Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

About III Forks - Austin

III Forks is an award-winning steakhouse, located on Lavaca Street at Cesar Chavez, in downtown Austin. Considered the Crown Jewel of American Dining, III Forks serves USDA Prime steaks, fresh fish and cold-water lobster. The steakhouse, finished in mahogany and marble, is designed to accommodate private parties of up to 60 guests. With four private rooms, a piano bar, and over 500 different wines, III Forks is sure to provide the best food and service in town. Open Daily at 5:00 PM.

111 Lavaca Street
Austin, TX 78701
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm; Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Lavaca and Cesar Chavez

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 474-1776

Website:
http://www.iiiforks.com/

Entertainment:
III Forks has live music every Friday and Saturday night. Friend us on Facebook and Twitter for schedule and events.

Catering:
Catering Options Available

Executive Chef:
Adrian Corkill

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Our Banquet Manager, Shawn Farmer, may be reached directly at (512) 236-0124. We have private dining rooms available from 6-80 guests. Open menu and prix fixe menu options available! If we can be of assistance, please don't hesitate to contact us!

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 9:00PM

Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM 9:30PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 6:00PM 9:30PM - 11:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

III Forks steakhouse offers Austin a sophisticated club-like ambiance with an elegant bar and lounge. The inviting foyer greets you with an array of fine wines-over 500 labels-in the spectacular walk-in wine room. The luxurious mahogany trimmed with triple-crown molding and marble surroundings.

III Forks - Austin Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

Noise

Quiet

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (48)
Good for Anniversaries (38)
Romantic (36)
See All
Good for a Date (35)
Good for Birthdays (34)
Business Meals (30)
Quiet Conversation (30)
Notable Wine List (20)
Worth the Drive (17)
Good for Groups (15)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Cozy (11)
Live Music (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Bar Seating (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Fun (7)
Authentic (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Casual (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Healthy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Organic (1)
People Watching (1)
Scenic View (1)
Spicy (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1837 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined 5 days ago

Our first opportunity to enjoy this restaurant - celebrating 2 birthdays and an anniversary. It was everything we'd hoped for and so much more. Our server, Sherry, was fabulous. As a rule we need to remind servers to slow things down - not so with Sherry. She picked up on cues and was perfect in her timing. The food was delicious from beginning (oysters, chicken fried lobster & bone marrow with sheep cheek) to end (a variety of delicious desserts). Wine selection was very nice; entrees were delicious (several steaks choices, crab legs, seafood). We are big fans of the "old steakhouse" and this was by far one of the finest we've been to. It will definitely become a frequent go-to! Looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

My husband and I wanted a quiet dinner to celebrate our anniversary. The service, food, and atmosphere were all exactly what we needed.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Food was excellent and Brad was an awesome waiter

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Sommelier, Dave, and Megan (sp?) were just fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Excellent in every aspect

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Incredible experience. The steaks were cooked perfectly and the service was the best part. Thanks Mick!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

We had an amazing evening! Everything was perfect!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Love III Forks in Austin! Always enjoy taking our son there when we are in town!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Great restaurant. Always enjoying going there. Have live music in bar which has always been enjoyable

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fun, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 27, 2017

Our group of eight had a very good experience. Although extremely pricey, the food was good, and the service was outstanding. I could recommend the steakhouse. Just bring a fat wallet !

Desserts were very good. Although nine dollar for a scoop of ice cream was a bit ridiculous . Most of us had filet mignon. It was pretty good, although not the best I've ever had. With all this said. I would still recommend it. It was a very nice vibe

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 26, 2017

Food and service were excellent and the whole experience made for a special evening. The only down side was the order came a bit too quickly
Thanks 3 forks

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

I had the Chilean sea bass last Saturday night which was almost fishy. It was tough and disappointing. squared like a brick on the plate. Since I have been to Eddie V's, Perla's, et.al. so I know what a sea bass can be...even at a "steakhouse". I actually think it had been frozen. Since I was at a Business Dinner with others, I did not complain to the waiter. I think the chef should have known not to serve that piece of crap.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 21, 2017

Great service and great food. Really enjoyed the old fashion, the oysters and the redfish.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 18, 2017

An absolutely great meal in a very traditional Texas steakhouse with impeccable service and amazing food!!! Great meal!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 17, 2017

The filet mignon was fantastic, especially with the truffle & fois gras topping. The brussels sprouts were also very tasty, and the bread pudding was amazing - totally off the Paleo wagon, but worth it.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Business Meals, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on September 16, 2017

My brother-in-law (BIL) and sister went to 3forks for his birthday dinner as a gift from us. We (my husband and I) enjoy steakhouses (Fleming's, Eddie V's, etc) because of the overall experience (service+food+ambiance). While BIL and sis had a good time , I was told that the steak did not meet or exceed in taste when compared to one of 3forks's mentioned competitors. Nevertheless, the overall experience was good.
Looking forward to visiting 3forks ourselves and trying you guys out so I can write my own experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Chicken fried lobster 😍

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 16, 2017

The food was wonderful and nicely prepared. The service was second to none. If there is one little issue, it was that the food came to our table very quickly after ordering. Having said that, we did tell the staff that we were going to a performance at Austin City Limits at 8:00PM and perhaps they felt a need to get us in and out with plenty of time to spare. We would highly recommend III Forks for a fine dining location.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Excellent food and service, but a rather dark setting. Much prefer the Dallas 3 Forks for its openness. Felt too closed in at Austin, yet realize it is a down-town setting that does not offer much of a view. Otherwise, GREAT!

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 15, 2017

One of the best steak places in town. Get the King's Butter. You won't be disappointed. They also can make a mean Old Fashioned drink.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Food was awesome - steaks cooked to perfection - sides - mac and cheese, cream corn and Brussel spouts were amazing. Note small portions so not really for sharing....ended the evening with bread pudding - I have no words to describe how awesome it was.

Mick our server was also fantastic - highly recommend this restaurant

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Had a fabulous business meal for 4 here on Tuesday night. The oysters for appetizers were fabulous. The hamachi was much too salty. My filet mignon with sides of asparagus, potatoes, and lobster mac&cheese were fabulous. Good but brisk service. Excellent wine recommendations.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Excellent food - steak, shrimp and lamb chops were amazing. Lots of options. A little pricey but the service was fab.

Tags: Business Meals, Fun, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Spent the weekend in Austin for my brothers bachelor party and really wanted to do blow it out for dinner one night. Ended up picking III Forks and could not be happier with the experience. Wagyu tomahawk was hundred percent worth it split for two and a 1500 dollar bill for ten guys, gratuity included, was so so reasonable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 9, 2017

My family party of five had a very nice experience. Everything from service to food to bathroom was excellent. For such a nice restaurant i thought the prices we very reasonable a well. of i had to complain about anything, it would that everything came out too quick. Lol
Live music was also super.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

food and atmosphere was great as always. however, the service we received from our server "Michael" was rushed. he took our bread plate before we finished, my wife and i order dessert to split and only brought us two forks and no extra plate.. and then, he had the audacity to make a comment the i have spilled some ice cream on the white table cloth. I responded.. "well maybe you should have brought another plate, since you know we were sharing" at the end he brought us our ticket and he comment, "don't rush take your time"...he went to the booth next to us and on his way back maybe "minute later", stops by and ask me if I had placed my credit card on the ticket! our ticket was $229.49, and everyone knows when you got to these type of restaurants, we're going to spend money but we also expect NOT TO BE RUSH! I still leave 20% gratuity and will be back again but I will make sure our server is not Michael!

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Great meal. Waiter was awesome and girl who seated us was very promp and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 2, 2017

We visited early on a Saturday night prior to a concert at the Moody Theater. Location was perfect, just one block from the show. This is an old school steak place in the mold of Bob's, Morton's, etc. Service was attentive. The menu was fairly predictable. We had French onion soup and a wedge salad as appetizers. They were good, but not great. We both had steaks -- a fillet and a bone-in ribeye. They were excellent. Sides of fried Brussel sprouts and scalloped potatoes were decadent. A dessert of bread pudding with cinnamon ice cream was pretty unremarkable.

We don't drink so I can't comment on the wine list or cocktails.

This is a pretty good restaurant that's appropriate for a nice evening out. However, you will not be overwhelmed with spectacular or innovative food.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
·Dined on August 23, 2017

$42 for a 7 oz lobster tail. I spend $35 for 2lbs at pappadeaux. Just makes no sense

Tags: Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Austin)·Dined on August 21, 2017

I had absolutely the most wonderful experience while I was here last week. Came in on a quiet Monday, but me and my girlfriend had the full menu gone over for us even thought we only came for wine and steaks, our server was absolutely incredible, even the manager came by to introduce himself to us and to make sure our night was going well. I will for sure be recommending this to my fellow steak lovers, can't wait to go back. (Also my girlfriend and I's favorite Frank Sinatra song came on while we were eating which only made the night more magical)

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Attentive staff and excellent food i.e.. appetizers,salmon, sautéed spinach and a Wagu ribeye steak,wine made a perfect dining out experience!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Entertainment made the dining experience esceptional!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Spicy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

Outstanding food and service. Perfect place for a special evening.

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

Had high expectations and it lived up to them completely. Our server, Thomas, was excellent and guided us to great choices from wine through the meal and dessert. Each course was beautifully prepared and the tastes were exquisite. Portions were just right, ambiance was great. It's expensive, but totally worth a splurge.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Had an okay experience. I don't think we'll go back due to the smell of sewage when you first walked into the restaurant and throughout our dinner. I didn't like that you cannot get the happy hour drink specials at your table. The specials are only available if you sit in the bar area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

My wife and I love III Forks. We have dined here before and it gets better overtime. Great attentive service, Great ambiance, and Great Food!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic, Live Music, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

The service was beyond exceptional. Quiet dining in the back or moderate noise levels in main room with live music.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Our first time at 3Forks and we really enjoyed our meal. I had the pecan encrusted halibut - absolutely delish!!!! Service was excellent. We'll be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Ordered appetizer which was not to my dates liking. She asked to speak with a manager. They agreed to not charge us for the appetizer. She asked if they could fix us another not charge us. The waiter who was very nice and one of the managers explained that they couldn't without charging us, which I was ok with. My date asked to speak with the general manager to explain why. He came over to our table and begin to gather up our plates and told us to leave or he would call the police. He was yelling at us in front of all the other guests. Worse customer service ever. Never would I recommend this place to. Anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (Austin)·Dined on August 12, 2017

My husband and I had a double celebration on 8/12/17 at III Forks. We celebrated our 9th anniversary (8/8/08) and his cousin and her husband celebrated their 8th anniversary (8/25/09! The service was superb and the food and drinks were amazing! The dim lighting and live music created a romantic scene for us. We will definitely return to this fine restaurant!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.