About Il Fornaio - Roseville

Il Fornaio is renowned for it's authentic and award winning Italian cuisine. Specialties include: Wood fired rotisserie and grilled meats, poultry and game, housemade pastas, pizzas form a wood fired oven, fresh salads and housemade soups, a wide variety of housemade desserts, and fresh baked bread. Annual winner of the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence.

1179 Galleria Boulevard
Roseville, CA 95678
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 10:00 pm
Saturday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm
Happy Hour: Monday - Friday 4:00pm - 6:00pm

Cross Street:
E. Roseville Parkway and West Dr.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 788-1200

Website:
http://www.ilfornaio.com/

Parking Details:
Free parking available in Roseville Galleria Mall parking lot and covered parking structure adjacent to the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Israel Bejar

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Wine Dinners and Cooking Classes.
Inquire within.

Private Dining

Our large, high ceiling Main Dining Room is filled with rich woods, Tuscan style hand-painted frescoes and huge picture windows. Il Fornaio welcomes groups in this main dining area. With groups of 10 to 100 guests.

Il Fornaio - Roseville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (36)
Good for a Date (31)
Good for Groups (29)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Authentic (21)
Romantic (20)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Business Meals (14)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Casual (11)
Cozy (11)
Great for Lunch (11)
Notable Wine List (11)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Fun (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Seasonal (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
People Watching (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Vegan (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Live Sports (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
1689 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Food was excellent . Ambience and noise level was great.

Tags: Business Meals, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 17, 2017

The regional specials are a great addition to the menu. We've been to other Il Fornaio locations, the Roseville restaurant is done beautifully & the service is excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 16, 2017

The restaurant had a wedding reception and the restaurant was understaffed to handle regular dinner service. Drink orders weren't taken until we ordered our meals. My kids had finished their entrees before my wife and I had been served (we had to ask where our meals were). Our waiter disappeared for significant stretches of time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Slow service terrible food, the dinner took nearly three hours

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined on September 14, 2017

I am not a fan of Il Fornio Roseville. The restaurant is usually packed with insufficient wait staff with painfully slow service for meal service even on a Wednesday evening. I mentioned that 2 of our party had birthdays that we were celebrating-no special recognition. Most restaurants will provide some type of courtesy dessert.
This restaurant needs to improve & add more wait staff and to speed up meal delivery. Menu for me is too heavy and needs a lighter touch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 12, 2017

While this isn't the best Italian food you might find, it's always very good, Italian, and well prepared. There is something on the menu for everyone from pizza, to pasta, to fish, to vegetarian, to poultry, to pork, to meat! Our small group dined for 3 hours, enjoyed lots of conversation, and the staff took care of us properly throughout our visit.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Had a lovely evening and the server was did not rush us. The food was well-prepared and presented without anyone asking "who had???" so very appreciated.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Very great service from Jason. Unique wine list which is rare. Overall it was fantastic.

Tags: People Watching, Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 5, 2017

Amazing... my girlfriend said it was one of the best dinners she has had

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Loved it ! Was a big birthday and was very good as always. We always go back !

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Wonderful food and service, as always. They made our special occasion extra special!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Dinner and the service were as excellent as always.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Second trip and it was another great meal. I wish they had half portions on most everything because it's too much food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Two of us had the seafood risotto and found it bland with a small amount of seafood in it.
one had green ravioli which I tasted and did not like. my husband had a another pasta dish
that was good. Nice atmosphere but not impressed with food.

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Excellent location. The decor is as you see it in the photos. Looks Italian and beautiful.
The table for 8 was ready on time in a nice quiet part of the restaurant. The service was outstanding and the food delicious.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Great food. Superb service. Good wine list.
Friendly management.

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 19, 2017

There were four of us and we had excellent service. I had their Festa Regionale menu and it was very good the same for other menu items ordered by my three diner companies.

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 16, 2017

They took care of us! The food was excellent. The service could be a bit more attentive, but hey, it was a busy night. It was my friend's first time, and she loved the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Had a great server but must’ve gone on a bad night.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 13, 2017

We celebrated our 55'th anniversary. It was a most enjoyable evening. Our server,Ashley added to the enjoyment. We are looking forward to our next visit.I

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Excellent meal and experience all around. I love Il For mail as I've never been disappointed and they also serve vegan offerings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Amazing experience for our 19th wedding anniversary!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Absolutely wonderful. Everyone had something different and raved about their choice.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 6, 2017

We celebrated my sister's birthday, and we loved everything about this restaurant. We will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 6, 2017

We had a lovely meal for my birthday celebration. However, the only disappointment was the reservation specified it was for a birthday celebration, yet the wait staff never asked who's birthday it was. It all sort of went overlooked, which was a little disappointing. I'd definitely come back again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Had a reservation for 6 people but arrived about 15 minutes early. Asked if we could sit in the bar and have a drink while we waited for our table to be ready. We were waited on by the rudest server I have ever encountered. He was curt, sarcastic and snide.

Luckily our table was ready very quickly and we were seated at a lovely table with a different server. The rest of our night was amazing. The server we had was top notch.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

Three of us enjoyed a late lunch here in Roseville, CA. I had been to the San Jose location a number of times before moving closer to this one, but never to this location. The ambiance here was better than in San Jose -- not as crowded or close to other tables; and more pleasant setting overall. The food was excellent, which was usually true in San Jose also. It is somewhat expensive based on portion sizes, but for a nice lunch it was worth it. It was not crowded at the time we were here, which made it enjoyable and the service was very good. The only issue is parking can be difficult, since the mall is so popular.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 29, 2017

We loved our evening out with friends at Il Fornaio. The food was delicious and the service was great. Our waiter, Adam, was very personable, attentive and had some great tips for the area. I highly recommend the caramel sea salt gelato....it is to die for!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Authentic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Simply awful server ruined our anniversary dinner. Pizza AND main courses came room temp/ it happens Server obviously doubted us BOTH times, and after questioning us, BOTH TIMES checked the bottom of dish.

Manager interceded before we walked, and did save the day. Also, the busser who brought our bread and water was fantastic. Wish he was our server.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Waiter absolutely the best!
Pollo Toscanp awsome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Great food and service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 25, 2017

We go to dinner at Il Fornaio a lot and particularly like to sit in the loggia. The interior is beautiful, ambiance is great, and service has always been friendly and helpful. Our server last night was particularly good. When you want to dress up just a little, have a quiet, more upscale dinner, and very good food, it's a great place.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 24, 2017

our waitperson Annie, made all the difference. Would like to see more pasta items on the menus. would like more 'no corkage fee months'...would come more often.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Consistently excellent foods from many regions of Italy, superb service, variety for diversified and discerning palates and always leave pleasantly satisfied. For special occasions, business or just for fun - go and enjoy!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

A night with good friends, Great food, and excellent service, also inviting decor a very enjoyable evening.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 21, 2017

We hadn't been to I'll Fornaio for quite some time. An email offer of free corkage provided the incentive to make the trip from Folsom. What a nice surprise! The food was excellent and the service the best we've had anywhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Well, have been here before, and this visit was awesome!!! Our server made it an outstanding dining experience!! Everything from appetizer, salad and meal rocked, bread too!! Thanks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Our group of 6 requested a quiet table, which was provided. The food and service were both excellent. Our membership in their loyalty program earned us a free appetizer. One of the nicer Italian restaurants in Roseville.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 16, 2017

We enjoyed the Regionale menu from Veneto, Italy. The fish was excellently prepared. Going to Il Fornaio almost takes me back to Italy. The menu always reflects the influence of that country.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 15, 2017

My wife requested that we eat here for her birthday, as it is her favorite place to dine. She, our son, and I were not disappointed. The service is always excellent, the food and atmosphere is great as well. The varied Italian cuisine gives you plenty of choices, as does the wine list. We WILL be back again.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.