Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 0.60mi
  3. Distance: 0.71mi
  4. Distance: 0.86mi
  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 0.60mi
  3. Distance: 0.71mi
  4. Distance: 0.86mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 0.60mi
  3. Distance: 0.71mi
  4. Distance: 0.86mi
  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 0.60mi
  3. Distance: 0.71mi
  4. Distance: 0.86mi

About Jeffrey's Restaurant

Jeffrey's Restaurant & Bar has been an Austin neighborhood fine dining institution since 1975. In 2012 the restaurant closed for a major renovation and has reopened under the leadership of Austin's premiere restaurant group, McGuire Moorman Hospitality. The restaurant, nestled in a quiet neighborhood just west of downtown features a lively bar, three distinct dining rooms and menus featuring dry-aged prime steaks, updated classic fine dining and locally sourced produce. Private dining is available, free valet is standard & local car service is offered.

Josephine House offers lunch, brunch, happy hour, dinner & Monday night steak frites. The Clarksville cottage features a small marble bar for coffee or cocktails, intimate tables in the dining room, shady nooks on our patio and a grassy front lawn for lounging. Chef Alex Manley and her team prepare an eclectic daily menu featuring the best locally sourced products.

1204 W Lynn St
Austin, TX 78703
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary French / American, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Daily, 5:30pm - 10:30pm
Bar: Daily from 430pm
Happy Hour: Monday - Friday, 4:30pm to 6:30pm
Sunday - Monday all night


Josephine House

Lunch: Monday - Friday, 11am-3pm
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday, 11am-3pm
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday, 530pm-10pm
Steak Frites Night: Monday 530pm-10pm
Snacks: Daily 3pm-530pm
Happy Hour Daily 3pm-6pm

Cross Street:
12th

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 477-5584

Website:
http://www.jeffreysofaustin.com/

Parking Details:
Valet is complimentary.

Executive Chef:
Larry McGuire

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, Jeffrey's Restaurant can accommodate all your special event needs.

Jeffrey's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

Noise

Quiet

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (30)
Romantic (24)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
See All
Fit for Foodies (21)
Good for a Date (20)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Notable Wine List (15)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Cozy (12)
Business Meals (11)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Hot Spot (5)
Authentic (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Good for Groups (2)
People Watching (2)
Seasonal (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Casual (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Fun (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
S
360 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Recently went for a special occasion. The ambiance and service were outstanding. The appetizer and hors-d'oeuvres were excellent. Unfortunately, the main courses (steak and seafood risotto) fell short. The ribeye was very tough. The risotto was drowning in a sauce rather than creamy. I would have rated this a 9, but the food was so lacking for the main course I really can only give it a 6 or 7.

Tags: Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Austin)·Dined 5 days ago

Fantastic dining experience. Rivals any higher-end dining in the Austin area. In the constant release of new restaurants downtown it is easy to forget this long-time standby. If you love the Austin vibe, as we do, but sometimes long for a bit more formality and grace over an unparalleled dinner, you must try Jeffrey's. We were celebrating an especially notable event for us, so we enjoyed the full experience - from craft cocktails at the small, cozy bar (felt like I was in Europe), to martini prepared table side, to caviar service with champagne (they serve Cristal by the glass, at a relatively moderate price, who knew?) to med/rare dry aged Wagyu with fantastic right bank Bordeaux (please don't count the drinks). Immaculate service throughout from all. Truly unbelievable. Every dish was perfect. Wine list was impressive, with something for everyone. Put on your must-visit short list.

Tags: Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Wonderful food but overpriced for what it is...meaning the steak was a solid $30 steak. It was not worth $45. Good food just overpriced.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

I choose Jeffrey's to take my wife of 17 years to celebrate our anniversary. The service was top notch and the staff made us feel special. The food was exceptionally done and has been one of the best meals the we have shared in Austin.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Excellent food and atmosphere. Menu was diverse and quality was at a high level.

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Very good restaurant. Food was delicious . Services excellent .

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 30, 2017

My only complain is that our reservation was at 9:30 and they seated us at the bar table for 30 min next to a really loud table . It was our anniversary so we really wanted to talk also it was kind of late and we were hungry so those 30 min were not the best.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 24, 2017

I reserved a table here for my daughter's birthday. Both of my daughters and my daughter-In-law were in Austin for a girls' trip for my daughter's 30th birthday. My thoughts are that we were all dressed up and saw people in here in t-shirts and jeans. We were not greeted warmly and were told to sit in the window seat (big enough for two people) in the busy hallway because even thought we had reservations, our table was not ready. Then a guy with what looked like two call girls was seated immediately. It took our server 20 minutes to make four martinis from the tableside martini bar, then she made mine with a twist instead of the olives I asked for. She was a nice server and tried fairly hard. Overall the service was very slow. The two who ordered Chateaubriand were thrilled with their meals. My daughter and I ordered sole and pork chop and were less than impressed. The popovers were a nice touch, and the wine list was very good. I have eaten in 5-star restaurants all over the world, and when you pay this much for a dinner, you just expect a little more polish from the staff in the front of the house as well as the back of the house.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Consistently excellent restaurant which too often is taken for granted because of how long in business ..
Testimony to this is how Jeffrey's is able to recruit '
develop superior young talent like Lucas & Alex. They assured a recent pleasurable evening, Friday 9/22/17 .. Roger E.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Always a great experience. Knowledgeable and friendly staff. Very enjoyable.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Took the wife out for our 5 year wedding anniversary. The food was great, the ambiance was perfect and we had a blast. She is 6 months pregnant and the waiter took great care to steer her thru the menu as well as recommend alcohol free drinks. Great "white glove" experience for a fairly reasonable price. This place came recommended, and I see why.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Impeccable service provided by everyone from valet parkers to our team of wait staff. I appreciate the little touches that made it a special meal. They had a handwritten happy anniversary note on our table and a welcome glass of bubbles for our anniversary. Service was courteous and efficient. The dishes were tasty and presented well. The popovers were fresh out of the oven and delicious. And the waitstaff knew how to make recommendations based on our preferences. Overall a special meal.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 13, 2017

The food was well worth the cost of a great night out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Fine dining and excellent bar food. Consistently a winner. Book early for bar seating. Wonderful atmosphere there.

Tags: Quick Bite, Romantic, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 10, 2017

We went for a special birthday and our server forgot the whole second course. By the time the entrees came we were so hungry we didn't have time to wait for the second course to be started. This was really disappointing. They at least comped the drinks and dessert but I'm was shocked by such a big mistake.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Best meal I have had in Austin! I went for my birthday and they made sure it was a special evening filled with amazing food & drinks.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Jeffrey's is an outstanding high end restaurant. The food is outstanding, the service is excellent and ambiance is romantic. It's an all around great choice for a date or special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

The food was excellent. They initially were very delayed in taking our order - we grabbed a manager to let her know. They were extremely apologetic and made things right by not charging for our appetizers or dessert. That is what good restaurants do. Other than that initial delay, the service was excellent, and they could not have been more apologetic. Would very, very highly recommend. I am excited to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

My husband and I went the night we got married for our mini-moon for a special dinner. From the hostess, to waiters, to chefs, and kitchen staff, everyone made us feel so special and loved. They brought us special appetizers, beverages, two gorgeous desserts, and even decorated our table. I've never been to a restaurant so delicious or with such kind people. I can't imagine a better wedding night dinner. The ambience was perfect, romantic, and so unique. Thank you to everyone at Jeffrey's, from the bottom of our hearts.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Really noisy. Small room and one table created a lot of loud conversation. Made conversation at our table all but impossible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Gracious service, really good food and free valet parking!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Dining experience was impeccable as always...the only complaint was a rude bartender in the bar. We wanted to have an after dinner cocktail and was told they were no longer serving (it was 10:20) even though we had not been given a last call. She however served one of her friends at the bar right in front of us, and when I inquired about it she rudely said she was serving another employee. Not the kind of service or behavior I would expect from Jeffreys.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 20, 2017

It was a "big" anniversary dinner and we were treated like VIP's! Totally divine and we will be back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Been dining at Jeffreys since Peggy and Ronnie opened it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Jeffry's is beautiful and the service excellent. However, it is somewhat overpriced. The 8oz filet and halibut were very good, but the temperature of the halibut wasn't hot enough. The brussels sprouts took carmelization too far and were basically burned. The cheese service was described as cheese with baguettes and jelly. However, we got honey and crisp thin crackers. Also, the server said we'd get two ounces of each cheese we picked, but there is NO way we got that much. It was more like one ounce. I'm not sure we'll return as often as we used to (every 3 to 4 months), especially since the prices have increased so much.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
·Dined on August 16, 2017

I chose Jeffrey's for my anniversary dinner and I was shocked at how average, at best, the food was. I would be ashamed to claim this restaurant as a high end Austin great! I ordered the Caesar salad and fried oysters to start with, had the rib-eye and seafood risotto for the entrée's with mushroom and broccoli sides. Salad was good, not sure what they were trying to do with the oysters, the rib-eye was select grade of meat at best, stringy and chewy (and my I add rib-eye is my favorite cut of meat and always my go to for choice of steaks), and the seafood risotto was like a soup/porridge limited on any flavor (they could definitely cook down the broth and strain the seafood better to limit the amount of water in the dish). the service was good so that is a plus.

To sum it up, for the price of their dishes and what I tasted as the quality of their food, this place is not worth the time and I will not be going back again. To many other choices around to make this your dinner stop!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Nice bar area. Watched bar tenders make every drink. For a restaurant with these prices you wouldn't think they would make every single drink intricately measuring all alcohol in a jigger. $130 organic ribeye was good flavor but very tough. Waiter could not recommend a Pinot Noir to go with our meal and there was no Sommelier. Extremely over-priced for the food quality.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Celebrated my wife's birthday. Service was outstanding. Food was excellent!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on August 7, 2017

We enjoyed the nice touches of champagne and a personal note upon arrival - anniversary celebration. Loved our little banquette. Delicious!!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Nice that Austin still has a restaurant with great food, great service, and adult ambience where it is possible to enjoy a conversation while eating. Jeffrey's has done an outstanding job of both reinventing itself and maintaining its traditions.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Food was ok. Other diners were on conference calls or just loud. I would not recommend for a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Enjoyed 100% everything was perfect, celebrated an anniversary and birthday and the experience was awesome.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 21, 2017

The Dover Sole was fabulous! Excellent service. Wonderful dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Everything was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Simply put the best dining experience all around in town!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 20, 2017

We celebrated our anniversary tonight and the entire experience was perfect. The food, presentation, service and setting were amazing. Rarely does a restaurant live up to the expectations. Jeffrey's does! Thanks for a wonderful evening with my wife.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 18, 2017

No questions, just go Jeffreys. They never fail at anything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Jeffrey's offered an eloquent dinning experience full of delicious food and excellent service. 10/10 recommend.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 16, 2017

This really was a special evening. Food was delicious! Service was great! Really enjoyed the whole experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The best meal I've had here, and I've been dozens of times over the past 35 years.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.