About Jackrabbit

Jackrabbit is a new American restaurant in Portland.

Hilton Portland
830 SW 6th Avenue
Portland, OR 97204
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
BREAKFAST:
MON - FRI: 7AM - 10AM
SAT & SUN: 8AM - 11AM
LUNCH:
EVERY DAY: 11:30AM - 2PM
HAPPY HOUR:
MON - FRI: 2PM - 5PM
DINNER:
SUN - THURS: 5PM - 10PM
FRI & SAT: 5PM - 11PM
LATE NIGHT:
SUN - THURS: 10PM - 11PM
FRI & SAT: 11PM - 12AM

Cross Street:
Taylor St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 412-1800

Website:
http://gojackrabbitgo.com/

Parking Details:
On SW Taylor Street, between 5th & 6th Avenues, inside the Hilton Executive.

Public Transit:
Located a half block from Pioneer Square and the MAX.

Executive Chef:
Chris Diminno

Private Party Facilities:
We have 3 private dining rooms, 2 of which can be combined to accommodate up to 16 guests, and 1 hosting up to 6 guests for more intimate dining experience. Parties of 16 or more can be arranged in our main dining area which can be reserved for semi-private events for various occasions.

Private Party Contact:
Eunji Hong: (855) 497-0720

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Jackrabbit Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (39)
Creative Cuisine (31)
Good for a Date (29)
See All
Special Occasion (27)
Modern Decor (26)
Good for Groups (26)
Business Meals (25)
Local Ingredients (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (20)
Hot Spot (19)
Vibrant Bar Scene (16)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Notable Wine List (15)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Bar Seating (15)
Comfort Food (15)
People Watching (13)
Private Room (12)
Casual (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Seasonal (11)
Family Style (10)
Authentic (10)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Fun (9)
Great for Brunch (8)
Paleo Friendly (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Romantic (5)
Great Beer (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Cozy (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Healthy (3)
Fireplace (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Tapas (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
63 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined 4 days ago

When we realized Jackrabbit was located within a Hilton Hotel we were expecting a typical hotel-style menu. But Jackrabbit's menu turned out to be interesting and creative and our shared lunch was wonderful -- cauliflower first poached in duck fat and then grilled, and a lovely Nicoise salad with ultra-fresh tuna. Our server was first class and after lunch showed the highlights of the remodeled space, which includes a couple of private dining spaces.

Tags: Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The service was outstanding. Our waitress was very attentive. The food was really excellent too. Prices were a little high for what you receive. For example, breakfast sandwich was 11-12 dollars and all it is is an English muffin with eggs, bacon and cheese. No sides. Probably not worth that much, you can get a better breakfast sandwich for less at other places in Portland. However, their cocktails were delicious and the oysters were incredible.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Our server Dana was amazing and the gem salad is insane.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great food and wonderful service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on May 10, 2017

The entire team from management to wait staff to the bar is great! Attentive, social without lingering, spot on. Special shout out to David Foulke and Corrina, great service. We will be back.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Going to Portland for a professional conference, I decided to find a special restaurant to enjoy on my last evening there. I was not disappointed! The menu had ample choices, variety, and flavors for anyone. While we had some dietary restrictions, the wait staff was incredibly helpful, checking with the chef to ensure we would be avoiding our known allergens. We did eye the the roasted pig head (too much for the two of us to eat) and we settled on the Manila clams, "hot mess" (pig's feet, fois gras, rhubarb sauce), duck fat cauliflower, broccolini with prosciutto vinaigrette, and endive/pear salad with hazelnuts. To finish we had some delicious digestively satisfying mint tea. The dining room and adjacent bar and living room style lounge overlook the 6th Street light rail trains, which were barely audible inside.

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We ordered the Pinbone steak Black & Blue, it came to our table so over cooked it was like eating a baseball glove. The waitress was pretending it wasn't over cooked. I told the manager about the food and he promptly took it away and had a new one brought to the table. My issue was the manager James didn't even come back to see if the 2nd steak was okay. He would walk by our table and not even acknowledge our table. Last but not least the 2nd steak was better but they changed the sides to something from the first over cooked steak. The dessert was great, but overall a horrible experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We were excited to try this restaurant, but ultimately left a bit disappointed. We had hoped to try the lunch menu but apparently they serve brunch on Saturday afternoons, and most of the brunch items are more breakfast than lunch in nature. It wasn't a busy time and there were a ton of staff, but service was painfully slow. It look close to 15 minutes for some to even take our order, then our food came out around 25 minutes after that. My pasta was overcooked and clumped together - nothing special. Everything on the menu was reasonably priced, but in my opinion the taste didn't live up to expectations. With so many other good looking restaurants in the city, I won't be back here.

Tags: Cozy, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 6, 2017

A refreshing change from the ordinary! So many great selections to chose from. We will definitely be going back to try more.

Tags: Quick Bite, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Jackrabbit is fantastic. Four of us shared the Pin Bone, which was a feast of three types of steak, some veggies and dipping sauces, served magnificently on a board. Delicious! We also had the cauliflower roasted in duck fat, tasty. Not to mention some nice cocktails. Great service, and the room is lovely--take some time to look around at the bunny collection.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Food was good. Server was good. The sommelier could use improvement.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Every time I go in, I find a rabbit hidden somewhere I didn't see the previous time! The wait staff is amazing. Very attentive but not instructive. They are also extremely knowledgeable about the menu. I've asked for wine recommendations with my meals and they have always been spot-on and can speak to the grapes, region grown, etc. The bar is fun late night to enjoy their inventive cocktails. I once tried a cocktail with beet juice in it (I never would have gone for that) because the bartender talked me into it.....It was amazing and one of my favorites! And, of course, the food is delicious and such a fun menu to sample. You can easily do a bunch of smaller plates for the table or do the traditional entree ordering and be very satisfied. You can't go wrong ordering whatever the special of the day is. Perfect place to go before or after (they have a late night menu) a show at the Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall which is an easy block or two walk away. I met the chef he is especially excited about the new brunch menu (I haven't been for brunch...yet!) so just go ahead and book a table with them already!

Tags: Good for Groups, Tapas, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Paleo Friendly, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 2, 2017

MGT is asleep at the wheel.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Ambiance was nice, service was good, but unfortunately the food was very disappointing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Was in PDX for a conference and was looking for somewhere exciting to eat and found a C Consentino restaurant- jackrabbits. My mouth watered when I read the menu items and later convinced my colleagues to join me.

We walked a few blocks and first thing I noticed was the amazing bar that blends into the adjacent hotel.
For appetizer ordered the beef heart tartar, pig ears and endive salad (the later was for the less adventurous folks with me ;-).
Tartar was excellent- was expecting it to be more minerally but it was just like regular tartar.
The pig ears were perfect. Thought they would be too chewy but not at all. Spritzed a bit of lime and they were perfect.
Dinner had the blood sausage with osysters and duck egg. The blood sausage was well done but had a bit of a floral taste to it that I wasn't to excited about. It wasn't bad just had have better. Shared it with the cauliflower and those were excellent.

My guest had the halibut and pappardella. Both commented that they loved their meal.

Glad I was able to find this place and if I'm ever in the Portland area again, would definitely come back.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Was the best place for a surprise! Great wait staff who helped make the accommodations for a reunion that will forever be remembered. The food and ambiance was wonderful. It was a great experience. Will go back again!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 25, 2017

I was pleasantly surprised at how together they were considering only being open for a month. Every item we ordered was delicious.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, People Watching, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Jackrabbit hit every expectation we were wanting. The staff right off the bat was accommodating and friendly. Tonya was our server and she was a blast!! The food selection is for the adventurous eater but so tasty! We had the Beef Heart Tartar, Bertha chicken and of course the pigs head! Definitely coming back to try the rest of the menu.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 24, 2017

We found this place while looking for something to eat on one the nights we had nothing planned on our trip to Portland. We were so happy to have stumbled across this new spot. My favorite ingredients include offal and this menu includes plenty of it, and it's all done perfectly. The hams from around the world is a must and so is the hot mess. Have the staff choose a bottle of wine to pair with your meal. We had a good mix of items that we shared and what they chose worked well with everything. The chocolate ganache for dessert with the bone marrow was pretty amazing, too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Beautiful space, ambiance was good but loud, some of the tables are very close to each other, an it was hard to hearothers in our party were saying at times. Interesting menu, some interesting options but limitations as well. They had large platters, like a whole rabbit, it was hard to get 4 people all on board for rabbit, so we ordered a lot to give the options of try lots of things which was fine but ended up being expensive for what it was. The beef heart tare tare was good, rabbit was good, hamburger was good, but nothing was amazing. They also did not provide a bread basket which would have been nice with the rabbit to mop up the juices. The wine list was great but it was hard to find a price point that all were happy with. There should be more options in the $40-$60 range, the list went from $41 to $77 to a bunch of excellent bottles the $90 range, all fabulous choices but not everyone was happy spending that much. The service was very good, our server was great. The sommelier seemed annoyed, and stuffy, not the normal Portland vibe. All and all good new interesting meat restaurant in Portland.

Tags: Family Style, Fun, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Ambience was excellent but service was terrible and awful. I've never gotten such a bad service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on April 23, 2017

The service was very attentive. The portion sizes were generous. The flavors were tantalizing. Many comfort options on menu. I enjoyed my meal wth friends. We were all pleased and would return in the future. I liked their Negroni on tap.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on April 23, 2017

This place had a lot of hype and we were excited about coming here. It's a restaurant out of San Francisco I think but hey are not up to Portland standards. Wine list very weak. No splits on sparkling and poor selection by the glass. The rabbit was solid but for $68? Had to be memorable which it was not Oysters were excellent as were desserts. They have menu items like pigs head which I might go back for but there are so many other better places and superior value. In short, overpriced and ok food and weak wine list which like the rest of the place is overpriced

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We had the best time! Service and food was wonderful!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Organic, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Casual, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We had an amazing brunch at Jackrabbit. We split the Dunaway sandwich and arugula salad... and we also had a side of bacon. The food was outstanding. The sandwich came on a house-made English muffin and the bacon is house-cured. Delicious!! The menu was filled breakfast staples with an interesting twist. I will be back to try more!
Service was great and when we said we were in a hurry the food came quickly and the check was dropped off promptly.
I would not be surprised if this became the new favorite Portland breakfast place!

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 22, 2017

An adventurous menu for sure, loved the around the world in 8 hams, also the house made rigatoni with pork ragu was very tasty.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 21, 2017

I was in Portland on a shirt getaway. I had the European style continental breakfast a well as dinner that evening. The staff is especially friendly and attentive and the food is delicious and beautifully presented. Favorite parts of breakfast included the house-made marmalade and tureen. I enjoyed the "Hot Mess" plate of foie gras and pig's feet (the meat is off the bone, don't worry) with a side of cauliflower. Definitely worth checking out...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on April 20, 2017

I will make this local restaurant a frequent "destination" spot on my list.

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Private Room, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on April 16, 2017

So amazing! This restaurant will not disssapoint. Staff friendly, ambiance great and good divine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We had an AMAZING experience at Jackrabbit. The ambience was country meets modern, and the service was excellent. They have $25 bottomless bellinis with four flavors: passionfruit, pear, strawberry, and mango. They were all delicious!

It seems like they're mainly known for their dinner but we went for brunch. The chicken and waffle dish was great as was the trout. Overall, we had a great experience and would love to come back when we are in town.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Came for Easter from Seattle and Boston , loved the food, the acoustics were amazing even with a full house my sister and I were able to converse at a normal volume. Christy was very helpful when she saw that we were not getting waited on she came right over and took care of us, also saw her interact with other patrons not in her section, a gem for the restaurant..We will recommend this to others heading to Portland.

Tags: Private Room, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 16, 2017

They have stuff on the menu that you might think twice about, like meet and I can or duck fat cauliflower. Don't even think twice, just order it. Order anything on the menu, and you will find it spectacular in someway.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Superb food and a thoughtful, creative wine list, combined with flawless service and a comfortable, inviting space. Portland's best new restaurant.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Private Room, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Had the potential to be amazing, but fell short. Nice cocktails, good apps. The mains (pin bone and rabbit) both fell well short of expectations. The beef was cold, the rabbit overcooked, both dishes under seasoned. I would like to give them a try again in the future after they work the kinks out. For the price being charged, fell short of expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great menu. Diverse mix of meats, vegetables, starters and sides. Everything on the menu looked good and we were happy with the pork belly/crab and the mixed grille. Fun vibe and great service. Would have been nice to have had Head Chef Chris Cosentino around as it is still the 1st month, but oh well. Still highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Few times have I enjoyed a new restaurant this much, normally there's some issue during a soft opening well not this time. Curtis our server had mastered the menu down to the seasonings used. He even weaved a bit of Portland history into his creative description on the menu, what a treat to have this level of service. With his recommendation three of us moved from a more traditional steak to a shared PIN Steak that was not just impressive that every table was looking our way as it was served off the bone on a carving board presentation that was fit for a table in the Game of Thrones. I can't wait to go back!

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Food was medicore and overpriced. Menu selection pretty limited.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 13, 2017

it was a very pleasant experience

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 11, 2017

We went there to celebrate my birthday. The ambiance was great and the decor very beautiful. We shared the batteau, pig ears, meat in a can, and each ordered a cocktail. The food was tasty, but the cocktails were pretty small. You can even bring the can with their label home (from the meat in a can)! We enjoyed the dinner very much!

Tags: Good for a Date, Tapas, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 10, 2017

My husband is. It afraid of "interesting" meat. His dinner included beef tongue and sweetbreads which he swore were delicious. He only wished everything were a little bit warmer. I had the beef tartare and the potatoes. Both were fabulous!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.