Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.53mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.53mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.53mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.53mi

About J. Bruner's

You are invited to experience casual, fine dining at J. Bruner's! Savor steaks and seafood prepared using our exclusive recipes refined over the past thirty-five years. The warm and inviting dining rooms are the perfect setting for weekly casual dining or that special occasion. Enjoy our Red Room Lounge for a cocktail after work, cocktails before dinner, and/or a tasty ice cream drink afterwards. The best table service completes your dining experience, making J. Bruner's the Lake's Classic Steakhouse. Open 365 days a year.

5166 Osage Beach Parkway
Osage Beach, MO 65065
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Prime Rib

Hours of Operation:
Red Room Lounge opens daily at 4:30pm.

Dinner served daily year-round: 5:00pm - 9:00pm (often later on weekends and holidays).

Thanksgiving Day and Christmas Day: Traditional Turkey, Prime Rib, and menu favorites, 3pm-9pm.

Open for Dinner on New Year's Day at 5pm.

Cross Street:
Lake Road 54-40 (Winn Road)

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(573) 348-2966

Website:
http://www.jbruners.com/

Parking Details:
Free parking lot and main entrance in rear of restaurant on lower level. Handicap parking and entrance on upper level.

Executive Chef:
Shane Claspill

Private Party Facilities:
Semi-private dining rooms available for groups from 20-50. Full menu available to all groups, however, customized menus are an option.

Private Party Contact:
Patrick Boylan: (573) 348-2966

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Thanksgiving Day and Christmas Day: Traditional Turkey, Prime Rib, and menu favorites, 3pm-9pm.

New Year's Eve Entertainment. Open New Year's Day at 5pm.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

J. Bruner's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

3.9

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (22)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Good for a Date (18)
See All
Quiet Conversation (13)
Romantic (10)
Worth the Drive (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Casual (7)
Cozy (6)
Business Meals (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Historic (3)
Fun (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Healthy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Private Room (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Seasonal (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Vegan (1)
Authentic (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
495 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Appetizers, entrees, sides, & service were outstanding. I highly recommend the Lobster Mac 'N Cheese, Onion Rings, the Filet Mignon, Lobster tails (broiled or deep fried) & baked potato. We come here at least annually to celebrate 6 birthdays and are never disappointed. I also bring out of town guests to the lake when possible to eat @ J Bruner's. The complimentary dessert was an added bonus!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

My mom,sister and I were at the lake for Mother's Day and our moms birthday, dinner was outstanding. The prices are a little high but the fillet was outstanding.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on May 13, 2017

We went to J Bruners to celebrate mothers day. It was very nice. The service was excellent and food was great. Great overall experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on May 6, 2017

We celebrated my parents 45th wedding anniversary. Staff went out of their way to make it a great dinner.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 28, 2017

We had a fantastic dinner at J. Bruner', on Friday evening. Anji, was our server......she is the BEST. Her personality just shines. She knows her job, and does it so well. We enjoyed the prime rib and fried chicken. The onion rings were delicious. The entire meal was A+.
We do visit J. Bruner', often...and yes we will return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on April 14, 2017

We had dinner at J. Bruner's twice in one week. Both times we were served by Anji. She is wonderful! Not only is she an excellent at her job, but she is hilarious too! The food was spectacular on both occasions, with the exception of 1 KC Strip the second visit. It was a little overcooked and was tough compared to the other KC Strip and the 2 Rib-eyes that were ordered. The appetizers and sides were delicious. The house dressing is a must on your side salad. The steaks have wonderful flavor and you must try the spinach salad with hot bacon dressing!! We will definitely be back and will recommend to all our friends!!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fun, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on April 9, 2017

Very cozy. Great service. Delicious meal.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 7, 2017

The restaurant has been closed since January, and you can still make reservations. After we left, I got a nag message telling me how I shouldn't book and not show. Please take it off your database!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on April 1, 2017

Outstanding as always. Prime Rib is excellent. Service was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Food is consistently great with good service without being overbearing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
·Dined on March 25, 2017

The decor was very dated and the rotating picture screens are pretty tacky, but it's one of those old traditional lake steakhouses that is from a bygone era. So it's kind of neat not having all the slick bells and whistles of modern restaurants. The food was outstanding and timely. The prices are very high and I have had better steaks for less money at other restaurants on the lake so it's not a good value.
We were having an outstanding dining experience until they seated a very large party that was drinking very heavily at the table next to us. They were very loud and drowned out any possibility of conversation at our table. We quickly finished our meal and left due to the obnoxious party going on at the other table. They should have given those people a private room or seated them in the lounge so they wouldn't ruin the other patrons experience.

I would give the experience 3 out of 5 stars. Probably won't be back for a while.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value2

 
·Dined on March 18, 2017

We went all out, our bill was 200.00. We had appetizers, shrimp, steak and lobster with both. Everything was spot on with the exception of the lobster. We have been going to this place for 18 years. The lobster was a bit tough, normally it melts in your mouth. Please make sure this gets corrected. Thank you!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on March 17, 2017

We have been going to J Bruner's for at least 25 years. We go for the onion rings, wonderful salad and house dressing, and the batter fried lobster. We live 90 miles away so it is a planned destination.
This time we used the on line reservation option. Loved it!
Our server was terrific!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vegan, Cozy, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Don't like being told how long my review must be......garbage

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Late-night Find, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Had a great evening Saturday night. Andi was a wonderful waitress. She helped make a great evening.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on February 23, 2017

Celebrated our 31st anniversary here. We love this place. Great atmosphere, the hostess and wait staff are excellent. It is both elegant and cozy at the same time so everyone feels comfortable. My steak was an awesome cut and cooked to perfection. My wife loves the fried lobster tails. She also loves prime rib night. We have been several times and have never been disappointed.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on February 21, 2017

We enjoyed the music not overpowering a conversation. We like the quiet atmosphere. The service was exceptional, professional and friendly .

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on February 15, 2017

Food was outstanding as was the service! Best steak I've had at the Lake!

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on February 15, 2017

Food was good, our server was a young lady, and she wasn't very personable. The prices are on the high end, which eliminates routine dinning. Our bill for two was about $138.00 without tip.
We go on special occasions.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

As a experienced cook myself, it is hard to find restaurants where I sit with my food and say, "This would have been better if they had done..." or "I like my recipe of this better", etc. It makes 'going out so I don't have to do the dishes, a 'moot point'. At J. Bruners, the staff was attentive without over bearing, and even tho it was our first time, she treated us like the other locals that came in regularly. Our food was a wonderful surprise, in flavor, and presentation, was not over sauced, cooked or spiced. You can usually tell if the chef/cook is a smoker, they have a tendency to over spice the food...Not here. The food was WONDERFUL.

Tags: Cozy, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great dinner with friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We always like to go here for dinner when we're at the Lake. We are never disappointed with the food or service.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
·Dined on February 12, 2017

My boys favorite steakhouse always love making their day. Service was great steaks were perfect.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Historic, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 12, 2017

J. Bruner's is one of our favorite restaurants of all time. Great onion rings. Awesome food. We love to celebrate special occasions there!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on February 11, 2017

J.Brunner's is an excellent steakhouse, although on the expensive side, it was well worth it. Wait staff was very attentive. water glass was always filled. They use real butter, sourcream, bread tasted homemade and was warm. My wife had the Filet and was cooked to perfection. I had the 12 oz Prime which, I swear, was bigger than 12 oz. No complaints here! Melt in your mouth! I do wish they would have had real gated horseradish for the Prime Rib. I recommend this restaurant to everyone!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 29, 2017

It was our first time there with friends who have been there before. The Lobster Mac and Cheese appetizer was amazing. The Lobster Bisque served table side. Not expecting that but a nice touch. Prime Rib was so tasty. We will go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on January 29, 2017

This was our first time to visit. I read the reviews and figured I would see for myself. It was my birthday dinner so my choice. We got there at six o'clock so it was relatively quiet. Yes, the restaurant needs updating, but I went for the quality of the food with ambiance being further down the list. The onion rings were the best I have ever had. The lobster bisque was hot, creamy, and actually had lobster. The prime rib was rare and beautiful. The grilled asparagus was plentiful, hot, and crisp. Anji, our server, was busy, but attentive. Our water glasses and drinks were tended to as needed. I usually don't bother to review restaurants, but J. Bruener's was very, very, good food. Yes, I will go back any chance I get.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on January 27, 2017

Their steaks can't be beat! We also enjoy the appetizers. J Bruners is worth the drive!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Food was very mediocre for the price. I have been coming here annually for several years, but this meal was not up to what I expect when I eat at J. Bruner's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
·Dined on January 19, 2017

Always on top of their game. Never disappoints. Open 365 days of the year so you can enjoy a great meal when you feel like it. Personable service with outstanding food how can you go wrong.

Tags: Historic, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on January 5, 2017

Our party was there for a birthday celebration. Due to cold weather and being a weeknight, we were one of two parties in the dining room. Our server was very knowledgeable, fun, and added to our experience. The food was wonderful. And, although, the meals were pricey for the amount if food we received, it was an overall great evening.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Best filet I've ever had...seared and cooked MR perfectly!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great food, Wonderful Kansas City Strip and Salmon.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had a wonderful New Year's Eve dinner at J Bruner's. My husband and I both ordered filets, and they were delicious! The salads and baked potatoes were also mighty good. Thanks for a great evening!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great food, service and atmosphere. Always at the top of our list for lake dining. Perfect for a special occasion!

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

J. Bruner's has been our go to restaurant for 30 years. The food is the best at the lake and the servers are exceptional. Be sure to go there when you are at the lake.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We made a reservation for dinner on New Years Eve.
Our server, Kelly did an outstanding job. She was a beautiful lady and was very charming and witty. She took excellent care of us too. She was always there with anything we needed before we had to ask. The appetizers and main course was all amazing too. Our steaks were all cooked perfectly and sides were very tasty. We highly recommend J Bruner's!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We didn't order J Bruner's specialty (steak) and while our pasta dishes were ample and good, the food wasn't outstanding--with one exception: the onion rings were the best we've ever had!

Tags: Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on December 26, 2016

Outstanding food and service. Very busy but did not affect our service or food.
We will be back !!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 25, 2016

Great food, great service, good location, quiet,cozy, well balanced menu, and consistent.
The fried lobster is fantastic!!!
Steaks are great!
Lobster mac & cheese is amazing!
Opened 365 days a year! Perfect!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.