About Jerry's Bar

129 W Laurel St
Philadelphia, PA 19123
View Larger Map

Jerry's menu is anchored by thoughtfully re-imagined bistro classics lovingly prepared by hand. Our bar is impeccably stocked - craft beer, boutique wines, a formidable whiskey selection and exquisite spirits. We offer cocktails as classic as they are inventive.

Like the food and drink, Jerry's itself was rebuilt, brick by brick, by craftsmen with a profound respect for heritage. It incorporates a rich collection of architectural treasures, culled from historic buildings around Philadelphia. The result - old school elegance and refinement, where every brick, column, cobble stone, marble slab, door and fixture has a story to tell.

Jerry's Bar is new in an old way, to be savored and sipped slowly, rooted in simple pleasures that are as fresh as they are timeless.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Bar Opens: 4pm Mon-Fri & 9am Sat-Sun
Happy Hour: Mon-Fri 4pm-6:00pm, Sun 8-10pm
Dinner: Everyday 5-11pm
Late Night Menu: Fri-Sat 11pm-1am
Brunch: Sat-Sun 9am-3:30pm
Midday Menu: Sat-Sun 3:30-5pm
Jazz Brunch Sundays

Cross Street:
West Laurel St. and New Market St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(267) 273-1632

Website:
http://www.jerrysbarphilly.com/

Entertainment:
Jazz Brunch Sundays

Public Transit:
Near the Market-Frankford Line - Spring Garden or Girard stops.

Executive Chef:
Matthew Gansert

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Planning an event at Jerry's is a great idea. Jerry's Bar can accommodate groups of all sizes for cocktail parties and sit-down affairs. Our event manager and Chef will customize the perfect event for you and your guests, and we look forward to making your next get together a great success.

For more information on our available spaces and to book an event, view our private events page - http://jerrysbarphilly.com/events/

events@jerrysbarphilly.com

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Jerry’s Bar, located in Northern Liberties on the corner of West Laurel and New Market Street, is the perfect restaurant for private dining or special events. We offer both our beautiful, upstairs balcony and full restaurant; both are equipped with a private bar, bathroom and an artfully designed in

Jerry's Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (8)
Casual (8)
Bar Seating (8)
See All
Sunday Lunch (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Cozy (6)
Fun (5)
Good for a Date (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Great Beer (4)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Authentic (3)
Live Music (3)
Historic (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Happy Hour (2)
People Watching (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Organic (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Healthy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
154 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We didn't really have a waiter but the h ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We didn't really have a waiter but the hostess stepped in and did a great job serving us. The drinks are good but my friend sent one back for being weak. Fortunately they took it back with no problem. The food and atmosphere was wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

8 girls went for brunch. Food took way t ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 12, 2017

8 girls went for brunch. Food took way too long to come out but we didn't care because we were getting drunk by that point. Disappointed when the food was cold. Cold eggs aren't fun even after 4 beer mimosas.... Probably would've tasted amazing hot, would give it a second chance though. Waitor was nice and helpful when making decisions because we were indecisive, everything sounded good.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Jerry's Bar is a great spot for weekend ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Jerry's Bar is a great spot for weekend brunch or late night meals/apps/drinks. I wish they had more vegetarian options, but I could still find a filling dinner. The bar is pretty happening, and the noise level is perfect because it is not so loud you cannot have conversations with your friends, yet is lively enough to feel like you are in a well-visited restaurant or bar.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Casual, Happy Hour, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and service was awesome. Wou ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great food and service was awesome. Would definitely recommend to family and friends. Already planning to go back for more.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is quite a busy restaurant and usua ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This is quite a busy restaurant and usually crowded. You need a reservation several days in advance. The food is very good maybe even a little higher than that. It seems to be Italian inspired with modern, elevated American techniques. The service is very good an feels high-end. The environment however is a bit congested and not very friendly feeling. Hopefully you can get a seat at the bar if you get there early or have to wait for a table. If you don't get a seat you will probably feel like you are constantly in the way. Tables are nice but not very comfortable. We sat in what looks like an atrium. I'm being critical but this is not a cheap place to eat or drink. All told, we spent (2 of us) a little over $400 for the evening.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

One of our favorites, love this place!

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 6, 2017

One of our favorites, love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Brunch at Jerry's was excellent, and we ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Brunch at Jerry's was excellent, and we are so glad we chose to dine at this unique neighborhood spot. The menu has something for everyone! Love the light live jazz and the cool décor. Thanks for bringing your vision to life.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great Beer, People Watching, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Historic, Fun, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Decent enough food and nice jazz music d ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Decent enough food and nice jazz music during brunch however it took over an hour and a half for our food to come and it wasn't even busy

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

We were a party of 5 for brunch. The foo ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We were a party of 5 for brunch. The food took a very long time to come to our table. Our server was very attentive while we waited and apologetic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

Great ambience. The setting was beautifu ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Great ambience. The setting was beautiful and the service accompanied the latter. Can't wait to come back and enjoy. Also it's surprisingly not that expensive, so if you want to save a buck definitely pay them a visit.

Best,

Happy Customer Zak :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place. Fun atmosphere and very goo ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Great place. Fun atmosphere and very good service. Good place to eat, watch game and just hang out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved it! Our food was great and the Jaz ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Loved it! Our food was great and the Jazz brunch had a great vibe. Well be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Disappointing after giving it a second c ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Disappointing after giving it a second chance. The first time we were there we waited 1.5 hours for our food to come. The manager comped us an appetizer. After pointing out that another table had half their bill comped for the same reason we were told 'you can't live your life based on what everyone else is doing'. She then took some more off of our bill and gave us a giftcard. We returned this time with the giftcard and only two of us. We waited over an hour for our food to come. The ambiance is great and the food and drinks are good. Unfortunately we will not be back because this problem with service seems to be a trend. The tables around us had similar experiences both times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

We bought tickets to see a concert at th ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We bought tickets to see a concert at the Fillmore on new year's eve so we wanted to find a place for dinner close by and Jerry's was perfect! Service was excellent- attentive but not rushed. We were surprised that the menu differed from what the website had posted but still enjoyed everything. When the octopus was sold out, they offered another on the house. We chose the duck rice which was amazing! We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fun and flexible place Accommodated part ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Fun and flexible place

Accommodated party of 6 easily

Great menu

Has the basics and some excellent specials

Try the wings!

Duck rice too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a fabulous New Year's Eve brunch ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We had a fabulous New Year's Eve brunch . Food was great the drinks delicious and they really let us relax and enjoy our pre firewoks afternoon . Great waiter !

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and ambiance. We asked for ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Great service and ambiance. We asked for the heat to be turned down and they took care of it right away.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Casual, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was my first time dining here and I ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 10, 2016

This was my first time dining here and I'll definitely make it a point to come back. We came in for dinner on a Saturday night. The menu is honestly JUST the right size for a dinner menu. Enough options to have choices, but not so many that you're overwhelmed. Started out with the everything fries and they were wonderful. I absolutely loved the sweet potato gnocchi with beets as an entree and my guest enjoyed the short rib sandwich.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my second time at Jerry's Bar f ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 4, 2016

This was my second time at Jerry's Bar for brunch. The meals and drinks were so good both times! The ambience is cool too - very fresh and inviting. The live jazz for Sunday brunch is a nice touch. The upstairs area would be a great place to rent out for a private party.

Tags: Live Music, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We were seated in the "outside" area tha ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 4, 2016

We were seated in the "outside" area that was enclosed for winter. It was decorated beautifully for the holidays and provided a nice atmosphere. Our server was very attentive and friendly.

While the food and drinks were good, they could've been better. We really enjoyed our appetizers (the everything fries and cheese board). However, the drinks seemed weak and were definitely not a generous pour given the price. The food was lukewarm when it arrived, and there was a noticeable delay in delivery of some plates.

We have been here before and enjoyed it, so recommended it for a friends' get-together. This time we left feeling it was "just ok" and could've been better.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Made a open table reservation, showed up ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Made a open table reservation, showed up on time and we were told there was a lack of menus and it would be at least 15 to 20 min. before we were seated. We took a seat at the bar, noticed several tables were not occupied, and yet people were waiting. When we pressed for an answer about the wait we were told the kitchen could not meet the already made orders. We then left and went to another restaurant with great success.

This is the third time this has happened at Jerry's in the past several months. They have a problem with both the management, and the kitchen which no one is paying ant attention to. We won't have our time wasted there again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Despite having a reservation, they were ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Despite having a reservation, they were going to seat us at a high top table in the bar (where it is very loud), next to the front door. The waiter took our drink order and only brought three of the four drinks. He came back a second time and asked what the fourth drink was. He cam back again to take our food order, but when I asked him where the drink was, he said the bar was "very backed up with a lot of tickets."

I ordered the hangar au poivre. It was undercooked and no pepper on it and very little flavor. Two of us ordered the short ribs which were very dried out and the parsnip had no flavor. The only happy diner was the one that ordered the fried chicken sandwich.

Lucky for them, they have a good following and do not need our business.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

We sat down at 730 & didn't get our food ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We sat down at 730 & didn't get our food until 9pm. The waiter looked to be trying his best with all of the tables upstairs. He said the tape machine ran out of paper and asked us to tell him our order and it was coming right out. That was around 815; around 845 he said the kitchen was backed up. We had to have him put our food in to-go containers because we had an event at 9pm. We walked and ate our flavorless chicken sandwiches. We wished we went to Chic-Fil-A instead...

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

We arrived on time with a reservation. ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We arrived on time with a reservation. After a 25 mile drive and a struggle to park. We were offered a horrible high top table in the noisy bar area near the front door. Were told that there were no other tables available. We left. Arrogant reception. Awful, infuriating experience. The worst.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The service was poor. It took forever t ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The service was poor. It took forever to get our first beer. Appetizer came out timely and hot. Our dinners came out cold.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

For people who are going to be driving i ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 12, 2016

For people who are going to be driving into the city. Try to get there 10-15 minutes before your reservation. Parking can be tricky. Initially I was discouraged while looking for parking, but the food was great. The waiter was very knowledgeable, and assisted us with our selections. I loved the Everything Fries, and the Pierogi where awesome. I also had the BBQ Short Rib, best short rib ever. We had tickets to the Fillmore, we were able to walk to the event. Perfect night out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Cozy, cool, and delicious. Totally enjoy ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Cozy, cool, and delicious. Totally enjoyed our dining experience at jerry's bar. Good service and fantastic food. We all got one of their specialty burgers and were pleasantly surprised. Probably the best I ever had!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

If we had just come for drinks it would ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 4, 2016

If we had just come for drinks it would have been 5 stars. Dinner was a completely mixed bag which included uncooked salmon and some questionable seafood.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was really slow to be delivered ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 1, 2016

The food was really slow to be delivered even though it was just apps.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Good food, good service, and great live ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Good food, good service, and great live music during brunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Always love brunch at Jerry's!

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Always love brunch at Jerry's!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was attending a concert at the Fillmore ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Was attending a concert at the Fillmore and ate dinner here beforehand. Food was good. Beer list was awesome. Very convenient to the concert.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great Beer, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food and service!

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Great food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was somewhat poor. Took a long t ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Service was somewhat poor. Took a long time for our waiter to come back, but that coincided with the restaurant with being more busy.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Jerrys is tucked away, off the beaten pa ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 3, 2016

Jerrys is tucked away, off the beaten path from the hustle-bustle of Fishtown's hopping scene. It is quiet, great food, great drinks, and reasonable prices. It you want a great neighborhood-y kind of place with an eclectic mix of patrons (but not over-run with hipsters) this is the place. We love it there!

Tags: Great Beer, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We love Jerry's. The vibe is great, the ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 25, 2016

We love Jerry's. The vibe is great, the food is consistently excellent and the Bloody Jerry is my favorite cocktail in the city. We eat there several times a month even though we now live across the bridge in NJ. Because we love the place I feel compelled to offer a couple of observations/suggestions. One is the wait service has slipped the last 3 times we've been there (once for dinner & twice for brunch). The wait staff are pleasant and responsive but don't seem to be on top of things nearly as much as a few months ago. I had to ask for a coffee refill even though my cup was empty a long time, we did not get our order taken for a good 10 minutes this past Sunday (after prompting the waitress) even though it was early and not yet crowded. At early dinner the waitress was not clued in to the drink specials on the wall. We are used to better service there. All the wait staff are affable but some are not on top of things. We'll be back because we love it and this is an easy fix. The other issue is the back area in the main room with the bar is tight and gets unbearably loud with the bare brick walls and tin ceiling. Charming to look at but impossible to have a conversation unless you yell - which just makes the issue worse lol. That being said Jerry's is a top 10 Philly restaurant for the food and the vibe. Oh, love the jazz duo on Sundays during brunch too!

Tags: Healthy, Casual, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Jerry's is one of our favorite spots in ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Jerry's is one of our favorite spots in the neighborhood and their new menu is the BEST YET! We shared the fried oysters (portion felt a little small, but taste was on point), grilled octopus (superb), pork belly (the risotto was perfectly cooked), and falafel (delicious). Add in a bottle of wine and chocolate pot de creme (soooooo good) and it was a really great experience. Jerry's has always been good, but really outdid itself this time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to Jerry's many times and I ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 11, 2016

We have been to Jerry's many times and I have had their gnocchi in the past and it was delicious. This time, the gnocchi dish was tasteless and cold. I would not recommend the gnocchi with eggplant; however, the fish sandwich my husband ordered was much better. The wait staff is always very pleasant and attentive and continues to be.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Had the octopus which was ok, the mussel ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Had the octopus which was ok, the mussels were just fishy. They gave you bread but there was barely any sauce to dip it in. The service was from our waiter was very poor. When you don't have to actually bring out the food and are never around, what are doing? The lady filling up our water glass was very attentive though. The main courses of sandwiches everyone agreed was below average. A table of 5 next to us sat down about 20 minutes after us and was served their good before us. And since they noted that they had the wrong sides and 3 plates were brought out first, we knew that it was ours as it had happened with our drinks as well. For being highly ranked I was very disappointed. I have never written a bad review before so I think that says something.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1

Never having been to Jerry ' s before I ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Never having been to Jerry ' s before I didn't know what to expect . The menu had a selection of standards but with a personal touch to go along with other choices .Our server was efficient , friendly , and welcoming without being intrusive . She took the time to inform us of the Sunday Jazz Brunch , which has already been marked on the calendar

The portions were generous , the plating had a unique touch and overall it was both a great new find a satisfying dinner without the bank. Parking might a bit of a challenge but not enough to discourage me from going

Tags: Great Beer, , Bar Seating, Good for Groups, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.