About Indaco

Genuine Italian flavors fill an airy, modern space accented by lime-wash, white brick, blonde butcher block and silver lighting pendants. An antique pizza peel dating to the 1850s hangs on the wall, portraying Indaco’s dedication to authenticity. The restaurant boasts a craft cocktail program featuring Italian classics such as the Negroni and amaro on tap and housemade Italian sodas. This concept introduces traditional Italian eating to Upper King’s booming, fine-dining scene. A 2,900 square foot restaurant, Indaco offers 100 seats inclusive of the bar and patio.

526 King Street
Charleston, SC 29403
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
SUNDAY - WEDNESDAY: 5 TO 10 PM
THURSDAY - SATURDAY: 5 PM to 11 PM

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(843) 727-1228

Website:
http://indacocharleston.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking
Street Parking on King

Executive Chef:
Elliot Cusher

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Indaco Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

Noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (57)
Creative Cuisine (45)
Fit for Foodies (43)
See All
Bar Seating (34)
Authentic (32)
Casual (30)
Fun (30)
Romantic (28)
Special Occasion (28)
Hot Spot (27)
Local Ingredients (27)
Good for Groups (22)
Cozy (22)
Notable Wine List (21)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Vibrant Bar Scene (17)
Business Meals (16)
Worth the Drive (15)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Comfort Food (12)
Happy Hour (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
People Watching (10)
Late-night Find (8)
Seasonal (7)
Healthy (6)
Tapas (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Organic (2)
Scenic View (2)
Great Beer (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Spicy (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
888 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

Sunday night is half price bottles of wine!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined 5 days ago

Great! Particularly recommend a bite at the bar! Good pizza and pasta!

Tags: Hot Spot, People Watching, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Staff was friendly, and helpful with ordering! Meatballs were good, Brussels sprout pizza tasty, lamb was average, burrata was delicious. Fun space and busy!

We will return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 9, 2017

great night celebrating my sisters birthday. We ordered the family style and it was great!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Tapas, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 9, 2017

Trendy atmosphere. Fresh ingredients and great food. Fine service as well. The wine list is interesting but limited to Italian wines (should open up to American wines, at least of Italian origin... Mondavi, Sebastiani ...). Overall, strongly recommended.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 8, 2017

At 10:00 PM on Saturday night, the hostess claimed they were fully booked for the rest of the night. However, when I opened OpenTable they showed open reservations at 10:00, 10:15, and 10:30. They only sat us after I booked on OpenTable as I believe they just didn't want any additional tables to serve
for the night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value4

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

Utterly exceptional! The food and the service is some of the best in Charleston. Ariana's recommendations are perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 7, 2017

The Santa Margherita pizza and the black pepper tagliatelle were delicious. Happy hour is a bargain and worth going for. Overall, just a cool, vibrant place with good design and food. The staff is knowledgeable too.

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Casual, Bar Seating, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Fantastic pizza and fresh pasta!! Lively atmosphere

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Fun, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Spicy, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 6, 2017

The atmosphere was warm and inviting. Be aware this is NOT near the Historic District- a significant walk...over a mile on a very busy area.
Reservations made in advance a must.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 6, 2017

We really enjoyed our meals and the ambience was great! Pizza was fantastic! Cool place.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Fun, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 6, 2017

This was a good place, near to our hotel, but packed on a Thursday night. The food was good, but it was a bit hard to hear my wife, as she sat across the table from me.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Excellent pasta and Italian dishes, the pork chop dish was a little pricey and tough

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 2, 2017

Indaco offers rustic Italian cuisine with a bit of a modern flair. The crowd was interesting and diverse. Enjoyed the tortellini a lot and my wife savored the pork dish on the menu.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 1, 2017

The crostini appetizer was awful. The margharita pizza was overcooked. I have been to Indaco many times and the food quality has been going downhill. I told the server that I didn't like the crostini and she said she did not like it either. So why did she let me order it? Why not suggest something else? I will think twice before going to Indaco again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value3

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

Very friendly staff, cocktails nice and ambiance. Have been a couple times, will definitely go
back. Another gooodie they have parking!

Tags: Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Came down for my birthday. Amazing food and service. We did the chef's choice family meal and not one dish disappointed. The staff was very friendly and very knowledgeable about the food.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Comfort Food, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Great pizza, great service, interesting wine list
Looking forward to trying the rest of the menu

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 28, 2017

Overall good experience. Teddy gave us excellent service , attentive and knowledgeable. My chicken entree was nothing remarkable, however the others in my party enjoyed their pork, scallops, and ribeye. Side note, the onion rings are the best we have ever had. Would definitely return and check out their pasta options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 28, 2017

I love this place, the atmosphere and the food. However the service was super slow, it took us almost 2 hours to eat. Very slow on drinks as well as dinner. But I like the place so much I will go back.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 28, 2017

Fish was overcooked. Waitress never asked how our food was. Wine was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 23, 2017

The restaurant is gorgeous with the warm brick and wood throughout. The noise level is pretty high since the sounds tend to bounce off the walls, but not so bad that you cannot hear your dining companions - you just need to speak up some (which I guess adds to the overall noise level).

The flavors of all the appetizers and pasta sent my taste buds into orbit. We started with the the burrata and the baby lettuce salad. Both were seasoned to perfection, and has us anticipating our meal. The pasta dishes did not disappoint. Each bite makes you hunger for the next - I was so disappointed when it was gone - although I was plenty satisfied.

Service was exceptionally slow - perhaps they were attempting to give us the authentic European experience in which you savor your meal. That might have been ok had it been explained, and if the server had come by more often to check on us. Getting the check at the end of the evening was a very long wait, however, once we had it, the server was efficient in processing and returning the ticket.

Overall a very enjoyable evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 23, 2017

While the pasta was decent, it was not worth the price - especially when quality and
portion size are considered in tandem. If you're looking for delicious handmade pasta, I would suggest making the trek out to Sullivan's Obstinate Daughter instead.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Great place to celebrate a birthday and service is very attentive. Love this spot!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 22, 2017

What's not to like - delicious meatballs, pasta and pizza savored with a nice wine. Great contemporary Italian food, friendly service, and reasonable prices. If we lived in Charleston, this place would be a weekly habit.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 22, 2017

With all of the fine restaurants to choose from in Charleston, Indaco might just be our overall favorite.
The food at Indaco is fresh, innovative and always cooked to perfection. They have the best pizza this side of Naples and we always order one to munch on over drinks. We tried something different this time at the suggestion of our fabulous server, Maggie. The four of us ordered the three course chef's choice dinner. The staff just kept bringing us dish after fabulous dish and we all enjoyed every morsel. It took some of the guesswork out of what to order from the menus and it was a fun experience. A must try for the adventuresome.
Last, but not least, Indaco has plenty of valet parking - a big plus in downtown Charleston.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 22, 2017

We are foodies and have high standards for dining. We always make sure we dine here when we are in town. Always a great meal and great service!

Tags: Vegan, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 21, 2017

The menu wasn’t great for some pickier eaters

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 17, 2017

A lovely restaurant with an excellent staff. The wine menu and bourbon selection was decent, looked like some interesting cocktails as well.
I would rate the food between a 3-4 just because there's so many excellent restaurants in the Charleston area.
Definitely will return though.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Food and service were exceptional

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Went for restaurant week. The portions and food were awesome. The gnocchi with lump crab 5 stars!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Pizzas are great. Gnocchi with cream sauce and crabmeat is amazing. Menu reasonably priced compared to other Charleston restaurants. Very nice atmosphere. They have a free valet parking lot, which is huge for downtown. Would definitely recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Why 50 less is more just without a doubt a great place to go and be happy!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Fun, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Our first visit to Indaco and we will definitely be back! The service, food and atmosphere were all fantastic-get the gnocchi!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 6, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed our visit and our food. Will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 6, 2017

Service, Food, and wine were all excellent. We ate on the first night of restaurant week and would highly recommend for anytime of the year. The scallops were some of the best I have ever had!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 5, 2017

This is a fabulous restaurant for both seafood and pasta. I had Pasta and my wife had sea bass. She said it was the best sea bass she has ever had anywhere. The service is fabulous. We highly recommend this restaurant. Also it was just around the corner from our hotel. Regards
Tim & Susie Carnell
Dallas, TX.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 4, 2017

We loved the food! The ambiance was great as well. Glad we found this restaurant! We didn't even know about Kings street.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Menu was not as extensive as I expected but the pizzas were delicious.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Excellent food, nice ambience and Madison was a fabulous waiter!

Tags: Quick Bite, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.