Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About Jean-Georges

Jean-Georges opened in 1997 to critical acclaim. The jewel of Chef Jean-Georges Vongerichten’s empire, the restaurant offers the very best in fine dining. Consistently awarded four stars by the New York Times and three Michelin stars, Jean-Georges presents exquisitely crafted dishes blending French, American, and Asian influences. Chef Jean-Georges is a master at maintaining the essence of ingredients while using them inventively to produce the best flavor. Jean-Georges’ chic and intimate dining room was redesigned by Thomas Juul-Hansen, with striking lighting by L’Observatoire. Impeccable service, tableside preparations, and floor-to-ceiling windows with stunning views of Central Park and Columbus Circle all contribute to an unforgettable dining experience. Jean-Georges offers a three-course prix-fixe menu and two six-course tasting menus: a traditional tasting of the chef’s signature dishes, and a seasonal tasting featuring fresh market ingredients.

1 Central Park West
New York, NY 10023
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday 11:45am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday, 5:30pm - 11pm, Friday, Saturday 5:00pm-11:00pm Sunday 5:30pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
60th and 61st Streets

Dress Code:
Jacket Required

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 299-3900

Website:
http://www.jean-georgesrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Private Party Facilities: Jean Georges can accommodate parties of up to 30 guests in the Boardroom Suite, located on the third floor of the Trump International hotel. The main dining room is also available for private breakfast events Monday-Friday up until 11am for groups of 20-75 guests.

Private Party Contact: Farah Abad, 212-358-0688 x28 or fabad@jean-georges.com

Parking Details:
Located at 61st Street between Central Park West and Broadway is a public parking garage available for use.

Public Transit:
A C, B, D, or 1 line to 59th Street Columbus Circle.

Executive Chef:
Jean-Georges Vongerichten

Additional:
Full Bar, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
http://www.jean-georges.com/events/special-events/

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Jean–Georges' flagship offers the best in fine dining. Awarded 4 stars by The New York Times and 3 Michelin stars, it features an exquisitely crafted menu blending French, American and Asian influences; the impeccable service, and views of Central Park make for an unforgettable dining experience.

Jean-Georges Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Quiet

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (84)
Romantic (69)
Tasting Menu (68)
See All
Fit for Foodies (64)
Good for a Date (60)
Good for Anniversaries (60)
Notable Wine List (52)
Creative Cuisine (47)
Quiet Conversation (46)
Great for Lunch (42)
Good for Birthdays (35)
Business Meals (30)
Worth the Drive (24)
Authentic (17)
Hot Spot (17)
People Watching (17)
Seasonal (17)
Cozy (15)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Great for Brunch (8)
Scenic View (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Casual (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Organic (3)
Spicy (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Fun (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
5314 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 2 days ago

Great place, we had a very good anniversary celebration!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent service and food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined 5 days ago

Easy...Five Stars across the board. There were no flaws in this meal, the wine, the food, or the service/ambiance. It rarely gets this good. Treat yourself and book a table here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 18, 2017

A treat to be enjoyed by every foodie out there. Impeccable service. The food is unlike anything out there. Great attention to detail.... the best money spend. Our server Destiny was excellent. She was knowledgeable of the menu yet not stuffy. She made us feel very comfortable and even walked us out of the restaurant. The best server we've ever had. We had an amazing experience and cant wait to come back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 17, 2017

The tasting menu is absolutely delicious and the service is excellent. Definitely worthy of 3 Michelin stars.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

We went there celebrating wedding anniversary with our daughter on a Saturday noon. I would say it has been my best experience here so far. Last brunch I went here with friends, the service was really slow for some reason and they even missed our dessert at the end (still disappointed about it); though the food was excellent. This time I decided to give it another try for this special occasion--it turned out to be totally amazing and worthy it! Our seat got a pretty good view and sunshine; and the assistant is patient and always around. I have ordered a couple of dishes across menus, and they were so nice to make the accommodation. At the end we got a little surprise dessert for our anniversary which became one of the highlights through the whole meal. Overall really high quality food out of every penny. Definitely highly recommended!

Tags: Scenic View, Organic, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Afternoon Coffee, Seasonal, Casual, Afternoon Tea, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 15, 2017

From the moment we arrived, the service was impeccable. We were celebrating our Anniversary and wanted to have a special romantic night. The wait staff and sommeliers did not disappoint! Outstanding on every level. The chef's classic menu is a perfectly balanced feast of flavors and textures, and the wine pairings bring each bite to life. The Summer tasting menu was also being served so we had one of each, at the suggestion of our server. A truly world-class experience. One of the best dinners we've ever had. Thank you Jean-Georges staff for a night we won't forget!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 13, 2017

A very subdued, grown-up vibe to the room. It is very expensive, but the food was wonderful. Great for a special occasion for diners who appreciate quality ingredients and creative dishes.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 12, 2017

One of the best dining experiences I've ever had in NYC. Wine pairing is a must. Don't wait to go.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

It was incredible meal, the best I've ever experienced, and the perfect evening. I could not offer a higher recommendation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 9, 2017

I have tried all Michelin 3 stars restaurants in New York. I would say jean- Georges' dishes quality are actually below the average of those 3 stars restaurants. The food is OK, but doesn't show much techni. The ingredients are really normal, nothing special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Eva is the best !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Jean-Georges is an incredibly consistent Michelin three star restaurant. I have dined there well over a score of times over the past several years, and there is essentially never a let-down, cuisine-wise or service-wise, or in any other notable category, really. At this class of restaurant, that is rather extraordinary. Furthermore, Jean-Georges has seasonal tasting menus that demonstrate a beautiful, impressive but comforting proportion of innovation and tradition, reliably reflecting what I as a layman perceive as a mastery of classical elements of balance and harmony. Epicurian paradise.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Seasonal, Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, People Watching, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Yorkshire)·Dined on September 8, 2017

All food tastes not bad, though no surprises for the 68 dollar lunch menu. The free chocolates tastes surprisingly good. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

期待通りの素敵なレストランでした。NYに初めて旅行。最終日には特別な記憶に残る場所をと思って仲良しのお姉様と一緒に。真っ白な空間そのテーブルにはそれぞれピンク オレンジ等綺麗なお花が飾られていて。料理のメニュー内容が充実でどれも気になりました。絶妙な素材の組み合わせ久々に❗️と思いながら最後のデザート(チョコレート最高)までかなりの満足感でいっぱい。本当に美味しい料理ありがとうございました😊

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

That was a very good diner. I would certainly return. There are a dress code for the gentlemen.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 6, 2017

Excellent food with a great wine paring option. You won't leave hungry!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Exceptional experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

World class in every way

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 3, 2017

The food was below our expectations for the prices but the service staff and ambiance was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 3, 2017

This is my second time at Jean-George. It lives up to its Michelin 3-star rating. The food is exquisite and servers are well orchestrated, attentive, informative, but not snobby. All of the food is excellent of course, but particularly notable from the current menu is the stone fruit and sour cherry desserts. Sean Considine delivers something with so many taste layers it dances happily in the mouth after every bite. These are the best desserts I have eaten in my life--and I have eaten at many of the world's top restaurants.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 2, 2017

We've dined at every 3-Michelin star restaurant in NYC except for Masa's and I would put JG at the bottom, nothing personal but the food was just underwhelming. Service was okay but the restaurant was very noisy -- so I get it that it has to serve a lot of people but Le Bernardin and for sure 11 Madison and Per Se do a much better job at spacing the tables and keeping one comfy. We had the Summer Tasting Menu from the corn fritter amuse bouche to the cherry dessert made with foam, ice cream and macarons. The viands (fish and lamb) were good but not to a caliber of a 3-Michelin Star restaurant. The best of the list was the corn ravioli smothered in this bright green basil butter and cherry tomatoes. But the rest were so-so. Time to go back to Gotham or Gramercy without all the hype.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Of course, this is a top flight restaurant. The food is beautifully prepared, the service is impeccable, and the wine list is out of this world. Naturally,what accompanies this array of superlatives is a price tag that is astronomical. We were treated to this meal so we were not troubled, but a 6 person meal could easily run to $3000, depending on your wine and food choices. Virtually every dish was cooked beautifully and combined a roch array of herbal and spice tastes. I thought the scallops were a bit salty but otherwise was delighted by each of the dishes. One of the biggest downside was the noise. This is a small dining room and until it cleared out a bit we were shouting at each other for most of the meal. That aside, it was a memorable experience, I do not have any meat but ate several different seafood dishes and was please buy all of them. Desserts and the other additional nipples as well as the breads were also outstanding.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Food was excellent as was the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Wanted to try one of Manhattan's Michelin star places and went for one of the top ones here that was available at around 1 month's notice. The food, decor, atmosphere, wine, service were impeccable. We had the seasonal tasting menu and wine pairing, both super and top quality. The wines in the pairing list were exceptional and worth the money. The staff relocated us to another table at our request due to some discomfort with a neighboring table, but the way they dealt with it all round including the other table was just immaculate and shows the true value of trading your restaurant staff well. Everyone should do it! We will be back and will recommend this place.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Oyster and sea bass were really tasting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 30, 2017

Went there to celebrate our wedding anniversary, Ewa our waitress was outstanding, explained every dish with such accuracy, the food was beyond outstanding, the atmosphere was great.
We were given a chocolate mousse cake divinely decorated with gold leafs which made our experience even more great.

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 29, 2017

A beautiful dining experience with the lunch 2 course option. Amazing service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 28, 2017

very good really like it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 27, 2017

excellent service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Not worth for Michelin three stars
The summer tasting menus are mostly spicy and not impressive

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 25, 2017

It's a beautiful restaurant and service was great. Food was fine but not as impressive as my previous experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Everything was fantastic! The server was a little over zealous with offering bread - but no harm there. Otherwise - all round wonderful experience as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Excellent service and wonderful food as ever. Highly recommend for very special occasions

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 22, 2017

It's good, but not excepcional! Very expansive . Good for celebrating special ocasions .

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Date with the x wife. Had the tasting menu. What a incredible meal. The caviar egg, shrimp salad, frogs legs and on and on champagne, white burgundy, red burgundy, incredible cheese trolley with Sauternes then dessert. A 5 hour epic marathon. A meal I will not soon forget. I also will not forget the bill with tip over $1300 dollars but it was fantastic the food the service the atmosphere. It just doesn't get any better. Thank you Jean Georges for a incredible dining experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Exquisite food. Wonderful and friendly food. Exceptionally knowledgeable service staff.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Cozy, Casual, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Kid-friendly, People Watching, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 20, 2017

The venue is gorgeous.
There were three of us and The main courses were all over salted.
Service, as usual, was impeccable. The staff is well trained and it remains an outstanding dining experience. We have dined here multiple times and we both felt a bit disappointed with the dishes on this occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

The occasion was reunion with a friend from my home country whom I haven't seen in a year. We tried the seven course Jean-George menu and the summer menu. Pretty good food, worth the cost. The environment and service were both very nice as well. Every single dish was quite tasty, however, nothing was a real surprise.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Excellent food! Wonderful experience in NY

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.