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Perfect, as always! The food, the service...they have it figured out. This is one of my absolute favorite restaurants, not just my favorite sushi restaurant!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Excellent evening and no complaints

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Great bar to sit at. Food is a bit pricy but sooo good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 31, 2017

After listening to the waiter's description of the evening's Tsukiji selection, I ordered a selection for myself - nigiri - and it cam out doubled sashimi style. Annoying and expensive but also a few pieces of the fish were much too cold - bordering on frozen. Rather unimpressive.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Kuu is our go to sushi spot on the west side. Don't waste your time/money with other sushi spots, Kuu is the place. Always fresh, always consistently good. Service is outstanding. Tip: try the lunch menu for a taste of their much pricier dinner menu - you can spend $15 pp for lunch. At dinner, expect to spend $100 for 2 before drinks/tip to do it right.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The food was fabulous. We were disappointed that they did not disclose that we would have to sit at the sushi bar when we made the reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Very nice, but too cold inside
We ended up outside, nice terrace, but service was soso.
Food always fresh and outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Central Texas)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Fun dining experience. Staff was very well versed with the menu and drinks. Overpriced for what it was but a nice change of Japanese restaurants in Houston. Truffle Suzuki roll was the best roll I have ever eaten...would go back just for this roll.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Tapas, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 4, 2017

I always love KUU. The food is great, the drinks are spot on and I really enjoy sitting at the sushi bar and see the team make their magic. It's on the high price but toatally worth it.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 4, 2017

This the best place I've found in Houston for high end and creative Japanese dining. Although not for the faint of wallet, the food is delicious, the presentation elegant, and the service attentive. KUU is sushi at a higher level as well as a number of hot plates served tapas style.
My wife & I found this accidentally when we wanted sushi for lunch. We enjoyed it enough to go back for dinner, and were just as impressed. Personal tip - order the crispy duck.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Liked the place - definitely on our picks for sushi

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Wonderful food as always. They even had ocean trout today. And tried the Suzuki Roll for the 1st time. Terrific. As was the Truffle Bloody Mary.

Big tip of the hat to our server, Christine. 1st class service and very helpful navigating the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Good food good services

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Excellent service and food. It was my first time dining at a Japanese restaurant and I would like to say that it was a wonderful experience. The server took his time to explain the whole menu and did it in a timely manner. My husband and I plan to return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tapas, Casual, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Kuu is always satisfying. Very busy evening, and the staff did their best. No complaints there. The food was not up to par. The sushi not the expected excellent quality, and not really sure why. It was great, just a notch below what we are used to. Still - great food, and great place.

Tags: Hot Spot, Authentic, Cozy, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Food is excellent, but the disorganized wait staff and slow food delivery detracts from the overall experience. I expect more for the price.

Tags: Good for Groups, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Found this restaurant on OpenTable and tried it on my girlfriend's birthday. Our server was very attentive and professional. Although some dishes were not available due to lack of ingredient (President's day), server informed us ahead and gave us a plentiful time to consider before ordering the food. Not to mention, every food was on point. They are delicious, could be pricey, but my money was not wasted. I would definitely come back and also liked to recommend this restaurant to my friends.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Healthy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 19, 2017

My favorite sushi place!!! Love it!! So fresh!!! Amazing pairings

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Everything was awesome food service loved it love it😊

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The food was outstanding with great flavors and wonderful artistry.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.