Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi

About Island Creek Oyster Bar

Island Creek Oyster Bar is named simply after our farmer, built on the ideal of bringing guests closer to the farm. Chef Jeremy Sewall offers a daily changing menu with a raw bar featuring Island Creek Oysters and an updated, seasonal selection of New England seafood.

500 Commonwealth Avenue
Boston, MA 02115
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood

Cross Street:
Kenmore

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 532-5300

Website:
http://www.islandcreekoysterbar.com/

Parking Details:
Metered parking is available in and around Kenmore Square, or we offer valet for $16.

Public Transit:
Kenmore

Executive Chef:
Jeremy Sewall

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Island Creek Oyster Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (76)
Fit for Foodies (75)
Modern Decor (62)
See All
Local Ingredients (61)
Special Occasion (55)
Vibrant Bar Scene (50)
Bar Seating (50)
Fun (45)
Handcrafted Cocktails (45)
Hot Spot (43)
Good for Birthdays (41)
Good for Anniversaries (37)
Creative Cuisine (37)
Worth the Drive (34)
Good for Groups (32)
Romantic (32)
Business Meals (31)
Authentic (30)
Casual (28)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Healthy (20)
People Watching (19)
Notable Wine List (19)
Great for Brunch (18)
Great for Lunch (18)
Great Beer (15)
Open Kitchen (13)
Seasonal (12)
Happy Hour (12)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Cozy (10)
Tasting Menu (8)
Late-night Find (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Comfort Food (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Organic (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Tapas (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Live Sports (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Scenic View (1)
 (1)
Spicy (1)
Family Style (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
2926 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 3 days ago

Bad service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

Island Creek is my favorite go to for any occasion. The service is best in class and the menu has something for everyone.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

Seafood was great as always! Wish I could have tried everything

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 5 days ago

Anazing food and service. Expensive but we'll worth the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

Absolutely wonderful. We had the mussel toast, fried oyster sliders, raw oysters and the lobster/shortrib pasta. Every single dish was on point (especially the pasta and mussel toast) and will definitely come back the next time we are in Boston. This is a must-try!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

best oysters in Boston, beautiful space, superb service

Tags: Tapas, Authentic, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Great fresh local seafood and very cool kitchen creations. Loved the Lobster noodles. And our server Cynthia was awesome.

Tags: Seasonal, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Always unbelievable. Perfect for a fancy dinner or special occasion. THE BEST seafood restaurant in Boston hands-down, and I've been to them all. Amazing food, cocktails and service--hard to find these days in high end restaurants. Is pricey but worth it! Get the oyster slider app!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Surrey)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Really nice service with amazing food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Awesome as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 15, 2017

One of the best fish restaurants anywhere. Halibut perfectly cooked. Oysters phenomenal. Great waitstaff. We always have at least one dinner here when in Boston. Good wine list too.

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We waited an hour+ for our main course. The waitress announced she was going on a break and someone else would take over but no one did until I looked for a manager. The food was mediocre and overpriced. The restaurant did write off the meals in all fairness. I would not recommend this restaurant and don't plan to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

My favorite restaurant in Boston. We had a wonderful Mother's Day brunch today. Great drinks and menu items.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Omg! Love this place. Went for Sunday brunch with a friend. We sat at the bar and all the bartenders were friendly and fun. Leanne, Ethan and Victoria...great mixologist. We had oysters, bluefish pate and then I had a burger and bar far the best burger ever!! Go, eat drink and enjoy!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great food and Wine and easy to get to after a Red Sox game.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Food and waitress were outstanding. Only complaint was the bartenders. Tried to get a drink from bartender. After a while I was given a drink menu. I tried to say I'll take a ----. And the bartender left never to return or even look our way. Didnt ruin our dining experience, but I would not go just for drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Oysters were great, of course. Soft shell crab tempura was interesting and delicious. Mussel toast was loaded with tender and juicy mussels. Drinks were creative and paired with the food nicely. Ambiance was nice other than the weird techno music playing. Overall, a great place to eat. Only complaint is our waitress went missing for long periods of time.

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, Paleo Friendly, Great for Lunch, Open Kitchen, Late-night Find, Tapas, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Good for a Date, People Watching, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The raw bar was amazing; the oysters were fresh and delicious, and the Lobster roe noodle dish was divine!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 12, 2017

I violate my unwritten rule to not get in the rut of going to the same place every time I visit Boston just because the food here never disappoints. The service can be quite variable (on this occasion, very attentive) but the oysters, shrimp cocktail (!!) salmon, clams and ceviche were outstanding. Never had a mediocre meal here

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Absolutely the best oysters and service in town! Cocktails and wine list were fantastic as well

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Organic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Good meal. Could be great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Fiancee's birthday!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Authentic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Beginning was awful, I made the reservation to enjoy the last dinner of our Boston trip. When I came to the restaurant 20-25min early of our reservation time, the hostess checked and told us the table is not ready so wait until our reservation time. We waited and the time came we asked for the table. She looked us and Ok to set us very small table for 3 people like the bar table. I asked that is this table for the reservation for 3 people. She said "Yes". We were very uncomfortable to eat dinner, we asked our server "Do you think this table enough for us to eat?" He asked us to change the table. We finally sat fine dining table and enjoyed our dinner. If we did not move the table, our last dinner of our trip made us very bad image of Boston. Why I made the reservation at OpenTable, we want to enjoy our dinner. Please consider the customers. I do not understand the hostess could work at the fine restaurant, she does not have any hospitality for customers service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Hands down one of the best dining experiences I've had. Drinks/food/service were all top notch and the ambiance was great. Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Food was overpriced and blah. Felt like the server wanted us out. Not impressed. Oysters were good but can get that any where in boston. Great atmosphere.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 5, 2017

The oysters r excellent. Nice ambiance. The bottles of wine r too expensive . They need to rethink the wine list.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Food was very salty. Chef agreed it was their fault but did not offer anything for compensation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Server was not the best but the meal was fantastic.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 1, 2017

The Island Creek oysters are outstanding as was the oyster sliders. The monkfish and banana cream pie were stellar. Our server,Michelle, was extremely helpful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The food was good, but not great. I had seafood pasta which was good. Those who ordered the fish dishes received small fillets of fish with a small amount of lackluster sides. I've been to this restaurant several times and that was a surprise. The oysters we good of course. Overall, the cost was very high and everyone was underwhelmed with their entrees, except for the pasta dish.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Tucson)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Drinks befor dinner were awsome. Better selection of vodka specialty drinks would be great. Bartender was fun and engaging. Food was awesome. French Laundry gets their oysters from Island Creek so they must be doing something right.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Awesome food! Awesome waiter! He made sure our beer and oyster choices were on point for us to have a perfect dinner! I would HIGHLY recommend this restaurant to anyone in Boston...just make sure you use Open Table to make a reservation beforehand.My husband and I hope to return one day for another outstanding meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 29, 2017

ICOB is (and has been) our favorite restaurant in Boston. It literally never ever disappoints! The food is outstanding and the management is terrific! Would eat here once a week if we could afford to!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We arrived and our table was located in a centralized location, giving us great views of the restaurant. Our waitress wasn't that great; getting our drinks took a while. She asked if we needed anything else and walked away before my girlfriend could ask for a lemon water. The food was absolutely delicious, but it's very pricey! The do not have Budweiser products or any other "regular" choices. The beer I did have was full-bodied and very good. Overall, it was a great experience and I'll certainly eat here again.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 29, 2017

island creek....every time i am in boston i drop in for either dinner or lunch. the overall food and menu never disappoints but presentation of the oysters / raw bar alone is good enough reason to continue to make this a regular or a can't miss spot for me. the wine and beer list continues to grow and just dial in the best food / wine and beer pairings. the local food sourcing is always a plus too...see ya next time i am in town!

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Island Creek Oyster Bar is always spectacular. Excellent food, great staff, and perfect atmosphere for get togethers. I highly recommend and look forward to my next visit.

Tags: Good for a Date, Live Sports, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Casual, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Excellent! Our go to for special events.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Place is great. My only other comment is my own pet peeve about avoiding a table where one of you faces a wall- they did accommodate my request when we initially were being seated facing a wall.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Need more American based wine options. . too heavy on Outside US.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Unfortunately it was a poor experience. The food was good but not that amazing taking in consideration the price... The service was terrible; we had to hold our main dishes plates while still finishing the entrances. There was no room on the table. It was a mess; in the end they were rearranging the dining room, switching tables and chairs, taking in no consideration that we were still there, finishing the deserts... This was the second time I went to this restaurante, and for sure we will not come back again...
I was embarrassed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.