Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

The Rimrock - Fairmont Palliser CalgaryThe Rimrock - Fairmont Palliser Calgary
(366)
$$$$
Continental | Downtown, Calgary
Booked 3 times today
Bow Valley Grill - Fairmont Banff Springs HotelBow Valley Grill - Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel
(227)
$$$$
Canadian | Banff, Banff / Canmore
Booked 13 times today
Castello Ristorante - Fairmont Banff SpringsCastello Ristorante - Fairmont Banff Springs
(149)
$$$$
Italian | Banff, Banff / Canmore
Booked 8 times today
1888 Chop House - Fairmont Banff Springs1888 Chop House - Fairmont Banff Springs
(155)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Banff, Banff / Canmore
Booked 18 times today
Rundle Lounge - Afternoon Tea - Fairmont Banff Springs HotelRundle Lounge - Afternoon Tea - Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel
(353)
$$$$
Afternoon Tea | Banff, Banff / Canmore
Booked 4 times today
Samurai Sushi Bar & Restaurant - Fairmont Banff Springs HotelSamurai Sushi Bar & Restaurant - Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel
(56)
$$$$
Japanese | Banff, Banff / Canmore
Booked 6 times today
Waldhaus Restaurant - Fairmont Banff Springs HotelWaldhaus Restaurant - Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel
(242)
$$$$
German | Banff, Banff / Canmore
Booked 10 times today
Stanley's Smokehouse - Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel Golf CourseStanley's Smokehouse - Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel Golf Course
Reviews Coming Soon
$$$$
Canadian | Banff, Banff / Canmore
Grapes - Fairmont Banff SpringsGrapes - Fairmont Banff Springs
(48)
$$$$
Wine Bar | Banff, Banff / Canmore
Booked 4 times today
Three Ravens Restaurant & Wine BarThree Ravens Restaurant & Wine Bar
(508)
$$$$
Northwest | Banff, Banff / Canmore
Booked 3 times today
Chuck's SteakhouseChuck's Steakhouse
(71)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Banff, Banff / Canmore
Booked 12 times today
Maple Leaf GrillMaple Leaf Grill
(727)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Banff, Banff / Canmore
Booked 7 times today
Sky Bistro, Mountain Top Dining @ Banff GondolaSky Bistro, Mountain Top Dining @ Banff Gondola
(60)
$$$$
Canadian | Banff, Banff / Canmore
Booked 18 times today
The Keg Steakhouse + Bar - Banff DowntownThe Keg Steakhouse + Bar - Banff Downtown
(24)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Banff, Banff / Canmore
Booked 19 times today
The Eddie Burger + BarThe Eddie Burger + Bar
Reviews Coming Soon
$$$$
Burgers | Banff, Banff / Canmore

About Permanently Closed - Indian Summer

This restaurant is permanently closed. Closed for the Season.

405 Spray Avenue
Banff, AB T1L 1J4
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Canadian

Hours of Operation:
Closed for the Season.

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 762-2211

Website:
http://www.christmasatthecastle.ca/dining

Executive Chef:
j.W. Foster

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Full Bar, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Indian Summer - Permanently Closed Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.1

ambience

4.3

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (2)
Historic (1)
Seasonal (1)
See All
People Watching (1)
Fireplace (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
27 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The was the best buffet I have ever been ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 26, 2016

The was the best buffet I have ever been to. So many options! Everything you could have ever wanted and perfectly prepared! From the intricate details on the dessert to the beautiful displays, a lot of work and preparation was put into this meal. The s'mores area was amazing!!! I applaud you all on such a well done meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Booked for Christmas Day lunch and it di ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Booked for Christmas Day lunch and it didn't disappoint. Great food, great atmosphere and great staff. Lovely way to spend Xmas day

Tags: People Watching, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food but overpriced. Service was o ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Great food but overpriced. Service was okay but did not deserve the 18% surcharge. Was a nice experience but not worth the price. Tables in ballroom were not level.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Superb Christmas Day brunch!!

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Superb Christmas Day brunch!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The variety of foods was spectacular how ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The variety of foods was spectacular however I would have liked warm plates fir the hot food as by the time you got back to your table everything was cold.

Our waiter seemed to want to be anywhere else but where he was and was not as attentive as others in the venue however he was pleasant and curteous.

Overall a beautiful location for a white Christmas.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Great Option for the Christmas Eve if yo ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Great Option for the Christmas Eve if you don't want to cook

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Pretty disappointing food, ambiance is l ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Pretty disappointing food, ambiance is less than expected and wine list was severely limited. Extremely overpriced. Tastes like a generic buffet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Thoroughly enjoyed our meal here. Good ...

 
 (Bath)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed our meal here. Good menu great service and spectacular views.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was good, though not better Ind ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 8, 2016

The food was good, though not better Indian food than I've had elsewhere. The service, while friendly, was quite slow. The ambiance was utilitarian, but the view was awesome. I thought the price far exceeded a reasonable amount for the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Fantastic food, art twin to detail from ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on August 29, 2016

Fantastic food, art twin to detail from servers and chef personally visited. Location outstanding

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Not the same as when Vij ran the show la ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 22, 2016

Not the same as when Vij ran the show last year; but a pretty authentic Indian menu in a stunning setting with friendly informative service. Better than most curry houses.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

The food was just amazing and the view c ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 7, 2016

The food was just amazing and the view can't be beat.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Could have done better for Christmas Dinner

 
 (Perth / WA)·Dined on December 26, 2015

We booked the fairly expensive buffet dinner for Christmas Day and we were a bit disappointed. The food was served in a large gloomy area, and lacked two of the things we most look forward to at Christmas ... Baked ham and Christmas pudding! What?? Come on!! Turkey was just carved from a roll and there were few vegetables visible. On the plus side there was a reasonably-priced wine list, some interesting seafood, and more desserts than you (Or at least I ) could ever want (except Christmas Pudding), and I managed to get the final tiny bit of blue cheese. A manageress came and asked if we were all happy, and I mentioned the Christmas Pudding. She came back about twenty minutes later with two serves. Very, very good of her!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Way too crowded.

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 26, 2015

Nice for way too many families and we were crowed in with people constantly pushing past our chairs. Our table was about 36" round for FOUR ADULTS. Should not happen at the Castle.

The selection of food at the stations was impressive but the Christmas Turkey was dry and tasteless.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value1

Drinks should've been included in the me ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 26, 2015

Drinks should've been included in the meal price as $89 wasn't worth the experience. It was really easy to get server support to order specialty drinks at an additional cost, but took more time to get coffee, tea or water. Coffee ended up cold pretty quickly that I just skipped it. Buffet was an eclectic mix of international selections, which was fine. However, it would've been nice to have more traditional selections to accompany holiday meal like ham, candied yams or stuffing. Overall, other Fairmont locations do a better job on holiday buffet; i.e. Chateau Whistler, which was disappointing as I had never had a mediocre meal at the Fairmont Banff Springs before. Musicians should've been stationed in the dining area not near food stations. Would've been nice to hear live music while at table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Knowledgable waiter and excellent Indian food.

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 12, 2015

Great view from restaurant. Food was served quickly. Waiter explained meals and condiments. Tranquil and refined atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

great menu and food!

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 27, 2015

Every food item was well prepared and hot to the table. The condiment trolley was superb. We had our whole family there with three kids and they were made to feel welcome too!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Delicious and Beautiful View

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 13, 2015

Unequivocally the best Indian food I've ever had. The view from the dining room was spectacular. We wanted to extend our trip just so we could return and have dinner there again (unfortunately we weren't able to do that).

Also had a food allergy that the restaurant easily accommodated. I can't say enough good things about the experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious Dishes, the goat curry was sup ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 30, 2015

Delicious Dishes, the goat curry was superb!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great experience

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 17, 2015

This is a seasonal restaurant, open in the summer on the second floor of the Rundle Lounge. The setting and views are beautiful. For a seasonal restaurant, I was really impressed with the quality of the food. Everything was quite good, in particular, the butter chicken. Portion sizes were small and prices high, however you are paying in part for the location and views.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Indian Restaurant with a great view

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 10, 2015

My wife and I are relatively new to Indian food, but one in our party has recently "gotten into" the cuisine, and he said the food and selection were quite good. We all enjoyed our meals. Relatively small restaurant with a wonderful view in the very large Banff Springs Hotel, and considering the location, not very noisy. A nice little change in busy Banff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

The food was fantastic! Sauces/spices were awesome

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 9, 2015

I took my wife here after seeing an ad in the elevator at the hotel. Soooo glad we stopped in to eat! Challenging to find, but is well worth the hunt.

Amazing view. Awesome food. Nice waitress.

We had veggie pakoras, butter chicken Marsala, curry chicken and naan. Butter chicken was my wife's favorite. I'm torn.

Get all of the sauces and chutney (included). No regrets there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

For the most part everything was going r ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 3, 2015

For the most part everything was going really well (except for the part where the restaurant itself was a bit hard to locate) till I asked the server about a specific dish...I feel he vacillated so much in an effort to say what he thought I wanted to hear and in the end I paid a fortune for something I couldn't eat...my consolation? A free glass of milk!!!! I think if he had just been honest I may have had a meal I would have thoroughly enjoyed because up till that point I had truly been having a wonderful dinner

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Best Indian Food ever!

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 12, 2015

Indian Summer is wonderful! We had such a great dinner in the Rundle Lounge and would highly recommend this to anyone staying in Banff or at the Banff Springs. The view is amazing but the food quickly overshadows that! The spice level, the combinations...all of it was amazing. We had the samosas which were spiced perfectly and accompanied by a delicious mint chutney. We also got to try the mango chutney and it was perfect with the samosas. We also had the butter chicken and paneer tikka masala which were both such a nice combination. We were practically licking the plates...lol

Overall this is the best indian food I have ever eaten, hands down.

Go now before it's gone.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Given the buzz about celebrity chef Vikr ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 26, 2015

Given the buzz about celebrity chef Vikram Vij I expected to be blown away, and Indian Summer missed the mark.The food was good, but it didn't really stand out for me as a significant departure from what you would expect at your neighbourhood Indian Restaurant, except that it charged Fairmont prices. There were no surprises, no innovative interpretations on the cuisine.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Visit of Indian Summer on 17th May,2015

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 18, 2015

First of all the scenic view and the castel itself amazing. It is a great experience for me to be there and enjoy a dinner there. Though my expectation was very high regarding the food and services, but I will say its Ok. As it was a busy Sunday night we have to wait long for Main-course food though they apologize for it anyway the view is so good I never mind to wait there. But regarding food I will say its ok nothing special about it. We ordered special chicken curry that is one of the specialist item in the restaurant. I would say that's ok nothing extraordinary about it. Moktaits were also not that much tasty. So if you want to experience outstanding view with ok food this is the best option for you.Its worth to visit at least once.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2

What a find!

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 8, 2014

This restaurant was a real treat. Overlooking the Bow Valley from the Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel, we enjoyed a fabulous Indian dinner. The tandoori chicken was perfectly prepared as was the garlic naan. Due to food allergies that I have, the chef came to the table to recommend dishes that I could eat. He prepared a special dressing for my salad. Everyone was so accommodating. Whether or not you are staying at a the hotel, we highly recommend this restaurant if you like Indian food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.