About Jean Georges

1 Central Park West
New York, NY 10023
View Larger Map

Jean-Georges opened in 1997 to critical acclaim. The jewel of Chef Jean-Georges Vongerichten’s empire, the restaurant offers the very best in fine dining. Consistently awarded four stars by the New York Times and three Michelin stars, Jean-Georges presents exquisitely crafted dishes blending French, American, and Asian influences. Chef Jean-Georges is a master at maintaining the essence of ingredients while using them inventively to produce the best flavor. Jean-Georges’ chic and intimate dining room was redesigned by Thomas Juul-Hansen, with striking lighting by L’Observatoire. Impeccable service, tableside preparations, and floor-to-ceiling windows with stunning views of Central Park and Columbus Circle all contribute to an unforgettable dining experience. Jean-Georges offers a three-course prix-fixe menu and two six-course tasting menus: a traditional tasting of the chef’s signature dishes, and a seasonal tasting featuring fresh market ingredients.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday 11:45am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday, 5:30pm - 11pm, Friday, Saturday 5:00pm-11:00pm Sunday 5:30pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
60th and 61st Streets

Dress Code:
Jacket Required

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 299-3900

Website:
http://www.jean-georgesrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Private Party Facilities: Jean Georges can accommodate parties of up to 30 guests in the Boardroom Suite, located on the third floor of the Trump International hotel. The main dining room is also available for private breakfast events Monday-Friday up until 11am for groups of 20-75 guests.

Private Party Contact: Farah Abad, 212-358-0688 x28 or fabad@jean-georges.com

Public Transit:
A C, B, D, or 1 line to 59th Street Columbus Circle.

Executive Chef:
Jean-Georges Vongerichten

Additional:
Full Bar, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
http://www.jean-georges.com/events/special-events/

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Jean–Georges' flagship offers the best in fine dining. Awarded 4 stars by The New York Times and 3 Michelin stars, it features an exquisitely crafted menu blending French, American and Asian influences; the impeccable service, and views of Central Park make for an unforgettable dining experience.

Jean Georges Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (126)
Creative Cuisine (91)
Good for Anniversaries (90)
See All
Tasting Menu (85)
Fit for Foodies (83)
Good for a Date (79)
Romantic (77)
Notable Wine List (58)
Quiet Conversation (52)
Good for Birthdays (48)
Business Meals (47)
Modern Decor (43)
Great for Lunch (41)
Worth the Drive (29)
Authentic (25)
Scenic View (22)
Pre/post Theatre (22)
People Watching (20)
Seasonal (19)
Cozy (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Molecular Gastronomy (13)
Hot Spot (12)
Healthy (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Fun (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Casual (3)
Private Room (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Organic (3)
Vegan (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Historic (2)
Family Style (2)
Dancing (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Waterfront (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
4946 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Superlative in every way! Each course wa ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 2 days ago

Superlative in every way! Each course was a revelation of brilliant creativity, skill in preparation, and quality of ingredients. The service was attentive but not clingy. This was a meal to remember 😂

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Es muy acogedor, la comida es muy buena ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined 3 days ago

Es muy acogedor, la comida es muy buena y el servicio excelente

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Manhattan's outstanding restaurant. Bril ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Manhattan's outstanding restaurant. Brilliant cooking. Deserves all the accolades it receives.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was very disappointed with the meal la ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

I was very disappointed with the meal last night. As a frequent guest at Nougatine, we decided to book Jean Georges for my husband's birthday and ordered the winter tasting menu. The food was mediocre at best- nothing was flavorful and memorable as most of the dishes are in Nougatine. The only course that was perfection was the dessert but otherwise, it was bland, tasteless and uninspired. For the exorbitant cost of this meal for 4 people, we expected more. I did not see Chef Jean Georges there last night which may be the explanation but it was a very disappointing evening and I truly hope just an off night for the kitchen.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

We enjoyed one of the Chef's tasting men ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

We enjoyed one of the Chef's tasting menus with wine pairings. The service was excellent and the food superb. The wine pairings were spot on. While very pricey, my wife and I both thought it was worth it.

Tags: People Watching, Romantic, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Took my 13 year old son here for a mothe ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Took my 13 year old son here for a mother son date. He (and I) loved every minute and every morsel. The perfect night!! And awesome to meet Jean Georges himself. Our service was perfection!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From start to finish the food and wine l ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

From start to finish the food and wine list was fabulous. The complimentary chocolates were the cherry on top.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

I cannot say enough about Caroline and t ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I cannot say enough about Caroline and the staff at Jean George. My husband and I went using a gift card we received for our wedding a few years ago. We normally would not have such an extravagant meal, but it was so amazing and worth it. As expensive as it was, it was actually a fantastic deal for the amount and quality of the food we had. I made a poor meal choice and Caroline was so quick to notice my dislike and offered me another meal. I refused but she then brought has an extra dessert (which we didn't need with the amount of dessert already on our table) but it was so nice of her. The staff was so seamless and amazing. I cannot say enough good things about our experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have to admit, I was a bit disappointe ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 13, 2017

I have to admit, I was a bit disappointed. It didn't live up to the reviews or the reputation.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Jean George delivers consistently some o ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Jean George delivers consistently some of the best food in the city, if not the very best (according to my husband who was my fellow diner). The ambiance is lovely and the staff are attentive without being overbearing. They are definitely not resting on their laurels and are presenting the best on a consistent basis. Would definitely recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Two years had passed since our last visi ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Two years had passed since our last visit to Jean Georges and all of our expectations were met and exceded. Service is attentive without being overbearing and of course the food was fresh with new options a few standard bearers that are always outstanding.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our experience was as good as it gets. T ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Our experience was as good as it gets. The level of service is absolutely amazing. They somehow have an army of servers that are perfectly trained that attend to every detail without being overbearing. They make everything perfect without interrupting the flow of the evening. The food is Uber creative and exceptional. It was truly one of the great meals we have ever had. In the interest of full disclosure, we had dinner here about 18 months ago and the service was exceptional, but the food was really not. It was by all means very good, but not up to par for a top tier restaurant. I am glad we gave it another shot, because it was special.

My rating on the value was not meant to be mean sprited or to impute the quality of the evening, it is just hard for me to frame a final check like that as a "value". That being said, it was no more expensive then The other top tier New York restaurants.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was absolutely stupendous and t ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food was absolutely stupendous and the service was excellent. We had the opera immediately following and they were very careful to time everything perfectly so we could make it there without any stress. It was a lovely special occasion meal.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was amazing! The presentatio ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The service was amazing! The presentation of the food was also delightful alongside some delicious cocktails. The layers of flavorswere intriguing but at times overpowering. Great embiance for a date but also an upscale atmosphere to enjoy the company of business partners.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great, great, great!

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Great, great, great!

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For a Michelin 3 star the food was just ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 10, 2017

For a Michelin 3 star the food was just as good as expected. Good wine list too. In restaurants like these, it's the small things that matter. Jean-George did a really nice job!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Service was good. but the food was okay. ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Service was good. but the food was okay. I tried the veal which was a bit too salty and made it hard to swallow and the sauce for the sea urchin overpowered the taste of it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

We were there for Restaurant Week...a wo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 8, 2017

We were there for Restaurant Week...a wonderful experience. Plan to go back for the regular menu at some other time.

Tags: Bar Seating, People Watching, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Spectacular food and ambiance; service w ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Spectacular food and ambiance; service was good except the presentation of the wait staff could be improved.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I went there for my wife's birthday. The ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I went there for my wife's birthday. The quality of food and service was excellent. Maybe because of Super Bowl, the restaurant was not full and the waiters were able to spend enough time with customers. They paid full attention to our needs and explained about each dish. I usually order a lot of bread when I go to fancy restaurants like this restaurant because of their tiny portion of food, but I should not have done that here because I was very full at the end of the meal. I saw a lot of Japanese influence in the menu and I liked that. The price seemed steep but it was worth it. The restaurant is wheelchair accessible. Everything is on one floor and no stairs to go to the bathroom. There is a small manual-operated elevator on the north side of the hotel. Except the name of the hotel the restaurant is in, the place is excellent.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambience was unexceptional--the stai ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The ambience was unexceptional--the stained carpet was surprising-- but the food was superb. The silky, subtle chicken curry soup should be a starter. The other dishes--and we tried the salmon, sweetbreads, and the veal as main courses melted in our mouths in puddles of sheer pleasure--all with exquisite flavours. The starters were delicious but the portions were smaller than bird-like (the foie gras was stunningly presented but it could have been a tad more substantial. The sweet confections that came at the end were a delectable flourish.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Really good experience! Comfortable seat ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Really good experience! Comfortable seats, great atmosphere and food was awesome.

Tags: Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was perfect. Awesome service ...

 
 (London)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Everything was perfect. Awesome service with detailed explanations. I strongly recommend my friends this restaurant especially for special occasion. Thank you again!

Tags: Cozy, Tasting Menu, , Modern Decor, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and great service. Truffle ic ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great food and great service. Truffle ice cream was out of this world.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

There are two separate spaces. We were g ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 31, 2017

There are two separate spaces. We were guided to the inside one. Beautiful view. Lovely and careful service. Great dishes, a little bit salty as well. They didn't care about dress code, some people didn't wear jacket.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a beautiful dinner there with sup ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 31, 2017

We had a beautiful dinner there with superb professional service. The tasting menu was memorable and it's an exquisite room. Wish it weren't in a Trump building though. That was the only issue!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First timer here. From food to service, ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2017

First timer here. From food to service, everything played out like an exquisite and beautiful symphony. Never felt out of our element (despite our element usually being takeout and beer) as the staff made us feel genuinely welcome and unembarrassed that we perhaps did not know about wine or the finer details of dining at such a place. The staff were professional but not snobbish, the food special yet classic, the atmosphere formal but calming. Hell, even the bathrooms were awesome. Will certainly be back!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic! Maybe the best meal and servi ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Fantastic! Maybe the best meal and service I have ever had!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing Place ! Amazing Food !! But @ 20 ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Amazing Place ! Amazing Food !! But @ 2017 request a Formal Dress Code I believe it's unusual.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food is not that good neither the se ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The food is not that good neither the service. Doesn't fit for its 3-star reputation.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

This is our third time to Jean Georges a ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

This is our third time to Jean Georges and we are not disappointed. The menu has some innovations to our delight and service and surrounding are great as expected. Dishes are sophisticated that draw a good balance that please our palate, and additional touch for our anniversary was certainly appreciated. Keep up your good work and we will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We elected to go with the tasting menu o ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We elected to go with the tasting menu on our visit. The food was bold yet balanced. There were some hits and misses but this happens at any restaurant. A chef should be willing to take bold strokes in their tasting menu to provide unique experiences.

My wife was delighted with the non alcoholic cocktail choices as well as the inclusion of new territory wines like a quirky South African vineyard.

If you opt for the lunch menu, it becomes quite affordable for a 3 star restaurant. I would recommend this to most friends who are looking for a fantastic meal, but aren't looking to break the bank or their belts.

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was my daughters birthday and althoug ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 27, 2017

It was my daughters birthday and although they had no prior warning the staff presented her with a small cake. This added to a memorable birthday experience. The food was a bit pricy and I got a bit confused and thought one of the courses was a part of the prix fix package. That mistake cost me an extra $100.00. The staff was extremely friendly and knowledgeable.

Tags: Healthy, Vegan, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The foods hit high points throughout the ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 27, 2017

The foods hit high points throughout the meal, service was superb, extensive wine list!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I must for anyone wishing to experience ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 25, 2017

I must for anyone wishing to experience the most unique presentations and tasting experiences

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have a bucket list of fine dining and ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 25, 2017

We have a bucket list of fine dining and Jean-George's was on the list. Service was impeccable , dishes were very creative with excellent presentation. We would definitely recommend this establishment for foodies!

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service, as always

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Excellent service, as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have been on a gastronomic adventure ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We have been on a gastronomic adventure in New York City, NY. We escaped the Inauguration festivities in Washington, DC to visit NYC for our 40th Anniversary. We chose multiple Michelin Guide rated one, two, and three star * restaurants over the last several days!

We loved Jean Georges. We found that it is a delightful, upscale restaurant serving true gourmet food in Manhattan. The service was exquisite (Leigh or Lee-female), the wine-pairing (Rory was serving) was excellent, and the food was superb. We enjoyed the Jean George multiple course tasting menu! It is very "French." The ambience is almost "Spartan" with the exception of your beautiful flower arrangement. Also, our semi-circular table was romantic.

We thought that the turbot, lobster, and squab. Also, the wine pairing complemented the meal, perfectly. We were so satisfied toward the completion of the meal that we could not totally savor the dessert course...

So, overall it was magnificent. Great food, great wine, great service...a winning formula for an excellent dinner.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Jean Georges is one of the world's most ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Jean Georges is one of the world's most renowned restaurants and deservedly so! From the warm

greetings on arrival to the sincerely gracious service through our meal, my wife and I felt truly welcome. The food is exquisite: uniquely and creatively tasteful, spectacularly attractive and perfectly paced and presented. Not food theater, it is the epitome of fine dining.

It is impossible to overstate what a satisfying culinary experience eating at Jean Georges is!

Tags: Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We definitely noticed a change in qualit ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We definitely noticed a change in quality since our last visit. Food really was just ok compared to excellent previously. Wine list prices have really become unreasonable often at 5x retail prices. Some had the sirloin at a $25 supplement to prix fixe menu and very average and very small portion. Desserts which used to be a presentation of 4 beautifully prepared and presented plate now just one plate with mosh mash of ingredients. Overall evening was pleasant but not up to prior standards.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.