About Jackson's Bistro Bar & Sushi

Jackson’s Bistro Bar & Sushi opened on Harbour Island in 1997 and has been witness to a rapidly changing downtown Tampa. Because it is locally owned and independently managed, Jackson’s can keep up with the demands of an ever evolving Tampa and deliver the upscale experience and tremendous value that our Guests demand.

601 S Harbour Island Blvd.
Tampa, FL 33602
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Sunday Brunch: 10:30am - 2:30pm
Lunch: Monday - Saturday 11:00am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Franklin/Channelside

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(813) 277-0112

Website:
http://jacksonsbistro.com/

Entertainment:
Friday Night Happy Hour- Live Entertainment

Saturday Night – Tampa’s Biggest House Party
Jackson’s sexiest night brings a South Beach vibe to Tampa. The music is provided by local and guest DJ’s who mix up the hottest and most current trends. Jackson’s sleek and swanky style is the perfect place to get your house music fix. VIP tables and cabanas are available nightly.

Saturday Latin Nights are sure to get you dancing! The music starts at 10pm and plays inside the Backjack's Lounge and outside on the Terrace.

Parking Details:
Parking is available in the garage below the restaurant and we can validate for the first two hours. Each additional hour is $5 per hour. (Parking garage is owned by a separate company.) On Friday and Saturday evenings there is valet parking available.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Whether you’re organizing a business lunch presentation, rehearsal dinner or a memorable event, let Jackson’s do everything to create an unforgettable experience for every one of your guests. We combine the perfect venue with our attention to detail and offer a waterfront location with spectacular views- making Jackson's the ideal destination for all your event needs. Whatever you imagine for your event, we're here to help you realize your dreams.

We'll help you every step of the way, from planning and budgeting to coordinating the day or night. We'll personalize the menu that is right for your event and when requested we offer pre-event tastings. Events come together here! Celebration, Corporate, Group Activity, Presentation, Reception, Seated Meal, Wedding, Workshop.























Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Thank you for your interest in Jackson’s Bistro Bar & Sushi for your event! Jackson’s Bistro is a waterfront restaurant with a great view of Tampa Bay and Downtown Tampa. We have space available for groups of any size, from ten people to over 500!

Jackson's Bistro Bar & Sushi Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (86)
Waterfront (83)
Great for Outdoor Dining (76)
See All
Good for a Date (49)
Special Occasion (47)
Romantic (37)
Good for Groups (37)
Casual (33)
Worth the Drive (32)
Good for Anniversaries (32)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Great for Brunch (26)
Hot Spot (25)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Business Meals (23)
Fun (21)
People Watching (20)
Sunday Lunch (20)
Notable Wine List (20)
Bar Seating (19)
Great for Lunch (18)
Modern Decor (18)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Happy Hour (18)
Comfort Food (15)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Healthy (14)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Cozy (12)
Tasting Menu (12)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Kid-friendly (10)
Authentic (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Late-night Find (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
Seasonal (7)
Family Style (7)
Private Room (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Historic (4)
Great Beer (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Dancing (3)
Live Sports (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Tapas (2)
Live Music (2)
Vegan (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Organic (1)
Spicy (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
S
1374 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 6 days ago

Awesome location and view from the outside deck. Food was great and our server very accommodating and friendly.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

We have dined at Jackson's many times. The first time we were impressed. However, the restaurant has declined over time in nearly all aspects. We had a reservation. Yet stood at the hostess stand for nearly 30 minutes watching the chaos in the dining area. Every empty table was filthy. It was a sea of dirty plates and glassware. Just aweful. When the hostess found a way to clear a table and seat us, the booth was as she considered "clean." Gnats were flying around under the table and food remnants were covering the bench seats. We moved to a different booth. Had to get our own beverage from the bar. I asked to speak to the manager. When she finally arrived, I told her off the Gnats, dirtiest tables and floors, trouble being seated due to all tables being dirty and noone cleaning them, which she should be fully aware of anyway, showed her the creamers on the table that included open ones from past diners. She didn't even look at the Gnats, said very little. I had to ask her to remove the used creamers as she started to just walk off like whatever. She cared less. The busboy sat the dirty wet cloth on top of the utensil set ups. Her mismanagement is causing the disintegration of the restaurant and filth. She could have cared less. The food quality has plummeted. The choc fountain area was gross. Dirty. The eggs Benedict wasnt cooked. Raw eggs. Thr food quality was sub oar and noone was keeping the buffwt area clean and managed. The carving station was a mess. Food was minimal in the serving trays. Save your money, DO NOT make a reservation at this dirty, mismanaged , over priced place. Oystercatchers is wonderul!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 6 days ago

We went for Sunday brunch. It was an enjoyable time while looking at the sights on the water. Food was fresh, tasty and plentiful.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 6 days ago

Enjoyed the food and ambiance. Great value for price but feel price should include at least one nonalcoholic drink.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Paleo Friendly, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 7 days ago

Birthday but after

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 7 days ago

Food was great and our service was excellent. There was a table full of teenagers there who were very loud. I don't know how the restaurant could have helped it, but they were very very loud. They were seated inside. The bread is amazing. Sushi delicious. We enjoyed our dinner and will be back next time we go to Tampa!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 19, 2017

The food and wine were very good. The service was very poor. The waiter barely gave us any attention. We had to ask for water refills. Our entrees came out immediately upon the appetizers. We had eaten here before and the service had been great. It was disappointing.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Key West)·Dined on May 19, 2017

We had an enjoyable dinner, although the table we were seated at was not the best as it was by the door all the servers use to enter and exit the patio, also next to the prep line where the food comes out. Our server seemed to be overwhelmed and not to attentive. Over all we would go back, but we would be more specific to the location of our table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 18, 2017

The food was great ... Period. My colleague had crab cakes and I had the swordfish (almond crusted) and we both said they were great. Place was a touch noisy, and we wished we had opted for outside in the end, but that was because the evening turned very pretty. It does have a expansive waterfront dining area.

Tags: Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 18, 2017

My boyfriend and I had a great time at Jacksons! We both had never been and wanted to try a new place. I can say we will be back, we found our new fav spot!

Tags: Romantic, People Watching, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Great waterfront location with vibrant atmosphere. Dining outside was pleasant and scenic, with the waterfront traffic -- on the water and on foot.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Took my wife for her Mother's Day dinner. Food, server, and atmosphere was worth the time spent.

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This was my first time going to Jacksons the food was good a little pricey but really good, service was okay!

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Came here with some friends at 5:00 (our reservation time). There was not many people when we entered, especially for a Saturday night, but it quickly picked up. The servers seemed to have no problem with the increase of guests, did not affect the time or anything for us. The food was great and I will definitely be visiting again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Food was on par but not good. Definitely not worth the money. We were told there would be a 30 min wait for outside seating but over half the tables were empty outside. Great location but that's about it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 12, 2017

We booked a reservation for our 5th Anniversary and requested a table down by the water. Due to traffic we ran a little late but called ahead to let them know. When we arrived they took us outside and sat us outside by the door where all the servers walk in and out of with a lot of foot traffic. After requesting to move twice, we finally got a 2 top table down by the water where we originally wanted to be. Much more quiet and romantic (as requested). Our server was great and the food was excellent. Despite the seating issue, and no acknowledgement of our anniversary, we had a great time. I would definitely recommend going for a date night, just maybe not a special occasion.

Tags: Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 10, 2017

As always, Jackson's food quality and service was excellent. Great spot for business lunch.

Tags: Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Waterfront, Business Meals, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Authentic, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Casual, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Great food! Great service! Just a Great place! Made reservations which made things go really smooth. My fiance took me for a lunch date in celebration of nurses week. Drinks were amazing and sushi was second to none. Im sure you can see i was really impressed by Jackson's!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The food was fantastic. We split one appetizer, one salad and one entree and it was plenty for two people. The view of the waterfront was delightful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Casual, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Great sushi and beautifully plated. The chicken Marsala was also wonderful. The grouper was tasty, but over cooked.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Great service, our server Scott was great as well as the rest of staff. Food was excellent I had the Swordfish which was cooked perfectly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Everything was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Jackson's has a wide variety of options. Two of us ate sushi (I highly recommend the Happy Sumo add avocado). The sushi was very fresh and prepared well. Not too much rice vinegar on the rice. The spring rolls are excellent. Make sure you wrap the roll with the lettuce, mint, and carrot that comes on the plate. Their salads are quite large and filled with toppings. Our waiter was excellent - he had several great recommendations (like adding avocado and wrapping the spring rolls) and was very attentive. Never had bad service or food at Jackson's!

Tags: Waterfront, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Great Beer, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 2, 2017

We had a great time. Very good service and delicious food!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Great food and service! A favorite restaurant of ours when we are in Tampa!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Reliable riverfront location. Food was good as was the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We have been to the Sunday Brunch many times and have been very pleased. We have never gone at 1:00 before. Some of the food was warm at best and the rest was cold...very disappointing. If going to the Brunch I would recommend going before noon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Not bad food was good. Nice location and good ambiance. Consider having bottomless drinks for brunch and it would make it a lot better .

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Great ambiance and good service but the food was average. Best thing was coconut shrimp appetizers,Very good. Fish was cold and tasteless. Very nice people and were willing to please there customers.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Service was awful! People seated after us but served before us. Food blah!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 24, 2017

My wife and I have been to Jackson's in the past, when we come to Tampa for a show at the Arena. This usually means we are on a short time line and in a hurry. However this time we decided to make reservations, get a seat by the water and enjoy the food and view. This is how you fall in love with Jackson's . The menu is lengthy, the sushi choices are endless and the view by the water is fantastic. However, the food, whatever you decide is outstanding. So much so we went twice over our three days, even skipping visiting our other favorite Tampa restaurant. My choice the second night was crusted swordfish which was by far better than I have ever had, including Sicily! The cut was thick, cooked perfectly and had just the most delicious sauce added. My wife had sushi both nights and claimed it was the best she ever had. If ever someone is in Tampa and wants to treat themselves to a truly fantastic dinner and time go to Jackson's, they even provide parking.

Tags: Waterfront, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Loved it. Had everything you want in a place for lunch.

Tags: Fun, Scenic View, Casual, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Food very good. Joseph our waiter outstanding. Be sure to make reservation as kitchen can get backed up on concert nights.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Our view was amazing. Sunday morning brunch perfection. Get the buffet!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 21, 2017

We sat outside to watch the sunset. The food was very good. The service was adequate but not speedy. Of course Florida moves a tad slower overall. The waiter did have a personality which made up for some of his slowness.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 19, 2017

went for lunch with a coworker. Enjoyed the food and the view. i had the asian salad whith scallops instead oc chicken and my coworker had blacked salmon salad. we sa outside and it was a beautiful day. my only complaint would be that no one offered to refill our drinks which were iced tea and a water. will definetly return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Romantic, Private Room, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Waterfront, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Lots of large groups mixed with couples but intimate setting overlooking the beautiful riverfront. I had an excellent vegetarian option (garden root vegetables with black rice) while hubby had a juicy ribeye steak with a side of lobster mac n cheese. Attentive and fast service, glasses kept full.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We opted for selections from their specialty drink menu and a salad along with several choices from the sushi menu. Topped off with key lime pie and amatetto gelato. No regrets. A flavorful dinner with a beautiful water view, watching kayakers, tour boats and cruise ships, and an unbeatable sunset.
Great dining.

Tags: Hot Spot, Waterfront, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 15, 2017

This was my second visit so now I'm noticing a pattern which is why I rated the restaurant 3 stars. The staff was nice, food good and everything else was on point except....the service. Both times food took forever to be served. The first time the server forgot I ordered an appitizer. This last visit, the server seemed overwhelmed like the previous one. We had to remind him about things a few times and after he came back twice to ask what goes on the check, he still ended up putting someone's meal on my tab. We didn't mention it as he seemed like he had a lot going on. We just worked it out between ourselves. I think the restarunt need more servers so they can have time to be attentive to the customers. Other than that and the bug that was in my drink, I would have given 4 stars. Oh and about the bug, one would have thought that the server would have taken the drink off but he brought another without any kind gestures. That was ok though, I didn't mention it.

Tags: Scenic View, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The service and food was awful. We should have left from the time we walked in the door. We waited in line at the host stand forever. We had a reservation for out side. They tried to seat us inside and when we said we wanted outside they gave us attitude. We ordered sushi and the fish was bad. We ordered 3 different kinds and They tried to add stuff to the sushi to cover up the fact that the fish was old and it just tasted terrible. We also ordered the yellow fin tuna dish. We asked for it raw like the chef recommended and it came out cooked almost all the way through and gray. We sent it back and they brought a new one that wasn't even put on the skillet. We realized after getting the second tuna why it was cooked so much the first time was because the fish was bad and they were trying to cover it up. We didn't eat it because we were afraid that we might get sick from it. My son got the pasta and said it was good. But he also said mine was better. The manager never came over to us to say anything. We will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.