Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

About Il Fornaio - Seattle

In the tradition of Italy's trattorias, the sight, sounds and aromas of authentic Italian cuisine are recreated fresh everyday at Il Fornaio Seattle. Literally "the baker" in Italian, Il Fornaio offers wood-fired rotisserie and grilled meats, poultry and game; housemade and imported pastas; pizzas from an apple wood burning oven; fresh salads and housemade soups; antipasti and a wide variety of desserts made daily from scratch. Voted as Seattle Magazine's 2006 Reader's Choice for "Best
Italian" and repeat recipient of Wine Spectator's "Award of Excellence," this award-winning restaurant is located in downtown Seattle at Sixth and Pine.

600 Pine Street
Seattle, WA 98101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily 11:30am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday -
Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
6th Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 264-0994

Website:
http://www.ilfornaio.com/

Catering:
When you can’t join us, Il Fornaio food will come to you!
Catering services include:
• Boxed Lunch – sandwich, salad, Italian cookie and drink packaged individually.
• Platters – pastries, sandwiches, salads or cookies. Perfect for any meeting held at Il Fornaio or your location.
• Ala Carte – We will accommodate any to go order from our regular menus.
• Delivery – Delivery available for catering orders with a $25 minimum (15 percent service charge applies).

Parking Details:
Convenient self or valet parking is available in Pacific Place parking lot. Street parking is also available.

Public Transit:
Metro line stops at 6th and Olive.

Executive Chef:
Franz Junga

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Il Fornaio offers four distinct dining options for large or small groups with menus suited to your preference.

Il Fornaio - Seattle Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (24)
Business Meals (18)
Good for a Date (18)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Good for Groups (13)
Great for Lunch (13)
Notable Wine List (13)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Authentic (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Romantic (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Cozy (9)
Casual (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Fun (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Scenic View (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Great Beer (1)
Vegan (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Hot Spot (1)
People Watching (1)
Seasonal (1)
Spicy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sort By:
S
1844 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

Lovely spot for a friends' get-together! Some delicious and creative menu choices; attentive service; a choice of seating (cozy nooks or spacious downtown-view window tables). Our party was three longtime friends with lots of conversation, and we were never hurried along by the wait staff. And it's handy for a shopping visit to Nordstrom and the other Pacific Place stores. We'll definitely be back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Buena comida, buena atención, y ambiente agradable

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

Food was good quality and tasty. I liked the various tryout set menus for food and the wine flights.

Service is friendly but not quick. It was a long wait before the first drinks arrived after ordering.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Great Italian food. Very good staff, efficient and friendly. Pasta, Veal and eggplant, fish dishes excellent. Leave room for dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 11, 2017

We had a great time! Great service and fabulous food!

Tags: Great Beer, Authentic, Scenic View, Afternoon Coffee, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Disabled Access, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Our waiter was AMAZING! Food was delicious. Highly recommemd!

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 8, 2017

We loved our dinner at Il Fornaio! We let them know that we were attending the Theater at the Paramount after dinner, and they were very accommodating and made sure we we done and our bill settled in time. Our meal and desert were fabulous. We will be returning.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Il Fornaio was one of the best, if not the best, restaurant that we went to while vacationing in Seattle. The place is beautiful, spacious, and has wonderful food and service. Our server was extremely attentive, and we had some of the most authentic Italian food we've ever had. The wine our server recommended was also spectacular. If you are visiting Seattle, we strongly encourage you to dine at Il Fornaio!

Tags: Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 29, 2017

We were in Seattle celebrating our anniversary. We had been to Il Fornaio on previous trips to Seattle & enjoyed it greatly so we decided to eat here again ... the fact that it was right across the street from our hotel (Grand Hyatt Seattle) was a plus. We were warmly greeted & shown to a lovely corner/window table. Service was very good & professional (thank you, Joshua T). To start we shared the Traditional Caprese. Appearance wise, it wasn't what we expected from prior trips or from their picture ... but it was just as delicious as we expected. Next, we shared the Fettucini Pescatore from the daily menu ... it was quite a surprise. Not sure what we were expecting but when it came to our table, I thought they brought it to the wrong table ... I'm so happy it was our's as it was exquisite. My wife had the grilled salmon from the daily menu & I had the Scombro also from the daily menu. My wife was very happy with her meal. I couldn't believe the flavors developed in my dish & the amount of rock fish it contained. I would have this dish again if on the menu & would highly recommend it. We finished the meal with the Tiramisu which was just as we like it ... light & airy.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 28, 2017

we were recommended to visit Il Fornaio by the concierge at our hotel. I`ve been to Seattle many times over the past 30 years and this was the first time in for a meal. It will definitely not be our last time.

Tags: Quick Bite, Casual, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 22, 2017

The evening lights were a little too dark. It was difficult to read the menu.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 19, 2017

We dine at this restaurant on a monthly basis. . . we really love the regional menus and the standards. They are excellent 90% of the time. Meets our expectations for food well prepared, excellent service and good variety.

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

Took my kids who had food allergies. Waiter did a good job of checking everything. We all enjoyed our food.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Great service and food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 5, 2017

When are you closing? Based on the food and service, you strike me as a restaurant that is on it's last legs. My wife and I live 3 blocks away and have eaten their quite a bit in the last 7 years. We won't be back. Our server, Abiel S. took a while to delivery our drinks, then blamed the bartender when we could see them sitting on the bar for ~10 minutes. And the gelato we had for desert was full of ice crystals, like it had been sitting in the freezer for a long period of time and probably should have been thrown away. Used to be better, I agree with the "okay" health code designation on the window.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Excellent food and service, quiet enough for conversation. Especially enjoyed the regional dishes. Great place for couples or small groups.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Excellent raw materials, prepared by a light handed chef and beautifully presented. Service was friendly and attentive. Warmly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 30, 2017

20 minutes to get water. bread came out at same time as entrees. never asked if we wanted a second glass of wine. food C+

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 29, 2017

My favorite restaurant! I take business associates and family to the restaurant. I always love the wait staff and several of them recognize me and welcome me by name. Doesn't get better than that!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Good for a Date, Authentic, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 16, 2017

The staff were very pleasant to work with....they answered our questions concerning items on the menu, They were very kind and answered requests we made during the course of our lunch, as well as supplied "doggy bags" I believe the bruschetta was complimentary. Angelina was charming!

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Good food, good service and very traditional Italian recipes. Good value all around.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Delicious and authentic Italian! Loved the veal scallopini! Minestrone and Tiramisu was just okay. Service very attentive and an excellent wine list. We had a good Montepulcino da Abruzza.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Fabulous dinner with perfect service! Great place to celebrate a birthday!!

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kent)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Lovely restaurant food and service very good our waiter Thiery was very helpful with making our food choices

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Lovely meal, good service. Very accommodating when I asked for changes to the ingredients.

Tags: Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Competent place italian; not a gastro-foodie place; just simple hardy good italian dishes; nice comfortable seating allowing you to look down on Seattle downtown streets.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Such a lovely restaurant. The only downside is that it is based in a mall which kind of ruined the first impressions however everything else was perfect and the restaurant really beautiful so didn't mind. We actually went on a Monday so it was nice and quiet. The food was amazing, I had the lamb shank which was cooked perfectly and the other guests loved their meals. The portions were plentiful. The service was top notch, can't fault it. Our waitress was friendly and made some really good recommendations on food and cocktails. I would definitely recommend this place and visit again if I'm ever back in Seattle.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We love IL Fornaio, we do not live in Seattle but go to plays at the Paramount. IL Fornaio is walking distance to the theater. We have always had good service and excellent food. We also use IL Fornaio in Sacramento where our kids live, same good service and good food and can accommodate our one son in a wheelchair. So glad the restaurant remains consistent where so many others do not. Thank you IL Fornaio.

Tags: Spicy, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Authentic, Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Took my wife for her birthday. Food was delicious, server was nice, even gave my wife a free dessert for her birthday, very nice surprise. A bit pricey overall, but was worth it.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Returning to Il Forniao after quite a while, I was pleasantly surprised by new menu items, particularly the Lunch Special of the day, pasta with duck ragout and mushrooms. It was excellent and a rare treat to find an entree featuring duck, especially at lunch. The mushrooms were wonderful and not the same old "cap" type you expect to find in tomato sauce. As well, I was wonderfully attended to by Cynthia and I hope to sit in her section again. Lunching is always improved when you're well treated by gracious and professional waitstaff.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Food was hot and delicious. Service was genuinely friendly and attentive. Waiter made special accommodations for the gluten-free member of our family. Loved the texture of the pasta (linguine con polpettine & linguine mare chiaro). My teenage kids and husband describe themselves as 'foodies' so it was a pleasant meal after a great day at the Jays/Mariners game.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Food was just alright for me. The place is cozy and big enough. Servers were nice.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 6, 2017

We attend monthly for their regional menu which is a great way to experience the different flavors of Italy. Excellent food and friendly familiar and impeccable wait/service staff have us hooked as repeat customers.

Tags: Vegan, Good for a Date, Authentic, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Good food and service. I had the Linguini and Seafood. It was pretty good. Waiter was pretty good and refilled soda without being asked. I have eaten here on several occasions and the food and service is consistently good.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 3, 2017

We went there twice. Dinner menu wasn't as good as lunch one on the first floor, but both were greater than 99% Italian places I've been to in the area

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 3, 2017

My husband and I travel to Seattle about once a month, and we usually eat near McCaw Hall or Benaroya Hall. Since the weather was good this time, we decided to go a little farther and return to Il Fornaio, which we had gone to a few years ago. The choice was great for us. We both loved our meals--my gnocchi without dairy and his pizza fra diavolo. We did not feel rushed, but we were aware that our waiter and the water person were attentive. The prices were normal for Seattle. We'll be back.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Very tasty Italian food. I had the social risotto with Duffy shell crab it had great balance. The desserts are not too be missed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 30, 2017

The service was great and the food was delicious. My favorite: The tiramisu cake.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 27, 2017

The food was great. The pasta selection was very good. My dinner dish with Bolognese sauce was excellent along with the split pea soup. I would definitely go back here again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 21, 2017

The salads, vegetables and entrée preparations are quite nice at cozy Il Fornaio.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.