About J. Bruner's

5166 Osage Beach Parkway
Osage Beach, MO 65065
View Larger Map

You are invited to experience casual, fine dining at J. Bruner's! Savor steaks and seafood prepared using our exclusive recipes refined over the past thirty-five years. The warm and inviting dining rooms are the perfect setting for weekly casual dining or that special occasion. Enjoy our Red Room Lounge for a cocktail after work, cocktails before dinner, and/or a tasty ice cream drink afterwards. The best table service completes your dining experience, making J. Bruner's the Lake's Classic Steakhouse. Open 365 days a year.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Prime Rib

Hours of Operation:
Red Room Lounge opens daily at 4:30pm.

Dinner served daily year-round: 5:00pm - 9:00pm (often later on weekends and holidays).

Thanksgiving Day and Christmas Day: Traditional Turkey, Prime Rib, and menu favorites, 3pm-9pm.

Open for Dinner on New Year's Day at 5pm.

Cross Street:
Lake Road 54-40 (Winn Road)

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(573) 348-2966

Website:
http://www.jbruners.com/

Parking Details:
Free parking lot and main entrance in rear of restaurant on lower level. Handicap parking and entrance on upper level.

Executive Chef:
Shane Claspill

Private Party Facilities:
Semi-private dining rooms available for groups from 20-50. Full menu available to all groups, however, customized menus are an option.

Private Party Contact:
Patrick Boylan: (573) 348-2966

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Thanksgiving Day and Christmas Day: Traditional Turkey, Prime Rib, and menu favorites, 3pm-9pm.

New Year's Eve Entertainment. Open New Year's Day at 5pm.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

J. Bruner's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (30)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Good for a Date (17)
See All
Quiet Conversation (14)
Worth the Drive (12)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Romantic (10)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Casual (7)
Cozy (6)
Business Meals (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Historic (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Family Style (2)
Fireplace (2)
Healthy (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Fun (2)
Seasonal (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Authentic (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
480 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Celebrated our 31st anniversary here. We love this place. Great atmosphere, the hostess and wait staff are excellent. It is both elegant and cozy at the same time so everyone feels comfortable. My steak was an awesome cut and cooked to perfection. My wife loves the fried lobster tails. She also loves prime rib night. We have been several times and have never been disappointed.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on February 21, 2017

We enjoyed the music not overpowering a conversation. We like the quiet atmosphere. The service was exceptional, professional and friendly .

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on February 15, 2017

Food was outstanding as was the service! Best steak I've had at the Lake!

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on February 15, 2017

Food was good, our server was a young lady, and she wasn't very personable. The prices are on the high end, which eliminates routine dinning. Our bill for two was about $138.00 without tip.

We go on special occasions.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

As a experienced cook myself, it is hard to find restaurants where I sit with my food and say, "This would have been better if they had done..." or "I like my recipe of this better", etc. It makes 'going out so I don't have to do the dishes, a 'moot point'. At J. Bruners, the staff was attentive without over bearing, and even tho it was our first time, she treated us like the other locals that came in regularly. Our food was a wonderful surprise, in flavor, and presentation, was not over sauced, cooked or spiced. You can usually tell if the chef/cook is a smoker, they have a tendency to over spice the food...Not here. The food was WONDERFUL.

Tags: Cozy, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great dinner with friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We always like to go here for dinner when we're at the Lake. We are never disappointed with the food or service.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
·Dined on February 12, 2017

My boys favorite steakhouse always love making their day. Service was great steaks were perfect.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Historic, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 12, 2017

J. Bruner's is one of our favorite restaurants of all time. Great onion rings. Awesome food. We love to celebrate special occasions there!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on February 11, 2017

J.Brunner's is an excellent steakhouse, although on the expensive side, it was well worth it. Wait staff was very attentive. water glass was always filled. They use real butter, sourcream, bread tasted homemade and was warm. My wife had the Filet and was cooked to perfection. I had the 12 oz Prime which, I swear, was bigger than 12 oz. No complaints here! Melt in your mouth! I do wish they would have had real gated horseradish for the Prime Rib. I recommend this restaurant to everyone!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 29, 2017

It was our first time there with friends who have been there before. The Lobster Mac and Cheese appetizer was amazing. The Lobster Bisque served table side. Not expecting that but a nice touch. Prime Rib was so tasty. We will go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on January 29, 2017

This was our first time to visit. I read the reviews and figured I would see for myself. It was my birthday dinner so my choice. We got there at six o'clock so it was relatively quiet. Yes, the restaurant needs updating, but I went for the quality of the food with ambiance being further down the list. The onion rings were the best I have ever had. The lobster bisque was hot, creamy, and actually had lobster. The prime rib was rare and beautiful. The grilled asparagus was plentiful, hot, and crisp. Anji, our server, was busy, but attentive. Our water glasses and drinks were tended to as needed. I usually don't bother to review restaurants, but J. Bruener's was very, very, good food. Yes, I will go back any chance I get.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on January 27, 2017

Their steaks can't be beat! We also enjoy the appetizers. J Bruners is worth the drive!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Food was very mediocre for the price. I have been coming here annually for several years, but this meal was not up to what I expect when I eat at J. Bruner's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
·Dined on January 19, 2017

Always on top of their game. Never disappoints. Open 365 days of the year so you can enjoy a great meal when you feel like it. Personable service with outstanding food how can you go wrong.

Tags: Historic, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on January 5, 2017

Our party was there for a birthday celebration. Due to cold weather and being a weeknight, we were one of two parties in the dining room. Our server was very knowledgeable, fun, and added to our experience. The food was wonderful. And, although, the meals were pricey for the amount if food we received, it was an overall great evening.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Best filet I've ever had...seared and cooked MR perfectly!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great food, Wonderful Kansas City Strip and Salmon.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had a wonderful New Year's Eve dinner at J Bruner's. My husband and I both ordered filets, and they were delicious! The salads and baked potatoes were also mighty good. Thanks for a great evening!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great food, service and atmosphere. Always at the top of our list for lake dining. Perfect for a special occasion!

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

J. Bruner's has been our go to restaurant for 30 years. The food is the best at the lake and the servers are exceptional. Be sure to go there when you are at the lake.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We made a reservation for dinner on New Years Eve.

Our server, Kelly did an outstanding job. She was a beautiful lady and was very charming and witty. She took excellent care of us too. She was always there with anything we needed before we had to ask. The appetizers and main course was all amazing too. Our steaks were all cooked perfectly and sides were very tasty. We highly recommend J Bruner's!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We didn't order J Bruner's specialty (steak) and while our pasta dishes were ample and good, the food wasn't outstanding--with one exception: the onion rings were the best we've ever had!

Tags: Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on December 26, 2016

Outstanding food and service. Very busy but did not affect our service or food.

We will be back !!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 25, 2016

Great food, great service, good location, quiet,cozy, well balanced menu, and consistent.

The fried lobster is fantastic!!!

Steaks are great!

Lobster mac & cheese is amazing!

Opened 365 days a year! Perfect!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Predictably great lobster and wedge salad

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Might be the best steak I've ever had. Everything comes "on the side" so you can enhance the flavors to your own liking. Ice Cream Crunch is amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Our server, Angi, was great. She was helpful & took very good care of us. We made a stop on the way from Memphis to Kansas City just for the chicken livers! Always have been a favorite of ours. Great wine list & cocktails.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
·Dined on November 6, 2016

Our meal, the prime rib and house salad was outstanding as usual. The atmosphere and staff are always exceptional and would recommend t to everyone. Our server, Pat, was a real pleasure and wish we could come to the lake more often for a visit!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Old fashioned steak house flair. Friendly, courteous service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Outstanding restaurant! Ribeye was fantastic! This restaurant has been at the Lake for years. They know what they are doing.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Casual, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We love J Bruners. It is a favorite. You will not be disappointed

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 20, 2016

The onion rings were every bit as good as the previous reviews raved they are. Soups were flavorful a good potion size and served hot. We just had salads and appetizers so I can't comment on entrees but everything we ate was delicious. And our server Angie was great.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 19, 2016

We all were carnivores that night and we each bragged incessantly about how great our steaks were. I had the filet and truly think it was one of the best filets I've ever had. The meat was flavorful and was cooked perfectly. There were 3 of us and we shared 2 desserts. The chocolate cake was great, but ohhhh the cheesecake. Fabulous cheesecake with a layer of fudge chocolate and draped in carmel. Yum! Highly recommended.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Outstanding onion rings, as good as we remembered they were. Waitress was very attentive although not hovering. Meals were served hot wirh good presentation.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
·Dined on October 13, 2016

We go here every time we come to the lake! Excellent Chicken Liver Appetizer and the Fried lobster is awesome!!!

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Late-night Find, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 9, 2016

For the price you pay they need to upgrade there dining facility. It is needing attention ASAP. No windows or view of the lake plus old decor and furniture.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3

 
·Dined on October 8, 2016

They dropped fried chicken off their menu a few years ago so we quit going there! First time back in about 5 years, it was as good as ever, of course, got the fried chicken!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on October 8, 2016

Food and service was great. I did have a problem with the green beans. I figured for an "upscale" restaurant they would have fresh cut beans.... but they were just soggy ole canned green beans.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 2, 2016

The food was delicious. Steak was cooked perfectly. Very nice presentation of the lobster bisque soup. Tiger chocolate cake was to die for! Server was very good, but we waited a long time for our entree. They seemed to be short staffed that evening.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 24, 2016

The restaurant sits on a cliff overlooking the lake and the toll bridge. Just a spectacular view. A nice variety of salads, the filet w/bearnaise sauce was good although had to request more béarnaise as pretty skimpy serving, extensive wine list.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 24, 2016

This was a very classy dinner and friendly staff

This was the best prime rib and steak we ever had.

The waitress was very helpful with selections and wines

Tags: Romantic, Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 15, 2016

The best meal we have had on the Lake. The folks in the kitchen are amazing; everything we ordered came out to perfection. Our steaks and fief were of the best quality, preparation and presentation. Our server, Angie, was right on! There is nothing better than a great meal with excellent service. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 12, 2016

Our server was excellent and the food was delicious from start to finish. If you're looking for a special night out or a classy meal, this is the place for you!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Although we were way overdressed, the food was excellent. My wife and I love the chicken livers. We would highly recommend this restaurant when visiting Lake of the Ozarks.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 6, 2016

J Bruner's has been our favorite restaurant for over 25 years. The food is exceptional and the staff is always pleasant and helpful. It is a must for all special occasions and just for a nice evening with your spouse. Delicious!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The food is decent, however did justify price. If are at the Lake for a special occasion your money will better spent elsewhere. The food is semi generic and nothing that was sampled among our group of friends stood out or felt unique. The atmosphere was quite dated as well. The service was good, our waitress was very friendly. Overall, we will not be returning in the near future. The price just isn't justified for such a generic overall feel.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

 
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Always a fantastic place to eat. We recommend the sautéed chicken livers, and lobster macaroni and cheese appetizers. Great, great service as well. We love the fried lobster tail. If you're looking for an exceptionally nice place for a special occasion this is it! If you haven't tried it, you most certainly should.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Been going here for decades. Delicious lobster, green beans, onion rings. Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 10, 2016

The room where we were seated lacked for any kind of ambiance...a bit drab and nothing special-- just walls. Lots of tables in this one room so the noise level was high. The service was good but I found the food much too salty; i.e. the butter for the bread was too salty and the prime rib soup looked unappetizing with its big hunks of potato and beef in the broth. Again the soup was way too salty and I could not eat very much of it. The fried lobster was a mistake since the breading overpowered the delicate taste of the lobster. I thought I would try it and I was disappointed. I should have stuck with the broiled lobster. A bit of a disappointment since this was a 20th anniversary celebration.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.