Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.64mi
  2. Distance: 1.66mi
  3. Distance: 1.74mi
  4. Distance: 2.45mi
  1. Distance: 1.64mi
  2. Distance: 1.66mi
  3. Distance: 1.74mi
  4. Distance: 2.45mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.64mi
  2. Distance: 1.66mi
  3. Distance: 1.74mi
  4. Distance: 2.45mi
  1. Distance: 1.64mi
  2. Distance: 1.66mi
  3. Distance: 1.74mi
  4. Distance: 2.45mi

About JB Hooks

"Hooks" as it is affectionately known, and it's friendly staff, strive to make our valued locals feel at home and our tourists feel like locals! We specialize in Steaks, Seafood and offer Happy Hour deals that can't be beat.

Our dining room overlooks a panoramic view of the main channel of the Lake, and offers a relaxing atmosphere to add to your dining experience.
Come by and see us!

2260 Bagnell Dam Blvd
Lake Ozark, MO 65049
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Open Daily

11:00am - 10:00pm


Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(573) 365-3255

Website:
http://www.jbhooks.com/

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, View, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

JB Hooks Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.9

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (26)
Good for a Date (25)
Waterfront (22)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Romantic (21)
Special Occasion (18)
Worth the Drive (16)
Bar Seating (14)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Live Music (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Business Meals (11)
Happy Hour (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Good for Groups (6)
Casual (6)
Fun (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Cozy (5)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Healthy (3)
Authentic (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Seasonal (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Family Style (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Fireplace (1)
People Watching (1)
Private Room (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Historic (1)
Vegan (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
561 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined 3 days ago

Always a great meal and you can't beat the views, enjoy every time I visit

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Springfield)·Dined 6 days ago

Always an awesome experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on May 18, 2017

Great food, great service, great location, great atmosphere. Second time here, as good as we remembered from last year.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Casual, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Our group of 14 celebrated a friend's 98th birthday. We booked a private room, which was set up beautifully and worked incredibly well for our group. Our server, Anthony, was the best. He explained all the specials and was on top of everything, which isn't easy with a large group. Everyone enjoyed their meals and our bill was much less than I anticipated. The salmon special was by far the best I have ever had. Will definitely go back!

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Jake was great and we had a terrific meal!

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Naples)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We had a great meal for my husband's birthday. Jake did a great job serving us. Always enjoy Hooks for dinner or even lunch.

Tags: Romantic, Vegan, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great experience for celebrating with our family. Vanessa was fabulous and very attentive to our needs. She was so good with the toddler at the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Gorgeous view of the lake! Can accommodate large groups or a cozy date night. Variety of delicious food choices, served with flare.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Great variety of fish dinners, steaks are always cooked just right. The view of the lake is absolutely beautiful.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Went to JB Hooks on Friday evening! Outstanding in every way. Jake, our server was awesome! The food was delicious. The evening was perfect! Yes, we will visit again!!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Comfort Food, Historic, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Seasonal, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Food was wonderful - great atmosphere - a great place to celebrate a special occasion.
Service was exceptional - waiter took great care to be sure we had a memorable occasion
even though it was raining!! Would definitely go again

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Best waitress I ever had! Amazing food . Thank you Tana

Tags: Fun, Happy Hour, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The view from our table was beautiful, our server, Rick, was fabulous, and the food was the best.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on May 6, 2017

This is one of the Ozarks best restaurants. Everything is fantastic,food,service and atmosphere. Will be back often. It can't be done any better than they are doing it.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on April 30, 2017

JB Hooks is always excellent. Food was very good and service was better. We were waited on by Johnny and were very impressed. He did not rush us , recommended a great bottle of wine, and we were very impressed by his tenure at Hooks. We will be back and will ask for Johnny.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We treated some special friends to dinner on their first trip to the Lake. The meal was awesome and our waiter Jake, added excellent service and laughter to the evening. Everyone truly enjoyed themselves. These are all reasons why JB Hooks remains one of our favorite restaurants at the Lake.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The food was great, even the salads with the meal were superb! The peppered mahi-mahi was outstanding!! While JB's is not cheap, you get what you pay for.

Tags: Waterfront, Fun, Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 28, 2017

A+++ So spectacular I hate to write this review. Why? Because just like my favorite beach, it draws crowds. From our waiter, Jake, to my birthday Creme Brûlée, everything was spot on. I'm quite particular so I made a reservation. Table was ready on time, drinks were made well, my special salad request was honored and my dinner was wonderful. I had the grouper and my date had the prime rib. We got the garlic mashed potatoes and they did not disappoint. I also found out this is a small business and the owner was onsite and visited our table to ask how everything was. What more do you want? The price didn't even matter because it was the best dinner I've had in a long time. Thank you and we will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 28, 2017

we had an excellent meal with a great view of Lake of the Ozarks. We had filet/shrimp and prime rib. Meat was great, wonderful flavor. Great sides. Nice Maytag salad. They do corkage so we loved that Jake was a excellent server. Knew what he was doing and experienced. (even opening and serving wine properly, a lost art.) Owner came by to check on us as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on April 28, 2017

Staff and management very polite and accommodating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Service was outstanding. The Sea Bass special sounded so good & looked good except the fish itself was so tough I couldn't eat anything but the edges. Everything else was good. Guessing I just got a bad piece of fish? Will try again.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Great food, great view, and even greater service. My favorite restaurant at the Lake. Will most definitely eat here whenever I'm in town.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Waterfront, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Special Occasion, Family Style, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on April 20, 2017

We easily made our on-line reservations for my father-in-laws 87th Birthday dinner and were extremely pleased. The waiter, Johnny, was an experienced waiter with exceptional timeliness and great sense of humor. The view, drinks, appetizers, main courses and the Surprise!! birthday cake sampler were superb. It was probably our best dining experience at the Lake of the Ozarks area in over 50 years of traveling our short one hour drive. Thank You Again

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on April 18, 2017

Meal and service was fantastic. Will be back for another great meal.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 15, 2017

I thought the service was just okay. The server knew it was my daughters birthday, but did nothing to acknowledge it. I also thought the dinner was very expensive, but the food and view was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
·Dined on April 11, 2017

JB Hooks did it again! Our group of 8 is not the easiest people to take care of. Not because we are needy but because we usually are so involved in our time together we forget to pay attention and order. Our server was so patient and kind. Organized and professional. Our dinners were outstanding and the split checks at the end didn't even phase them. Well done JB Hooks!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Live Music, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Fireplace, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 9, 2017

I was very pleased with the service. The wait staff was friendly and accommodating. My mother's 75th birthday was made more special because of them. Thank Thank Thank You!

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Have been to this restaurant before, great view! Food was very good!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on April 8, 2017

Had the nicest waitress and the food was just fabulous. Well worth the trip from the Westside of the Lake!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Able to have a great meeting as well as a GREAT meal along with GREAT service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on April 1, 2017

Service was excellent and a great view of the lake. Food was good but expected better for the price. Seating at the window area is also high traffic so not as private as you might hope. But nice place to eat.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Business Meals, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on March 31, 2017

We enjoy eating here every time we are in town. Love the food, service and atmosphere. The view is terrific.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Romantic, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Waterfront, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 31, 2017

We went for my birthday to celebrate. The lobster was very good and we had a nice table b the window. It is one of our favorite restaurant s at the lake or anywhere so it was worth the drive.

Tags: Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Waterfront, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 30, 2017

We had a wonderful dinner. Excellent good and wine. The Old Fadhioned was great, too. A spectacular view and great food with great service. Our server, Anthony, brought out a sample of Amaretto carrots just so our kids could try them before ordering. Then he took our oldest to the kitchen to get a piece of cake ready for my wife's birthday. Owner stopped by to see if we were pleased. I wouldn't hesitate to go back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Probably the first time I was to JB Hooks when the food was just OK, not outstanding. Red Snapper was overcooked and the topping was tasteless. Was supposed to be blackened, seemed to be baked. Staff seemed to be rushed and restaurant was not busy. Not up to usual standards. Not sure I will be back at the prices charged.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on March 27, 2017

My wife and I had never been to JB Hooks before last night. The service was outstanding. Our waiter was very professional yet not stuffy. Our dinners were amazing and hands down the best lobster and steak Neptune we have ever had. I would highly recommend JB Hooks for any occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on March 5, 2017

Still the best restaurant at the lake. Service is superb. And nothing beats the view.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Very enjoyable date night at Lake Ozark. The blackened prime rib tasted delious as we watched the beautiful sunset.

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Live Music, Waterfront, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Great happy hour prices and delicious appetizers! The service was also wonderful!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Waterfront, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on February 19, 2017

The food was outstanding. While expensive, you get every bit of what you paid for and more. I would highly recommend.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.