Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About Jean Georges

Jean-Georges opened in 1997 to critical acclaim. The jewel of Chef Jean-Georges Vongerichten’s empire, the restaurant offers the very best in fine dining. Consistently awarded four stars by the New York Times and three Michelin stars, Jean-Georges presents exquisitely crafted dishes blending French, American, and Asian influences. Chef Jean-Georges is a master at maintaining the essence of ingredients while using them inventively to produce the best flavor. Jean-Georges’ chic and intimate dining room was redesigned by Thomas Juul-Hansen, with striking lighting by L’Observatoire. Impeccable service, tableside preparations, and floor-to-ceiling windows with stunning views of Central Park and Columbus Circle all contribute to an unforgettable dining experience. Jean-Georges offers a three-course prix-fixe menu and two six-course tasting menus: a traditional tasting of the chef’s signature dishes, and a seasonal tasting featuring fresh market ingredients.

1 Central Park West
New York, NY 10023
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday 11:45am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday, 5:30pm - 11pm, Friday, Saturday 5:00pm-11:00pm Sunday 5:30pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
60th and 61st Streets

Dress Code:
Jacket Required

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 299-3900

Website:
http://www.jean-georgesrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Private Party Facilities: Jean Georges can accommodate parties of up to 30 guests in the Boardroom Suite, located on the third floor of the Trump International hotel. The main dining room is also available for private breakfast events Monday-Friday up until 11am for groups of 20-75 guests.

Private Party Contact: Farah Abad, 212-358-0688 x28 or fabad@jean-georges.com

Parking Details:
Located at 61st Street between Central Park West and Broadway is a public parking garage available for use.

Public Transit:
A C, B, D, or 1 line to 59th Street Columbus Circle.

Executive Chef:
Jean-Georges Vongerichten

Additional:
Full Bar, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
http://www.jean-georges.com/events/special-events/

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Jean–Georges' flagship offers the best in fine dining. Awarded 4 stars by The New York Times and 3 Michelin stars, it features an exquisitely crafted menu blending French, American and Asian influences; the impeccable service, and views of Central Park make for an unforgettable dining experience.

Jean Georges Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (98)
Tasting Menu (90)
Creative Cuisine (88)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (87)
Good for a Date (78)
Romantic (77)
Notable Wine List (63)
Fit for Foodies (61)
Quiet Conversation (54)
Good for Birthdays (44)
Business Meals (43)
Modern Decor (42)
Great for Lunch (40)
Worth the Drive (24)
Cozy (23)
Scenic View (18)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Seasonal (18)
People Watching (16)
Hot Spot (16)
Authentic (14)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Good for Groups (10)
Great for Brunch (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Outstanding Value (7)
Healthy (7)
Fun (7)
Historic (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Spicy (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Family Style (4)
Organic (4)
Private Room (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Tapas (1)
Casual (1)
Vegan (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
5125 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Superb, exquisite and flavorful. Imagined this meal for years and they exceeded it. Service, food and ambiance are perfect. Thank you.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Excellent dining experience and the spring lunch tasting menu was wonderful. Favourite course was the sea bass... very flavourful and tender and seasoned perfectly.
Always a wonderful time at Jean George.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Very good service and the food was superb! Book it for a special occasion and since the dessert was included in the menu, the price was ok for a three star restaurant!

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

I took my girlfriend to Jean-Georges as our last date out before we moved to San Francisco. I also planned a proposal afterward in the Conservatory Gardens. The experience from beginning to end was excellent. The staff was inviting and well-trained. The service was like a show, extremely attentive to every detail. The different courses were beautiful and simply delicious. This was an unforgettable experience at Jean-Georges.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Went there during a business trip with my husband as one of the three restaurants we have booked to celebrate my birthday. Food was fantastic, very good value. We were stuffed and had to take the dessert to go. Staffs were very friendly too. All in all very pleasant experience.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

The sea bass and scallops were excellent but the foie gras brulee was overly complicated (leave the dehydrated pineapple bits out!). The sweetbreads dish was confusing and the sirloin was mediocre. The chocolate theme dessert didn't need to be that conflated, and the strawberry theme dessert was too juvenile/kiddie for our tastes (but my 14-year old niece loved it). Kudos to brilliant service all around!

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

We took some friends for a 50th birthday celebration and the food, service, and ambience could not have been better. We all had the "Spring" tasting menu and each course could have been a meal by itself. The caviar with soft egg, the asparagus, etc. were all fabulous. Sadly, we could not eat all of the deserts.... not enough room!

Tags: Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (München)·Dined 7 days ago

Das Jean Georges ist eines von wenigen 3*** Lokalen in New York. Es liegt direkt am Central Park. Das Menue kostet zwar 148 Dollar, umfasst aber insgesamt 8 hervorragende Speisen. Ein Highlight fuer besondere Momente.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

We have five plates tasting lunch menu. We just love it, very much. Food is fabulous. Although we were so full but still clear every plates cuz it's just so delicious that we can't stop. Worth the price. Must try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Wouldn't have changed a thing. Amazing food and service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 21, 2017

The service was terribly impatient and you got the feeling that the next guest is already waiting to take your seat.
Food was excellent

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 20, 2017

the food is all right, but it is not the top quality as a top restaurant. If u want to try something that is top quality, don't go. U will feel sad.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 20, 2017

I have been to Jean Georges many times. It remains one of my favorite restaurants. The food is excellent as is the service. I like that it is quiet with lots of light. It was a really enjoyable lunch.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Excellent restaurant for a special occasion or for the tourist who wishes to be extravagant. Creative cuisine, outstanding quality and impeccable service.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (London)·Dined on May 20, 2017

All dishes were well presented and delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Experience was amazing. Went for an anniversary trip to NYC. Eating here was one of our highlights before seeing a show. Service was excellent and food fabulous. Expensive but worth it

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Excelent meal and environment. Recommend for every occasion.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Wonderful lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Honestly, food did not match my expectation. Service was good. However, there was rude server in the beginning that started us off on the wrong track. He came over and told us that we needed to order fast because there was another reservation for our table in 2 hours. While we understand that there are later reservations, the server should have informed us politely instead of telling us in an apparently condescending voice. It was rude, unexpected, and not what we expected from a restaurant as well-renowed as Jean Georges.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Afternoon Tea, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Graduation dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Great place for any occasion. Great food choices and options.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Good service with friendly staff. Nice place that surpassed our expectations. Most folk think they need to eat after visiting a Michelin star restaurant as they will still be hungry, but this place did leave you full with a cacophony of wonderful, first-time tastes.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Excellent presentation, service and ambiance. Only disappointment was the salt in our appetizers, way too much.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Bon repas mais d'un niveau 2 étoiles et pas 3 étoiles. Trop de détails ont étés problématiques: température de la salle trop froide (j'en ai fait 2 fois la remarque pendant le repas), présentation des plats peu créative et originale, service du vin seulement après le début du repas, cadre (décoration de la salle) soigné mais ordinaire. Le service était très attentionné, et la nourriture très bonne et même parfois exceptionnelle, mais on attend l'exceptionnel pendant tout le repas et à tous les niveaux quand on annonce 3 étoiles et qu'on en fait payer le prix...

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Took my parents here for Mother's Day and everyone loved it. My only complaints were that my seat was a little tight, although I am a large fella so it is probably only an issue for me, and it was a little more casual than I had expected. The casualness, however, actually cut both ways for me because all of the servers were very nice and did not have the pretentious nature that some servers possess in other high-end restaurants.

Having said all of that, the food and service were absolutely outstanding. My drink was never empty for longer than a few seconds, if that, and the presentation of the food was terrific. The food itself was outstanding and the portions much larger than I had anticipated; my mother ordered salmon for her second course and it was a meal sized portion of salmon, which I found surprising. Similarly, my foie gras was not only outstanding, it was paired with mango (which I don't love) and the two complemented one another very well, but also plentiful.

I would probably recommend going on a weeknight just because the surrounding area gets hectic and is full of tourists. Otherwise, I would absolutely recommend checking this place out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (London)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Went for mother's day the service was very good and attentive. The value for the food was disproportionate. We had an egg with caviar/ pea soup/and lobster with ravioli. The food was okay not in the least bit great nor did it live up to hype.
The total bill with tip for two people drinking water: 600.00
One of those moments you really feel cheated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Impeccable service; great dining experience for special occasion. Food is good; high windows and ceilings make it feel airy in the dining hall. Although a few too many tables crammed in the space; attention to detail must be applauded. Have dined here several times, and will definitely go back, in particular for lunch with views. Overall great experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (London)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Superb once again. Excellent food with exemplary service. I couldnt fault any part of it. The amouse bouches were excellent, portions ample for this type of restaurant and friendly service.

I always visit when in NYC and will be back again next time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Always a good choice for lunch, late after museum visits, quite ambiance, quick service. Food is excellent with seasonal ingredients.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Cozy, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 10, 2017

One of the best meals ever, made our occasion better. we will come again, thank you!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 9, 2017

food is very good, service is also good. we went to Jean-Georges to celebrate our anniversary and we were been taken to a very private booth. however, around 8pm it's getting little noisy and people are talking loud, maybe because tables are too close to each other.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Food delicious and creative, service is thoughtful. Ambiance is a little less, not as private.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 9, 2017

My birthday lunch and it was fabulous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Expensive but worth every penny. All-in cost for 2 was $437. Nice location with a vibrant and interesting crowd.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great experience and will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

This is a favorite restaurant of my wife and myself. Try to have lunch or dinner at least once a year. The service is great and the food is always interesting.
Their lunch menu consists of a first course and then the main course, with a few extra surprises.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

It's better than I remembered!
Everything was perfect; the wait staff, food presentation, creativity,
and most importantly great taste‼️

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The tasting menu is as not the best I've tasted.
Over hyped.
Per Se is far better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Monaco)·Dined on May 6, 2017

It was a bit disappointing. We were seated at a table for six persons, although we were only four. This meant that two of us could not converse with each other. The remedy was to move everyone closer to one side, which did not help. The only option was to wait 30 to 40 minutes for another table, which we did not want to do. The food was great, but the evening was not. Two of us were essentially excluded from conversation with each other. It was not what I have come to expect in a three star restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Jean-Georges is a very good restaurant but my expectation is a tad higher than 'very good'.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.