Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi

About Il Fornaio - Burlingame

Il Fornaio is renowned for its authentic award winning Italian cuisine. Specialties include wood-fired rotisserie and grilled meats, poultry and game; housemade pastas; pizzas from an oak wood burning oven; fresh salads and housemade soups; a wide variety of desserts; and fresh baked bread made daily from scratch. Annual winner of the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence.

327 Lorton Ave.
Burlingame, CA 94010
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Saturday 10:00 - 11:00am & Sunday: 9:00 - 11:00am; Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00 - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00 - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Donnelly Ave., 1 block N. of Burlingame Ave.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(650) 375-8000

Website:
http://www.ilfornaio.com/

Catering:
Catering is available upon special request. Please contact our Event Coordinator for more details: kchlubna@ilfo.com.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available for a fee of $9 per car.

Public Transit:
Burlingame Cal-Trans Station

Executive Chef:
Maurizio Mazzon

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We welcome the opportunity to plan your next private dining occasion.
Please contact our Event Coordinator at 650.375.8000 or kchlubna@ilfo.com.

Private Dining

Bring your next special occasion to Il Fornaio and work with a friendly and knowledgeable Event Coordinator. Celebrate with excellent service in a warm and stylish surroundings serving extraordinary authentic Italian food and wine. We look forward to helping you plan your next memorable occasion.

Il Fornaio - Burlingame Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.0

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (44)
Good for a Date (42)
Good for Birthdays (41)
See All
Great for Lunch (41)
Good for Groups (40)
Business Meals (33)
Special Occasion (32)
Neighborhood Gem (32)
Good for Anniversaries (28)
Comfort Food (27)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Sunday Lunch (25)
Open Kitchen (25)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Family Style (23)
Great for Brunch (22)
Authentic (20)
Tasting Menu (17)
Romantic (17)
Kid-friendly (16)
Wood Oven (16)
Worth the Drive (14)
Fun (14)
Bar Seating (14)
Hot Spot (13)
Seasonal (12)
Healthy (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
People Watching (11)
Local Ingredients (11)
Happy Hour (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Modern Decor (8)
Cozy (8)
Private Room (8)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Scenic View (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Great Beer (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Spicy (2)
Live Sports (1)
Organic (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Fireplace (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
2601 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

The location of this restaurant is very nice in Burlingame. It is a very walkable town. The restaurant has a very good menu and most everything is very good. The only negative yesterday was that it was very warm inside for such a cool day outside. I have been a patron of Il Fornaio for many years in Marin County and have dined at several locations. It was not easy to find the front door because it is very small. The location was nice because it is not in the busy traffic of the main street. Although the wine list is not extensive, the Cabernet was very good.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Casual, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 4 days ago

Very nice grilled shellfish entree for lunch. Server very accommodating to our food intolerances and preferences. She was very knowledgeable about good gluten free options.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Comfort Food, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

We've gone there for several birthdays...always a table of 10 or 12..the waiters are very attentive and kind. the food is always great. will order take out or door dash also next time for work.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Good for Groups, Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Hot Spot, Fun, Kid-friendly, People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Bad service and bad food. The fish when de-boned was minced into small pieces(instead of filleted) with some bones still remaining

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Fantastic place for dinner. Great food , service exceptional. I have travelled a lot and have eaten in a lot of restaurants. The braised lamb shank one of the top 5 meals that I have ever had. Great job.

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Excellent in every way😋

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 16, 2017

We had a awful dinner, which is a shame for two reasons. 1) it was our wedding anniversary dinner. 2) the restaurant is near our home and it used to be one of our favorites.
Both our main courses very oil, and my husband was also bland full of gristle. To make things worse was our server was inattentive and completely lacked customer service! The best service we that evening was from the guy who brought us water, bread, oil & vinegar - that guy was awesome!
Our server's name was Gerardo, and if you can avoid sitting in his section, please do.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Wait staff and food were fantastic. The hostess at the front was rude and childish when we asked to be seated in the main dining area. Very unprofessional!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The service was awful. A tall lady that speaks Spanish. We were sitting by the window and had 12:30 Reservations. She is new. Needs to be more polish. I saw her putting the arm across a customer to serve a dish. The chicken salad had no dressing. Everything was so,so. I am a repetive customer. Had been here a million times.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Our experience was absolutely terrible due to the waiter !!!😡 The food was mediocre at best ! I work in a trade where tips are appreciated but , when a server is as bad the one that we had, then I'm sorry there is no way I will be tipping !!! And we always tip well ! Also the noise level was quite loud to the point where it was to hear our own conversation! Don't need to come back here !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 12, 2017

I found the restaurant to be too noisy and despite the fact that we booked a reservation weeks in advance , we were given a terrible table in a terrible chaotic location. The food is very good but they need to take care of their customers better!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Always excellently consistent! Great food, service and never a frown!

Tags: Healthy, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Casual, Authentic, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Il Fornaio never disappoints. Food and service are consistently excellent. On this occasion we were celebrating my mother's 97th birthday, and she is wheel chair bound, so disabled access was very important. There are many excellent choices on the menu, food is tasty and served attractively. Our server was friendly, efficient and attentive. We will dine there again.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Way too noisy to hear each other. All appetizers are heavy, fatty, or bready. No light vegetable options. They were either breaded and fried, the crostini was flavorless, and the antipasti was overpriced. Too bad, it's a great space (I.e old building) with good ambience.

Tags: Business Meals, Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The food and value were very good!
The service was way below standard for a restaurant with the reputation of being in business for many years.
We believe that our server never put in our brunch order.. After waiting over 40 mins for two simple orders,
when we asked her how much longer before we would be served? She just said very soon, that they had a large party of 55 people in the private room.. Of course other
diners that had ordered way after us , were already served..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2017

I have been to both the Burlingame and Palo Alto locations and feel almost the same for both. Most of the food I find to be mediocre at best. I have had far better Italian meals at other Peninsula restaurants, but we were given a large gift card for Il Fornaio and have not had about 5 different dinners there. On one occasion my Canneloni came out luke warm and was sent back. On another occasion, the risotto lacked flavor and needed to be doctored up, although the seafood in it was cooked nicely. The caesar salad wasn't anything special either. Will only return to finish using up the gift card.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Disappointed, expected more mostly from a service standpoint.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 6, 2017

My sister and I have been meeting at this restaurant for a few years. Usually, it's excellent. However, we were each disappointed with our meals. She had the veal and said it was difficult to cut even with a steak knife. I had the same salad I usually have because I like it so much. It was as though an ingredient was left out or something. It was not the sumptuous salad I'm used to getting there. The trio dessert and the decaf coffee saved the meal. My double bloody mary was $25 - which I think is an exorbidant price to pay for one drink - even a double. It was the least favorite time we've ever had at Il Fornaio Burlingame.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Great place !!! Our server did a great job.
The food as always was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 1, 2017

I have eaten at this Il Fornaio before, and am a great fan of the Santa Clara and San Jose locations, but this place is not worth the travel time. We went on a fairly warm evening, and it took 4 tries to get water. It took FOREVER to get a waiter to pay attention (but interestingly, a solo man who sat down behind us was instantly greeted, served, his order taken, etc.). The table was NEVER cleared until we asked the server to do so, had to ask for refills of water - I'm sure you get the picture. The service was MUCH better on my first visit, but that was years ago. Overall a lackluster Il Fornaio, and there are other Italian restaurants nearby who treat their customers better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Ordered eggs Benedict without sauce - arrived with sauce on it. Waitress took it back, and returned with eggs with pieces of egg shell throughout the egg. Returned it a final time. Expensive and mediocre food for all the group. Nice ambience but disappointing food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The food here was really good, but the service was CRAP/HORRIBLE! We were sitting for about 15-20 minutes before anyone even brought us water! Luckily, there was a nice Asian waiter who decided to check in with us, probably because I made it painfully obvious I was looking for some assistance! I appreciated his effort, it didn't seem like he was supposed to serve our area, so thank you sir. However, the waiter helping the tables all around us, an older white man, didn't even look our way when he was serving tables; not even to ask if anyone has helped us. Mind you, I was wearing athletic shorts, flip flops, not dressed very well, and we had two kids, including a 2 year old; I'm willing to bet he decided to serve the well dressed patrons around us and those who would probably order pricier items and give him an easier time and/or tip more.

I also want to add that we had to repeatedly ask for water, which was not filled until shortly before we were ready to pay the bill. I've had MUCH better service at this restaurant, but that day was almost a clear sign of the haves being treated better than the have nots! I felt bad, because I normally tip 20%; not that night. Being "understaffed" or crowded is never a reason to leave patrons untouched and left to fend for themselves. At least the lower level servers were on top of their game (bread and such was addressed).

Tags: Comfort Food, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Il Fornaio has a solid reputation, so reviewing it seems a bit superfluous. They consistently provide a fine-dining level of service with almost fine-dining quality of food for half of fine-dining prices.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Casual, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 29, 2017

A regular Friday night hangout for dinner for us, we were pleasantly surprised by a new waiter. He was so sweet and conscientious of conversations we were having and yet stood out as a master of customer service. Plates were removed in a timely manner, water glasses refilled, drinks were replenished when necessary, and Willie's happy and kind nature improved our whole day. Not a thing missed! Very well done Willie!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Always enjoyable and good food, bar is great specially the wine list.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Food excellent. Service slow as it looked like at the time (6:39PM) we were there, understaffed. Noise very bad. Desert special.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 24, 2017

This is a good neighborhood restaurant and you can bring kids. The food is good and they have a gluten free menu also.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Mediocre food and terrible service. Why bother? Took an hour from salad to entree. Loud too

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Last nights dinner was horrible. First of all, the hostess brought us wine glasses at the beginning of our meal, which is standard. We were celebrating a friend's birthday. When it finally came time for our waiter to take our drink orders, he took our wine glasses away. When my friend said "no we want those" our waiter goes "aren't you underage?" And when we responded no, he just stared at us. So my friend awkwardly asked him if he wanted to see our ID's, to which he quickly responded "yeah give me your ID's." Then he asked to look at them twice. I understand that we look young, but it's incredibly rude to just assume someone is underage, and make them go through that process.

ALSO, we were sitting next to the wall and luckily I was leaning forward, when a picture frame fell from the wall and almost hit my head. None of the staff cared or apologized, they just came over and asked if it broke. The table of older people next to me was very upset and told the waiter who came to attend to it that it couldve landed on my head, but they didn't care.

I've been coming with my family here for years, but sadly I've had more bad reviews than good ones lately, and probably won't be back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 17, 2017

The "special occasion" was my wife's birthday plus Easter Sunday. The food was well prepared, the service was exceptional and the dinner had a very nice celebratory feel to it. We'd plan to do it again!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 17, 2017

We love the regional tasting menus each month. This month, the selections for the Calabria region were outstanding, and unique. Our server was outstanding.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Brought my mom here for Easter again and was sorely disappointed in the service we received. After being seated, no one came for almost 15min. Our server finally came to take our order and was very aloof and it took her another 8 min to deliver our soft drinks. When she finally returned, the server placed the Diet Coke in front of my mom, who had clearly stated "Diet Pepsi" when she ordered, and when my mom politely asked if it was Diet Pepsi, the server stared at her and very rudely told my mom that they only had Diet Coke. My mom was visibly upset and we almost left.

We had to ask another server for water and bread. The other servers were very friendly and helpful and were interacting with their tables. The lady we had disappeared for long periods and I noticed that the other servers ended up having to tend to all her tables at times. After our food was brought out (which my mom and I both enjoyed), she never even came around to ask us if we needed anything.

This was the first time I did not leave at least a 20% tip. I was so disappointed and I will not be bringing my mom back for Easter next year.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We go to Il Fornaio three times a year and have always had good food and service. This Easter it was unfortunately the worst meal we have ever had. After 10 minutes we had to ask for a server. The server said she was exhausted she had been working since 8 am (it was 4 pm). Had to ask three times for water. Food was not satisfying. We will consider having Easter dinner elsewhere next year.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We visit this place weekly, food is good, service very friendly, feel like visiting friends, lovely ambiance

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter brunch food was poor, over cooked 1/4 inch thick New York strip was so overpriced and tough. Kids chicken tenders were over cooked to almost burnt.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Service was very attentive, and food was served promptly. The fact that we arrived fairly late (8:30 pm) on a Saturday evening probably helped in that department. Calamari: Excellent. Risotto: Very good. Pizza: Crust was oddly soft / flabby. Bruschetta: This was a real disappointment. Toasted bread slices, fine, but with a huge pile of what seemed to be cooked tomatoes on top. There was also some basil and olive oil. But the tomatoes are supposed to be fresh. Totally different experience from what I expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 10, 2017

The food was just ok. I ordered the chicken salad. It was very ordinary. The restaurant was not crowded but the service was slow. I have had a better time and better food at the restaurant.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Our group always has a great night and delicious meal with friendly, efficient at the monthly Regional Passport dinners.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Very busy Sunday brunch/lunch time at noon but still enjoy our time and the food!!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 9, 2017

we had the festa regionale specials, the risotto with prawns and asparagus and thespinach ravioli with shrimp in a very light delicious sauce. We enjoyed both. Service was very good too. And, always nice to see the management and staff. So friendly.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Romantic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.