Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.44mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.44mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.44mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.44mi

About Il Fornaio - Palo Alto

Il Fornaio means "The Baker" in Italian. This award-winning restaurant offers an authentic and unique dining experience. Specialties include wood-fired rotisserie and grilled meats, poultry and game; housemade pastas; pizzas from an oak wood burning oven; fresh salads and housemade soups; a wide variety of desserts; and fresh baked bread made daily from scratch. Winner of the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence 2007.

520 Cowper Street
Palo Alto, CA 94301
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:00am - 10:30am, Saturday - Sunday: 8:00am - 11:00am; Lunch: Sunday - Saturday: 11:30am - 5:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10;00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Hamilton

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(650) 853-3888

Website:
http://ilfornaio.com/

Catering:
Off-site catering available. Please contact Event Coordinator for more details.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available for $10. In addition, there is also the hotel parking lot, as well as a public lot available.

Public Transit:
Cal Train

Executive Chef:
Michele Godina

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 23, 2017

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 23, 2017

Details

Celebrate Thanksgiving at Il Fornaio with a traditional turkey dinner or your favorite Italian dish! Large parties welcome upon reservation.

Private Dining

Celebrating 20 years in downtown Palo Alto, Il Fornaio offers 2 private dining rooms and a heated, covered, garden Piazza. Banquet menus for large parties features the best of Il Fornaio's authentic Italian cuisine and Chef Michele's signature dishes.

Il Fornaio - Palo Alto Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.0

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

Noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (26)
Casual (17)
Great for Lunch (15)
See All
Good for Groups (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Business Meals (13)
Good for a Date (13)
Authentic (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Romantic (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Fun (6)
Healthy (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Cozy (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Disabled Access (4)
People Watching (4)
Seasonal (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
1938 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Il Fornaio is a good choice if you want to be able to have a conversation. The food is good,but not great. The cost can get high, but is probably less than many on University Avenue.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 13, 2017

Excellent food and service but noisy
We were seated in the rear near a space where a large group gathered to wait until their special room opened. Difficult for us to have conversation. We were compted with dessert which was very thoughtful.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

 
·Dined on October 11, 2017

We are really sorry we were late for our reservation and they are really accommodating, thanks guys

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 9, 2017

Great dishes, great service, and great ambience. The manager's stopping by the table was a very nice touch. We had 3 course meals. It was a lot of food. 4 of us just nibbled the 2ndis. which was a shame since they were all delicious!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Excellent food and service. A genuine place doing things well.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 8, 2017

A bit more expensive than the quality of the food would justify. The service was very good, the particular wine I was looking for was available. An average menu with expensive prices.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Entire staff was so attentive. Manager came to our table to check in on us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 3, 2017

We really enjoyed our time at Il Farino. Food was good, and the service was very good as well. My little one, really enjoyed looking at the lights. We were seated in the courtyard.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 2, 2017

Pretty outdoor garden. Good food nicely served. It was easy to carry on a conversation. Many choices and good variety on menu.

Tags: Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 27, 2017

Consistently good food. Pleasant ambiance. Arrive early for best parking . Valet parking is available.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 21, 2017

We always enjoy Il Fornaio. Great food, atmosphere and service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 18, 2017

We revisited your restaurant after many years of being away and we were glad that dinner was excellent as we remembered. Our waiter was very attentive and accommodating. The whole staff seemed to be always checking us to make sure we were all taken care of and enjoying our meal. Made the evening experience very nice!

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 17, 2017

We went to celebrate a birthday, the service was poor to begin with. Except for the hostess, no one even had a smile on their face. We had to keep calling the server, to take the order, to refill oil & balsamic (had to ask three times), to refill water, plates for cake, everything! To top it all, another server crashed a tray near our table, glass pieces flying all over the place, injuring couple in our party, no on even came to apologize, or to clean up, or to even inquire if everyone was okay. Very very bad experience, will never go back. Manager was as bad as their staff, when we expressed our disappointment, he was like, OK. Very, very unprofessional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Excellent. Well taken care of, and good dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 3, 2017

This is quite possibly the worst meal I have ever had at Il Fornaio. Granted it was the hottest day of the year and the AC was failing, but the food was not prepared well. I had the mixed grill of fish. The three shrimp were tiny and overcooked, the three scallops were tiny and overcooked and the small pieces of seabass and salmon were just ok. The worst were the shriveled reheated small pieces of potato which I couldn't even eat. i won't be going back there anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 3, 2017

I love this restaurant but today was just horrible. It was 90+ degrees outside and just about as hot inside the restaurant. For some reason there was no a/c and they didn't even bother to set out fans to at least keep the air moving around. And the food was only ok because my pasta dish came out so hot it took a very long time to be able to even eat it. and we ordered drinks and one certainly did not have any alcohol in it and the other drink we ordered wasn't made properly but the bar wouldn't admit a mistake was made.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 3, 2017

They need to get air conditioning. It was really terrible. A restaurant trying to save money at customer expense!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 2, 2017

It was a very hot day outside and the restaurant in Palo Alto didn't seem to be air conditioned. It was very hot for everyone, cooks servers and customers alike. I saw a couple of people get up and leave because it was too hot.

The food was good as usual, but due to the heat it was not enjoyable. Probably due to the heat, the service was very slow and unusually poor.

All that said, we love the restaurant and will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Il Fornaio was a great choice for a cool lunch on a hot day. It was not over air-conditioned and we were seated in an area that was quiet. Wonderful selections, especially the salmon. We will be coming back soon!

Tags: Authentic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 1, 2017

I have been to Il Foranaio numerous times , usually Sunday brunch and dinners. Almost always excellent (4-5 stars). This time was for a business lunch. Food and service were great. But expensive and uncomfortably hot - not a great experience and value this time.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value2

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Always Excellent! Authentic Italian and Delicious!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Fun, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 29, 2017

An overall very good restaurant with everything covered. Service always good, and food very satisfying.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 27, 2017

I was disappointed in the food. Our dish was not as described in the menu and the waiter did not inform us of substitutions. The food has been better when I ate there before. Definitely a sub par brunch. Would not go back again for brunch.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 27, 2017

I had a group of 11 people. The staff were very nice in putting tables together so we could all sit as a group. the bill, however, was a mess. Rather than ask if we wanted separate checks, the bill came as one large bill. I was charge for 4 glasses of wine and I only had one. I think the waitress got confused in splitting out the bill. I was too tired to deal with it all and just paid it. Normally, this is one of my favorite restaurants for sitting at at the bar with friends. I do not recommend bringing a group here however.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

Disappointed by the service. We booked a private room for 13 people and only had one waiter waiting on us, doing his best but with one waiter the service was not at the level of the price we paid. I wouldn't recommend it for a private event. The reservation team did a great job, but the service and the quality of the dining experience wasn't there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 24, 2017

The restaurant staff, greeters to waiters, et al handled their duties professionally and efficiently. They were also friendly. The 2 hours complimentary parking was very helpful, especially when one of the friends forgot to bring the disabled placard--less rush eating his lunch. Good place for friends get-together.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 24, 2017

The place was quiet and a great place to meet and talk. Service is there and at a discrete distance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Did not celebrate a birthday even though I posted it online.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Lovely dining room, very good wait staff, but the food was at best ok. We've had better Italian food on the peninsula and for less.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Il Fornaio has a wide variety of selections with very good pasta options. Its food is prepared well, well-seasoned and fresh. A very enjoyable meal.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Reliable service and food. Construction in the neighborhood but it should be finished soon.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Groups, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Our second visit and it didn't disappoint. Great food and service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 14, 2017

We had a party of 12 adults and 2 kids. We arrived early and the table was set. They served us water and bread after 15min of being seated. No menus. One poor waiter was supporting our party and the other large party (10 people) and 3 other tables. After asking for additional olive oil and the menus, we ordered appetizers. No plates were provided. We asked for plates. Still no order for dinner. We finished our appetizers and then had to ask to place our order. The waiter was trying his hardest but they appeared to be low in staff. It continued like that - had to ask for coffee. We brought a small cake but they never asked us if we wanted dessert. Service was slow and very mismanaged. NO Fault of the waiter, again. Just bad management. Food was their saving grace. I would Not recommend this for big parties. Their staff is not equipped - even though inside it was somewhat empty.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Authentic Italian food in the heart of Palo Alto. Good food, and a lovely venue. Server was a little intrusive, but I prefer it to slow service.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Poor service - infrequent water refills, one in our party never got the (empty) plate so he should share, server brought drinks to the wrong person, and the buser tried twice to take our plates though we were not done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Always Great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

The food was amazing and the staff went above and beyond for me and my wife. We were celebrating our anniversary and were presented with complimentary champagne and appetizers. Great service all around. I work in hospitality (Hotel Sales) and it was nice to see a restaurant care so much about their guests. I will definitely be returning.

Tags: Comfort Food, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Great service and great food. We all love Il Fornaio and 3 of the 5 of us have been frequenting the place for over 15 years.

Tags: Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 1, 2017

It was good, not great. Food is always good but sometimes the service is slow.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Food was good and came quickly. I was dining with a toddler so that was appreciated!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.