Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi

About Il Fornaio - Carmel

Il Fornaio means "the Baker" in Italian. Located in downtown Carmel, Il Fornaio offers an authentic and unique Italian dining experience and a Wine Spectator Award of Excellence 2007 wine list. Enjoy wood-fired rotisserie and grilled meats, poultry and game; house made and imported pastas; pizzas from an oak wood burning oven; fresh salads and house made soups; antipasti and a wide variety of desserts made daily from scratch.
Reservation Confirmation Message: Thank you for choosing Il Fornaio - Carmel. Should your plans change, please let us know. We look forward to serving you Grazie e Ciao

Ocean Avenue & Monte Verde St
Carmel, CA 93921
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 8:00am - 10:00am; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm, Saturday - Sunday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm; Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 9:00am - 2:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 622-5100

Website:
http://www.ilfornaio.com/

Catering:
Catering services through our take-out retail area are available and include: • Boxed Lunch – sandwich, salad, Italian cookie and drink packaged individually. • Platters – pastries, sandwiches, salads or cookies. Perfect for any social or business meeting held at your location.
Larger off-site full service catering is also available by request. Please contact our on-site Event Coordinator for more details.

Executive Chef:
Gabriel Rodriguez

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Il Fornaio offers distinct dining options for large or small groups. We will assist in creating a special menu perfectly suited for the needs of your group.

Il Fornaio - Carmel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.1

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

Noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (21)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Special Occasion (18)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Authentic (15)
Bar Seating (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Casual (12)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Good for Groups (12)
Great for Lunch (11)
Romantic (11)
Fun (11)
People Watching (10)
Kid-friendly (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Cozy (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Business Meals (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Healthy (5)
Seasonal (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Scenic View (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Organic (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
Live Music (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Spicy (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
1136 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined 4 days ago

Another delicious brunch in our favorite place. Il Fo's version of Eggs Benedict cannot be beat.....and the mimosas are so good.

Tags: Happy Hour, People Watching, Kid-friendly, Afternoon Coffee, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined 5 days ago

Definitely much better Italian food in Carmel. Food was very basic and lacking flavor. Service was OK. There was a wedding going on in a banquet room so lots of frantic back and forth with carts of food. Would not eat here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 5 days ago

Our dining experience was a complete joke. 3 arrempts to order a certain bottle of red wine they were out. Looked at another, out of that, looked at another out of that. Picked one that was just ok. Manager came over and said they had a new wine list ....well where is it. She said not her fault she wasn’t the one that ordered the wine. What a joke. Waited 2o mins for our waiter to bring the wine. He was not good at all. Excuse upon excuse all night. Other diners were upset also that sat by us. Food was not that great. The Manager was running out of excuses and said “there are plenty of wines on that list you have”. Really! We will not recommend this restaurant to anyone ever. We did however have the best meal and service at another restaurant in Carmel. Napoli was fabulous and best Italian we have had in a long time. Great wine list and very terrific service. Felt like family. Not enough stars for this terrific restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

We got lucky and were the first guest that night, that had not been to Il Fornaio before. We received a free bottle of water, a mixed appetizer, two delicious, fresh ravioli, and a zabaione (for dessert) on the house. Loved it. Attentive waiter, nice table for two, great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent food, with friendly, attentive service. Pleasant ambiance in a great location off Ocean Avenue in downtown Carmel. Highly recommended.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 8, 2017

We spent 2 months in Carmel by the Sea every year, so we've gotten to know the restaurants quite well. Il Fornaio remains our favorite overall, and has THE best brunch. Their version of eggs benedict is different & delicious with their home-made bread instead of English muffins, the ham is lean & much nicer than Canadian bacon, and the hollandaise sauce is lighter with parmesan. They also make great mimosas with our preferred bubbly -- Prosecco.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Impersonal greeting staff, unapologetic delay for seating (in spite of a reservation), no offer of allowing an older member of our party a place to sit while waiting, finally seated in an incredibly noisy, crowded location where our table was adjacent to (and many times literally surrounded by) a very large party group as well as being next to the bar and on the path to the restrooms. Our waiter was very competent, but also very hurried. Food was solid, but the overall experience was that of eating in a busy airport.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 8, 2017

We enjoyed dining at Il Fornaio Carmel.
Our server was excellent, efficient, courteous, and very attentive. The bread brought to our table was warm and tasty as we dipped the bread in the olive oil and balsamic vinegar. As suggested on the special menu. the wine from Fruilio paired magnificently with the pear gorgonzola salad, and the prawns and pasta. For dessert we chose the cannoli. It was the BEST cannoli we've eaten this side Sorrento, Italy.
We look forward to returning to Il Fornaio Carmel.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Organic, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Business Meals, Bar Seating, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 8, 2017

The service was outstanding but the food was, at best, mediocre. The dessert trio, however, was very good. Il Fornaio on Coronado Island was wonderful but this part of the chain had us apologizing to our friends for his 65th birthday dinner being a disappointment. The center divide wall right by us was absolutely dirty/dusty and that didn't help with the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

White wine was warm. Lobster tail was old and tough. It was not fresh and gave me bowel distress at 4am. Terrible meal. Never did get the wine chilled to the proper temperature. We've been coming to this El Fornaio for many many tears and this was the worst and very disappointing, it was a celebration of my 81st birthday.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 23, 2017

We've been to many restaurants in Carmel, but genuinely didn't get why this one has good rating. Food is meh, even not the most beautiful presentation. Disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Underwhelming food. Neither of us thought good was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 23, 2017

The ambiance is nice. They can accommodate a large party and they are right on Ocean street so it's easy to stroll into. There is better food in Carmel. But if you are a tourist, the food here is consistant and accommodates individual dietary needs. The wine list has a lot of variety both California and European options. My husband and I got our own small portion entrees plus we split the soup and salad. His pasta dish was just ok. Mine was good. We decided against desert. We did appreciate they could host our large party with just 30 minutes notice. If it's your first time in Carmel you'll enjoy yourself.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 14, 2017

The food is great and the price is fair. Very good wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Just a good restaurant, period. Well prepared, well seasoned food. Petto di pollo was juicy and nicely grilled. We will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 9, 2017

My risotto was excellent. Too bad it's not part of the Festa tasting menu. My wife loved the arancuni but the melanzane was not quite warm enough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

It was a very good location from where we were staying (within walking distance). We were in no hurry and the pacing was right, with the waiter attentive and checking with us. Good place if you are looking for Italian food while in Carmel.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 5, 2017

We have dined here many times over the years. The ambience is great & the servers are pleasant. The food was not good. I ordered the Sardania special for the month of Sept. The food was cold and not well prepared. The half lobster tail was so overcooked it was like mush.
The bread is always delicious. I am hoping this was just a one time mistake.

It is disappointing to pay so much for an inferior dinner

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 4, 2017

This was a hidden, romantic italian restaurant in downtown Carmel within the Pine Inn. The food was to die for, and only augmented by the restaurant surprising us with sparking water, two (!) amazing appetizers and a dessert - all on the house! We felt so lucky and like we were celebrity guests. The food was so delicious I left absolutely stuffed. Service was obviously incredible, I cannot say enough. We'll be back.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 3, 2017

While we love our Il Fornaio experience generally, this last Saturday was quite a mess.
We know that the food is over stated (on the menu) and dinner is a bit over priced, the ambience is friendly, and the room is beautiful. And there are nice options.
Our last experience was well below par.
We had a 5:45 reservation and the restaurant was very sparsely seated when we arrived.
We quickly ordered drinks and the kids' food.
40 min later, we did have drinks, but still no food.
The manager said he was awaiting by the kitchen for the mac and cheese. Wow- I didn't realize it was tough to make or took so many people.
My main issue was with our server.
He never made eye contact, didn't ask if we'd like another drink- YES! - and when I finally waved him over to ask about the boys' food he said , yes, it's coming right out. 15 minutes later it came brought by the manger.
I wouldn't hold it against him when it was the kitchen fail or somewhere else but I did hold it against him for lack of good service.

Tags: Scenic View, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 2, 2017

The service was very slow! Food good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Consistently delicious and something for everyone, great pizzas!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 29, 2017

A very friendly welcoming restaurant with good Italian food and wine we will certainly come back to.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 24, 2017

We had a table for 8. Some of the dinners arrived cold. Service was very slow. The restaurant used to be very good. What happened!
Tom

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Naples)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Always lovely, we had a huge table and 4 of 12 were slightly late (fixing a car during concours week). Concours week is exhausting. We were all tired, sunburned and starving and they couldn't have been more gracious about seating and serving us. Our server was excellent, food is always fresh and delicious, it's always a pleasure.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 20, 2017

ALWAYS A GREAT EXPERIENCE! EVEN ON CRAZY CAR WEEK, THE FOOD, SERVICE & AMBIENCE ARE OUTSTANDING.
IT'S SO WONDERFUL TO SEE OUR FAVORITE WAIT PERSON - FRANCISCO - HE HAS TAKEN CARE OF US FOR MANY YEARS IN THE SUN ROOM.
THANKS MATT FOR BEING SUCH A WONDERFUL MANAGER.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Waiter not in control of service, food prep seemed rushed, ALL meals at our table over cooked and dry, presentation of food horrible on the plate. Risotto was like plain white rice with seasoning. Mixed grill plates (both meats and seafood) were very disappointing. Flavors non-existent, portions ridiculously small. Way, way overpriced and over-hyped. We will not be returning to this Il Fornaio.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

on a super busy Concourse d'Elegance weekend, Il Fornaio again met and surpassed our expectations. Staff accommodated our large party. Bartenders and servers are the same year after year providing excellent service. Food is consistently good and varies slightly with regional specials. They created a couple of vegetarian dishes for us on this busy night. This particular Il Fornaio is a hot spot in Carmel with lots of locals and out-of-towners - a comfortable mix. And they serve later than most restaurants in the area. We love it and find it a gem of a restaurant that has been consistent for so many years. Happy to provide a very good recommendation.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, People Watching, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Fun, Late-night Find, Healthy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 20, 2017

On the busiest weekend in Carmel, Il Fornaio delivers again. I'll admit we reserved an early seating, as this place get's a little crazy, but our table was ready and our waiter was attentive, not hanging around to turn the table. Always a delightful experience.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 17, 2017

My wife and I have been going to Carmel Il Fornaio for the past six years when we come to Carmel for Car Week. We have never had a bad meal or service, and will continue to come as long as we are in Carmel.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Easy Very Enjoyable !! We will be back !! Good Food Great Service !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on August 16, 2017

We had a delicious meal at Il Fornaio. All the staff were friendly and professional. We thoroughly enjoyed our evening and wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Lousy food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 13, 2017

The location was great, the sun room added to the meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Zabaione was the best dessert I have ever had! Everything was fresh and flavorful.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

I enjoy going here for business luncheons. The ambiance is perfect and we can hear eachother speak without having to talk over people sitting next to us.

Tags: Special Occasion, Afternoon Coffee, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 11, 2017

We arrived early but we were seated right away. Due to allergies the server accommodated a guest with dining choices. We were able to talk and hear each other without trouble. We have dined here many times over the years and always enjoy great meals.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

Our waiter was TERRIBLE
Food good and surrounding very nice

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 10, 2017

I am very disappointed in Il Fornaio, and this is the 3rd bad experience we have had in the past 3 months. My son ordered the Seafood Risotto off the Campania Regional menu. The mussels were fishy, it had tiny little Bay Shrimp, and they were out of Claims - at 6:15 in the evening. The dish was undercooked as well. We sent it back and ordered the Penne with Vodka Sauce. The main course was over 45 minutes coming out to the table. The server was nice but obviously hampered by the kitchen - poor planning! Honestly, it was not worth the money we spent. Il Fornaio has lost a frequent diner - we were going to the one in Roseville once or twice a month. We're taking a break in hope they get their stuff together. I've written letters twice complaining about the food quality in Roseville and they NEVER HAVE RESPONDED. They must not care very much. Mi despiace, amici

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 9, 2017

The restaurant had a serious computer problem that made keeping track of orders the night we dined there. Instead of explaining that at the outset and warning that things might go awry our order was taken like normal only to discover that they were out of veal, at 7:45, at an Italian restaurant. For one of us, the pasta course came before the soup. Then the soup came and was the wrong soup. When the right soup came, it was lukewarm and had no pasta in it--kind of a big deal for pasta fazul. My pasta came 15 minutes after everyone else's and was cold. The steak and cod we ended up with actually tasted good and the win was excellent. It is a shame that the meal was ruined by poor management and communication.

We complained and the server mostly shrugged, but never apologized. The manager came to our table to explain but never apologized for running out of food or everything being crazy (it was happening all over the restaurant, obviously). Her attitude seemed to be "too bad, I cannot fix it." Only the hostess, who referred us to the manager, apologized and seemed genuinely upset that people in her restaurant were unhappy.

Never again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.