About Il Fornaio - Roseville

1179 Galleria Boulevard
Roseville, CA 95678
View Larger Map

Il Fornaio is renowned for it's authentic and award winning Italian cuisine. Specialties include: Wood fired rotisserie and grilled meats, poultry and game, housemade pastas, pizzas form a wood fired oven, fresh salads and housemade soups, a wide variety of housemade desserts, and fresh baked bread. Annual winner of the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 10:00 pm
Saturday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm
Happy Hour: Monday - Friday 4:00pm - 6:00pm

Cross Street:
E. Roseville Parkway and West Dr.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 788-1200

Website:
http://www.ilfornaio.com/

Parking Details:
Free parking available in Roseville Galleria Mall parking lot and covered parking structure adjacent to the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Israel Bejar

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Wine Dinners and Cooking Classes.
Inquire within.

Private Dining

Our large, high ceiling Main Dining Room is filled with rich woods, Tuscan style hand-painted frescoes and huge picture windows. Il Fornaio welcomes groups in this main dining area. With groups of 10 to 100 guests.

Il Fornaio - Roseville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (47)
Good for a Date (45)
Good for Anniversaries (45)
See All
Romantic (36)
Fireplace (25)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Worth the Drive (22)
Authentic (22)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Good for Groups (21)
Cozy (21)
Great for Lunch (20)
Wood Oven (17)
Notable Wine List (16)
Business Meals (16)
Modern Decor (15)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Open Kitchen (14)
Comfort Food (14)
Fun (12)
Outstanding Value (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (11)
Happy Hour (11)
Family Style (11)
Casual (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Seasonal (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Healthy (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Private Room (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Local Ingredients (3)
Vegan (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
People Watching (2)
Spicy (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Historic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Organic (1)
Great Beer (1)
Scenic View (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1551 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined 2 days ago

Very good Italian restaurant. The spumoni is awesome!

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was distinctly better than what I recall from many past visits. That's good! I didn't pay much attention to the prices until I receive my bill. It was $155 for three people including two glasses of wine. I had a nice chicken dish but it was $24.95. Way too expensive in my opinion. Again very good food, but grossly overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 5 days ago

As always, Il Fornaio never disappoints. Our dinner and service were fabulous.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 6 days ago

Went there to celebrate a friends birthday. They put her name on the menus and treated her and our party with the utmost care. Food isn't the best around but the service is spot on.

Tags: Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 7 days ago

Cannoli entree in a savory sauce was more than enough, provided next day's lunch. Wife's special request (variation on a menu item) cheerfully granted. It also provided enough for a doggie box.

Wine list just a bit pricey.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Authentic, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Il Fornaio Roseville is one of our "go to" restaurants. Usually, the food is good to very good and the atmosphere terrific. Not so on 2/15/ 17 when my wife ordered ½ duck which was bland and exceptionally tough. She managed a few bites at the restaurant and I tried carving it from home later and could only scrape out a small amount of meat. At the same meal, I had rack of lamb "medium rare". It arrived beyond rare (closer to raw) and was also tough. We probably should have complained on site, but it took a while for the main course to arrive and we did not want to extend the dining experience that night. I'm hoping that the previous day's business (Valentines) left the kitchen is disarray. We will return but not for a while. We were/are very disappointed but this may have been a one time occurrence.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Just What I wanted. Great food. Randy, our server, took great care of us. No rush, took care of our wine, etc. perfect nite

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Molecular Gastronomy, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 15, 2017

As usual delicious menu and great service and ambience. Our favorite restaurant. Always enjoy.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Lovely dinner!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Family Style, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We eat here often and the food and service is always very good. Jason was our waiter on this occasion and did an exceptional job.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The food was wonderful and our server was fun and very attentive.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The atmosphere is really energetic and fun. The location, decor and staff were lovely. I was a little disappointed in the food, it was good just didn't have the "wow" factor as previously experienced.

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Real good restaurant and food. We ate early in the evening and were seated facing the sun that was setting. Here's the downside points. It was blinding. We had to ask for lemons in our water 3 times. If you get the big pour on a glass of wine, make sure you check the price first. It is steep.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I've visited this location at least 5 times in the past several years. The service is quite good but the menus could use an update.

Calamari appetizer was overcooked on this visit a real surprise. Coffee after the meal was bitter also a real surprise.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 5, 2017

First time here, didn't feel like a chain but the service wasn't that great which was disappointing. We'll prolly go back tho

Tags: Open Kitchen, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We had not been here in quite some time and really enjoyed out experience. Food was outstanding, service was great.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Wood Oven, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Il Fornaio is our go to restaurant in Roseville. The food is always great and they have specials each week. The Italian Regional menus are so fun to experience the various foods of Italy. The service the other night was impeccable, our waiter Suzanne was one of the best we have experienced. We will request her upon our return.

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Excellent, Menu was varied many good choices. Service and the extensive Wine list very good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Alejandro really made my birthday dinner special, he was attentive, and made us feel as though we were is only table.

Tags: Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 3, 2017

We have used this for special occasions. The past few years we have celebrated birth birthdays and it is a romantic kick off to celebrate a cruise.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Authentic, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Romantic, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Food was ok limited wine selection and the service was terrible. Waiter was very nice but very poor service. Restaurant was not busy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Our server was very nice. The food was very good.

The only negative was the price of cocktails post happy hour.

My husband had a top shelf drink but I had a well drink & it

was $25 before gratuity.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Romantic, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Not good for brunch. Limited menu, cold food, no toast butter or jam. Really small portions. Had to order 2 plates off menu to stave off hunger.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Private Room, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Our whole dining experience was awesome! And to be honest I don't think it would of been this great if it wasn't for our waitress Ashley! She made us feel so comfortable and was there to answer all of our questions! Overall it was a great experience!

Tags: Seasonal, Wood Oven, Outstanding Value, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Tasting Menu, Fun, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The food was very good. Staff was attentive, professional and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Good food, good service, good value. What more could you ask?

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We had the sweetest female server in the Roseville IL Fornaio. I wish I had remembered her name.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Perfect food. Perfect service. I really liked how prompt and courteous everyone was.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Afternoon Tea, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Family Style, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Private Room, Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Romantic, Wood Oven, Happy Hour, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Love the menu and service at Il Fornio. My scallopinni was most tender with generous portions. Love their olive bread/ olive oil. We had the Table of Honor to celebrate our 48th Anniversary and they went overboard to make us feel so special. Save room for the tiramasu, the best ever. Many thanks.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Great ambiance, best décor/high ceilings/ambiance around. Add that to good food, and good service and you have a winner!!!!!!

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Very good service, food and ambience. Emily, our server, and her assistant, Brendon were great.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Celebrated my birthday here and loved the experience! We were very happy with the service and the food! We loved it!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 11, 2017

My favorite restaurant. First found the Vegas location, but Roseville is best. Barbera and Chianti both excellent. Beef, spinach, potatoes yummy.

Tags: Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Hi, I made the reservation for a 60th Birthday Dinner celebration for my sister. Dinner was ok, menu is weak on the vegetarian side and more so on vegan selections. I also would have thought a small cup cake with candle would have been brought out for some appreciation. Maybe you guy's don't do that but I see it done at other establishments. I did make note of the birthday dinner in my notes in the table reservation.

Thank you

Guy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The food was okay. Sitting by the fire was great. Service took a while 10+ min. to come and take a drink order. Once ordered, the drinks and food came out quickly. Overall it a good place for a date if you are not in a hurry.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We met friends for dinner. The food and service was great. We would highly recommend this restaurant to anybody .

Tags: Family Style, Worth the Drive, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Always excellent food, with excellent service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We've eaten here many times over the years and always enjoyed a "good" meal - sometimes an outstanding meal and dining experience. Food and services varies from time to time but we keep coming back - each time hoping for that WOW factor - and always happy when that occurs!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Met with son and enjoyed a most stimulating experience. We choose Il Fornaio when he visits and every time we have a splendid time thanks to the great food and service. Mitchell S.

Tags: Family Style, Outstanding Value, Modern Decor, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 2, 2017

My seafood pasta - one of the day's specials - was out of this world - thank you - and our server was great

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had a very bad experience at Il Fornaio - Roseville. Beside the manager, staff we met there are not professional, rude and badly behaved.

We arrived 10 minutes earlier for our reservation for New Year Eve celebration, but the girl at the reception made us wait for 25 minutes and she simply ignored us (even though we reminded her twice for our reservation). Then the waiter did not put the salad dressing on the side, served us the cold main course. We asked for a warm dish. The waiter just microwaved our dish. This is really horrible. In the end, the waiter dropped a folk with food on my husband's jacket. This completely ruined our new year eve. We asked to talk to the manger. The manger apologized and waived our bill. This is our worst experience dining at a restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Il Fornaio is a favorite restaurant, so we went on New Year's Eve for dinner. We were seated promptly and our server was terrific throughout the meal. Some restaurants don't staff up adequately for holidays but this was not an issue at Il Fornaio. Service was well-paced and accommodating, and despite the fact that they were working from a special menu that night, they accommodated a special request for our son, who has a developmental disability and can be a picky eater, so it made it a very good experience for everyone in our group. We always enjoy dining there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Thought the food was only a 7 or 8. Not their usual best!111

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Went on New Year's Eve. Service was really good. They had a "special" menu that had limited options that weren't that great. Food was ok, for just being the chicken. Overall, will go again, just not on a holiday.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent menu, attentive service... beautiful surroundings, fireplace, and romantic lighting...

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Due to the day before New Year's Eve, waiting was fine, once we were seated took over 20 minutes before someone realized we hadn't been introduced to our waiter/waitress. The Waiter Matthew came to our table quickly, apologized for any inconvenience, he was very delightful and great server. We appreciated him and the bus boy. Thank you both so much!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Wood Oven, Seasonal, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Il Fornaio is our go to place for nice dinners. We always take out of town company there. The service is usually excellent, the good superb and in general it's a great experience. We highly recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We have never been disappointed over the last number of months. The staff is very attentive and very accommodating to tailor our meal to be healthy. We selected both of the chicken dishes in the grill menu and ordered spinach only as our sides, their spinach is delicious and so we're both entrees.

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Spicy, Authentic, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Bar Seating, Disabled Access, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The food was superb. The deserts also superb. What made the evening special was the superb service. Will certainly go back and will recommend this all my friends

Tags: Family Style, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Good Vegetarian Options, Wood Oven, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Matthew was terrific!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.