Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi

About Il Fornaio - Sacramento

Il Fornaio means "the Baker" in Italian. Located in downtown Sacramento, this award-winning restaurant offers an authentic and unique Italian dining experience and a Wine Spectator Award of Excellence 2007 wine list. Enjoy wood-fired rotisserie and grilled meats, poultry and game; house made and imported pastas; pizzas from an oak wood burning oven; fresh salads and house made soups; antipasti and a wide variety of desserts made daily from scratch.

400 Capitol Mall
Sacramento, CA 95814
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday : 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Saturday : 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
4th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 446-4100

Website:
http://www.ilfornaio.com/

Catering:
Retail Catering: When you can’t join us, Il Fornaio food will come to you! Catering services include: boxed lunches, pastries, sandwiches, salads or cookies platters and much more. Perfect for any social or business meeting. Call for delivery details and minimum order information (service charge applies). Planning a wedding or large corporate event? Full Service Catering is available at our Sacramento location. Authentic, award-winning Italian cuisine and our experienced catering staff can offer Five-Star service when handling all the details of your next special event.

Parking Details:
Validated, complimentary parking available in private lot. Street parking and valet are also available.

Public Transit:
Regional Transit stops one block over on 4th and L Street. Amtrack stops three blocks over on 4th and I Street.

Executive Chef:
Bruno Amato

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Il Fornaio is located in downtown Sacramento just four blocks from the state capitol. In a beautiful and elegant setting we offer delicious authentic Italian cuisine and impeccable service. We have a number of private dining options available along with special menus to match your group's needs.

Il Fornaio - Sacramento Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (71)
Good for Anniversaries (58)
Good for Birthdays (56)
See All
Good for a Date (53)
Authentic (40)
Good for Groups (35)
Fit for Foodies (33)
Notable Wine List (31)
Business Meals (31)
Romantic (30)
Pre/post Theatre (29)
Creative Cuisine (27)
Tasting Menu (22)
Fun (21)
Worth the Drive (21)
Great for Lunch (20)
Bar Seating (19)
Sunday Lunch (18)
Healthy (18)
Comfort Food (17)
Happy Hour (17)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Private Room (17)
Casual (16)
People Watching (13)
Seasonal (12)
Family Style (12)
Kid-friendly (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (11)
Local Ingredients (11)
Cozy (10)
Open Kitchen (10)
Modern Decor (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Hot Spot (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Wood Oven (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Historic (8)
Disabled Access (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Outstanding Value (4)
Scenic View (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Vegan (3)
Fireplace (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Organic (2)
Tapas (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Live Music (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
1971 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

This was not the first time we had eaten there, but this time the food was over cooked and stodgy. We would go back in the hope that it improved.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Great service, very accommodating. And of course the food was very tasty and fulfilling, exactly what we wanted.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Alejandro was excellent We were celebrating a college graduation. He made it very special.

Tags: Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined 7 days ago

Had the featured Ligurian menu. The food was excellent; quite authentic. Flawless service, as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 16, 2017

As always (Going on 4 years) the food and service was excellent. Eating from the Festa Regionale tasting menu was an adventure. Can't wait until the next month to make our reservations!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 16, 2017

The only two suggestions I have that can improve an otherwise good experience is to reduce the noise levels that can be too loud for comfortable conversation and to increase the number of vegetarian and vegan options on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 15, 2017

We went for Mother's Day our Server was amazing he was very friendly and knowledgeable. Last time we dined the server we had was not very friendly I don't know if she was tired.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Mothers Day dinner. The food was average. The service was slow. Overall C+.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Il Fornaio, Capital, Sacramento is one of our favorite restaurants and anytime we are in the Sacramento area we have dinner there. The food, service, ambiance, and setting in the Wells Fargo Building never fail to please us. Do yourselves a favor, make a dinner reservation, you will enjoy it tremendously. Sincerely, Patrick

Tags: Healthy, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 15, 2017

We had a wonderful Mothers Day dinner and enjoyed everything about the evening.
The server was great, the food delicious, and the manager very personable! I would recommend Il Fornaio in a heartbeat.
Thank you for making this a memorable occasion.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Very satisfied. Great waiter who understood the cuisine well.

Tags: Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We come every year for Easter and Mother's Day Brunch. Much improved from last year! Buffet was very disappointing last year. This year it was back to its normal quality! Very happy to see the improvement

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Good Mother's Day brunch. Friendly staff and very attentive to your needs.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great pre-mothers day dinner. Food, service and ambiance was perfect.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Classic, classy, with the right mixture of fun and casual. The food is phenomenal. A FAVORITE of ours!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Excellent food and service. This restaurant is a little on the pricey side but I enjoyed my lunch very much. Service was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Decided to try Il Fornaio Cucina for dinner on our one night stay in Sacramento. It is an upscale Italian restaurant with a large selection of food and wine. Our selection of salad, pizza and wine were all very good and our server, Beverly, was very helpful and made our dining experience very pleasant. We would recommend this restaurant when visiting Sacramento.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 8, 2017

LOVE LOVE LOVE THE TOUR OF ITALY . SUCH A GREAT WAY TO TAKE ME OUT OF MY COMFORT ZONE AND TO TRY NEW AMAZING THINGD. THIS MONTH WAS EXCEPTIONAL AND THE BEST YET !!!!!!

Tags: Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 8, 2017

The food is consistently good. It was very slow getting to the table despite being there before the dinner crowd. The special artichoke pesto soup as not great. We missed dessert as it took so long to get dinner and we had a concert to get to. It Isco venir the to walk from Capitol 1 Center

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Jose is an exceptional waiter, always making our dinner experience fantastic and very enjoyable. He is so personable and knowledgeable. He makes suggestions and brings a little taste of something if we aren't sure we would like to order. Our food this past weekend was exceptional. Wherever the scallops came from they were cooked to perfection. My only complaint is that you were out of spumoni ice cream! 😩 We love to end our meal with spumoni. Hopefully next time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Risotta is always the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 29, 2017

It was much too loud, the kitchen is open to the restaurant and we could barely talk to each other. Not romantic at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We had a great time as usual. It was a birthday party for my wife and we were treated like kings. I would highly recommend the restaurant to everyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Will now be our #1 spot for every special occasion we will host for family and dearest friends. We are all still talking about experiencing your extraordinary restaurant last night!

Tags: Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 23, 2017

To be fair, it was prom night, but the food and service have fallen off a fair amount since we were last at the restaurant. The service was inconsistent. We were seated in a kind of "no man's land" with waiters milling about, but not necessarily attending to us. We waited about 25 minutes between courses. It was not a leisurely paced dinner, but a trudge to get to the end.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 23, 2017

I have had many excellent meals here before but this experience was awful. Noise level very high, service very slow and food was cold when served.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Alejandro, our waiter, and the manager and the great eagle eye bus person made this a memorable meal for great service. The boot of Italy, Calabria made it an unforgettable night for fine dining. The level of creativity in the kitchen keeps us retturning for the regional meals.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Family Style, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Fun, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Disabled Access, Authentic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Wood Oven, Great Beer, Scenic View, People Watching, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Casual, Afternoon Coffee, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Food was great as always. The Fillet was cooked to perfection. However the lack of knowledge when serving LouisXIII was disappointing. The bottle was not brought to the table while pouring. Only after the request to bring the bottle to the table did it arrive. At 187.50 per shot, I think the staff should be trained for the occasion. I still tipped him well.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The restaurant looks tired and need a "face lift". Also appeared dingy and dirty around the corners. I like this reataurant, service is very good and the food is also. They just need to brughten it up a little.
We rae natives and eat there occasionally and please do not shrove good customers to the bak when you are 1/4 full.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 16, 2017

My family and I really enjoyed spending Easter brunch at IL Fornaio. The food was delicious and the service was great! It's a bit pricey, but for what you get, I think it is comparable to other restaurants? - - I'll need to comparison. However, if you leave feeling content with the food and service then, it's worth it.

Additionally, I'm real picky on freshness. The salad, seafood, and fruits were very fresh! No wilty lettuce, etc. If I had to think about imperfection, I did not find tiramisu, which is a must for desserts for me.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Wood Oven, Family Style, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Went for Easter brunch, as it was so good here last year. We weren't disappointed. Wonderful food choices and some of the dishes were outstanding, i.e. the omelet and the tri-tip. First-class wait staff made the meal even more enjoyable.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The staff is always very helpful and the food is outstanding

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Restaurant set up was nice. Our service was good but the food was extremely basic. Average pricing for Italian food. I probably won't return simply off the food but everything else was ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Great food great service nice atmosphere. Would highly recommend

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Private Room, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 11, 2017

I love their monthly regional menu featuring Italy's best in each region.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Our dinner was excellent and the menu choices creative and Italian.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Wood Oven, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The ambiance was nice, noise level was low, our waiter was very nice and professional, he knew what he was talking about, I'd recommend taking your date here, my date loved the food, desert, and wine.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Casual, Private Room, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 8, 2017

While the noise level was high, the food and ambiance made the evening perfect.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Business Meals, People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Food is always tasty. I like that the soups do not have a cream base - they always taste fresh and light. Great for business AND personal lunches and dinners.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.