Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 2 times today

J.Devoti Trattoria

4.6
747 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Farm-to-table
Top Tags:
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Special Occasion
  • Local Ingredients
A Farm-to-Table Italian Restaurant which concentrates on the flavors of our region by using quality ingredients from neighboring farms. Our mission is to bring our guests back to a time where you knew where your food came from as well as the farmers that worked so hard to raise sustainable and ethical products. The menus change daily to reflect what is in season and available locally. We pride ourselves on everything we do in house:
Pasta, Butchering, Charcuterie, Condiments, Pickles, Bread and Desserts.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Farm-to-table, Italian, Contemporary Italian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Bar
Wed, Thu 4:00 pm–9:00 pm
Fri, Sat 4:00 pm–10:00 pm
Dinner
Wed, Thu 5:30 pm–9:00 pm
Fri, Sat 5:30 pm–10:00 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(314) 773-5553
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Anthony Devoti
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Large parties up to 50 people for a seated dinner and cocktail parties up to 75 people. We have the space to accommodate a small party or meeting for up to 14 at our CHEF'S TABLE.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Bonnie Devoti: (314) 773-5553
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Our partnership with local farmers allows us to offer a large selection of appetizers and desserts created with fresh, seasonal ingredients. Dinner selections can also be designed with your personal input through our catering manager.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Hereford
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Ample street parking is available in this quaint Hill neighborhood.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Metro Transit stops are available within 2 blocks of our location.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
We host 5-course wine dinners once a month. Please sign up on our website to join our email list for more information.
Additional
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 747 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.6
service
4.5
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Quiet
88% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined a day ago

Excellent transformation to the new venue. We ate on the patio, selecting small plates - Caessr salad with egg, giant meatball and a vegetable medley on flat bread. Our chocolate cone dessert with espresso ice cream was delicious. The noticeably fresh farm to table ingredients make this restaurant superb. Will definitely return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Jason was an amazing server. My girlfriend didn’t know what wine to get and he made an excellent recommendation for her that she very much enjoyed!
Also getting a complimentary first course and cookie at the end of the meal was a great touch!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 16, 2018

Our waiter was new and didn't have a good rhythm for the meal yet. There were three overly long pauses in service, and, although I love the two friends I was with, I hadn't planned to spend two and a half hours with them for a mid-week dinner.

The restaurant was playing a satellite music station that, imo, was jarring to the ambiance of the dinner. I love James Brown and his compatriots, but I didn't enjoy listening to 80's dance music while I was eating my delicious linguine and pork ragu.

The manager was working with an engaged couple at the next table on their reception menu. His voice was loud and interrupted my table's conversation every time he delivered another sample to the couple's table. A simple way to avoid that type of guest interruption would be to seat that type of client farther away from other tables or to seat new clients farther away from the sampling couple. There were plenty of empty tables. In the two and a half hours I was there only four tables were occupied.

I can't tell if the restaurant wants to be casual or upscale. The creativity of the dishes, devotion to local ingredients, and prices signal upscale. The lack of training for our waiter, wall treatment (paint that stops in a ragged line a foot or so shy of the ceiling), and music selection signal casual.

I thought the wine list was excellent and I tried two varieties the restaurant provides by the glass. I'd order both again.

I believe J Devoti Trattoria is worth both a first and a second try and I will return!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Great food , very accommodating for menu concerns, Good service Very good wine

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 5, 2018

This restaurant came with a rave review from Feast magazine and I was really excited about the idea of a rebranded and revitalize family eatery. The review boasted about the fresh ingredients that were locally sourced and the ever changing menu. I would call this the perfect example of a great idea with poor execution. The menu was small which I like because this tends to lead to every item being fully refined and helps eliminate the inconsistencies you find with large menu establishments. Again this idea is great in theory but when most of the items are built off the same handful of “fresh” ingredients, you start to wish for a little variety. The complimentary starter was a soggy cracker with what I would describe as deconstructed baby food. My salad was about 8 pieces of lettuce with the croutons on the bottom to give the illusion of a larger portion. This was the first place that I’ve ever encountered that skimped on the SALAD. This is when I started to get the feeling that I was going to be leaving hungry only to stop somewhere else to have an actual meal. The wine had clearly been left with a rubber stopper in it instead of a cork which made for a nice rain boot flavor. The “stuffed” pizza was a piece of bread that was rock hard at the edges and raw at the center with a brush of sauce and some olives as the “topping”. On to the entre. I chose the cheese ravioli which was almost just that, a ravioli. There were 6 pieces smaller than a half dollar with a couple dollops of goat cheese if I remember correctly that were so cold it made the rest of the ravioli all but chilled. I’d decided to throw in the towel and pay the bill early in hopes of grabbing a bite at a trusted favorite. The server was understandably puzzled at our quick departure and brought some complimentary chocolate chip cookies back with my card. These were quarter size,sandy consistency cookies that I opted to toss on the way to the car. I wanted to like this restaurant but was extremely let down

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

We found this little gem by luck when we were in St Louis for a single night last week. Very enjoyable experience! The service was excellent and the food and cocktails were tasty. My husband also enjoyed their local beer list very much!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

We went there for a special family gathering. It was quiet and relaxing. The service was very personal. The food was well proportioned and seasoned. Each entree was light yet flavorful. The food presentation was excellent. We shared each dessert and enjoyed every bite!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Excellent food and service! We especially liked the pasta course I f the Restaurant Week pris fixe menu!! Will beck definitely!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

We brought friends who were visiting from Chicago. They eat out in Chicago a lot and love great food. They raved - the food is amazing but in addition the atmosphere is so wonderful. It is warm, vibrant and welcoming, but perfect for a great conversation with old friends.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 28, 2018

I thought the portions where extremely small. Not worth the tasting price at all. Complete rip off Small portion in a huge plate. I thought it was a joke at first Waitress was excellent though.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Our experience is always top notch. Excellent food, service and atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 27, 2018

Excellent cuisine and great wine list and values

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 27, 2018

This remains a terrific destination for great food, and the noise level allows for conversation. Excellent wine list, too.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 25, 2018

Lovely place! Great food; great ambiance; great service. Will be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Great service and very good unique dishes.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Excellent, first time in new decor - like a lot!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

Lovely evening, great food and drink, stay for dessert!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

So pleasantly surprised by how much my friend and I enjoyed our meal. We ended up sharing 3 courses, and the kitchen staff didn’t just bring an extra plate. Each course was perfectly sized and served individually. The carpaccio melted like butter in the mouth and had the subtle crunch of bread crumbs instead of the typical toast points. Our Cesar salad was nicely chilled and flavorful. We also shared the linguine with clams and could have eaten more. Our waiter never asked if we’d like more wine when our glasses were empty, but was otherwise very attentive. Excellent!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 15, 2018

First time eating at this place and overall the food was very good. The hamburger was excellent although not sure why it did come with fries or a side dish. The Tuna entree was also very good but on the small side. The pizza appetizer was very disappointing however the breads were excellent. Overall a solid meal but they were out of a few dishes and would like to try the pasta next time. I did not give this place 5 stars because the pizza was so mediocre.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 7, 2018

New name for the old Five. Service was great. Food was OK. There are too many other good Italian farm to table restaurants here. $25 corker fee is too high for St Louis. Expensive for what you get. Glad we came but we won't be back. There was nothing really outstanding out of six meals.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Great experience. Staff very professional, friendly, knowledgeable about the menu and attentive without being pesky. Came back with a wonderful wine pairing after we ordered our entrees, for what ended up being a mid-range priced bottle on the menu. Can't wait to try more of their menu!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

We had the best dining experience...the ambiance was great and the food was spectacular! Looking forward to their new re-opening!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 22, 2018

Really great food beautifully presented, lovely 20s atmosphere, friendly staff, not stuffy, good wine... what's not to like?

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

What a terrific restaurant. Excellent food. Excellent service. Excellent environment. It's changing name, menu and decor in 1 week. I hope they retain their essence. Eat here. It's kind of what Niche used to be in spirit, but possessing its own signature. Thanks for a TERRIFIC meal.

-S.C.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Excellent menu yet few choices. Attentive wait staff. Kitchen a bit slow but not drastically so. Amuse bouche and bouche finale were nice touches and delicious!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 9, 2018

Food was fresh and delicious. Service was perfect!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

On the many occasions we have dined here, each time simply brings new tastes and greater experiences than before. The couple we brought with us both spontaneously stated this was the very best meal they have ever had in St. Louis, and they dine out often.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 3, 2018

The restaurant was chilly upon our arrival. The host and wait staff were friendly. All of us had off menu specials.
The food quality and taste was very good. The portion sizes were a bit inconsistent and lacking.
Would be willing to give it another try.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 2, 2018

Love this place! The food is always terrific, as is the service -- such nice people! It's also a huge plus that we can hear each other talk. There are too many places where that is not the case.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2018

We dined here about two days before the change from Five to J. Devoti was announced. While we will miss Five, we are excited about taking our kids with us next time, a possible Sunday dinner and especially lunch once that is offered (hopefully very soon as my husband's office is on The Hill). Can't wait to try the pizza and pastas!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2018

Grandma’ recipes on steroids, in a good way. Loved the focus on great local ingredients. Vegetables played a big role and were absolutely exquisite.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2018

As always, Five Bistro provided amazing service, food, and atmosphere. We'll definitely be back again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

We enjoyed a lovely prix fixe dinner. Each course was delicious and the welcome and service were warm and accommodating.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 15, 2018

We love Five Bistro! It is our go-to restaurant for special occasions or a chance to enjoy delicious, creative food in a place where we can actually hear ourselves talk! Family owned, warm and friendly, always excellent service and food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 15, 2018

As always, Five did an outstanding job on Valentine's Day. Jacob was really helpful with wine pairings.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Five Bistro has become a special, go-to restaurant for us - delicious, creative pleasant and quiet.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 14, 2018

The special dinners they have with wine flights are amazing. Food is beautifully presented and delicious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 10, 2018

Thanks for a wonderful setting for our friends' get-together. Loved the food, the service and the quiet "private" room for our party of eight!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 9, 2018

Awesome farm to table with a flare. Outstanding wine selections as well

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 3, 2018

Our server was very friendly but offered no explanation of why each course took an hour to provide. What we anticipated would be a 90 minute meal took over 3 hours due to painfully long delays between courses. No apologies or explanations were offered by the server or owners. The farm to table concept is nice but not when it is delivered at half speed. The charcuterie plate was excellent, the beet salad was good, the pumpkin soup was bland and under heated, the chicken leg was over salted. A disappointment and not worth the price. Fortunately we were with great friends who brought in their own great wine.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
19

Tweets by J.Devoti Trattoria