About Il Fornaio - Sacramento

Il Fornaio means "the Baker" in Italian. Located in downtown Sacramento, this award-winning restaurant offers an authentic and unique Italian dining experience and a Wine Spectator Award of Excellence 2007 wine list. Enjoy wood-fired rotisserie and grilled meats, poultry and game; house made and imported pastas; pizzas from an oak wood burning oven; fresh salads and house made soups; antipasti and a wide variety of desserts made daily from scratch.

400 Capitol Mall
Sacramento, CA 95814
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday : 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Saturday : 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
4th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 446-4100

Website:
http://www.ilfornaio.com/

Catering:
Retail Catering: When you can’t join us, Il Fornaio food will come to you! Catering services include: boxed lunches, pastries, sandwiches, salads or cookies platters and much more. Perfect for any social or business meeting. Call for delivery details and minimum order information (service charge applies). Planning a wedding or large corporate event? Full Service Catering is available at our Sacramento location. Authentic, award-winning Italian cuisine and our experienced catering staff can offer Five-Star service when handling all the details of your next special event.

Parking Details:
Validated, complimentary parking available in private lot. Street parking and valet are also available.

Public Transit:
Regional Transit stops one block over on 4th and L Street. Amtrack stops three blocks over on 4th and I Street.

Executive Chef:
Bruno Amato

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Il Fornaio is located in downtown Sacramento just four blocks from the state capitol. In a beautiful and elegant setting we offer delicious authentic Italian cuisine and impeccable service. We have a number of private dining options available along with special menus to match your group's needs.

Il Fornaio - Sacramento Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (72)
Good for a Date (59)
Good for Anniversaries (49)
See All
Good for Birthdays (39)
Romantic (36)
Fit for Foodies (30)
Good for Groups (29)
Authentic (27)
Worth the Drive (26)
Pre/post Theatre (24)
Notable Wine List (21)
Open Kitchen (20)
Business Meals (20)
Bar Seating (19)
Tasting Menu (18)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Private Room (18)
Great for Lunch (17)
Fun (17)
Casual (16)
Seasonal (16)
Happy Hour (15)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Cozy (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Healthy (11)
Historic (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Modern Decor (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Family Style (8)
Wood Oven (7)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Scenic View (6)
People Watching (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Fireplace (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Vegan (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Waterfront (1)
Organic (1)
Live Sports (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
1895 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined 3 days ago

Rack of lamb tough and gamey

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 3 days ago

A truly memorable experience. It made a very special night even more wonderful!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 4 days ago

Always a great spot! Food and service was fantastic and the comped parking before the Kings game is a huge bonus.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 21, 2017

The Festa Regionale menu is a terrific value and the February menu was delicious.

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Fun, Good for a Date, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Great service by Tyler and rest of staff. Very Good umbria tasting menu. Wood fried Duck and Roast Rack of Lamb selections were really good, but the cannelloni (shrimp) valentino was too potatoey/pasty. Chick Pea and Potato soup was also very tasty. Also had the risotto umbro which was good but not fantastic, and the Lamb shank which was nearly flavorless and poorly executed. Nice Tiramisu. Despite the uneven quality of the food, we had a good time due in part to the great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Very friendly and helpful staff, excellent food in a very pleasant environment. For me the best Italian restaurant in Sacramento. Much better than the over rated Biba's

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The soup never arrived but it wasn't on our bill. My 2 year old grandson loved all the pasta dishes. So the food is palatable fir toddlers. I was disappointed in the limited vegetarian options. What I had wasn't bad but about the same at any other Italian place you go to. Nothing special with higher prices

Tags: Modern Decor, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We delayed our Valentine's celebration to this past Saturday. I made a reservation. When we arrived we were going to be seated in the "atrium". We said no, don't want to sit there. Then we were going to be seated in the next section over, which chairs are not too comfortable. So, we said, no we want to sit in the main dining room. We decided that we must look "easy" and we would be ok to be seated in a less than desirable table, not any more! However, the great Rombauer chardonnay, beet salad and great pasta dishes made up for the arrival details. Our waitstaff was awesome, and she was on top of it at every point.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Decaf was tepid but delicious. Server was terrible. Food excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Not the best effort from the restaurant in terms of service or food. Usually Il Fornaio is a solid experience. This time however, the wait staff was not very attentive, slow to refill wine and water glasses and forgot an appetizer. The Umbria risotto was significantly under cooked, did not look appealing and lacked flavor. The Umbria lamb was cooked well, but the sauce I was more distracting than anything. Lamb chops really don't need anything more than salt, pepper and a hot grill. The vodka penne and the bolognese were very good. Even when they brought out the appetizer late (and to their credit did not charge us), it was greasy and flavorless. Usually, this restaurant is a winner and we will continue to dine there. But his time it was a little subpar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Simply a great place to dine. Our server, Courtnie, was outstanding. Noise was a bit of a problem because of our age but worth overlooking that.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We love this restaurant in Sacramento. We prefer higher end dining, but this IL Fornaio always satisfies. Nice wine list with interesting featured selections. Always helpful, courteous, friendly staff. Nice setting, easy validated free parking in the building. Bread is delicious with a aioli, and we just love the pasta selections. Try the tagliatelle with bolognese. Nice desserts, full bar. This is a comfortable place with good food and reasonable prices, but still works for special occasions. We're becoming regulars and will definitely return.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fun, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Il Fornaio Sacramento had a tough Valentines Day evening. The restaurant seemed overwhelmed and woefully understaffed.

The ambience was not what one would expect.. A hospital would have had better mood lighting and the accordion player was intrusive.

We had a drink at the bar, our beer glasses went empty for most of the entire evening before dinner. I always thought a bartender should be friendly, last night proved me wrong.

The food when it finally arrived was good, but by then we had lost interest.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Delicious food, loved sitting in the patio, and fantastic service. Our waiter, Jose, was excellent.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Ambiance, food and service were great! Only complaint is made reservations well in advance for Valentine's day and was hoping for a little romantic spot but ended up in an area where we were seated so close in the isle that we could literally hear the other couples conversation's loud and clear.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 15, 2017

This is a place that you would want to take someone special in your Life.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great Valentines date with my boyfriend. Had great 3 course meal from Umbra region. Can't wait to go back again.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Afternoon Tea, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Fireplace, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We had a great dining experience here for Valentine's Day! The service was impeccable and the ambiance with the music made it very romantic. We truly enjoyed the beet salad and the wine trio from Italy. Never had a bad experience with Il Fornaio.

Tags: Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We go to Il Fornaio, Sacramento quite often, the ambient is very nice, food is always good here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Food was excellent as well as the service! A little too loud because it has open view to the kitchen.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Our food was cooked perfectly , seafood was savory and the filet was so soft you could cut it with a butter knife. The service was efficient and friendly. The beautiful building was enhanced by the brighter lighting in the main eating area which I prefer to dark steakhouse restaurants in town. Their wine list did not disappoint both Zinfandels were perfect additions to our meals

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Wood Oven, Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Coffee, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 6, 2017

The food was delicious! Many varied options, enjoyed the location.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Il Fornaio Sacramento is one of our family favorites for Italian food. The food and ambiance is sophisticated yet casual.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fun, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I. Came here for lunch one day and the experience was so good that I had to bring my wife.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Cozy, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We were very disappointed with our service Friday night. Our waiter rushed us and was a bit rude. With all the new dining options around the new arena we were a bit surprised with our service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 25, 2017

The service and my dining experience was A+! Everyone from the hostess to each server was friendly and professional. The food was outstanding!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Manager knows how to handle an issue. You can't be disappointed here.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Wonderful, friendly service immediately upon entering, delicious happy hour cocktails and apps, beautifully prepared and delicious entrees and desserts, along with pizza dough treats for the kids to shape for baking, and returned to them as cute, warm bread shapes! Serenaded for a birthday celebration, impeccable service. Loved it all!!

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Kid-friendly, Fun, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 23, 2017

It was good. Surprised by the lack of vegetarian meals. Our waiter was great. When asked about favorites he went straight for the meat options and really didn't ask us if we had dietary restrictions. It was slightly annoying since we had a vegetarian with us so she was skeptical already. Everything else was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Had a wonderful meal, outstanding service, and a beautiful atmosphere. We will be back again! Thank you

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Very good food. Enjoyed the ambiance. Kudos to the restaurant for the upkeep of the facilities.

Tags: Private Room, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 21, 2017

It was a great evening! Tasty food, fantastic service and even better company. Thanks to all that make Il Fornaio what it has become in the Greater Sacramento area.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Always enjoyable. Food delicious and service over and above!

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Great bruschetta appetizer. Poor quality lettuce in the caesar salad. Expected better quality of the pasta itself. Very good almond chocolate cake dessert. Good service and helpful server. High corkage fee.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Great service, beautiful venue, delicious food, good wine selection.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Historic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Saturday evening dining in January.

We were in the lucky few to have a table on the enclosed porch on the sidewalk. You had a choice for comfort level, blasting hot under the heaters or rather cool, including a nice bracing breeze at one point. I might add there were empty tables inside when being led to ours.

Service a bit slow maybe because we were distant from the kitchen. Next time in cold weather, we'll insist on an inside table.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Unknowingly came on a King's game Friday night. Walked into a wall of noise and bustle. Not your father's ilFornaio. In spite of the turmoil, the front desk handled our reservation pleasantly, professionally, and promptly. Table service was enjoyable, but the noise, oh the noise! The kitchen slammed pots and dishes adding to the riotous cacophony. Game night at

ilFornaio is thunderous. But under the radar, the ilFornaio of good dining.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Always superb food, gracious servers, warm and beautiful ambience. Stellar staff

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Open Kitchen, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 12, 2017

We sampled the regional menu, and thefts and beverage service was kind of slow. The appetizer and main course were very tasty, but not very hot. The pasta was terrible, so they took that off our bill. We'll try again next month to see if it's better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 11, 2017

They really tried to accommodate us during a crazy wet, rainy night

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Service was excellent and the food was phenomenal will definitely be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Overall, the Regional Festa menu was not as interesting as most; however, the steak, with Gorgonzola, sautéed spinach, and polenta, was outstanding — it should be on their regular menu.

Service was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Orthodox New Year's Eve

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Great as always. Finest designer cocktails EVER! Staff always trying hard.

Tags: People Watching, Happy Hour, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 2, 2017

we all really had a great time and the food was delicious as alway.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great time for New Year's Eve! Requested a booth and got great seating closed to windows to see some Fireworks off the Sacramento bridge and received validated free parking. Great special place for special night with my boyfriend.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent experience. We went on New Years. Service and food was wonderful. Atmosphere was beautiful. Loved the old charm. I would definitely recommend. Thanks Kathy

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We have celebated New Year's Eve at Il Fornaio for several years and plan on many more at the restaurant! The food, service and ambiance are outstanding!

Tags: Good for a Date, Historic, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Private Room, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We were a party of six that ate at Il Fornaio on New Year's Eve. Great food, service and atmosphere. There was a two-piece band playing (percussion plus accordion) during our entire visit - 6-8:30 - and the music was perfect - famous Sinatra songs, etc. We always recommend Il Fornaio to our friends!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.