About IYASARE

1830 Fourth Street
Berkeley, CA 94710
View Larger Map

Inspired by the artisanal ingredients and simple, rustic flavors of his native Tohoku region, chef-proprietor Shotaro Kamio blends the obscure with the familiar for surprisingly extraordinary tastes. Craft beer, wine and sake. Seasonal, locally sourced ingredients. Comfortable, casual indoor and heated patio garden seating

If there is no reservation available at your desired time, please call the restaurant. We accept phone bookings for our communal table, Chef's table and patio.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Mon-Sun 11:30am-2:00pm
Dinner: Mon-Th, Sun 5:30pm-9:00pm
Dinner: Fri-Sat 5:30pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Hearst Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(510) 845-8100

Website:
http://www.iyasare-berkeley.com/

Executive Chef:
Shotaro Kamio

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

IYASARE Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (44)
Creative Cuisine (37)
Special Occasion (32)
See All
Good for a Date (30)
Great for Lunch (22)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Romantic (17)
Healthy (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Casual (15)
Authentic (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Worth the Drive (14)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Modern Decor (13)
Business Meals (12)
Good Vegetarian Options (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Fun (11)
Seasonal (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Open Kitchen (9)
Cozy (8)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Family Style (6)
Comfort Food (6)
People Watching (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Organic (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Spicy (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Great Beer (2)
Tapas (2)
Vegan (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
587 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very creative and great tasting dishes. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Very creative and great tasting dishes. High energy place. Good service even though they were very busy.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Seated 3 of us for a table for 2 in an ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Seated 3 of us for a table for 2 in an aisle used for guests and employees where people would bump into the third Huest

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

We always eat at Iyasare when we come to ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

We always eat at Iyasare when we come to the 4th Street Berkeley area. Reliably delicious.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Outstanding food, outstanding wait staff ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Outstanding food, outstanding wait staff, and fabulous, creative mixologist... Makes for the perfect evening. Reservations a must!

Tags: Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food and service. A great depart ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Amazing food and service. A great departure from the typical Japanese restaurants in our area. Be sure to make reservation. They've done a fantastic job!

Tags: Romantic, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had the special Chirashi, which was r ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We had the special Chirashi, which was really delicious! The fish was fresh and the varieties were all interesting. We didn't want the rice, so the wait person suggested substituting salad underneath, which was wonderful!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Fabulous innovative cuisine. Flavors a ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Fabulous innovative cuisine. Flavors are wonderful.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Service was terrible, our waiter kept dr ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Service was terrible, our waiter kept drooling over the couple next to us since they were ordering multiple sake/wine/etc. I think the couple was on a date and he was very intrusive.

For us though, we had to call him over several times. Meal time was 2 hours most of it waiting for our waiter

2 dishes were inedible:

-Miso cod small plate -fish was not fresh and slimy consistency. (waiter said this dish was removed from the bill, but actually this dish remained and a less expensive dish was removed)

-Chocolate 'pudding' with brulee bananas-awful. Pudding was tiny dollops of chocolate frosting (fudge like consistency super super sweet) with cut up raw bananas

2 dishes OK

-Wagyu beef-really a good dish, even though it came out quite rare rather than medium

-Roasted eggplant-very tasty dish, but eggplant is not really roasted (very under cooked, prob only put under the broiler)

Additionally the restaurant gets as loud as a sports bar, we could not hold a conversation.

Would not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

My 5th visit (2 at lunchtime and 3 in ev ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My 5th visit (2 at lunchtime and 3 in evening). Consistently delightful and delicious food. Excellent range of saki. In all this time I (and the people with me) have had just one disappointment - a banana based dessert that was unimaginative and clunky looking. Every other dessert tried has been magical. This is a restaurant worthy of Micheline stars and though on the pricey side is worth every cent. Great ambience, excellent service. Well up there in my current Top 10 of all bay area restaurants.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Try to eat at this fabulous restaurant a ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Try to eat at this fabulous restaurant at least 2-3 x / month

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Despite the fact that I worked 2 blocks ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Despite the fact that I worked 2 blocks away, I never tried this incredible restaurant because my co-workers heard it was "weird" (meaning not just chicken teriyaki and rice . However, after reading all the great reviews, we decided to give it a try. WOW is the word that best describes it. Something for everyone's taste in Japanese food and the presentation is something to go for alone. Whats more, you can bring your dog for outside dining. And the service? Friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. Cocktails are original and tasty. Our only regret? that we have wasted several years not eating here before. Dang. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we take our special guests here for the ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 8, 2017

we take our special guests here for the food and service, both of which are excellent. I love the choice of mocktails and the delicious and exotic (to us) dishes--especially the soup and vegetable combinations. We highly recommend this.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Family style Japanese food is a weird co ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Family style Japanese food is a weird concept as Japanese cuisine is usually proportionately served out in individual small plates and bowls for the individual diner. However, having said that, the dishes at Iyasare were plentiful to share for our party of two (probably could have fed a party of four). The tofu puree with the Portabello Mushroom and Unagi was an unexpectedly delightful spread. The Buta Asa combined a few unlikely entrees into one tasty dish. Server was very attentive throughout the night.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Family Style, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Iyasare has long been a favorite for the ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Iyasare has long been a favorite for the lovely food - always tasty and innovative. Even my favorite dishes have novel and interesting twists. Staff can sometimes forget to "be right back" so you may need to be patient. But it is worth the wait.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Fresh, delicious, colorful, creative! Se ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Fresh, delicious, colorful, creative!

Service very pleasant, but a bit rushed.

Excellent restaurant overall!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food and service were excellent but ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 3, 2017

The food and service were excellent but the noise level is unbearable although the restaurant was only about 2/3 full. Only after most of the patrons had left was it possible to hold a conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

This was our third time at Iyasare, so o ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 28, 2017

This was our third time at Iyasare, so obviously we anticipated the satisfaction we experienced in the past. Unfortunately I asked myself if the kitchen really could make pork belly and clams work together -- it can't; the pancake, drenched in ponzu and with no differentiated flavors, was actually worse. I'll try lunch next time, because Iyasare is in my neighborhood, but not dinner again, until perhaps I see they've lightened up the menu, a lot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

Forgot to mention: the hostess was not ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Forgot to mention: the hostess was not welcoming--very grouchy in fact. This makes a bad impression, especially since I had a reservation.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Great food, a good place to meet friends ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Great food, a good place to meet friends for lunch. Noise level too high.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Disabled Access, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Spectacular food - everything was delici ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Spectacular food - everything was delicious. But REALLY noisy. We had difficulty understanding each other between the music and the reflective walls. The old wall decorations (when it was OChame) didn't have the same effect.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Had a very nice lunch with my boyfriend ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Had a very nice lunch with my boyfriend at Iyasare last Sunday. We arrived at ~11:30am and were the first ones at the restaurant for lunch. It was pretty empty for the first half an hour but filled up quickly, and by noon, the place was packed. Definitely make a reservation beforehand! Overall, great food, great service, and wonderful ambience; will be back very soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were trying this for the first time, ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 19, 2017

We were trying this for the first time, for a birthday celebration with kids and were a bit cautious. Was a great hit with everyone - kids ate great, the food came promptly, service was great. Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

All wonderful, keep it going!! I liked ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 16, 2017

All wonderful, keep it going!! I liked the artful arrangement of the Ramen and would be great if lower the salt in the soup.

Tags: Seasonal, Family Style, Great for Brunch, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I had a wonderful time at Iy ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 16, 2017

My wife and I had a wonderful time at Iyasare! The food was incredible, both in flavor and in presentation. The service team was attentive, informative, and very welcoming. All around, one of the best restaurants we've been to in the Bay Area.

Tags: Great Beer, Modern Decor, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Iasare is an excellent, creative, Japane ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Iasare is an excellent, creative, Japanese restaurant with reasonable prices, excellent service, and a very well thought out wine list. Until recently, I would recommend it to anyone. However, it has grown extremely, painfully, loud at dinner inside. It is very difficult for a party of four to conduct a conversation. On our most recent visit, even the barman was shouting to make himself heard.

If this is your thing, great. Otherwise, beware.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

We have eaten at Iyasare several times a ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 11, 2017

We have eaten at Iyasare several times and have enjoyed the food every time. There were three of us and we shared dishes--always love the hamachi dish and the nasu miso (eggplant). Our guest enjoyed the okonomi pancake which comes with a very nice presentation -- in fact, we should have made a video to show her husband who couldn't come. Our other dish was the special for the day--branzino--delicious--The sauce they put on it or the vegetables around it, which included truffles, it was sooo good. Wait staff is very knowledgeable about the sake choices to pair with your dishes.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Friendly staff, interesting food, little ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Friendly staff, interesting food, little slow otherwise a unique and enjoyable meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious, delicious every time! We nev ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Delicious, delicious every time! We never get tired of eating here. There are favorites that always remain on the menu, but there are also new offerings. The miso cod was like butter and the hamachi sashimi was divine.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Love everything about this place. Can't ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Love everything about this place. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have to say this is the most exquisite ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I have to say this is the most exquisite, impeccable restaurant I have been to in ages. I am so tired of other restaurants' expensive prices and poor quality. Iyasare has the most gracious, present staff as well as food which is as impeccable as the dishes on which they are served.

Even the glassware is perfectly clear, elegantly thin and beautifully shaped like fine crystal. It felt like a privilege to be at a restaurant which still respects quality, value and elegance.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual, everything was fantastic! Cou ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

As usual, everything was fantastic! Couldn't ask for more detail to service...never had to ask for anything :)

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Open Kitchen, Seasonal, Romantic, Cozy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always very delicious. Got the tempur ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 30, 2016

As always very delicious. Got the tempura with shrimp, one of my favorite items. The best ramen in Berkeley.

Tags: Organic, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a nice lunch at Iyasare. We were ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We had a nice lunch at Iyasare. We were greeted right away and seated in a booth. It was ramen day so we ordered chashu ramen, the sendai miso ramen, the unagi donburi, and the kaki tempura. They were all very well prepared and we enjoyed it very much. The prices are on the high side so don't be shocked to pay $100 for a ramen meal for four.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Innovative Japanese cuisine! Really en ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Innovative Japanese cuisine!

Really enjoyed our lunch here. Was super busy on a Boxing Day shopping trip. Place is very popular and easy to see why. The chicken kaarage was amazing and one of the best I've had (and I have had a lot!) The ramen was very good, rich with pork. They also had a duck confit ramen that I will try next time.

My friend had a crab donburi that was very delicious as well. Nice selection of drinks, reasonable prices.

I highly recommend and also suggest making reservations even for lunch.

I can't wait to come back and try their dinner menu.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The restaurant was packed for an early F ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The restaurant was packed for an early Friday night date night. Made reservation for 2 and only requested to be seat away from restroom. My date had arrived earlier than I and of course was settled into the closes table to both kitchen and restroom. Thankfully the evening progressed and went very well! Menu can be intimidating but the service staff were great and accommodating. Started with tempura veggies and quickly onto the Brussels sprouts which were amazing. Black cod was also spot on. Will be back

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

I had the prickly pear margarita paired ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 24, 2016

I had the prickly pear margarita paired with the octopus, while my husband had the fish and pork belly. Both were great except for my octopus wasn't as tender as expected and a bit chewy. They're very quick with getting our drinks and food. We also had the ice scream for dessert which was excellent! Iyasare is pricy but definitely worth it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The food is amazing and the service is e ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 23, 2016

The food is amazing and the service is excellent. As noted by others, it can be rather noisy when full but not so much that my table couldn't converse. Great place for shared dishes to quell my FOMO issues.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is great, however,my friend's d ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 20, 2016

The food is great, however,my friend's dish arrived twenty minutes before my

dish arrived at the table. For people dining together, the food should arrive

at the table at the same time. Bad coordination.

Tags: Disabled Access, Casual, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Iyasare is, to my mind, the best restaur ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Iyasare is, to my mind, the best restaurant in Berkeley. Excellent food, very nice service. My only negative is that it can be on the noisy side and I like quiet conversations.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I really love the food at Isayare. It i ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 19, 2016

I really love the food at Isayare. It is too noisy for me when it is full but I keep coming anyway because I like the food.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.