About JB Hooks

2260 Bagnell Dam Blvd
Lake Ozark, MO 65049
View Larger Map

"Hooks" as it is affectionately known, and it's friendly staff, strive to make our valued locals feel at home and our tourists feel like locals! We specialize in Steaks, Seafood and offer Happy Hour deals that can't be beat.

Our dining room overlooks a panoramic view of the main channel of the Lake, and offers a relaxing atmosphere to add to your dining experience.
Come by and see us!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Open Daily

11:00am - 10:00pm


Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(573) 365-3255

Website:
http://www.jbhooks.com/

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, View, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

JB Hooks Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (22)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Scenic View (18)
See All
Special Occasion (18)
Good for a Date (17)
Romantic (16)
Worth the Drive (15)
Bar Seating (11)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Business Meals (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Fun (6)
Cozy (6)
Casual (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Live Music (4)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Seasonal (2)
People Watching (2)
Private Room (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Authentic (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Healthy (1)
Family Style (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
521 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 7 days ago

The food was outstanding. While expensive, you get every bit of what you paid for and more. I would highly recommend.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Our server Jake was very personable, had a good sense of humor and attentive to our needs at dinner. Thanks for helping to make this a pleasant night out for my wife and I.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on February 15, 2017

We was seated within a reasonable amount of time. Service couldn't have been better. Steaks were done to perfection. Attention to details was greatly apperiated. It was Valentine's Day and my wife was handed a rose when we arrived. We also was given complimentary cholate covered strawberrys to end the wonderful afternoon.

Tags: Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on February 12, 2017

Amazing place, wonderful food, girlfriend loved it definitely be returning! Thank you waiter Jake for amazing service! Thank you chef and staff for amazing meal! Thank you owners for an outstanding place can't wait to return!

Tags: Modern Decor, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Waterfront, Live Music, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Romantic, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Casual, Notable Wine List, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great food!! Exceptional service!! I would highly recommend for any occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We have tried some of the well known restaurant destination at the lake and out of all of them this restaurant takes the prize. It is, for me, easily the best food on the lake in addition the ambiance is great and the service phenomenal. Don't put off visiting this restaurant like I did. The only regret you will have is that you didn't try it sooner!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Live Music, Business Meals, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Waterfront, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 10, 2017

I ordered the Hook's Tournado. Either the medallions were really tender, or the knife was really sharp! Delicious. Probably the best salad in the lake area: loaded with shaved parm and artichokes. Creme brûlée was tasty. I believe my server's name was Nancy and she was pleasant. Now for the ambiance issue as noted in my stars. My reservation was at 5:30 so multiple tables were open. I was seated directly facing the server alley, so my meal was punctuated with noise and bustle. Singles should never be singled out for unjustified least desirable table selection. Next time I will ask to be seated at a table worthy of a worthy client.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Jesse was our server. She was very attentive and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 29, 2017

Food was good overall, but the entrees were not good enough to warrant the price. For example the Orange Roughy entrees was supposed to have lump crabmeat, but it was barely discernible that there was any included. Also of note was that it was very loud noting that it was not very crowded the night we dined.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value1

 
·Dined on January 28, 2017

Excellent attentive service from Jake.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 27, 2017

We were celebrating our Anniversary. Had a window table overlooking the lake at sunset. Server was excellent, as were the filet, prime rib and sides. A very nice experience!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 22, 2017

We always enjoy J.B. Hooks. The food is great and the service is professional.

Tags: Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great experience. Food, service and atmosphere were all excellent.

Tags: People Watching, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Private Room, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 7, 2017

Excellent service, delicious meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Another delicious meal at JB Hook's, server Jake was outstanding. He checked back often to make sure our meal was prepared to our liking and made a good wine recommendation. Only complaint is that french onion soup didn't have cheese baked on top and dinner rolls were overdone. Beef tournados were perfect and pork loin was tender and tasty.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Our waitress was wonderful, very friendly and attentive. Our salad was blah. It was over chilled

unfortunately and that killed the taste. Our main course was very good. My husband had the special, Osso Bucco and loved it. He said it was flavorful and tender. It was a huge portion. I had Hooks Tournados. It was cooked just the way I ordered it and excellent. We will definitely visit again. We would love to sit outside and enjoy the view in the spring.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food was cold, steak looked like it was for a child. (Very small) service was mediocre. I think they were under staffed however for the amount of money we spent them putting my food in microwave to reheat then reserve was not what I expected. Baxter's was much better the night before. The view is great however the rest of the night I was unexpressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food was great Seated timely. Service was good but slow at times.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

New Year's Eve 2016 😎😎A Great way to bring in 2017🎉🎉😎 HB Hooks is absolutely marvelous 😎😎 A must !! You must go to JB Hook if you're at the Lake of the 👍👍👍

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Fun, Outstanding Value, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Best crab legs I've had in a long time. Great New Year's Eve dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Server was extremely personable and very professional. Food was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 28, 2016

our waiter Jake was outstanding filet was cooked to perfection delicious and melted in your mouth. Overall great, but expect a hit to the pocketbook

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 28, 2016

As always food was great but the service was extra special. Really made the group talk about it more than previous visits.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 27, 2016

Jake was great! Very professional and helpful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on December 25, 2016

This is the third year in a row that we have gone to JB Hooks for Christmas Eve. The food is as outstanding as ever. Nobody rushed us out the door. They made the evening fun and that they were happy to have us there. Richard was a great server with a mix of good humor and attentive service. Can't wait to return next year. A time when most places are closed JB Hooks shined and really rolled out the welcome mat!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 25, 2016

Better than some at the lake. Not the best, or our favorite by a long shot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on December 25, 2016

Table was ready for us. Food was great, server was so so. Over all great dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 3, 2016

One of our favorite places to eat when my wife and I visit the Lake Ozark area. Great service and food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Great view, great service, great food! It was our anniversary and we really enjoyed our night.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on November 27, 2016

Outstanding, as always! We frequent this restaurant during the "lake season" and find it exceptional. Our waitress, Kim, was excellent as well.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 20, 2016

The service was amazing and so was the food. The only bad thing was that i should have done more research before making reservations. We went on a Sunday at 4 for a romantic dinner but I did not realize that 4 o'clock was the bar happy hour (which was the only place you could be seated at that time). The downfall of sitting on the bar side was that it was rather loud and crowded and you could smoke in there. I specifically went to dinner at 4 to watch the sunset because i heard of how amazing it is to watch when youre eating at JB Hooks. So because I was sitting on the bar side, they were only serving drinks and appetizers ( me and my date are under 21 so it was a little disappointing). But once we asked if they were serving dinner, they explained that they had 2 kitchens and the dinner kitchen was preparing for dinner at the moment and the waiter nicely gave us some dinner menus. Now the food was amazing, I had the Chicken Gregory and it was to die for!

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Rich our waiter was very knowledgeable about the menu. His service was excellent and the food was outstanding.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 13, 2016

Was disappointed in the slow service, food was not as tasty as other visits in the past and since this dinner was for a special occasion, celebrating a 50th birthday, it was very disappointing for a milestone event.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
·Dined on November 13, 2016

We had a nice evening. Food was pretty good. The Pepper Steak was very tender and seasoning was good. Salmon was nice. Too much reflection to really get great evening view of the lake after dark. Staff was really nice.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on November 12, 2016

We had a fantastic meal with equal service. We were excited to have Marty be our server again and she never disappoints!!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on November 6, 2016

Everything was great. Our server was outstanding. Jessie was the best. I had leftover's today for Lunch and it was still really fresh and good. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Our server Kim was great. Suggested a cocktail off the menu after I described what I liked and I loved it. Food was very good. Loved the atmosphere. We didn't go to the bar but the had live music that looked fun. Perfect night. Will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 4, 2016

JB Hooks is a must for fine dining at the lake. The views are spectacular, the service is sensational but friendly and not stuffy. Everything is fresh and the steak and seafood is always top notch. Do yourself a favor, and give them a chance to provide a great experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Our server Jesse was the best he added to the evening and made it a great experience for my clients. I would always ask for her if I came back to this restaurant. She really knew the food and made good recommendations.

Jim

Tags: Bar Seating, Scenic View, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on November 3, 2016

Rich was our server with 10+ years working at the restaurant... Rich was great and catered to every single want and need. When I go back.., I'll ask to be seated in Rich's section. Thanks, Rich.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Live Music, Romantic, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 30, 2016

Great service and great food. The waiter made great recommendations. I would definitely go back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 29, 2016

At first, disappointed in host organization skills and the table assigned. However, we had a very good waitress, energetic and helpful. Salmon and steak entrees were both very delicious. Sunset was extra good also. We find JB Hooks to be as dependable and consistent quality of food and service of any nice dining facility @ the Lake of the Ozarks.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Jake was our server and he did an outstanding job. Very friendly and fun to talk to.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Loved the food and watching the sunset. Marty was a wonderful server. Thanks for a great ending to our vacation at the lake.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 23, 2016

All was quite good. One exception - the wine by the glass has gotten out of control on price. Please come back to reality. Competitive pricing should be in the 6-7 dollar range.

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We loved the food and our server Marty was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Jake was an excellent server and the food was delicious.

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on October 16, 2016

Good food, good service. A little loud on a Saturday night.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 11, 2016

We go to JB Hooks every time we're at the lake. Always great service and wonderful food. The smoked cream cheese spread with crackers is a favorite of ours! I had the Ahi tuna, and requested that they prepare it with sesame seeds like the appetizer version, and they did not hesitate to accommodate my request. It was wonderful! My husband had the Mahi Mahi and said it was delicious. JB Hooks never disappoints!

Tags: Romantic, Live Music, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 7, 2016

We had an amazing anniversary dinner at JB Hooks! Amazing view of the Lake and watched the sun go down. Our waitress, Kim, was great! She brought us a complimentary creme brulee that was fabulous!

Tags: Live Music, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Waterfront, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.