About ilili

236 Fifth Avenue
New York, NY 10001
View Larger Map

Respect. Inspire. Teach. Learn. Create. Achieve Greatness.
Tell Me – it’s what “ilili” means. For our guests, Tell Me means listening to and understanding each of their stories and creating new ones with them – ones of celebration and sharing, of long traditions and new beginnings.
Every dish at ilili has its own story from the traditional recipes direct from Lebanon, to the modern updates that tell the history of our team, of our cooks and chefs who have left their mark on our kitchen, and our serving staff and managers who have been ambassadors of hospitality. Our menu is never done – we find inspiration all around, in new ingredients, new approaches, and fresh takes on old standards.
ilili is a place where creativity abounds from the kitchen to the dining table where each guest becomes an artist, creating his own palette of flavors with our dishes as the canvas and good friends as the audience.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Lebanese, Middle Eastern

Hours of Operation:
Prix Fixe Lunch Mon-Fri $22.
Prix Fixe Brunch Sat-Sun $28.
WEEKDAYS:
LUNCH Monday-Friday: 12:00pm - 3:00pm,
DINNER Monday-Wednesday 5:30pm - 10:30pm, Thursday 5:30pm - 11:30pm,
WEEKENDS:Saturday 12:00pm - 11:30pm, Sunday 12:00pm - 10:30pm.
NIGHTLY:Bar & Lounge Open Till Last Call

Cross Street:
Between 27th & 28th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 683-2929

Website:
http://www.ililinyc.com/

Entertainment:
Entertainment is available upon request for private events.

Catering:
For further information, please visit our website.

Parking Details:
Parking is available in a lot on 28th Street, between Broadway and 5th Avenue. Street parking is also available near restaurant.

Public Transit:
N & R Subway Lines 28th Street Stop. 6 Line on Park is near as well 28th Street Stop.

Executive Chef:
Philippe Massoud

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Contact our Private Event Department at: (212) 481-1840

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Wed 5:30PM - 6:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Private events at ilili feature classic Lebanese cuisine mixed with modern Mediterranean influences in a warm and inviting atmosphere. There are three private event spaces perfect for any occasion as well as the entire restaurant that can accommodate parties of up to 297 guests.

ilili Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (71)
Creative Cuisine (67)
Good for Groups (61)
See All
Special Occasion (58)
Good for a Date (58)
Authentic (57)
Good Vegetarian Options (53)
Tapas (39)
Modern Decor (39)
Fun (35)
Good for Birthdays (32)
Good for Anniversaries (31)
Healthy (30)
Romantic (29)
Business Meals (29)
Great for Lunch (27)
Family Style (26)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Vibrant Bar Scene (22)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Casual (19)
Hot Spot (19)
Bar Seating (19)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Tasting Menu (16)
Great for Brunch (15)
Cozy (13)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Notable Wine List (13)
Late-night Find (13)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Happy Hour (10)
People Watching (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Outstanding Value (7)
Private Room (6)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Vegan (4)
Spicy (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Great Beer (3)
Organic (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Historic (1)
Seasonal (1)
Fireplace (1)
Scenic View (1)
Live Sports (1)
Live Music (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
4074 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The server was phenomenal. I allowed hi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

The server was phenomenal. I allowed him to surprise us with the food and drinks. I closed my menu and let him lead us to an adventure. I girlfriend hates trying new things but she loved everything. He asked us a few questions to get a feel for what we like. He was on point with evrything.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was in the mood for Mediterranean/Middle ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

Was in the mood for Mediterranean/Middle Eastern food and it was great here. Ordered a range of mezze plates to share with friends and was very satisfied. Will definitely return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was good, but service was very ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

The food was good, but service was very awkward and felt poorly trained. I was met with an unhappy look at the door and when I greeted and said that I had a reservation, a quick and unfriendly "name?" was given to me as a response. Then followed an awkward pause where the hostess just stared at the computer for 4 minutes before someone behind her brought us to the table. The servers speech throughout the meal did not match the modern interior of the restaurant, with several instances where my friend was referred to as "hun" as if I was eating at a local diner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

Came recommended by my niece. The menu w ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

Came recommended by my niece. The menu was a draw and service staff could not have been more helpful in recommendations, even suggesting we take a look at the desert menu from the beginning so we could plan our choices accordingly! We had Changleesh w/warm pita, Beef kibhe, Atayef and Moujarada and the most amazing Brussels Sprouts! It was impossible to pick a favorite and they all completed each other. The fig soufflé w/caramel sauce was an amazing finish to a perfect meal.

Tags: Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food is, simply, amazing. It can get ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

The food is, simply, amazing. It can get a bit loud, and the tables are a bit too close together - but it's really a great place.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Creative spins on Middle Eastern inspire ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Creative spins on Middle Eastern inspired dishes. Excellent range of small plates to choose from, conducive to creating a convivial sharing among a group. Great ice breaker for a business dinner. The excellent food and unobtrusive service created the perfect tone.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Vegan, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

The food was tasty enough, if a little b ...

 
 (Glasgow)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was tasty enough, if a little bland and the server was very able to recommend. We chose the mixed grill for 2. As the food was only just warm when it came out, it was stone cold when we were finishing our meal. Dessert was nice.

I don't think this is value for money - you are paying for the address.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Awesome food and ambience! A little too ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Awesome food and ambience! A little too tight space between tables - you definitely get to clearly see what your neighbors are eating (helps you pick what you want to or do not want to eat). A bit pricey, but worth all of it!

Tags: Spicy, Good Vegetarian Options, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice place to dine

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Very nice place to dine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Valentine's Day dinner at my girlfriend' ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentine's Day dinner at my girlfriend's favorite restaurant. We had James as our server for the pre-fixe menu and it was the best food and service we've ever had. ILILI is all that and more!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Server was not happy that we were there! ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Server was not happy that we were there!! She was cold and distant and seemed annoyed that we were there.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value5

Amazing food and perfect ambiance for Va ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Amazing food and perfect ambiance for Valentine's Day. The Mixed Grill is a MUST if you are a meat lover. Come with an empty stomach - portions are plentiful and food is so delicious, you'll want to have enough room to try it all :)

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Our server, Alexandre, was friendly, kno ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Our server, Alexandre, was friendly, knowledgeable, efficient, and brought us an amazing meal without us ordering a single thing! A very delicious evening that my husband and I will always remember! Will definitely be back!

Tags: Private Room, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was so slow. 15 min just to get ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Service was so slow. 15 min just to get our drinks. Food was great but little overpriced.

Tags: Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

10/10 - all around great experience

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 10, 2017

10/10 - all around great experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were greeted warmly and directed to o ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 10, 2017

We were greeted warmly and directed to our table. They accomodated the right table for a wheel chair. The waiters were friendly and very attuned. The food was great and the desert a marvelous surprise.

They offered vegetarian stuffed vine leaves as appetizer which we did not ordered. I wished they had the kind with meat which are rare to find but are the authentic Libanese ones. Or stuffed Dolma variety which are also dificult to find in NY ..

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Came here for resturaunt week and their ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Came here for resturaunt week and their menu had so many choices which was great to see since a little of places offer very minimal variety for their restaurant week menu. You also got a lot of food for the fixed price (each person got 2 appetizers?!). My only complaint was where we were seated. The main dining room was gorgeous but we got stuck in what seemed like an overflow area which was just a dark room with no decoration.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Delicious!

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

I had to grab a quick bite before a Broa ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 7, 2017

I had to grab a quick bite before a Broadway show. I sat in the lounge and had excellent food. Vivian the cocktail waitress got us out in a hurry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent, creative food as usual. We lo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Excellent, creative food as usual. We love this restaurant.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Delicious food, great service

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Delicious food, great service

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We visited ilili for my birthday and res ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 7, 2017

We visited ilili for my birthday and restaurant week with my family. The decor is sleek and elegant. We had drink at the bar and our table was ready in a few minutes.

Didn't know it was still happy hour, was delighted with the price and the infused martini.

The menu for restaurant week was great, you got to order 2 appetizers, one entree and a dessert. It was almost too much food. The waiter and the manager Britta were very attentive and accommodating to me and my family and brought out food with candles twice and sang happy birthday twice. It was a very memorable experience. We will be sure to stop back very soon.

Tags: Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is approximately my 16th time to Il ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 7, 2017

This is approximately my 16th time to Ilili...seems like from last year to now, some chefs have changed. The brussel sprouts were not nearly what they've been in the past. Normally crispy & tangy+sweet...they were drowning in sweet fig sauce. Disappointing because they are one of my faves. Also, the cold of mezza were just ok. But the Kanafeh was amazing as usual! Great spot!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

A family favorite for a treat in the cit ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

A family favorite for a treat in the city. Authentic and vibrant food and decor

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent place to celebrate special occ ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Excellent place to celebrate special occasion

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

While our meal was pricey, it was absolu ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

While our meal was pricey, it was absolutely delicious. The decor is beautiful and there is a lively ambiance. The brussel sprouts were awesome as was the chicken livers, shrimp and scallops. The warm, fresh pita was perfect. One of the people in our party was a vegan and they did a great job helping her find dishes. You can't go wrong with anything on the menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Very good food, great cocktail! Willeat ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Very good food, great cocktail! Willeat there again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Roasted whole chicken was awesome. Chan ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Roasted whole chicken was awesome. Chankleesh was great too.

Mixed Grilled was soso.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Consistently scrumptious. Ilili is the r ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Consistently scrumptious. Ilili is the restaurant that best represents creative Lebanese cuisine. Philippe is an artist.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Lebanese food with a modern touch

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Great Lebanese food with a modern touch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very nice Lebanese restaurant. Food is ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Very nice Lebanese restaurant. Food is amazing and service very nice.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Inventive, consistently excellent Medite ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Inventive, consistently excellent Mediterranean cuisine.

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a 7:15 reservation and we were se ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 3, 2017

We had a 7:15 reservation and we were seated promptly. The place was mobbed but service was excellent. Our waiter was polite and informative. Being that it was restaurant week, we had a delicious, plentiful meal for $42.00 each. We did try the Lebanese rose (that was the only thing we didn't enjoy). We had a choice of 2 appetizers. We all tried something different. The burrata was good, though I do remember having more pistachios on top last time we ordered it. The chicken livers in pomegranate sauce were excellent. My husband ordered tuna tartar. He said the pieces were cut way to big but otherwise tasty. A few of us had hummus. Can't go wrong with that. My daughter chose the falafel. It was an interesting take on it. Almost looked like a thick piece of toast cut in triangles. It was good but could have definitely used more herbs and spices. Then it was time for mAin courses. 3 of us chose the lamb. It was incredible. It was super tender and tasty. . It was accompanied by cucumber (tsatsiki sauce). Would definitely order it again. My daughter had the salmon. The portion was rather small. She said it was ok. If you do not like your salmon undercooked, tell them. Could hardly wait for dessert. Have had Ashta (hope it is spelled correctly) and it did not disappoint! I am Cypriot and we have similar tasting desserts. The rose water and creaminess of this dessert leaves you wanting more, even if you are stuffed! Looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The vibe was fun and dynamic in the bar ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 2, 2017

The vibe was fun and dynamic in the bar so the evening seemed promising. We were seated with barely 6 inches between tables if that much. This proved to be too close as table next to us was seated with two ladies but what sounded like a bachelorette party. So that was the ambiance. The food seemed to be a mixture of Lebanese and American with all of the small portions being Lebanese and the two-person and entrees American. The server recommended 6 small plates and we did 5. My take on the food was that everything was drowned. We had the Brussels sprouts and I love Brussels sprouts. The dish was hardly touched. They were covered in a fig, yogurt concoction that was so sweet it was awful. I had the lamb sausage another favorite and the flavor here was good but the texture was very smooth and almost rubbery. The lamb dumplings had great flavor once you wiped them free of the yogurt bath they came in. The rice was perfect and more would have been appreciated, it was literally 3 tablespoons of rice. The pita was plentiful and perfect. Our server kept asking us if we wanted drinks despite the many nos and the fact that we both still had cocktails from pre-dinner drink. Finally the noise got so loud that we just decided to leave taking no left overs of which there was plenty.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

I love this place. The food is delicious ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 2, 2017

I love this place. The food is delicious, the best Lebanese restaurant in NY.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Attentive staff and great service, amazi ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Attentive staff and great service, amazing food, and great ambiance (however, try to get seated on the main dining floor instead of upstairs)

Tags: Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Get the falafel and the Gnocchi!

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Get the falafel and the Gnocchi!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was great. Service was trying to ru ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Food was great. Service was trying to rush us through the courses until we push back

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Outstanding food and service. 5 stars. C ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Outstanding food and service. 5 stars. Creative cuisine and warm, friendly staff.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Authentic, Tapas, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

very interesting and enjoyable food.

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 31, 2017

very interesting and enjoyable food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.