Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi

About Il Fornaio - Carmel

Il Fornaio means "the Baker" in Italian. Located in downtown Carmel, Il Fornaio offers an authentic and unique Italian dining experience and a Wine Spectator Award of Excellence 2007 wine list. Enjoy wood-fired rotisserie and grilled meats, poultry and game; house made and imported pastas; pizzas from an oak wood burning oven; fresh salads and house made soups; antipasti and a wide variety of desserts made daily from scratch.
Reservation Confirmation Message: Thank you for choosing Il Fornaio - Carmel. Should your plans change, please let us know. We look forward to serving you Grazie e Ciao

Ocean Avenue & Monte Verde St
Carmel, CA 93921
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 8:00am - 10:00am; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm, Saturday - Sunday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm; Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 9:00am - 2:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 622-5100

Website:
http://www.ilfornaio.com/

Catering:
Catering services through our take-out retail area are available and include: • Boxed Lunch – sandwich, salad, Italian cookie and drink packaged individually. • Platters – pastries, sandwiches, salads or cookies. Perfect for any social or business meeting held at your location.
Larger off-site full service catering is also available by request. Please contact our on-site Event Coordinator for more details.

Executive Chef:
Gabriel Rodriguez

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Il Fornaio offers distinct dining options for large or small groups. We will assist in creating a special menu perfectly suited for the needs of your group.

Il Fornaio - Carmel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (27)
Good for Groups (18)
Special Occasion (17)
See All
Bar Seating (14)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Romantic (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Casual (11)
Authentic (10)
Business Meals (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
Fun (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
Cozy (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
People Watching (4)
Wood Oven (4)
Healthy (4)
Fireplace (3)
Private Room (3)
Seasonal (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Family Style (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Historic (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Scenic View (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Tapas (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Spicy (1)
Live Sports (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
1052 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 5 days ago

This was a lovely meal to accompany our vacation night at Carmel by the Sea.
The service was impeccable and prompt.
I don't get to fine dining very often, and this made me feel really good and was a great setting for a lovely date night dinner.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 7 days ago

Unique & fresh Italian cuisine. The Regional menus are wonderful - a true "taste of Italy".

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Always a fun place to be on a Friday night.
Matt the manager always makes you feel special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on May 20, 2017

The food is consistently good here. It is a bit off the main drag in Carmel, which is actually good, because the average tourist won't (and doesn't ) walk the extra 50 feet. So, there are lots of locals and a nice vibe about the place. The open kitchen and large bar facing it is casual and fun to watch... pizza coming out of their big ovens is perfect. Cold beer, great drinks, good food... it all works here.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Been there many times when visiting Carmel. Great bar for drinks and you can always count on good food and service.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Upon reflection, I would have chosen to sit in the main dining room rather than the sun room simply because the deck outside of the sun room is under construction as of 5/16/2017. The main dining room had a very comfortable feel to it that I think the sun room lacked a little..at least right now.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Very nice area, waiter was great, we will come back when we see Carmel again

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Casual, Fireplace, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 15, 2017

I always enjoy dining here. It's my favorite Italian restaurant on the West Coast.

Tags: Comfort Food, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Good food. Staff somewhat aloof and hurried.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great food and great service . Had a very enjoyable dinner.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Decent experience - nothing special. A few people in our party didn't enjoy the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 9, 2017

We always enjoy celebrating special occasions here . The food is excellent and the service is warm and friendly. Had a great time

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 5, 2017

The food and service was exceptional. Staff were very attentive to our needs. We were there to celebrate my son's birthday and also had relatives with us from Delaware. They also enjoyed everything. This is one of my favorite "go to" places in Carmel. Dinner is fantastic but even if you just want to go some place for a couple of cocktails......this is the place to go.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2017

great venue, great service and delicious food! The atmosphere is friendly and relaxing.
Will be back again for sure !! Mille grazie!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Food not as fresh specifically the calamari. Heirloom tomatoes didn't have much flavor.

It was not as good as it usually is.

Tags: Authentic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Restaurant was awesome! We were treated to appetizer, bottled water and dessert! They were very accommodating for gluten free and service was excellent!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 23, 2017

It is nice food and ambience. At our table there was a private wedding party in the room next store that was blasting dance music the entire time. It didn't bother us too much because we were in a good mood but other guests were bothered and had to be reseated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 20, 2017

They pushed every one into one section with only one waiter. Horrible experience. Will definitely think twice about returning here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Seated quickly but then took awhile for a drink order or further attention. Food was excellent until entree and then the two fish (black cod) meals were very fishy and not enjoyable. Staff was apologetic.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Bar Seating, Private Room, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We enjoyed our time at this restaurant in Carmel. Great location right in downtown. Good food and service if you are looking for authentic Italian.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The service was impeccable. Our waiter Sal was absolutely amazing and made the entire evening for both my fiance and I. The ambiance was quiet enough for any sound level of conversation and the food was perfect. We'll​ will definitely be making a trip back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Thank you. we really enjoyed again your excellent and friendly staff and good!
Mille grazie

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Had a great meal with the wife. There are a lot of good restaurants in Carmel. We had a hard time choosing. We made the right choice. Our waiter, Carlos, was first class and very attentive. The Manager, Renee came by for a great conversation about the area since it was our first time in Carmel. As an Italian from NYC I can say the food was great. My favorite was the fresh pork ravioli. My wife loved the Spaghetti with Bolognese. Overall it was a great dining experience.
P.s. It was also an exceptionally clean place....

Tags: Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 13, 2017

My husband and I had dined at I'll fornaio nearly 10 years ago - and the night lived in our memory as a perfect evening. Returning there last night did not disappoint. The food is still delicious- and the restaurant somehow manages to be both polished and family friendly (we brought our young son along this time). It brings out the best in the youngest diners with its calm setting and kind staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Love this place

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Wood Oven, Bar Seating, Spicy, Live Sports, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Excellent services, nice and friendly staff and delicious! all in all i loved it.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Great food and service. Ambience ok. No view. Had a great wine at reasonable price.

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 24, 2017

yummy food - and a pretty room, nice atmosphere, lots of windows. Very pleasant, have been there many times over the years.

Tags: Quick Bite, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The seafood pasta smelled very off, however the restaurant replaced it with something else without fuss.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We go here every year! The service is outstanding! Thank you Tony!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Il Fornaio has always been one of our favorite restaurants. The one in Carmel is no exception. It was great. We had a wonderful waiter who was charming and funny. We ordered a red wine and he brought us a bottle that was a couple years older and it was wonderful. Our food was fantastic.
The inside of the restaurant is very quaint and looks like it should--an Italian restaurant.
Next time in Carmel we will go again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Waiter was very attentive to our needs

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 10, 2017

This place has reat food and is overall a really fun place.

Tags: Romantic, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Wanted to go to this place many years ago but couldn't
Finally managed to get a reservation for last Saturday since we were staying at Carmel
Its a very classy place and the food is good - portions not too big so you can order a salad and the secondi portion of the entree and dessert.
We loved dining here and hope we can come back

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Afternoon Tea, Private Room, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Nothing is out of place here. Look and feel of an established top dinner spot seems to belong to all Il Fornaio's I've been to. Dinner was well cooked, seasoned and presented, but as it was several nights ago and we've been eating out all week, I can't recall both dishes! The Zabaglione was remembered only as it wasn't knock-your-socks off. Good, but not excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, People Watching, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 3, 2017

A solid experience. The food was delicious and our server was attentive. I will definitely be back!

Tags: Business Meals, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Wood Oven, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We've been to this restaurant in Carmel many times for brunch and it was delicious, as always. Their Italian version of eggs benedict is superb -- served on freshly-baked bread with a light parmesan cream sauce instead of the usual English muffin & hollandaise. Tastier & lighter! Plus they come with red-skinned potatoes & onions and fruit on the side.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Wood Oven, Kid-friendly, Open Kitchen, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Casual, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Happy Hour, Cozy, People Watching, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Took the four granddaughters for a nice brunch and loved it. If weather allows, absolutely opt for the outside deck - views, ambience, and serene surroundings. Just had traditional breakfasts, but every dish was a cut above and beautifully presented. Very warm and attentive wait staff rounded out a perfect experience.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 21, 2017

We always have a great meal and wonderful service here. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 21, 2017

We waited forever to have our water glasses filled the whole time we were at dinner. That was our only beverage and between two servers we had to try to flag down or asked repeadedly to have our glasses filled. The service was aweful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.