Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 20 times today

Il Solito

4.3
1186 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Italian
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date
  • Creative Cuisine
  • Special Occasion
Il Solito means The Usual, that one favorite dish you would get every time the family went out to the regular spot for dinner. Italian classics that just might become your new usual include veal piccata, baked ziti, tender meatballs over house made spaghetti, doused in our signature red sauce. Just don't ask for the recipe, it is a family secret.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Italian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
BREAKFAST: M-F / 7AM - 10:30AM
BRUNCH: SA-SU / 8AM - 2:30PM
LUNCH: M-F / 11AM - 2:30PM
DINNER: SU-TH / 5PM - 10PM
F-SA / 5PM - 11PM

BAR/LOUNGE:
SU-TH / OPEN - 11PM
F-SA / OPEN - 12AM
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(503) 228-1515
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Matt Sigler
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Please visit our Private Dining page on OpenTable
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Broadway and Washington
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Valet Parking at Hotel Vintage Plaza for $7/ hour.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
2 Blocks from Bus Mall / MAX (Pioneer Courthouse Square)
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Please visit our website for Special Events
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

For unforgettable private dinners, events and meetings, Il Solito provides the ideal downtown Portland venue. Il Solito can accommodate everything from a special intimate meal for a few to a wedding reception or event of up to 200 guests.

View Private Dining Details
What 1186 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.5
service
4.1
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Moderate
82% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 4 days ago

We have dined here twice since Il Solito opened a short time ago and both times have been excellent. All the pastas are housemade. Chef Sigler formerly helmed Renata and is the best pasta chef in Portland and one of the very best on the west coast. Additionally, I am one of those wine geeks who brings their own aged bottles from home and the wine service is reasonable and outstanding (by the way, if you do this as well, remember to adjust your tip to reflect what your bill would have been if you had ordered the same wines off a wine list).

Highly recommended establishment.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 4 days ago

Too noisy for a quiet conversation. But the food was good and the service was fine. The Decour was attractive.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined 4 days ago

Our impression of the food was fair. The restaurant was trying to convey they were really an upscale Italian restaurant but they are not. They didn’t offer bread. We had to ask for it. My rigatoni dish was not good. I asked for no peppers in the sauce but they put them anyway. Wine was very expensive and they had few Italian wines by the glass. Menu was not representative of real Italian cuisine. Small portion and also overpriced for what got. Not likely to go back unless there are changes.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

The pasta dishes are delicious. The special appetizer that evening was a deep fried grilled cheese. It was fantastic. The food has an Italian comfort food but still fancy vibe.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 5 days ago

We used to go frequently to this restaurant when it was Pazzo's. We have been once to Il Solito and sat outside, due to the deafening noise level inside (Friday night at 7:30). We tried the "garlic knots," which we would not re-order, although the marinara served with them was delicious. We shared an ample Caesar salad which was very good, and one of us had the ricotta ravioli with morels (delicious!), and one of us had the pappardelle with lamb ragout which was also delicious. For dessert we had the sorbetto, a rhubarb/elderberry flavor. The sorbetto had a considtency we had never enjoyed before.....very creamy and thick with a wonderful, tart flavor....a real winner. We found the wine list to be almost entirely very over-priced. Service was excellent.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined 5 days ago

Went for dinner, around 7pm on a Friday. The restaurant had a good atmosphere, but it was so loud that you had to raise your voice significantly to hear what the person across the table could be heard.
The food was good, but not great. My friend ordered a chicken pasta dish that was fine at best, and definitely not what I was expecting at the $24 it was priced at. Definitely on the bland side. I had the swordfish, which was cooked a tiny bit over. The chard was perfect, and I wish there had been more of it. The olive oil cake with passionfruit was the highlight of the meal, and the only dish I can justify recommending.
As the place just opened, I'd give it a few more months before trying it out. As is, I can't recommend it at the price point.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Nice lunch.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Enjoyed a nice Mother's Day brunch. Food was very good, without unnecessary pretense. Service was friendly and helpful. I liked the decor, too...cool spot.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Mother’s Day brunch

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Love their brunch menu! Service was awesome and very kid-friendly. Wish the food was cheaper though.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

The food was great and the restaurant it replaced was always well liked local spot and this was even better food and ambience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Excellent food and excellent service, but only every-day wines.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 10, 2018

we had a great time and service. we are returning tomorrow night with friends!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Chef Matt Sigler is the undisputed pasta king of Portland. Every pasta was housemade and outstanding. Every dish displayed great balance and thought. It was a meal best described as intellectual hedonism. The corkage fee is reasonable and the wine service exemplary. Our server, Valerie, was excellent. I highly recommend booking a table.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Very disappointing follow up to Pazzo. Service was sub par which was surprising since I was told a lot of the staff returned. Caesar salad had brown and wilted lettuce. Portions were micro portions. No chianti by the glass? Really? They have only been open a couple of weeks so we may give it another try in a couple of months if it is still open.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Went here prior to seeing a show at the Keller auditorium. The spaghetti and meatballs (heard this was a favorite) was pretty amazing, I’d come back just to get this dish. Service was so-so; it wasn’t that busy and our server only came to our table to take our order, and deliver the food. We had to call someone over when we wanted more water, etc.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 30, 2018

Pregnant daughter had specific eating restrictions.
Our server Valerie (and chef )could not have been nicer or more accommodating.
Great update of a long time Portland restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 30, 2018

Nathan is an incredible delight. The service was effortless in its grace. The food, well prepared and delicious. Highly recommended.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Lighting was terrible- way too bright. Ruined the experience. Service was attentive. Chicken Marsala with polenta was delicious. Spaghetti/meatballs = too spicy; garlic bread had a raw garlic taste. Disappointing overall.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Fantastic food. Brought back memories of the Amalfi coast - great service and a diverse Italian wine list. We tried a number of pasta dishes, in addition to great appetizers and desert. Everything was excellent. Great job Matt (Sigler)! It might sound strange to call this out - but the Asparagus and Polenta sides dishes were amazing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Beautiful, incredible spot. Group of 10+ was accommodated nicely. Eclectic style with Italian roots that is far from tacky. Extensive wine menu, flavorful, fresh ingredients in every dish. Excellent service among the host, serving, and kitchen teams

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 27, 2018

B-O-R-I-N-G. SUPER STANDARD FOOD ( LACK LUSTER) - LAME COMMERCIAL STYLE AMBIANCE. I EXPECTED MORE.... A LOT MORE ( LIKE DELICIOUS GOURMET, BUT DOWN HOME STYLE COMFORT ITALIAN FOOD)IT WAS mediocre

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 26, 2018

There's something underappreciated about the bite of a noodle. Like a fresh baked baguette it has texture and appropriate flavor. IL Solitto knows this.
Although not the highlight of the ch
ef's menu, the noodle side is key.
The veal we had is prime, the vongole too, and their take on spaghetti and meatballs. Then the delicious deserts capped off a great evening. Everything at this busy Italian bistro has reflected my experience there. Everything has heart.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 24, 2018

AMAZING ravioli. MUST. EAT. MORE. The Caesar salad was solid. Delicious meal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

The new chef is doing great things with his food. Everything on the menu sounded great, and all the things we ordered tasted great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Food was amazing. Best Chicken Marsala and polenta I’ve ever had. Our server was fantastic. We’ll definitely be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Great food, wonderful cocktails, and outstanding service! Definitely a new favorite. We miss Pazzo, but Il Solito deserves high marks indeed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

Service and food were very good. The bar is great and Nick the bartender is very talanted

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on December 31, 2017

New Years Eve. Yes I know they were very busy but after having a 9:15 reservation we were not seated until 9:45. We received our first appetizer at 10:30 and believe it or not received our dessert at nearly 1am. No effort to make right with a comp of some sort.. not even a drink? Disappointed to say the least..

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on December 31, 2017

This was our first time at this restaurant. We love Italian food and wanted to spend our New Years Eve here. However, this restaurant was highly unorganized. They were serving a 5 course meal to everyone. It looked great on paper but the execution was very poor. After 2 hours we had only been served 2 of our courses and one we sent back because it just was not good. We were not the only ones unhappy. We ended up paying and leaving even though we did not get served all of our meal. It was a disappointment and because of this I cannot recommend this restaurant.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on December 31, 2017

We were so disappointed in our NYE experience at Pazzo. We were seated at around 9:30pm, an hour after our reservation. By 11:30 we had only received three of the five courses, and ended up leaving as we did not want to be sitting at our table right off of the kitchen (which was surrounded by waiters in chaos) to ring in the New Year. After we were seated, we ordered a bottle of wine which did not arrive to the table until about 10:00pm and only after the waitress came by and asked us again if we were interested in anything to drink. She apologized for forgetting and said that they were way behind, but that our wine and food should be out shortly. Nothing came out shortly, and she came back by our table twice before we eventually gave up at 11:30 and said that things were a mess and asked us what we wanted to do. All of the employees that we interacted with were very nice, but unfortunately there was some type of huge organizational issue that night that put a damper on NYE for a lot of their customers.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on December 31, 2017

Disappointed. It took 1.5 HOURS to receive bread and water. It took another 40min to receive our first course which as soup. This is complexity unacceptable. I asked to speak with the manager. They said the mgr. would be with us soon but never bothered to come over. They gave us the bread for free and we payed for our drinks a left starving and everywhere else was booked because of NYE. Thank you for ruining our special NYE dinner with friends. Worst service, food (soup), and just awful. These people just don’t care. We feel humiliated. Not sure if it’s because we are an interracial couple, but it is very strange to wait 1.5 hours for bread. Yes, we actually timed it. Very sad.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2017

Great New Year fixed menu. I love Pazzo :)

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 31, 2017

WE CELEBRATED NEW YEARS EVE BY HAVING THE PREFIX MENU FOR DINNER. IT WAS $65 PER PERSON. PORTION SIZES WERE LARGE. THE FOOD WAS OK BUT I HAVE HAD BETTER. FOR THE PRICE I WOULD NOT DO IT AGAIN.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 28, 2017

The service was a little slow, but other than that the total experience was amazing as always!!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on December 24, 2017

Everything was great - location, food/drinks, waiters/waitress, bussers but the hostess we encountered. Absolutely rude. Discrimination.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 20, 2017

Server was very attentive, even though she had another very large group. Also, another server pitched in when she was occupied at another table.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 17, 2017

Food was great .... other than the winter greens - frisee and Arugula?? Yuk

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 16, 2017

I am sad to rate with only three stars. We have been going to Pazzo for our family Christmas dinner for years and finally have to admit the steady decline in food and service. Our waitress seem to forget about us and had to be waived down for service. The apps were good (goat cheese yes!, and the butcher board, but the calamari was undercooked). Our two pasta dishes were ok (gnocchi and fusilli) and the two mains were not (boar ragut and skirt steak). I wanted a glass of red but our waitress wasn’t even in waiving distance after the manager served our food.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 16, 2017

Loved the food but it took 45 minutes to have the meal served after it was ordered.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
30