Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

About Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse - Louisville

The first & only steakhouse of its kind in the Louisville area, Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse serves only dry-aged USDA prime beef. While steak is the foundation of the menu, Jeff Ruby's promises to please seafood lovers as well with its raw/sushi bar & seafood entrees.
Jeff Ruby regulars will be pleased to know that their favorite signature items from the Cincinnati restaurants will be well represented in Louisville. The bone-in filet, the 7 cheese baked macaroni, creamed spinach, truffle flake creamed corn, & of course Jeff Ruby's secret recipe cheesecake will all be staples of the Louisville menu.
Styled after the great NY steakhouses of the 1930's & 40's, Jeff Ruby's promises to be as pleasing visually as it is to the palate. French art-deco design, plush mohair upholstery, hand selected antique furniture and cinematic crystal chandeliers anchored by a 1950s-era antique featured in the Starz series Magic City and the 32 foot wall of wine.

325 W. Main Street
Suite 120 Waterfront Plaza
Louisville, KY 40202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
4th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(502) 584-0102

Website:
http://www.jeffruby.com/

Entertainment:
Jeff Ruby's offers live entertainment 6 nights per week.

Parking Details:
Optional valet is offered at the entrance of the restaurant on 4th street, with street parking & 2 garages within one block.

Executive Chef:
Brian Steger

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Indoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

We offer a complete, turn-key private event planning experience. This includes an array of audio/video and floral options. Our sales manager will work with you and our vendors to ensure every detail exceeds your expectations.

Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse - Louisville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (105)
Good for a Date (92)
Good for Anniversaries (84)
See All
Romantic (73)
Business Meals (60)
Notable Wine List (58)
Good for Birthdays (56)
Worth the Drive (41)
Bar Seating (39)
Fit for Foodies (34)
Hot Spot (33)
Good for Groups (29)
Fun (28)
Live Music (28)
Pre/post Theatre (26)
Vibrant Bar Scene (26)
Creative Cuisine (24)
People Watching (24)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Authentic (16)
Cozy (16)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Happy Hour (15)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Late-night Find (10)
Comfort Food (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Casual (7)
Paleo Friendly (7)
Great Beer (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Seasonal (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Waterfront (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Scenic View (1)
Spicy (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1873 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

I ordered the New York strip steak, it was hands down the best steak I have ever had.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Romantic, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined 3 days ago

This was a fantastic evening! My wife and I were celebrating the even of my birthday, and Jeff Ruby was a magical spot! The atmosphere is fun and electric in the bar, which was filled with a sea of smiles. Everyone was having so much fun! The singer was one of the best local talents I have ever heard and he could sing everything from Louis to Motown to modern. And the band was solid. The service was adequate, but the manager really did a great job making things right. My mid rare steak came out between Medium and Medium well and my wife's very thick filet was blue inside. The quickly produced a perfect replacement for me and put a nice crisp on the outside of her steak leaving mid rare inside. Those faux paus did nothing to dampen this incredible experience. I love it that the manager did not make us feel unreasonable, and made sure we loved everything about the meal. By the way, the JR salad was so tasty! And they generously split it into two bowl. The server was very accommodating. I also enjoyed tasting three different single barrel bourbons. The selection was irresistible. Finally, upon learning my birthday was the next day, the manager sent a lip licking hunk of carrot cake that we enjoyed all weekend. It was way too big to eat at once even though there were two of us. Overall, my wife commented this was one of the truly great evenings of our lives. In fact the music was so good, we made a dance floor by our table. If you are not coming for a fantastic experience, I guess you could ask for a corner in the back of the dining room. I'm sure they would accommodate! :-)

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Lobster tail under cooked and cold. Asked to put under broiler but texture already not appetizing Service was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined 5 days ago

This is the best steak house in Louisville. When you can say ... My steak melted in my mouth... .it melts in your mouth. It is the best! The service, the quiet atmosphere, the food ... everything is perfect.

It is expensive but for a special occasion enjoy!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Casual, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

The service was impeccable very attentive and personable. Food was great... steaks were cooked to perfection lobster Mac & cheese was very good! The grits and shrimp appetizer were to die for!!! Great flavor and cooked perfectly. I will definitely dine there again when in town!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Casual, Business Meals, Live Music, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 9, 2017

We started our meal off with an order of sushi rolls that were amazing. We then had salads, I did not care for the bacon on the Freddie salad but the homemade ranch was very nice. We all got the barrel cut filet mignon which was very good. Mine was a little dry (ordered medium rare) but another one of our guests ordered his rare and it was juicy and very good. The hashbrown sides were just okay, but the asparagus was really good. We were too full for dessert but I would have loved to try the homemade ice cream.

The only thing that was a turn off about this was the waiter coming right out of the gate and recommending the 2 most expensive steaks on the menu.

I would go back, but it's on the pricey side so it would have to be a somewhat special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 8, 2017

One of the best steaks I've ever had. And the service was equally impressive.

Tags: Good for Groups, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 7, 2017

I had high expectations and they were exceeded. A true joy to dine in this Louisville "Gem"

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Jeff Ruby's never disappoints. The wait staff is excellent, everyone was courteous and greeted us with a smile. Great place for a special occasion date, or if you just want to treat yourself.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Great Beer, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Steaks by far better than Morton's and Ruth Chris's!

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 4, 2017

One I’ve the best steaks I’ve had in the country. Rivaled St Elmo’s. Excellent service. I’d go back to Louisville just to eat at Jeff Ruby’s.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 3, 2017

Filthy front doorway and entry way. Restaurant could use a remodel too, or at least a deep cleaning.
Way over priced. Tuna appetizer was terrible. Filet mignon was drenched in butter and seasoning. Yuck. Real wine glasses would be nice...come on! $200+ bottle in thick Ruby branded glasses. Server was ok. Not overly attentive. Will never go to a Ruby's again. Much better steaks and prices elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 2, 2017

More interested in turning tables and taking your $ vs. good, caring customer service. Not enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 2, 2017

Jeff Ruby’s never disappoints! We were celebrating our 35th anniversary and service was impeccable. Couldn’t get over how busy they were for a Monday night. Lot of convention visitors. We started with a drink and shared shrimp cocktail. The biggest shrimp I’ve ever seen. Divine. I had the scallops which were cooked to perfection and delightful! My husband had the bourbon filet. He said it was divine. We shared the Freddie salad and asparagus. They gave us a complimentary piece of cheesecake which we enjoyed with coffee. A very romantic dinner we thoroughly enjoyed every second of. Hats off to Jeff Ruby’s 👌🏻

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on October 2, 2017

Great steaks and service - hard to beat in Louisville. I have no negatives whatsoever - outstanding experience!

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

As always I never have a complain we've eaten at many different restaurants in many different states and we love our Jeff Ruby's here in Louisville Kentucky. It's our go to faverite place eat. There are other restaurants here in Louisville and this is by far my favorite our favorite we Rave to our friends about it! You should always share a good thing and the things that you love so we always share how much we love Jeff Ruby's

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Paleo Friendly, Healthy, People Watching, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Live Music, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Waterfront, Fun, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Romantic, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

We have been to all his restaurants in Cincinnati. This one was by far my favorite. Food and service was fantastic. Andrei was great!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 30, 2017

The place had live music in the bar which is open, so it's not like going to the library. The staff was friendly and professional without being intrusive. I came for the steak and it was one of the best, most expertly prepared Ribeyes I've ever had. I will absolutely go back.

Tags: Fun, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 30, 2017

This is my favorite restaurant in Louisville....hands down! I'll be so sad when my son graduates from U of Louisville, and we won't be back as often. And I hear you give a free steak to U of L graduates....thanks...our son can't wait! This is also the best steak I've ever had in my lifetime. It's pricey, but it is so unbelievably delicious. The ambiance here is so lively and fun to go along with the great food. We enjoy being seated in the bar area so that we can enjoy the live music ranging from piano to a small jazzy band. Reserve plenty of time in advance or you won't get in. Great job Jeff Rubys! I've dined in DC, Chicago and many major cities....you are still my favorite!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Hot Spot, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Had a great meal and the best steak I’ve ever had here. Everything was wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Sushi is the best that I've had in years!! They overcooked my husband's porterhouse. The manager offered to replace it but my husband was hungry and ate it anyway. They discounted the steak but it was still disappointing that it occurred at all in a steak house. The service, atmosphere and every other morsel was outstanding. I'd return but only get the sushi, it's worth it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Traveled to Louisville for our son's first family weekend. We wanted to take him somewhere special, we sure did find it! Service was excellent, thank you John Christian you were amazing!!!! The atmosphere and decor was very nice. They also had live music which is always a plus. They have a very extensive wine list and of course a full bar. We started with oysters on the half shell, then salads. My son and husband had the cowboy rib-eye, which was cooked perfectly! I had the veal chop also cooked perfectly. The steaks were so big we took home leftovers. We shared the mac and cheese side, best we've ever had. We ended with dessert, butter pie with a side of salted caramel ice cream and pistachio ice cream also the best I eve had. All the desserts are homemade in house. Just a wonderful experience!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Food was fantastic, server was great, only complaint was the hostess stand when you 1st walk in seemed very disorganized & the girl working was not friendly. It was nearly half an hr after our reservation time that we were seated, when walk-ins came in asking for a table she quickly dismissed them, telling them they'd have nothing at all available until after 10pm. However, an hr later, when we were leaving she was telling a walk-in group of 5 she could seat them immediately in the bar. One lady who she dismissed asked if she could recommend another good restaurant close that might have available tables & the hostess replied that she could not seeing as though she was not familiar with the city. I would recommend someone a little more friendly & accommodating to your patrons to be the 1st face you see when you arrive. Other than that, it was a good visit.

Tags: Hot Spot, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 27, 2017

Always great food and service. Highly recommended!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 27, 2017

Atmosphere was off the charts. The pianist was incredible and could play any request beautifully. Our server Tyler was on point the entire evening. Jeff Ruby's was a highlight of our Louisville experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 26, 2017

Jeff Ruby's is one of the best steakhouse in the country.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

Excellent meal with great service in an outstanding atmosphere. I really enjoyed the ambiance especially having a talented pianist helping to make an enjoyable dining experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Always get the wonderful dining experience we've come to expect at Jeff Ruby's.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Excellent steak place! Sitting in the room with piano bar is key. Like a speakeasy!

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Live Music, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 22, 2017

All our sides were cold! Disappointed! Mac n cheese and mashed potatoes were cold. Steak was excellent! The sides were very unlike any experience we have ever had at a Ruby's restaurant. Boo!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Another stellar dinner at Jeff Ruby's! Never had a bad meal or service here in the 10 or so years I've been dining there. One of my wife's faves as well. The place for a great steak. First time having "John" but he took great care of us too!

Tags: Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 19, 2017

My husband and I on our way to take our daughter to see Bruno Mars , we always dine at Jeff Ruby's when in town. Always a wonderful experience and the food is absolutely superb!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 18, 2017

Per my ratings- Service and atmosphere were great. Food...not so much. It had been a coupe years since I had dined at JR's and steak was disappointing. And for that reason, it caused the value to decrease also. As a hotel manager in Downtown, I recommend several of my clients/guests to dine at JR's but now I hesitate to do so.

Please let me know if the quality or chef changes in the future and I'll give it another try. Thank you!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Unfortunately my $75 bone in filet was rare when I ordered medium. When it was returned it varied from well to rare. It was also not flavorful. Everything else about the experience was very pleasant.

I normally go to Ruth Chris every year and was looking forward to comparing the best of both restaurants, but on this visit I did not get the best of Jeff Ruby.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

The staff is top notch from front to back top to bottom. Attentive without being intrusive. The salads were over the top delicious and creative, I got the Freddie Salad and it was among the best salads I have ever eaten. The steaks are delicious and were cooked PERFECTLY.

My only minor complaint is I got the Steak Collinsworth with asparagus and crab meat, I almost never get a filet with anything on it, but this looked good in the picture. The asparagus was rather large and not very tender the crab meat was fishy tasting. But I simply brushed aside the crab meat and the steak was perfect, the sauces were delicious without being overbearing.

The fresh baked bread and Truffle butter are incredible. Because it was our anniversary, they brought us a generous slice of cheese cake that was on the house. Now, this wasn't some throw away this was really good cheesecake.

Over all, a delightful experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

I took my parents for their 40th Wedding Anniversary. I mentioned the occasion to the hostess and that's all it took. The rest of the staff wished them a happy anniversary and even offered us dessert on the house. The food was perfect as was the entire experience.

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Romantic, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Yes, the prices are high, but I did not feel cheated in the least. The food was delicious, the service superb, and the decor made me feel like I was in The Great Gatsby. It was worth the splurge to celebrate my birthday.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 11, 2017

January was a fantastic asset to our dinner. She has wonderful suggestions and we loved everything she recommended. Food was amazing as was the service.

Tags: Live Music, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Romantic, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 9, 2017

We and another couple ate there for the first time. The ambience is great, glitzy, glam. The food was really good as was the service. I highly recommend this restaurant for a special or fun night out. I would love to go again the next time I'm in Louisville.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 8, 2017

This was the first time at Jeff Ruby's and I must admit that the food was not as good as it was hyped to me. The food wasn't bad by any means, but I can honestly say I've had a better "tasting" steak at Outback. The "cowboy" steak I ordered didn't have much flavor to it and I was too embarrassed to ask for A1, so I saved it for leftovers. It was nice for our special occasion, but it just wasn't worth the price.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.