About Ikanos



Ikanos invites you to discover the contemporary Mediterranean seafood cuisine of chef-owner Constant Mentzas.

Ikanos offer's a unique gastronomic experience where Mediterranean flavors are combined in a unique and inventive way. Market inspired cuisine, hand picked fish and seafood grilled over an open fire in our Josper wood burning oven. Greek and Mediterranean classics revisited with a modern twist, following our inspiration and the freshest market arrivals.

112 Rue Mc Gill
Suite 1
Montréal, QC H2Y 2E5
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Greek, Mediterranean, Seafood

Hours of Operation:

Express Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30AM - 2:30PM

Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday: 5:30PM - 10:30PM

Dinner: Thursday - Saturday: 5:30PM - 12:00AM*
*Late Night Menu, starting at 10PM

Brunch: Sunday: 10:30AM - 3:30PM

Cross Street:
Wellington

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(514) 842-0867

Website:
http://www.restaurantikanos.com/

Catering:
For catering, please contact our us at 514-842-0867

Parking Details:
625 Saint-Paul Ouest West
Wiliam / St-Henri
75 Queen

Public Transit:
Metro Square Victoria
Square victoria Station

Executive Chef:
Constant Mentzas

Private Party Facilities:
Ideally located in the heart of Old Montreal, Ikanos welcomes you for your professional or private events. Offering a modern, elegant and warm dining room, our restaurant seats up to 140 people.

Our modern approach on Greek and Mediterranean cuisine, created by Constant Mentzas, will delight your guests with its originality and freshness.

Wood-burning grills, mezzes to share, seafood platters, upscale home-made desserts, are only a brief overview of what awaits you!

Our turnkey services include:

- The layout of the room according to your needs (projections, oyster bar, dance floor, etc) ;
- A private or exclusive option ;
- A lunch or dinner menu, fixed and / or tailor-made ;
- A personalized professional bar/wine service ;
- And, in summer, think of our beautiful terrace !.

Private Party Contact:
Olivier St-Amant: (888) 602-2486

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For special events or corporate events, please contact us at 514-842-0867

Ikanos Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Business Meals (7)
Good for a Date (6)
Hot Spot (6)
See All
Authentic (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Special Occasion (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Tapas (5)
Romantic (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Casual (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Cozy (2)
Scenic View (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Family Style (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
120 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined 3 days ago

The appetizers were very good but unfortunately the seafood platter was really bad, the octopus was chewy , the fried calamari tasted like burned oil the only good thing were the shrimp and we only had 1 each ( 2 in total)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Great food and great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Outstanding dining experience! The restaurant has an intimate feel to it, and lovely decor. Our waiter was great, making recommendations for wine pairings and portion sizes. The menu has both mezes (tapas like, enough for 2+ on each plate), and full dinners. The pita with the three dips appetizer was superb, as were the dips themselves. I would highly recommend the grilled seafood platter to share. The grilled octopus was the best I have ever had (including in Greece), and the tomatoes in the Greek salad were amazing. We went twice during our stay in Montreal, the food was so good!

Tags: Good for Groups, Tapas, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Wonderful meal! Creative and beautifully played selections. Seafood mezes were outstanding as was the lamb. Trio of sauces with house made pita stood out too. Pretty restaurant and friendly fun service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Outstanding quality of seafood, good service and nice ambiance.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Best grilled fish in the city! Done as it should be Mediterranean style!

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Wonderful food, we had several small plates, superb! Sat at the. At, ask for Simon-excellent service, and great mixologist too.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Coming to Montreal for 6 years and this was one of the best meals I've had. Everything was fresh and the service was great. Well worth the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Great food and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Fantastic meal. Zucchini chips were the best ever. You will not leave craving for more good. Great staff. Loukoumades were a touch disappointing, otherwise, outstanding!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Juste un mot, exquis. Belle découverte. Je le recommande sans aucune hésitation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Excellent food and ambiance.
The service, however, was extremely irritating and completely unprofessional. Consistently trying to suggest menu items that we did not want. Felt like constant up-selling.
The final blow was the waiter asking if he could have a glass of our wine! Even after I refused he proceeded to insist that it was his duty as a sommelier and served himself. Absolutely mind blowing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on May 30, 2017

We loved the very flexible menu that allows you to get a taste of several dishes. The fish was excellent, grilled to perfection, grilled veggies, also excellent. The service was perfect, friendly and efficient.
The only reason I did't rate a perfect 5 stars is the desserts are just not up to par. The loukoumades pastries were chewy, bland and heavy, the cake had no flavour. So go nuts on the fish, forget dessert!

Tags: Casual, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 28, 2017

I arrived to the restaurant after making my reservation with a baby and 3 small children, I had to carry the stroller all the way up the stairs only to find out that they didn't have a table for us, the hostess told me that she was sorry but the restaurant was fully booked even though I have made a reservation several hours before, I recommend you to call before going, and they should definitely take their restaurant off OpenTable because obviously they don't use it at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 28, 2017

This was the first time in Montreal. We were looking for great seafood restaurant where is nice atmosphere.
The restaurant was so stylish decoration, friendly & good service. The mostly food was excellent!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Healthy, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 27, 2017

my wife & i enjoyed our evening ,food ,service was good,will go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on May 20, 2017

No valet parking. Most restaurants in the area have valet. Real pain to park. Not worth the effort. Nothing outstanding about the restaurant. You have to figure $100. Pp with wine. You can go elsewhere and get as good if not better food. I've no interest in returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great food, tasty and very good smiley service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great location. We had a great time sitting at the bar. comfortable stools and amazing food.

Tags: Tapas, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Delicious , and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Enjoyed our dinner, excellent service, able to accommodate the Paleo diet. The only complaint I have is the portions were a bit small, left us wanting more, so we had dessert! The waiters did a great job explaining various items on the menu and were very attentive. Would go there again next time we visit Montreal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on March 17, 2017

First time to Ikanos my husband and I we both love it we are still talking about the food, wine n ambiance and also not forgetting Iur waiter Oliver he was super nice n knowledgeable andl alao Cedric , he was 'charmer', but makes you feel very comfortable and. Will occasionally come at your table to see if everything was a we expected!!! Highly recommend this restaurant🍷🍴

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Tapas, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Great service and excellent food! I would recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on March 12, 2017

I was pleasantly surprised at how delicious all of our starters were. The squid, scallops and octopus were to die for. We shared the steak as a main. It was good but nothing to get excited about. Seafood is definitely their specialty and we will be returning for sure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Très bon repas! Mezzos savoureux et repas principal agréable. Cependant, les portions sont petites.(surtout repas principal- morue et homard ). Nous avions Groupon et malgré cela très dispendieux (en ajoutant dessert et café, vin 95$). Il faut compter au moins 175$ pour 2 plus vin... sans Groupon. Pas certaine que je paierais ce montant...

Tags: Tapas, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Nous avons bien aimé notre expérience au Ikanos! Très bons plats. Mes préférés ont été les pétoncles poêlées et le magret de canard! À ne pas manquer. J'ai été toutefois un peu mélangée par le service, qui a commencé avec un serveur... puis terminé avec l'hôtesse qui a été fort chaleureuse et gentille. Mais sinon, rien de négatif à dire, nous avons passé une belle soirée :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Nice place. Great service. Some real good dishes. It just missed the mark on this occasion and for the price it should always be great.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Anyone in love with octopus will greatly appreciate their grilled octopus. The greek salad was great, but the full plate was too big for two people at the end of the meal. The Ladera was "OMG I H-A-T-E veggies but can I have seconds please oh pretty please!!" kind of level of greatness. Overall, I was greatly pleased by this place as it is a very safe choice for open-minded people. I do advise coming around 5 PM if you want to enjoy a very quiet environment for most of the time of your meal.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 10, 2017

The menu offers an a la carte traditional option, tasting menu or mezzes ( greek tapas) - all clearly and elegantly explained by our server. We opted for mezzes and were not disappointed. Everything was delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Went for NYE. The food was ok but nothing exceptional. Was given the wrong takeaway box with someone else's leftovers.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Ikanos ruined our New Years Eve. They advertised a New Years Party , countdown and dance floor none of which happened. Food was not good, service was terrible and overall was a terrible experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Went on New Year's Eve, the early session. Fixed menu. Service was great, each course on the menu was delectable, and the ambiance was enjoyable. Would definitely recommend.

Tags: Romantic, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I've dined here in the past about 3 times and always enjoyed my experience ... however this time ...
... on New Year's Eve was quite a deception. Service was rushed, awkwardly inattentive, ask to see the sommelier, never came. It was a fixed menu ... octopus was coriace ... the fish was delicious. Overall I will never go back. I felt like I was at one of those cheap super club, yet missed the party as we where at the first service.

Next time I would go to Grazziella just beside is a real fine dining experience. Grazziella are part of the silver spoon book.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Great restaurant overall. Food is amazing although slightly pricey. Service is equally as impressive. Would recommend for any occasion!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 25, 2016

What a great restaurant! We went for the first time last Friday and had a terrific meal. The menu was imaginative and fun. We tried the zucchini chips with a dill sauce, the ouzo-flamed cheese, the scallops with a bit of foie gras, and the quail. Everything was perfectly cooked and different than anywhere else. Our waiter was very helpful and pleasant. The atmosphere is upscale, modern in a wonderful old building next to Old Town Montreal. Definitely a keeper!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Amazing food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Ikanos is a great restaurant that can easily be recommended. Fresh ingredients, well prepared, refined cooking and presentation. Friendly service.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 11, 2016

We reserved a table for 7 people. Their reservation system(s) was in transition, so they didn't have my reservation down when one of our fellow diners tried to add more people to the reservation. Food was innovatively Greek; notables included squid, octopus, and duck breast. Service was decent, but unremarkable. Night menu special available.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Menu MTL à table. On a été séduits par les entrées, ça s'est gâché par la suite... plats qui manquent de saveur (risotto calmars et porchetta d'agneau), temps entre les services excessivement long, serveuse sympathique mais inexpérimentée. Au final, on avait vraiment hâte de payer et partir! Look du resto super chouette, je suis certaine que cet endroit en vaut la peine, mais notre expérience n'a pas été convaincante!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Our experience at Ikanos was thoroughly outstanding! From various appetizers to the main course, finalized with the desert, every course was exquisitely prepared and superb. We took the waiter's recommendation and definitely were very pleased. This was our first time at Ikanos, and it's ambiance gave us the impression of a high class New York restaurant. We would recommend the tasting menu, which has the best assortment of seafood dishes, and is by far the best value that there is to offer. Definitely Ikanos is worth the money and a great experience. *

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Organic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Paleo Friendly, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.