Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

About Jaleo DC

Jaleo brings alive the spirit and flavors of Spain with a menu reflecting the rich regional diversity of classical and contemporary Spanish cuisine, under the direction of renowned chef José Andrés. Jaleo offers an impressive assortment of tapas, the traditional small dishes of Spain, as well as savory paellas, superb sangrias and a fine selection of Spanish wines and Sherries in a festive, casual atmosphere.

480 7th St. NW
Washington, DC 20004
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Spanish, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday – Thursday: 11 AM – 11 PM
Friday: 11 AM – midnight
Saturday: 11 AM – midnight
Sunday: 11 AM – 10 PM
Monday: 11 AM – 10 PM

Cross Street:
E St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 628-7949

Website:
http://www.jaleo.com/

Catering:
Catering on a whole new level; José Andrés Catering elevates catering and event planning to new heights in the Washington, DC area and beyond. Now you can experience the inspired creations of celebrated chef José Andrés at your own party or venue. Visit us for more information at www.joseandrescatering.com, or call us at (202) 628-7949.

Public Transit:
We are located 1 block south of the Gallery Place/Chinatown metro station on the yellow, green and red lines. Take the 7th and Arena exit, walk one block south. The restaurant is located on the right hand corner of 7th and E St.

We are also 1 block North of Arhives/Navy Memorial/Penn Quarter station on the green and yellow lines.

Executive Chef:
José Andres; Head Chef Rodolfo Guzman

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Located in the heart of the Penn Quarter, the lively atmosphere of Jaleo DC makes it a great place to host a lunch or dinner. For menus, pricing, availability and other information on events at Jaleo, please contact our Events Manager at (202) 628-7949.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Jaleo brings alive the spirit and flavors of Spain with a menu reflecting the rich regional diversity of classical and contemporary Spanish cuisine, under the direction of renowned chef José Andrés We offer a variety of spaces for your special event.

Jaleo DC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Tapas (228)
Fit for Foodies (152)
Creative Cuisine (139)
See All
Good for a Date (111)
Fun (109)
Authentic (103)
Special Occasion (101)
Good for Groups (90)
Modern Decor (90)
Pre/post Theatre (88)
Tasting Menu (84)
Casual (82)
Great for Lunch (76)
Hot Spot (68)
Good for Birthdays (66)
Handcrafted Cocktails (60)
Good Vegetarian Options (59)
People Watching (56)
Good for Anniversaries (53)
Neighborhood Gem (50)
Romantic (43)
Worth the Drive (42)
Notable Wine List (41)
Family Style (41)
Business Meals (40)
Vibrant Bar Scene (37)
Bar Seating (37)
Healthy (33)
Sunday Lunch (28)
Happy Hour (27)
Comfort Food (24)
Cozy (24)
Great for Brunch (23)
Quick Bite (23)
Local Ingredients (22)
Spicy (22)
Kid-friendly (20)
Gluten Free Options (18)
Molecular Gastronomy (18)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Paleo Friendly (14)
Outstanding Value (14)
Seasonal (13)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Vegan (9)
Late-night Find (9)
Scenic View (7)
Organic (6)
Great Beer (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Historic (3)
Waterfront (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Live Sports (1)
Live Music (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
S
6089 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 3 days ago

Fun, casual, inventive, and entertaining. Sample one of the signature gin & tonics, they are a great take on the old classic. Picking through the descriptions of a big variety of tapas offerings can be a bit overwhelming, so we assigned a section to each diner, and then repeated a couple of winners. Waiter was helpful and attentive. Great outing with friends.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined 3 days ago

Great original tapas with true Spanish character - I know as I lived there for many years! Recommend ordering as you go, as the food comes out when it comes out... Drinks took WAY too long to come out - we had our first taps before the came out! They say 2-4 tapa per person, but that totally depends on the size of them, so again, order as you go (1 tapa per person per round I'd say). Window seats or outside ones are great for people watching.

Tags: Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Quick Bite, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined 3 days ago

Fantastic ‫ fantastic place to dine the food was incredible

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

Our server Hil was excellent but he was over-worked. The food was good but the noise level was high and inspite of booking through Open Table we got a booth facing the kitchen - which had an open doorway. Unpleasant.
Won't go there again and the check was high for the overall experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Late Mother's Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

Loved the food! It was a great experience and would recommend eating there to anyone.

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

Great and innovative tasting menu blending brunch favorites with the usual great tapas

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

I am a long time fan of Jaleo DC. Excellent food.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

Fantastic Experience, wrote down wrong time for reservation and arrived an hour after reservation time. Hostess was great and had a table for 7 for us in 15 mins. This is probably our main go to place when in DC. Food, drinks and service cannot be beaten.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Delicious ! Plus added bonus of dining at a foosball table - so fun! However the waiter's suggestion of 3-4 dishes per person yielded way too much food

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was splendid service was swift. Did the chefs selection and enjoyed not knowing what was coming next. I didn't care for the paella. Tasted burnt but everything else was fresh and good

Tags: Business Meals, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent pre-theater dining and cocktails, fabulous flavors!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 6 days ago

Went here to celebrate a birthday.

Amazing service.

Tried the tasting menu. Food was interesting, and ok. Nothing too spectacular, but perhaps the michelin-star crowd would love this place. Some of the plating was weird and funny. Not sure if they replaced dessert taste(s) with a flan cake to celebrate the birthday, or if it was added free, but it was a nice touch.

Drink menu is nice.

Ambience…the decor is weird, but whatever, we came to eat.

This is the first time in my life spending over $150 for dinner for 2. So with that said, the value to me was not as good as it could have been somewhere less expensive.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

I guess not exactly a place to go when it's lunchtime. When it gets busy extremely slow Service and food came out late. However food was delicious. Can't have everything I guess.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 7 days ago

Some things to remember at this restaurant. The theme is Spanish/Tapas. Just like Spain, nothing is fast - so expect a leisurely meal. Your server will stop by and give you your menus...and then you wait. You might get some bread and probably some water...and then you wait. When you order your drinks...you wait. Nothing fast happens at this restaurant.

All that said, the food is creative, fresh and wonderful. My suggestion is to use that wait time efficiently by figuring out all of the items you want to order and when you can, order at once. Your tapas (or whatever you order) will not come out at the same time, which is great - you can eat/taste one item and then the next one comes out. If you are going to order a few, then wait...well...you get the picture.

Ambiance of the restaurant is really creative. Great wall art and super cool tables/booths. The place has a very energetic vibe.

I highly suggest making a reservation during peak times as the night we were there, they wouldn't take walk-ins.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Casual, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined 7 days ago

Dinner was delicious and service was outstanding. Our group of 4 had 3 pitchers of white Sangria, enjoyed every bite of our food and had a wonderful evening.

Tags: Fun, Quick Bite, Vegan, Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

Fantastic food, wine and service. Our favorite place to take out of town guests

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent food! Excellent drinks. However, the AC did not work by the bar so it was very hot inside

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 17, 2017

The food was really good. We did the pre theater menu before seeing MacBeth and loved it. I am not much of a dessert person and should have not ordered it. But the rest of the menu was delicious and saw other dishes I would like to order next time

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Healthy, Hot Spot, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 17, 2017

One of Washington's best! Wow! So pleased with the quality of the food, from the first course to the last. Excellent!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Vegan, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Fun, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Pre-theater fixed price menu is always a good value and delicious to boot

There was a glitch with my drink order and I already received an email apology from the manager an offer of compensation on my next visit--which will be very soon--Thank You

Tags: Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 16, 2017

I am a long-time customer, most often at the Jaleo in Bethesda. All Jaleos have great food and fine service. The biggest problem is the noise level. It is simply too damn noisy for extended serious conversation. When my wife and I eat at Jaleo with friends, we have dinner there and go elsewhere for a quiet dessert and coffee.

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Jaleo does not disappoint. The wide variety of food is delicious and it's fun to share and experiment. The chicken fritters and garlic shrimp are always amazing and the salads are a refreshing way to balance the meal. I find that the waitstaff and the busboys are all very pleasant and add to the positive experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 15, 2017

It was a wonderful dining experience. The service was excellent, the food delicious, authentic and inspired. An excellent value for the money, definitely worth to try. Also the decor was very cool, the music pretty good and the atmosphere lively. Reservations are highly recommended to avoid waiting since the place can get pretty crowded

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Quick Bite, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Fun, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 15, 2017

The seats at this Jaleo are stained and off-putting. Recommend change seating upholstery or get new seats. Also, though tables are clean, they are worn, dented and tatty.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Fantastic service and truly authentic Spanish cuisine (with some served with interesting twists) reasonably priced - Highly recommended - Try the deconstructed olives

Tags: Good for a Date, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We had the Jaleo experience. All in all the food was excellent. Some of the wait times between courses was too long and the paella was a disappointment. The sangria likewise was excellent. Desert was very nice as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Outstanding food, good service, good value for DC. I went with two friends and we had....two of the sausage plates, some hanger steak, some pork, some rabbit...all the meats were tender, juicy, and incredibly flavorful.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

went for a graduation dinner. The food and service was wonderful.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

It's become kind of a Mother's Day tradition for my mom and I. We frequently dine at one of the area Jaleo restaurants during the year but the last couple of years we've dined here specifically on Mother's Day. (Last year we went to Jaleo in Bethesda). Today, as usual, the food is always simply delicious! Our server was great and The rose at the conclusion of the meal is always a very elegant and considerate touch for my Mom. I'll also add (I don't think I've mentioned it In my other reviews) I totally LOVE the renovations/interior design and the women's bathroom interiors were so entertaining!

Shawn Miller.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Jaleo is my favorite restaurant in Washington, DC. Only objection is that the music was so loud it interfered with conversation. The food was superb and so was the service. it is a lovely place.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Special Occasion, Tapas, Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Loved the tasting menu that our table did! The food was delicious and innovative.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 13, 2017

This was my second time visiting this restaurant in a month and I already can't wait to go back. The servers are extremely knowledgeable of the menu and give fantastic recommendations. The sangria is one of my favorite sangrias that I have tried. Splitting a pitcher is cost effective and delicious! The food is out of this world. It is fresh, authentic, and the perfect size for ordering many different tapas and sharing. I am a vegetarian but went with two meat eaters and we were all very, very happy.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Fun, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Family Style, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Authentic, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Vegan, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Still great after all these years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Food was amazing! But getting seated was an issue. Arrived early for our reservation. Sat at bar for drinks. Still took an hour beyond our reservation time to get seated.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Great, as always. Special mention for service staff: accommodated our 20-min-late arrival (traffic on a rainy night), dealt cheerfully and efficiently on a packed night, with both a Wiz-Celtics game and Macbeth practically nest door, didn't push us to leave.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Visiting D.C. With family. Great dishes to share.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Jaleo is an easy choice if you are in/near Chinatown. Food and drinks are interesting and good.

Tags: Live Sports, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 10, 2017

AMAZING both food and service!!!!

Tags: Tapas, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Went with a group of girls for a friend's birthday (8 of us total) and had a great time. Service was prompt and staff was attentive to the birthday girl. Great for large groups.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.