Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

About Kemoll's Italian Restaurant

Filet Mignon in a delicate cognac cream sauce, fresh artichoke slices hand dipped and fried to a golden brown, succulent broiled lobster tails, fork tender veal scaloppini and mouth watering pasta dishes made from authentic Sicilian family recipes...and then there's the view! Located on the 40th floor of the Metropolitan Square building in downtown St. Louis Kemoll's is a destination restaurant offering stunning 360 degree views of the Arch, the river and all of downtown. Kemoll's offers great options for private dining. Six private rooms including our premier event space Top of the Met make Kemoll's a popular choice for weddings and large corporate functions.

One Metropolitan Square
40th Floor
St. Louis, MO 63101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Continental, American

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 1:30pm

Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Corner of Broadway and Pine

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 421-0555

Website:
http://www.kemolls.com/

Catering:
Experienced in catering off site events. Lunches and dinners. Hot or cold food. With service staff or drop off.

Parking Details:
Attached building garage with reserved parking for evening diners. Parking is complimentary.

Public Transit:
Metro link stop 4 blocks from restaurant. Bus stops outside of building.

Executive Chef:
Don Tadlock

Additional:
Banquet, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Kemoll's Italian Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Quiet

86% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (75)
Scenic View (73)
Special Occasion (69)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (63)
Good for a Date (61)
Quiet Conversation (42)
Worth the Drive (30)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Business Meals (27)
Notable Wine List (25)
Cozy (20)
Authentic (20)
Waterfront (19)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Good for Groups (14)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Great for Lunch (11)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Fun (5)
Casual (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Great Beer (2)
People Watching (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Live Music (1)
Live Sports (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Spicy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
726 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

The restaurant itself was very beautiful; beautiful table set up and view. It was my first time and the service I received from the waiter was not too acceptable. They were rushing, impatient and unhelpful. The food wasn't too great either, but the dessert was wonderful.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Stopped for lunch before Cards game. This is a nice place to eat if for nothing more than the view. Spectacular! However this was a day for a very good lunch experience. The service was outstanding and our food was very good.
Drink orders filled immediately and their famous hot cheese bread brought to the table and much appreciated.
My wife and I each had the small house salad which we thought tasted was very good. We split the George Kissel roast beef sandwich which was also very good. Very nice pregame lunch and we would do this again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 12, 2017

My husband and I made a reservation at Kemoll's to celebrate my birthday. I've been wanting to try this place, because it frequently pops up on 'Best Views' lists - not just for St. Louis, but for Missouri and the entire country! I can't decide if the food or the view was my favorite, but the service rounds out my top-three list of favorite things about Kemoll's.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 11, 2017

I went to Kemoll's for a birthday celebration. The views were fabulous; so was the food and the service! Thank you for making this a special event!

Tags: Fun, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Excellent service. Delicious food. Continues to be a good spot for special occasions.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Excellent place for a special date. The ambience is great. The view of the city is excellent.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Dining at Kemoll's was an excellent experience. I was visiting St. Louis and was referred here by the hotel staff. The views are breathtaking and the service/food was impeccable. The ambience is unmatched and it was very quiet. I would recommend this for a dinner date.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 2, 2017

great view of downtown st louis food was excellent great wine list service was really slow for a high end restaurant they could have used a couple of more servers and they were not very busy when we were there i just expected better

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

The food was just OK - not worth $80 for two entrees (that's with no appetizers, drinks, anything). The cheesebread tasted like a kid made it - way too simple. Requested a seat by the window at booking (a month and a half prior to coming) which we did not receive. Without the view, the food/service was not spectacular enough to pay what we paid, so overall, no I would not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Our service was very slow that night., not enough help on hand.
They put us a too large of a table and we had to move.
We had to ask for bread.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

One of my favorites ! The service is always among the best

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 30, 2017

We celebrated my husband's birthday. The food was good and the service was over the top awesome. Beautiful view. Will definitely return!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 30, 2017

I took a friend for her 50th birthday. Everything was great! We had a beautiful view of the riverfront and Arch. Food was delicious! I had the Blackened Salmon and a Caesar salad. It was fabulous!

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Food was great but our waiter was lacking in attention, the person taking care of the area tables, water etc Tamara was excellent. We gave her more of a tip than the waiter because she earned the tip. The waiter thought he was entitled.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

I would recommend it to anyone! Food was exceptional along with the service!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Made the reservation requesting a table with a view of the Arch. Explained that this was our wedding anniversary. We have been to Kemoll's numerous times over the last 35 years. I was told that they would try their best to accommodate my request . They should have told me the truth. I should have been told that there was a private cocktail party scheduled that evening taking up the entire main dining room. We were seated in a rear room with a view of the Stan Musial bridge, not a glimpse of the Arch. The cocktail group was very noisy the entire evening, not much ambiance, a whole lot of noise. Very disappointed on this visit, we will not be back so soon, and will first verify if there are any large groups prior to making another reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5
value1

 
·Dined on August 22, 2017

After having to negotiate for a better table, we were seated and then ignored for quite a while. Server was nice but had "kitchen" issues so the main course got lost and had to be resubmitted to kitchen. This made the dinner too long to enjoy the dish when it finally arrived. The food was tasty and the server apologetic so perhaps it was on off night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Food was just ok. I expected better food for the price. But the view was outstanding. Id go again but for the drinks and not the food.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Very disappointed with the food and especially the price of the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 20, 2017

They have a nice wine list, but the wine glasses are very dated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 19, 2017

We had a fabulous view of the Arch and riverfront along with a very quiet atmosphere. We had 5pm reservations and were able to order off of the early dining menu which made it more economical. The portions were more than enough food and it was delicious. We are planning to dine there again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 19, 2017

We called earlier in the day to advise my girlfriend was gluten intolerant and could Kemoll’s provide gluten-free dinner choices. The response was “Yes, we have many gluten-free menu items to choose from.”

Upon arrival we were led to a back room with six tables and seated at a table that was directly next to a large dehumidifier blowing noisily at full speed. We asked the waitress about the gluten-free menu choices and she responded “We really don’t have that many gluten-free items on the menu.” The waitress then dashed off saying she would be right back to take our drink order.

She returned to seat people at other tables and walked right by us each time as she left the dining area. No drink order. She then returned to serve a dish to folks at another table and once again walked right by us leaving, again no drink order. Then the third time she arrived back at our table where my date ordered a Hendricks and tonic with a cucumber. The waitress advised there were not any cucumbers in the restaurant, at all.

As we enjoyed our cocktails I hailed the waitress over and ordered an appetizer. When the waitress returned with the appetizer the only plate I had in front of me was the charger plate, no dinner plate. I dished out a portion of the appetizer onto the charger plate. Classy I know, but it gets better.

My date ordered the salmon with a side dish of asparagus and I ordered a house salad and a strip steak, medium rare. When the waitress returned with my salad she places the salad dish right on top of the appetizer mess left on my charger plate. Never have I seen this done in any restaurant, ever. I then cut into my steak and, well, it was rare, not medium rare but very rare. Plus is was cold and full of gristle. I had but a couple of bites and took the rest back home to the dogs. While the salmon was fine it was very obvious the asparagus came from a can. No doubt, at all.

Thus was my dining experience at Kemoll’s Fine Dining Restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (México)·Dined on August 19, 2017

My wife purchased a Groupon promotion for this restaurant so we decided to go to celebrate nearly 3 years of marriage. I had always heard about Kemoll's but had never actually gone. I must say we were both thoroughly impressed by the menu, but most of all by the amazing service that we received. Our waitress was Crystal/Krystal, and she was a great waitress, pointing out some amazing food options on the menu, and best of all, they were not the most expensive items listed. I always enjoy it when you ask for a recommendation and get a sincere response. Krystal was very friendly and attentive to our needs. There was also a very lively, fun, energetic buser named Tamara, she was spectacular. You could just sense that she absolutely loved her job and loved what she was doing. When the table that had the window view of the arch left, she came over to my wife and I and asked if we wanted to change tables and sit there. She was extremely attentive to everything and was just a genuine joy to be around. The food was also spectacular! The cheese bread was delicious and so were our entrées. My wife ordered the Pasta Primavera, which was one of Krystal's recommendations, and she absolutely loved it, especially since it was full of flavor and she is vegetarian. I ordered another one of Krystal's recommendations which was a seafood risotto with scallops, lobster tails and clams. I must say I was looking forward to a meaty pasta dish as I had visually savored one on an adjoining table, but was not disappointed by my last minute change of heart! The place has incredible views of the arch and the Mississippi riverfront. The menu can be very expensive, but with the Groupon we purchased, it definitely made it accessible. All in an it was an amazing Friday night date night. There is also free parking in the garage of the Metropolitan center for the restaurant (though I am not sure if that is the case if there is an event downtown like the Cardinals).

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Authentic, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 17, 2017

Absolutely love this place. The hardest part of writing a review is finding right words to grasp how awesome this place is. A++++ Service and Food and the view of the skyline is phenomenal. Thank You Kemoll's.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Portions are huge ... so if quantity is what you want this is the place. Pasta dish was good, but nothing special. But unfortunately at the price it should be special. Mussels appetizer was fair, mussels were tough, cream sauce was bland. Stuffed peppers appetizer was made with unexpectedly tiny peppers presented on a bed of wilted lettuce. The cheese bread was great! Best cheese bread I've ever had.

Staff was wonderful; fun, entertaining, friendly. Five stars for the staff!

Overall, the food was not worth the money. Definitely not fine dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

The view and atmosphere was spectacular! Our server was fantastic. We really enjoyed our food, also! I do feel that prices are high for the quality of food which could be because of where you are! But I would definitely go back for another special occasion!

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Waiter was great, loved him! Food was good but the view was better.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on August 12, 2017

A family came in with small children. Kids were out of control. Definitely not the restaurants fault. I would go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Food, atmosphere, service, and view - all top notch. The fresh fried artichokes are one of the best appetizers I've ever had. Delicious Veal Parmesan & generous portion too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 9, 2017

A great experience at Kemoll's. The food is fantastic, the view is incredible and the staff is very attentive. Highly Recommended.

Tags: Scenic View, Authentic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Good Italian food but the restaurant was deserted and tables and chairs were stacked along the walls; looked like the restaurant was about to close...weird vibe. The food was plentiful and good - not overly memorable and not commensurate with the price.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

The best service at lunch I ever had. I always tip 20%, but the service was so phenomenal that I left over 50%. Great Staff. Really made the special occasion special. The best part was the reasonable prices for lunch.

Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Summary: If you want a view of the Gateway to the West Arch while dining, you must REQUEST IT upon making your reservation. Put the request in the "Remarks" or "Special Request" section of the online reservation form.

I'll be honest, the reason that my wife and I visited this restaurant was for the view of the Gateway to the West Arch (i.e. St. Louis Arch); the restaurant's profile picture clearly displays the magnificent view.
Unfortunately, none of the reviews that I perused prior to visiting explained that the restaurant has views out three sides of the 40th floor of the building: East (toward the arch), North, and West.
We were seated with a view of the West (which means we were on the side with direct sunlight in the afternoon). This view covers the Dome of the Americas and the I-70 bridge over the Mississippi river. Undoubtedly, this would have been a great view of the sunset; however, our reservation was for 6:00 (which I incorrectly assumed would be early enough to secure a table with a view of the Arch), and we were finished by 7:15 (sunset was around 8:20).
We requested being moved to a table with a view of the arch, but were told the request could not be honored. There were tables available when we arrived, and there was still one table available when we left (however, it could have been slotted for a 7:15 or 7:30 arrival).
That being said, the food was very good, the service excellent, and overall, the experience was worth the value. It would have been more enjoyable with a view of the Arch. We might visit again in an attempt to get a table with the view we desired.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 3, 2017

I was part of a convention group that was working to make lunch before their cutoff. Well, we have long winded speakers and could not make it. The staff was so gracious in cancelling that I cannot wait until I am in St. Louis again to dine there. If they are that accommodating and genuinely nice when I can't make it, I'm going to love it when I can.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 3, 2017

For a business lunch the food was fantastic and the atmosphere was great.

Tags: Healthy, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

Friendly welcome and an excellent table with view of the river and the Arch, as I had requested for our special occasion. The food was excellent and very well presented, $46 for a main course. Service was attentive and friendly. There was a table of 8 women who made so much noise that we had trouble talking to each other - very inconsiderate. Apart from that we had an excellent evening - the view and the food are both exceptional. Highly recommended

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 1, 2017

The food was good, the view was amazing. Food was a upper side of expensive, but worth paying for the view. You are on the 40th floor over looking the arch. Make sure you go when it's sunny out so you can see the view. Great place to go on a fancy date or celebrate an anniversary.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Waterfront, Business Meals, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Great experience, even on a Monday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on July 31, 2017

It is supposed to be a 360 view, what a big lie you can not see maybe more than 90 degrees. Terrible view won't recommend and won't come back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

I specifically asked for the Arch View as this was my husband's Bucket List dinner before he dies. I was not told there was a private party that same night. Therefore, I didn't get the VIEW of the Arch. That was the ONLY REASON we chose Kemoll's. Very disappointed. Further....upon leaving we saw withbour own eyes & took a picture of other people enjoying the view that my husband and I were SUPPOSE to have. Ruined evening.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.