About Island Creek Oyster Bar

Island Creek Oyster Bar is named simply after our farmer, built on the ideal of bringing guests closer to the farm. Chef Jeremy Sewall offers a daily changing menu with a raw bar featuring Island Creek Oysters and an updated, seasonal selection of New England seafood.

500 Commonwealth Avenue
Boston, MA 02115
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood

Cross Street:
Kenmore

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 532-5300

Website:
http://www.islandcreekoysterbar.com/

Parking Details:
Metered parking is available in and around Kenmore Square, or we offer valet for $16.

Public Transit:
Kenmore

Executive Chef:
Jeremy Sewall

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Island Creek Oyster Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Modern Decor (49)
Good for a Date (45)
Fit for Foodies (41)
See All
Local Ingredients (39)
Special Occasion (35)
Fun (30)
Good for Anniversaries (29)
Bar Seating (27)
Business Meals (26)
Romantic (26)
Hot Spot (25)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Good for Groups (20)
Casual (20)
Vibrant Bar Scene (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Authentic (19)
Worth the Drive (18)
People Watching (15)
Healthy (13)
Notable Wine List (11)
Great for Brunch (10)
Late-night Find (9)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Seasonal (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Great Beer (6)
Cozy (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Organic (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Scenic View (1)
Historic (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Private Room (1)
Tapas (1)
Live Sports (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
2812 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

Superb service, outstanding menu and freshest seafood in the city!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

Great! Get the oyster sliders!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

This was a family dinner and the noise level was too high for our family, but the food was amazing!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

Island Creek Oyster delivers great food in a wonderful setting. The restaurant is large but not noisy. You can have a conversation easily. The food is very good - I had the butternut squash soup with lobster and my dining companion had the clam chowder. Both were great. He had the hake and I had the black sea bass. Both were cooked perfectly.

The pace of dinner was slow -- took a while for the waitress to come over and take drinks and then a while to order. Between courses was a bit longer than I would like - but we didn't say anything. We did have to ask for the check and the host saw me trying to get our waitresses attention and intervened. All in all though we had a great dining experience.

Tags: Business Meals, Healthy, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Delicious food and beautiful decor - well worth the price. Unique menu items and delicious favorites as well.

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great variety of oyster choices and great lobster. Modern design and perfect Service complete the experience

Tags: Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Island Creek has a great atmosphere and even better food. The music selection is great and contributes to the atmosphere without overwhelming the room. We were able to enjoy the music and still carry out conversations without strain. The food was amazing. The service was a little slow. We were seated for a while before we received our drinks, and then later on when we were trying to get refills it took a while. However, i think our server could sense some of the frustration and brought over post dinner cocktails on the house. That more than made up for it. Our server was noticeably knowledgeable about the food and the drinks and their compatibility and gave great recommendations. I would go back in a heartbeat.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Great Beer, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 17, 2017

They didn't accept my reservation for 10 people and sat us 8 and 2. Horrible horrible planning on their end.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 16, 2017

The oysters were delicious and so was dinner but for the price I was disappointed in the quantity of fish and shellfish in my bouillabaisse. Spent over a hundred per person and was still a bit hungry after the meal. Nice wine selection but slow service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Fantastic, fresh, & imaginative Valentine's Day dinner. Fabulous oysters and seafood. Truly impressive waitress--extremely knowledgeable, attentive, & personable.

Horrible traffic made us late and the hostess was understanding and accommodating.

Terrific dinner-- would definitely go back and recommend.

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 13, 2017

All the food was amazing. The fried oyster slider and clam chowder were perfectly size for apps. For two people they split one bowl of soup for us into two bowl, which was really nice. They forgot to put in a side order for us which ended up being ok because with the apps and entre we were both full, but would have been annoying if we still wanted it. The lobster roll was really fresh, but a little bland especially compared to the awesome flavors of the fried oyster slider. Overall was a great experience and looking forward to visiting again to try the raw bar and other menu entres.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Great food, service, and staff. And what oysters!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The dinner that we had here for an early Valentine's Day was absolutely fantastic. We decided to start with some oysters and they even through one in for free, at no extra charge! After the extremely fresh oysters, my girlfriend and I decided to split the Clam Chowder and the Black Bass. We told them that we wanted to share both, and to our surprise, the food came out already split into two orders, with presentation just as good as the original. The Chowder wasn't overly cloying, although staying true to the Boston clam chowder, was creamy, smooth and chock full of smoky bacon. The Black Bass was also fantastic, incorporating parsnips in three different forms, while using a citrus oil to balance out the creamy richness of the parsnips. The bass itself was cooked to perfection, with crispy skin on top and juicy tender meat that just fell apart. The servers were also very friendly, talking us through the varieties of oysters and giving suggestions when we were torn between the Clam Chowder and the Lobster Bisque. We had an excellent night.

Tags: Casual, Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Have had two excellent brunches at Island Creek over the last month.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

For how expensive the food is the food is not good no flavor at all very fresh but no flavor would not come back

Tags: Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The cocktails, service and oysters were outstanding. Great vibe inside and quite enough to have decent conversations when the restaurant is packed. That being said the remainder of the menu was lacking in overall quality and flavor. We had a bouillabaisse, herb crusted cod and a bowl of clam chowder. The fish and seafood was rubbery and lacking in flavor. Not sure this represents the whole restaurant as a whole, but I would only come back for drinks, oysters and great service.

Tags: Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 11, 2017

My first time to island Creek. I was looking forward to an enjoyable seafood experience. The ambience was nice and enjoyed cocktails at the bar before dinner

Service was exceptional. The oysters, mussels and fried clams were delicious however the fish and chips were tasteless and unfortunately for me...spoiled. 2 hours after my meal I fell violently sick. I know it was the fish since my wife enjoyed the oysters mussels and clams with me. This was unfortunate since a really enjoyed the dining experience until the fish. Not sure I will head back anytime soon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Oysters were fresh, plentiful and excellent! Service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Great oyster bar with good vibe and always interesting menu. Cocktails are handcrafted

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 2, 2017

My boyfriend and I went here for his birthday and they brought out a little dessert for us to celebrate without any request to do so! All the servers were very friendly and willing to explain anything. The food was phenomenal and the oysters are well worth the price!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 1, 2017

The waiter we had was cocky and an attitude. Had the manager change our waiter

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 30, 2017

My husband and I love oysters. We are serious foodies - he is a high-end caterer. In looking for a restaurant for dinner during an overnight trip to Boston, we found Island Creek Oyster Bar. Wow! The ambience is lively, the decor is very fitting and interesting. The food is extraordinary. We ate six different oyster varieties, had the lobster bisque - the best we have EVER eaten, and the oyster sliders. The food was well-seasoned, served fresh, and presented beautifully. Our server was unobtrusive, knowledgeable and a real asset to our dining experience. If you love food and love fun spaces Island Creek Oyster Bar should be on your list of destination restaurants.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Love this place. The menu, which changes, is always interesting. The wine list is wonderful. The waitstaff is superb: attentive without being obsequious. This spot is a favorite.

Tags: Business Meals, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Overall good! The raw bar was fantastic but steak and eggs were ordered at our table and both were very undercooked.

Everything else was fantastic!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Delicious meal with excellent service. Love the decor here too. Great vibe.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The food at ICOB is incredible. Unlike some other oyster bars, ICOB was willing to serve one each of the 13 oysters that they had on hand. The oysters were expertly shucked preserving the liquor and beautifully presented. My oysters were accompanied by fresh bread baked in house and a smooth porter. It was a wonderful meal and I look forward to coming back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Great server. Food very good, as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 22, 2017

You must like seafood to eat here, very limited menu for those who do not. We were a party of 4, three of us had the hot lobster roll which was excellent one had the salmon which also was good. Cocktails were fine, nothing spectacular. Our server was pleasant but she was very busy, hence we waited at least 1/2 hour before we even got a drink order in. Dinner took over an hour to be served. If this was a typical Saturday night they needed more servers, so expect to wait your food.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Had a great dinner at Island Creek Oyster Bar. The decor is modern and cozy at the same time. The atmosphere is upbeat, but not too loud. Our cocktails were excellent and they have mocktail options which is great for those you don't/can't drink. I would have to say the highlight of the night was the exceptional food. My husband had the black bass, best fish dish either of us have ever had! And I had the lobster roe noodles, honestly one of the best dishes I've ever had! The only reason this place didn't get 5 stars was because of the service. It wasn't bad, it's just that our server wasn't personal and just did the minimal she had to do to get us through our meal. Overall, I would definitely recommend it especially for the food.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The menu and food were outstanding. Waitress was attentive and knowledgeable. We never felt rushed and seriously enjoyed every minute. We can't wait to go back.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 20, 2017

First time here my boyfriend and I have been wanting to come here for a while. We finally got a reservation and everything was phenomenal! The service was fantastic and the food tasted even better! We can't wait to be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Excellent food. Oysters are among the best offered. Knowledgeable service. Friendly staff. Wine list offers good selection, although some bottles in the $30 range would be appreciated. We'll be back, with enthusiasm.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Casual, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 18, 2017

The food was delicious and the ambience was wonderful.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Started at the very pleasant bar, where I had a whiskey sour [first one in about 40 years] - delicious! My dining companion had a martini and two oysters, which he much enjoyed. We each had the special of the evening, a 3 lb lobster, roasted in tarragon butter, with fingerling potatoes and greens. It was cooked perfectly! Excellent wine list. The service was pleasant and attentive, ambiance lively but the lighting was at a calming level.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We went to Island Creek only to have oysters and were not disappointed. There were many varieties to choose from and the waiter did an excellent job describing them for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We went for brunch with friends visiting from out of town. I got the baked beans with bacon and a fried egg and my bf got the egg white frittata. My meal was decently sized, though my bf's was pretty small in terms of brunch meals, it definitely could have used some additional eggs or a side. Overall the flavors were great and the cocktails were tasty too. A little on the expensive side for the amount of food you get, but overall a beautiful restaurant with good tasting food and drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Attentive, knowledgeable service. Oyster sliders are not to be missed. Waiter recommended lobster roe pasta, which was outstanding. Fish & chips top notch. Great wine list. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 12, 2017

I was visiting from St. Louis with some colleagues for a business meeting and enjoyed our experience so much that we have already put a recommendation into our office for others who are traveling in the area to be sure to stop by to visit this neighborhood gem.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Am never disappointed here. Had the salmon - best ever.

Tags: Casual, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Island Creek is always excellent, the food is always good. Service is excellent. We have never had a bad meal here.

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 8, 2017

My boyfriend and I had a great date on a Sunday evening here. The service was wonderful and so was the food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Our server was attentive and friendly. Food was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We started off with a selection of delicious oysters recommended by our server. Our other appetizer - fried oyster slider - was good but a bit light on the oyster. Clam chowder was OK, but could have had more clams. Our entrees of skate wing (nightly special) was presented well, but rather salty while the monkfish was very good and tender. We also had brown butter cauliflower and a honey/rosemary biscuit both of which are definitely worth a try. The service was very attentive for having a regular meal.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Vraiment excellent! Les nouilles au homard et bœuf, genre surf and turf, franchement mémorable!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great service and great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We ate here New Year's Eve, and although the earliest reservation I could get was 10pm, when we walked in the restaurant was half empty. Not sure what that was all about. If you love oysters, then you will love this place, but even if you don't (we don't) there is plenty else. The menu is very confusing, so I had to ask a lot of questions. I'm more impressed with great food than with a list of fancy ingredients, but once we got past the wording, and our server came down to earth, the food was excellent.

Tags: Modern Decor, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

fresh oyster with perfect amount of brine, great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The food is amazing. The service is good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Outstanding service. Food was fantastic as always. They made our engagement dinner so special with a number of personal touches. Consistently above and beyond and a flawless example of hospitality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.