Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.78mi
  2. Distance: 3.23mi
  3. Distance: 4.52mi
  4. Distance: 4.70mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.78mi
  2. Distance: 3.23mi
  3. Distance: 4.52mi
  4. Distance: 4.70mi

About Jean Farris Winery & Bistro

From its inception, Jean Farris has embraced our families’ history in agriculture, and, our passion for fine cuisine. With us, wine is best when sharing a table with good friends and good food.

Here on the estate we grow our own fruits, vegetables, herbs, eggs, and honey to use in the winery and in the kitchen. We serve our farm products with the wine, beer, and spirits that speak of our region. To us "Home-made" is a practice not a philosophy. With that our menu changes several times a year, reflecting the seasons. Staying in time and in touch with the cycles of seasons and what is naturally available to us.

We look forward to having you joining us at our table and sharing a night at Jean Farris.

6825 Old Richmond Road
Lexington, KY 40515
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steak, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Hours of Operation:
Wine Bar: Tuesday - Sunday: 12:00pm - close
Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(859) 263-9463

Website:
http://www.jeanfarris.com/

Parking Details:
As you enter the property, you drive through the front vineyards of Cabernet Sauvignon and Viognier. All of the parking is close to the building in the private lot. Handicapped parking is offered with easy access to the front door. There is limited overflow parking available.

Private Party Facilities:
Our small private Alcove room will sit a group of 8 to 12 and is equipped with a TV monitor ready for showing presentations to the group. Our large private Vineyard Sunroom overlooks the vineyards with an amazing view. It is fully enclosed and climate controlled for up to 80 guests, available for booking through-out the year. Also, it is covered with a large white tent but climate control is not available.

Jean Farris Winery & Bistro as a whole is available for a private party on Monday only.

Private Party Contact:
Jeanie O'Daniel: (859) 263-9463

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Jean Farris Winery & Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.0

ambience

4.2

value

3.6

noise

Quiet

80% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Scenic View (13)
See All
Special Occasion (13)
Romantic (13)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Good for a Date (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Worth the Drive (9)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Cozy (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Seasonal (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Authentic (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Casual (4)
Organic (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Fun (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Vegan (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Business Meals (1)
Great Beer (1)
Live Music (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1550 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

Lovely outdoor dining with excellent food, wine, and views

Tags: Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Went for dinner and drinks but they were so understaffed we left prior to ordering. Other customers at surrounding tables were complaining about the very long waits and convinced us to go elsewhere. The two women working were trying to seat customers, tend the bar & wait on the tables.

I've had some great meals at JF but they seem to be having some troubles lately.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Love the food. Simple great tasting and local! Please bring back the tomatoes!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Our wine tasting experience was delightful and well presented. My friend had the most delicious bourbon cocktail of her life so that was 5 star worthy. Unfortunately, our dining experience was disappointing. Pork dish was extremely tough, the burger failed to impress. We did complain about the pork but no manager came over to address the issue or offer a remedy.

Tags: Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

Lobster pasta was perfect, plenty of lobster. Only complaint is the duck didn't come with the carrot pot de creme but the dish was good over all. We had the Sophia cheese and duck sage sausage which were wonderful. We come here every year for my birthday and always have a lovely meal- I think this was our 7th or 8th year. Our server was very attentive and even brought a champagne toast which was completely unexpected and really made the night special.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fun, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Enjoyable as always. We started with happy hour cocktails at the bar and ended with a relaxing meal on the patio. The service was professional and the food was excellent. I'm looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

My husband and I came to Jean Farris winery to celebrate our first wedding anniversary. We had a cute little seat on the patio with a view of the scenery and vineyards. My husband had the duck dish and I had the lobster pasta dish, both were delicious ( I think we both like the pasta over the dark though). We had several flights of wine so we could try different kinds. Our server was great and attentive and answered all of her questions. This was not by any means expected, but she did mention getting us a champagne toast since we were celebrating our wedding anniversary however she never did bring that back for us. Overall we had a great experience and will definitely return.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 19, 2017

We love Jean Farris Winery! Our friends from out of town requested a trip here last weekend. It had been quite a while since we had all been there. The ambiance on the patio was superb and the cuisine delightful. However, the staff was frazzled and disorganized. The service at our table was terrible. Would love to go back but only with the assurance that the service has improved.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 17, 2017

We dined on a Thursday night with a reservation and sat on the patio. This was very nice. The cheese board was good. The gluten free pasta was average, but the pork dishes were very good. The waiter was a bit forgetful and asked about dessert while we were still eating the main course. Overall, though, it was a nice experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 17, 2017

We have dined at Jean Farris several times previously but not for about a year. The ambiance has always fallen short the quality of the food -- essentially patio furniture in an enclosed patio with cement floor that creates an echo chamber. But the food has always been good. Not so much last night. Our duck breast was overcooked and I made a bad choice in wine (Hellhound Red that I didn't finish drinking). All in all, a disappointing anniversary dinner. The bright spot was the service; it was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Best experience! Everything was perfect! The lobster pasta was excellent, as was the duck and the wine. Thanks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

The food and service were great. The cost was reasonable and my wife really enjoyed the wine.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Always love this place. Great food and atmosphere. A nice change from the many restaurants within the city itself. The drive into the countryside to get to this lovely restaurant is definitely worth the time (only about a 15 minute drive from most locations in Lexington). This was the first time taking our college-aged children with us to Jean Farris and they were very impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 14, 2017

We enjoyed our dinner at Jean Farris. I've been going there for many years. The food is amazing! The only complaint that I have is that we felt rushed by the server. But we love it there and will continue to go there.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Charcuterie/cheese and wine excellent as always.

Entree so-so.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 1, 2017

We went to Jean Farris for a birthday dinner. The food was good, but the wine from the winery, Pinot Noir 2013 was of unexpectedly poor quality.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Lovely outdoor seating. Casual, yet sophisticated. Perfect for something a little different and special. Plenty of fun wines to chose from and taste. Seasonal and local menu.

Tags: Vegan, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Authentic, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Organic, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 1, 2017

The restaurant and winery are charmingly situated in the Bluegrass countryside and present an altogether pleasing atmosphere for dining. The menu is short but interesting, and much of the produce is from the property, as locally sourced as it gets. Since they promote their own wines, the other selections, especially by the glass, are understandably few. The staff is quite willing to offer tastes of their own blends in order to introduce them and to recommend accompaniments to dinner. They also offer a nice array of house-made cocktails, but we did not try them.

For the second consecutive time, however, the service was erratic and very slow. The server was personable but there were long interludes between the stages of our dinner. It seemed as if the restaurant was unprepared for the number of diners, though reservations are recommended and I was called and emailed to confirm my own reservation.

Outstanding food might have made the waits worthwhile. Two of us ordered the pork chop which was dry and chewy, and one ordered the filet mignon which was served rare rather than medium rare, and was topped with an unappealing sauce. The sauce was not included in the entree's description; many diners consider a topping on a steak an affront and many restaurants allow patrons to make a selection with respect to which, if any, topping they prefer. In each case, the sides were superb and overshadowed the meat.

Despite its merits, and considering its cost, I would recommend another of the many fine restaurants in and around Lexington.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 29, 2017

We had a very nice time at Jean Farris this past week. The food was perfect - we dined with 2 omnivores and 1 gluten free vegan and everyone had a meal they were pleased with. The wine was very tasty - since it was a warm summer evening we tried the Jean Farris Riesling. It might be my new summer favorite beverage.

No matter what your food preferences/allergies are, Jean Farris can more than likely accommodate you with a delicious meal. Adam was doing double duty the other night and did a great job. We'll be back!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Healthy, Disabled Access, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Romantic, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Organic, Sunday Lunch, Vegan, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 29, 2017

The new chef has really made the dinners better. The food quality has increased dramatically from 6 months ago. The hostess and server were very friendly. We got our food in a timely manner and it was delicious.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Disabled Access, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Organic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 25, 2017

We dine here at least twice each summer. Beautiful outside seating, great wine. We ordered wine, cheeses and meats and enjoyed a beautiful evening. Server was friendly and took good care of us. Highly recommended.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 24, 2017

I was a little disappointed. The service was slow and the wines weren't so good. However, the Brussel Sprouts were super delicious.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 23, 2017

This was our fourth time eating at Jean Farris. I made reservations on Open Table noting we would be celebrating a special occasion (anniversary).

Hostess attempted to seat us in the very cold patio with the hard metal chairs. Having previously suffered through this horrible seating arrangement, I asked that we be seated at a table. The hostess graciously agreed as other that 8 people at the bar, we were the only guests at 5pm on Friday night.

Spouse had the ribeye. I had the BLT salad and French Onion Soup. Bread was delivered approximately 3/4 of the way through our meal. Would have been a better dining experience had several things happened:

1). Bread or crackers should be served at the time if the meal

2). Tables are so small and crowded (even before your meal comes) that it is very difficult to eat comfortably. I moved an empty tea glass and a plate holding lemons to the floor so that my soup bowl, salad plate, and bread plate could fit into the narrow table for two.

3). Tables need to be spaced out. They ate too close to those dining beside you making conversation difficult.

4). Waitress should regularly check on tables assuring guests don't have to be delayed in getting drink refills, condiments, etc.

5). Expand Happy Hour offerings. Having only two "specials" on the Happy Hour list is inadequate.

Overall, this was just not a good experience. The soup and salad were good. The steak non-memorable. And the ambiance can be greatly improved if the above issues are addressed.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Always one of our favorites

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Portions were small. Wines were not good. I have been coming to Jean Ferris since its opening and found in the last couple of years it has steadily gone down hill. Wines, food and cost.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 9, 2017

I go to JF quite often for happy hour and have wine with the girls. I have never eaten a meal until Friday 6/9/17. My friend is from NC and thought it would be a great place to go but the food was not good at all. The swordfish and campfire vegetables were over-cooked yet very pricey.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 8, 2017

beautiful location , the entrance to the restaurant univiting glassdoor, not welcoming reception either which is a shame since the food is ambitious and wonderful variety and delicious - lovely outdoors!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value4

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Unbeatable sunset view from the patio! We always enjoy the fresh vegetables and warm service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 27, 2017

I keep wanting this place to be better than it is, I may give up after this most recent experience. Sides are ALWAYS great, in fact- superb. Lobster pasta was unbelievably perfect. Yet the pork chop was charred (burnt) and dry, and service was once again horrific.

For what they charge, these things have to be fixed

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Another outstanding dining experience at Jean Farris. I love the atmosphere, and the food and wine are excellent. I brought 2 friends as a special occasion dinner. Neither of them had been to Jean Farris and they loved it!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 24, 2017

My experience was with a party of nine; wine, local brew and bourbon tastings followed by delicious entree's and desserts. Beautiful views, great service and outstanding food.

Tags: Casual, Tapas, Cozy, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Fantastic view, service, and food! We came for happy hour then stayed for dinner to try a few dishes on the new summer menu. The ahi tuna was perfectly seared presented on a bed of Udon noodles with an Asian flare and the ribeye with twice baked potato was large enough for lunch the next day. I can't wait to go back for more!

Tags: Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Healthy, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Vegan, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Inviting atmosphere with fresh local food. The service was attentive but not overly crowding. Best sunset view around from the outdoor lounge.

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Had a wonderful dinner here on Sunday! The view was great when seated outdoors, the food was excellent, and the wine was some of the best I've had from a Kentucky vineyard. I will definitely be back.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 16, 2017

We have eaten here many times before and the experience was much better. Tonight started out with us being told we didn't have a reservation and they weren't taking walk ins. We DID have a reservation and there were only 3 tables full in the whole restaurant. Then we were told they were "short staffed". It took 30 min to get a drink, they were out of multiple things on the menu (which is limited already), they had no bread for the table and when we did receive our food it was terrible. My chicken was inedible. Very disappointing and we may not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Wine, Cheese, appetizers all very good. Entrée was not good at all. Over cooked, and cold upon arrival. Service was slow at first but got better as the night went on. Would go back for wine and cheese/appetizers. Beautiful view of the vineyard and country side. Will never eat dinner there again.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This restaurant has so much potential, but it seems the quality has inexorably declined since they began selling liquor at their bar within the dining room. They are a winery, yet their wines (pinot noir and Tempest) have gone to vinegar. We bought three bottles of pinot last December and they were all bad. The Tempest we had while dining for Mother's Day was bad. Our service was terrible. The waiter didn't know the blend of grapes in the red wines (that is supposed to be the backbone of their budiness). We arrived at 6:05 and left at 8:50. We had to ask for rolls, and got one each with a dallop of butter. We had to refill our wine glasses ( not that we really wanted more of the wine). The spinach salad was delicious and a nice portion, but the beet salad had paper thin wafers of beets. The person who brought the salads out didn't know what fresh cracked pepper was when asked to add it. We sat for 90 min waiting on our entrees. One was cold with undercooked veggies and one meat was raw on the interior and had to be cooked more. The quality didn't come close to the price, and our appetites were completely ruined when our neighboring table reported hair in their food. Unfortunately, the only thing this establishment can be recommended for is the setting, which is very disappointing when it is so convenient to our home.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value2

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We were there for Mother's day / Birthday and the entire visit from start to finish was a disaster!
It was so bad that we a party of 6 ended up paying for nothing which I did appreciate since we spent nearly 3 hours with problem after problem. I understand that they lost lots of their kitchen staff that weekend which can cause a restaurant to go down in shambles. For years if anyone asked me what my favorite restaurant is in Lexington I would say Jean Farris unfortunately now my opinion has been changed. To me I would have much rather you all have canceled all of your reservations when your staff walked out. I would have been completely let down but would totally have understand and have respected the hard decision. Instead we spent a very upsetting 3 hours on a holiday that should've be enjoyed with my family just waiting to see if we were ever going to get served food besides many other mistakes. Unfortunately because this experience I will not be eating there anytime soon and I know others in my party will never be back. I hope to be able to give it another try one day as it used to be my favorite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great food, awesome hostess, and location peaceful!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Jean Farris has been, for years, one of Lexington's premier restaurants. They were able to provide an environment that was sophisticatedly welcoming with very unique food and beverage offerings. However, on our last couple of visits the experience was mediocre and frankly disappointing. The Mother's Day showing was particularly underwhelming in terms of food, service and professionalism. I used to put Jean Farris in the Lexington big three (JF, Dudley's and Tony's). It no longer belongs in that company.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.