Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi

About Juniper & Ivy

Juniper and Ivy offers “Refined America Food with Left Coast Edge” Courtesy of acclaimed Chef Richard Blais perhaps most recognizable as the Winner of Bravo’s “Top Chef All-Stars”. Blais brings his wildly creative approach to cooking and cuisine to San Diego; Backed by an All-Star Culinary Team. Excellent Cocktail and Wine Programs paired with Al Fresco Dining, High Energy Design and more makes Juniper and Ivy the newest Destination Restaurant to hit the West Coast.

2228 Kettner Blvd
San Diego, CA 92101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Californian, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Service
Sunday - Thursday : 5pm - 10 p.m.
Friday & Saturday : 5pm - 11 p.m.

Bar/Lounge opens daily at 4 p.m.

Cross Street:
On Kettner, between Juniper & Ivy

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 269-9036

Website:
http://www.juniperandivy.com/

Parking Details:
Street Parking
Valet available to guests at $5/car + gratuity

Executive Chef:
Richard Blais

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Acclaimed Chef, Richard Blais oversees the 7,500 square-foot restaurant, which is available for buyouts, meetings, cocktail receptions and other special events.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Juniper & Ivy is a left coast cookery with cuisine focused on locally curated products cooked and presented in a radical way. The kitchen, helmed by Chef Richard Blais, artfully churns out an array of avant-grade, yet simple dishes intended to spark conversation among guests.

Juniper & Ivy Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

Noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (150)
Fit for Foodies (143)
Good for a Date (138)
See All
Special Occasion (121)
Good for Anniversaries (105)
Hot Spot (87)
Handcrafted Cocktails (80)
Romantic (76)
Fun (68)
Bar Seating (67)
Worth the Drive (67)
Notable Wine List (61)
Good for Birthdays (60)
Neighborhood Gem (60)
Tasting Menu (59)
Business Meals (57)
Good for Groups (55)
Local Ingredients (51)
Tapas (49)
Seasonal (40)
Vibrant Bar Scene (40)
Authentic (36)
Casual (36)
People Watching (35)
Healthy (25)
Good Vegetarian Options (20)
Cozy (19)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Happy Hour (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Comfort Food (10)
Late-night Find (9)
Organic (8)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Great Beer (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Spicy (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Vegan (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
2900 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

One of the best dining experiences I had. From the service to the food it was all stellar!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 3 days ago

A creative restaurant that is a step above. Great service, you need explanations about the menu. The chef thinks outside the box with his food and preparation. This amuse bouche is an example: deviled egg- sounds ordinary? He takes the egg whites and makes a meringue, uses this as a shell for the yolk that has been well seasoned. The rest of the plates follow in this type of creativity. The tastes are wonderful. Enjoy and have fun.
I rarely give 5 stars to a restaurant but to me this one fits all my criteria.
The menu changes so listing what we had might not exist tomorrow.
Get the biscuit, it’s great!😛

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 4 days ago

made my reservation 3 weeks in advance for a special occasion. valet was great, hostess greeting fine, acknowledged our special nite. after some discussion with the seating person and hostess, they attempted to seat us at the worst table in the building, even tho only 10% full. the two top at the bottom of the stairs, next to the service bar, surrounded by wait staff and people entering and exiting around both sides of the table. not my idea of a quite romantic location. this table remained empty the entire time we were dinning. we were eventually seated at a better location. Not a good start to the evening.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined 6 days ago

It was unfortunate that it took them 25 minutes after our reservation time to seat us, but they did offer us full service at the bar while we waited. The food was all good but not all of it was impressive enough to warrant the prices, so my suggestion is to try and taste all the smaller dishes and share a couple of the small plates rather than pay the exorbitant prices for the main courses.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Our visit was awesome..from decor to operations a professionally ran establishment. We we're on our honeymoon and would come back to juniper and ivy for food and service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Tapas, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

We shared many small plates to start our meal and they were all excellent! We also shared the duck which was phenomenal! David, our server, had great wine pairing recommendations and was an expert at helping us choose from the menu! I can't wait to return!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Casual, Business Meals, Romantic, Tapas, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

it was ok. I expected something extraordinary but it was ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined 7 days ago

The lounge area is a great place to have a cocktail before being seated. We were able to be seated for a chef's tasting and meet Richard Blais, both of which were amazing! Our waiter Nick made our experience even better. He was very knowledgeable about the food and recommended a spectacular Viognier.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined 7 days ago

For me, this was like an evening at the theater. Chef Blais was in the house and watching him tasting in the kitchen was a treat, having him come to our table was beyond my expectations. While I sadly had a cold that affected sense of taste, the textures and presentation of the food made for a memorable experience. Our waitress, Selena, was spot on with attention to us, explaining the dishes and giving us time to decide, checking to see how things were going without hovering.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 12, 2017

Great service. Unique but delicious food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 11, 2017

I mistakenly booked an outside request and since I was hosting a client and asked the hostess to move us. She wasn't very pleasant and did not accommodate our request. They did fill up eventually but when we asked to move in it was empty and she didn't try. We ended up soending over $500 and I expected more. The food was tasty but the planes flying over was super annoying.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 10, 2017

A foody gem in San Diego that would also shine in San Francisco. We loved it.

Tags: Cozy, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 10, 2017

We loved the atmosphere. The music was great (changes daily, but we were lucky to hear old school R&B). Food was unique and excellent. We like the small plate sharing concept. The biscuit is too good to be true!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 9, 2017

Our server seemed bothered to help us. Unable to explain food, rarely checked with us. Long waits to order. We ordered their large steak and there was a small piece of Saran Wrap left on it. This was a $110 item. There should be zero plastic wrap left on this food! In the end, the food seemed average.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
·Dined on October 9, 2017

My fiancée and I went here for our Anniversary. It was by far the best meal I’ve had in San Diego and probably all of my life! The food was absolutely incredible and the service was phenomenal, as well. I would highly recommend this place ❤️

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Way overpriced for what you get. They definitely upswell the small plates and while they taste good, it's really just okay. Vegetarian entree was undercooked. We agreed it's probably a better spot if you're looking for just drinks and an appetizer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 8, 2017

The food was amazing. The front of house service was way below par. We had a reservation for 7:45pm and arrived on time. Our table was not ready so we ordered cocktails at the bar. It took over 20 minutes to receive our cocktails, during which our table became ready. We said, "Great, we'd like to sit down, you can bring our cocktails to the table." The hostess let us know we needed to wait for our cocktails at the bar and close out our tab before being seated. By the time all was said and done, we were seated at 8:30pm. The attitude of the hostesses was stuck-up, like they were doing us a favor by letting us dine at this restaurant. I very much enjoyed the food, but would not recommend this restaurant as they did not make the customer feel valued in the slightest.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Just meh. Not up to the reviews.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 8, 2017

I had high hopes for this resturant because i heard so many good things. I will start with the good. The service was excellent, ambiance was lively, cocktails were very good but it took about 20 mins to get our drinks. The food just wasn't my thing. If you are an adventurous diner you might really like it because there are some very unique dishes. I had pasta which was undercooked...not al dente but kind of crunchy. There were many raw or barely cooked selection but I like my food cooked fully. The portions are very small. Most surprising was a $140 steak. I don't mind spending $50 on a steak but i thought that was outlandish. The menu is pretty limited unless you like pig trotters (pig's feet), pork belly in everything or pork rinds. The "nachos" were served with pork rinds but they had a fancy name for them so we had no clue that's what the "chips" were. I like pork but i felt like the menu was a little too heavy on the pork theme. There was one vegetarian dish on the menu. If i go back it will be for cocktails & apps but i will skip the dinner. I probably should have checked out the menu before we went. I have to say that the food service was very fast.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on October 7, 2017

As a self relegated Foodie and Food and Wine blogger, I was hoping for a memorable dining experience. Juniper and Ivy definitely delivered. From the Foie Gras cookies to the pork Belly to the whole roasted duck, every dish was spot on. The cocktails were delicious, wine list exceptional and the service was over the top. A special shout out to Ashley, the pastry chef, who entertained us throughout our dining experience and Les, the manager, for greeting us at our table. We live in Northern California, but will be back! You can count on that!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Such a fun evening. Makes dinner an event! The many chef's original creations are interesting and delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

Exceeded all of our expectations. The food was unique, beautiful, and absolutely delicious!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Part of our group was from out of town and we were excited to try one of Richard Blais' restaurants and it did not disappoint! The space and ambience were amazing - industrial with comforting touches of striped fabrics, lighting and pops of color. The menu organization is perfect: starts with one bite morsels, then moves to pantry items, then larger small plates and lastly larger plates that were more protein-driven. Our table decided to share, so we did not even get to the large plates as there were so many other dishes to choose from! Stand-outs: chicken liver tart bite, the biscuits with fois butter and the mushroom bolognese, but everything was executed perfectly. Service was top knotch - knowledgeable and attentive without feeling like we were being rushed (most restaurants want to turn over the table quickly but not Juniper and Ivy!). Craft cocktails and wine list truly complemented the food. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Tapas, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Very tasty and interesting small plates but the mains were overpriced. The lobster risotto (~$45) came with a reasonably large half lobster in the shell, which unfortunately was over cooked. The wine list is a bit pricey, but we did find a very nice 2009 Nebbiolo from California. Desserts, which we skipped, seemed less inspired.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Always the best food Best service. Great dining experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Great meal but way too noisy. Food was excellent and creative but was very hard to talk above the noise

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Imaginative and delicious small plates but main courses are way too expensive although quite tasty. Service was thoughtful, if a little pushy but dishes came slowly possibly due to a large party nearby.
Worth a second look! One dish was disappointing as the meat was chewy but tasty

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 4, 2017

I went with 2 other business colleagues, and we were all looking forward to it as all the reviews were great and the restaurant is run by a well known chef. I was very disappointed as the food was not that great. Service was fine but I would not eat there again. Highly overrated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 3, 2017

Made reservations weeks in advanced and was originally seated outside. Whether you know or not, it's very close to the airport so very, very loud. We had heard great things about the restaurant and almost left and I'm glad we didn't. Once we were seated inside, everything went great - service, food, experience. I would highly recommend visiting as long as you're seating inside.

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 3, 2017

Great small plates

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 3, 2017

The food is superb--creative, tasty, beautifully presented. Service is outstanding. Wines are a bit pricey. It was a busy night so got noisy but not offensive. It is a very attractive modern place. We slicked it very much.

Tags: Authentic, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Matt was an excellent waiter, what a great meal! Raviolo was a touch salty but that could have just been my taste. Everything else was delicious. Our waiter did everything he could to make it a spectacular meal.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

The bartender and wait staff were excellent. The menu was quite different then anything we've ever seen before. Some items were interesting. The oysters were inedibly salty. The beef prepared for two was really enough food for four, but quite tasty. We found the pricing to be exorbitant for the experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

Everything was great!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

I didn't end up eating at Juniper and Ivy. I had a 6 pm reservation and my mom and I arrived for her birthday dinner and there was no one in the restaurant and the host put us in a very bad table outside. The outside area has NO VIEW and there was no reason the host couldn't rearrange things to have the almost 1st people of the night to arrive to have a better table. We asked and she told us she couldn't offer us ANY other table. I am a host at a fine dining restaurant in La Jolla and have enough comment sense that it's ridiculous to offer people a crappy table when every table is open! Luckily Herb and Wood took us in a heartbeat and had a great table for us even though they were MUCH busier, I can see why, they accommodate paying customers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Great place with great chefs with so many different things to order. We had about 10-12 different plates. Food was exciting! With the menu constantly changing it will definitely keep us coming back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Nice. Thanks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 28, 2017

Been in New York too long to be fooled by this place as a top restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 28, 2017

First went in thinking it was restaurant week and then found out they don't participate. The menu was strange, combinations were odd and the flavor combinations unusual. The portion sizes for medium sized plates were widely inconsistent. I had a pasta dish - only thing on the menu other than a one pound salmon filet (??!!) for $45 or a $110 two pound steak (!!!???) that looked at all interesting - showed up warm, not hot, with odd crunchy textures. The pear salad looked to have american cheese grated on it, and was called a warm salad but was not . The beef tartare was a strange ground texture, not chopped. The chicken and sausage was an amazingly small portion - think of one of those satirical comedy skits on new age restaurants - and had a very odd set of flavors. I eat in restaurants all over the world and I just found this uninteresting, pretentious, expensive, and weirdly incongruous with having an interesting meal out with the family. Won't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 28, 2017

The food, as usual, was flawless. The tostada, the pink grouper, flatbread, yodel cake, etc. Great service. Wish there was another Chardonnay, full bodied, at a better price point. Other than that, fabulous,and a good pour.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.