Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 0.60mi
  3. Distance: 0.71mi
  4. Distance: 0.86mi
  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 0.60mi
  3. Distance: 0.71mi
  4. Distance: 0.86mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 0.60mi
  3. Distance: 0.71mi
  4. Distance: 0.86mi
  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 0.60mi
  3. Distance: 0.71mi
  4. Distance: 0.86mi

About Jeffrey's Restaurant

Jeffrey's Restaurant & Bar has been an Austin neighborhood fine dining institution since 1975. In 2012 the restaurant closed for a major renovation and has reopened under the leadership of Austin's premiere restaurant group, McGuire Moorman Hospitality. The restaurant, nestled in a quiet neighborhood just west of downtown features a lively bar, three distinct dining rooms and menus featuring dry-aged prime steaks, updated classic fine dining and locally sourced produce. Private dining is available, free valet is standard & local car service is offered.

Josephine House offers lunch, brunch, happy hour, dinner & Monday night steak frites. The Clarksville cottage features a small marble bar for coffee or cocktails, intimate tables in the dining room, shady nooks on our patio and a grassy front lawn for lounging. Chef Alex Manley and her team prepare an eclectic daily menu featuring the best locally sourced products.

1204 W Lynn St
Austin, TX 78703
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary French / American, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Daily, 5:30pm - 10:30pm
Bar: Daily from 430pm
Happy Hour: Monday - Friday, 4:30pm to 6:30pm
Sunday - Monday all night


Josephine House

Lunch: Monday - Friday, 11am-3pm
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday, 11am-3pm
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday, 530pm-10pm
Steak Frites Night: Monday 530pm-10pm
Snacks: Daily 3pm-530pm
Happy Hour Daily 3pm-6pm

Cross Street:
12th

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 477-5584

Website:
http://www.jeffreysofaustin.com/

Parking Details:
Valet is complimentary.

Executive Chef:
Larry McGuire

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, Jeffrey's Restaurant can accommodate all your special event needs.

Jeffrey's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (32)
Good for a Date (31)
Romantic (25)
See All
Fit for Foodies (22)
Notable Wine List (21)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Cozy (17)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Worth the Drive (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Business Meals (9)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Seasonal (3)
Historic (3)
Authentic (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Healthy (3)
People Watching (2)
Fireplace (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Fun (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Casual (1)
Sort By:
S
298 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined 4 days ago

There are many places in Austin where it is possible to have a very good meal. I am not aware of any other place that offers haute cuisine other than Jeffrey's. If the Michelin Guide ever decides to have a Texas edition, I am certain that Jeffrey's will merit a mention, if not a rosette or two. The decor is understated, the atmosphere is reasonably quiet (considering that this is Austin), and the service is magnifique. White tablecloths, brushed clean of detritus between each course, tableware replaced discretely between each course, and an attentive waitstaff that would never let your wine glass remain unfilled -- this is truly fine dining. The menu is commensurate with the service. My wife and I started with the fried oysters, a Jeffrey's tradition. Wonderful, crispy oysters on a bed of leeks and a cream sauce, topped with a dollop of what I believe was Russian dressing. Yum! I followed with the halibut and my wife had the Dover Sole. Both were yummy and the portions were quite adequate to assuage our hunger, unlike the portions at many Austin restaurants. Yes, they were a bit more expensive but you get more. The important thing to remember if you are considering this restaurant is that the flavor combinations are subtle. In my halibut, for example, I had white asparagus topping the halibut. The subtle flavor of the asparagus perfectly complemented the halibut. You will not find exciting new flavor combinations and juxtapositions here. Everything is in the French style, soignée, not avant-garde. For dessert, we shared a chocolate soufflé with a side of banana flavored ice cream. Once again, the execution of this classic French dessert left nothing to be desired. If you want a restaurant for a special occasion, Jeffrey's is impossible to beat.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined 5 days ago

Jeffrey's lived up to its reputation as Austin's best and original steak house. Great attention to detail from decor, lighting location, serving acesories and service was outstanding.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined 6 days ago

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Everything was perfect. The dinning-rooms are small and there is no ambiance.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Exquisite dining experience. Superb service, food with finesse, well executed. Pricey, but worth the ticket. When back in town we will do again, in a city with lots of choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Best restaurant in Austin!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Wet early for drinks in the bar. Seated at a table at 6 PM Service was great. Split a bone in Waygu ribeye with Mashed potatoes. Only issue was the Waygu was had big globs of fat. But of course all the fat makes it richer.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Food was good but not as good as Perla's

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Service and food were wonderful. Sat us in a very cozy corner table with a couple of pillows to make it more comfortable. I beautiful hand written card wishing us a happy birthday. Both our waiter and sommelier went above and beyond helping to educate us on thw available wines that paired so well with our meals. My 8 oz filet was to die for. It was cooked perfectly and the char added such a wonderful flavor. My wife had the halibut which was moist and delicious. We were both so pleased with our dining experience. We look forward to our next trip to Austin so we may plan on dining there again

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 6, 2017

I will start by saying the last and only other time I'd been to Jeffrey's was a year ago on my birthday and it was a first-class experience. That is why I recommended Jeffrey's this year for my birthday. My parents were in town and treating me. Completely different experience. We were seated at a table with guests within a foot on either side. I guess most of the tables are like this, but my previous experience in a booth was very different. The waiter was inattentive and seemed to check on us as an afterthought, and also seemed slightly put out when he did stop by and our orders weren't ready to go. We had to flag him to order drinks, and drink service was slow. There was no martini cart for us like last year, as the seating would not allow for it. Unfortunately the lively tables next to us required that I practically yell in order for my father to hear me. That's not Jeffrey's fault, but was frustrating and unexpected. The popovers were probably the highlight of the night. The gruyere tortellini was just okay. We had to flag our waiter again to order a bottle of wine to be sure that it came before our dinner arrived. This level of dining is not everyday for us, it was a special occasion to be sure. And very expensive by most standards. We were all shocked by the fact that I was the one refilling our glasses. Even now, I feel snobby writing this, but when you pay $125 for a bottle of wine that is not the service you expect. I'm almost certain that the staff had to be reminded of my birthday and to send out the birthday dessert. All in all, I just felt guilty that I was responsible for this extremely expensive and altogether lackluster experience. I expected so much more. The majority of the food was delicious, thank goodness. Finally, the birthday card on the table misspelled my name - SteFhanie?? - which was funny at first but proved to be an indication of the inattentiveness we would receive the entire evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Food and service were excellent! Nice and cozy atmosphere. Will go back again!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 2, 2017

My complaint is that I asked the waitress if the red wine was at cellar temp (60) vs room temp (72). She definitely said they had a wine cooler.
Incorrect.
The bottle of red wine was served hot and I had to have it put in a bucket of ice water for 20 minutes to get it to the proper temperature.
Surprised that this high price restaurant would do such a thing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Ten out of ten on all that matters. Food was outstanding and the waitstaff well educated on the wine list. But can be a little noisy because tables are close in small rooms. And for the same reason, not a place for confidential conversations.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Our server appeared at the table right away, but took an inordinately long time to return to take our drink orders (handling a cheese presentation in the next room was the excuse offered). We had to wait over an hour to receive our main course after ordering (a large party in the next room was the excuse). We had a 7pm reservation for four, and were one of the last tables left in the restaurant when we left at 9:30. The food was excellent, and I am certain we would have ordered dessert had we not had to wait so long for service. An appetizer and one other item were dropped from the bill because of the delays, but we would have far preferred considerate service.

We have eaten at Jeffrey's for over 40 years and have booked your next door facility for a large group of out of town business people. It has been our go to restaurant for great food and good conversation. This is the first time we have been let down and it felt like we were dropped.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Jeffrey's is housed in an old home in a real neighborhood of other homes so you would not expect it to be a restaurant. But my server explained that Jeffrey's has been open for 35 years, and until the last few years was owned by a person. The wine menu was overwhelming. However, when I explained to our server what our budget was and the kind of flavors we like, he came up with a wonderful Cote de Rhone that was quite reasonable.
My colleague and I decided to share an appetizer so we were surprised that it did not come out on two plates, but instead in a bowl placed between us. We had to ask for two side plates and a serving spoon. We each had fish. Mine was delicious and a generous portion. Then we indulged in the cheese course and enjoyed it thoroughly. I would recommend eating at Jeffrey's for a special occasion as was in our case--two old friends catching up after so many years. You can actually carry on a conversation, which we found was difficult to do in the other restaurants we visited while in Austin. We enjoyed our dining experience except for the appetizer episode.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 20, 2017

A true fine dining experience in Austin. Great service and delicious food. They truly made our experience special--had a card welcoming us for our Anniversary at the table as well as a complimentary glass of cava. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 19, 2017

What a lovely restaurant! We celebrated our company's 12 year anniversary. Tony was an excellent server. He offered suggestions when we were undecided and made sure my vegetarian son was well taken care of. Tony was very attentive and friendly and made our night special. We really enjoyed the extra touch of the "Happy Anniversary" note on our table. All of our food was delicious! We loved trying Orange Wine for the first time! We will definitely return!

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Date night celebrating my 11th anniversary with my spouse. Everything was great!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (London)·Dined on April 11, 2017

We've been visiting Jeffrey's since the 70s, and it never disappoints. We loved the Dover sole, and the fried oyster appetizer was delicious, inventive and beautifully presented. It's a wonderful, intimate and beautiful setting, and the food is outstanding.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Jeffrey's never disappoints. Celebrated wife's birthday with a terrific dinner. Everything just right. Salads were unique and tasty - and not small ! Petite Filet and NY strip were fine quality and cooked to perfection. Service terrific as usual. Found us a lovely half bottle of cabernet - a better choice than wine by the glass. Can't beat it !

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Extravagant dining experience for our last pre-baby date (delivered our daughter five days later). Reservation got us a perfect booth with outside views. Service was top notch. Wine list is massive and appropriately priced at all tiers. Steak and Veal Chop were flat out perfect - no better description. And the soufflé was the perfect finish! Highly anticipating this to be our first post-baby date soon as well! Can't wait to come back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on April 7, 2017

One of the best meals we have ever had. We cannot wait to return to this gem! Truffle Deviled Eggs are fantastic!

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Fun, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Jeffrey's does not disappoint! The food, service & ambiance were fantastic. Would highly recommend for any occasion

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Excellent steaks and very good service. One or two nice touches (e.g. popovers). Wine list extensive but very fully priced. A very enjoyable evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 3, 2017

One of the best meals I've ever had. On vacation. With wife and daughter. Two steaks one Dover sole! 11 on a 10 scale! Brussel sprouts insane. Caesar salad outstanding.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 30, 2017

The staff was excellent! Very responsive to my request for a special table for a special date. They gave us the best possible booth. The filet was superb. I live In San Francisco and this exceeded the very high standard of my home town. Thank you for a terrific evening!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 29, 2017

This is a consistently high quality dining experience. Simply one of the best Austin has to offer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Outstanding food, good service, 1/2 price wine on Sunday's which the server let us know about. Wife and I were visiting Austin for the 1st time and Jeffery's was highly recommended and the wagyu bone-in ribeye did not disappoint only down side was a loud New Yorker at another table

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Single handily the best meal I've ever had. I proposed to my now fiancé before dinner and the staff went out of their way to give us the best seats, service, and complimentary champaign. Staff is knowledgeable and will explain wines and food without being posh. Food is amazing and they have Pappy Van Winkle.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 26, 2017

This is no longer your grandparent's Jeffrey's! Even traditional menu items like the fish en papillote have been given a modern spin (think a Thai influenced coconut milk sauce for that fish!) The meat heavy menu still offers plenty for vegetarians, with some items easily adapted if you just let your server know. Everything was delicious and artfully presented, served by friendly, professional staff.

Tags: People Watching, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 22, 2017

The wine, food, and service were spectacular! Only problem was the group of 12 men who came after we were seated and stood next to and behind our table talking and laughing loudly and blocking the servers. We requested to be moved or to ask them to sit and calm down. We never heard back but later found the manager gave them free appetizers to get them away from our table! Really, ignore us and reward them. Not what I would expect from a high end restaurant!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Outstanding service and made our anniversary celebration memorable. We were welcomed with complimentary champagne!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Easily one of the best dining experiences of my life. Go with a smaller steak as the food is quite filling.

Tags: Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Fun, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Took my wife for her birthday and we were so blown away! It was our best dining experience in Austin hands down. Service was impeccable, drinks and wine were great and the food was superb. We will be frequenting more often in the future for sure.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Overpriced, poor selection, misleading menu. The only good thing was a tequila coctail...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 26, 2017

A friend recommended Jeffrey's as the best in Austin. It did not disappoint. Appetizers were spectacular: crab and avocado toast and sesame oysters with grapefruit. Had excellent pork and lamb dinners followed by my favorite after dinner liquor, Nardini Amori. Service was beyond perfect. A real treat.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Expensive was stellar

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Celebrated a late Valentine's Day (miss the crowd) and a career change. Saving Jeffery's for a special occasion. Service was less than expected. Had high expectations for our first time visit. The food was amazing, exceeded expectation.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 30, 2017

The service was exceptional, the portions we perfect and the food was absolutely amazing.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 20, 2017

The meal was fantastic, but the prices definitely warrant this restaurant for "special occasions" only.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.