Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

About IYASARE

Inspired by the artisanal ingredients and simple, rustic flavors of his native Tohoku region, chef-proprietor Shotaro Kamio blends the obscure with the familiar for surprisingly extraordinary tastes. Craft beer, wine and sake. Seasonal, locally sourced ingredients. Comfortable, casual indoor and heated patio garden seating

If there is no reservation available at your desired time, please call the restaurant. We accept phone bookings for our communal table, Chef's table and patio.

1830 Fourth Street
Berkeley, CA 94710
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Mon-Sun 11:30am-2:00pm
Dinner: Mon-Th, Sun 5:30pm-9:00pm
Dinner: Fri-Sat 5:30pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Hearst Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(510) 845-8100

Website:
http://www.iyasare-berkeley.com/

Executive Chef:
Shotaro Kamio

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

IYASARE Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (66)
Creative Cuisine (60)
Special Occasion (46)
See All
Good for a Date (43)
Handcrafted Cocktails (33)
Neighborhood Gem (32)
Great for Lunch (30)
Good for Anniversaries (30)
Worth the Drive (26)
Authentic (23)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Modern Decor (22)
Healthy (22)
Great for Outdoor Dining (20)
Casual (20)
Good Vegetarian Options (20)
Seasonal (19)
Open Kitchen (18)
Fun (17)
Bar Seating (17)
Romantic (17)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Local Ingredients (14)
Gluten Free Options (14)
Business Meals (14)
Tapas (12)
Cozy (11)
People Watching (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Paleo Friendly (8)
Organic (7)
Vegan (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Family Style (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Spicy (2)
Scenic View (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Waterfront (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
655 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 19 hours ago

Our standby restaurant! Keep up the great work!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

This is my favourite restaurant in the entire bay area. The food is creative, delicious, perfectly balanced, beautifully presented. And prices are reasonable for what we get. I don't think I've ever had anything here I did not like.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Party of five for my wife and mines' 34th wedding anniversary. My two daughters and a boyfriend. My oldest daughter visiting from Kauai, where she is a chef and has her own restaurant. Came on a recommendation from a friend and we were not disappointed! Very creative delicious food. Not your average Japanese restaurant. Comfortable and casual ambiance, with a friendly staff and attentive service. We were having such a great time that we lost track of time, and soon realized that we were the only ones left, still no pressure from the staff. Certainly a memorable time and would reccomend Iyasare to anyone who enjoys Asian food with a twist!

Tags: Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Good for Groups, Fun, Special Occasion, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Good creative modern Japanese limited menu but a good experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 16, 2017

I adore Iyasare and eat there frequently. Food is amazing and out of town guests are impressed. Receptionist, servers, all are lovely and professional. The problem is the noise level which is extreme especially at lunch. I wish there were some technology to help that!

Tags: Seasonal, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Vegan, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I love the interesting food! It is a bit pricey but worth it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

My family had a wonderful time at Iyasare despite some set backs at the beginning. When we arrived, they claimed that we had made a patio reservation despite the fact that it was freezing outside. However, they managed to serve us delicious appetizers and sake free of charge before quickly seating us at their next available table. That definitely made up for sitting in the cold because their food was exceptional. Overall, we had an accommodating waitress and superb food throughout the entire dinner. Its a bit pricy to go to on a regular basis, but if you do go, it's worth it!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on May 8, 2017

I had eaten here before and have had much better value. Given the exorbitant price of food and the extremely miniscule portions one leaves here extremely hungry and out-of-pocket in the hundreds. Very low value. The food was tasty but, come on, a $12 appetizer that involves a slice of sweet potato? A raw tuna appetizer for the same amount that was the equivalent of perhaps 2 ounces of fish? Our server was very warm and I feel bad leaving a negative review but it had nothing to do with him and everything to do with disproportional cost to food ratio.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The food was unusual and very flavorful. The server was friendly, knowledgeable and attentive.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Great food in a nice atmosphere with excellent service and interesting cocktails

Tags: Casual, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Iyasare is a gem. The food is wonderful and the staff are helpful and skilled. Lovely meal, thank you

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The service was terrible — we waited for our food for over an hour, while watching other tables sit down, eat and leave. The server was curt and unapoligetic. I would not recommend this restruant or go there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Super friendly service, from the hostess to our server. Had a lovely birthday brunch for Grandma--the chicken karaage (& its variety of spices and accompaniments) was terrific, the grandparents' bowls of ramen was delicious & generously portioned, and our seven year old enjoyed her miso & rice. My husband really like his una-don, but i loved my chirashi special--not only was it beautifully arranged, but it was heaping with so much fresh, diverse, flavorful sashimi--salmon, tuna, spicy tuna, yellowtail, shrimp, egg, salmon roe, dungeness crab, & scallops. Each piece was exceptional....
All in all, a very nice dining experience at an exceptional Bay Area Japanese restaurant. We would return in a heartbeat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2017

I love this restaurant. This was a little mixed but still well worth it. The sweet potatoes seemed to be under cooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Great sake list, craft beers and creative cocktails compliments this excellent East Bay take on Japanese cuisine. Food and service are top notch and our dogs were delighted with the outdoor seating.

Tags: Fun, Casual, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Terrific Japanese-based fusion food! Several simpler options include gourmet-level ramen and sushi salads. The o-susume dishes are both full of authentic flavors of Japan with modern fusion elements.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 29, 2017

They guy who runs the place asked us to move tables during our meal. Was a buzz kill. Kind of a snarky character. Some of the food is really good though but bad service can ruin that sometimes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Girls lunch out and had a great time. Started with beer and blood orange cocktail. Shared the shrimp tempura and then had ramen bowls, with pork belly, chicken and duct confit all were super good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 25, 2017

The food was innovative and very delicious. We enjoyed it very much.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 25, 2017

I love this place! This is my #1 go to place for Japanese fancy food. We celebrated Andrew's birthday at this place. This time their menu signifies purée. We ordered the following:
eel w/ mushroom: 4 star, fresh eel!
on special lobster & foie gras: 5 star, lobster feels like just coming out of water!
squid: 4 star
Sashimi: I would give 5 star for its creative combination with pickled strawberry. Andrew doesn't like this combination.
Cheesecake: 3 star. I need it to be more creamy than that.
5 star service all the time! Such a romantic night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 24, 2017

I enjoyed lunch at the restaurant. Great food, as always! Fresh, local ingredients!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Everything served was fresh and beautifully presented. Great, patient service. Every dirty dish was whisked away without ever making us feel rushed. Fun to watch the kitchen in action. delicious specialty cocktails

Tags: Scenic View, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Tapas, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The "small plates" are really outstanding, especially sashimi and raw fish items. Loved the ocean trout, hamachi, tuna tartare, asparagus tempura. Fresh. Creative. Tasty!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Very unique & delicious. Honors Japanese tradition / Flavors while executing dishes with amazing creativity and yumminess! No sushi, but the "ocean umami " raw scallop creation, and the sashimi salad were both incredible.
Delicious cocktails, mocktails, hot & iced teas and coffee.

Tags: Tapas, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 17, 2017

I've been twice and every dish has been excellent, as has the service and the drinks. You can expect top notch ingredients creatively and beautifully combined on each plate. Elegant but comfortable vibe. Definitely recommend.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I was pleasantly surprised and the food was very beautifully presented

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I had been meaning to come to Iyasare for a while. I like creative Japanese cuisine a lot and Iyasare seemed like a very ambitious restaurant. We had cocktails to start and they were excellent. Two of us ordered the Vesper, dry and perfect. Then we moved to the on-tap Sauvignon Blanc which was extremely drinkable and a good value. We shared a ton of dishes throughout the meal: Bacon Mochi. This is a classic and very good. Definitely filling as well, a must-try (and a good value). Hamachi salad was good not great. The edamame paste was superb but overall not a standout dish. The Kakiage Tempura was great, delicious and fun to eat. Like a fried Japanese pizza. The Tuna Tartare was solid but a bit redundant and not too exciting. The grilled squid was superb, a really good and creative dish. Finally, the Okonomiyaki was very solid and savory but a bit expensive for what is quite a basic, homey Japanese dish. Desserts were pretty great actually, we had a strawberry fudge cheesecake thing and a sort of lemon sponge cake with green tea flavor. Iyasare is definitely an interesting, ambitious restaurant that is mostly great but the menu could use a bit more variety and balance. However, I will be back to try more from the menu. If you really like this type of cuisine, it's absolutely worth it.

Tags: Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Kakiage tempura was so salty that I couldn't eat it without drinking a lot of water. And mentaiko spaghetti was salty too, with a weird smell of garlic. So different form the ones I had had when I came to the restaurant before. In the past every time I came here it was at least a rating of 4 stars but this time 3 stars is max.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Our waitress was particularly helpful in her recommendations. Our group numbered 7 and most of the food was shared by all. The food was very good and fresh and the service was impeccable.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 14, 2017

not your run-of-the-mill Japanese. very delicious creative choices. would definitely go again

Tags: Vegan, Healthy, Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Very nice, small restaurant, great food!
Even though It's a small restaurant you will often see other restaurant people there.
Guests came from out of town and loved it.

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 13, 2017

The food was wonderful and everything was so beautifully presented.We had our 13year old grandson with us and he enjoyed everything.A most wonderful meal and everything was like a work of art.

Tags: Seasonal, Scenic View, Late-night Find, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Molecular Gastronomy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 12, 2017

One my favorite places to go when I'm needing goodJapanese style food. They never disappoint.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Iyasare is our favorite restaurant in and around Berkeley.
We believe it is the best Japanese restaurant in the SF bay area

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The space is beautiful, but it's another high-priced, East Bay disappointment. My friend and I ordered all the small plates and their chirashi special. The $32 chirashi special was anything but special. Their version of tempura left much to be desired. Their kara-age fried chicken did not satisfy in any way.

Tags: Good for a Date, Vegan, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Iyasare is MUCH better for lunch when the menu isn't so limited. It's truly AMAZING for lunch actually! And quieter. The dinner menu was so limited ( we could not even get miso soup), and wasn't as good as last time I had dinner there. There were all kinds of empty 4-tops when we got there yet they refused to let us sit in any table beside the one next to the bathrooms, saying others had requested those other 4 tables. Since they were empty at that point, I found this terrible service. We ended up sitting at a communal table so as to not be next to the bathrooms. And it was SO LOUD! We couldn't hear each other. Again, their lunches are outstanding and worth every penny. I probably would think twice about going back for dinner though. Too bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Iyasare is the most interesting Japanese restaurant I have enjoyed, out of many. The menu items are innovative. All dishes were perfectly prepared, including the fish (unusual for restaurants), and beautifully presented. The shrimp tempura is a must, but is only one of several that deserve that recognition. The service was excellent and non-intrusive.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Casual, Vegan, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We ordered the eel, tofu, tuna and the scallops and uni, the lobster special and the beef. The portion was great to share. Seasoning was right on, seafood was fresh and the beef cooked to a perfect medium rare. Got a 5:30 pm table on a Saturday night, and the place was happening. We will come back to have the ramen for lunch next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Great spot in Berkeley. I get cravings for their food. Great ambiance. Service friendly and knowledgeable.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 30, 2017

This place has basically become my favorite restaurant because the food is amazing, and the people who work here are lovely. It may not be a bargain dining experience but is worth it.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.