About Indaco

Genuine Italian flavors fill an airy, modern space accented by lime-wash, white brick, blonde butcher block and silver lighting pendants. An antique pizza peel dating to the 1850s hangs on the wall, portraying Indaco’s dedication to authenticity. The restaurant boasts a craft cocktail program featuring Italian classics such as the Negroni and amaro on tap and housemade Italian sodas. This concept introduces traditional Italian eating to Upper King’s booming, fine-dining scene. A 2,900 square foot restaurant, Indaco offers 100 seats inclusive of the bar and patio.

526 King Street
Charleston, SC 29403
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
SUNDAY - WEDNESDAY: 5 TO 10 PM
THURSDAY - SATURDAY: 5 PM to 11 PM

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(843) 727-1228

Website:
http://indacocharleston.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking
Street Parking on King

Executive Chef:
Michael Perez

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Indaco Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (47)
Creative Cuisine (35)
Fit for Foodies (35)
See All
Bar Seating (33)
Local Ingredients (32)
Special Occasion (27)
Casual (26)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Wood Oven (23)
Romantic (23)
Authentic (23)
Fun (22)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Good for Groups (21)
Great for Outdoor Dining (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (20)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Open Kitchen (17)
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
People Watching (15)
Hot Spot (15)
Notable Wine List (14)
Cozy (14)
Modern Decor (14)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Tasting Menu (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Business Meals (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Healthy (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Family Style (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Seasonal (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Vegan (2)
Great Beer (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Tapas (2)
Live Sports (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Organic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Spicy (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
744 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

This restaurant takes Italian cooking to a whole other level. Truly an amazing meal. Staff was excellent and very personable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

Indaco did not disappoint its recommendations. Wonderful contemporary Italian with house made pastas. The burrito starter was magnificent. We resisted the pizza but it looked superb--marked it as a must for our next visit.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Service was fantastic & the pizza was delicious, a great Sunday night dinner!

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 21, 2017

The service was very good they seated us quickly and brought a complementary drink for our anniversary. The sever was very friendly and knowledgeable.

The Burrata flavored were excellent combined together nicely.
The Seraphini Pinot Nero a very good wine.

The whole fish was grilled and could have used a bit kor flavor. But the couscous did not complement the dish. It was too cold and undercooked.

We order the sausage pizza which had maybe on little sausage ball per slice and it was covered with arugula. Where were the other ingredients? Never found the pepperoccini. The crust was good though.

We wanted to finish with something sweet but the chocolate moose was way too salty so we couldn't even finish it!

Overall nice environment but overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 20, 2017

My wife and I had an excellent Anniversary dinner on the outdoor patio at Indaco. This was our third or fourth visit and it has not disappointed yet. We will be back soon!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Great service and hand made pasta. Even went off menu for my mom with traditional meatball & marinara pappardelle for her birthday. Outstanding gem on upper end of King Street.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on May 19, 2017

We ate at Indaco not long after they opened and loved it. We've visited Charleston several times since and went again. It's a fun, upbeat place. Great atmosphere and the food is great!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Always delicious and love eating here. Squash blossoms are in season so we couldn't pass those up. The burratta and crab fettechini were also amazing.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Wood Oven, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Drinks were delish! Service was really good. Some of our plates were lacking in flavor. Especially the whole fish. Two people in our party ordered this and it didn't have much behind it. It was cooked to Perfection but not much flavor. The couscous salad was also pretty bland. Wasn't impressed with the gnocchi either. Pizza and meatballs were great. A lot of us were a little let down because we have been wanting to try Indaco.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Food was really good even though the portions for a bit small for the price. Not a big deal though. Our waitress was nice and had good recommendations but never asked us if we wanted more to drink. I thought that was kind of odd but overall a good dining experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

This place was delicious! I loved the decor, music and everything about it!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Server was a bit short with us when I questioned why we have to sit at the bar for happy hour when the high top table they put us at was 2 feet from the bar??? Why doesn't everyone get the same price anyway. I hate when restaurants do that to paying customers. Food was so so and not worth what you pay. Not going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Went to Indaco with my husband after reading their menu on OT. I'm a sucker for small plates and meatballs! Food was great, extensive wine list, good service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Had a wonderful dinner. In a great part of Charleston that's up and coming it seems (lots of old buildings being rehabbed). The server was great, food hit the spot and we were disappointed we didn't order more.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Cozy, People Watching, Wood Oven, Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Fun, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 5, 2017

This was a great find. My wife and I did the chef's pick multi course meal ($45/person). It was a bargain! It would be a frequent visit if we lived in Charleston!

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, People Watching, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 5, 2017

This was a random find that I am so glad about. It is true Italian with creative spins. The cocktails are unique and amazing, and the food was divine. The whole feel of the restaurant is very hip and it's a perfect spot for a date or with friends.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 4, 2017

The pizzas are outstanding, pastas just ok. Service good but long lag btw appetizers and main course. Atmosphere was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 3, 2017

The best we went back twice the food, service and wonder was excellent!!! Would highly recommend it to you all!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Indaco grabs your senses as soon as you walk through the door. The mixture of aromas, the lively conversations, the pleasant atmosphere all make for a very enjoyable experience. All three of us love Italian and Indaco did not disappoint.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 29, 2017

OVERALL A GREAT PLACE.....GOOD VALUE WITH VERY TASTY WELL PREPARED FOOD. A lilies on the high nose level inside with lots of hard defaces to bounce around the sound. Service while not 100% attentive was a little choppy, but overall satisfactory. High activity as it is on the hottest spots of King street.
Worth a visit even for the bar and a wood fired pizza.

Tags: Late-night Find, Paleo Friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 29, 2017

I would like to recognize the staff for their patience as we were late to our reservations. That being said, our server was nice but was inattentive. The server vanished for 20 minutes at one point and it took them forever to bring us a desert menu and the check.

The food was such a disappointment. The fresh bread brought to us was about as plain as bread can get. My girlfriend got the parmesan & ricotta ravioli to which she commented "Olive Garden is better than this". I got the Black Pepper Tagliatelle and it was nothing special and pretty bland. The Chocolate Mousse desert was pretty good however.

We both thought that this restaurant was way overpriced. Both of our pasta dishes were medium sized portions (at best) and both were $23+. Compared to several other nice Italian options in the area, this is steep for roughly the same menu items.

I heard the staff mention several times that Indaco like to do things the "traditional" way. Well if the traditional way is plain and bland, then they are doing alright. As for me and my girlfriend, we will not be returning and would not recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Have been to Indaco many times. Good food at a reasonable price with good service.
Upscale decor and convenient free parking. If you go to Woolf Playhouse you can walk across the street.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Quick, early date night, good food, great service. Highly recommend the pork chop entree and grilled shrimp appetizer. Would return, bar looks enjoyable for adults lol keep by for a glass of wine and a bite to eat.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Romantic, Tasting Menu, People Watching, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 24, 2017

This place is great. The 3 of us sat in front of the open kitchen so we could see what all the food looked like and it was great. The prosciutto appetizer board is excellent. Had the mushroom pizza that was delicious. We had a great time and definitely will return.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Wood Oven, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Family Style, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 23, 2017

A shout out to Trevor and Teddy for a great dining experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 18, 2017

The place is modern, cute looking. However, the food is okay... didn't express with food. Everything we ordered was salty, and the pizza was supper dry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We were a table of four, three guests visiting. The food was very good to great. Pizza crusts were good, and priced appropriately. I ordered the Gnocchi. While very tasty, it was a very small quantity more appropriate for an appetizer, not the main course. For such a small enteré, it was very pricey at $28 per plate. The salad was also overpriced for the value, at $11.
Server tried to explain the dishes to us but didn't do a thorough job of it. Otherwise, the service was as expected and great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Always a good choice for casual modern take on Italian

Prices a little on the high side but that is to be expected on upper King street

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The food and service were incredible. One of my favorite places in Charleston.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Great experience from start to finish. Superb Italian wine list, great choices across the menu. Service was friendly and attentive.

Tags: Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Wood Oven, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Main dish portions are very small for the price. I would definitely get pizza next time.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 13, 2017

The food was amazing and innovative - not your traditional Italian. Also, great happy hour with 1/2 price pizzas and wine!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Waiter was very knowledgable about the menu. Food was good. No salad available and one small order of bread. Portion size was very small for the price, didn't even fill us up. Too many other choices in area, would not go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 10, 2017

What a fantastic time. Went for our anniversary and Nate, our server, was a funny, professional, and charismatic guy. He represented the restaurant so well that we will definitely be coming back for some Gnocchi and pizza next time we are in Charleston.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 8, 2017

This is actually my daughter and my favorite place for a delicious app and pizza before a show at nearby Woolfe Street Playhouse. This time we were late making plans and could only get a 5:30 reservation. NO problem there.... but when we were seated we were told that there were a lot of reservations after us and we needed to place our entire order at one time for the chef... after that we just felt rushed and the pizza was not as good as usual.... maybe rushed. So, that was too bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 7, 2017

My husband had the gnocchi and said it was the best dish he had in the five days we were in Charleston. A friend and I split the Margherita pizza which was good but not great and we all shared the Dark Chocolate Semifreddo for dessert and it was excellent. The service was also very good.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Great meal and service. Waiter was very helpful with wine selections. Huge storm blew through while we were there and manager was nice enough to let us use the back door to get to the parking lot...and provided trash bags for cover since we didn't have an umbrella. Much appreciated!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Urban chic ambiance but rustic too. Servers well informed and service excellent. We ate two nights, different menu items, all delish!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Seasonal, Casual, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Wood Oven, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Paleo Friendly, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Celebrated a birthday at Indaco and they were awesome! They sent us champagne when we arrived and took excellent care of us! One of the best restaurants in Charleston.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Quick Bite, Cozy, Modern Decor, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Absolutely delicious and a wonderful experience! My husband and I went for our 1 Year Anniversary and not only was the food out of this world, but our server was awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.