Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi

About Il Fornaio - Sacramento

Il Fornaio means "the Baker" in Italian. Located in downtown Sacramento, this award-winning restaurant offers an authentic and unique Italian dining experience and a Wine Spectator Award of Excellence 2007 wine list. Enjoy wood-fired rotisserie and grilled meats, poultry and game; house made and imported pastas; pizzas from an oak wood burning oven; fresh salads and house made soups; antipasti and a wide variety of desserts made daily from scratch.

400 Capitol Mall
Sacramento, CA 95814
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday : 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Saturday : 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
4th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 446-4100

Website:
http://www.ilfornaio.com/

Catering:
Retail Catering: When you can’t join us, Il Fornaio food will come to you! Catering services include: boxed lunches, pastries, sandwiches, salads or cookies platters and much more. Perfect for any social or business meeting. Call for delivery details and minimum order information (service charge applies). Planning a wedding or large corporate event? Full Service Catering is available at our Sacramento location. Authentic, award-winning Italian cuisine and our experienced catering staff can offer Five-Star service when handling all the details of your next special event.

Parking Details:
Validated, complimentary parking available in private lot. Street parking and valet are also available.

Public Transit:
Regional Transit stops one block over on 4th and L Street. Amtrack stops three blocks over on 4th and I Street.

Executive Chef:
Bruno Amato

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Il Fornaio is located in downtown Sacramento just four blocks from the state capitol. In a beautiful and elegant setting we offer delicious authentic Italian cuisine and impeccable service. We have a number of private dining options available along with special menus to match your group's needs.

Il Fornaio - Sacramento Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (66)
Good for a Date (63)
Good for Anniversaries (52)
See All
Romantic (45)
Good for Birthdays (43)
Authentic (42)
Great for Lunch (36)
Fit for Foodies (35)
Good for Groups (33)
Notable Wine List (33)
Creative Cuisine (28)
Business Meals (26)
Fun (24)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Pre/post Theatre (23)
Worth the Drive (22)
Bar Seating (21)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Seasonal (20)
Comfort Food (19)
Happy Hour (19)
Casual (18)
Local Ingredients (18)
Sunday Lunch (15)
Cozy (14)
Tasting Menu (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Hot Spot (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Disabled Access (10)
Scenic View (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
People Watching (7)
Afternoon Coffee (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Vegan (5)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Organic (4)
Spicy (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Great Beer (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
2081 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 3 days ago

My wife and I enjoy going to Il Fornaio on special occasions and we chose to do so again, this time on our 20th anniversary. The restaurant is beautiful and the food is great.

Our waiter and the entire wait staff were fantastic. We felt pampered on our special night.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Our waiter was an absolute sweetheart! Attentive but not hovering. Braised Lamb Shank was very good. The camponata, too..but the potatoes were cold. *Sigh* I love the option to order a half glass of wine. Gives me a chance to try varietals I never have. Dessert was lovely, too. This is our favorite Friday night dinner after a long week...every once in a while something is just a bit off but not anything complaint-worthy. We'll be back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 3 days ago

The food was very good and a lot of it. The archecture of the dining room is great. The only issue we had was the noise. It can get very noisy.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 18, 2017

It was my husbands birthday and we came around eight which I thought was a little late but they accommodated us very nicely and professionally! The whole place was gorgeous from the inside out! So elegant, cozy, and beautiful at the same time! The food, service, and overall "feel" of the place was fantastic! The ice cream cake with a candle and the lady singing happy birthday with her opera voice was the perfect way to end the night. She was unbelievably, incredibly good! We were both speechless! We have amazing recollections from that night! We will definitely be coming here again and telling our friends about this amazing place! :)

Tags: Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Tea, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Authentic, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Spicy, Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Our waitress was slow, inattentive, and ruined our experience. The food was amazing, every other person we interacted there was helpful and on top of things, we just got the one bad one I guess. I'll definitely give it another shot, but not with that waitress!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 17, 2017

This experience was excellent, as usual. Best Italian restaurant in Sac'to. Francisco is an excellent waiter...we try to "get" him each time we go.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 17, 2017

I cannot recall who our ITALIAN waiter was, tall, with a very heavy Italian accent, but he seemed rushed with attending to too many tables. There was quite a lag time between first courses and our entrees. we all filled up on bread and water. The food was very good so I have no complaints there... only the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 16, 2017

5:30p reservation to 9p before we left and never felt rush or taking up a table to turn over, refills kept coming, etc. Superb food and service and so much more. Regional menu always a good choice and our friends enjoyed the evening -- Thanks Manager Ryan and General Manager Patrick!

Tags: Disabled Access, Vegan, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Healthy, Quick Bite, Afternoon Coffee, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Tea, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Happy Hour, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Could not be better, great meals and service. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Great service, great food. The lunch ran a little long but this was mostly due to our own party taking a while to order. Pricey but very satisfying meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 11, 2017

We love this location. The staff are very friendly and knowledgeable. As we are regulars, at least money, they know us by name.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Michelle was a delight--she has a diva's voice! Food was excellent, prepared just right

Tags: Romantic, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

We recommend without hesitation. Our favorite place

Tags: Business Meals, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Casual, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Service was excellent! Mark went out of his way to make sure we were enjoying our dinner. He even let us taste an additional entree from the menu.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Great food and attentive wait staff. Will go back for sure.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 6, 2017

My family dines at Il Fornaio's regularly. We love the regional menu, and the regular menu never fails us. We enjoy the atmosphere and the attentive staff as well. It's a downtown gem.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fun, Vegan, Disabled Access, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

We are regular clients at the Corte Madera Restaurant. The food is always excellent. The Sacramento facility cannot be owned by the same people. The food was substandard. My wife's and her son's was just OK. My ravioli with spicy sauce was the worst I've ever eaten. It was THICK spinach pasta. THICK! Unacceptable. I had to cut the pasta away from the filling or I would have blown up like a balloon. The tomato sauce, if you could call it that, was glopped on top, almost dry chunks of tomato, not a drop of liquid with which to spread over the raviolis, and to top it off it was served lukewarm, not anywhere near hot. I don't know who reads these reviews, but I would give that place a very wide berth. Tacky to serve crap like that. The waitstaff was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

So glad there is a local Il Fornaio! I used to go to their restaurant in Palo Alto many years ago. Fresh, flavorful Italian cuisine is guaranteed.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 1, 2017

I had been to Il Fornaio many times in the past but not recently, so I was glad that a friend suggested it. We had a delightfully fresh and flavorful lunch. Mine was a fresh arugula salad with perfect slabs of ahi tuna and just the right proportion of couscous to make it interesting but not overwhelm the freshness of the greens and the fish. The minestrone soup was vegan and was sufficiently interesting and flavorful that I didn't feel the need to opt for Parmesan. The servers were gracious and the room was sufficiently quiet that I was able to have a lovely catch up visit with an old friend.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 28, 2017

It was my girlfriend's birthday and the dining experience ruined the night. Food was decent but service was really slow. We waited for 40min to get our pasta. During that time our server did not follow up with us, I think either he did not properly placed the order or the kitchen forgot about the order. There was a couple who came in 30min after us got their food around the same time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 27, 2017

We were treated very, very well for our anniversary. Extra perks. Tyler was an exceptional server!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Always wonderful........and the most beautiful ambience.....

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

The ambiance was impressive, service impeccable, food absolutely delicious. Marc was very helpful, staff including the bartender all friendly and professional. I entertained two friends who had been travelling and they were quite impressed, almost more than by the Delta King. Desserts were delightful...

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Service was impeccable. Non-intrusive but very attentive.

Tags: Romantic, Seasonal, Scenic View, Happy Hour, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 23, 2017

The regional dishes were delicious. Our server, Jose, has been there a long time, and I love the service as well as the food. Patrick is very attentive and makes sure that all his patrons are happy. Really enjoyed our evening.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Disabled Access, Good for Groups, People Watching, Romantic, Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Five of us enjoyed lunch and everything was very nice, beautiful surroundings and the food was very tasty. However, our waiter was definitely was not on top of his game.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Beautiful architecture and atmosphere in this restaurant! Great menu selections and wine list. Service was excellent. Derrick and Deborah made wonderful recommendations and followed up with us to be sure everything was to our liking. We will definitely return - our new favorite!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Wife/I ordered thethreecourse meal special, caprisi salad, linguine w/clams and veal scalopene for$36 along with glass of wine for each.
Caprisi Salad - this had a menu price of$12, all that was on plate were 4 wedges of tomatoes ans a small dollop of mozerrella cheese (size of a cherry)
Linguine - 4 small claims in broth with agaon a small portion of pasta (2 forkfull), again not worth the $16 listed price - also did not have any flavor nor garlic/wine was noticed
Veal - this was supposed to be the "Naples" version, but wad not impressed with the tomato sauce/melted cheese - was this scallopene or parmasian?
Our waitress was eccellant and had a great voice signing "HB"" to various customers celebrating. Her assistant (bread/water) wad very friendly and professionable whereas the server took away our"clam shell" dish when he delivered the pasta - guess with 4 clams, the shells did not get in the way in our soupcup portion of pasta!
We havebeento four Golden 1 center cpncerts and went each time to Il Fornaio each time - this was the worst dinner of the four. (Neverhad a bad one at the Rosebille location)
Again very disappointed at our $150 pre concert dinner!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
·Dined on August 14, 2017

We were here for my son's 19th birthday and the service was impeccable. The food was delicious and our waitress had the voice of an angel as she sang happy birthday to my son. We will definitely be coming back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Great dinner celebrating bday. We had a great time always at il Fornaio.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Highly recommend this lovely restaurant for a group. Private dining room allowed the entire table to share the conversation. Service was professional and friendly and very helpful. Regional menu is the way to go with wines complementing the food perfectly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

We had a mini wedding celebration there 17 years ago and we have been going back every year at the same time (at least). We are never disappointed. Amazing culinary experience every time.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Loved the seafood parchment paper entree. Also the sausage stuffed ravioli.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Love the happy birthday song.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Wow! Thought we were back in Italy! Simply amazing meal! I can't think of anything they could have improved on. The service was impeccable and the food outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 11, 2017

The regional menu from Calabria was very good. Interesting variations on the general perception of Italian food. The only drawback was that our table was near the entrance to the large street side room where a large and occasionally boisterous reception was in progress . Nothing dramatic but loud. The waitress was friendly but busy and had to be reminded about a few requests.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Great Italian food since opening day. Best service ever August 8, 2017!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Great food-can take a while though.bit overall very yummy.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 7, 2017

The food was outstanding! Very flavorful. The waitress had a bit of an attitude, but all else aside, worth trying.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Excellent Service
Very rare experience where server made you feel so important & cared for

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.