Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi

About Island Creek Oyster Bar

Island Creek Oyster Bar is named simply after our farmer, built on the ideal of bringing guests closer to the farm. Chef Jeremy Sewall offers a daily changing menu with a raw bar featuring Island Creek Oysters and an updated, seasonal selection of New England seafood.

500 Commonwealth Avenue
Boston, MA 02115
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood

Cross Street:
Kenmore

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 532-5300

Website:
http://www.islandcreekoysterbar.com/

Parking Details:
Metered parking is available in and around Kenmore Square, or we offer valet for $16.

Public Transit:
Kenmore

Executive Chef:
Jeremy Sewall

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Island Creek Oyster Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (101)
Special Occasion (90)
Fit for Foodies (87)
See All
Local Ingredients (84)
Hot Spot (57)
Bar Seating (57)
Good for Anniversaries (55)
Casual (52)
Good for Birthdays (49)
Vibrant Bar Scene (47)
Creative Cuisine (46)
Neighborhood Gem (45)
Fun (44)
Handcrafted Cocktails (43)
Notable Wine List (40)
Authentic (36)
Good for Groups (36)
Great for Lunch (36)
Romantic (36)
Business Meals (33)
Sunday Lunch (31)
Worth the Drive (31)
Happy Hour (20)
People Watching (20)
Seasonal (19)
Great Beer (16)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Comfort Food (14)
Great for Brunch (14)
Quick Bite (12)
Tasting Menu (11)
Cozy (11)
Late-night Find (10)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Live Sports (6)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Tapas (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Disabled Access (3)
Organic (3)
Waterfront (3)
Scenic View (1)
Spicy (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
3111 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined 3 days ago

Literally the BEST meal we've ever had. Whatever you do, get the seafood pasta and any/all shellfish.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined 3 days ago

I stayed in the hotel nearby and was really excited to get a table at Island Creek Oyster Bar. I went with my son and his wife, prior to flying home to Oregon the next day. We had an amazing meal, delicious oysters. The service was great, just enough attention, and zero hovering. We were told to relax and enjoy ourselves, no rush to get us out the door to seat the next round of diners. The lobster roe pasta was delicious, and the oysters - very fresh and tasty. The restaurants ambiance and vibe is very clean and bright. Highly recommend. But book right away if you want to get in there. It's hard to get a table at this fabulous restaurant.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, People Watching, Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Casual, Authentic, Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

Exceptional cuisine, from appetizers through entrees (I'm a seafood lover, and often have a difficult time choosing among the day's offerings--they all look good!) and on to desserts (my favorite is Banofee pie) and coffee, with wine along the way. Friendly, very competent staff will provide info on wines, entrees, and desserts. Highly recommended!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

We thoroughly enjoyed this spot; from the food to the service to the ambiance it was just terrific! I highly recommend for anyone looking for a memorable meal while either visiting Boston or locals looking to celebrate a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

The oysters were fabulous, the drinks were average, and the service was absolutely exraordinary! Attentive but not bothersome, knowledgeable, struck just the right tone.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined 7 days ago

Great food and drink !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Having watched a Red Sox game in the afternoon this was an easily accessible restaurant. I found it slightly impersonal but would return.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Excellent selection of oysters, fine menu choices, reservation time honored, attentive service.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Absolutely loved Island Creek Oyster Bar. Food was terrific, whether from the raw bar or prepared by the kitchen. Everything was extremely fresh and well prepared to bring out the best of the fish. Excellent wine choices by the bottle or glass to pair with your food. Staff super-friendly and helpful to top off the visit.

Would definitely recommend the restaurant and we liked it so much, we went twice.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Oysters we're fresh and good. Clam chowder lacked clams. Lobster stew was good but portion was small. Salmon was good, but halibut was overcooked and dry. Should have sent it back. Waitress took a long time to bring cocktails. Busy laughing it up with the wait staff even though I stared at her.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 13, 2017

The seafood at ICOP is always fresh and delicious. Theirs is the best lobster roll in Boston with a heavy emphasis on great lobster and almost nothing else. Their oysters are the only ones I eat. A tremendous way to experience these New England favorites!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 10, 2017

The food was amazing but the service was non-existent. We saw our server for our drink order and then our food order (but didn't deliver either) other than that other people that were coming by did everything for us. But our server was there to pick up our payment (but yet not drop the check off).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 10, 2017

I've been to IC half a dozen times in the past two years. We really enjoy raw bar/oysters and seafood. I hadn't noticed until this past time that the oyster menu doesn't give any description just the names of the oysters. I'd appreciate a little more depth ( ie briny, meaty, salty, sweet, small, large, minerals, you get what I mean). There were 4 of us. We started with oysters (24)and they were tasty as Island Creek Oysters always are very good. I don't debate the quality of their oysters. The main courses consisted of 2 fish and chips, 1 small fried clams and a salad with lobster special. None of the meals were outstanding. They were ok but nothing special. For drinks we had 2 beers, 1 martini, 1 cocktail. The bill came to around $230. Our server was knowledgeable of the dishes and happy to answer any questions we had. I was just not wowed by the meal and thought that for a $310 meal (after tip, which the server never came back to thank us for) we would have been more satisfied. It was just ok. I'm disappointed and will look for another place when in the area going forward.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Very expensive prices for dishes that in other places give better quality and more quantity. We went to this place and we were very disappointed from the quality of the food. The Steak very poorly cooked, the lobster sandwich more bread than the lobster meat and the price way steep! We do NOT recommend this place for any person to go and enjoy seafood.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 8, 2017

We had a fabulous time. Good people, good food and a great location!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Definetly will go there again! Best oyster in town!

Tags: Late-night Find, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 7, 2017

My first visit to Island Creek Oyster was 5 years ago to celebrate my Anniversary. It was beyond memorable because the staff went out of their way with a few little things. From a customer service standpoint things like that go a long way. My husband and I were hoping for something close to our first experience. It truly made our day more memorable. Unfortunately that wasn't the case. Food was great just as we remembered. We decided to return for our 10 year anniversary and it felt like a normal dinner. We will most likely visit again but wont be for any major celebrations when in Boston.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 6, 2017

In Boston on vacation and made reservations here--don't go without them. We did go on a Sox game night though. It was really loud so if you are having to have an intimate conversation this isn't the place for you. However if you are wanting fantastic oysters and raw bar I can't imagine any place any better. Wait staff was excellent and made super recommendations.

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Our server was excellent. Did everything to make my birthday special. Made excellent recommendations for food and drinks. Definitely get the biscuit. To die for!!! Huge with honey. Fresh and delicious!

Tags: Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 5, 2017

The acoustic design of the restaurant isn't great, but the interiors are beautiful. The food is delicious and the menu is diverse. The service on this visit was not as personal as I've experienced in the past. But I'd still recommend this restaurant to friends.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 4, 2017

What more can be written about Island Creek? It is super. Great food, cocktails, wine list & service!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Good fresh seafood, the service was spot on, the wine list was pretty good also.

Tags: Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

I went with a friend before a concert at Fenway. We had tuna tartare for appetizer and it was the best we both have had to date. I ordered the lobster roll and it was delicious and very good portion. My friend had the halibut and loved it! Totally recommend it. Although the one thing that was a negative is it did take a little more time to get my cocktail since the bartenders were so busy! But that was not a deal breaker whatsoever!!! We would go back again and I can't wait!

Tags: Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Very good oyster and seafood meal.
Great services!!! Highly recommended. Great location right above the subway.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Casual, Paleo Friendly, Cozy, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Quick Bite, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Have eaten here many times and never disappointed. Lobster roe noodles one of the greatest main courses ever and the oysters are always spectacular.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Amazing oysters, exceptional food. Great ambiance and friendly, efficient service. Very comfortable atmosphere. Love the vibe.

Tags: Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 1, 2017

One of the best real NewEngland seafood spots. Fish and oysters are as fresh as can be.

Tags: Casual, Gluten Free Options, Organic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 1, 2017

The food was great! We were there for our 20th anniversary. It was quite loud though. The creamed corn was fabulous and my husband had the lobster roe fettuccine which he loved. The crudo was lovely.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

Great sea food! Very fresh ! Even it is a little pricy, but it is worthy!

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 31, 2017

The waiter forgot half of what we ordered. Its not ok. The rest was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

 
·Dined on August 30, 2017

Went my first time by myself and had a blast. Both Ashley and Brooke took excellent care of me, thank you both. The food was simply awesome. Living far from any body of water I really missed having fresh fish and seafood. They even got me a complimentary oyster slider, which I thouroughly enjoyed, though I don't know what I did to deserve it :) They have plenty of options so there's something for everyone. You will certainly not leave hungry, I myself at least was stuffed after. Definitely go and try it, you won't regret it.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Casual, Bar Seating, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Excellent raw bar selection and overall food quality. Given local breweries, beer draft selection could be better.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 24, 2017

We come to Boston every summer and Island Creek is a must for dinner at least once during our stay. The service is always great and the atmosphere is really cool. Delicious food too!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 23, 2017

It was our last night in Boston and we enjoyed the dinner so much. High quality-price balance, beautiful place and really nice staff.

Tags: Healthy, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Son starting Harvard

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 20, 2017

To be fair, ate here after a Red Sox game, so exceptionally busy, but that should not matter. Was very disappointing all the way around. Mussel app just OK, nothing unique. Lobster salad overpowered by runny avocado and other ingredients; lobster itself was bland at best. Dessert was best part of the meal, nice gesture of putting b-day candle on dessrt plates. Not real clear on how this place came highly recc. A "hip" place attached to a lovely hotel,but doesn't match the level of quality at the hotel.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 20, 2017

If you like oysters, this is your place! We celebrate all of our big anniversaries and birthdays here! Love the seafood, it's always great!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 20, 2017

The food was great, but the service was abominable. Our server poured out water and we never saw her again for nearly 15 minutes--we had to ask someone to have her come to our table so we could order drinks. The restaurant is very loud. The good part was the food -- it was great and the oysters were fabulous.

Tags: Healthy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Nicest meal we had in U.S this trip!! Amazing seafood and service would highly recommend trying this place out!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Food was fantastic and the recipes creative. Loved the clam chowder and roe pats with lobster and spare ribs.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.