Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.80mi
  3. Distance: 1.22mi
  4. Distance: 1.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.80mi
  3. Distance: 1.22mi
  4. Distance: 1.34mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.80mi
  3. Distance: 1.22mi
  4. Distance: 1.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.80mi
  3. Distance: 1.22mi
  4. Distance: 1.34mi

About KUU Restaurant

Former Nobu London Chef Adison Lee brings his imagination to life with his restaurant KUU in Houston. Chef Adison Lee uses unique flavor combinations to take you on a journey of culinary excellence. Features a seasonal menu and responsibly fished seafood from local fishermen and the world famous Tsukiji Fish Market in Japan. KUU is committed to serving small, sharable plates with stimulating flavors and plating. Our devotion to responsibly sourcing our products shows through the ever evolving seasonal menu. KUU will be offering an extensive list of imported sakes and wines along with our hand crafted cocktail menu by our mixologist.

947 Gessner
Suite A180
Houston, TX 77024
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 12:00pm- 9:00 pm

Cross Street:
I 10

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 461-1688

Website:
http://www.kuurestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
We have both valet and an attached garage

Executive Chef:
Adison Lee

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

KUU Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.2

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (18)
Good for a Date (16)
Fit for Foodies (15)
See All
Special Occasion (14)
Authentic (10)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Business Meals (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Romantic (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Fun (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Tapas (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
People Watching (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Cozy (3)
Casual (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Seasonal (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
417 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

I am a Japanese men and would like to recommend that "Miso Soup" should be served
after enjoying lunch.
This is, I recognize, Western style and however it is quite strange for Japanese.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 3 days ago

Service, food, and cocktails were outstanding. So many things on the menu to try!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 5 days ago

The service, the food, and the wine were all outstanding. We will definitely be returning.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Came here for my wife's birthday. Food was outstanding. May be the best Japanese resturant we have been to which includes N.Y and L.A. Service was outstanding. The plates our waitress Stefani's recommendations were excellent choices. We are already looking forward to returning.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Amazing food and serve. Great for business, date and special events.

Tags: Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Our server Zach was wonderful. He took his time to figure out what we like and knew how to make our evening special. The food was incredible. We'll definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 16, 2017

To have the first beer, it takes almost 15 min.
In general, too slow service, even if not so much customers.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Great food I really like this place allot it's my go too west side sushi place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Beautiful restaurant but so so food. Nothing really stands out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Food was delicious but we kept on having to wait for the server. We waited 30 mins initially for someone to realize that we were there.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Kuu is the finest Japanese cuisine restaurant that we have experienced in the Houston area. There are other very good restaurants serving this type of cuisine but Kuu is far and away the best of the lot. The service is excellent and the food is truly inventive and extraordinarily delicious. It's rather pricey but it's worth it. Eating at Kuu is nothing short of a culinary adventure.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Waitress was absolutely phenomenal, she made us feel like family. Will definitely go back again. Food was world class, some of the best sushi I've had since my time in Tokyo!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 11, 2017

There was a bug in my food. I will never eat here again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Great food as always. The Wagyu appetizer was amazing. The Salmon Collar was unusual and delicious. As always, Christine was a great server. Many thanks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 7, 2017

the food was perfect as always. The only negative thing was the service, because they had had only 2 or three attendants working and a lot of tables to handle.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 3, 2017

one of the best sushi restaurants I have been to in quite some time...outstanding!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Stefani is knowledgeable and friendly.
3rd time and always a great selection, preparation, presentation and gushing with Japanese flavors.
Will be back of course.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Fun, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Sushi is definitely one of the best in town. Excellent customer service!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 21, 2017

I'm looking forward to trying this restaurant again at dinner. Love the creative roll combinations!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Food and service were outstanding. But the high prices were so extreme that I can't rate this experience very highly. One of the most expensive meals I've had in a LONG time, including meals in NYC.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Excellent, creative Japanese food. Everything is prepared fresh in-house, and it shows. Superb, attentive service in a fun, upbeat atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 5, 2017

This is my second time visiting Kuu and it was just as fantastic as the first. My boyfriend and I have officially put it in our Top 3 sushi spots in Houston and that's pretty strong! We will return soon for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Our waitress was very helpful and amazing for our first time there!! Loved the food!! Will be back soon! Favorite new spot.

Tags: Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Healthy, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 17, 2017

This is my favorite sushi restaurant in Houston. If you like sushi and you want authentic, creative and delicious sushi this is where you need to go! Everything tastes so good, our food was out so fast and so fresh, the servers really know what they're talking about and are so friendly every time. Service is unmatched

Tags: Fun, Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Romantic, Healthy, Authentic, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 17, 2017

First time here


It was great

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Love, love the food, but was disappointed in the very high prices for sake!! The cocktails and wine were a little steep, but not as bad as the sake. We will think twice before coming back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Great atmosphere to share with friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We sat at the sushi bar. It was fun watching the guys make the rolls and the sushi. Menu is big with a lot of variety. Will be back to try many things.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We decided to celebrate our joint wedding anniversary with our best friends. Not really knowing how much they like raw or cold, we knew that we may be limited on what dishes to order. That was not a problem because they enjoyed the same foods we chose. And since the food is friendly for sharing (small plates) we could order many one bite, per person, selections. We did let the restaurant know ahead of time what special occasion we were celebrating. They out did themselves with nice added touches to make it truly a wonderful evening (the staff and management welcomed us and congratulated us, a handwritten card on the table for both couples, a lovely glass of Prosecco and a tuna tartar appetizer). Every server, greeter and various staff members were genuinely pleased that we chose to dine with KUU.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Special Occasion, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Sensational food! Knowledgable server. Superb Sake.
Will be proud to take Japanese friends, or any friends interested in Japanese cuisine.
Sushi/Sashimi perfect fir me.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 1, 2017

The staff at Kuu are all super friendly and accommodating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 28, 2017

First time customers for all five in our group, and everyone was very happy with KUU! The cocktails, our waitress, our table, our food were all great. I tried the golden beet with rose cream salad, butternut squash soup, and portabello roll. All were delicious. We can't wait to come back again to try more of the menu!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Not the usual quality we are used to. The black cod was over cooked and chewy. The rice in the roll was rather dry. Service was the usual "slow". I hope it was a "one-off".

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Tremendous selection of fish with beautiful and creative presentations. Liquor prices are pretty steep.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 15, 2017

I went here last night for date night and we sat outside. They have a great patio. It was decorated nice and very romantic. The food was so delicious. We tried the garlic edamame and three different rolls. Good wine and mixed drinks too! Our waiter was very attentive and overall the experience was great. We will come back to Kuu for sure.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Love social hour at Kuu!!! Food is so great!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (London)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The food was delicious, the service was very quick and efficient. A very pleasant dining experience.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 9, 2017

The food was good , the service was really bad. The waiter we had was not trained and could have cared less, it was a special event , and I let them know when I made the reservation nothing was done to make it special. The food was pushed out so fast that at one time we had 3 different dishes on the table and they were trying to bring another and this was after we ask them to slow it down and let us dine. The portions were for 2 people instead of 4, one dish that was served was scolops and sautéed mushrooms , it came with one scolp for 4 people and then the alcohol pairings really bad, the waiter could not tell us about the different wines and soky , and where some of the fish and dishes originated because he did not know; at one point he said I just bring what the chef makes. This was their food and alcohol pairings at 180 a person was not cheap and I expected more. I was embarrassed in front of the guest I took there because I had bragged to them about this place . I will not recommend this place again and probably want be back. I tried contacting the restaurant before I wrote this review , but never got a response, so l guess they don't care.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 9, 2017

I've been wanting to try this place and I'm so glad I finally had a chance to. It was amazing, everything was fresh and delicious and our waitress was very knowledgeable and helpful. And if you get nothing else get the bacon wrapped scallops... my God. 10 of 10

Tags: Tapas, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Nice restaurant with good food.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.