About Indaco

526 King Street
Charleston, SC 29403
View Larger Map

Genuine Italian flavors fill an airy, modern space accented by lime-wash, white brick, blonde butcher block and silver lighting pendants. An antique pizza peel dating to the 1850s hangs on the wall, portraying Indaco’s dedication to authenticity. The restaurant boasts a craft cocktail program featuring Italian classics such as the Negroni and amaro on tap and housemade Italian sodas. This concept introduces traditional Italian eating to Upper King’s booming, fine-dining scene. A 2,900 square foot restaurant, Indaco offers 100 seats inclusive of the bar and patio.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
SUNDAY - WEDNESDAY: 5 TO 10 PM
THURSDAY - SATURDAY: 5 PM to 11 PM

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(843) 727-1228

Website:
http://indacocharleston.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking
Street Parking on King

Executive Chef:
Michael Perez

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Indaco Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (33)
Fit for Foodies (27)
Bar Seating (22)
See All
Casual (21)
Fun (21)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Authentic (20)
Special Occasion (20)
Wood Oven (19)
Romantic (18)
Good for Groups (15)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Local Ingredients (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Modern Decor (13)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Notable Wine List (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Family Style (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Outstanding Value (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Open Kitchen (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Business Meals (5)
Cozy (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Great Beer (3)
People Watching (3)
Historic (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Fireplace (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Healthy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Seasonal (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
671 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Friendly, casual and energetic atmospher ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined 2 days ago

Friendly, casual and energetic atmosphere. Nice staff. Limited menu, but everyone at our table thoroughly enjoyedtheir order.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Indaco never disappoints. Great food and ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 2 days ago

Indaco never disappoints. Great food and service. Perfect spot for dinner before Wolff Street theater show.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The good was excellent. The brussel spro ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 5 days ago

The good was excellent. The brussel sprout pizza was amazing!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were excited to try a new restaurant ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

We were excited to try a new restaurant in Charleston for our romantic Valentine's getaway. Indaco was promising from a location and ambiance standpoint, but our experience was less than satisfying. We were not offered bread or anything else when we sat down, which we found odd in an Italian restaurant. My husband ordered pizza and I was struggling with my decision. The waiter sold me on gnocchi with crab and truffles. The pizza was good, however, the gnocchi portion wasn't consistent with a price of $28. We felt that the service was rushed. Our entree arrived shortly after our cocktails. Overall, the food and pace of service were not consistent with the price of the evening. We wouldn't go back for anything other than happy hour.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Casual but very nice atmosphere. The g ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Casual but very nice atmosphere. The gnocci with blue crab was outstanding as was the pizza. Sunday night was half off bottle of wine which made for a very nice value. Definitely recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

Indaco is Charleston's most wonderful re ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Indaco is Charleston's most wonderful restaurant! We absolutely love coming here and will continue to come back whenever we are in town! The margherita pizza is amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food here is amazing and the atmosph ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food here is amazing and the atmosphere is great as well. Trevor was our server and he is OUTSTANDING!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Fun, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service!!

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I'm so sad. This was my favorite restaur ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I'm so sad. This was my favorite restaurant but tonight a waiter named Nate and a manager named Trevor have changed that. Nate was rude, condescending, and told us that we needed to order everything at once because they had a 12 top and a 14 top that needed to be seated. What? When I told him I wasn't ready to decide on all my courses he walked away while I was talking to him. Our wine was corked and Trevor treated us like fools for objecting to it.

I could give additional details but it would just be more of the same. Couldn't wait to leave. Nate is bad for business and Trevor isn't much better. And we live here. Local. Pizza is good. Be ready for bad attitudes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value2

Outstanding meal and service at Chef's T ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Outstanding meal and service at Chef's Table! I highly recommend it.

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic Italian dishes served with a m ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Fantastic Italian dishes served with a modern flare. Friendly service in a more modern setting. We will definitely be back to this restaurant.

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great spot with reasonably priced Italia ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Great spot with reasonably priced Italian food

Service is fantastic , the space is small but unique ...reminds reminds you of a New York City meat-district kind of restaurant with no noise

I believe the pasta's are homemade ...sit by the kitchen if you can to watch the chefs prepare the food... it's quite entertaining

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I have dined at Indaco many times. The ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I have dined at Indaco many times. The food is consistently delicious. I typically order their fish of the day and occasionally order the pasta. I always order the burrata which is served with the most delicious light and airy flatbread. We ordered the burrata this evening and it was served with a slightly burnt sub roll which was sliced in half. The entire presentation was compromised and the dish was not appetizing at all. I asked the waitress about the flatbread and she replied that they change sometimes and the flatbread might take a few minutes. The situation was rectified and the subroll was replaced with the flatbread. I was with friends that had not been to the restaurant before and was a little embarrassed because I had raved about the restaurant. I was worried that the entrees may also be compromised because it was a busy Saturday night but the fish and lamb were delicious. Service is polite.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and service. Griffin's knowl ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Great food and service. Griffin's knowledge of menu was very helpful and he made sure everything was perfect. Great time. Will return again.

Be sure to enjoy the procuitto appetizer...pricey but outstanding.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Had a lovely meal here while in town for ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Had a lovely meal here while in town for a few short days. Food and service were both excellent! Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The good was very good and the staff was ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 31, 2017

The good was very good and the staff was outstanding!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I've heard a lot about Indaco and we fin ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I've heard a lot about Indaco and we finally made our way there for an early Sunday dinner. The food was great - marinated olives, burrata, pappardelle and zeppole for desert. Even better, Sunday is 1/2 price wine night and the wine list is excellent. Griffin was our server and he was excellent - knowledgeable and helpful which rounded out a wonderful evening...we'll be back!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Met our son here who attends the College ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Met our son here who attends the College of Charleston for dinner. Noise level was perfect for talking. Decor was warm and inviting and menu had something for everyone!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Wood Oven, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

great menu selection, creative cocktails ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 23, 2017

great menu selection, creative cocktails. A wonderful deal for restaurant week and great find of 1/2 price bottles of wine on Sunday.

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Great as always! Love the atmosphere and ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Great as always! Love the atmosphere and Italian wine selection

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This was our third time at Indaco and ov ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 21, 2017

This was our third time at Indaco and overall it was disappointing. We sat on the patio, which has no ambience. We were brought NO BREAD or any kind of complimentary hors-d'oeuvres to munch on while we waited for our first course - Really, in an expensive Italian restaurant, you would think they would bring you at least a piece of garlic bread. I had the meat balls for a first course, which were delicious, but my husband's marinated olives were not pitted - a bowl of very small olives that there was no way to eat politely since they all had a pit which had to be spit out. Awkward. I would really have liked a salad, but they had nothing except kale. An Italian restaurant that doesn't have a Caprese salad? My main course was the lamb shank, which was OK but not outstanding (other places in Charleston do this better, like Pano e Vino) . My husband had a pasta entree which was likewise good but not outstanding. We paid $180 for the two of us ($60 was a bottle of very good Italian red wine, which WAS worth it!)- and overall we did not feel it was worth it. We are local, and there are other places where we feel we get a better value. To be fair to our waitress, we did have very good service....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Went during restaurant Week. Friday nig ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Went during restaurant Week. Friday night very busy at the bar and very loud.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

My daughter asked for a nice restaurant ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 20, 2017

My daughter asked for a nice restaurant week dinner for her birthday. Induce had a wonderfully full menu. We've been here a few times and will return. The back porch is lovely as is he interior. Our waitress was clearly discontent but trying. So service was functionally good but nothing you could relate to or rave about. The food was good. The spot's valet is the bomb. We had fun!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

The food was absolutely superb as was ou ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 20, 2017

The food was absolutely superb as was our server Daniella.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's just good food. Sat at bar, service ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 19, 2017

It's just good food. Sat at bar, service was great and food was good. It was a Tuesday so just perfect amount of people in restaurant. It was restaurant week which made the value over the top as I felt they didn't decrease portions like a lot of places do. I usually avoid restaurant week as I like to order what I want. The whole menu was available! It will now be on our regular rotation of go to places.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome restaurant week deal! Food is al ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Awesome restaurant week deal! Food is always delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent dinner, everyone in our party ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Excellent dinner, everyone in our party of four thoroughly enjoyed their food. Great balance of textures and bright fresh notes. Strong wine list, almond boudin was a great ending to the meal.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love Indaco! Excellent food, great serv ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Love Indaco! Excellent food, great service and a warm and very welcoming atmosphere!

The Burrata, The Ricotta Toast, The Black Papardelle with the Egg were all different and well prepared and presented! Our Waiter, Nate, was awesome and very patient and accommodating!

Can't wait to return!

Tags: Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Fun, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was AMAZING! New twists on Ital ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The food was AMAZING! New twists on Italian classics. I can't wait to go back.

Tags: Authentic, , Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went in for restaurant week and because ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Went in for restaurant week and because the server neglected to explain how they do it there, our bill was double what we intended to pay. Great food but our server was kind of a jerk about the whole situation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

Went for restaurant week to try Indaco f ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Went for restaurant week to try Indaco for the first time.. Our food was absolutely delicious!! But our service was not great as we felt rushed almost the entire time...

The beginning was all fine and dandy but during our appetizer course (that we were thoroughly enjoying), our server essentially told us we shouldn't eat the remaining of our appetizer because we had "a lot of food coming." So fine, we agreed to let him box it, so he took the remaining food and then immediately took mine & my friends plate not even giving her a chance to tell him she still wanted her last few bites. Again, whatever, fine.. "We have a lot of food coming." Because he took it away, we thought we were about to receive our meal. But it didn't even come for about another 5-10 minutes (so what was his rush?). After our meal was over, we got another round of drinks to have with dessert. As both were put down on our table and before we even took a bite/sip, he put our check down.... We both just sat there very awkwardly and confused.. Then as we were eating our desert, he tried to take the check away twice (rushing us even more) when we hadn't even put any form of payment yet.

I totally would've understood it more if they were just about to close or if there were no empty tables and a line at the door for a wait, but none of those were the case...

All in all the food is great and I will definitely be back, just hoping for a better more relaxed experience next time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Tried Indaco for the first time last nig ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Tried Indaco for the first time last night, and now I have spent the day asking myself why we haven't been there before. will not have that regret again, will add it to the "got to go back" list.

ps. we were lucking enough to be there for Restaurant Week specials, I have been to several restaurants for RWeek, but the value that Indaco offers is over the top, hands down the best value in town for me. add it to your list for this week, before they catch on.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Business Meals, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was amazing! We loved everything. Se ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 12, 2017

It was amazing! We loved everything. Server was attentive; but not overly so. Food was creative and delicious!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fun, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Wood Oven, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and great service! Trevor, ou ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Great food and great service! Trevor, our server was fantastic as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a great time! Indaco never disapp ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We had a great time! Indaco never disappoints

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall a decent place. Upon arrival we ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Overall a decent place.

Upon arrival we were seated on high top tables between the restaurant tables and the bar: it was a very confined space with people around the bar area constantly pushing against our chairs, which was very uncomfortable. This also contributed to the restaurant being WARM. Very WARM. I took off my sportscoat, and even though I only wore a long-sleeved collar shirt I was feeling unseasonably hot.

On the positive side the food was lovely - simple yet sufficient. Pizzas are definitely to share as they are rather large. Decent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

We had read good reviews so decided to c ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We had read good reviews so decided to check it out during Restaurant Week. The staff was so attentive and amazing. The food was fabulous..the value during restaurant week was amazing! You order off their regular menu...same portion sizes, same menu. The bartender had given us great advice that a table of 4 should order 3 apps and one pizza for our first course and then each order a different 2nd course and share. We ended up ordering 2 pizzas and 2 apps. So much food! So good! We were pleasantly surprised by how wonderful everything was. Ended up taking food home, we were so full. The pizzas are fabulous. Loved the sausage pizza and the Brussels sprouts pizza. Pastas was amazing. We will definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Standing service and attention to detail ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Standing service and attention to detail made my wife's birthday and a wonderful occasion

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Wood Oven, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Went with 4 friends and shared four appe ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Went with 4 friends and shared four appetizers and entrees so we could taste everything. Loved all the food and the service was excellent. Will definitely go again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding pizza. Great service and des ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Outstanding pizza. Great service and dessert was really good. I would recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.