About KUU Restaurant

947 Gessner
Suite A180
Houston, TX 77024
View Larger Map

Former Nobu London Chef Adison Lee brings his imagination to life with his restaurant KUU in Houston. Chef Adison Lee uses unique flavor combinations to take you on a journey of culinary excellence. Features a seasonal menu and responsibly fished seafood from local fishermen and the world famous Tsukiji Fish Market in Japan. KUU is committed to serving small, sharable plates with stimulating flavors and plating. Our devotion to responsibly sourcing our products shows through the ever evolving seasonal menu. KUU will be offering an extensive list of imported sakes and wines along with our hand crafted cocktail menu by our mixologist.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 12:00pm- 9:00 pm

Cross Street:
I 10

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 461-1688

Website:
http://www.kuurestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
We have both valet and an attached garage

Executive Chef:
Adison Lee

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

KUU Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (27)
Creative Cuisine (27)
Special Occasion (22)
See All
Fit for Foodies (22)
Modern Decor (17)
Healthy (16)
Romantic (16)
Tasting Menu (15)
Bar Seating (12)
Hot Spot (12)
Cozy (12)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Open Kitchen (9)
Authentic (9)
Business Meals (9)
Fun (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Tapas (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
People Watching (4)
Casual (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Scenic View (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Private Room (3)
Fireplace (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Family Style (1)
Great Beer (1)
Organic (1)
Spicy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
346 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 2 days ago

Kuu is always satisfying. Very busy evening, and the staff did their best. No complaints there. The food was not up to par. The sushi not the expected excellent quality, and not really sure why. It was great, just a notch below what we are used to. Still - great food, and great place.

Tags: Hot Spot, Authentic, Cozy, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined 2 days ago

Food is excellent, but the disorganized wait staff and slow food delivery detracts from the overall experience. I expect more for the price.

Tags: Good for Groups, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined 6 days ago

Found this restaurant on OpenTable and tried it on my girlfriend's birthday. Our server was very attentive and professional. Although some dishes were not available due to lack of ingredient (President's day), server informed us ahead and gave us a plentiful time to consider before ordering the food. Not to mention, every food was on point. They are delicious, could be pricey, but my money was not wasted. I would definitely come back and also liked to recommend this restaurant to my friends.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Healthy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 19, 2017

My favorite sushi place!!! Love it!! So fresh!!! Amazing pairings

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Everything was awesome food service loved it love it😊

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The food was outstanding with great flavors and wonderful artistry.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Food was great, but service was not. Waited an hour for our food, only to be told that there'd been a mixup and another table got our original order. And then they ran out of one of the items we requested, but didn't tell us until the rest of our food was brought out. Waitress was very apologetic, but hadn't checked on us or would have realized the mistakes a lot sooner. Martinis were chintzy. Too bad it was a lousy experience, as the food was very tasty and original.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I would have given KUU a 4.5, but that wasn't an option. It was really good and service was prompt and courteous.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentines day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Took my wife for Valentines Day.

Food was an nothing short of an amazing experience. Service and presentation was very nice. We basically let the waiter point out his recommendations and plate after plate was wonderful. Tapas style. Would highly recommend for special occasions or dates. $$$. Expensive, but in our opinion well worth it.

Tags: Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Molecular Gastronomy, Hot Spot, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food was amazing! Only reason for the 4 stars was for the lack service from wait staff. We ended up having the Manager Emily wait on us that night and she was great! Due to the food and her great hospitality we will be back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food was good but the service was one of the worst I have ever experienced. My wife and I sat and waited 25 minutes before anyone came by our table. She had been one time before and thought it was an isolated incident but after coming back the second time, it wasn't. You can hear the frustration from the other tables on the service as well. We will not be coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Fantastic meal and exceptional service, as always. Kuu has been at the top of our favorites list since we discovered it, shortly after it opened.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Ambiance and service was nice. But food lacked taste. The toro and salmon sashimi did not taste fresh. They did have some decent rolls - The Poseidon and another one that I couldn't remember the spelling to 😬! Value wise - not great. Service was delayed and slow but seemed they were short on staff.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The service was good. The roles were not. The crab tastes artificial. I would not recommend. The decor of the restaurant was nice.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Awesome! One of our favorite sushi spots ever! They customize rolls for us to our tastes and the servers always remember our favorites, well at least Julio does!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Fantastic! What a great meal and service! We ordered several tastings - beet dish and yellow tail were the best, sashimi and rolls - Kuu and Posideon were our favorites. Everything was perfect. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Fireplace, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Scenic View, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 4, 2017

First time dining here and its was really good. the only complaint was were we sat. It was a traditional Japanese table low to the ground and had very hard seats. Other than that, it was great.

Its served tapas style, so we tried quite a few different items. They were all very good.

the total bill for 4 people was less than expected as well!

Tags: Fun, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 1, 2017

This is one of our favorite sushi restaurants in town. The fish is always fresh, the menu is inventive and the service is excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Delicious creative gourme dishes. Went for our wedding anniversary a few days back and I'm still savoring their tasty dishes. We specially liked their hot rock meat dish, their June role, and their pulled pork and eggplant and miso sesame nigiri. Great environment that works for romantic dinners or gatherings with friends alike. Nice fireplace in the background adds to the feeling of comfort. Service was also very good. Portions are small and it's more of a tapas style, so perhaps not an every day place for most people, but you should definitely try it at some point!

Tags: Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fireplace, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 30, 2017

We are frequent guests at Kuu and they are consistently excellent in taste and quality of their sushi to makimono to their hot rock. Very comparable to Uchi, if not better.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Open Kitchen, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Our service was excellent - our waiter was extremely attentive, and the staff did a great job of making sure our table always had food, but was never too full of plates since the ordering is "tapas style". Our favorites were the hamaccio, Rin roll, and Truffle Suzuki roll.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 27, 2017

This was my second visit to Kuu. Just as wonderful as the first time. Waitstaff is friendly and helpful. Food is so fresh, unique, and delightful. Great presentation. Nice atmosphere. Convenient parking. Just go!

Tags: Bar Seating, Quick Bite, Good Vegetarian Options, Private Room, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Birthday for wife

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 25, 2017

The food was awesome and the service was excellent!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Sushi means sexy date and their sushi was great so the rest of night was also great.

Plus very close to cinemark movie theatres.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The sushi was awesome! Julio and Ricky both take great care of us! The chef prepared some special requests for us that were perfect! Thank you! We had a great date night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Even at lunch I expect more than three small slices of pepper salmon on my salad. Also too much dressing. Tasted good. Server was a bit arrogant as I have experienced on previous visits here. Not sure why the air conditioner was working overtime -- it was a warm, humid day but it's January!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 17, 2017

I would rate this as a top 3 sushi stops in Houston. A MUST have is the mushroom dish which is 100% better than the description in the menu. It is the perfect dish to end a great meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 15, 2017

This was a great night out for my husband's birthday! We went as a group of 8, and had the perfect table setup for all of us. The wait staff was friendly, knowledgeable, and very attentive. The food was fantastic and the ambiance was great!

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Fun, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 14, 2017

I was looking for a nice restaurant to spend my 8 yr anniversary with my wife and we came across KUU. We never been there before nor heard of it, but my wife and I are very grateful we ended up choosing KUU for our anniversary dinner. Great menu, friendly staff and very nice environment for our special occasion. Rick the General Manager went as far as congratulating us with a few glasses of champagne and a house favorite entrée. Thank you RICK! Food was great, looking forward to eating at KUU in the near future. Highly recommend you do the same!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Modern Decor, Healthy, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 11, 2017

High quality fish but very pricey. I don't think the price quality ratio is worth it honesty. Nice decor, we sat outside in the patio area which is very cozy. But I won't be returning.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 10, 2017

I really like Kuu. The place is nice, the bar great, service awesome and food delicious. The girl at the bar is super super nice, wish i could catch her name. Social hour on mondays is great, and size of dishes is fair and enough for you to try different things. I'll come back soon

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (México)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Excellent service! Great Food!.....our server, Emily, was great explaining my wife and I the menu and suggesting Japanese beers. We had a great dinner.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Our waiter suggested us to order the Urchin, without telling us the cost. It was good, but $75.- for three little pieces of Urchin Sashimi, come on.

That really leaves a sour taste in our mouth after we left.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The food was wonderful, I will definitely go back

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 7, 2017

As always outstanding service and fabulous food. What a delight to have a restaurant of this caliber in Houston. Kuu has become our favorite Japanese restaurant.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The food was delicious and the waiters were knowledgeable about the menu for us first timers. Would definitely go back!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Fantastic Service. Intimate ambiance. Well decorated and well dressed crowd. Very impressive. Food was fantastic and definitely worth more than the price. Solid drink menu. Definitely book ahead for the best tables and they cater to special occasions. This is a gem amongst Houston's finest.

Tags: Happy Hour, People Watching, Healthy, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Another great meal. Best sushi in town!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Very good food. Too expensive for small portion sizes.

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Tapas, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 28, 2016

So Yummy. The food is very fresh. Presentation is amazing.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Regular weekly attendee at Kuu and it is consistently fresh and delicious. Best sushi in Texas area and comparable to five stars New York and Las Vegas top sushi restaurants.

Tags: Romantic, Fireplace, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Really good the food and service in general. Got a bit dissappointed that social hour wasnt running that monday. Will be in other opportunity. Thanks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Excellent place to celebrate special days, this time was my wife Bday and it was really special.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Fabulous as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Server seemed very nervous (possibly new?) and wasn't very helpful with suggestions. He was very attentive at first but then disappeared for long periods of time. Restaurant was almost empty on a Saturday night at 8pm. Food was ok....very overrated and very expensive. Wine list was mediocre. Would not go back and would not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Kuu is an amazing restaurant. We went there for a low key b-day lunch celebration. In one word: Perfect. Great food, impecable service, and great ambience. Thanks to Kuu's manager and staff for doing such a great job!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 14, 2016

KUU is simply amazing. The food is delicious and creative. We had the rock shrimp appetizer--addictive. The sushi is outstanding with very high quality fish and rice. As a treat, they fly in special fish daily from the Tsukiji market in Tokyo daily. I've had this treat twice. If you enjoy sushi, this is something to try.

The bloody mary was excellent.

Last but not least, the service was impeccable. Christine gave us wonderful service. She is very helpful navigating the large menu and understanding some of the unusual fish available. Many thanks to Christine.

Overall, an outstanding and exceptional experience. We highly recommend it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Outstanding. Went on a Sunday which was perfect as the crazed was small and it was easy to get in. The Sunday pairing special is also a great deal! This place is surely in the running for best sushi place in town...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.