Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About Itta Bena

Located on the third floor of B.B. King's Blues Club overlooking historic Beale Street you will find Itta Bena "A unique delta experience". Whether entering from our private Second Street entrance via our valet service or walking through the secret hall from inside B.B. King's Blues Club, Itta Bena is sure to capture your senses. Modeled after the speakeasies from the 1920's, you are a true VIP as a friendly member of our staff escorts you to the third floor. The experience is further heightened when you step inside and find yourself surrounded by rich wood floors, vaulted ceilings, deep golden hued chandeliers and the faint sound of the bustling street below. Touching all the senses, we enrich your evening by offering a delta inspired menu of robust flavors and clean presentation. Itta Bena is a complete overwhelming of the senses that you must experience for yourself.

145 Beale Street
Memphis, TN 38103
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary Southern, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Open Everyday from 5pm - 10pm

Cross Street:
Second

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(901) 578-3031

Website:
http://ittabenadining.com/memphis/

Entertainment:
Itta Bena is located just above B.B. King's Blues Club on historic Beale St. Live music captivates our guests and enhances the nearly surreal dining experience. On Wednesdays, Fridays and Saturday nights, Susan Marshall enchants her audience, performing arguably as the contemporary Memphis scene's most powerful and versatile pure singer yet (According to The Memphis Flyer). Visit our website to learn more.

Parking Details:
Valet is available seven days a week with rates similar to the parking garages nearby.

Executive Chef:
Kevin Quinnell

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Memphis’s most exquisite restaurant plays host to a myriad of rehearsal dinners, receptions, parties, and corporate events. Chef Kevin Quinnell will create a menu that will tantalize the taste buds of your guests as the ambience and service exceeds their expectations. Popular for intimate gatherings as well as large parties, Itta Bena can accommodate 130 persons for a seated dinner or 200 persons for a cocktail party or reception. Whatever your needs, our experienced event planners can create the best guest experience you could ever imagine! For more information, please fill out the form below or contact Ansley Smith at 901-578-3031 or email at salesmemphis@ittabenadining.com.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Consistent with Itta Bena’s rich rhythm and blues history our Private Dining Room overlooks Beale Street through blue tinted windows, discreetly tucked away in the corner of our restaurant. Walls decorated with intricate woodwork and a curtained entrance offer privacy to parties of up to 200.

Itta Bena Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (77)
Romantic (74)
Good for a Date (74)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (61)
Creative Cuisine (46)
Cozy (42)
Pre/post Theatre (39)
Live Music (37)
Neighborhood Gem (37)
Historic (36)
Fit for Foodies (34)
Good for Birthdays (33)
Worth the Drive (33)
Quiet Conversation (31)
Business Meals (30)
Scenic View (30)
Fun (29)
Notable Wine List (29)
Good for Groups (29)
Authentic (28)
Bar Seating (23)
People Watching (21)
Hot Spot (20)
Private Room (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Late-night Find (11)
Casual (11)
Comfort Food (10)
Local Ingredients (10)
Happy Hour (9)
Outstanding Value (8)
Tasting Menu (6)
Family Style (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Healthy (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Spicy (4)
Great Beer (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Vegan (2)
Organic (1)
Waterfront (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Dancing (0)
Sort By:
S
1421 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Unique spot in an interesting location. Food was good not great.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 5 days ago

Amazing place. I highly recommend for a great dinner in Memphis.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined 5 days ago

A very pleasant evening. She-crab soup was particularly good. As was the peach cobbler. Highly recommend.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

Service at the bar was super slow.
Table service was slow. For the price the food should of been better.
Fried Green tomatoes were bland and so dry you could barely eat it.
BBQ Shrimp was good.
Crab Cakes were mushy and not a lot of Crab.
They did recognize our Anniversary and had a card on the table and gave us a free dessert so I give them perks for that. Was just excepting a little more for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Memphis)·Dined 7 days ago

If you like noisy, this is your place - you will have a good time - plus get a window seat to crowd watch below. Food OK. Although waiter was nice, he needs a bit more training: had to ask about specials, was told that "sweet tea" not an option, but when asked, said "unsweetened" tea was (lol), coffee served lukewarm (metal cup & saucer), bread was forgotten but arrived before meal ended. Was quick to come around to fill water glasses and ask if everything was OK.
She-crab soup tasty but thin. Filet mignon was mystery steak folded over to appear thick - but tasted OK.
Use the valet parking and go up the fire escape to access the restaurant - but don't loiter, or the panhandlers will accost you. Kudos to the fast valet guy.

Tags: People Watching, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 7 days ago

The service was excellent and the food was outstanding. I would definitely go back.

Tags: Business Meals, Fun, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 19, 2017

The service was outstanding!!! Love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Great experience. My only complaint is that we were seated next to a table of people who appeared to be inebriated and they were screaming their conversation. They were really obnoxious. It was hard to have a conversation at our table under these circumstances. The food was fabulous.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 18, 2017

It was an elegant respite away from the hustle and bustle of Beale street

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Absolutely perfect!! Christopher was amazing helping us pick the wine and discussing wine with us. We had a blast!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Great service, great food. Made a special occasion even more special

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Birthday get together. General Manager (Chris) went out of his way to ensure the customer is their priority. Will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I had always heard of this place but could never find it in my head. For mu 12th anniversary I made it a point to visit this restaurant and without telling any servers of our special occasion, we were treated excellent. Very personalized service. I love the ambiance, food and drinks. I will return!

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 12, 2017

OK. Not great. Service was spotty. Waiter was excellent and manager tried to be very nice and apologetic.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Itta Bena was a great restaurant with lots of cool atmosphere, great food, and friendly staff. It was a wonderful meal . Would definitely recommend !

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Food and service by a distracted, inexperienced (or maybe just uninterested) waiter was just ok. Nothing special here. Perhaps it was our misfortune to go on the last night of a weekend music fest but ambiance was ok and staff pleasant enough. If you want a quieter dining experience, skip Beale St.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The atmosphere is beautiful on the inside , very romantic . The food was outstanding . The shrimp and grits were the best . Service was wonderful. Took my wife here for our anniversary and was very pleased .highly recommend

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on May 4, 2017

The restaurant is not the easiest to find but we'll worth it. Good food, great service and excellent live music

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 1, 2017

The food was over cooked and no flavor. I would never return or recommend someone go here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2017

It was awesome and great! We really enjoyed ourselves

Tags: Late-night Find, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 29, 2017

good food and good ambience. Music in background but easy to carry on conversation. Shrimp and grits fantastic!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Itta Beana has an exciting menu in which anyone can find something they will love. It is great for groups but also for an intimate dinner. The view, overlooking Beale Street, is just fun.
This is one of my favorite places to go downtown. Slip up that fire escape and you are in another world!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Absolutely fabulous..first time in Memphis. Didn't want anything fried or heavy and their menu was awesome. The she crab soup was the best I ever had!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 25, 2017

The ambience was very nice and surprisingly quiet considering you are above the stage of BB Kings. That said, the food was really just ok. The selections really were not creative and compared to similar price point restaurants, overpriced for what it was. The wine selection was very good, but again seemed overpriced for what it was. When you spend this type of money on a meal,mouth expect to leave thinking "wow" but instead you leave saying "it was ok"

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 24, 2017

This was our first meal with Itta Bena and we had a delightful experience. The menu offers a diverse choice of southern dishes, and all four of us enjoyed our choice. We look forward to a return visit.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 23, 2017

The tint on the windows made you feel like you are under a black light except it is really bright and gives you a headache. It made the food look gross too. The service is very slow.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Perfect. Always consistent. Great service and food. Friendly wait staff. Wonderful atmosphere and conveniently located to almost anything in the downtown area....especially the Orpheum.

Tags: Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 22, 2017

A lovely and flavorful meal from beginning to end. Loved the crab cakes and fried green tomatoes for starters, the she-crab soup is light,but full of flavor. Our table enjoyed a crab stuffed avocado, the lamb and fish for wonderful main courses. The dessert cocktails finished off a terrific dining experience!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Fabulous food as well as atmosphere. If you're in the area, you owe it to yourself to stop by and visit

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Itta Bena is the place to go in Memphis. Prior to departure and upon arrival everyone said that we must try it. It was great. It is over B.B. kings and you hear some banging from below but isn't terrible: When we went, there was a piano player. The ambience is sit with blue lighting so everyone looks blue. The food was not perfect but much better fare than everywhere else in Memphis.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Brought my cousins in from Kentucky and we loved it! Food was phenomenal as usual! Thanks so much!

Tags: Historic, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Live Music, Casual, Bar Seating, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Visiting from Australia this place was a real find for us . Good exceptional, great wine list , background live music at right noise level to let us carry on conversation, highlight of our trip

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Good food, great ambiance and a location on Beale Street. There is a nice bar to gather and socialize.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 20, 2017

We were attending the Orpheum & always?try to eat here a couple of times during the Broadway series. Excellent pork chops and salmon.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Great use of local ingredients and great Southern dishes, with style and excellence. Service was right on - available/there, but not intrusive. It is on the 2nd floor over BBKing - very great atmosphere. Highly recommend it.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Absolutely the best place to go not only downtown, but in all of Memphis. We have been to Itta Bena many times, and the food and service is always exceptional. Go and enjoy the little hideaway above B. B. Kings. You won't be disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 18, 2017

It was fabulous as always and can't wait to come back! Love it here!!!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 17, 2017

One of the few fine dining restaurants on Beale St. Food and service were excellent as was the wine list. Located on top floor of BB Kings, the restaurant has no signage and relies on word-of-mouth to attract diners -- look for blue awning and walk up metal stairs. This is a hidden gem.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Fried avocados! Nuff said...

The restaurant is above BB Kings and the entrance is only from the back of the building up a steep set of stairs. It was a speakeasy back in prohibition and they have kept the secret of the entrance. Crab bisque was phenomenal. The pasta jambalaya in a spicy cream sauce was excellent as well. Save room for the cobbler of the day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We've been to Itta Bena several times and have never been disappointed. The location is unique and the food is delicious!

Tags: Bar Seating, Spicy, Good for a Date, Fun, Romantic, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.