Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.64mi
  2. Distance: 1.66mi
  3. Distance: 1.74mi
  4. Distance: 2.45mi
  1. Distance: 1.64mi
  2. Distance: 1.66mi
  3. Distance: 1.74mi
  4. Distance: 2.45mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.64mi
  2. Distance: 1.66mi
  3. Distance: 1.74mi
  4. Distance: 2.45mi
  1. Distance: 1.64mi
  2. Distance: 1.66mi
  3. Distance: 1.74mi
  4. Distance: 2.45mi

About JB Hooks

"Hooks" as it is affectionately known, and it's friendly staff, strive to make our valued locals feel at home and our tourists feel like locals! We specialize in Steaks, Seafood and offer Happy Hour deals that can't be beat.

Our dining room overlooks a panoramic view of the main channel of the Lake, and offers a relaxing atmosphere to add to your dining experience.
Come by and see us!

2260 Bagnell Dam Blvd
Lake Ozark, MO 65049
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Open Daily

11:00am - 10:00pm


Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(573) 365-3255

Website:
http://www.jbhooks.com/

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, View, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

JB Hooks Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (93)
Waterfront (87)
Special Occasion (74)
See All
Good for a Date (72)
Good for Anniversaries (61)
Romantic (47)
Good for Birthdays (40)
Good for Groups (37)
Worth the Drive (36)
Great for Outdoor Dining (33)
Casual (29)
Happy Hour (27)
Business Meals (24)
Bar Seating (23)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Hot Spot (20)
Live Music (19)
Fun (18)
Authentic (17)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Vibrant Bar Scene (17)
Notable Wine List (16)
Great for Lunch (14)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
People Watching (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Cozy (11)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Seasonal (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Great Beer (3)
Tapas (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
699 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Upon arrival we went to the bar to have a drink while waiting for our table and the bartender appeared to be annoyed to serve us a drink. When asking for a drink menu it was thrown at us. The drinks tasted aweful and lacked alcohol. It is difficult to mess up a double rum and coke but was accomplished by our bartender. Once being sat at the table the first question to our server was if the prime rib was available she responded with a absolutely. We only came to have the prime rib otherwise we would have left after the cold reception by the bartender. We proceeded to order the appetizers and the prime rib for the entrees with no issues. It wasn't until after the appetizers and salads arrived that we were notified by the server that they had run out of the prime rib. How can half the meal be over and the chef/server then inform the table that the prime rib is 86. I have worked in restaurants for many years and have never been treated so badly by a bartender and have my order run out when it should have been on it's way to the table. Not even a drink or dessert was offered after they informed us they didn't have our order. We did not enjoy the entrees and quickly paid and forfeited desert based on the lack luster food and service. I am shocked this restaurant has a top rating it was a complete let down to everyone at our table.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

Food was good but didn't make up for slow service, overpriced menu, and an extremely loud dining room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Service was, Atmosphere was amazing and the Owner even came out and checked on us!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Our waiter was amazing and the food was exceptional. The timing of the meal could not have been better and the waiter had asked us if the dinner was a special occasion - which it was, a 30th service anniversary for one of my employees. The waiter at the end of dinner brought (with no special request from me) a cheesecake with the plate decorated specially that said (Happy 30th Workaversary!)....very thoughtful!!

Tags: Fun, Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Waterfront, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Great night out with friends. We all enjoyed our food and the drinks we were served.

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

We had reservations for my husband's birthday. We chose 7pm so that we could enjoy the sunset. We were finally seated around 7:30 just after sunset. I was very disappointed.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 14, 2017

We had a wonderful dining experience. Starting with happy hour in the lounge we enjoyed 1/2 price apps. Our server, Tabitha, made us feel welcome and special. She went out of her way to helps get seated for dinner before our reservation time. Can't say enough for Jake, our waiter. He did a great job making our evening special. I recommend that customers ask for Jake. The food was wonderful.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

Our experience at JB Hooks was perfect from start to finish. Our waiter, Anthony was the best. The food was excellent. Very impressed with the salad. I would highly recommend the restaurant to anyone who wants a great view and a good meal with top notch service. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Good food, plenty of space, that ks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

We went for my birthday and our server Johnny was excellent! We got a table by the window with the fabulous lake view. Service could not have been better. Each course arrived on time without being rushed. He was very welcoming and friendly. When I told him it was my birthday we received a complimentary delicious piece of white chocolate raspberry cheesecake to share, which was just right after finishing our meal. Wonderful place to go for a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

We were seated in a room in the restaurant that was very dark and extremely loud!
We did ask our server about turning the lights up a bit and he did oblige. But the room was so loud that we could not carry on a conversation because we could not hear the other people in our group of 7. The food was nothing special. A medium rare steak was overcooked and inedible. That item was removed from our bill...which was appreciated. We did have a very good server...Jake. He was very helpful. Probably would not come back....except for maybe Happy Hour in the bar area.

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Great view of the Lake but that's all. For the price, food was average at best w/ no chef creativity or uniqueness. My wife's dish was supposed to have a cream sauce w/ mushrooms, artichokes & fresh basil. The ONLY thing it had was 1 mushroom in the sauce. It was garnished w/ a wilted piece of lettuce. The place was very loud & very overpriced.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

It was my wife's birthday, she had the 1 lb lobster tail of which she had no idea how big a 1 lb lobster tail is and could only eat about half and I had to help with the rest. I had the 6oz filet and 4 coconut shrimp, we had a wonderful meal, the food was delicious. Then the server brought my wife a little birthday cake ala mode with a candle, nice touch thank you JB Hooks.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Server created sweet tea which isn't normally served--creative and attentive. Too bad there's always smoke drifting out from the bar.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Casual, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Excellent food with great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 6, 2017

Great place to dine!! Always have had a great meal and good service!! A must place to dine when we visit the Ozarks!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Waterfront, People Watching, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 5, 2017

JAKE our waiter was awesome!! We always request Jake when we dine at JB Hooks! Jake is so pleasant and entertaining! He brings a lot to the table!
The food was out standing... from start to finish! We all enjoyed our scallops, filets, lobster, calamari, shrimp cocktail and dessert 😎😎
A beautiful dinner with great friends!
We will return, soon!
John & Mary Jo

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Live Music, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Disabled Access, Cozy, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

JB Hooks rates right at the top at Lake of The Ozarks for a restaurant. The waiter, Jake, was quite knowledgeable of the menu and the wine list. Jake was very patient with the ordering of our meal. The food was prepared to perfection and not one complaint from our table. All 6 of us was very pleased with our experience at JB Hooks.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Fun, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

Great service . Our server was Jonny. He did a wonderful job. Food always delicious !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Something was off. Table of 6 and 1 member of our party didn't get his meal until well after everyone else was done eating. He ordered the special and apparently another table got his order. Already had received a free appetizer for waiting a long time for drink and food orders, before meals arrived, which was nice. But no comp for waiting so very long for one person's meal. The waitress was nice and apologetic (it wasn't her fault), but when one spends over $300 on a tab for 6, one expects better food service.

Tags: Waterfront, Kid-friendly, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 3, 2017

We had a fantastic meal at JB Hooks. Their filets were juicy and tender and the king crab legs were fresh and delicious, their coconut shrimp is amazingly crunchy and very tasty. We love their fresh asparagus and carrots in a sweet glaze. Their salads are always crisp and fresh and the Greek one is a family favorite. We love their lunch menu as well as it offers great and diverse choices. The view is the best on the lake and their patio is amazing as well. They offer a wonderful happy hour. They have something for everyone.

Tags: Live Music, Business Meals, Romantic, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 3, 2017

When you're looking for an upscale restaurant with delicious, high-quality food, lake views for miles, attentive service, and a relaxing atmosphere, this is the place. Best meal we've had in a while--not just at the Lake but within the metro St Louis area. Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Was good and I would go back. My only complaint was the rowdy table of 8 next to us. They were noisy and spoiled the idea of having a nice dinner where you could talk with friends and family.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, People Watching, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Amazing view and gem of the Lake, fantastic menu with phenomenal wine selections. Our waiter was professional and very attentive and the owner even stopped by to welcome us and assure our meal was GREAT!

Tags: Great Beer, Afternoon Coffee, Romantic, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Fun, Gluten Free Options, Scenic View, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Really enjoyed our visit! Great food and drinks. The hosts and the servers were very nice.

Tags: Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

It was a great. We had made reservations to sit on the deck so we could watch the sunset during dinner. We were seated on deck but could not see the water or sunset. When Amy, the waitress, came out she moved us out. She was such a delight. From the delicious steak and shrimp to the experienced staff, we couldn't of asked for a better evening. Definitely a do over. A big thank you to Amy, our waitress, the owner and staff for making our anniversary such an amazing evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Well worth the price, make sure you call for reservations.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 2, 2017

We had a wonderful meal at the restaurant. Our food was excellent. The view of the sunset was amazing and John our server provided exceptional service.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Scenic View, Live Music, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 1, 2017

We had an amazing dinner. The service was fantastic. Our waiter Rick was a wealth of knowledge and very informative and attentive to our questions.
Thank you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

Made reservations but hostess was extremely unorganized. They definitely need more and better trained employees!!!!

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

Outstanding. Very nice atmosphere. Our waiter Anthony was terrific (attentive but not bothersome; great food and drink knowledge; personable). View over the Lake of the Ozarks was spectacular. Can't wait for our next special occasion to go back!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 29, 2017

The service was outstanding, the food was amazing!! Taylor was a fantastic server! We had a great 34th wedding anniversary celebration. View of the lake was breathtaking. Thank you! We will be back again for sure :-)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Perfect for celebrating our anniversary. View of the main channel with boats returning from the shootout was entertaining. The food was outstanding. I had the extra cut Prime Rib, the best I ever ate.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Our server "Nancy" was fantastic. Great personality. Thank you!

Tags: Good for a Date, People Watching, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

This place continues to be one of our favorites. We come here as often as we can and love the atmosphere. The food is always amazing and I have always been impressed by the service and attention to detail as well as the amazing food.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Good for a Date, Fun, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Wine list is not good and terribly over priced.... No good moderate selections in cab witch is key to enjoying a steak.

Steaks had little flavor and the filets were small.... 6-8oz only.

The fish we had was disappointing as well..

The appetizers were very good...

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 24, 2017

We had a great meal at JBHooks. We actually ate there 2 nights in a row. Had Jake as a server and he was terrific. I had the walleye which was excellent and my husband had the grouper. Our new fave restaurant at the Lake. Terri and Larry

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Wonderful waterfront dining overlooking the lake. Excellent seafood and meat selections. Our server, Johnny, was wonderful. I had a minor mishap, breaking the stem of my wine glass and spilling in my plate. Johnny without hesitation replaced my meal.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Scenic view, delicious food, great service! When busy,quite noisy but fun atmosphere!

Tags: Fun, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 21, 2017

First off, we went on a Sunday night, thinking the restaurant would not be busy. We were very wrong. In fact, had we not had a reservation, we would not have received a table. Clearly this is "the place to go" in the area, and it was clear to see why. Diverse menu with tons of creative seafood dishes, a gracious, professional wait staff (Rick was awesome) and million dollar views of the lake out the glass walls made this meal a highlight of our stay at the lake.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.