Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

About Jaleo DC

Jaleo brings alive the spirit and flavors of Spain with a menu reflecting the rich regional diversity of classical and contemporary Spanish cuisine, under the direction of renowned chef José Andrés. Jaleo offers an impressive assortment of tapas, the traditional small dishes of Spain, as well as savory paellas, superb sangrias and a fine selection of Spanish wines and Sherries in a festive, casual atmosphere.

480 7th St. NW
Washington, DC 20004
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Spanish, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday – Thursday: 11 AM – 11 PM
Friday: 11 AM – midnight
Saturday: 11 AM – midnight
Sunday: 10 AM – 10 PM
Monday: 10 AM – 10 PM

Cross Street:
E St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 628-7949

Website:
http://www.jaleo.com/

Catering:
Catering on a whole new level; José Andrés Catering elevates catering and event planning to new heights in the Washington, DC area and beyond. Now you can experience the inspired creations of celebrated chef José Andrés at your own party or venue. Visit us for more information at www.joseandrescatering.com, or call us at (202) 628-7949.

Public Transit:
We are located 1 block south of the Gallery Place/Chinatown metro station on the yellow, green and red lines. Take the 7th and Arena exit, walk one block south. The restaurant is located on the right hand corner of 7th and E St.

We are also 1 block North of Arhives/Navy Memorial/Penn Quarter station on the green and yellow lines.

Executive Chef:
José Andres; Head Chef Rodolfo Guzman

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Located in the heart of the Penn Quarter, the lively atmosphere of Jaleo DC makes it a great place to host a lunch or dinner. For menus, pricing, availability and other information on events at Jaleo, please contact our Events Manager at (202) 628-7949.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Jaleo brings alive the spirit and flavors of Spain with a menu reflecting the rich regional diversity of classical and contemporary Spanish cuisine, under the direction of renowned chef José Andrés We offer a variety of spaces for your special event.

Jaleo DC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Tapas (189)
Creative Cuisine (141)
Fit for Foodies (114)
See All
Fun (102)
Authentic (91)
Special Occasion (83)
Good for a Date (77)
Pre/post Theatre (72)
Good for Birthdays (63)
Casual (62)
Good Vegetarian Options (62)
Tasting Menu (60)
Hot Spot (58)
Good for Groups (55)
Handcrafted Cocktails (52)
Neighborhood Gem (46)
Business Meals (44)
People Watching (44)
Great for Lunch (43)
Good for Anniversaries (35)
Worth the Drive (35)
Vibrant Bar Scene (34)
Notable Wine List (31)
Happy Hour (30)
Bar Seating (28)
Romantic (26)
Quick Bite (25)
Sunday Lunch (23)
Late-night Find (21)
Great for Brunch (19)
Great for Outdoor Dining (18)
Comfort Food (16)
Cozy (16)
Gluten Free Options (14)
Local Ingredients (13)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Spicy (12)
Seasonal (11)
Paleo Friendly (8)
Great Beer (6)
Vegan (6)
Disabled Access (4)
Organic (3)
Scenic View (3)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
6403 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 9 hours ago

Been here forever. Still great and great value

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 2 days ago

Jaleo is perfect for any kind of dining experience. They also printed out special menus wishing the guest of honor a happy birthday--what a lovely touch!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined 2 days ago

Everything was to die for.
Great service, food, wine and scene.
Not a single oversight

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 3 days ago

Great place for tapas. Potatoes, quail and rabbit were amazing. A few other dishes were unique though not quite my cup of tea. Overall I really enjoyed the place. We ordered 7 tapas and our total bill was only about $70. Not bad at all. I'll definitely be back. Sandra was our server, and she was very excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

Very knowledgable sommelier and a superb list of Spanish wines. Excellent tapas all around. Some of the dishes arrived just barely warm and dessert services was very slow. Waiters are courteous and friendly. Had this meal outside and expected traffic noise but the street was surprisingly quiet. Choices are excellent and quality of the food and presentation are very nice.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tapas, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

I always love Jaleo, and this week I took my cousin for the first time. What I loved: the menu continues to change but I was able to order off-menu and get one dish I love -- great service; the waiter was patient in suggestions for my newbie cousin; the food is truly delicious and an adventure. The noise level is robust, so go with a group and go for laughter. This isn't a great place for intimate conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

We were a party of three and had a reservation but had to wait 20minutes to be seated. But the staff made up for it by giving us two free appetizers that were delicious.
The flavors were great and I would highly recommend their special appetizer of Pan de Crisal con tomate., toasted bread with tomatoes and garlic.
The manchego plate was very good as well as the Iberico ham.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Fun, Tasting Menu, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined 5 days ago

Terminamos de hacer una caminata guiada sobre el asesinato de Abraham Lincoln, y el guia nos recomendó este lugar, a pocas cuadras de donde finalizamos. Ademas de que la comida estuvo muy bien, el lugar tiene onda, es novedosa la decoración, tanto en el salónn comedor como en los baños. Hay que dar una mirada al techo para ver unas singulares lámparas, con forma de libro. Muy buena la atención. SIn lugar a dudas, lo recomiendo.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Casual, Tapas, People Watching, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Complex dishes done in a fine way. Don't get me wrong, some of the dishes I had were great, but I wish the menu had more focus and really executed on the focus, rather than trying to piece together disjointed foods onto one plate. If you're going to do it, do it extremely well, even if that means cutting back on other parts of the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Mediocre service by waiter. Plus, he only spoke Spanish to us despite us NOT speaking Spanish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Everything was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Very good food most dishes were unique and tasty. Our waiter was MIA for a bit when we needed a wine refill!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

Excellent as always and great wait staff. Fun, lively atmosphere. Great tapas.

Tags: Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

Excellent! Great food, great atmosphere. Highly recommend

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 14, 2017

We loved our before-movie repast here. Friendly and fun. Choosing the dishes to share is part of the experience and we especially liked our fennel/apple salad, the catalan white bean salad and the mini burger (yum!)

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Vegan, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Great service, good food. I'd go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 12, 2017

I have been to Jaleo before and always find the service and food excellent. This time I went before the two part showing of Angels in America at the nearby Shakespeare Theatre. It was very convenient and I could have plenty of time to enjoy my dinner before the show. The tapas I selected for this particular meal were delicious: spinach with apples,raisins and pine nuts;chorizo with mashed potatoes, and seared scallops on Romesco sauce. I had a tempranillo rose along with--sooo good!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Fun, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 12, 2017

While it is not my least favorite Jose Andres restaurant, I rarely go to Jaleo unless a friend wants to go, so in this case a retiring co-worker mentioned it. We went there for lunch and we liked that there was a $20 lunch menu that had a few courses.
I got the wrong dish but the staff corrected it very quickly. We had a good time, but I won't be going back unless another friend decides they want to go there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

Appetizers just ok. Ensaladilla was a bit tasteless. Patatas bravas not worth it. Pan tumaca excellent. Chistorra ok. Paella outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Excellent as always! The food is always interesting and delicious. The service is excellent. The staff is friendly and helpful when you just are not sure you want to try that new foodie experience. Rock on Jaleo!

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Our waiter and food were outstanding.

At first, I thought all the chairs at our table were wet, but it turned out to be oil/food stains. That didn't give me a good feeling specially when wearing nice clothes.

There was a large table next to us and a guy kept yelling at their four small children, completely ignoring anyone around them. Not the restaurant's fault, but maybe it would be wise to separate the family's from the romantic dinner tables.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 10, 2017

We reluctantly endured a 45 minute wait past our reservation time to be seated, even though we called 1-2 hours in advance to ensure we would get the seating we wanted. When we arrived, we were told the wait would be about 15-20 minutes, but unfortunately, this was not the case. We were only seated after the 3rd time that we approached the host stand to complain. The manager met us at our table and ended us giving 2 dishes to us complimentary, which helped, but it probably should have been 1 or 2 more as other groups were seated before us. The food was excellent, but I would likely not wait there again for that length of time if it happened again, especially when we had a reservation and called ahead in addition.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Unfortunately our waiter was awful (pony tailed gentlemen) but the food was great. Prices are significantly up over the past year or two, however.

Tags: Tapas, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Just great! The food was outstanding. The server was knowledgeable and provided great recommendations. Often with a Tapas, there are uncomfortable delays in getting food out. Here, it could not have been better. Great food, great service. I wish I could eat here each day!

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Service was insanely responsive while yet not being intrusive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

I am spanish and so far the best spanish restaurant i have tried outside Spain. Everything was great.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Great ambiance! Great place! Great service! Amazing Food!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Tapas, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Jaleo is one of my favorite restaurants. It never disappoints. Our server left a little to be desired but the food was amazing as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 7, 2017

I always love to eat at Jaleo. Food is very good and service excellent. The average cost of a meal however keeps creeping up. Wish it was just a bit less pricey- even going with the pre-theater special it was more than I expected. Might have to look for less expensive options for everyday and save Jaleo for a special occasion.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 7, 2017

The food was outstanding. The ambiance is not good anymore. I have been eating at Jaleo for 17 years and I saw the new decor in pictures and it looked ok. Being in the restaurant was different. There is ZERO traditional/authentic Spanish feel. The modern decor, however beautiful, clashes with the traditional food being served. It won't stop me from eating there, but it's not as conducive to lingering for conversation, which is the very purpose of eating Tapas.

Our server was very nice, but her service not so great. We were there @ 3 in the afternoon and there were only two other occupied tables in the entire restaurant. She was not serving those tables near as I could tell. Regardless our service was slow which makes no sense to me. The Food came quickly, but was dropped off by other people who inquired about our needs, which is ok, she was serving us so she gets the tip on a $200 tab when she didn't do much. Again, this won't prevent me from coming for the food, but it also took away from the experience.

I will say, however, Pete the manager is an outstanding! Came to our table to say hello and check on us.

Tags: Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 3, 2017

A great piece of Spain in the heart of Washington DC. Great selection of traditional tapas, well executed and delivered. Ideal for informal meetings, reunions, casual celebrations...a lot of fun in a great ambience. Quality product and great service. A must go in DC!

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Very nice place. We got a table in a corner, it felt very intimate. Great food, very nice service. Would love to come back soon.

Tags: Comfort Food, Paleo Friendly, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Jaleo has always been on point for us, from a last minute dinner to a planned family function.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Fun, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Very good. Had a delicious assortment of food. Everything well prepared and served timely. Nice atmosphere during the day when it is not so crowded.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Excellent food quality and crafting.
Authentic flavor and avant-garde cuisine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 2, 2017

7:15 reservation, not seated until 7:40, waiter showed up at 8:00 pm. First food at 8:10. That's almost an hour after our reserved start time! Food was great but overall a very aggravating situation for three friends all celebrating birthdays!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 2, 2017

I'm not big fan of tapas or Spanish food. I suppose that Jaleo by reputation is one of the better tapas restaurants, but considering the cuisine is rather subdued and one dimensional, lacking in flavors other than olive oil and garlic, and frankly... overrated... what more could you ask for? The restaurant was very noisy though and not a great place to catch up with friends since you will barely be able to hear over the noise. Might be a nice place with kids since they will be drowned out. Of the 15 or so dishes we shared their were maybe three stand outs (a scallop dish, a potato dish, and a spinach dish), more misses than hits. The deep fried iberia ham and cheese sandwich was carnival faire, the rabbit and quail dishes were dry and boney, and the oysters were as bland as could be. If your a fan of Spanish tapas, go. For me, meh ... maybe once a year.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Nice, upbeat place. Not so impressed with the seafood paella. Food kind of Meh. Was expecting more for the price.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Great restaurant. Wide selection of small plates. Good wine list.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Really bad service. Had to wait a long time to get seated even though tables were available and we had a reservation. And when we were seated they did not give us the available window seat they promised. Then I had to tackle a server to get drinks. Then the manager was no hope at all. Last time we go there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.