About Kemoll's Italian Restaurant

Filet Mignon in a delicate cognac cream sauce, fresh artichoke slices hand dipped and fried to a golden brown, succulent broiled lobster tails, fork tender veal scaloppini and mouth watering pasta dishes made from authentic Sicilian family recipes...and then there's the view! Located on the 40th floor of the Metropolitan Square building in downtown St. Louis Kemoll's is a destination restaurant offering stunning 360 degree views of the Arch, the river and all of downtown. Kemoll's offers great options for private dining. Six private rooms including our premier event space Top of the Met make Kemoll's a popular choice for weddings and large corporate functions.

One Metropolitan Square
40th Floor
St. Louis, MO 63101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Continental, American

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 1:30pm

Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Corner of Broadway and Pine

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 421-0555

Website:
http://www.kemolls.com/

Catering:
Experienced in catering off site events. Lunches and dinners. Hot or cold food. With service staff or drop off.

Parking Details:
Attached building garage with reserved parking for evening diners. Parking is complimentary.

Public Transit:
Metro link stop 4 blocks from restaurant. Bus stops outside of building.

Executive Chef:
Don Tadlock

Additional:
Banquet, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Kemoll’s & Top of the Met St Louis Banquet Halls, Conference Rooms, and Meeting Venues are the perfect space to hold any size St Louis banquet, conference, or business meeting!

Kemoll's Italian Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (58)
Special Occasion (49)
Romantic (47)
See All
Good for a Date (40)
Good for Anniversaries (38)
Quiet Conversation (35)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Business Meals (22)
Cozy (21)
Waterfront (19)
Good for Groups (19)
Worth the Drive (16)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Authentic (12)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Private Room (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Fun (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Historic (4)
Fireplace (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Casual (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Seasonal (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Family Style (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Healthy (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Live Sports (1)
Dancing (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
542 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 7 days ago

I highly recommend this Restaurant. I went there on a date with the hopes of really impressing my date. Lets just say she was blown away. The View is unbelievable, the waitress was outstanding and the food was AMAZING! The portion sizes were HUGE. We were both able to take home enough for another full meal, the next day.

If you have the opportunity, definitely check this place out. Its a bit tricky to find.... but definitely worth the trip!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 7 days ago

Excelent high qualty italian diner. Very fancy with excelent food and excelent service. Make sure to get a reservation in advance. Over emall a fantastic experience

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 7 days ago

Food was very good but my entree ( the beef tenderloin with risotto) was too

rich for my taste. The sauce was somewhat overpowering . My wife had the chicken picatta

which she said was excellent. Portions were large. All in all a very enjoyable experience.

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 7 days ago

Enjoyed every moment of it..great host lovely view and the food and service was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined 7 days ago

Kemoll's continues to do it right from an upscale dining point of view. Prices have increased, certain favorite items have been removed from the menu, but still a great place

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Continues to be one of the finest restaurants in St Louis!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Food was bland. A very nice view, but way over priced on lack of quality food

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Lunch group of 10 ordered a wide variety with none disappointed. Comments about the great tasting salad and perfect Peppered Steak Kabobs. Lunch menu portions were plentiful and economical. Location known for its view.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Ryan was our waiter and he was amazing. Really great work at this place and the food is amazing. My girlfriend rarely finishes her food and she ate everything and she loved every bite. Amazing place

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The only reason I go to this restaurant is because of the spectacular view. 40 floors up gives a great environment.

Everything else was par. The only reason I am willing to spend 30 to 40 dollars per plate is because of the view. If this restaurant was on the 1st floor I wouldn't spend more than $15 per plate.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

When we arrived they didn't even have our reservation. We made a reservation in January so that was very frustrating. We got a table and it was all good from there on. Just was very unprofessional at the beginning.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The restaurant was Gorgeous! I would recommend trying it out for lunch first and then dinner. Dinner can get pretty expensive and I felt like I was paying more for ambience than great food. Request seating with a view of the St.Louis Arch and by the window!!

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Awful...if you have allergies

do NOT eat here...they cross contaminate and don't care!!!

Never again...:(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Bummer they didn't have bananas for their signature, table side dessert bananas foster. That was the only disappointment, but our server Shawn was awesome.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This was my first visit to Kemoll's since it's move to this location a number of years ago. The view of the Arch at night is breathtaking and we were fortunate enough to be seated at a perfect table from which to enjoy the city after dark. I had heard Kemoll's was expensive. It is more than expensive. I think it is more expensive than Tony's. The tuxedo'd waiter was certainly competent, but not what I would call polished. For the price, one would expect a more refined presentation. I can only think the owners believe the view and excellently-prepared cuisine is worth the price. (As an aside, the cocktails were excellent and fairly priced) Frankly, if I had not had a Groupon, I doubt we would have gone to Kemoll's. But it was a lovely Valentine's Day experience. If we do return, I would consider the Early Bird dinner offerings which requires ordering prior to 6:00 p.m. , three courses, $30. Now that's worth a try.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Kemoll's never disappoints. A couple of years ago, I was looking for a more formal place to go on date night. I searched around and decided to try Kemoll's. Now we try to go there every few months. Sure, it'll cost you a bit, but here's what you get: Perfect food in a romantic, dimly lit dining room that wraps around the Met building, with great views from the 40th floor. It's a special place to be with someone special (many proposals happen here).

Because of the higher price and quiet atmosphere, here's what you don't get: kid noise, folks dressing up in their best floor scrubbin' duds, and staff trying to push you out as fast as they can. Skip a couple of trips to Applebee's or some other place and try it. If you want a noisy, 'casual' place, do everyone a favor and take it to Chili's or IHOP. This is what it is supposed to be - a sophisticated, date-night 'treat'. Sometimes it's good to wash yourself up and look, act, and be treated like adults. You will not regret this dinner experience.

I recommend reservations, noting a window table. Any view is good -but if you're like me, you'll not be able to take your eyes off of your date anyway! (you can look outside when someone goes to 'powder their nose') :-)

Note: I've only been at or just after sunset, so I cannot comment on pre-ballgame or lunch service/atmosphere.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 12, 2017

For the price, the food was mediocre. Also reserved a table way in advance and asked for a window table because the view was the best part of the restaurant... Didn't receive that and yet after being seated, a couple who didn't like their original table were then moved to one at window. Server was not overly friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great location. Great intimate spaces. Excellent food. (Not as exquisite as Tony's. ) service. C. Girls not even in uniforms. Very casual. Said the fish of the day was "white fish ". Ok. I wanted more details. She apparently asked the cook. Came back and said that's all I can tell you. Ridiculous. Sorry. I spend 500 on a meal I want super service like Tony's. They don't have it at all. Oh. Yeah. I had to ask for some Parmesan cheese for my pasta. You'd think I asked her for a kidney transplant. Terrible service. Fix that and maybe you could compete seriously with Tony's. The lack of service overshadows all the other wonderful aspects of the restaurant. Too bad

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Have never been but heard good things about Kemoll's. It exceeded our expectations. Will plan to return for a special occasion.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Comfort Food, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I have been there several times over the years and the combination of scenic views, terrific food, and romantic setting always makes for a wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Romantic, Good for Groups, Private Room, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Artichokes, salad, cheese bread and Veal Marsalis. A well satisfied appetite.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Scenic View, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 5, 2017

excellent meal and service with beautiful view highly recommend

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 4, 2017

First time at Kemoll's, already planning to go back. Delicious food and service was great!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I had such high hopes for this night out, and it was simply a disappointment. My service was outstanding, but the food was awful. I liken this experience to the Signature Room on the 95th floor of the Hancock building in Chicago: the place is mostly about the view, and, let's face it: St. Louis is NOT Chicago. The view was nice, and that's about it. Even the coffee was bad.

If you love Italian food, there are so many better choices on the Hill. I recommend that you skip Kemoll's for dinner. I'd suggest it for a drink at the bar, but there's no view of the city from it.

All in all: Pass.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 3, 2017

The service and the quality of the food was superb, and the view of downtown Saint Louis and the Arch are beyond compare!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 2, 2017

I have only been there for lunch. It was for my Boss's birthday. It was excellent!!

Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We took our twins for their 16th Birthday and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. It was quite enough for nice conversation and the views are spectacular! I would highly recommend (and actually have since) Kemoll's for any special occasion or just a night out with your significant other.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Our server Kevin was great and the view breathtaking. Food was also good except for the cauliflower which we paid an extra $5 for as a substitute non-carb veggie. It was bland and flavorless. Overall, a very nice (albeit very expensive) restaurant for special occasions.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The ambience is great for special occasions. The service was great!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 21, 2017

My wife and I have been going to Kemoll's for special occasions for probably 40 years. Wait staff is always helpful and attentive. Food was well prepared and tasty. They have changed to Toasted Ravioli presentation to smaller bite size pieces which makes it better for sharing. Disappointed that our favorite desert is no longer available. We loved their Chocolate Fudge Almond Ice Cream pie. Replaced it with Banana's Foster this time. It was prepared at the table by Robbie who did a magnificent job. Nothing like flames on a cool night.

Tags: Business Meals, Scenic View, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Service was very slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Our food was fantastic and our service was excellent

Tags: Good for a Date, Private Room, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Service, view, food, and staff couldn't have been better. Everyone accommodating in all areas of service to us. The food was excellent and the staff checked appropriately on any wishes that we had during our meal. Great restaurant!

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We ate here on New Year's Eve and to celebrate our son's engagement with his fiance. You can't beat the atmosphere and the beautiful view overlooking downtown St. Louis. Most of our entrees were outstanding and the portions were plentiful; however my strip steak had some gristle and tough-to-chew spots, something I wouldn't have expected from Kemoll's. Also, it was a half hour before our order was taken (I consider that slow). All in all, I'm not sure it was worth our $315 for 5 people.

Tags: Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The welcome, friendliness, and wonderful services

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We had an awesome dinner for our Christmas Eve dinner. Excellent service!!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The service was fantastic and the food was excellent. I loved the view of St. Louis at night. We dined at Kemoll's on Christmas Eve and our server and his assistant made it an experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We have eaten at Kemoll's many times, it is one of our all time favorites. Calazone, house salad and to die for garlic cheese bread, & Filet Douglas are all stand out dishes. The view from the 40th floor of downtown St Louis and the arch are the best in the city. We had a wonderful meal & service to start out our holiday season right..

Ask for Billie as a server, he is an attentive thoughtful server as well as a wonderful person & server. Wonderful place for special occasions!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 22, 2016

This used to be one of my favorite restaurants. Service and food were not that great. My dad's steak came out cold and it took awhile to get anyone's attention.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 21, 2016

It was a slow night. Waiter was good. Food... for the price was below average. I had the pork chop and my guest had the sword fish. Both were just ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 16, 2016

The early evening dinner is a great deal. Three course meal for ~$30 and the food is delicious.

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy, Good for Groups
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Amazing atmosphere! We arrived early for our reservations and they got us right on in. The staff ensured that we kept filled up on our drinks. Great views and environment.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Food was good. Very polite staff. This was for a birthday celebration and the cake for the birthday person was a nice surprise.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 15, 2016

We've eaten at Kemoll's before, but the staff was overwhelmed by a full dining room and limited available staff.

Tags: Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 14, 2016

A group of friends and I have been enjoying Kemoll's at Christmas time for a number of years. It has become a destination that we look forward to enjoying every year. The food is wonderful, the service superb and the view one of the best in St. Louis. They deserve their excellent reputation.

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 9, 2016

As always the service was excellent and our meal was delicious!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Cozy, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Lovely evening, excellent service and beautiful view! Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 8, 2016

This was our first time at Kemoll's; we throughly enjoyed the experience and will definitely be back. Cheers.

Tags: Good for a Date, Waterfront, Historic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 28, 2016

I took my 4 year old granddaughter to lunch. She loved the view. It was a special treat because she dressed up and was very much the little lady. The kids menu was perfect for her.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Always great - best view in STL

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.