About Kinley's Restaurant and Bar

After graduating from the Western Culinary Institute in Portland, Oregon, Chef Brett Knipmeyer returned to Chicago for a stint at the WORLD RENOWNED CHARLIE TROTTER’S.
After moving to Alaska to be the head chef at Jens Restaurant Brett has now staked his own culinary claim, and named it after his daughter, Kinley.


Kinley's serves fresh Alaskan seafood right from local fisherman, 30 Wines By the Glass, 300 wines by the bottle, and locally brewed beers on tap, as well as a wide selection of cocktails


In Kinley's first few years they have been voted Anchorages best new restaurant, best restaurant for wine, and best restaurant for service.

3230 Seward Highway
Anchorage, AK 99503
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Monday 5pm-10pm;
Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday 11:30am-10pm;
Friday 11:30am-10pm;
Saturday 5pm-10pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 644-8953

Website:
http://www.kinleysrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Catering is available. Please contact Marty Kimball at 907-272-8898.

Parking Details:
We have a large private lot, free to all patrons.

Public Transit:
We have several bus stops within a block or two.

Executive Chef:
Brett Knipmeyer

Private Party Facilities:
Kinley's banquet room can fit up to 48 people for a full sit-down dinner. Details can be found online at http://www.kinleysrestaurant.com/banquets/banquet_room.html

Private Party Contact:
Marty Kimball: (907) 272-8898

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
All special events and menus can be found online at http://www.kinleysrestaurant.com/events/events.html

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Kinley's Restaurant and Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.0

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (17)
Special Occasion (17)
Good for a Date (16)
See All
Business Meals (13)
Casual (13)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Great for Lunch (10)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Healthy (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Authentic (3)
Seasonal (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Fun (2)
Romantic (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Cozy (1)
People Watching (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
866 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Service and the food were great. The steak was properly cooked and tender

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined 2 days ago

Halibut cheeks with pea risotto is delicious! We were seated immediately and the service was outstanding. Very good beer and wine list.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

The staff was courteous and friendly. The server allowed us time to visit before ordering and was attentive without hovering or interrupting during our leisurely lunch. The food was excellent - top quality and perfectly prepared. Neither of us could finish our meal, but I trust my associate enjoyed her take-out box as much as I enjoyed mine later.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Generally, the food and service were great. The server was able to get us in and out in time to make a concert.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 1, 2017

We had a very nice business lunch at Kinleys, tasty food and great service.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Best restaurant in town. Is superior chef. Great cocktails. And great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

Hands down the best food in town. Everytime I order something different, and every time it is truly awesome. Ambiance is pretty good- some tables are quieter than others. Great wine list. Service is good, but the food is why I keep coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 25, 2017

The drinks were good, everything else was just a shy away from Good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 23, 2017

This is high on my list of anchorage restaurants for food and service. I've never had a disappointed lunch or dinner here.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Food was good, server was pleasant and friendly but the noise level was a little excessive for me. It was hard to hear the person across the table from me.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Good food. Friendly server. Reasonable prices. Very casual atmosphere. Halibut cheeks were good but could have had more seasonings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

I have been to Kinley's several times every year since it opened. The food remains consistently good, but not exceptional. The wine list is worthy but one of the others in my party tried to order a mid to upper shelf scotch (Laphroaig) that they did not have.

My main objection to Kinley's is the noise. It is a very loud location to have a business meal or to go to if you have someone in your party who has trouble hearing. Unless you are in a booth the atmosphere is very exposed.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Rodney is one of the best servers in all of Anchorage!
The quality of the food and Rodney's excellent service are THE reason we keep coming back to Kinley's!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Great food. Great service. Always consistent. You know what to expect every time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Excellent food. Wife had the rockfish I had fillet mignion, both were delicious. Service was delightful and quick. Always someone to refill water or tea. Very pleasant. One of our favorite places for a dinner out.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 1, 2017

Halibut cheeks were tough and our server was not very nice

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 30, 2017

I don't eat at Kinley's often enough! I'm going to change that. I've enjoyed every meal I've had. It's nice to be able to get mixed drinks, wine or beer. Wait staff is pleasant and attentive. Check it out for yourself!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Always great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Great food good service reasonable prices. Bar had sports going. Dining area was quiet so you can talk.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Great staff, great food. Eat here regularly and consistently good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Great halibut BLT sandwich!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Hands-down the best meal I've had since I moved here, and we eat out quite a bit! (Not exaggerating....ask my husband.) The food was FANTASTIC! Also nice variety on the menu and great wine/cocktails/beer selection.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Just eh. Nothing great, nothing new. Kind of diner/bar atmosphere with plain old food. Definitely not a foodie place. Had the lobster ravioli. Tasted like ravioli bathed in Knorr's french onion soup mix. Nothing tasted fresh or original, not a foodie place. We ate early because we had to catch a flight. Waiter was attentive but overall service was slow, even at 5:30pm. Would not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Had the double cut pork chop. Very good chop and rice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Very good appetizer menu. Nice atmosphere and good service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Always a great place!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Overall, we had an enjoyable experience. The starters we ordered were the guacamole hummus, oysters, dumplings and the blueberry salad. Everything was very good. I ordered the special of the day which was salmon with rice and vegetables - also very good. The service was excellent and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Rodney is an excellent server and is professional in all aspects of his job! The food was delicious-- we both had the King Salmon special which was awesome!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 24, 2017

I have eaten there before. This was a Saturday. It opens at 5:00 PM and that was the time of our dinner reservation. I had a cocktail and it was good, but it was a pretty small drink. My son and I had 2 dinners, the duck and the Halibut. Both were outstanding and the total for those and a drink and a beer was $78, which I thought was a good value. As I said, the one drink, a negroni, was quite small and the bread basket which was brought to the table only had a few pieces of bread in it. There was olive oil at the table, but it was only after we'd eaten the bread that balsamic vinegar was offered as well.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 23, 2017

We were calibrating a Birthday

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The food was very good. Gideon was an outstanding server. Salad service was very prompt, but dinner took awhile. However, we had the time that evening. We'll be back.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Our server Rodney could not have been more gracious or helpful. Kudos to the chefs for the excellent salmon and steak. We will be back. And more often!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Wonderful service from both the bartender, and our lovely server Kristi. The veggie "cupcakes" looked as good as they tasted! Halibut and chips were awesome and a great deal. Glad they had cocktails as well as beer and wine. Great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Loved Kinsey's. Met friend for drinks and then dinner. Staff were super accommodating. Eggplant parmigiana in mushroom sauce outstanding. Rockfish perfectly done with great kale/blackbean side. Go for it!

Tags: Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Casual, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We have been to Kinley's several times and the food is always good and up until this last visit so was the service. On this occasion, we were seated promptly next to a large, loud party. The waitress came over promptly; we told her we were waiting for another couple; she said she would be back. The other couple arrived within a few minutes, but the waitress never returned. Eventually, after twenty more minutes, I went to the hostess desk and explained to her what was going on and also to ask her to move our party to a table away from the loud party. She seemed appalled and graciously moved us and the new waiter could not have been nicer nor more solicitous.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value1

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Usually this is a great venue. We had dinner reservations and this visit was our first since they added cocktails to their menu. We waited almost 20 minutes for our server to acknowledge us and when we finally received our drinks my martini glass was only half full. Not to mention we were seated next to large loud party. It appeared we had the only server for the entire room and he was somewhat impatient. We opted not to order dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Somehow, I'd never been to Kinley's until this week. I was missing out and didn't even know it! Kinley's is now on my list for delicious food at a good value! After visiting, I tried to take my husband on Thursday evening, but the parking lot was so packed we'll have to try again later. We ended up going to a more expensive restaurant with much lower quality food. That packed parking lot is a testament to how good it is!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Fabulous as always! We always enjoy going there. Great food and great staff.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Casual, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food, Spicy, Vegan, Afternoon Coffee, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I realize it was a buffet for Mother's Day, but the food was disappointing. Eggs benedict with muffins so hard you couldn't cut them. Overdone salmon. Fatty, very rare prime rib. And a server that rarely checked in.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fun, Bar Seating, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 14, 2017

My wife and I have eaten dinner at Kinleys on numerous occasions. This time I took my wife there for Mothers Day brunch. I didn't feel that the brunch was as good as the dinners we have had there. The quality and variety could have been better.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.