About Juniper & Ivy

2228 Kettner Blvd
San Diego, CA 92101
View Larger Map

Juniper and Ivy offers “Refined America Food with Left Coast Edge” Courtesy of acclaimed Chef Richard Blais perhaps most recognizable as the Winner of Bravo’s “Top Chef All-Stars”. Blais brings his wildly creative approach to cooking and cuisine to San Diego; Backed by an All-Star Culinary Team. Excellent Cocktail and Wine Programs paired with Al Fresco Dining, High Energy Design and more makes Juniper and Ivy the newest Destination Restaurant to hit the West Coast.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Service
Sunday - Thursday : 5pm - 10 p.m.
Friday & Saturday : 5pm - 11 p.m.

Bar/Lounge opens daily at 4 p.m.

Cross Street:
On Kettner, between Juniper & Ivy

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 269-9036

Website:
http://www.juniperandivy.com/

Parking Details:
Street Parking
Valet available to guests at $5/car + gratuity

Executive Chef:
Richard Blais

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Acclaimed Chef, Richard Blais oversees the 7,500 square-foot restaurant, which is available for buyouts, meetings, cocktail receptions and other special events.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Juniper & Ivy is a left coast cookery with cuisine focused on locally curated products cooked and presented in a radical way. The kitchen, helmed by Chef Richard Blais, artfully churns out an array of avant-grade, yet simple dishes intended to spark conversation among guests.

Juniper & Ivy Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (123)
Creative Cuisine (115)
Modern Decor (113)
See All
Good for a Date (111)
Special Occasion (107)
Open Kitchen (86)
Hot Spot (79)
Good for Anniversaries (75)
Handcrafted Cocktails (66)
Worth the Drive (60)
Local Ingredients (57)
Good for Birthdays (57)
Romantic (54)
Notable Wine List (52)
Fun (52)
Bar Seating (45)
Tapas (45)
Vibrant Bar Scene (43)
People Watching (42)
Molecular Gastronomy (38)
Neighborhood Gem (38)
Seasonal (36)
Good for Groups (34)
Authentic (29)
Tasting Menu (29)
Business Meals (28)
Good Vegetarian Options (26)
Pre/post Theatre (25)
Organic (20)
Happy Hour (18)
Healthy (18)
Casual (17)
Outstanding Value (12)
Cozy (12)
Late-night Find (10)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Family Style (7)
Private Room (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Great Beer (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Spicy (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Vegan (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Historic (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
2310 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I've dined here many times before and ha ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 2 days ago

I've dined here many times before and have had great experiences. Last night the food was off. I had the Ahi tuna Wellington and it was a bit on the bland side. Other people in my party had the seafood linguine and the short rib and they also did not love their food. The linguine was too peppery, and the short rib was also under seasoned. It was disappointing because I spoke highly about this restaurant and for the first timers that dined here last night, I doubt they will be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

It's was ok! We had reservations for 9p ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

It's was ok! We had reservations for 9pm and we didn't get seated till 930...why make reservations then?

The bar was nice, the mixed drinks were fantastic however only had about 5 craft beer options which is disappointing.

The seating area is another story, zero intimacy you are about a foot apart...if your neighbors burp you can taste it.

The server was nice and our food came fast.

Food was very good, If your willing to try something new.

The place is set up nice, but it's a hipsters paradise. I think I'll pass!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

waited 40 mins for our table. service wa ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

waited 40 mins for our table. service was very slow.

Tags: Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, People Watching, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

We heard about Jenniper and Ivy through ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 3 days ago

We heard about Jenniper and Ivy through friends. They highly recommended it and we were not disappointed. It was a great food experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great. The server was also exc ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was great. The server was also excellent. The only problem was that we made reservations for 6:30pm and we still waited 20 minutes before being seated. Since this was a special occasion it kind of killed the experience before it even began because the bar was full and we were standing around for 20 minutes. I know these things can be hard to manage, but there were 5 groups all with reservations at 6:30 waiting so it seemed to me they overbooked the restaurant. I think pretty much everyone at the bar was there waiting for a table. I will not come back for a special occasion, but I would come back for a more casual occasion if I am willing to hang out and wait.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Vibrant Bar Scene, Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Fun and playful food and amazing cocktai ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 4 days ago

Fun and playful food and amazing cocktails. Plus the bonus of the top chef

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was really fabulous -- wonderfu ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

The food was really fabulous -- wonderful, unexpected combinations and our server was extremely personable, helpful and knowledgeable. Not really that expensive, given the quality. Only downsides: It was LOUD, and food came out of the kitchen in a seemingly random order.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Juniper and Ivy is good if you like thin ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Juniper and Ivy is good if you like things a little bit different. It's primarily appetizer/tapas style, with only a handful of full plate dinners. Additionally, dishes are uniquely done, so if you're up for experimenting, this would be a good place to go. For example, we had a seared Ahi Wellington, which was good but a little strange to have the mushroom mixture and wellington puff pastry on fish. All of the desserts were equally a little out there. It all tasted fine, but not what was expected. It was OK, but we had much better dinners at other San Diego area restaurants and wouldn't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

The food is beautiful but I wish it tast ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

The food is beautiful but I wish it tasted as good as it looked. Nothing blew me away enough to make me come back. The carne asada was the best food we tasted, everything else was just good.

Our waiter Brian was great and very knowledgeable and the atmosphere can't be beat. Great place to grab a drink for sure.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Terrible meal Saturday nite. Rushed us t ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

Terrible meal Saturday nite. Rushed us through 5 courses in under an hour. Nothing was good except bbq carrots. We went for my birthday and the waiter forgot all about it despite calling 2 hours prior. Chef living off rrputation. Won't be coming back before theatre or any other time. Irinsides and Campfire much better. Avoid sweet potato with mole. Inedible. Cod tasteless. Hrimp rolls greasy fried. Bad meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

We were seated promptly at a nice 2 pers ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

We were seated promptly at a nice 2 person table. We enjoyed talking with the couples on each side of us who were also celebrating birthdays. Food was well prepared and delicious.

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From start to finish the experience here ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

From start to finish the experience here was spectacular. The food alone speaks for itself, it was absolutely delicious, the best I have had in San Diego thus far. The ambience is trendy, warm, and city casual yet maintains an upscale feel. One of the most endearing features is the open kitchen, watching the cooks and chefs perform their art is nearly as delightful as consuming their finished products of culinary genius. Our server was very attentive too! We ordered the pork belly (absolute must!), squid ink linguine, cauliflower, fois gras tart, ricotta gnocchi, almond joy, the donuts, and a banana dessert. Every dish was absolute perfection. Fell in love with this restaurant and without a doubt will return.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Seasonal, , Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Authentic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Fun, Romantic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overrated, Richard Blais. Food was okay. ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 6 days ago

Overrated, Richard Blais. Food was okay. All cleverness and no soul. Didn't deliver on the promise of the menu.

Tags: Modern Decor, Open Kitchen, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Came for Birthday dinner. Read great rev ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 6 days ago

Came for Birthday dinner. Read great reviews and the place did not disappoint. Service was friendly and attentive without feeling overbearing. Food was unique and tasty while still being reminiscent of comfort food. Overall I would recommend for anyone looking to enjoy a special occasion in a relaxed and cozy setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Way too noisy for a working dinner like ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

Way too noisy for a working dinner like the plan was.

Tags: Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

This is the first time I have found this ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 16, 2017

This is the first time I have found this level of food in the San Diego area. The ambiance was good and decor contemporary. The menu was creative and well-executed. The only thing that didn't really work was the foie gras, which was overpowered by the fruit glaze topping. It was still a wonderful evening and a nice place to take my out-of-town friend to in order to 'show off' San Diego.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I just took my clients out for dinner to ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 16, 2017

I just took my clients out for dinner tonight and this definitely hit, if not exceeded my very high expectations from Richard Blaise! Very cool atmosphere very unique food - but not the point of being convoluted or confusing. We tried about half the menu and didn't have a single bad bite or experience. Definitely go!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Business Meals, Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I've gone to juniper and ivy on multiple ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I've gone to juniper and ivy on multiple occasions and this was definitely the worst experience thus far. It was good but just not up to normal quality. It was over priced due to Valentine's Day. I opted for the steak upgrade but it was not worth it. I felt like I could have gotten a better steak from Costco and grilled it myself.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Went for Valentines Day and it was very ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Went for Valentines Day and it was very crowded and loud. We were seated in the bar area even with reservations through open table. Redeeming feature was great service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

I thought the food, ambiance and our ser ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I thought the food, ambiance and our server was excellent. I was only turned off by the hostess at the front desk. I was meeting my boyfriend at the restaurant, so I asked the hostess if he checked in. She said yes and pointed towards the bar "he 's somewhere in there. You can look for him." Then continued tapping on her computer screen. I was expecting her to either seat me or at least point me in the direction of where he might be. She could've even pretended to care a little, but i got nothing. Too bad; everyone else was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Fabulous service, great small plates. Po ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Fabulous service, great small plates. Pork belly with cashew sauce was lick the plate good. Loved it!!

Tags: Modern Decor, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A must try for foodies, I was surprised ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 13, 2017

A must try for foodies, I was surprised how large the facility was . Was expected

Something a bit more intimate.

Tags: Special Occasion, Organic, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Authentic, Open Kitchen, Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Came here with MeetUp group. Have eaten ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Came here with MeetUp group. Have eaten here once before. Of course the menu changes all the time, but there are some standards. In my opinion the service and food were both better the last time we ate here, and it was so noisy we could not hear the person across the table from us talking (last time we were on the patio). Interesting dishes, but one of our group did not like the food at all.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Our meal on Sunday, February 12th was th ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Our meal on Sunday, February 12th was the best meal we've ever had in a restaurant! All the accolades and awards bestowed on Chef Richard Blais are well deserved. J&I is a fabulous place with incredible chefs turning out amazingly delicious food! Everything we ordered was fantastic! The biscuit is the best!! I wanted to take a baker's dozen home with me! And we loved our seats at the kitchen counter - what a treat to watch the chefs up close and the servers nearby! And we had lunch at the Crack Shack the next day - also fabulous!! We will plan to eat at both venues everytime we visit San Diego!

Tags: Seasonal, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Paleo Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Casual, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were not seated until 7:45 for a 7:00 ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We were not seated until 7:45 for a 7:00 pm reservation. They were not very communicative regarding the situation. Other than that, we enjoyed the experience.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

It's always a pleasure to come here and ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

It's always a pleasure to come here and try new dishes. Venison, octopus, and oysters were fantastic! Wine pairs perfectly. I love this place!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food, awesome drinks!

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Amazing food, awesome drinks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We came here during a vacation to San Di ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We came here during a vacation to San Diego and couldn't have been happier with it. Great service and amazing food. Will definitely return when we make our way back here.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome service from the GM, Les, and th ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Awesome service from the GM, Les, and the many fine folks who made sure we were well taken care of!

Tags: Romantic, Family Style, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing, amazing food & service. One of ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Amazing, amazing food & service. One of the best dinner experiences ever especially with the open kitchen concept!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Casual, Healthy, Modern Decor, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really more like a 10 star restaurant F ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Really more like a 10 star restaurant

Fabulous food and service

Presentation off the hook

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointed to make reservation 10days ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Disappointed to make reservation 10days in advance, then be seated in the bar. Reservation did not mention alternative seating. Restaurant was busy and felt more like a bother to hostess. Server was great until his shift finished mid-meal and he simply left, we were transfer to another server so was less than attentive. This was our third attempt at this restaurant, having average experiences before. Food is good, but at this cost and service would be going else where for sure.

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

Well known for owner and celebrity chef ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Well known for owner and celebrity chef Richard Blaise. Definitely innovative more than traditional favorites. I would encourage you to get small plates and sample.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

HOMERUN AS ALWAYS! Innovative, creative ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 8, 2017

HOMERUN AS ALWAYS!

Innovative, creative and delicious food !

Congrats again.

Tags: Tapas, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This Richard Blais creation breathes lif ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 8, 2017

This Richard Blais creation breathes life into San Diego's food scene! Definitely go there!

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Molecular Gastronomy, Fun, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The meringue deviled eggs were excellent ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 7, 2017

The meringue deviled eggs were excellent as was the pea tendril salad. So fresh!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Some of the most inventive food I've eve ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Some of the most inventive food I've ever seen. We tried a wide variety of items, and they were all worth every bite. A well rounded and adventurous experience.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Overrated... I definitely had better foo ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Overrated... I definitely had better food elsewhere at this price range. My venison was a OK, my wife's chicken was underwhelming (and she thought undercooked). The only saving grace for us was the desert YODEL, amazing! Sorry, may be we were just not hip enough for this place:(

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Such a fantastic night at Juniper and Iv ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Such a fantastic night at Juniper and Ivy! Our waiter was so knowledgeable and helped us choose the most delicious plates! We will definitely be back!

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Wood Oven, Organic, Worth the Drive, Great Beer, , Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was exceptional, the place w ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The service was exceptional, the place was very welcoming and the food was next level delicious, that dessert was life changing... Will be back for sure with more friends!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Organic, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.