Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

About Ikanos

Ikanos vous invite à découvrir la cuisine méditerranéenne contemporaine du chef-propriétaire Constant Mentzas. Ikanos vous propose une expérience gastronomique unique où se côtoient de manière inventive les saveurs de la Méditerranée. Une cuisine du marché contemporaine, des fruits de mer et poissons choisis avec soin, des grillades de notre four aux charbons de bois Josper. Les classiques de la cuisine méditerranéenne et grecque réinventées au gré des arrivages saisonniers et de nos inspirations.

Ikanos invites you to discover the comtemporary mediterranean seafood cuisine of chef-owner Constant Mentzas. Ikanos offer you a unique gastronomic experience where Mediterranean flavors are combined in a unique and inventive way. Market inspired cuisine, hand picked fish and seafood grilled over an open fire in our Josper wood buring oven. Greek and Mediterranean classics revisited with a modern twist, following our inspiration and the freshest market arrivals.

112 Rue Mc Gill
Suite 1
Montréal, QC H2Y 2E5
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Greek, Mediterranean, Seafood

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30AM - 2:30PM

Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday: 5:30PM - 10:30PM

Dinner: Thursday - Saturday: 5:30PM - 12:00AM

Cross Street:
Wellington

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(514) 842-0867

Website:
http://www.restaurantikanos.com/

Catering:
Pour le service traiteur, veuillez contacter notre Chef Constant Mentzas au 514-842-0867
For catering, please contact our Chef Constant Mentzas at 514 842 0867

Parking Details:
625 Saint-Paul Ouest West
Wiliam / St-Henri
75 Queen

Public Transit:
Metro Square Victoria
Square victoria Station

Executive Chef:
Constant Mentzas

Private Party Facilities:
Whether for business meals with your associates or for a group of larger, we offer you our private rooms that will provide you all the privacy you need! These rooms can be transformed at will to accommodate your business breakfast, 5@7, corporate parties or holiday parties.

Private Party Contact:
Olivier St-Amant: (888) 602-2486

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Pour des événements spéciaux, veuillez contacter notre Chef Constant Mentzas au 514-842-0867
For special events, please contact our Chef Constant Mentzas at 514-842-0867

Ikanos Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (10)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
See All
Tapas (6)
Family Style (5)
Cozy (5)
Authentic (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Romantic (5)
Special Occasion (4)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Healthy (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Casual (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Historic (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Business Meals (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Seasonal (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Fun (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
101 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Delicious , and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Enjoyed our dinner, excellent service, able to accommodate the Paleo diet. The only complaint I have is the portions were a bit small, left us wanting more, so we had dessert! The waiters did a great job explaining various items on the menu and were very attentive. Would go there again next time we visit Montreal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Family Style, Historic, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on March 18, 2017

First time to Ikanos my husband and I we both love it we are still talking about the food, wine n ambiance and also not forgetting Iur waiter Oliver he was super nice n knowledgeable andl alao Cedric , he was 'charmer', but makes you feel very comfortable and. Will occasionally come at your table to see if everything was a we expected!!! Highly recommend this restaurant🍷🍴

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Tapas, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Wood Oven, Happy Hour, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Great service and excellent food! I would recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Casual, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on March 12, 2017

I was pleasantly surprised at how delicious all of our starters were. The squid, scallops and octopus were to die for. We shared the steak as a main. It was good but nothing to get excited about. Seafood is definitely their specialty and we will be returning for sure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Très bon repas! Mezzos savoureux et repas principal agréable. Cependant, les portions sont petites.(surtout repas principal- morue et homard ). Nous avions Groupon et malgré cela très dispendieux (en ajoutant dessert et café, vin 95$). Il faut compter au moins 175$ pour 2 plus vin... sans Groupon. Pas certaine que je paierais ce montant...

Tags: Tapas, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Nous avons bien aimé notre expérience au Ikanos! Très bons plats. Mes préférés ont été les pétoncles poêlées et le magret de canard! À ne pas manquer. J'ai été toutefois un peu mélangée par le service, qui a commencé avec un serveur... puis terminé avec l'hôtesse qui a été fort chaleureuse et gentille. Mais sinon, rien de négatif à dire, nous avons passé une belle soirée :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Nice place. Great service. Some real good dishes. It just missed the mark on this occasion and for the price it should always be great.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Anyone in love with octopus will greatly appreciate their grilled octopus. The greek salad was great, but the full plate was too big for two people at the end of the meal. The Ladera was "OMG I H-A-T-E veggies but can I have seconds please oh pretty please!!" kind of level of greatness. Overall, I was greatly pleased by this place as it is a very safe choice for open-minded people. I do advise coming around 5 PM if you want to enjoy a very quiet environment for most of the time of your meal.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 11, 2017

The menu offers an a la carte traditional option, tasting menu or mezzes ( greek tapas) - all clearly and elegantly explained by our server. We opted for mezzes and were not disappointed. Everything was delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Went for NYE. The food was ok but nothing exceptional. Was given the wrong takeaway box with someone else's leftovers.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Ikanos ruined our New Years Eve. They advertised a New Years Party , countdown and dance floor none of which happened. Food was not good, service was terrible and overall was a terrible experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Went on New Year's Eve, the early session. Fixed menu. Service was great, each course on the menu was delectable, and the ambiance was enjoyable. Would definitely recommend.

Tags: Family Style, Romantic, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I've dined here in the past about 3 times and always enjoyed my experience ... however this time ...
... on New Year's Eve was quite a deception. Service was rushed, awkwardly inattentive, ask to see the sommelier, never came. It was a fixed menu ... octopus was coriace ... the fish was delicious. Overall I will never go back. I felt like I was at one of those cheap super club, yet missed the party as we where at the first service.

Next time I would go to Grazziella just beside is a real fine dining experience. Grazziella are part of the silver spoon book.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Great restaurant overall. Food is amazing although slightly pricey. Service is equally as impressive. Would recommend for any occasion!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 25, 2016

What a great restaurant! We went for the first time last Friday and had a terrific meal. The menu was imaginative and fun. We tried the zucchini chips with a dill sauce, the ouzo-flamed cheese, the scallops with a bit of foie gras, and the quail. Everything was perfectly cooked and different than anywhere else. Our waiter was very helpful and pleasant. The atmosphere is upscale, modern in a wonderful old building next to Old Town Montreal. Definitely a keeper!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Amazing food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Ikanos is a great restaurant that can easily be recommended. Fresh ingredients, well prepared, refined cooking and presentation. Friendly service.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We reserved a table for 7 people. Their reservation system(s) was in transition, so they didn't have my reservation down when one of our fellow diners tried to add more people to the reservation. Food was innovatively Greek; notables included squid, octopus, and duck breast. Service was decent, but unremarkable. Night menu special available.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Menu MTL à table. On a été séduits par les entrées, ça s'est gâché par la suite... plats qui manquent de saveur (risotto calmars et porchetta d'agneau), temps entre les services excessivement long, serveuse sympathique mais inexpérimentée. Au final, on avait vraiment hâte de payer et partir! Look du resto super chouette, je suis certaine que cet endroit en vaut la peine, mais notre expérience n'a pas été convaincante!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Our experience at Ikanos was thoroughly outstanding! From various appetizers to the main course, finalized with the desert, every course was exquisitely prepared and superb. We took the waiter's recommendation and definitely were very pleased. This was our first time at Ikanos, and it's ambiance gave us the impression of a high class New York restaurant. We would recommend the tasting menu, which has the best assortment of seafood dishes, and is by far the best value that there is to offer. Definitely Ikanos is worth the money and a great experience. *

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Modern Decor, Organic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Paleo Friendly, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raum Düsseldorf)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Different take on some Greek fare but mosy dishes are not Greek inspired at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Some of the best modern Greek food this side of the Atlantic. Each time we've been they have outdone themselves. We couldn't recommend it more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Had a great experience! Went for an anniversary date, got way more than I expected!
We had the zucchini chips, the duck, the filet mignon and the lobster salad. Everything was so beautifully presented. The service was great as well. A very friendly waiter!
We will be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 7, 2016

For $26-$28 for the entree got 2 scallops!!!! Food was good, but I found it way too expensive with tootle food. Also, got the calamari, which was good, but didn't get much. Overall, I went away hungry and insulted that they would charge so much!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 31, 2016

Olivier was an awesome cocktail crafter and an excellent host. Our anniversary celebration was memorable! Great food too!

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Not the Greek flavors I was hoping for. The dishes were good, but nothing outstand. The one dish I would go back for is the Grilled shrimp chorizo, fennel and orange tortellini (Mezzes), mainly because of the consommé (I could've had a bowl of that). I had a few different dishes and none of them were remarkable, which is unfortunate. As for the price, I found it to be a bit too much, compared to other restaurants with similar concept and memorable food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on August 16, 2016

Vert Nice restaurant, good food. Service was not the greatest, she was more interested in chating with other clients than bringing us the bill

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 10, 2016

My wife and I went here on our anniversary road trip. We are admittedly foodies and indulge in diversity. The restaurant was fairly empty on a hot Tuesday night, very modern design, not the usual "Santorini-look. We ordered some plates to share - trio of dips, ravioli, saganaki, greek salad, and for the entrée the seafood platter. Please be careful as the plates to share are more than just a starter as we were told by the waiter, and disappointingly the seafood platter came at the same time as the plates to share which were intended to be starters. Although the food was excellent while not quite the typical Greek cuisine you would expect, the menu is pricey, hence the value for money on the lower end. The waiter made up for his mistakes with offering some fine metaxa. I would still recommend the restaurant due to the food quality for special occasions or business, but be aware of prices.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 15, 2016

First time trying Ikanos, excellent food, outstanding service and great location. Highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 8, 2016

We went for lunch on a Friday. We tried an appetizer and shared the seabass. Since it was a menu for two that seabass main dish, we thought the seabass would be bigger. It was a little smaller than what we expected. Salad and croquette appetizers were nice. Bread was good, we asked for another serving actually. Ambiance, decor and interior are good. Healthier choice as you got seafood, fish, salad mostly on the menu. A little expensive, but the location and seafood are not cheap so it is excused I guess. Service could have been better still. A little smile, charming, cozy personnalities are always more appreciated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 7, 2016

Service was very impersonal. Fish was bad. Chef was very nice.
Not a place we would go back to

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 23, 2016

The evening was memorable, we ate well although we were quite unanimous that some dishes were to salty. Our water was passionate about his wine, food and that we have a great dining experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 17, 2016

Belle Sélection de vin d'importation privée.
Mais pas de pain sans gluten.

Soirée de couple très agréable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 9, 2016

The quality of the food was excellent and beautifully presented. We didn't go with the lunch set but decided to go mezze style, and was not disappointed. The wine selection was very nice, and the house wine was great, as was the service. Definitely an experience to repeat.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 8, 2016

Super accommodating in serving a dish without dairy. Food was delicious. Had the lamb tartare and fish during a business lunch. Will come back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on May 30, 2016

Servers seemed quite inexperienced. Had a teenager serving flambe for the first time come a little close to my eyebrows for comfort. Waitress suggested a tasting menu with entrees that we had already had. Although we should have noticed, I guess, they could have warned us of this. The quality of the food was quite good, but very expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on May 26, 2016

I wish the food had matched the decor of this restaurant. Really beautiful design!

First off, I would like to thank the house for offering us a drink (which was very good btw, similar to a Muscadet we were told) at the end of our meal. Apparently there was some miscommunication about which server would help us and that's why it took a bit of time to get to our table. Funny enough, we hadn't even noticed as we were chitchatting away.

On to the food. We were 4 people and it was recommended that we order 10-12 small plates. We ordered 8 and ended up only eating 6. (More on that later) Thank goodness we didn't order as many as recommended, it would have been way too much.

We ordered grilled shrimp -excellent-, grilled vegetables -that were actually smoked, not at all what we were expecting, was alright-, Greek salad -excellent-, scallops -excellent-, fried zucchini chips-too much batter and hard-,crab salad-very disappointing because in fact it was served as crab cakes that didn't taste like much. The accompaniment salad was excellent however. As a matter of fact, they've changed the name of this dish on their menu to crab croquettes which is more appropriate -.

We also ordered, the grilled octopus and saganaki but sadly we never received them. Once we were done eating, I remembered the two dishes and inquired about them. We were told that it had been done on purpose because there wasn't any room left on the table. Happy we were able to cancel those. It's a good thing though because we were not hungry at all for more.

Actually, who needs to be hungry for loukoumades? I love these! Unfortunately, these were a huge letdown. They were very hard! You couldn't even put your fork through one. The table next to us had the same issue. I will say however that the honey pannacotta was absolutely delicious!

Would I go back, no. Too many misses. Should you? The menu was interesting and the ambiance was very nice.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on May 24, 2016

When you eat in this restaurant, money is not an object. Food is very refine and well presented, service is attentive and professional. When it comes to choose your plate , I would recommend to lean more towards fish and seafood rather than meat. I think they are more talent in handling
fish.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 22, 2016

Night started off well and the food was mostly great .
My main issue is that when you order at 7:30 and leave at almost 10:30 after asking the waiting staff for the rest of your meal to go,then there's a major problem somewhere!
I get it that its busy but what could of been a potential fantastic meal is instead a restaurant I will avoid like the pleg and strongly dissuade to anyone I know.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.