Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About Itta Bena

Located on the third floor of B.B. King's Blues Club overlooking historic Beale Street you will find Itta Bena "A unique delta experience". Whether entering from our private Second Street entrance via our valet service or walking through the secret hall from inside B.B. King's Blues Club, Itta Bena is sure to capture your senses. Modeled after the speakeasies from the 1920's, you are a true VIP as a friendly member of our staff escorts you to the third floor. The experience is further heightened when you step inside and find yourself surrounded by rich wood floors, vaulted ceilings, deep golden hued chandeliers and the faint sound of the bustling street below. Touching all the senses, we enrich your evening by offering a delta inspired menu of robust flavors and clean presentation. Itta Bena is a complete overwhelming of the senses that you must experience for yourself.

145 Beale Street
Memphis, TN 38103
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary Southern, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Open Everyday from 5pm - 10pm

Cross Street:
Second

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(901) 578-3031

Website:
http://ittabenadining.com/memphis/

Entertainment:
Itta Bena is located just above B.B. King's Blues Club on historic Beale St. Live music captivates our guests and enhances the nearly surreal dining experience. On Wednesdays, Fridays and Saturday nights, Susan Marshall enchants her audience, performing arguably as the contemporary Memphis scene's most powerful and versatile pure singer yet (According to The Memphis Flyer). Visit our website to learn more.

Parking Details:
Valet is available seven days a week with rates similar to the parking garages nearby.

Executive Chef:
Kevin Quinnell

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Memphis’s most exquisite restaurant plays host to a myriad of rehearsal dinners, receptions, parties, and corporate events. Chef Kevin Quinnell will create a menu that will tantalize the taste buds of your guests as the ambience and service exceeds their expectations. Popular for intimate gatherings as well as large parties, Itta Bena can accommodate 130 persons for a seated dinner or 200 persons for a cocktail party or reception. Whatever your needs, our experienced event planners can create the best guest experience you could ever imagine! For more information, please fill out the form below or contact Ansley Smith at 901-202-9114 or email at salesmemphis@ittabenadining.com.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Consistent with Itta Bena’s rich rhythm and blues history our Private Dining Room overlooks Beale Street through blue tinted windows, discreetly tucked away in the corner of our restaurant. Walls decorated with intricate woodwork and a curtained entrance offer privacy to parties of up to 200.

Itta Bena Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (90)
Special Occasion (69)
Good for Anniversaries (66)
See All
Romantic (61)
Creative Cuisine (45)
Good for Birthdays (44)
Quiet Conversation (38)
Cozy (35)
Neighborhood Gem (33)
Worth the Drive (33)
Live Music (32)
Fit for Foodies (31)
Pre/post Theatre (29)
Scenic View (26)
Authentic (24)
Notable Wine List (24)
Good for Groups (23)
Fun (22)
Hot Spot (21)
Business Meals (20)
Comfort Food (19)
Casual (18)
Bar Seating (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Local Ingredients (13)
People Watching (12)
Late-night Find (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Happy Hour (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Healthy (5)
Spicy (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Seasonal (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great Beer (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
1536 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined 2 days ago

Highly recommend this restaurant! Food was delicious, service was excellent! A definite must-eat-there in Memphis!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Fun, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 2 days ago

A great way to celebrate our anniversary. The entrance is hidden away but worth the search. Wait staff were amazing. Noise level was higher than I’d like but it was tolerable. Highly recommend the blueberry lemonade!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

You should make reservations. Very popular restaurant. It is not well-marked from the outside. You have to know it is the third floor above BBKings. It is as though it is our special secret. Excellent menu. Quick efficient and responsive service. The food was top flight. My wife and I had dinner there pre-theater. Superb.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined 3 days ago

Young girl playing the piano was outstanding, playing a wide range of classicic 1970's favorites, Broadway scores, and Memphis music (e.g. Elvis, Revered Green, Tina).

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Enjoyed food, service and atmosphere . It was a great spot for a date, anniversary or special occasion. Although the atmosphere appears to be for dressy attire, casual is welcome which was most appreciated

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined 5 days ago

Always consistent in food and service. Itta Bena has the best lamb chops in Memphis!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 18, 2017

I really enjoyed dinner! I made reservations here for my boyfriend to celebrate his New Job Promotion! I only had been here once before for a friend birthday dinner, and enjoyed it then! My boyfriend had never heard of this spot and he loved it! The only thing I will suggest though is paying close attention to special reservation requests! I asked for a certain dessert and for CONGRATS to be written with icing if possible and no one never asked me about it. I wanted to closed the night with that but by that time my boyfriend was ready to go but overall the restaurant is EXCELLENT! Will be back!

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Went to Itta Bena just prior to the Bruno Mars concert. The location is really convenient to Fedex Forum and it's right on Beale Street, but on the corner above BB King's Blues Bar. It is a classy place with excellent food and great service!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

I have been here about 3-4 times and have always been pleased. Based on the prior times I would give Itta Bena five stars. The most recent experience was disappointing. I generally do not complain but I felt that I should. Initial reception of hostess and staff was pleasant. Initially our waiter seemed he was going to be great but it went down hill from there. He was not attentive to our needs and did not seem interested. (We are a group of professional middle aged women out for a girls night out.) We had to asked more than once for various things and could not find him at times (It was 5 -630pm so had not gotten that busy yet.) The reason I gave service a fair was because of other staff members who took over and got what we needed.
I got the Lamb and it was over cooked with semi warm risotto. Another friend had a filet and was also over cooked. The others in the party had the duck and shrimp-n-grits and they were pleased with their meal.
I enjoy coming to this place but was disappointed. I know it can not always be perfect but I know this restaurant is better than the experience I had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 17, 2017

If there were more stars I will give it to the itta bena
From the moment we set foot in the restaurant to the moment we left, was an incredible experience,the atmosphere was extremely welcoming and cozy.
Our waiter Alex was very helpful , we ordered Portobello fries as an appetizer, unfortunately they didn't have it and he recommended stuffed avocados with crab meat.......just delicious!!!!! A must, if you go to itta bena.
Both managers Brad and Matt were amazing too.
Thank you for the free appetizer!!!!!!!

Tags: Live Music, Cozy, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Itta Bena was the perfect Anniversary date night and pre Mud Island Ampitheater concert dinner spot. Highly recommend!

Tags: Healthy, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Cozy, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Although it could be difficult to find the restaurant and equally difficult to climb the stairs up and down, it is worth the effort. Great service from the moment you enter and throughout the meal. She crab soup was one of the best soups I have ever eaten and the rest of the meal was very good. It is a warm upscale ambience but even those looking for a casual evening will be comfortable.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

Very nice . Would go back again very nice ambiance

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Recommended by a tour guide as a "not to miss" place on Beale Street and it was all that and more. Started with cocktails in the bar, friendly banter with bartender, nice live background piano. On to dinner, great menu. Had the same bass and pork chop: outstanding. Very cool vibe, yet comfortable, delicious, and fun. Not touristy. Really a fine evening for us first timers in Memphis.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Bar Seating, Live Music, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Best kept secret on Beale Street! Hard to find, but worth the trouble!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 12, 2017

After BBQ and burgers in Memphis it was great to find a nice sit down meal away from the noise and hubbub of Beale St.. This is above BB Kings Club and even though the club is blasting you don't hear anything on the 3rd floor. Three flights of stairs behind different doors. Don't know if there is an elevator. Decor is really nice- open rafter/warehouse with blue tinted windows. No live music night we were there. Piano player is said to be fantastic-non stop music in all the clubs on Beale but not here for some reason. Randy the server was great-very attentive but not overly. All the waitstaff were top notch. Quality and portions of food were excellent. Prices for a meal like this in a high end tourist area was surprising. $10 for a Jack Manhattan? I had the lamb/wife had the fish and both were excellent. Overall , a really nice place for a quiet meal in Memphis.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Expensive for what it is. But good for other food options along the street

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 11, 2017

AHmazing! We loved it. Finding it is the coolest part! But no, the service and food are awesome as well.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Our dinner was exceptional. We were so glad we chose this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

Great place, great food. We were not expecting such a fine restaurant.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 6, 2017

It was the perfect place for my birthday. It was a pleasant atmosphere. Service was great! I felt like a queen just because of the secret location and grown up ambiance!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Afternoon Tea, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

The only negative I can say about this restaurant is, I made reservations over a week in advance for a window seat overlooking Beale Street. When we got there they seated us at a table away from the window. Other than that, everything was excellent. The service, food, and ambiance is amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 2, 2017

We celebrated our wedding anniversary with some dear friends. Itta Bena was a great choice. Great Food, Great Service, Great night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Very mediocre. Enjoyed the piano music but with a live band playing just below, impossible to enjoy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

If try anything, be sure to have a cup of she-crab soup!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 29, 2017

The staff and food were on point ! I was impressed with the staffs service as well as their working knowledge of the menu and pairing of wine for the occasion. Top marks will definitely go there again. My wife loved it

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Service was great and the food was too! The best bourbon chocolate pecan pie I have ever had!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Itta Bena's "speakeasy" style make it a hidden gem. Lamb was divine, great atmosphere and wonderful drink and wine options.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Food was delicious and service first class. They gave us a complimentary glass of bubbles each as we were on honeymoon, very nice touch.

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on August 23, 2017

The service was fantastic! Never had to wait on anything The food was prepared quicker than expected and tasted great. We got the salmon and red snapper, both of which were delicious! Recommend!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 23, 2017

A great meal with excellent service made for a perfect night. Ashley, our server was the best I encountered on our ten day eclipse road trip. If I lived in Memphis I would likely be a regular.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Quite frankly surprised at the overall quality of the experience. We happened upon it while driving back home following the Eclipse - having found the location to be a good fit. Very glad we did! can highly recommend the fried avocado with crab and the duck & waffles.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 22, 2017

The service and the food was awesome. Sad, but the concierge at The Guest House at Graceland could not give directions but we found it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Lovely place me and wife had a great time We will be back

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fun, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Everything about our experience Friday was absolutely incredible! The waiter was very attentive and knowledgeable, his suggestions were amazing! We are counting down until our next date night to enjoy this place! Get the Lamb Chops & fried avocado!

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

Excellent food and very good unobtrusive service. I was expecting the restaurant to be very loud- but was very pleasantly surprised that even when busy on a Friday night- the noise levels were low. Also I felt it was very good value for money, and a fun atmosphere- perhaps heightened by the mysterious access from BB king's club! The ladies restroom is worth checking out also!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

The Food Wasn't Worth The Cost. The Fried Green Tomatoes Was Horrible and The Steak Wasn't That Great For $45.

Tags: Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

The singer/pianist was amazing. Great ambiance and good service.

Tags: Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

Great food and service. Nice live muscians and singer. Separate small room for romance.

Tags: Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.