Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

About Kapnos

Chef Mike Isabella opened Kapnos along the Fourteenth Street Corridor in July 2013. Isabella draws inspiration from Northern Greece to create a menu of spreads, breads, vegetables and other small plates, including his signature wood-grilled octopus. Two wood-fire grills with rotating spits and a large oven for stone-baked flat breads service the 160-seat restaurant. Guests enjoy carvings from whole animals that have been spit-roasted all day, including lamb, goat, duck, chicken, and suckling pig. Kapnos is open for dinner seven nights a week.

2201 14th St NW
Washington, DC 20009
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Greek

Hours of Operation:
Dinner
Monday-Wednesday: 6pm-10pm (bar open until 11pm)
Thursday: 6pm-10:30pm (bar open until 11:30pm)
Friday-Saturday: 5pm-11pm (bar open until 12am)
Sunday: 5pm-10pm (bar open until 11pm)

Happy Hour - Everyday from 5pm-7pm in the bar area only.

Brunch
Saturday-Sunday: 11am-3pm
Bar open between 3pm-5pm on Saturday-Sunday

Cross Street:
14th St & W St, NW

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 234-5000 ext. 9

Website:
http://kapnosdc.com/

Catering:
Mike Isabella Concepts offers Greek catering in the style of Kapnos. Please email events@kapnosdc.com for more information.

Parking Details:
Kapnos offers Valet Parking Thursday, Friday, and Saturday beginning at 5:00pm outside the W Street entrance. Please note that Valet Service ends at close of service and is $15 per vehicle. Street parking can also be found nearby.

Public Transit:
Kapnos is located 3 blocks from U Street/African-Amer Civil War Memorial/Cardozo metro station (13th st & U st exit)

Executive Chef:
Mike Isabella, George Pagonis

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact events@mikeisabella.com

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Kapnos can accommodate groups up to 250 for a standing cocktail reception and we also offer a semi-private dining room that accommodate up to 50 guests seated and 75 standing. Our entire dining room can seat approx. 160 guests plus about 40 guests in our bar area.

Kapnos Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (68)
Tapas (65)
Good for a Date (56)
See All
Creative Cuisine (55)
Special Occasion (47)
Good Vegetarian Options (46)
Open Kitchen (41)
Neighborhood Gem (40)
Good for Groups (35)
Fun (35)
Good for Birthdays (31)
Authentic (31)
Casual (31)
Great for Brunch (28)
Modern Decor (28)
Tasting Menu (27)
Good for Anniversaries (27)
Bar Seating (24)
Hot Spot (24)
Handcrafted Cocktails (22)
Romantic (22)
Healthy (22)
Worth the Drive (22)
Sunday Lunch (21)
Happy Hour (19)
Great for Outdoor Dining (18)
Business Meals (18)
Family Style (17)
Vibrant Bar Scene (16)
Cozy (15)
People Watching (15)
Notable Wine List (14)
Wood Oven (14)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Comfort Food (12)
Great for Lunch (11)
Local Ingredients (10)
Gluten Free Options (10)
Seasonal (7)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Vegan (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Spicy (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Great Beer (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Afternoon Coffee (0)
Sort By:
S
887 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (London)·Dined 5 days ago

Fabulous food but can't say the same about service. Our server had a pretentious air and was lacking in attentiveness. Waiter ignored our request for how we wanted food served and instead went with his own suggestion, which did not suit us since we weren't sharing every dish. My companion sat without food while I had two plates in front of me. We had to ask for drink refills and for empty dishes to be removed. Admittedly, it was a very busy Saturday night but they seemed well staffed so I'm a bit baffled. I truly hope our service experience was an anomaly because the food was excellent and I want to try again. It is very loud and tables are too close together so expect to make friends with your neighbors.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

It was obviously a busy night, and we had to wait about twenty minutes for our reserved table. While waiting, we watched four other parties complain to the hostess about their own long waits. When we finally were seated, it was clear the sever was overwhelmed. Not sure it was his fault. Kitchen was backed up, and he had quite a few tables. I realize food comes out "as they are prepared," but I don't think that justified one dish to come out every twenty minutes. We ended up getting my +1's last dish to-go since it was just taking too long. Even then, the server came back to say it was still coming soon.

Maybe I should have complained. I thought the signs were there that we weren't thrilled. A manager came to drop the check, but no comment or apology was given.

The food was good, albeit not hot. I probably won't come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

We absolutely love the food and service - some of the best in DC - but the crowd has gotten unbearably louder every time we go, to the point that we rarely make eat here anymore. It's to the point that management needs to do something about it; it's a total turn off.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

Food, wine, and service are excellent, but the air is too cold and it is noisy. This is the second time I have eaten at Kapnos. Both times, the food was great, but I was cold.

Tags: Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Super delicious everything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

Best lamb I've ever had

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Food was great! Service was horrible. At one point we had to ask the hostess to please locate our wait person. We felt as though we should have left the tip with the person who filled our water glasses and cleared the table!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Liked the ambience, energy and decor. Well done.
White wine (Verenzy/Ferenzy?) outstanding!
Lambchops good, Spinach spanakopita(?) very good; chicken ,very good
Sasturday Kapama really mediocre
Backlava very good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Absolutely delicious food, loved the phyllo pies and the spreads! Service was slow, and the lightning was weird (either dark or harsh light on either side of the table). Also more pricy than the average meal in DC.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 13, 2017

A delicious meal hit just the right spot for my dad's birthday. We ordered a series of healthy, innovative, thoughtfully composed tapas dishes. We appreciated the wait staff's recommendations on food and wine. We enjoyed our spot near the window; other parts of the restaurant seemed a bit trendier, but also also somewhat dark (which would not have been ideal for my parents).

Tags: Family Style, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Expensive but the food was great

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Unfortunately after many wonderful visits to Kapnos, this one was not a good experience. We had to ask for bread a number of times before it was served, the waiters suggestions were not very good--for instance, we did not have enough vegetables for the amount of meat ordered. And the worst was an addition of a 20% gratuity onto the bill ( which was over $500.00) without any mention that service was added. One does not want to feel that a restaurant is trying to take advantage of you. I feel very badly because I am not sure that I want to return to a restaurant that was an old friend. What a loss.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The lamb was delicious!! We went for brunch but will definitely go back for dinner.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great food.

When Gratitude is included in the bill, it would be more ethical not to include TIP section on the bill.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

DELICIOUS! Great atmosphere. Great service. Kapnos is a must-try if you are a fan of Greek cuisine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 6, 2017

I have been here twice and both times were spectacular. Everyone should come to this restaurant and try feta dip. The waiters are always very knowledgable and good at suggesting foods to try.

I went with a picky eater and he had no problem finding something to eat!

five stars!

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Wood Oven, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Fabulous food. Amazing wine. Excellent staff. Very good recommendations! I would go there again in a heartbeat. My friend is vegetarian and they had some great options! I wish I recollected the name of my waiter. He was fantastic!

Tags: Healthy, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Vegan, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Food was great esp octopus and pork. Wine was splendid. The restaurant was way understuffed. It took way too long for a drink to arrive that we had to cancel it. The check was also wrong.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 4, 2017

The small plates are great -- the choices for appetizers and sides was especially good. One dish -- roast duck -- was a little greasy, which is easy to do with duck. Others were spot on, tasty and interesting. We went as a foursome with a couple we only see every few years, and we all enjoyed the tastes.

One slight negative -- when we made the reservation we asked for a quiet table so we could visit; the staff didn't reserve one for us, but made special efforts to get us the quietest spot they could. Otherwise the noise level would have been too much for good visiting.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 4, 2017

I love this restaurant, but tonight was not so great. While food was great, service was was not ......we were sat for at least 10 minutes before we were even greeted. The food again was great, but took forever to come out along with drinks. Also, water glasses empty and clearing of plates was hit or miss.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Great food, but exceptionally noisy. Hope they install sound-deadening features.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Everything we ate there was absolutely delicious! The restaurant looks great inside, the service was very good.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 1, 2017

I had visited Kapnos once before on a date and liked the decor/atmosphere, etc. and not having insight into the bill (lucky me), thought the tapas we ordered were fine. I enjoyed it.

Last night, I attended with my boyfriend. We weren't too hungry so we each got a glass of wine and 3 tapas to split: the beef tartare, saganaki, and fried cauliflower. While the portions were fair, we were quite disappointed with the food and even more, the price.

First, one of the most oft-committed tartare faux pas is not providing enough bread/crisps/chips to shuttle the tartare from plate to palate. Kapnos was no exception. The potential for flavor was there; the balance was not. The tartare was overwhelmed with mustard and we couldn't taste the quality / flavor of the beef ( I hope that wasn't by design).

Now, the saganaki. Kapnos' saganaki left me unimpressed. It came out nice and hot but unfortunately, the melted cheese stopped at the surface and an overcooked ( I hate to say it, but burnt) cheese quickly followed. That flavor very much overshadowed the black pepper honey that the description boasted; it was barely detectable.

The cauliflower saved the meal. It was cooked to perfection with an incredibly fresh mint spread.

Overall, the service was fine, though they offered every single one of our plates to other tables, multiple times, before getting around to ours ( I know, I know, the hazards of having a food runner. But, for a supposedly high caliber restaurant, this surprised me. The first time, no problem; the second plate - funny; the third....you can't be serious, are we chopped liver over here? ha). The food though, was nothing to write home about and for that pricepoint?! Not acceptable. We went to another delicious 14th St. Spanish tapas restaurant for brunch on Saturday and paid the same price for several signature cocktails and a LOT more food. And...that food was amazing.

I wouldn't spend here for 3 dishes what I would pay for a 3 course meal, elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Very enjoyable. No significant flaws. Were in town visiting my son. Would definitely try to get back there on our next visit.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Came down to DC for some Mets/Nats baseball and couldn't leave without having dinner at Kapnos. It's an amazing meal - truly some of the best
Mediterranean food we've ever had. Its impossible to say what dish was the but we highly recommend the spreads, (pita is warm and incredibly perfect for the spreads) beats, saganaki (sweet and savory) and chicken with lemon potatoes.
We will be back next time we are in town.
Let's go Mets!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Great food! My husband and I tried the brussel sprouts as well as the orzo with lamb in a red sauce as starters, and the whole dorado as our main entree. Everything we had was very tasty. We thought the dorado was slightly overpriced at $44, but delicious nonetheless. The service was good. We sat outside on a spring evening and it was wonderful. Would recommend this restaurant as a casual place to get good food.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 29, 2017

I was disappointed with Kapnos on my third visit. The food has been outstanding until now. the Bronzino which used to be accompanied by vegetable in a clear broth is now served with a tomato sauce that tasted like store bought. The tomato sauce overwhelmes the delicacy of the fish. I also ordered a trio of appetizers and found the portion size to be much less than the individual appetizers. It would be great if there would be an indication that the serving size of the trio is much smaller. I ordered 2 baklavas which previously have been moist. However the baklavas were dry and hard as a rock.
Initially the waiter was friendly. However when I mentioned to the waiter that the branzino was not as quiet as tasty, he went and spoke to the chef about it. Afterwards the waiter attitude toward our table became less than attentive.
Lesson learnt "don't criticize the food at Kapnos".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Coffee waffles and baklava French toast were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 26, 2017

We were told to order two to three dishes each as the plates except for the proper entrees were for sharing, but we found that we had to take almost two whole dishes home in a brown bag! Try the roasted and grilled meats, we enjoyed the goat and pork. But ignore the advice to over order and pace yourself. Two to three choices is probably enough for two moderately hungry people.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 23, 2017

The food was great. The service was pretty slow and our waiter gave us blatant attitude twice during our meal. The first time was when someone in our party found a hair in his water and brought this to her attention and asked for a new water. Instead of apologizing she was snippy and said that we would have to hold on because she had something in her hands. The second time she gave us a rude attitude, the waitress forgot to charge us $40 on our credit cards. We brought this to her attention because we did not want her to be shorted $40 on our meal. She was extremely rude to us (she should have been thanking us). We were able to speak to the manager and the manager apologized. We never did receive an apology from the waitress.

Tags: Romantic, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Best soft shell crabs ever- Bronzino fish was perfect- highly recommend

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We were in DC for the March for Science and wanted to try one of Mike Isabella's places. Kapnos did not disappoint. True to his Mediterranean roots with a Top Chef twist. We tried the tasting menu of course. Spreads, mezzes, salads, and small plates with veggie bites, seafood and local ingredients. We're suckers for saganaki but Kapnos's sweet/savory version was unexpected (and delicious). Sea bass, octopus, grilled meats including an incredible lamb over potatoes. We were stuffed but the waitress convinced us to try a couple of dessrts. They were fine, but then she brought out the last of the evening special -- a fluffy cherry mouse cake/pie. We will be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 19, 2017

The charred octopus and salmon is THE BEST!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Incredible food. Beautiful flavors that complement each other very, very well. Terrific and attentive wait staff!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Our waitress was scattered. Very difficult to get her attention and ask for suggestions. Wrong items kept coming to our table, and she even brought the wrong check. Really sub-par service. Smh. Next time will sit at the bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Food was excellent, but service was very haphazard. Entrees were served separately for the party of two, and yet the desert course was served at the same time that the second course was served to the second diner. Waiter had to be asked several times for a simple thing and no one checked to see if we needed anything until we were nearly finished with our meal. We were really rushed through (3 courses in 45 minutes) and the restaurant was not full, so it wasn't like they needed the table. Overall, not a terribly pleasant experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The food was great and very healthy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The dining room was lively on a Saturday night. I have dined before at Kapnos but in the Bethesda location. This time I was disappointed. And while the food was good, the main course of a shared cod fish came to a halt when I discovered, in my mouth, a piece of hair. I called the waiter over and whispered in his ear what I had discovered and then without missing a beat he brought the manager over to address the problem. This is when everything became strange. She proceeded to take the strand of hair from me and inspected it. She stated that , "we don't have anyone working here with light hair." Then she looked over at me. I have brown hair but I could tell what she was thinking--could it have been my hair. Regardless, where was her training as a manager of a well-known restaurant?? She should never question the customer--and rather than expressing her apologies, she just said that I should pick another dish. At that point, no offense, I had lost my appetite. In the end, rather than deducting the dishing from the bill, we received a complimentary dessert--which in my opinion was beside the point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Great restaurant. Food was amazing. Already booked another dinner there!

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Went to Kapnos for the first time to experience their brunch. They seated us 20 min before our reservation. We sat outside and enjoyed the beautiful weather in their nice outdoor area. The inside is beautifully decorated with the aroma of various meats filling the air space. It was divine. The menu was quite extensive for a brunch offering. We started with the pikilia and the proportions were just right to enjoy a sampling of their various spreads. Our entrees included the shrimp frittata, herb marinated lamb chops, and baklava french toast. They were all delicious! Service was a little slow- took a while to get the service to actually come back to get our main entree orders but overall very nice. Will definitely come back to try the dinner selections!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.