Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About Jean Georges

Jean-Georges opened in 1997 to critical acclaim. The jewel of Chef Jean-Georges Vongerichten’s empire, the restaurant offers the very best in fine dining. Consistently awarded four stars by the New York Times and three Michelin stars, Jean-Georges presents exquisitely crafted dishes blending French, American, and Asian influences. Chef Jean-Georges is a master at maintaining the essence of ingredients while using them inventively to produce the best flavor. Jean-Georges’ chic and intimate dining room was redesigned by Thomas Juul-Hansen, with striking lighting by L’Observatoire. Impeccable service, tableside preparations, and floor-to-ceiling windows with stunning views of Central Park and Columbus Circle all contribute to an unforgettable dining experience. Jean-Georges offers a three-course prix-fixe menu and two six-course tasting menus: a traditional tasting of the chef’s signature dishes, and a seasonal tasting featuring fresh market ingredients.

1 Central Park West
New York, NY 10023
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday 11:45am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday, 5:30pm - 11pm, Friday, Saturday 5:00pm-11:00pm Sunday 5:30pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
60th and 61st Streets

Dress Code:
Jacket Required

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 299-3900

Website:
http://www.jean-georgesrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Private Party Facilities: Jean Georges can accommodate parties of up to 30 guests in the Boardroom Suite, located on the third floor of the Trump International hotel. The main dining room is also available for private breakfast events Monday-Friday up until 11am for groups of 20-75 guests.

Private Party Contact: Farah Abad, 212-358-0688 x28 or fabad@jean-georges.com

Parking Details:
Located at 61st Street between Central Park West and Broadway is a public parking garage available for use.

Public Transit:
A C, B, D, or 1 line to 59th Street Columbus Circle.

Executive Chef:
Jean-Georges Vongerichten

Additional:
Full Bar, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
http://www.jean-georges.com/events/special-events/

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Jean–Georges' flagship offers the best in fine dining. Awarded 4 stars by The New York Times and 3 Michelin stars, it features an exquisitely crafted menu blending French, American and Asian influences; the impeccable service, and views of Central Park make for an unforgettable dining experience.

Jean Georges Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (94)
Tasting Menu (89)
Good for Anniversaries (87)
See All
Creative Cuisine (86)
Romantic (77)
Good for a Date (77)
Fit for Foodies (62)
Notable Wine List (59)
Quiet Conversation (54)
Good for Birthdays (45)
Modern Decor (44)
Business Meals (43)
Great for Lunch (38)
Worth the Drive (24)
Cozy (23)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Seasonal (17)
Scenic View (17)
People Watching (16)
Hot Spot (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Authentic (13)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Local Ingredients (9)
Great for Brunch (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Healthy (8)
Outstanding Value (7)
Fun (7)
Historic (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Family Style (4)
Organic (4)
Spicy (3)
Private Room (3)
Vegan (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Tapas (1)
Casual (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
5115 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

We have five plates tasting lunch menu. We just love it, very much. Food is fabulous. Although we were so full but still clear every plates cuz it's just so delicious that we can't stop. Worth the price. Must try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 3 days ago

Wouldn't have changed a thing. Amazing food and service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

The service was terribly impatient and you got the feeling that the next guest is already waiting to take your seat.
Food was excellent

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

the food is all right, but it is not the top quality as a top restaurant. If u want to try something that is top quality, don't go. U will feel sad.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

I have been to Jean Georges many times. It remains one of my favorite restaurants. The food is excellent as is the service. I like that it is quiet with lots of light. It was a really enjoyable lunch.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent restaurant for a special occasion or for the tourist who wishes to be extravagant. Creative cuisine, outstanding quality and impeccable service.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined 5 days ago

All dishes were well presented and delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined 5 days ago

Experience was amazing. Went for an anniversary trip to NYC. Eating here was one of our highlights before seeing a show. Service was excellent and food fabulous. Expensive but worth it

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined 5 days ago

Excelent meal and environment. Recommend for every occasion.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Honestly, food did not match my expectation. Service was good. However, there was rude server in the beginning that started us off on the wrong track. He came over and told us that we needed to order fast because there was another reservation for our table in 2 hours. While we understand that there are later reservations, the server should have informed us politely instead of telling us in an apparently condescending voice. It was rude, unexpected, and not what we expected from a restaurant as well-renowed as Jean Georges.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Afternoon Tea, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Graduation dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Great place for any occasion. Great food choices and options.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Good service with friendly staff. Nice place that surpassed our expectations. Most folk think they need to eat after visiting a Michelin star restaurant as they will still be hungry, but this place did leave you full with a cacophony of wonderful, first-time tastes.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Excellent presentation, service and ambiance. Only disappointment was the salt in our appetizers, way too much.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Bon repas mais d'un niveau 2 étoiles et pas 3 étoiles. Trop de détails ont étés problématiques: température de la salle trop froide (j'en ai fait 2 fois la remarque pendant le repas), présentation des plats peu créative et originale, service du vin seulement après le début du repas, cadre (décoration de la salle) soigné mais ordinaire. Le service était très attentionné, et la nourriture très bonne et même parfois exceptionnelle, mais on attend l'exceptionnel pendant tout le repas et à tous les niveaux quand on annonce 3 étoiles et qu'on en fait payer le prix...

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Took my parents here for Mother's Day and everyone loved it. My only complaints were that my seat was a little tight, although I am a large fella so it is probably only an issue for me, and it was a little more casual than I had expected. The casualness, however, actually cut both ways for me because all of the servers were very nice and did not have the pretentious nature that some servers possess in other high-end restaurants.

Having said all of that, the food and service were absolutely outstanding. My drink was never empty for longer than a few seconds, if that, and the presentation of the food was terrific. The food itself was outstanding and the portions much larger than I had anticipated; my mother ordered salmon for her second course and it was a meal sized portion of salmon, which I found surprising. Similarly, my foie gras was not only outstanding, it was paired with mango (which I don't love) and the two complemented one another very well, but also plentiful.

I would probably recommend going on a weeknight just because the surrounding area gets hectic and is full of tourists. Otherwise, I would absolutely recommend checking this place out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (London)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Went for mother's day the service was very good and attentive. The value for the food was disproportionate. We had an egg with caviar/ pea soup/and lobster with ravioli. The food was okay not in the least bit great nor did it live up to hype.
The total bill with tip for two people drinking water: 600.00
One of those moments you really feel cheated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Impeccable service; great dining experience for special occasion. Food is good; high windows and ceilings make it feel airy in the dining hall. Although a few too many tables crammed in the space; attention to detail must be applauded. Have dined here several times, and will definitely go back, in particular for lunch with views. Overall great experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (London)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Superb once again. Excellent food with exemplary service. I couldnt fault any part of it. The amouse bouches were excellent, portions ample for this type of restaurant and friendly service.

I always visit when in NYC and will be back again next time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Always a good choice for lunch, late after museum visits, quite ambiance, quick service. Food is excellent with seasonal ingredients.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Cozy, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 10, 2017

One of the best meals ever, made our occasion better. we will come again, thank you!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 9, 2017

food is very good, service is also good. we went to Jean-Georges to celebrate our anniversary and we were been taken to a very private booth. however, around 8pm it's getting little noisy and people are talking loud, maybe because tables are too close to each other.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Food delicious and creative, service is thoughtful. Ambiance is a little less, not as private.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 9, 2017

My birthday lunch and it was fabulous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Expensive but worth every penny. All-in cost for 2 was $437. Nice location with a vibrant and interesting crowd.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great experience and will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

This is a favorite restaurant of my wife and myself. Try to have lunch or dinner at least once a year. The service is great and the food is always interesting.
Their lunch menu consists of a first course and then the main course, with a few extra surprises.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

It's better than I remembered!
Everything was perfect; the wait staff, food presentation, creativity,
and most importantly great taste‼️

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The tasting menu is as not the best I've tasted.
Over hyped.
Per Se is far better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Monaco)·Dined on May 6, 2017

It was a bit disappointing. We were seated at a table for six persons, although we were only four. This meant that two of us could not converse with each other. The remedy was to move everyone closer to one side, which did not help. The only option was to wait 30 to 40 minutes for another table, which we did not want to do. The food was great, but the evening was not. Two of us were essentially excluded from conversation with each other. It was not what I have come to expect in a three star restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Jean-Georges is a very good restaurant but my expectation is a tad higher than 'very good'.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 5, 2017

chef jean George cooks exceptional food. We ordered the signature collection. It wad very expensive but definitely worthy of it.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Food was great and service was also perfect!! I enjoyed the meal at Jean George with my friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Great serve, taste at all

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 5, 2017

thank you for great dishes and happy memories. I want to come again whenever I have issues in NewYork

Tags: Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 4, 2017

They deserve every Michelin star in the sky! Exquisite food, impeccable service - a gastronomic experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 4, 2017

The finest meal I have ever eaten. From service, to presentation, and dining, we witnessed a performance at its best. The three course prize fixed is more like 6 or 7 courses. Every dish is meant to be savored, some needing 10-15 minutes between bites to honor!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 3, 2017

It is too bad that it is in the Trump building- we almost did not go there because of that

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Outstanding lunch - celebrating our wedding anniversary. Service impeccable and staff very attentive. Thank you, very much. We will be coming back every year.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.