About Il Fornaio - Roseville

Il Fornaio is renowned for it's authentic and award winning Italian cuisine. Specialties include: Wood fired rotisserie and grilled meats, poultry and game, housemade pastas, pizzas form a wood fired oven, fresh salads and housemade soups, a wide variety of housemade desserts, and fresh baked bread. Annual winner of the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence.

1179 Galleria Boulevard
Roseville, CA 95678
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 10:00 pm
Saturday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm
Happy Hour: Monday - Friday 4:00pm - 6:00pm

Cross Street:
E. Roseville Parkway and West Dr.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 788-1200

Website:
http://www.ilfornaio.com/

Parking Details:
Free parking available in Roseville Galleria Mall parking lot and covered parking structure adjacent to the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Israel Bejar

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Wine Dinners and Cooking Classes.
Inquire within.

Private Dining

Our large, high ceiling Main Dining Room is filled with rich woods, Tuscan style hand-painted frescoes and huge picture windows. Il Fornaio welcomes groups in this main dining area. With groups of 10 to 100 guests.

Il Fornaio - Roseville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (50)
Good for a Date (46)
Good for Anniversaries (38)
See All
Good for Birthdays (33)
Authentic (29)
Romantic (29)
Fireplace (27)
Creative Cuisine (26)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Great for Lunch (23)
Good for Groups (22)
Business Meals (20)
Comfort Food (19)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Notable Wine List (17)
Cozy (16)
Open Kitchen (16)
Great for Outdoor Dining (16)
Worth the Drive (15)
Modern Decor (14)
Casual (12)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Wood Oven (12)
Fun (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Great for Brunch (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Healthy (9)
Family Style (8)
Seasonal (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
People Watching (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Private Room (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Scenic View (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Spicy (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
1615 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined a day ago

Good food and good value. Check for the daily specials!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Adrian was our waiter - he was very good.
Delicious dessert - entrees were exceptional.

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 5 days ago

Not very friendly when we had entered the businesses! Two employees talking and had to finish conversations between there greeted us. No hello or welcome to. Just reservations tonight ? Yes we where 10 minutes early and they looked at 5:30 pm and they said no don't see any. I said 6:00pm. Ok yes. Still no pleasantries. No bread because still in the oven. Just over all c- service for full price. Please train your staff !! 😎

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Great experience. Only weak spot was the obtuse woman at the hostess stand. Claimed we had no reservation when we had made one on open table and they had phoned to confirm it that morning. Service was great. Food was fantastic. Not noisy at all. Great meal presentation. I believe this is a very under rated place. We much prefer it to Ruths Chris for a nice night out. We will come back again. They did let some 50 year old bozo keep his ballcap on which is very annoying to me in a nice place like this. Come on dude so some respect and take the cap off.

Tags: Cozy, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Awesome food, with great service. I took a first date there for dinner. Our server was very friendly, attentive, and had a great sense of his customers' needs. He also had a great sense of humor. The staff allowed us to to stay, sitting by the fire for two hours after the restaurant closed, while they cleaned up from the day's business. Even when we could tell they wanted to go home, they didn't ask us to leave. This is service that is unseen in this day and age of pushing people through like cattle. I will be a customer there forever.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 15, 2017

the salad was terrible, nothing in it that was special in any way. Cheaper restaurants have more great ingredients/vegetables than Fornaio. The Lamb did not have much meat in it, the big bone is what makes it attractive, but for eating, it was disappointing. However, the Veal Scalopine with Lemone was outstanding, just the right amount for a woman, the vegetables that went with it were great too. I may or may not come back. I have tried Fornaio 4 times so far.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Your staff were very attentive and the menu was excellent.

Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

It was unclear making this reservation it was buffet only. we anticipated ordering from the menue and were disappointed as we didnt want to do buffet

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Wonderful Mother's Day Buffet! Highlights were shrimp, crab legs, bacon, omelet made to order, small pizza made fresh from 3 choices, raspberries, desserts

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 14, 2017

They had a special buffet brunch for
mother's day which was well planned and most enjoyable. I hope they have special
Brunches for special occasions in the future.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Sadly, in eagerness to book a reservation through the ease of Open Table, I wasn't aware of the per-person pricing for a buffet brunch that was scandalously overpriced. I would refuse to book any holiday affair again without upfront pricing when menu selections are restricted to flat pricing or brunch pricing. Even then, I don't believe we had value for our money. The service was not what I expected based on my previous experiences there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Our server was exceptional. There was a party going on outside so it was difficult to hear at times. However, the food made up for it. Overall, like the other times we have visited, the experience was a positive one.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Seated quickly, greeted by server in a timely manner, drinks and food arrived without a long wait. Server was able to offer suggestions and food was great! Wish we would have ordered another round of drinks but service slowed near the end of our meal as the restaurant filled up with larger parties. Overall a fun dinner for two!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Excellent service! Food was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 12, 2017

When the restaurant is full, then the restaurant can be quite loud for conversation. We lucked out on a slow lunch day (this is rare) and the food was fabulous and the waiter just attentive enough to take care of our wishes without interfering with our visit. I love to go to this restaurant. Eating at the bar is a nice option too, if you're looking for good food but casual atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Our server Brandy was exceptional. Quiet enough for conversation with friends. Will definitely return.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Our two children and their spouses and my husband and I sat at a round table inside. I had my guide dog puppy in training with me and the staff was very accomodating. Service was excellent. We had been to other Il Fornia restaurants in Woodland Hills so this time we tried something new. Highly recommend the spinach ravoli and the salads. We will go back.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Healthy, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Have eaten here at least 6 times always excellent. My wife loves to go here after long day of shopping in the area. I get great meal and terrific service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Good meal,great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Nothing to distinguish this place from a thousand others. Vault like empty building, average food and prices are OK. We have one in Corte Madera near our house, which is like a different chain both in terms of food and ambience. Sorry I went to Roseville. Will not repeat

Tags: Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We have decided that Il Fornaio Roseville will be our choice for our" Special Occasion" family dinners. On the 5th of May we celebrated my husband's 71st birthday with some of our family. The service and food were very good. I requested one of the dining areas on the side (it tends to be quieter) and my request was accommodated. We were the only party in that section.
In November of 2016 we celebrated our 50th Wedding Anniversary here also. We had a larger party and were given a private section, made especially enjoyable by closing it off with doors and a curtain. Both evenings we enjoyed cocktails and hors d'oeuvres before ordering, never feeling rushed.
We have family members on special diets, Gluten Free and Vegetarian. The Gluten Free menu offers many options and there are always Vegetarian dishes to choose from.
I really can't say enough about the entire experience. My hope is that the restaurant continues to provide quality meals, ambiance and service making it a "dining experience" not matched by other restaurants in the area.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Private Room, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Our waiter was overworked and had a hard time keeping the orders and bills straight. Very nice guy and he tried his best. Most of our meals were great except an order where the cooks just missed the mark. The noodles were not done and came to us pretty hard. The flavor was very good but the meal was unpleasant because of it. They comped our meals but the damage was done. I was sad because I recommended this restaurant to my friends based upon a long history of great dining. I have been dining with this restaurant company for about 20 years all over California.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Server was unbelievable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Everything was delicious. Our server Ashley was awesome. I loved the personalization of the menu saying happy birthday to me. I enjoyed the free dessert with the candle! It was a great place to celebrate my birthday. I'd say it's a little pricey though. So special occasions for sure.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 26, 2017

The asparagus & potato soup was delicious on a chilly, almost stormy day. The mixed seafood (scallops, shrimp & calamari) was rich, and very flavorful.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 24, 2017

My sister and I enjoyed our first time dinning at this restaurant. We enjoy leisure dinning and were well taken care of with wonderful cocktails, very tasty dinning, and desert. Our server was more than compitant and friendly. We will be regulars.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Spicy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 23, 2017

We were hosting our son and DIL visiting from San Francisco so we wanted a worthy venue for two young foodies used to the variety there. This is our third time there ourselves and we were happy with the choice. Two of us brought home enough food for a good lunch a couple of days later. My wife is a bit of a wine snob and was happy with the choices on their list

Tags: Open Kitchen, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The hostess hesitated to seat us because our reservation was for 4, and she only saw 2 of us. There were 3 of us waiting to be seated and our 4th in the party was paying the bar bill.

The restaurant was not busy but we were seated at a table near the entrance rather than further in where we would have had more privacy.

My husband ordered lamb and he said it was "ok."
We may take a break from Il fornaio.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 21, 2017

The food, ambiance, and service at this restaurant are very good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Stopped for a casual dinner after work with my wife and it was very nice. Good service, great food, well worth a stop if you are in the area.

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Enjoyed Easter dinner with very nice menu and excellent waitress. Had a wonderful Rosato wine and excellent pastas.

Tags: Modern Decor, Open Kitchen, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Everything was perfect, the only thing that was disappointing was my Bloody Mary, $14 for a glass of all ice and maybe got 3 drinks out of it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 17, 2017

While Il Fornaio is a local "chain" restaurant, it still puts out some quality Italian fare. And that's coming from my 100% Italian, first generation, USA wife.
Service from Annie was awesome. Great lady, quite professional but very friendly and a good sense of humor.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Wood Oven, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Authentic, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Fireplace, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We planned our Easter brunch at Il Fornaio this year, and was pleasantly surprised with our experience. We had originally made reservations at the Downtown Sacramento location, but after having to do a deep research dive and learning that location had a special brunch buffet at about $45 per person, we opted for the Roseville location, which was serving their standard brunch menu at more reasonable prices. The service was great, our food was delivered quickly, the waffles looked INCREDIBLE, and overall the food was very good. The restaurant was not overly crowded, so we were seated and served quickly. I was hoping they would have had more brunch/breakfast items on the kids menu, and maybe even recognize that it was a major holiday, but overall we were very pleased.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 15, 2017

A night out with my spouse. This restaurant always is a treat

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 9, 2017

I always love this restaurant. Not impressed with the appetizer I had though - needed more flavor. Other than that the food was good.

Tags: Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Delicious and authentic Italian food. Service was ok. Everything else is 5 stars.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, People Watching, Modern Decor, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Paleo Friendly, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We came here because my brother in law gave us a gift card for Christmas. Our server John was absolutely wonderful and by far the best part of our experience. The food was ok, I read in some other reviews on Yelp that food was served lukewarm and my ravioli was indeed just warm, not hot. My husband's chicken dish was served hot and it was really delicious, and my pasta was good despite the temperature. We also had a meatball appetizer that was very good. Our bill for the appetizer, two entrees, a glass of wine and two glasses of whiskey was over $100. Our gift card was for $100 so we didn't owe much beyond that, the majority of what we paid beyond the gift card was our tip because as I said earlier, John was wonderful. I wouldn't come back for the food though, it just really doesn't seem worth the price.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 4, 2017

poor service at the start (45 min to take our order); excellent at the end when another server stepped in

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Fabulous food / great service / Mary was our server and she was first class/wonderful !!!

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.