About Jaleo DC

480 7th St. NW
Washington, DC 20004
View Larger Map

Jaleo brings alive the spirit and flavors of Spain with a menu reflecting the rich regional diversity of classical and contemporary Spanish cuisine, under the direction of renowned chef José Andrés. Jaleo offers an impressive assortment of tapas, the traditional small dishes of Spain, as well as savory paellas, superb sangrias and a fine selection of Spanish wines and Sherries in a festive, casual atmosphere.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Spanish, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday – Thursday: 11 AM – 11 PM
Friday: 11 AM – midnight
Saturday: 11 AM – midnight
Sunday: 11 AM – 10 PM
Monday: 11 AM – 10 PM

Cross Street:
E St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 628-7949

Website:
http://www.jaleo.com/

Catering:
Catering on a whole new level; José Andrés Catering elevates catering and event planning to new heights in the Washington, DC area and beyond. Now you can experience the inspired creations of celebrated chef José Andrés at your own party or venue. Visit us for more information at www.joseandrescatering.com, or call us at (202) 628-7949.

Public Transit:
We are located 1 block south of the Gallery Place/Chinatown metro station on the yellow, green and red lines. Take the 7th and Arena exit, walk one block south. The restaurant is located on the right hand corner of 7th and E St.

We are also 1 block North of Arhives/Navy Memorial/Penn Quarter station on the green and yellow lines.

Executive Chef:
José Andres; Head Chef Rodolfo Guzman

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Located in the heart of the Penn Quarter, the lively atmosphere of Jaleo DC makes it a great place to host a lunch or dinner. For menus, pricing, availability and other information on events at Jaleo, please contact our Events Manager at (202) 628-7949.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Jaleo brings alive the spirit and flavors of Spain with a menu reflecting the rich regional diversity of classical and contemporary Spanish cuisine, under the direction of renowned chef José Andrés We offer a variety of spaces for your special event.

Jaleo DC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Tapas (159)
Fit for Foodies (106)
Creative Cuisine (104)
See All
Good for a Date (93)
Special Occasion (90)
Fun (77)
Modern Decor (76)
Pre/post Theatre (73)
Authentic (70)
Good for Groups (68)
Tasting Menu (68)
Good Vegetarian Options (56)
Good for Birthdays (54)
Great for Lunch (53)
Casual (53)
Hot Spot (53)
Good for Anniversaries (51)
Neighborhood Gem (42)
Romantic (41)
Vibrant Bar Scene (36)
Handcrafted Cocktails (34)
Family Style (30)
Notable Wine List (30)
People Watching (30)
Healthy (30)
Worth the Drive (29)
Bar Seating (29)
Business Meals (28)
Happy Hour (24)
Quick Bite (22)
Sunday Lunch (22)
Cozy (22)
Late-night Find (19)
Great for Brunch (17)
Comfort Food (15)
Kid-friendly (13)
Outstanding Value (12)
Seasonal (12)
Gluten Free Options (12)
Paleo Friendly (12)
Spicy (12)
Molecular Gastronomy (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Vegan (10)
Local Ingredients (10)
Organic (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Scenic View (5)
Great Beer (4)
Wood Oven (3)
Historic (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Live Sports (1)
Dancing (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Waterfront (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
5827 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

Continued excellence!

My wife and I made a last minute reservation while enjoying a cocktail tasting menu at Jose's Minibar, which is across the street from Jaleo. It was wonderful to pair the two experiences in the same evening...would consider doing so again.

We loved the black ink paella...delicious!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Family Style, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

The chicken croquettes were very good. The rest - shrimp, sliced sausage, tiny pieces of squid with white beans, vegetable dishes - were uninspired, and so, so. Nothing you'd savor or would want go back for. We finished off the meal with weak coffee. In sum, myeh. No complaints about the service, which was entirely friendly and efficient.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

Always a great meal at Jaleo and this one did not disappoint. Loved the new fast lunch menu.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Authentic, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

My husband and I came here for a birthday dinner after reading it was up for a James beard award. Not only did they put 4 courses out all together after asking not to. After complaining in a very nice way all the server did was argued with us. My husband And I have been in the fine dining business for 15 plus years. I understand it was a tapas bar, but we warned the server we wanted time and all she did was argue why she was in the right. After I said I didn't want 130$ worth of food served at the same time. Then order a glass of Chardonnay after all was said and done and I believe it was reisling because I literally had to choke it down. Absolutely disappointment. If you know good food and good service do not go here. If you are looking to be seen and spend money I am sure it's fine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

En general todo bien pero el servicio un poco lento y las raciones escasas.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

this is a heck of a fun place. get any gin and tonic and then start ordering. a must: the apple and fennel salad and of course the super-aged ham.

Tags: Casual, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

I've had previous delicious and enjoyable dining experiences at Jaleo, but tonight it was off. From slow wait staff, a watered down sangria, and a significant delay in receiving our food, the restaurant was off. It did not meet the caliber of Jose Andres establishments.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 7 days ago

My favorite downtown restaurant! We always get the bacon wrapped dates, garlic shrimp, and flatbread. We try one or two new plates too, and have never been disappointed. We take our out-of-town guests to the downtown Jaleo whenever we can. Great place for visiting, eating, and people-watching.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We really enjoyed every aspect of Jaleo, particularly the excellent food and the brilliant service, thank you.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 18, 2017

There are many very nice restaurants in DC. We have tried quite a few! Jaleo is one of our top favorites and has stayed so over time. We return again and again and always enjoy the food and the atmosphere. Whenever we have visitors in town, Jaleo is a 'must do' on the list.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Tapas, Fun, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Large Spanish tapas menu with a lot of options regarding type of food and flavor palate. Food is delicious and everything we got was great. Drinks are tasty and there is a decent wine list as well.

The place can be very loud and very busy, which is was during our trip, but it wasn't too overwhelming and the service was good. The decor is a little odd, but given the rest of the experience nothing to be worried about.

Tags: Family Style, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Tapas, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Jaleo is my favorite restaurant in DC. The food and service are great. I love the fact that it is so consistent - the Patatas Bravas tastes just like it did in 2009 when I first tried it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tapas, Casual, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Well executed tapas. Crispy fried squid-not easy to do as squid has a lot of water content. A nice crab dish where the crab tasted fresh. Crunchy bread with a flavorful olive oil. Spanish cheese sampling with fresh tastingng blue cheese-among others, accompanied by candied fruit and honey covered bread. Quail with lentils was nicely balanced with a fruit sauce-not too strong.

Only a roled ham (?) cheese dish tasted a little flat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Had a fabulous experience at Jaleo for our Valentine's date! Dinner, dessert, drinks were all excellent, and our incredibly knowledgeable server was the highlight. Can't wait to come back...Thank you!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Delicious food and prompt service. The pre-theatre menu was a good value and a great way to sample a few dishes.

Tags: Healthy, Fun, Tapas, Romantic, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Octopus and rabbit were great but drinks were a little expensive and underpoured!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I love the tapas selection and the freshness of the food. Usually very crowded so it is somewhat difficult to get seating where you prefer.

Valentine night we had a very great waiter aND did not mind tipping well.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Really expected much better after seeing the reviews for this place. The menu is too big and the food isn't anything spectacular. For the price it is not worth it, there are much better tapas options in DC that cost less and are better.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Always excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Really good place for a friendly lunch and good conversation.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great place to try... We enjoyed it!! Everything from the food to the drinks were terrific.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The prix fixe brunch was amazing. For $30 per person we got a mimosa, 10 delicious tapas, and 2 dessert to share.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Meal was superb

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I have been to Jaleo's several times before. Last weekend was my first time there for restaurant week. I enjoyed all dishes, especially the grilled portobello mushroom, and the spicy shrimp.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Spicy, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Always interesting and tasty dishes. We were there for restaurant week, so the value was great. The waitress was adequate but could have been a little friendlier--a smile perhaps. I had to remind her to bring a glass of wine I ordered in the beginning. I had salmon and it tasted "fishy". When at the very end of the meal the waitress asked how everything was. To her credit she immediately reported to the manager who immediately came over to offer apologies and an appropriate compensation.

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We did the restaurant week option which was 5 courses and they brought everything from app to salad to main course all at once. I felt incredibly rushed, not able to enjoy it, and my food got cold. Overall the food was good and the vibe was energetic. It might be that outside of a restaurant week menu, things are different but this was my experience.

Tags: Spicy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

As usual, this restaurant was a stellar experience. The waitress could not have been more friendly, the chefs could not have been more accommodating of my celiac disease, and the food could not have been more delicious. We love Jaleo !

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Jaleo was wonderful. My husband and I went her for date night and it was fantastic. We ordered 6 different tapas which was way more than enough. Next time probably 3-4 would be a little more "normal" but we just wanted to try everything! We also loved their drinks, as they had a wonderful and fairly unique selection of cocktails. I definitely recommend this to anyone who loves Spanish food.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 10, 2017

This is an outstanding place. I am from Spain and the tapas are authentic and amazing. We also had a paella and it is a very big portion ( 3 ate from it ) . It was tasty and done perfect. The wines are a little overpriced but no surprise. The sangria was average. Our server Luis was very helpful and friendly. I have tried other restaurants owned by José Andres and have always been satisfied. Please make a reservation; it's a must.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Jaleo doesn't disappoint. Delicious Spanish tapas.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Fun, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Spanish food served at a rapid pace by good, friendly staff. Quality could be improved (the ensaladilla was plain tasting; the mushroom rice (arroz cremoso de setas) could have used some seasoning, the croquetas tasted the same whether chicken or pork). I think Jose Andres is sacrificing taste for reaching a wider audience---or ....?

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Guaranteed good time. Consistent and excellent food, service and ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Arriving early, I was welcomed and served without impatience. The seating felt private, and conversation was easy. The food and service were excellent, prompt yet unhurried, with honest and helpful menu guidance from the waiter. Definitely look forward to returning.

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Family Style, Organic, Modern Decor, Paleo Friendly, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 7, 2017

As always, the food is excellent and the menu has some very unique items. My only criticism is the price...small plates but full entree prices. Two people need to order about four small plates, and you are basically paying for four full entrees. Obviously they are doing something right since the place is packed...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 7, 2017

We have loved Jaleo in the past, but came away disappointed. We stopped in before a night at the theatre and, despite telling our server that we had tickets to a show, the delivery of dishes was intermittent and slow. Even more disappointing, the food was not as fresh or tasty as in past visits. Hopefully this was just a bad night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Everything tasted great except too much salt in the spinach dish.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 6, 2017

We look forward to Jaleo when we visit DC from New York...we were disappointed this time. Service was annoying...We needed time to deal with a very large menu of complex and interesting dishes, waiter returned every 2 minutes over 10-15 minutes to ask over and over if we were ready to order. This kept setting us back.

Then, when we finally decided, he did nothing to discourage us from the amount of food we ordered, which was too much, mostly as a result of the Restaurant Week Menu having 5 courses! Some of the small plates are not so small and my wife's 5 courses plus the 3 I ordered for myself turned out to be way too much. A helpful waiter would have helped us figure it out.

The food is still unusual and delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Used to be better.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Family Style, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We waited for our food for over half and hour, and hen

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Amazing food and service. Have been half a dozen times and never disappointed. I always suggest Jaleo to friends and work colleagues visiting the DC area.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fun, Tasting Menu, People Watching, Tapas, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 4, 2017

One of the best restaurants we've been to in a long time. We were never a fan of tapas until now! So innovative. We had 9 plates between the two of us, too much. Every single one of them was special! Definitely try some of the weird things like liquid olives! We are definitely going again

Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The food was fantastic and the service was impeccable. Looking forward to our next visit!

Tags: Authentic, Tapas, Good for Groups, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great experience as always. Came here for restaurant week and both the food and drink exceeded expectations

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 3, 2017

We combined our visit to Jaleo, for the RestUrant Week menu, with a visit to the new National Museum of African American Culture and History. The Restaurant Week menu was very generous, offering 4 tapas and a dessert for $35. All tapas were delicious;I was too full to even eat the dessert. Our server was SO helpful and friendly and got us fed and out in time to get to Union Station for our train home. I have not been to Jaleo in years, but the food is as good as it ever was. Kudos to Jaleo for a fun tasty meal!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 3, 2017

What can be said about Jaleo that hasn't already been said? The tapas are outstanding in both variety and taste. We never eat the same thing twice since there are so many to try. Even the dessert was fabulous.

Tags: People Watching, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Tapas, Great for Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 3, 2017

We went for Restaurant Week, figured we would José another shot. Pretty dissapointing. The mushroom soup was bland, at least needed better seasoning. The pork was overcooked. And the yogurt desert was borderline disgusting. As with all commercial chefs, José Andres has lost touch with good food due to the number of restaurants he owns and runs and is just out to make a buck.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 3, 2017

This is top of my list of restaurants in the DC area. The food was stellar and the service was top notched. We came for restaurant week, but I will be coming back to try out everything else on the menu...

Tags: Quick Bite, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Family Style, Outstanding Value, Tapas, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Vegan, Organic, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Nice tapas place..would def go again. Great food options and great service.

Tags: Cozy, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Disappointing. Took 1.5 hours for lunch. Service painfully slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Jaleo is a great place for a creative yet unpretentious meal with a couple of friends. There is something for everyone -such as the several tasty sausages for meat-eaters and the many options for vegetarians. You can eat there multiple times and still keep finding new dishes to try. Service is attentive and friendly, but not intrusive or overbearing.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Tapas, Outstanding Value, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.