About Jackrabbit

Jackrabbit is a new American restaurant in Portland.

Hilton Portland
830 SW 6th Avenue
Portland, OR 97204
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
BREAKFAST: MON - FRI: 7AM - 10AM / SAT & SUN: 8AM - 11AM
BRUNCH: SAT & SUN 8AM-2PM
LUNCH: MON-FRI: 11:30AM - 2PM
HAPPY HOUR: MON - FRI: 2PM - 5PM
DINNER: SUN - THURS: 5PM - 10PM/FRI & SAT: 5PM - 1030PM
LATE NIGHT:SUN - THURS: 10PM - 11PM/FRI & SAT: 1030PM - 1130PM

Cross Street:
Taylor St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 412-1800

Website:
http://gojackrabbitgo.com/

Parking Details:
On SW Taylor Street, between 5th & 6th Avenues, inside the Hilton Executive.

Public Transit:
Located a half block from Pioneer Square and the MAX.

Executive Chef:
Chris Diminno

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

We have 3 private dining rooms, 2 of which can be combined to accommodate up to 16 guests, and 1 hosting up to 6 guests for more intimate dining experience. Parties of 16 or more can be arranged in our main dining area which can be reserved for semi-private events for various occasions.

Jackrabbit Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (27)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Good for a Date (18)
See All
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Special Occasion (15)
Bar Seating (13)
Casual (12)
Business Meals (11)
Fun (11)
Good for Groups (11)
Local Ingredients (11)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Romantic (8)
Authentic (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
People Watching (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Seasonal (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Cozy (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Great Beer (2)
Organic (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
122 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 3 days ago

I went here on a date with my wife. We loved the atmosphere, the fancy hardwood paneling and furnishings and the chandeliers made of bike frames. Our server, Kim, I think, was very attentive. The food was fantastic. I had the trout and my wife ordered the papardelle with lamb. The dessert was probably the best I've had in a year or two.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 4 days ago

I was fairly disappointed with my dinner at Jack Rabbit as was my friend that was visiting from out of town. The cost for the two of us to have dinner with one drink each, no appetizers, no desert was $95. Unfortunately for that price I expected something amazing on my plate. I had the Roasted chicken and ordered a side of Duck fat cauliflower; my friend had the trout. Both dishes were mediocre at best. Service was pretty good and probably the best thing about dining here. I won't go back nor will I recommend it to anyone. For almost $100 for two to dine I expect amazing food and amazing service. I didn't get either.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Portland has a short list of true special occasion restaurants, and nothing as new and interesting as Jackrabbit. It is not just a special occasion restaurant but one that serves as a great place for a shareable downtown dinner too. I've had three full meals, a happy hour and a lunch there, and the food always took center stage as being unique or uniquely prepared. We had the braised rabbit, which was very satisfying. The peach and tomato salad was a refreshing departure from the tired omnipresent caprese salad as a service point for the fresh tomatoes. The combination with local peaches was great. When you get tired of SE Portland and the casual dining scene, try Jackrabbit. (I don't work there)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Portions were small and they were out of a few things, but overall a solid meal. Our server was great too

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Pricey. Good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Had a wonderful dinner at Jackrabbit. The menu is reflects the season, the food is amazing, and the portions were really large! Mostly, I can't say enough about the excellent service we received. Our waitress was so nice and very knowledgeable and the main reason we want to go back... (Or maybe it's because of the corn crème brulee we had for dessert??? So delicious and creative!)

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Food was tasty and beautiful. A lot to be desired with regards to service; our server was not at all friendly or personable, and she didn't check up on us once.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 20, 2017

Great food, attentive service and sensitive to our theater time. The hamburger dripped with deliciousness.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 18, 2017

Pighead was amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Awesome service food was amazing would recommend it to anybody

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Hip feels and eclectic menu items. The simple is elevated to a fance standard that you feel elegant, but in a man cave.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 12, 2017

My wife and I had heard good things about Jackrabbit from a customer and we had concert tickets nearby for our anniversary, so we booked a table for dinner that night.

First the good news: my wife's $30 trout was delicious. It was cooked whole, with a crispy skin and perfectly done meat. We also had a tomato and peach salad that we enjoyed a lot. Our server was nice and helped us navigate a menu that we found a little puzzling. Maybe because we weren't looking for a world tour of ham, we weren't that excited about most of the offerings.

The not so good news: I finally decided to get the "antique style" burger, because nothing else on the menu looked like where I wanted to invest $30 and the burger was *only* $17. Well, it was not the best burger ever. Not even close. Never mind that while I ordered it done medium rare and it was a shade past medium, the meat was not so much ground as chopped (hence the antique style I guess) and the chopped up chunks were kind of chewy. The meat also lacked seasoning or smoky grilled flavor so it didn't have a lot to offer. The best part was the pickled onions and cucumber to put on top.

While the atmosphere and service were good, we didn't see any reason we would return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Delicious food and cocktails. Wonderful service. Nice atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Jackrabbit looks very promising and probably choosing to brunch here was the wrong move. The dinner menu looks so much better than brunch. Jackrabbit has ways to go as a new restaurant to make their brunch experience worthwhile .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Portland has a very dynamic restaurant vibe, so one expects s new entry to have something unique to offer. I found Jackrabbit to lack in many ways: the menu for lunch was very limited ( touted as a brunch menu, which doesn't bide well for business lunches); and the selection I had was one step up from fast food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

We were taken a back some from the host who was attempting to be funny but overall fell flat a few times.

Our server was wonderful! She was attentive and informative and a great personality!

This was my second visit and overall the food was just okay this time. My sandwich was fairly bland. The ambiance is what I love about the restaurant.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Excellent brunch options

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 21, 2017

A little rough around the edges. Service had some problems. Food was ok, nothing special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
·Dined on August 21, 2017

I had friends staying at the Hilton and met them for dinner at Jackrabbit. This was my first time dining there and I will definitely be returning! The food was absolutely amazing. Different, edgy, packed with flavor and the vibe was great! We loved it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Horrible we walked out waited 45 minutes and the food never came

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 16, 2017

The food was wonderful. I had the lamb ragu and it was delicious. The pasta was perfectly done, and the cocktails were a huge hit with our table.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 15, 2017

New and fun spot in PDX - definitely worth a try! Creative and different from many other restaurants in the are....great bar scene!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Service was not very friendly, had to serve the pig's head ourselves, no one told us what to do

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Super noisy when we were there. Food was ok, but we were recommended with lots of foods, there's no way to finish them...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Really enjoyed our experience at Jackrabbit! Under $400 for 4 people including cocktails, 8 hams appetizer, 2 yummy salads, nice bottle of local red, pin bone steak platter, roasted cauliflower, 2 tasty desserts, cappuccinos AND the TIP! Considering the quality of the meal, the excellent service and the fun pdx atmosphere, we felt like the price was right. Would definitely go again.

Tags: Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

I had beet salad and nicoise salad. My guest had green salad and oysters. Clearly I made the wrong choices. The beets were dressed in vinegar only which covered any roasted flavor, the cheese did not have smoke as described and the presentation was unimpressive with a small pile in a deep soup bowl. The menu descriptions are impressive and the actual product a total let down. The nicoise salad was a total disappointment. My expectation from the menus was to have some cooking or sear on the tuna (described as tuna confit), but it was raw and cold and had a very strong fish flavor. To the chef's credit on this salad the other components were very good and the presentation was impressive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 23, 2017

If you like ham, this is the place to go. If you like a variety of wines, this is not. Good service - very friendly, great food and an interesting mix of cocktails.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Answering all the silly OpenTable questions just go here, you'll enjoy it.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 16, 2017

I've been here twice now, once for an office lunch and once for a Sunday brunch before a matinee at the opera. Both time the food and drinks have been amazing! I was slightly disappointed that the brunch offerings were more limited than the week day lunch offerings, and they were out of a few things we wanted, but there was still plenty of tasty food to be had. Particularly stellar are the Nicoise salad and the Zucchini waffle. While the restaurant was busy and moderately noisy during the business lunch, at brunch time, things were calm and quiet, so definitely a good place to go for brunch if you want to enjoy conversation as well as your food.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Jackrabbit was such a fun find. I am from Orange County, CA and my boyfriend is from Oregon and he found this for us and I am so glad he did. The vibe is casual but the restaurant looks very trendy. Something I can tell about this restaurant is that they take pride in the service they provide to their guests. Our server, Corinna, was informative, friendly, professional, and genuine. She took the time to guide us through the mildly confusing menu and made excellent recommendations. The menu, as stated above was quite confusing and needs to be rewritten. The calligraphy on the headings hurt was not clear. However, the food was amazing! The porkbelly bacon dish tasted fabulous, the rigatoni was so flavorful, and the Vietnamese spice poke thing we ordered as an appetizer just filled my mouth with flavor. Make sure to order a specialty cocktail and save room for dessert. Next time we am in the Portland area, we will be visiting!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Organic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Vegan, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Great Beer, Disabled Access, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Blown away a 2nd time! We've visited twice since they opened and both times it has been such a glorious treat. Spectacular, inventive food, rich and generous portions, very meat driven. DO try things outside your comfort zone (beef heart tartare anyone?) DO ask what's available that's not on the menu (a monster platter of 4 cuts of pork and two huge dungeness crabs with a spicy "devil sauce"). May I recommend finishing the night with a side for a desert - the taleggio grilled cheese with honey! Great service from David and others in the crew - thanks for a great night out!

Tags: Fun, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Interesting different take on steak houses... instead of sharing small plates, you share huge plates and it's an innovative way to split a expensive cut of bee with a group... very fun, I'll be back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, People Watching, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 7, 2017

GREAT meal! One of the best we've ever eaten in a restaurant. The bacon chop was excellent and my husband LOVED the trout. Very accommodating with gluten free needs for our daughter. So happy we were able to eat there while we visited Portland.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Th music was load and they were playing rap/ hip hop...they did turn it down when we requested; the acoustics are not good for that kind of music.

Otherwise, the experience was the. very best. The food is unique; very creative flavor sand textures. Love the nose to tail approach. The menu affords opportunities for the experienced offal fan, those who wish to experiment and those who wish to avoid the innards approach.

The creativity and thoughtfulness of each dish is remarkable. Desserts were complimentary to the meal and were remarkably creative! The pastry chef is an unknown but she will rise to fame!

This is world class food; another great find in portland. We'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Loved the flight of hams, bacon chop

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Looked for a new downtown location for a quick lunch. Chris Constantino's Jackrabbit, although touted as in the Hilton Hotel, is really a free standing eatery on corner of SW6th and Taylor. Access through door on SW6th. Contemporary setting, full bar, meat-centric menu. My pan seared cauliflower in duck fat (not too greasy!) was perfect accompaniment to the gnocchi in sage butter, both $7. Reasonable for the amount of food presented. Two people could share the cauliflower. Great service. Would definitely try it for dinner when back in Portland.

Tags: Bar Seating, Quick Bite, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Outstanding food, great menu.
Our server Dana was great, very knowledgeable about the menu and the wine list. Will definitely come here again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 29, 2017

We have been watching this place since we decided to go on vacation to the Pacific Northwest earlier this year. It did not disappoint. The 8 hams around the world app was spectacular and I had the best roast chicken I have ever had. We also saw the owner Chef Chris Cosentino.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 26, 2017

The braised rabbit dish is amazing. Do not miss it.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Food was beautifully prepared and flavors were very palatable, however nothing stood out as exceptional. The menu seems too creative for lunch. There are very few "standard" lunch items (salad / sandwiches). My lunch companion had the pork belly sandwich which he enjoyed. I had the chilled green soup and the Tombo Crudo. The flavors in the Tombo Crudo were quite well balanced and it was the definite stand out of the meal. The server forgot our side order and offered to bring a dessert. When the bill came, both desserts were charged which did not leave a great final impression. Overall, the food was good but overall value was lacking and service could be improved.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.