About Kinley's Restaurant and Bar

After graduating from the Western Culinary Institute in Portland, Oregon, Chef Brett Knipmeyer returned to Chicago for a stint at the WORLD RENOWNED CHARLIE TROTTER’S.
After moving to Alaska to be the head chef at Jens Restaurant Brett has now staked his own culinary claim, and named it after his daughter, Kinley.


Kinley's serves fresh Alaskan seafood right from local fisherman, 30 Wines By the Glass, 300 wines by the bottle, and locally brewed beers on tap, as well as a wide selection of cocktails


In Kinley's first few years they have been voted Anchorages best new restaurant, best restaurant for wine, and best restaurant for service.

3230 Seward Highway
Anchorage, AK 99503
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Monday 5pm-10pm;
Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday 11:30am-10pm;
Friday 11:30am-10pm;
Saturday 5pm-10pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 644-8953

Website:
http://www.kinleysrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Catering is available. Please contact Marty Kimball at 907-272-8898.

Parking Details:
We have a large private lot, free to all patrons.

Public Transit:
We have several bus stops within a block or two.

Executive Chef:
Brett Knipmeyer

Private Party Facilities:
Kinley's banquet room can fit up to 48 people for a full sit-down dinner. Details can be found online at http://www.kinleysrestaurant.com/banquets/banquet_room.html

Private Party Contact:
Marty Kimball: (907) 272-8898

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
All special events and menus can be found online at http://www.kinleysrestaurant.com/events/events.html

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Kinley's Restaurant and Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

3.9

value

4.1

Noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (19)
Good for a Date (18)
Creative Cuisine (16)
See All
Casual (12)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Great for Lunch (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Business Meals (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Bar Seating (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Authentic (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Healthy (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Romantic (3)
Cozy (2)
Fun (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Seasonal (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Organic (1)
People Watching (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
877 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 11, 2017

Great service and food. Falafel sandwich was a delicious and different item. My co-workers enjoyed the African peanut soup as well. The bldg was a little cold otherwise all was comfortable.

Tags: Great Beer, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 11, 2017

Great service, flavorful food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 11, 2017

We came for our Anniversary dinner and we're very pleased with the food and the service. We will come again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 10, 2017

Kinleys food is always fresh and delicious. Their staff is accommidating and their service is always great, lunch or dinner!

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 10, 2017

The calamari is by far the best I have eaten in town. Also our waitress Mariah was outstanding she is extremely polite and professional!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 10, 2017

Overall excellent. The staff was knowledagble and very professional.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Fun, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

The place is a gem. The quality of the food was worth the price. Went on a date there. Will definitely keep this place in mind for another time.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

I eat here frequently, but last night did not go well. My entree first arrived with the incorrect vegetables, and when returned (with no vegetables, they arrived separately later), the pork chop which had been ordered medium, was grossly overcooked (dry and white throughout). I ended up with a bowl of French Onion soup, being unwilling to wait for another complete entree to be prepared. So, not a terrific experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Still at the top of our favorite restaurants in town. Always have great experience and friendly staff.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 27, 2017

Excellent for business meetings. Has booths. Excellent food. Great service. Can talk with the group and be heard.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 26, 2017

Great food and comfortable except for the high level of noise, the acoustics are pretty bad! It was very busy for a Monday night and very loud!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

Service and the food were great. The steak was properly cooked and tender

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Halibut cheeks with pea risotto is delicious! We were seated immediately and the service was outstanding. Very good beer and wine list.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 22, 2017

The staff was courteous and friendly. The server allowed us time to visit before ordering and was attentive without hovering or interrupting during our leisurely lunch. The food was excellent - top quality and perfectly prepared. Neither of us could finish our meal, but I trust my associate enjoyed her take-out box as much as I enjoyed mine later.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Generally, the food and service were great. The server was able to get us in and out in time to make a concert.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 1, 2017

We had a very nice business lunch at Kinleys, tasty food and great service.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Best restaurant in town. Is superior chef. Great cocktails. And great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

Hands down the best food in town. Everytime I order something different, and every time it is truly awesome. Ambiance is pretty good- some tables are quieter than others. Great wine list. Service is good, but the food is why I keep coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 25, 2017

The drinks were good, everything else was just a shy away from Good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 23, 2017

This is high on my list of anchorage restaurants for food and service. I've never had a disappointed lunch or dinner here.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Food was good, server was pleasant and friendly but the noise level was a little excessive for me. It was hard to hear the person across the table from me.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Good food. Friendly server. Reasonable prices. Very casual atmosphere. Halibut cheeks were good but could have had more seasonings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

I have been to Kinley's several times every year since it opened. The food remains consistently good, but not exceptional. The wine list is worthy but one of the others in my party tried to order a mid to upper shelf scotch (Laphroaig) that they did not have.

My main objection to Kinley's is the noise. It is a very loud location to have a business meal or to go to if you have someone in your party who has trouble hearing. Unless you are in a booth the atmosphere is very exposed.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Rodney is one of the best servers in all of Anchorage!
The quality of the food and Rodney's excellent service are THE reason we keep coming back to Kinley's!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Great food. Great service. Always consistent. You know what to expect every time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Excellent food. Wife had the rockfish I had fillet mignion, both were delicious. Service was delightful and quick. Always someone to refill water or tea. Very pleasant. One of our favorite places for a dinner out.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 1, 2017

Halibut cheeks were tough and our server was not very nice

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 30, 2017

I don't eat at Kinley's often enough! I'm going to change that. I've enjoyed every meal I've had. It's nice to be able to get mixed drinks, wine or beer. Wait staff is pleasant and attentive. Check it out for yourself!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Always great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Great food good service reasonable prices. Bar had sports going. Dining area was quiet so you can talk.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Great staff, great food. Eat here regularly and consistently good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Great halibut BLT sandwich!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Hands-down the best meal I've had since I moved here, and we eat out quite a bit! (Not exaggerating....ask my husband.) The food was FANTASTIC! Also nice variety on the menu and great wine/cocktails/beer selection.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Just eh. Nothing great, nothing new. Kind of diner/bar atmosphere with plain old food. Definitely not a foodie place. Had the lobster ravioli. Tasted like ravioli bathed in Knorr's french onion soup mix. Nothing tasted fresh or original, not a foodie place. We ate early because we had to catch a flight. Waiter was attentive but overall service was slow, even at 5:30pm. Would not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Had the double cut pork chop. Very good chop and rice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Very good appetizer menu. Nice atmosphere and good service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Always a great place!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Overall, we had an enjoyable experience. The starters we ordered were the guacamole hummus, oysters, dumplings and the blueberry salad. Everything was very good. I ordered the special of the day which was salmon with rice and vegetables - also very good. The service was excellent and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Rodney is an excellent server and is professional in all aspects of his job! The food was delicious-- we both had the King Salmon special which was awesome!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 24, 2017

I have eaten there before. This was a Saturday. It opens at 5:00 PM and that was the time of our dinner reservation. I had a cocktail and it was good, but it was a pretty small drink. My son and I had 2 dinners, the duck and the Halibut. Both were outstanding and the total for those and a drink and a beer was $78, which I thought was a good value. As I said, the one drink, a negroni, was quite small and the bread basket which was brought to the table only had a few pieces of bread in it. There was olive oil at the table, but it was only after we'd eaten the bread that balsamic vinegar was offered as well.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.