Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi

About Il Fornaio - Burlingame

Il Fornaio is renowned for its authentic award winning Italian cuisine. Specialties include wood-fired rotisserie and grilled meats, poultry and game; housemade pastas; pizzas from an oak wood burning oven; fresh salads and housemade soups; a wide variety of desserts; and fresh baked bread made daily from scratch. Annual winner of the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence.

327 Lorton Ave.
Burlingame, CA 94010
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Saturday 10:00 - 11:00am & Sunday: 9:00 - 11:00am; Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00 - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00 - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Donnelly Ave., 1 block N. of Burlingame Ave.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(650) 375-8000

Website:
http://www.ilfornaio.com/

Catering:
Catering is available upon special request. Please contact our Event Coordinator for more details: kchlubna@ilfo.com.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available for a fee of $9 per car.

Public Transit:
Burlingame Cal-Trans Station

Executive Chef:
Maurizio Mazzon

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We welcome the opportunity to plan your next private dining occasion.
Please contact our Event Coordinator at 650.375.8000 or kchlubna@ilfo.com.

Private Dining

Bring your next special occasion to Il Fornaio and work with a friendly and knowledgeable Event Coordinator. Celebrate with excellent service in a warm and stylish surroundings serving extraordinary authentic Italian food and wine. We look forward to helping you plan your next memorable occasion.

Il Fornaio - Burlingame Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (37)
Good for a Date (36)
Special Occasion (32)
See All
Good for Groups (30)
Neighborhood Gem (29)
Business Meals (28)
Casual (27)
Great for Lunch (27)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Great for Brunch (23)
Authentic (22)
Bar Seating (19)
Sunday Lunch (19)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Comfort Food (16)
People Watching (14)
Romantic (14)
Fun (13)
Tasting Menu (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Happy Hour (10)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Quick Bite (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Seasonal (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Cozy (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Vegan (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Live Sports (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Great Beer (1)
Scenic View (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
2727 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Great good, great service, great atmosphere. Wonderful spot for dinner or brunch, and the bar is very nice as well.

Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Great food. Excellent service . The seafood selections were extensive and appetizing.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

celebrated a two couple double anniversary. Il Fornaio brought us 2 anniversary deserts with ice cream and berries. Very nice!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

Great atmosphere and good food. Also has a touch of class, which makes a night out worthwhile.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

I ordered the raviolis from the special menu and it was delicious, the asparagus pieces balanced the creaminess of the dish. Everyone on our table was happy with their orders. This is really more a shout out to the host that evening, it was busy and crowded and there was waiting which means unhappy customers, but he kept his composure and took care of each party. Probably it helped that we have reservation through Open Table as our wait was minimal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

My friend and I had the daily special - Sea Bass with Pasta. Delicious. Capped our lunch with a cappuccino. Valet parking available $12.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 9, 2017

Very nice place in thriving downtown Burlingame.
Very good menu options with a good variety.
Nice specials.
Good energy.
Food was well prepared and delivered promptly and professionally. Keep up the good work.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 9, 2017

Another great Regional Passport dinner. It is always a fun, delicious dining experience to try the special regional food each month. We all got our electronic passports stamped and a bag of special risotto.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Great place to visit with friends; staff accommodating and delicious food!

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Wife's birthday, just the 2 of us. Loud and busy Saturday night dinner. Food came out promptly; everything came out tasting good as expected. Excellent service. We received a complimentary dessert.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 3, 2017

As many times before, always a sure bet. This was a business meeting with an person from Japan and a last minute dinner. We knew this would be a no brained!
Great everything

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 2, 2017

consistently excellent. We've been going there for years, not as a daily place as the menu is pretty static, but for special occasions. I like the fact that we know the waiters even though we only go there, maybe 3 times/year. Consistent wait staff.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 29, 2017

We had a very relaxing lunch. Service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Il Fornaio is always very good. I like the atmosphere in the Burlingame restaurant. The waiter was very enthusiastic and "sold" the luncheon specials extremely well. My guest and I both ordered the Petrale Sole and the restaurant accommodated our request for vegetables (spinach and broccoli) rather than pasta. My only (minor) complaint is that, as true of many servers, the waiter was very attentive until it came time to getting the bill. It took some time for him to come back to the table and present the invoice and then to bring back my credit card.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 26, 2017

Not authentic - good but I don’t know where in Italy food tastes like this.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value4

 
·Dined on September 25, 2017

Came here for a family gathering. The food was delicious although a tad bit overpriced in my personal opinion. This was my first time here so we got a lot of help from our server Gerardo. We asked a lot of questions and he answer all of them. He was on beat the entire time we were there not only with us but the rest of his section as it was a busy night. He suggested we start with an antipasto that had a lot of things I can’t remember but he made it sound delicious by describing every item. We also got a great wine recommendation from him with the Jamison ranch Cab. For dinner mainly everyone got pasta. I chose the pennoni vodka which I added scallops to suggested by our server again and it was amazing! Overall had a great dining experience and will definitely be back very soon.

Tags: Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Waitress was not engaged, may be someone made her wait out table that was out if her way?!
She came to our table after we've been there for >10-15 mins. , just stood there and stared at us!
She did not return tocheck if our orders arrived nor to provide refills on our coffees and ice tea, i had to trouble another waiter.
When we keft, she walk right past us to go check her tip- no thank you, so rude.
The other wait staff were great and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Everything was great, I ordered the lamb shank, it was very dry and over cooked, the manager came by to see how we we’re doing, I told him and I had another entree within minutes, black Cod that was to die for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 24, 2017

They seated us 35 minutes after the time of our reservation. It was so loud, you could barely have a conversation. The wait staff were not trained well. They tried but the service was poor.
I will not return.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 24, 2017

The kitchen staff should be fired for serving our food late. Waited over an hour. Specialty cocktails were aweful. The food lacked love and seasoning

Good note was that the manager compensated our meals.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 21, 2017

our dinner was excellent. we have been eating at Il Fornaio for almost 20 years. The new chef there has has helped to make it better than ever! It is a treat to have a chef right on the line to oversea the food and to actually help with its delivery.
grazie e ciao

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Happy Hour, Authentic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 21, 2017

The food and the service were great as always! And the atmosphere is happy. The only problem is the noise level. It was hard to hear my friends when they spoke.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 20, 2017

Always consistant food and service. Ambiance and friendly staff make this an enjoyable favorite.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 17, 2017

I like this restaurant for its varied menu--something for everyone--but what I really don't like is making a 7:15 reservation and then being asked to wait until 7:30 to be seated. (On top of that, the maitre d' blamed OpenTable for opening up more slots than the restaurant realistically would have available! That sounded like BS to me, since I believe restaurants choose how many of each time slot to open up. A restaurant that big should be able to manage its capacity better than that, so it seems like they're erring on the side of overbooking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Value Italian dining in Burlingame. Not too expensive, good service, ok food, and a fun neighborhood. For causal occasions only, nothing executive or business tho.

Tags: Casual, Afternoon Coffee, Quick Bite, People Watching, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 14, 2017

We got together with friends leaving for China who wanted to celebrate our anniversary. Our waiter was very pleasant . We haven't eaten here in a while. The seafood risotto and mixed seafood grill were very good, as was the pasta with Bolognese sauce. The beet salad and calamari fritto were also good. Our disappointment was the roasted chicken which was so dry, we had to send it back, but they took it off the bill, The sorbet, gelato and affagatto were all up to their usual standards. The noise was quite energetic when we first arrived, but after 8 PM it was much easier to have a conversation. May have just been a off night . It was still a very pleasant evening.

Tags: Authentic, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 11, 2017

I thought our waitress was very friendly and cheerful and the service was very efficient.

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 11, 2017

One again a delightful experience in Burlingame. Hosts very welcoming.Consistently good, authentic Italian dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Food was typical Il Fornaio which is good. Plenty to choose from on the menu. It was surprisingly busy for a Sunday evening. Plenty of parking near the restaurant. Convenient to SFO hotels. Service was unremarkable but maybe it was an off night. I'd go back.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Two of us Ordered the minestrone soup came out cold they replaced it fairly quickly but no apology my magherita pizza is always good but other orders like the spinach omelette were mediorce. bill came ot $145 with tip and was not worth it.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Love the relaxed feel. Service was great-didn't rush us but there we needed something.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Spicy, Worth the Drive, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 9, 2017

We had such a great evening. The foods was fantastic! The restaurant was busy, but didn't detract from the ambiance and intimate feel of the meal. Everyone had a great time. Our server Willy was just top notch, all around.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, People Watching, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Delicious margarita pizza and beet salad to go with house Chardonnay
Yummy
Girls go to spot for lunch

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 8, 2017

We frequent the Carmel Il Fornaio regularly but when on our way to San Francisco, always stop at the Burlingame Il Fornaio. It is always lively, beautiful, and the food delicious. Really authentic Italian cooking.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Excellent service from David! Antipasti was great but would have been nice if it was more sharing-friendly but I know that's more labor intensive for staff. Wine was great! Shrimp on salad was pretty oversalted but overall salad was great. We are regulars at this place and will surely be back! Thank you :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Never thought this was a good restaurant,picked this one again because this was last minute and must of places were closed for Labor Day lunch services. I was disappointed again! Food was lukewarm, taste just ok, nothing special. The place is known for freshly baked breads, but, ours were dry, not fresh, maybe it's leftover from last night? Went to the bakery down the street for coffee and dessert afterwards, much better ! Won't go back!!!

Tags: Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Great and consistent restaurant, but the valet parking is too expensive.

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 30, 2017

The food was good, but what kicked it up a notch was Darlene (I hope I got the name right!).
She was funny, attentive, made great suggestions and very friendly, without being overbearing. When I come back, I would hope to be seated in her section again.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Excellent restaurant. Great range of vegetarian and vegan options. The decor and ambiance are wonderful. Only small downside was that the service was a little rushed - our server was a little too efficient.

Also - don't put calories on the dessert menu! Let us live in ignorance ;)

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Vegan, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Over all it was a pleasant dining situation. Food was pretty good. It was an anniversary celebration
that evening. I told the waiter and he brought a beautifully decorated plate that said Happy Anniversary with a scoop of ice cream with a candle. That was a nice ending to our celebration. Waiter was polite and service good as it was very busy that evening.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.