About Jean Farris Winery & Bistro

6825 Old Richmond Road
Lexington, KY 40515
View Larger Map

From its inception, Jean Farris has embraced our families’ history in agriculture, and, our passion for fine cuisine. With us, wine is best when sharing a table with good friends and good food.

Here on the estate we grow our own fruits, vegetables, herbs, eggs, and honey to use in the winery and in the kitchen. We serve our farm products with the wine, beer, and spirits that speak of our region. To us "Home-made" is a practice not a philosophy. With that our menu changes several times a year, reflecting the seasons. Staying in time and in touch with the cycles of seasons and what is naturally available to us.

We look forward to having you joining us at our table and sharing a night at Jean Farris.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steak, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Hours of Operation:
Wine Bar: Tuesday - Sunday: 12:00pm - close
Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(859) 263-9463

Website:
http://www.jeanfarris.com/

Parking Details:
As you enter the property, you drive through the front vineyards of Cabernet Sauvignon and Viognier. All of the parking is close to the building in the private lot. Handicapped parking is offered with easy access to the front door. There is limited overflow parking available.

Private Party Facilities:
Our small private Alcove room will sit a group of 8 to 12 and is equipped with a TV monitor ready for showing presentations to the group. Our large private Vineyard Sunroom overlooks the vineyards with an amazing view. It is fully enclosed and climate controlled for up to 80 guests, available for booking through-out the year. During the April-October period the outdoor patio is also available for booking. This space will accommodate 40 guest and can be reserved with the Sunroom or without. Also, it is covered with a large white tent but climate control is not available.

Jean Farris Winery & Bistro as a whole is available for a private party on Monday only.

Private Party Contact:
Jeanie O'Daniel: (859) 263-9463

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Jean Farris Winery & Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (24)
Good for a Date (24)
Romantic (19)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Worth the Drive (18)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Notable Wine List (15)
Cozy (12)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Scenic View (12)
Local Ingredients (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Happy Hour (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Casual (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Private Room (5)
Healthy (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Fun (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Business Meals (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Organic (3)
Seasonal (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
People Watching (2)
Family Style (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Vegan (2)
Authentic (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great Beer (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Fireplace (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
1460 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 2 days ago

We were a group of ten. Half of us got poor to tolerable food. Three scallops on a bed of risotto for 30 dollars! Scallops were hard, barely warm and sandy. Total disaster. For that price you would expect at least properly cooked scallops. Service was slow to non responsive. A complaint was voiced and dismissed with a smirk. Of course, since the tip was mandatory!! (20%). For dessert the bread pudding with bourbon sauce looked and tasted like a brownie with hard caramel. We are not going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Memphis)·Dined 6 days ago

Service was only fair because our server was not very attentive and left our water glasses empty a couple of times. She didn't seem to care whether we liked the food or not. We ordered a taste of sausage and a taste of cheese. The spicy italian sausage was not spicy but terrific. The cheese was good but only a small triangle. Another negative is that they do not allow substitutions for vegetables. The chicken marsala dish was very strong of marsala and even bitter and had no other flavor but the steak bordelaise dish was great. And finally, the bread pudding was amazingly horrible. It was very hard and they forgot the whip cream which wouldn't have helped anyway. We probably overrated the restaurant with a 3.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We enjoy this winery restaurant about 5-6 times a year and have never been disappointed. Menus change and always offer diverse choices. Plenty of room between tables, so not too noisy. Service consistently good, and they don't rush you. In nicer weather, glassed-in patio is a favorite of many. We recommend it to our friends.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food and service was great!

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food was great and the service was above reproach. I will be going again in the near future.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 12, 2017

First time there and I really enjoyed it. Not cheap but worth the occasional visit. The wines there alone are worth making the trip for.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Was excited to try it as it was recommended by a friend from a year or more ago.

Should have known when it seemed easy to get a reservation for the Saturday of Valentines weekend.

Parking lot was full when we arrived and had to park in a muddy field.

We were sat promptly and the attention was quick. Ordered drinks and an app. The scotch egg was good. We ordered salads and dinner. My wife's salad came, mine never did. She said hers was "okay". The meals arrived, and her halibut was cooked well and tasty, but her rice was slathered in a chunky tomato sauce not mentioned in the menu. She hates tomatoes and scrappednit all off. We ordered the Brussels sprouts and they were cold and practically raw. After my dinner was completely finished, the waitress remembered my salad and asked me if I still wanted it.

Overall, a disappointing experience not worth the money paid. We will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I loved my first visit to Jean Farris! The food was outstanding, great cheese tasting and wine flight selections! All and all it was a great venue, good food and very romantic. Great place to take your date.

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Gluten Free Options, Organic, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Romantic, Vegan, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Best Valentine's Day EVER !!! Husband had lobster bisque and I had strawberry salad. Beef Wellington was perfect, so moist and juicy. Dessert was red velvet cake and passion fruit. Exceptional service as always. More quiet than usual since only tables for two, not loud large tables. Perfect in every way. We go here time and time again for special dinner !!

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food was OK but the portions were very small for the cost. The salad, appetizer and the wine was grossly over priced. If you want to raise the price of your average wines (30$ per glass), you shouldn't expect us to pay so much for average food. I wont recommend the winery and I hope I can share my experience with enough people to effect your prices.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 6, 2017

One of our favorites!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The food was great, the service excellent. My duck was tasty and beautifully presented. My companion had short ribs, one of the specials; they were very tender, and nicely flavored. Service was attentive and unobtrusive. Lovely evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Jean Farris is our favorite restaurant in Lexington. The food is always creative and fresh with warm hospitable service and excellent wine. The patio is absolutely the most relaxing place for dinner you will find anywhere.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 27, 2017

The service was outstanding. The Merlot was very good.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The meal was delicious. The size of the mixed drinks for the price was quite small. Lighting was very dim in the main dining area -- insufficient light to read the menu. The parking lot is not lit at all which poses a safety hazard. We almost hit someone who was kneeling on the ground digging something in the pitch dark.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Our food was quite good, but the wine was quite marginal. I would avoid the pinot noir but would consider going back.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Noise level was through the roof! Food was good. Service was adequate but you could tell the servers we pushed to the max because of the crowd.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 13, 2017

One of my favorite places to go. Mussels are always a favorite and my scallops were delicious. So special for our Friday nite date nite!!

Tags: Disabled Access, Romantic, Good for Groups, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Jean Farris is always a treat. We had not been here in a very long while simply due to schedules and being busy. On a cold snowy evening the drive out was enjoyable. When we arrived a dedication in back was underway to celebrate the late husband of the owner. The regulars at the bar informed us that the staff was in back and welcomed us like family thinking we may have to wait. Turned out the bartender and a server were able to quickly seat us -- ensuring we had drinks in hand and appetizers ordered. Charcuterie, onion soup, scotch eggs, fish and duck were on our menu along with their wonderful wine. It was a great meal as expected. Wonderful place to dine no matter the time of year -- spring, summer and fall are always nice on the patio. Look forward to going back.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The beef tenderloin special was chewy and a lot of fat....just not impressed and actually disappointed. The duck egg rolls were good and the Pinot noir was excellent. The waitress never refilled our water once...but it was New Year's Eve, so she gets a pass.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The food was okay, the look and atmosphere of the resturant was okay but the wine was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The food here is always good. Some of the wines ( made there) are better than others, but they will always let you try a sample before ordering .

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The food was great with the preparation perfect. The service was exceptional! Always a great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Starting off with a selection of cheeses and a lovely Jean-Farris wine was a wonderful decision. Perfect service and a warm and comfortable atmosphere ensured our Anniversary Dinner was one to remember. Thank you!

Tags: Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 22, 2016

I have eaten at Jean Farris Bistro many times and will again. Overall, the experience two days ago was more than fine with a few wrinkles that kept it from being truly memorable. The restaurant was not busy on a Wednesday evening, but the service was surprisingly slow. Whether that was deliberate, as in wanting a group to be relaxed, or whether they were disorganized I do not know. Happily, our group was not in a rush and we were able to enjoy the time waiting telling stories and catching up on everyone's lives. The two wines selected, the cabernet franc and the pinot noir were very tasty. The appetizers of cheese and sausages were superb - the home made sausages have always been wonderful, tasty and succulent. Some entrees had missteps. The halibut was a little overcooked making it a touch dry though the blackened seasoning was excellent. The filet mignon was not as tender as was expected. On the other hand the eggplant was a huge success, much raved about by that particular diner. The pork tenderloin (I believe it was a tenderloin) was consumed heartily by those ordering it, and I did not hear any comments one way or another about that dish. I do understand the difficulty of getting everything just right for a party of seven, all food perfectly cooked and done at the same time, and I am only grousing about minor displeasures. As mentioned at the beginning of this review, I will be happy to eat there again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 17, 2016

This was our first visit but certainly not our last. The wine tasting flights were fantastic. The entrees were delicious. The chocolate bread pudding to die for!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We kinda settled on this place due to most restaurants in Lexington being booked already, but did we ever luck into something great. Wines were great, food was really good, we shared a dish ( $4 up-charge, but no biggie ) BD couple that with the appetizer, we had just enough.

Definitely returning in the summer, when we can enjoy the outside experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Other than three bar patrons, we were the only patrons in the restaurant on a quiet Sunday night. We ordered a bottle of wine. It was brought and opened table-side, however the waitress immediately filled all three glasses without offering a taste to the person who ordered. Entrees offered but three GF options, and two of those were beef. The other was chicken, so it was ordered. It was properly prepared, but it was very ordinary. The Brussels sprouts/bacon/bleu cheese side dish contained raw sprouts. An unpleasant surprise. The other diners in our group related similar experiences. Overall, this was a disappointing event.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We had a wonderful meal to celebrate our anniversary. Really enjoyed the assortment on the butchers board. The pasta was perfectly cooked and the lobster sauce was delicious. And you can't go wrong to end the night with chocolate bread pudding! Nice relaxing atmosphere for an un-rushed meal and drinks.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 3, 2016

My wife and I go at least once a year and are always impressed . We enjoy the quiet atmosphere and the food and wine. We cant wait to go again

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Delightful food and service. Well fed and well taken care of.

Couldn't have been nicer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 24, 2016

A good Thanksgiving meal, although the flimsy metal seating was rather uncomfortable.

Tags: Seasonal, Organic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Jean Farris Winery & Bistro has an excellent atmosphere. The food, and the service is amazing!!!!❤ I would highly recommend Jean Farris Winery & Bistro for any occasion.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Organic, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Our small family enjoyed a wonderful Thanksgiving meal, great service and the warm ambiance at Jean Farris.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 13, 2016

It was my birthday and I wanted a romantic dinner with my wife. The atmosphere was great and the food was even better! The duck egg rolls are a must try!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 11, 2016

I'm a red-wine lover, so tried the red flight of four Jean Farris wines. All were excellent, but especially the Cabernet Franc. Food was fresh and delicious.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Especially in the warmer months and longer days, Jean Farris offers a relaxing view of vineyards, its garden and nearby fields. We sat on the porch to savor the sunset. I've visited JF several times. The food is usually excellent, and we've only been disappointed a couple of times. It seems they have a good chef on board now. JF uses many vegetables and herbs from their own garden along with many Kentucky products. We took relatives for a special night out and started with cocktails and the Cheese Board. Our cocktails were excellent, although one of the craft cocktails on the menu was no longer available. One of us had a tasty and pretty-too-look-at Cosmo. I had an Old-fashioned, made with the Single-barrel Four Roses. It was delicious oh, so smooth. I didn't see any cherries, but an orange peel floated in the glass. My experience is that JF's wines can vary in quality from year to year. I've had some that were amazing and others that were not drinkable. I'd recommend a tasting, as that way you can decide which suit your particular taste. Unlike many wineries, though, Jean Farris also serves other wines, including a few by the glass. On this night, I selected a glass of Malbec with dinner. We opted out of other appetizers or salads this time, but you can make a meal on those alone. For entrees, two of us had the filet, which was grilled to their liking. Another had the lobster pasta, which was full of chunks of lobster in a rich, creamy sauce, mixed in fresh pasta. I chose the duck breast with sauteed spinach and goat-cheese gnocchi. It was perfectly cooked, with crispy skin and drizzled with raspberry wine sauce. We all cleaned our plates and couldn't manage dessert, though there were many tempting items. Service was excellent! JF offers a wide range of entrees and specials from $21 to $32. Several items are labeled Gluten Free. The chairs on the heated, glassed in porch are not especially comfortable, however. Even so, we'll return!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Presentation of food was excellent, delicious meal. Only complaint the noise level in covered patio.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Cute place. The food was good, but a little pricey. We opted to sit on the enclosed patio, because it sounded nice to be overlooking the vineyard, but I didn't fully consider that the early sunset would basically render us viewless. Ah well, will have to try it when the days are longer, I suppose. Regardless, the "inside" seating has the better ambiance, although the restaurant is a little lacking in that area. Will try it again.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Had a great experience at Jean Farris winery and Bistro. Took my fiancé there for his birthday dinner. We sat outside. They brought us a glass of champagne to toast. The cheese plate was excellent as well as our meals. Very fresh and steaks cooked perfectly.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 28, 2016

The food was excellent. The serving size of the duck breast was small, maybe .5 of the breast. I tried to order an after dinner drink but the staff was too busy trying to locate a clear credit card that had dropped on the floor. I did really enjoy my meal and I would go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 27, 2016

One of the Best places to eat in Lexington KY, the food is prepared with love I think. They serve amazing loose leaf tea.

High end style. Will be back soon.

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Scenic View, Private Room, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Healthy, Bar Seating, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 17, 2016

We dined at Jean Farris this evening and had a lovely time. The entire staff was delightful and attentive. I had the duck eggroll and beet salad and my spouse had the chicken and endive salad. The food was delicious. The chicken was served with mashed potatoes and they were the best we have had in a restaurant. We highly recommend both this restaurant and the Jean Farris wine.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Vegan, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We live right across the river and love your restaurant! Used to be only for special occasions, but now we come often, just to relax. Restful atmosphere and good food.

Tags: Late-night Find, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Food was good. Selections were great and food variety nice. The food could have been hot. It was warm at best my pork chop was tough and over cooked.

The cheese plate was a great experience as was the wine. Can't wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 14, 2016

I had the Halibut which was outstanding! This was fresh - the server said they fillet the fish themselves. I'm sure this must have been Halibut from the Pacific since I prefer it from there. This was better Halibut than what I had the last time we were in Seattle. My wife had the lobster pappardelle which was rich sauce with lots of flavor. We also got the mac&cheese with white truffles. This dish popped with flavor. The truffles distinguished this from any other mac&cheese. White truffles give food a pizzazz unlike anytime else!

The wine is by far the best wine in Kentucky and has won contests in California. We have been wine club members for several years and always happy with such high quality wines.

The new chef is very creative and talented. I can't wait to see what he comes up with next. This is our favorite restaurant in Lexington!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Very impressed by the kitchen's ability to cater to the Gluten-free, garlic-free, onion-free diner in our party of five. The menu features a designated vegetarian entree, as well as vegetarian and/or gluten-free salads and appetizers. The staff are flexible about modifying menu items to make them Vegan. The omnivores in our group were well-pleased with their choices; the New York Strip special, the Filet Mignon, chicken, mussels and duck egg roll all were exceptionally tasty. The service was prompt, attentive and well-coordinated in delivering all of our food simultaneously. Enhancing the experience was a bottle of Jean Farris Merlot, which the wine lover in our group recommended highly. We had a lovely evening and look forward to returning soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We were visiting the Lexington area, and found this place on Open Table. The food was very good, proper temperature- french onion soup could have been hotter. However, the service was mediocre at best, we waited quite a long time between appetizers and dinner.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 8, 2016

First, the wait times were unusually long. Literally waited at every stage; from the reception area to be seated, to the wait to order drinks, to ordering the food and then of course the wait to get the food. We were there two hours in total, which was too long.

The service was okay but they mentioned they had all new kitchen staff and I think it showed throughout the whole process.

My wife tried a dish and it was initially under cooked, which we sent back. It came back and she still didn't like it. I asked if we could have it taken off the check since she hadn't eaten much of it. They would not take it off the check.

My wife then ordered a dessert (a molten Nutella cake). It was literally a few flat chocolate brownies with fudged sauce on it. She had been offered ice cream to accompany it and lessen the richness of it, by the waitress. They of course charged us for the ice cream they offered to help their dessert.

We spent $93 on an underwhelming dinner with poor service. Applebees would have adjusted my check for a bad dish. Don't know that we'll be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Seated in the patio area which really has perhaps the most uncomfortable chairs I sat in and tables that are really too small. After a few minutes of discomfort we asked to be moved to the dining area - and well, you would have thought we had asked to have our entire meal comped. Eventually we were moved. The place was very busy, and service was so slow. Drinks came very late and our server was pretty much not paying attention to us. She might have been overwhelmed with other tables, but not sure. Heard some of the wait staff talking about the kitchen being "in the weeds" and that bled over into the front side of the house were it appeared nothing was going right. No management to help or ever see if things were ok.

Will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.