Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi

About Juniper & Ivy

Juniper and Ivy offers “Refined America Food with Left Coast Edge” Courtesy of acclaimed Chef Richard Blais perhaps most recognizable as the Winner of Bravo’s “Top Chef All-Stars”. Blais brings his wildly creative approach to cooking and cuisine to San Diego; Backed by an All-Star Culinary Team. Excellent Cocktail and Wine Programs paired with Al Fresco Dining, High Energy Design and more makes Juniper and Ivy the newest Destination Restaurant to hit the West Coast.

2228 Kettner Blvd
San Diego, CA 92101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Service
Sunday - Thursday : 5pm - 10 p.m.
Friday & Saturday : 5pm - 11 p.m.

Bar/Lounge opens daily at 4 p.m.

Cross Street:
On Kettner, between Juniper & Ivy

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 269-9036

Website:
http://www.juniperandivy.com/

Parking Details:
Street Parking
Valet available to guests at $5/car + gratuity

Executive Chef:
Richard Blais

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Acclaimed Chef, Richard Blais oversees the 7,500 square-foot restaurant, which is available for buyouts, meetings, cocktail receptions and other special events.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Juniper & Ivy is a left coast cookery with cuisine focused on locally curated products cooked and presented in a radical way. The kitchen, helmed by Chef Richard Blais, artfully churns out an array of avant-grade, yet simple dishes intended to spark conversation among guests.

Juniper & Ivy Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (215)
Creative Cuisine (172)
Good for a Date (159)
See All
Special Occasion (155)
Modern Decor (119)
Hot Spot (116)
Open Kitchen (112)
Good for Anniversaries (109)
Handcrafted Cocktails (104)
Fun (99)
Worth the Drive (81)
Local Ingredients (81)
Molecular Gastronomy (77)
Notable Wine List (77)
Romantic (76)
Good for Birthdays (73)
Bar Seating (70)
Neighborhood Gem (69)
Tapas (67)
Vibrant Bar Scene (65)
Good for Groups (59)
Tasting Menu (52)
Business Meals (47)
People Watching (47)
Seasonal (44)
Good Vegetarian Options (38)
Authentic (33)
Casual (27)
Healthy (26)
Organic (24)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Comfort Food (16)
Late-night Find (14)
Happy Hour (14)
Cozy (14)
Family Style (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Outstanding Value (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Paleo Friendly (8)
Great Beer (7)
Quick Bite (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Vegan (4)
Spicy (4)
Private Room (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Wood Oven (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Scenic View (3)
Waterfront (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Fireplace (2)
Historic (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
2548 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 2 days ago

One of the best meals we've ever had. Went for our anniversary, and could not have been more please. Share plates tapas style so you can try more. We trusted our servers recommendations and we're not disappointed. Great service, amazing food, lovely evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 2 days ago

The restaurant is beautifully designed, and the server was very knowledgeable. The food, however, was a bit too precious for my taste. Everything had some mysterious ingredient, or odd combination of flavors. It feels like the chef is trying too hard to be different.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Best service we have had in years and the food was to die for! Make sure and try the yellowtail tostadas and the carrots! Incredible. Thanks for a wonderful escape from a work weekend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

If you're thinking about coming here, just do it! The food is some of the best I ever had. My husband and I couldn't find fault with anything. If we tried. The service was amazing! If you don't come here, you are missing out!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 4 days ago

Juniper & Ivy never disappoints! We have been on a Week night (a little quieter) and on a Saturday night. The wait staff are very knowledgeable and the service is always great. The food is outstanding..it doesn't matter how busy they are, the food is always prepared and plated to perfection. Very creative food, flavorful.....just go!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent. The almond pavlova is like the adult dream version of an almond joy that I'll forever crave. The biscuit is perfection and worth the drive from OC alone

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

My friend recommended Juniper & Ivy to us and suggested getting only non-entrees and load up on appetizers, small plates, etc. Super yummy!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

This is my go to place to take friends from out of town because the food & service never disappoints.

Tags: Seasonal, Molecular Gastronomy, Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was creative and sensational. Their menu changes daily depending on what Ingredients the chef wants to use! Offers smaller portions for sharing (which I recommend so you can really try everything). Staff was extremely knowledgeable and passionate about their product. heads up* if you go expect to be there for a while because it was a long time between courses.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Service was very very slow coming out of the kitchen. It was a Monday night. Can't imagine how bad it is on the weekends

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 7 days ago

The food here is an experience in every way. The combinations of textures, flavors and temperatures in every dish was exquisitely thoughtful and divine.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined 7 days ago

Unfortunately did not meet our expectations. Food was OK but not in keeping with the reputation of this restaurant. Many dishes had pork so be warned if you don't eat pork or are vegetarian the selection is slim.
Server was unhappy and seemed burdened with having to work that night. Her mind was elsewhere and she was robotic in her response.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

The best meal in several nights out in a row. The starters were excellent and all the food presented through fully and elegantly. It is modern fare with appropriate portions and very well flavored. The service was excellent - willing to help and go the extra mile such as suggest wine pairings etc.

I definitely will return and recommend it without hesitation

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Came here during my wedding weekend and also for my Mom's birthday in the last month. It's very "hip and with it" which I'm not very into but the food and service is fantastic. The food is all about great textures and unique ideas and the menu had already changed a bit within three weeks which I liked too so that I could try new things.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Every dish was artisticly created and presented- Chef Richard Blais' restaurant was truly an incredible experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Even though we reserved several months in advance, we were shown to bar stools when lots of tables were available. Asking for a table did not get a gracious response, just " I'll see what we can do". We were shown to the table beside the screaming baby. Finally a nicer table which had been sitting empty throughout this charade. The service was just adequate to get the job done, completely lackluster. The food was the only plus here. Several well done dishes. But truthfully, I lost my appetite for this place in the first 15 minutes, and there wasn't anything that redeemed it after that. With so many other great restaurants in the same neighborhood, I can't see any reason to repeat it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 22, 2017

The biscuit is just simply delicious. The Carne Crudo Asada Toast was so creative and good, I could have ordered another. Great place to be with 'food friends' who like sharing and trying different foods!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 21, 2017

It was great! The food was terrific. Just the noise was too much at some point.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 21, 2017

We had reservations and arrived 10 minutes early. We were told they were just cleaning the table and to wait by the bar. 30 minutes later I approached the hostess who said, "we're just cleaning the table it'll be about 10 minutes". 20 minutes later we were finally seated.

It was another 30 minutes before we had more than water in front of us and probably 30 minutes more before we had anything to eat. The food was pretty to look at but for the money? Naa there's equally good food within walking distance.

As for the ambiance? It's like being in a noisy basement bar. We couldn't even hear each other across the table.

Very disappointing experience.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Coming from Florida and researching places to dine, I chose Juniper & Ivy for dining my last night in San Diego as a farewell to a wonderful city. Juniper & Ivy met all my expectations, plus! In my research, I read where they had deviled eggs that were a must to try, the waitress heard my conversation, said that they no longer offered them, but to my surprise had the kitchen prepare samplings just for me, who does that anymore?? And just when I thought I could eat no more, we had to try the Yodel for dessert... what an experience. I highly recommend Juniper & Ivy to anyone who lives or visits San Diego.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 21, 2017

This was our second trip and it was once again perfect. The menu had some favorites and a bunch of new stuff, the wait staff were attentive and explained in detail and helped us with our wine paring. I would recommend Juniper and Ivey to anyone that wants the classy experience of a great local restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Tapas, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Eating at Juniper & Ivy is a celebration of all things delicious! I've dined there on 2 occasions and both times the presentation and taste of every item (from drinks to apps to entrees to dessert) has been absolute perfection. Highly recommend!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Had a birthday dinner there with another couple and all 4 of us said it was one of the best meals we have had in a while. We did a bunch of small plates and that is what i would recommend. There were a few great standouts such as the yellowtail tostada, morel mushrooms, gnocchi, razor clams and the "yodel" their signature dessert. Also the wine and cocktail list is excellent.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 20, 2017

The variety and scope of choices was enormous. We had a fun time sampling an array of delicious plates. We must of been there for several hours but it felt as we just there. Definitely a unique culinary experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 18, 2017

The food is great and you can see a lot of though went into each dish.

Tags: Waterfront, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Amazing food, high quality and friendly staff. Great atmosphere, would go back again. Pricey but what you would expect for a restaurant of this caliber.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Cozy, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Molecular Gastronomy, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Really good modern food but can improve desert meringue, extremely sweet

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Juniper & Ivy was amazing. The food was sensational. There were a couple misses, just based on our personal taste but mostly we had a blast. Our server Ryan was super knowledgeable and provided excellent suggestions with regard to both food and wine pairings. We had a wonderful evening and even though we live in Los Angeles, my husband and I are already trying to figure out when our next San Diego trip will be so we can return to Juniper & Ivy!

Tags: Good for Groups, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Molecular Gastronomy, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 16, 2017

I have visited Juniper & Ivy before and took my boss and her husband there for dinner--she deemed it one of her best dinner's ever. So much so, she tried to get a reservation for a group of clients, but couldn't. She'll be back in San Diego for the 4th of July and I assure you she'll be back as will I!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Fun, Authentic, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Notable Wine List, Wood Oven, Tasting Menu, Tapas, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 15, 2017

We had such a great experience for our anniversary last week. We were in town from AZ and I'm a huge fan of Richard from Top Chef. I had very high expectations going in and was so impressed... we sat at the "chefs bar" to watch the kitchen, had great service and the menu items were easy to share since they were small plates. I loved the Hawaiian shrimp and Tri tip! Definitely recommend this spot. The only wish was that I had secretly hoped Richard would have been in to have met him. Great place!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Amazing!! Best meal in a long time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 15, 2017

This was my choice for Mother's Day dinner as well as our first time here. The restaurant is very energetic and a service was great. We ordered the the Wagyu Beef Shank that takes about 45-50 minutes to prepare, but is absolutely worth it. Served with biscuits and veggies, enough for all 5 of us! Ordered the Yule Log for dessert that was delicious. We all cannot wait to dine here again!

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 15, 2017

This is my family's absolute favorite, special occasion restaurant. We were there for Mother's Day. There were a couple of surprising problems with the food ( biscuit not hot, duck undercooked). Management apologized, but those things should not happen. We will not give up on them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great food. A little lacking in service. Would definitely recommend for groups that like to share.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Overall excellent experience. Menu is interesting and innovative, service was very attentive and accommodating, nice wine list with decent pricing. Had various appetizers and entrees ( to many to list) and as a highlight the roast duck - cut for the table. Some parts of the duck were simply under cooked (we do like medium rare but these were just raw) - nothing though that detracted from the overall great evening.
If there is one item that could be addressed - it's the noise level. The place is just "freaking" loud. An audio consultant would do wonders and help that you dinners don't have to yell across the table to talk to each other.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The food and presentation was just superb! Every dish was delicious. This is the finest restaurant in San Diego and we have been to many ,many places.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Romantic, Organic, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Outstanding meal. Very good service. Super small plates. Great drink menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Great dining experience. Food is always creative and delicious. Chef Blaise always friendly and accommodating to the public. My favorite place to eat. Great cocktails too!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 11, 2017

I had an appetizer hand roll that was pretty bad. The hostess greeting was luke warm. The service was so so.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 11, 2017

First timer and had a terrific experience. We opted for sharing a number of Small Plates instead of an individual meal. A great choice as every choice was superb. Our hostess was Taylor, and she offered some terrific suggestions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.