About Kinley's Restaurant and Bar

After graduating from the Western Culinary Institute in Portland, Oregon, Chef Brett Knipmeyer returned to Chicago for a stint at the WORLD RENOWNED CHARLIE TROTTER’S.
After moving to Alaska to be the head chef at Jens Restaurant Brett has now staked his own culinary claim, and named it after his daughter, Kinley.


Kinley's serves fresh Alaskan seafood right from local fisherman, 30 Wines By the Glass, 300 wines by the bottle, and locally brewed beers on tap, as well as a wide selection of Belgian ales


In Kinley's first few years they have been voted Anchorages best new restaurant, best restaurant for wine, and best restaurant for service.

3230 Seward Highway
Anchorage, AK 99503
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:30am - 5:00pm;
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Dinner: Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm-9:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 644-8953

Website:
http://www.kinleysrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Catering is available. Please contact Marty Kimball at 907-272-8898.

Parking Details:
We have a large private lot, free to all patrons.

Public Transit:
We have several bus stops within a block or two.

Executive Chef:
Brett Knipmeyer

Private Party Facilities:
Kinley's banquet room can fit up to 48 people for a full sit-down dinner. Details can be found online at http://www.kinleysrestaurant.com/banquets/banquet_room.html

Private Party Contact:
Marty Kimball: (907) 272-8898

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
All special events and menus can be found online at http://www.kinleysrestaurant.com/events/events.html

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Kinley's Restaurant and Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (30)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Special Occasion (23)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Great for Lunch (16)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Business Meals (15)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Local Ingredients (13)
Romantic (13)
Bar Seating (12)
Notable Wine List (12)
Good for Groups (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Casual (10)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Fun (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Healthy (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Cozy (5)
Vegan (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Authentic (4)
Tapas (4)
Great Beer (4)
Private Room (4)
Seasonal (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Family Style (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Fireplace (2)
Scenic View (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Late-night Find (2)
People Watching (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Live Sports (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Spicy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Worth the Drive (0)
Sort By:
S
827 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Fabulous as always! We always enjoy going there. Great food and great staff.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Casual, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food, Spicy, Vegan, Afternoon Coffee, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I realize it was a buffet for Mother's Day, but the food was disappointing. Eggs benedict with muffins so hard you couldn't cut them. Overdone salmon. Fatty, very rare prime rib. And a server that rarely checked in.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fun, Bar Seating, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We had a fantastic Mother's Day brunch here yesterday. The selection, quality, and artistry of the buffet and staff there was top notch. We will be back for any future brunch events they offer!

Tags: Private Room, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vegan, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 13, 2017

It was good, service seemed a little cavalier

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 3, 2017

The only downside was the noise volume. It was louder than expected and hard to carry on a conversation even though we were only at a table for five and the restaurant was not overly busy.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Locally inspired entrees and unique and thoughtful vegetarian options.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 23, 2017

The food was the best part! So much flavor in each dish... It was wonderfully tasty and well prepared. I had the almond crusted halibut and the cherry beurra blanc sauce was to die for! We had reservations for 5:30 so the restaurant was quite empty... which gave it a more quiet, laid back atmosphere. By the time we left, it was getting busy and the noise level was higher but still nice. The cost was perfect for the quality of food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Dinner with my folks and my husband :) Our server was Gideon and he was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 20, 2017

great service and good place for business lunches or everyday meals

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 16, 2017

My family decided to go to Kinley's for the Easter brunch buffet. Our reservation was for 1:45. The staff started clearing the buffet shortly after we arrived. We felt rushed. Most of the food was luke warm. The desserts were awful. To top it all off, there were staff members loading up plates and eating in front of the customers. I saw the hostess load up a plate full of desserts that were meant for the customers before the buffet closed. Also, there was a female employee, possibly a bartender, who was wearing a skin-tight mini skirt. It was so tight I could see her buttcheeks through the fabric. Clothes like that are meant to be worn at a club, not a nice restaurant. We spent $117 for 2 adult buffets, drinks, and tip. For $117 I expect more from a restaurant like this. I will not be returning and I will not recomend this establishment to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We went for the Easter Brunch. Everything was perfecgt. Great food, staff and atmosphere.

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I used this site to make a reservation for one so for Easter Brunch and received a confirmation email. When I arrived at the restaurant they had no knowledge of my reservation and I had to sit at the bar or leave. I chose to sit at the bar even though the reason I made a reservation was specifically to not sit at the bar. After that I was picky. Food was fine. I sent them an email after I returned home and have not received a reply as yet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Great spot for business lunch. Convenient location. Upscale but not snooty. Great food. Professional, courteous, knowledgeable and pleasant staff. Quiet enough to have a productive conversation, but not so quiet that you feel you have to whisper. One of my favorite places to meet associates, board members, etc. to talk business over a nice meal.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 1, 2017

This was our second time dining there and we both agreed they have great food.
Warm bread was served before the meal and it was wonderful. We had crab cakes for an appetizer. There was only 3, but they were very tasty. I wish there had been more! I had the Filet Mignon and it was marvelous. It came with mixed veggies and red potatoes. They cooked it exactly the way I asked. Husband had the halibut cheeks over a bed of rice and he said it were great.
The only downside is that it was a Friday and the bar was very crowded and noisy. I'm glad they have it blocked off a bit from the dining area so it wasn't overwhelming.
We will definitely be going back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Very good food and service! We were seated promptly and server was very attentive. Food was very good - we had the duck.

Tags: Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We like this place. Small menu but everything is consistently good. We appreciate the fairly quiet atmosphere where you can carry on a conversation without yelling. Fairly priced for this venue. Not a kid place. Service is good. Service is a little slow but always polite. I would like to see more local seafood on the menu as Alaska seafood is the best !

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 15, 2017

As always, Kinsey's comes through. Great service and food!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We ordered the Halibut Cheeks, Halibut, Double Cut Pork Chop and Special(New York Steak) All were prepared nicely. Each dish had varied accompaniments including risotto, mashed purple potatoes vegetable medley with beet gnocchi. Nice presentation. We will go again with friends. Service staff was very responsive

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We normally LOVE Kinley's, but the kitchen seemed off their game on Saturday. The bacon-wrapped dates were tasty as usual, the Caprese salad was large with good flavor, though the tomatoes were a bit mealy, but the big problem was with our entrees.

One of us he he halibut cheeks served over the pancetta risotto. The cheeks were overcooked and bland. The star of this plate was the risotto.

Our other entree was the almond crusted halibut cherry and apple cider beurre bland with rice pilaf. The sauce was very sweet and almost syrupy flavor. The rice pilaf was dry and not flavorful. The veggies were undercooked and also without flavor. The dish was not cohesive as I e had with other halibut dishes from Kinley's in the past. I requested the rice be replaced with purple mash and the server brought out a different sauce as well. She was very pleasant but seemed surprised that I didn't like the original sauce.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Kinley's is my go to place for lunch. This was my first time going for dinner. I was NOT disappointed. Yum, Yum!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Food was good. Ordered the chicken and waffle and it was tasty. The menu lists the gravy as spicy but it's definitely not (no more than you would expect with a biscuits and gravy order).

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Kinley's continues to be the restaurant my SweetHeart and I go to for special occasions. The food, service and ambiance are outstanding!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Vegan, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Excellent food with good variety. Nice wine list with interesting options. Great service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Menu items were varied and sound flavorful, but could be refined. I had the rockfish, which was good, but the sauce overwhelmed the dish. Solid meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 15, 2017

KINLEY'S IS ALWAYS AWESOME! INCREDIBLE CALAMARI!!

Tags: Business Meals, Hot Spot, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Paid $100 per person for the Prix fixe Valentine's Day meal. 5 course meal with paired wine. The plates were all presented well, but 90% of the food was either bland, boring, overcooked, tough, dry, or a combination of those. The atmosphere was pleasant, the wait staff was friendly and attentive. But I could not get over the disappointment of the food. Not what I was expecting out of a $200 meal for 2. It may have been an off night so I would be willing to try this place again, if someone else is paying.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 15, 2017

For $130 in dinner, I felt none of the dishes were spectacular. Good, but not great. Bread pudding was awesome, tenderloin was cooked well but lacking flavor, halibut very tender but the breading overpowered the fish.

Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 15, 2017

This is our third year at Kinley's for Valentine's the meal is consistently good and not off the standard menu. It's a very enjoyable evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Enjoyed our dinner tremendously. Floor very slippery though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great service and super great food! Tasteful in every bite!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Fun, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Late-night Find, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We had reservations and were seated immediately when we showed up. we had prompt attention. Rhonda was a fantastic server. Water glasses were kept filled - my pet peeve if they aren't. The menu choices were great and the food was served as we asked and hot. very attentive waitstaff! We were there for an anniversary and birthday in the family. great experience!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great food, just wish it was a little quieter so I could enjoy the company of my dinner partner. I had the halibut cheeks which was delicious. Will return but maybe during a slower time of day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We were out for a Saturday evening dinner and chose to return to Kinley's since it had been many months since our last time there. We were not disappointed and found our entrees (evening pork special & tempura cod) to be excellent. The beer (local) and wine selections paired well with our meals. The attentive service personnel were appreciated. We thoroughly enjoyed our evening at Kinley's and look forward to our next visit.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We have eaten there twice this month. Both times we had a server that was friendly and knowledgable. We will go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Great find in Anchorage. Enjoyed the Calamari and Almond Halibut. I'll be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 15, 2017

This restaurant was not busy on a Saturday at 645pm which was great. The server was OK but it took a while for him to warm up. 2 dishes that we ordered were missing items and bread was promised to our table but it took 2 reminders to get it delivered. The food was good and we were not rushed to eat. The calamari steak was amazing and I couldn't get enough of that sauce! The Beet Salad was really good as well. We thought the rockfish would have the wasabi in it but it did not. It was an OK dish.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Food was good. French onion soup was mainly cheese. Parisian spinach salad was excellent. Halibut was perfect. Duck was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Excellent food and service. A full liquor license would be nice though.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Kinley's is always awesome. The chef always accommodates my vegan request. This place is a jewel!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The food and the service were excellent. I gave the suggestion that they should offer 'small' plates with a desert like they do their entrees. Great food!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.