Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.41mi
  2. Distance: 0.77mi
  3. Distance: 0.78mi
  4. Distance: 0.83mi
  1. Distance: 0.41mi
  2. Distance: 0.77mi
  3. Distance: 0.78mi
  4. Distance: 0.83mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.41mi
  2. Distance: 0.77mi
  3. Distance: 0.78mi
  4. Distance: 0.83mi
  1. Distance: 0.41mi
  2. Distance: 0.77mi
  3. Distance: 0.78mi
  4. Distance: 0.83mi

About Kanishka's Gastro Pub

Noted for Top 100 Best Bites of East Bay #29 (Aug 2016) for Chef's Shikampuri Lamb Sliders by Diablo. Recognized as "Best Gastropub", "Diner's Choice Award 2015-2014", "Fit for Foodies", by OpenTable Diners, "Best Tapas 2015,2014" by Culinary 86 deg Excellence.

Kanishka's brings you the experience of globally inspired "sharable small plates" and Gastro-Curry cuisine with Indian influences by Exec Chef Paramita Roy in a socializing trendy ambiance. The cuisine is offered over a list of seasonally changing craft beers, wines.

Our innovative cuisine has been developed by Exec Chef/Owner Paramita Roy based on her global epicurean travels, comfort cooking, and has East Indian influences as well. Her cuisine also expands to include vegan and 'no-oil' choices. Kanishka's is a neighborhood perfect spot for foodies, travelers, socializing with friends and date night.

Available for events, caterings and weddings on-site and off-site.


1518 Bonanza St
Walnut Creek, CA 94596
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Gastro Pub, Tapas / Small Plates, Contemporary Indian

Hours of Operation:
Weekdays Dinner: Tues-Thurs 5 pm - 10 pm

Weekend Lunch: Fri-Sat: 11:30am - 4:00pm

Weekend Dinner: Fri-Sun 5:00pm-10:00pm

Social Hours:

Tues-Sun: 5 pm - 6:30 pm


Closed Monday

Cross Street:
Main St and Locust St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(925) 464-7468

Website:
http://www.kanishkasgastropub.com/

Entertainment:
Modern Rock, EDM, New Age Music
Sports Entertainment, Travel Channel on TV

Catering:
Catering: Pick up/Delivery. Please call 650.995.4113 for catering details. Menu selections (not limited to restaurant menu) created with and/or without beer & wine package based on requirements.

Parking Details:
Street Parking
Parking Garage: within 1-2 blocks

Public Transit:
BART stop - Walnut Creek
Local Bus services within Contra Costa County

Executive Chef:
Paramita Roy

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We support local artists to feature artwork / photography available for sale at Kanishka's every 6-8 months and like to donate to a cause. Should you be interested, please send an email to:
kanishkas_cafe@yahoo.com.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Kanishka's Gastro Pub Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.0

ambience

3.8

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (15)
Tapas (12)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
See All
Fit for Foodies (8)
Great Beer (8)
Casual (7)
Special Occasion (6)
Good for a Date (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Authentic (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Spicy (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Family Style (3)
Fun (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Healthy (3)
Cozy (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Romantic (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Vegan (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Organic (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
199 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent food as always.

Somewhat disappointed this time in the beer selection and presentation of flights ordered; server didn't seem to know what was available or much about the beers- in the past it's always been spot-on....suggest training new employees.

Will definitely come back; just hoping for a little more knowledge and organization with the beers.

Tags: Tapas, Good Vegetarian Options, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

Fantastic food and service! Love the spice and flavor - never disappoints!

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Awesome eclectic fresh innovative food - can't wait to return!!!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Fun, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Maybe the service had a bad day, but at that evening the service was more a disaster.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Interesting concept, but in general poorly executed. Bread for sliders was soggy, Paneer pops came out a little cold. Service was slow, seemed understaffed on the Thursday night we ate there. Didn't match other reviewers' positive experiences, so may have been an off night.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 27, 2017

This place is so great and I couldn't be happier than I've found it.

Tags: Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Spicy, Organic, Casual, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Vegan, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Everything is so salty. Might be good for Happy Hour.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 19, 2017

My second visit here was even better than my first. The menu offers a great selection of tapas style shareable dishes with an Indian influence. They were all very flavorful and varied in levels of spiciness as desired. The beer and wine selection was also very good and our server was very attentive and helpful.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Special Occasion, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Delicious food and great beer. It was a quiet weeknight, but they were still willing to serve us after all the other guests had gone. The spinach/corn/paneer dish was FANTASTIC!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Fun, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Spicy, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The food was very interesting, unusual and tasty. We had never tried any of the dishes before but all were delicious. We will be coming back again.

Tags: Tapas, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great culinary experience. Not your regular off the mill Indian food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Overall the food was great and the drinks are really good, went there for Valentine's day. Great food, service, and prices.

Tags: Cozy, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I thought it was authentic Indian food it was Fusion Witch was fine if I were looking for that. Good taste on the chicken. But I won't returned

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Food was great - and was the perfect Saturday night dinner for me, my wife and our two kiddos (9 and 6). We've been trying to introduce the kiddos to new types of cuisine and they loved Kanishka's. We all did. We'll be back.

Tags: Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Food was excellent and nice small plate sizes ideal for sharing. It's a small cozy dining area, which was full when we were there but not overly noisy.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 28, 2017

This is my favorite restaurant in Walnut Creek. The flavors of the dishes are unique and absolutely outstanding. The vibe is great and the service is always pleasant and timely. Love this spot!

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 16, 2017

The food is tapas style and basically Indian with a twist. We loved the food. It was delicious. Service was pretty poor on a sunday night. The waitress was very slow and took a while to comprehend - seemed like she had a computing problem - not processing fast enough. Having said that the beer flight and quality of food made up for it.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Decent food, but small overpriced portions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Used to love this place! But unfortunately the quality has deteriorated.

Shrimp was not fresh in the popcorn shrimp. The spiciness of the coating and in the dip provided masked this fact , but could not hide it completely.

The kathi roll was just ok.

The Poutine was just Chicken Tikka poured over fries.. no way innovative ..did not have the ingenuity I had associated the Chef Paromita Das' style with.

The roasted cauliflower and beet salad served had simply blanched cauliflowers (they forgot to roast them, I think) and negligibly thin slices of uncooked beet (was expecting them to be roasted as well, to bring out their sweetness)

Paneer lollipops were over coated,still a tad than other dishes.

The worst was the Lamb Bhuna Keema Masala....surprisingly the dish was over tangy and the fried egg served with it, was over cooked and rubbery! So was the San served it the entree.

Certainly the place seems to have lost its Mojo or its executive Chef's attention!

Have been coming here occasionally, many times in the past few years and had been raving about it's uniqueness in my circle.

But this is the second time we were disappointed ! Not coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Delicious Indian inspired small plates to share. The chickpea sliders and cauliflower pakora (I think that is the name) were amazing. The chef is willing to cater to special dietary needs. We were impressed with the vegan options. If required, lots of gluten free options too. Highly recommend that you give it a try. We plan to go back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vegan, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Awful awful service. Poorly made and served drinks.
I will not be returning here. It's too expensive for what you get.
They have a prime location, but they won't last too long if they continue the way they are.
It's a cold atmosphere and incredibly loud. Difficult to have a conversation.
Again, the service......ugh.

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 6, 2017

The food here is so good. I love the cauliflower tacos. I wish they weren't so expensive though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Shared the Unravelled Samosa, Brussel Sprouts, Hummus, Cauliflower Tacos and Coconut Prawn Curry. Chicken Tikka Masala Poutin and some assorted beers. All of the food was outstanding! What a fun place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Spent my New Year's Eve dinner date here and really enjoyed the ambiance of the restaurant and outstanding tapas selection. Very well hand crafted tapas that are outside of the box, being unique of anything I've ever tasted. I would highly recommend this restaurant for future special date nights! I will be frequenting this spot much more often!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Romantic, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Authentic, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Kid-friendly, Fun, Live Sports, Tapas, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 18, 2016

I had high hopes for this place since a friend told me how great it was. Unfortunately my husband and I were not pleased at all. The host seemed cold and uninterested, the champagne was flat, the wine tasted like it was previously corked, the fries In the poutin were stale, and the naan was undercooked. The only pros for us was our friendly and attentive waitress. The lamb sliders were tasty but over salted.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Great menu with lots of small plates to try. The Brussels sprouts were great as were the lamb and shrimp curries. The beer selection was also great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Great small plates, good friendly service. The only issue was the pork ribs were a tad bland but the meat fell off the bone. Some additional dipping sauce cured the problem.
All other dishes were amazing

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 4, 2016

We stopped in after a movie - love the small plates concept so we can try several dishes. Each plate was flavorful and unique. Service was a bit slow to start, but not a problem throughout the meal. I would recommend this place for date night, special occasions or night out with friends!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Most unexpected and delicious meal of the year. The food here is very original and yummy. Can't recommend it more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The service was great but we didn't enjoy our food too much. We went because our friends recommended it but our experience wasn't that great. We ordered a few appetizers that were okay. I like their concept of modernizing indian street food but it wasn't executed that well. The good tasted okay and some of it was easy too salty. It might be worth a try for someone that haset been and hopefully they will have a better experience than us.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The food here is divine & has been every time I've been in. (That kind of consistency is not easy to come by in dining out.). The dishes are inventive, full of flavor, & bc its small plates, one can try so many different things. A unique gem in downtown WC.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Outstanding as always. Try the eggwash flatbread!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 29, 2016

A good place to share plates. Food is spicy and original.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Love the small plates and the vegan options. Beer list was great too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 24, 2016

HeA great variety of Small plates, and all delicious. Nice and spicy! Beer and wine selections also delicious. We enjoyed our experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 19, 2016

Love this place - fun to try different dishes- never had one that wasn't great!!!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Healthy, Disabled Access, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Authentic, Quick Bite, Live Sports, Good Vegetarian Options, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Went there on a girls night. Had an awesome time. Great appetizers! Very good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Been here once before about a year ago, food was good but extremely spicy.
This time food was mediocre at best and the service was awful!
Won't be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great atmosphere, good service and great food - could not want for anything!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 13, 2016

The Owner Permita has brought together some incredible ingredients to create an Indian fusion menu that changes all the time! I highly recommend checking this place out. The food was awesome, the service was great and it's a nice location too.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.