Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

About Kapnos

Chef Mike Isabella opened Kapnos along the Fourteenth Street Corridor in July 2013. Isabella draws inspiration from Northern Greece to create a menu of spreads, breads, vegetables and other small plates, including his signature wood-grilled octopus. Two wood-fire grills with rotating spits and a large oven for stone-baked flat breads service the 160-seat restaurant. Guests enjoy carvings from whole animals that have been spit-roasted all day, including lamb, goat, duck, chicken, and suckling pig. Kapnos is open for dinner seven nights a week.

2201 14th St NW
Washington, DC 20009
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Greek

Hours of Operation:
Dinner
Monday-Wednesday: 5:30pm-10pm (bar open until 11pm)
Thursday: 5:30pm-10:30pm (bar open until 11:30pm)
Friday-Saturday: 5pm-11pm (bar open until 12am)
Sunday: 5pm-10pm (bar open until 11pm)

Happy Hour - Everyday from 5pm-7pm in the bar area only.

Brunch
Saturday-Sunday: 11am-3pm
Bar open between 3pm-5pm on Saturday-Sunday

Cross Street:
14th St & W St, NW

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 234-5000 ext. 9

Website:
http://kapnosdc.com/

Catering:
Mike Isabella Concepts offers Greek catering in the style of Kapnos. Please email events@kapnosdc.com for more information.

Parking Details:
Street parking can also be found nearby.

Public Transit:
Kapnos is located 3 blocks from U Street/African-Amer Civil War Memorial/Cardozo metro station (13th st & U st exit)

Executive Chef:
Mike Isabella, George Pagonis

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact events@mikeisabella.com

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Kapnos can accommodate groups up to 250 for a standing cocktail reception and we also offer a semi-private dining room that accommodate up to 50 guests seated and 75 standing. Our entire dining room can seat approx. 160 guests plus about 40 guests in our bar area.

Kapnos Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (50)
Creative Cuisine (38)
Tapas (32)
See All
Good for Groups (32)
Good for a Date (31)
Special Occasion (30)
Neighborhood Gem (28)
Good Vegetarian Options (26)
Hot Spot (25)
Authentic (23)
Handcrafted Cocktails (23)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Casual (19)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Notable Wine List (17)
Great for Outdoor Dining (17)
Tasting Menu (17)
Fun (16)
Bar Seating (15)
Great for Brunch (11)
People Watching (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Romantic (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Business Meals (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Cozy (7)
Seasonal (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Vegan (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Great Beer (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Organic (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Spicy (3)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
993 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined a day ago

The shakshouka is always delicious and mimosas always fresh. Never disappoints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 2 days ago

The food was excellent. We started with flatbread and one of the yogurt cheese spreads - ahhhh, delectable!!! Every round tasted greater and greater - we ended with the lamb entree. The service was superb and the price was very reasonable. I'm looking forward to going back with friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Authentic, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

Kapnos used to be one of my favorite restaurants in the city. How the mighty have fallen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

This was my 2nd time at Kapnos and it did not disappoint. This time we were able to sit on the patio and it was just a lovely evening. We sampled a lot of different foods, the Bronzino, some Lamb Filo, Tuna Tartar, and the most amazing chick pea fries. Our server was lovely and engaging and very attentive, without being annoying. It is a great spot to people watch on a week night luckily DC's weather will hold for another couple months.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Great food and very friendly service. The lamb shoulder is our favorite dish to share for a big group of ppl. Very nice desserts.

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Fun, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Authentic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 16, 2017

The food was good, the tasting menu was a bit over priced for what they gave you (quality wise, not quantity), next time I will pick off of the menu instead.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 16, 2017

We have been fans of Kapnos for years. It is always a treat to return. The food was fantastic as usual.

We were a little disappointed with the service. We were not really greeted by the host stand and we had to remind our server that we needed water a time or 2. When the manager came by he asked if we'd like to try a different wine, when we said that we would prefer to stick with what we had and would appreciate another glass-it never came.

Overall, nothing that tainted an evening with nice ambiance and great food but unusual for Kapnos. We have come to expect great service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 16, 2017

The food was ok but not excellent. Perhaps we didn't choose well. The pita bread that came with the spreads seemed like it wasn't fully baked. The feta spread was very good. The dolmades were just ok. The fava bean dish was very good.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 15, 2017

consistently great food. It's on the noisy side so you have to speak louder and listen harder to the conversation. But the food makes up for it

Tags: Good for Groups, Tapas, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 9, 2017

The octopus was over cooked / burnt this time around

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 9, 2017

First time there for brunch and it was as great as their dinners! Delicious food :) Service was good, a little slow in the beginning but then the server was more attentive. Overall great experience.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Parfait !! Le demi-poulet était juste magnifique et le service irréprochable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Excellent appetizers! Knowledgeable , friendly sommelier and wait staff! Will return and recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Our waiter was great. The food was AWESOME! Extremely fresh. I will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 7, 2017

The service was very nice. The food was interesting and fun but missed the mark on a couple of items. For example, the taramasalata was bland and didn't have enough roe; the phyllo mushroom pie was mostly potatoes inside.

The drinks were nice and inventive.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Excellent food, excellent service. A bit of a noise level but great experience all around

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 2, 2017

This place is overhyped and way overpriced. The food is mediocre at best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 30, 2017

the food was fantastic and the setting was very nice as well. service was solid but could have been a little more attentive.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 28, 2017

We really like Kapnos and booked it for a group of six, though I had reservations about the sharing that's typical with small plates, given a group that size. I need not have worried. Though smaller than a full dinner, each of the twelve items we ordered was substantial enough for everyone to have a satisfying portion. Plus, the food was just plain terrific and we got to try a lot of different things. Our out-of-town family was very happy.

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Great food especially the fish. Some of rotisserie items too smoked for my taste

Tags: Fun, People Watching, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Dave was the best waiter ever! He knew everything about the menu and made ordering a wide variety of items easy, as well as found us the perfect wine without breaking the bank. Great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Kapnos is never disappoints. The octopus is a must.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 21, 2017

We had gone about a month ago and the food was fantastic, very authentic and not over-powered with seasonings. This time, it was not nearly as good. Not sure if a different chef, but even the steak we ordered for my son (because there is no "kids menu" was pepper-filled and had a big kick). Lemon chicken was over-lemony, and overall the dishes tasted different than a month or so ago. Still recommend it, great décor, we were just expecting more with the food.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Kapnos has the best, most authentic Greek dining in the area. We enjoyed the Restaurant Week tasting menu for four, enabling our group to sample a wide variety of dishes and courses. Kapnos handles the basic comfort foods beautifully while also offering some inventive variations on classic Mediterranean cooking. Combine these highlights with fine wines from Crete, Santorini and northern Greece, and you have a wonderful experience.

Tags: Tapas, Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

The food is amazing, and the staff was super nice. We celebrated a birthday and it was perfect for a group outing

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 19, 2017

The food at Kapnos is always amazing - a great modern take on traditional Greek dishes. Everything I've ever eaten at Kapnos has been superb. Definitely start with a spread! I highly recommend the tyrokaftari and order it every time I'm at Kapnos. The lamb and lemon potatoes are to die for. On my last visit, I noticed the kegged lemonades were no longer on the menu. Fortunately they're still available, just under a different name.

Every visit until my most recent has been absolutely perfect. During my most recent visit, the service was very "off." I think this was probably due to Restaurant Week and/or new staff. Our primary server was outstanding, though.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 19, 2017

RW was a good deal but drinks were expensive and entree was very underwhelming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

Outstanding. Went during restaurant week for our Anniversary. Food was amazing. Service was good, nothing outstanding but not bad. Can't say enough about the flavors....well blended, hit all the taste sensations with none overpowering the other. Ranks up in the top 10 places I have eaten, including in both in US, Europe and South America.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 18, 2017

I attended for dinner restaurant week, and this was honestly the best meal i had of the 7 restaurants i tried during the week. I was not even hungry. They served a combination of dishes off their regular menu, which was much appreciated as reflective of a normal culinary experience there. The highlight of the meal was probably the lamb. It came as shredded pieces, but was juicy, tender, and tasty. i order the spit-roasted chicken, and i'm not a fan of white meat , so found it a bit dry. You could probably ask for dark meat though. They have happy hour, so i will try to come back for that. Otherwise this is a good place, and definitely worth a trip to!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quick Bite, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 18, 2017

The best Greek restaurant around. I'm From NYC and on vacation in DC and kapnos is hands down one of the best restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

High quality food, great selection, excellent presentation, and friendly staff .

Tags: Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Tapas, Fun, Good for Groups, Vegan, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 16, 2017

We enjoyed our Restaurant Week experience. Service could've been a bit better in the beginning, but was great by the end. They were very accommodating with a last-minute scheduling issue. Food was delicious. Very satisfying meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Spectacular evening. Everyone at the table raved about the food. We enjoyed the Restaurant Week 4-course meal and everything was perfect. I'll definitely be back!! And, when I return I'm looking forward to getting the large $89 lamb dish and sharing it among the table with side dishes. I can't wait!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raum Frankfurt)·Dined on August 16, 2017

The lamb was amazing. I really liked the place worths to try it out.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 16, 2017

Visited Kapnos as a part of D.C.'s Summer Restaurant Week 2017. We arrived 15 minutes after our reservation time due to trouble finding parking. However, we gave the staff a call and we had no issues getting a table as soon as we arrived.

The restaurant looks and feels amazing, definitely enjoyed the atmosphere. It is a little on the louder side, so I wouldn't recommend it as a quiet date spot. However, the noise level was nothing to complain about.

Service was great as well, especially considering the restaurant being full due to Restaurant Week. Servers were attendant and very helpful with the menu options.

Now for the best part of the night: the food. Hands down, Kapnos delivered some of the best food that I've had in my life. We got 10 different options from their menu and all of them were great. The major stand outs where the taramosalata, the roasted duck phyllo pie (really liked this), the marinated spring lamb, and the spiced baby goat. The baklava was also amazing as well. The combination of flavors on these dishes along with the presentation were top notch for sure.

Overall, 5 out of 5 stars experience and we will be returning again soon!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 15, 2017

kapnos has a good kitchen but not every dish is worth ordering--falafel were unremarkable and served unadorned which is odd. the room is typically noisy, service is brusque. its expensive for what many of the dishes are-- nicely rendered versions of simple, traditional food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value2

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

I have been wanting to try this place and finally went during Restaurant Week (Aug. 2017), which made it a great value. On an everyday basis, I think the plates are a bit more pricey. Nonetheless, the food is delicious and our server was great! The busboy was great too! Very knowledgeable and gave great suggestions on what to order.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 13, 2017

I have eaten dinner here many times but this was my first brunch. I can't recommend it enough. We split several entrees between our group and every item on the menu was delicious - Shakshouka, Greek waffles, summer salad, and the shrimp fritatta - all fantastic.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 13, 2017

I've been here for dinner at least 5 times and it's delicious. Brunch not so much. I had a lamb gyro and it was really bland, nothing like all the amazing dishes I've had here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Had a Saturday wonderful brunch at Kapnos. My bud had the lamb gyro, and I had the shrimp frittata. We enjoyed our dishes, and loved the grapefruit mimosas. Yum, yum!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.