Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

About Il Fornaio - Seattle

In the tradition of Italy's trattorias, the sight, sounds and aromas of authentic Italian cuisine are recreated fresh everyday at Il Fornaio Seattle. Literally "the baker" in Italian, Il Fornaio offers wood-fired rotisserie and grilled meats, poultry and game; housemade and imported pastas; pizzas from an apple wood burning oven; fresh salads and housemade soups; antipasti and a wide variety of desserts made daily from scratch. Voted as Seattle Magazine's 2006 Reader's Choice for "Best
Italian" and repeat recipient of Wine Spectator's "Award of Excellence," this award-winning restaurant is located in downtown Seattle at Sixth and Pine.

600 Pine Street
Seattle, WA 98101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily 11:30am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday -
Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
6th Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 264-0994

Website:
http://www.ilfornaio.com/

Catering:
When you can’t join us, Il Fornaio food will come to you!
Catering services include:
• Boxed Lunch – sandwich, salad, Italian cookie and drink packaged individually.
• Platters – pastries, sandwiches, salads or cookies. Perfect for any meeting held at Il Fornaio or your location.
• Ala Carte – We will accommodate any to go order from our regular menus.
• Delivery – Delivery available for catering orders with a $25 minimum (15 percent service charge applies).

Parking Details:
Convenient self or valet parking is available in Pacific Place parking lot. Street parking is also available.

Public Transit:
Metro line stops at 6th and Olive.

Executive Chef:
Franz Junga

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Il Fornaio offers four distinct dining options for large or small groups with menus suited to your preference.

Il Fornaio - Seattle Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (24)
Good for a Date (24)
Pre/post Theatre (22)
See All
Romantic (20)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Authentic (16)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Good for Groups (14)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Business Meals (11)
Great for Lunch (11)
Comfort Food (10)
Casual (10)
Notable Wine List (8)
Cozy (8)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Fun (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Seasonal (6)
Family Style (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Healthy (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Fireplace (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Vegan (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Scenic View (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Sports (1)
Historic (1)
People Watching (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Spicy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
1805 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 3 days ago

The salads, vegetables and entrée preparations are quite nice at cozy Il Fornaio.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Another great dinner at Il Fornaio. Service was expedient without being intrusive. Food was exactly what I wanted prepared exactly as I had anticipated. Loved that they were able to honor my special request for a table by the windows. Plus, the fact that it was also prom night, made for some very entertaining people watching.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 15, 2017

This restaurant is a "chain" and is connected to a "mall." However, it is quite classy inside and the food is better than you would expect. The service was top notch and our seating had a room to the side with a nice view of the city. We had a large party with three children and they handled that very well. We will be visiting again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's day with the family.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Good service, nice room, food was not good, cannot recommend. Cannelloni was bland, dried out. Ravioli, run of the mill. Our kids (adults) had a veal dish, served with potato slices? Again, nothing distinctive, new or worthy of a return trip. Bread was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We enjoyed a lovely Mother's Day lunch for 5. We loved the ambience, our server was great, and the food very good - we did the "tasting" of a region of Italy and it was fabulous. We really felt that our patronage was appreciated.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The bad thing about this restaurant is the timing on the food delivery. We had a four course dinner and courses one and two came out almost simultaneously. First course was tepid, second course was good, but came out shortly after receiving the appetizer. Obviously it was sitting in the window for a while. This is one of my pet peeves - the kitchen doesn't have the timing down right. It could be that we came early and the kitchen was wanting to get ahead of the crowd. I complained and the third course was fine although the food was only mediocre, passable, but nothing more and I want this restaurant to be better!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Celebrated a birthday, our table was awkwardly placed in the middle of the main path for servers. Food was great, but a little pricey. The bread was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Wonderful, friendly service - excellent server and the manager was personable; I enjoyed talking with both of them.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Hit the Pacific Place Il Fornaio before a show at the Paramount. It was a Sunday evening, so place was fairly quiet. Wait staff was very friendly, food was very good and we enjoyed the ambiance. We'd definitely go back.

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Our waitress was very attentive but allowed us time to talk without being intrusive. Was not overly impressed by the food, but with the friends and atmosphere, it was a memorable evening.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Authentic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 28, 2017

We started with drinks at the bar for happy hour. When our reservation came up, our server brought our drinks over to our table. Dinner was very good. Since it was a special occasion, they didn't charge us for dessert.

Tags: Happy Hour, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 27, 2017

There were two of us for an early and single course dinner before the 4-hour opera at the cinema. Our meal of a veal scallopine each was served on room temperature plates and the food was cold as we ate it. I informed the waitress who offered to take it back, but we didn't have the time. The manager did come over, offered an apology, and removed one of the charges. He also went to lecture the chef. But it really wasn't very good anyhow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Good food. Good service.

Tags: Live Sports, Healthy, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 23, 2017

We had the taster menu. Excellent variety, some of us had the wines of Calabria.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The seafood risotto was awesome! Everyone seemed to enjoy what they had.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Very accommodating for a large group who had a tight schedule. Food is good for a chain and the service was great.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 17, 2017

The wait staff was fine but the meal was poor value for the price. I wondered why there were few people in the restaurant on Easter Sunday, the meal demonstrated the cause. It was a pretty disappointing dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 16, 2017

First visit here and very pleased with the experience. Great wine selection. My wife has a food allergy and the chef was able to accommodate her needs.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Waiter was awesome! Food portions small for the price!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 14, 2017

My husband, teenage son and I went to dinner here during a visit to Seattle. It was perfect, with something just right for all of us. The service was wonderful and the ambiance very nice.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Always a treat. They know their pasta. No fuss no muss. Good service too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Wonderful experience, great food and service and the best desert tray I've seen in years! We'all priced for the city and a nice change from seafood.

Tags: Wood Oven, Casual, Fun, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Vegan, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Spicy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Try the Regional Festival. Yummy culinary adventures.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Amazing food, especially love the gluten free pasta. You will not be disappointed this place has great service and the fresh food is exceptional! Thanks for an awesome time!

Tags: Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Frequent visitor and never disappointed! Will continue placing into my "Favorites" category!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 28, 2017

We came on a Monday evening for an anniversary and were not disappointed. The food was excellent and the service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Best meal we had the entire weekend trip to Seattle. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 26, 2017

First time I have been disappointed in this place. I am a big believer in reasonably sized portions but six tortellini was not enough-expecially for the price.
Great service, however!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 25, 2017

I made the reservation so they directed us "upstairs" which was fine. We literally got a two person table on a busy corner that was in my opinion the WORST table in the entire place. Our wattress was nice but over worked and left us to wait for our bill etc a little longer than we would like. We love this restaurant chain in ither cities but tgis was by far our worst experience.

Tags: Scenic View, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 25, 2017

I was worried that we were off to a rough start when the hostess tried to seat us at a center-section, crowded area, tiny table when there was plenty of more comfortable seating open. (Reservation was for 5:45, so nowhere near busy yet). We asked for one of the window tables instead, and she seemed confused or dismayed at our request, but complied.

The server was excellent (albeit somewhat difficult to understand at times due to pronounced accent). He allowed us to take our time, didn't rush, but was attentive and ready when we needed anything. The food was overall mostly excellent (one notable exception below). Carpacio, charcuterie board, cannelloni, and mushroom risotto were all good.

The caesar salad was awful. The dressing was thick and inconsistent, and tasted more like semi-warm mayonnaise than any caesar dressing either of us have ever had. (We didn't complain, so didn't give the restaurant a chance to address the issue.)

Other than avoiding the caesar, there were a number of things on the menu that I was torn between, and would definitely go back to try more.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The food and service were fantastic! The ambience left us with something to be desired. We were put on an awkward table the everyone who entered/exited walked by and seemed to be a stopping point for the staff as well.

Tags: Seasonal, Authentic, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Food and wine were excellent. Our waitress was very nice and accommodating.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We brought our 12 year old grandson to Il Fornaio before we took him to see/hear 'Hot Java, Cool Jazz'. We loved the linen tablecloths and our waiter was wonderful. Our meal was also delicious and had a pasta that our grandson gobbled up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Great food, rotating seasonal menus and lovely cocktails.

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Wonderful service as always and a great place to grab delicious food!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Excellent food, Love the Italian meals. Exceptional service made one feel valued and appreciated. Will be going again.

Tags: Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great experience - especially the tasting menu. Our server also gave us a sample of their dry pasta to take home, which was an unexpected treat!

Tags: Family Style, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Our sever was AMAZING! The only thing I would suggest is that they have a better welcome when you are coming in from the street entrance and have to go upstairs to the bar. Once we were upstairs, 4 employees saw us looking around trying to figure where we go to check in on our reservation. No one explained we had to walk to the 2nd level indoor entrance.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 10, 2017

We came to celebrate my daughters 19th birthday. We chose This great spot because we visited in September and enjoyed the experience so much we came back. Ironically we were given the same table which had a beautiful view of the towers and night lights. This is a hidden gem in the local mall. The food was outstanding starting with bruschetta which I might add was the best bruschetta I've ever had. We then enjoyed salmon, cioppino and lasagna. All perfectly prepared and presented. Our waiter was knowledgeable as well as attentive. And the birthday dessert was to die for.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.