About III Forks - Austin

111 Lavaca Street
Austin, TX 78701
View Larger Map

III Forks is an award-winning steakhouse, located on Lavaca Street at Cesar Chavez, in downtown Austin. Considered the Crown Jewel of American Dining, III Forks serves USDA Prime steaks, fresh fish and cold-water lobster. The steakhouse, finished in mahogany and marble, is designed to accommodate private parties of up to 60 guests. With four private rooms, a piano bar, and over 500 different wines, III Forks is sure to provide the best food and service in town. Open Daily at 5:00 PM.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm; Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Lavaca and Cesar Chavez

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 474-1776

Website:
http://www.iiiforks.com/

Entertainment:
III Forks has live music every Friday and Saturday night. Friend us on Facebook and Twitter for schedule and events.

Catering:
Catering Options Available

Executive Chef:
Adrian Corkill

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Our Banquet Manager, Shawn Farmer, may be reached directly at (512) 236-0124. We have private dining rooms available from 6-80 guests. Open menu and prix fixe menu options available! If we can be of assistance, please don't hesitate to contact us!

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 9:00PM

Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM 9:30PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 6:00PM 9:30PM - 11:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

III Forks steakhouse offers Austin a sophisticated club-like ambiance with an elegant bar and lounge. The inviting foyer greets you with an array of fine wines-over 500 labels-in the spectacular walk-in wine room. The luxurious mahogany trimmed with triple-crown molding and marble surroundings.

III Forks - Austin Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (47)
Good for Anniversaries (38)
Romantic (36)
See All
Special Occasion (34)
Business Meals (30)
Notable Wine List (27)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Cozy (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Live Music (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Paleo Friendly (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Authentic (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Fun (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Private Room (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Family Style (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Fireplace (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Seasonal (2)
People Watching (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Great Beer (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Healthy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Casual (1)
Historic (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1668 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Service was slow, food was good, but not ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined 2 days ago

Service was slow, food was good, but not as good related to the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Great service, food was AMAZING, no comp ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined 2 days ago

Great service, food was AMAZING, no complaints what so ever. Best steak I've had in a long, long time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The atmosphere was OK, we were seated in ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined 3 days ago

The atmosphere was OK, we were seated in a main dining area table. It was a little loud and crowded. The booths looked much better, but we didn't get one of those. The food was OK... Not bad, but not worth the price either. The only high point was the dry aged steak. It was good, but again, there's much better for the price. Finally, cocktails were a little stingy on the pour...I would believe it if somebody told me they weighed them for content. Was it bad? No. Would I go back? No, Trulucks and even Flemings has better food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Excellent service and food! Steak was co ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent service and food! Steak was cooked perfectly and melted in the mouth.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My girlfriend and I went here for Valent ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 7 days ago

My girlfriend and I went here for Valentine's day without any prior knowledge of the establishment. Hands down this was one of the best meals we've had in Austin. The atmosphere was perfect and the food was amazing. This is definitely a great place for a date or even just business. We will definitely be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Wow. We had made a late reservation for ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

Wow. We had made a late reservation for Valentine's Day, and worried it would feel too assembly-line. We had a wonderful surprise. It was indeed very crowded, but the staff (hostess, bartender while we waited for our table, manager, and waiter) were all personal, attentive, and as efficient as humanly possible. The steak and sides and wine and dessert were marvelous. But the highlight of the evening was our waiter from Donegal, Ireland, who made the whole experience unusually fun and interesting, as well as making it up to us very nicely when small things went wrong (such as the onion-laden salad being put at the wrong place and not detected until it was too late). Bravo, III Forks. You made it a memorable evening even for a middle-aged married couple!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was valentines day and clearly they h ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 15, 2017

It was valentines day and clearly they had not planned well. We were seated almost a half hour after our reservation in a banquet hall arranged with tables for two. We have been to III Forks several times and have always enjoyed the atmosphere and food - but on this evening we only enjoyed the food. I will avoid III Forks on special occasions.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value3

Food and service is great, it has a rom ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Food and service is great, it has a romantic atmosphere great place for special occasions.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dinner celebrating Valentine's ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Wonderful dinner celebrating Valentine's Day. Had the filet & Sea Bass, both were excellent! Cannot remember our server's name, he was Irish and he was phenomenal.

I would recommend this restaurant for a special occasion, business dinner, or a quick stop in the bar for cocktails!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The reservation process was very seamles ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The reservation process was very seamless and easy to do from my phone. Upon arrival, I think we waited all of 45 seconds before we were shown to our table. We were taken to what appeared to be an "overflow room" where there were rows of tables crammed into a dining room. This was not the ambiance that I remembered from my previous, and first visit. Had it not been for the cattle call room, I would have rated my experience much higher. The food was excellent and the service was standard. Our waitress could have been a little more attentive but she was always professional and courteous. It was busy that night and she was doing the best that she could. The valet service was not that good. They were busy and didn't have enough attendants running cars. People were coming out of the restaurant AFTER we did and getting their cars BEFORE us!!! Not worth $10 for that level of service, plus $10 tip!!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

Awesome food and great service. Love th ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Awesome food and great service. Love the lobster bisque!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my 3rd trip to 3 Forks. I went ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This was my 3rd trip to 3 Forks. I went back on Valentine's Day because of good memories of the food and service, and I wasn't disappointed. The steaks and sides were great. The wedge salad was the best that I can remember.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Outstanding service and food. Great amb ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Outstanding service and food. Great ambiance. Expensive, but "mostly" worth it. Restaurant was awesome, but valet service was extremely poor and disorganized -- took almost 30 minutes to get our car. I'd like to believe it was an anomaly, but it was exactly the same way when we ate at III Forks the last time.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

everything was really delicious, we vot ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 13, 2017

everything was really delicious, we vot the iii fork salad, flat iron steak , ribeye steak and fried broussel sprout as our side and our server was allen and his awesome, 10 stars for me and my wife

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first time going, I took my ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This was my first time going, I took my friend out for her birthday. It was amazing, our waiter was out standing. I wish I would of remembered his name but beyond great service. The food was delicious as well. Would highly recommend this place any day.

Tags: , Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Modern Decor, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The sewer gas smell at the front door wa ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The sewer gas smell at the front door was almost bad enough to ruin the evening. Not sure if it was a COA thing or a III Forks thing, but the smell would knock you off your feet.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

No better place to celebrate our 27th an ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 12, 2017

No better place to celebrate our 27th anniversary, my 64th birthday, and valentines! They made it special!

Tags: Romantic, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was great. I ordered Filet well don ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food was great. I ordered Filet well done and it was perfect. Service was also excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was outstanding. Steaks were c ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food was outstanding. Steaks were cooked perfect to order. Service was excellent. Our waiter explained the menu items and specials very well and his assistance with the wine list was helpful.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Three Forks is always excellent; that's ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Three Forks is always excellent; that's why we go as much as we do. However, my ongoing bone of contention is how LOUD the live music in the bar is. The bar is NOT separated from the rest of the restaurant. And the live music, while usually very good, is just WAY too loud. It makes dinner conversation virtually impossible; which means everybody starts talking really loud to be heard, and frankly it just kind of ruins the atmosphere. Excellent food & service though.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

My husband and I celebrated an early Val ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

My husband and I celebrated an early Valentine's dinner. The food was cooked to perfection, except for the bread, which was dry. We didn't need it anyway. I would return, but next time hang out for a while in the piano bar!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

I have been to many upscale restaurants ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I have been to many upscale restaurants and this was not one of them. My wife and I were so looking forward to trying III forks and from the very beginning, it was a big disappointment. Our reservation was at 7:30pm and the place was not busy at all. First disappointment, my wife ordered a glass of Prosecco and it was CORKED! I have never had a corked glass of white wine or Prosecco ever. So we sent it back and it took a while to get the replacement. For our starters, the Lobster bisque was just okay, nothing special but the Foie Gras was good but way too small portion size. It was the size of 2 quarters. I understand you get a small piece but this was ridiculous. Second disappointment, The whole time we were there, our server kept rushing us. As soon as we sat down, she was ready to flip the table as fast as she could. It made us very uncomfortable. There is a big difference between being observant and being rushed. She did not know the difference. Last disappointment , My entree, I ordered medium and got rare instead. I had to send it back so they could fix it. The whole time my side were getting cold.

In summary, for an expensive dinner, I expect to be treated more professional and get things right the first time. If you make a mistake, apologize and credit your mistakes or offer a free desert. Not rush you so you can screw up the next customer. Very disappointed. Will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

If you're looking for an incredible dini ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 5, 2017

If you're looking for an incredible dining experience to celebrate a special moment, this is that place. From the beautiful wood accented dining room, to the incredible food and wait staff, to the live music, you won't be disappointed. They have a menu that is rich in both beef (USDA prime, 42-day aged, or Wagyu) and seafood with a few selections of lamb and pork thrown in for good measure. While it isn't cheap to dine here (plan to spend $300+ with tip), this dining experience is worth the cost.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food, cocktails, and service were fanta ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Food, cocktails, and service were fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was a wonderful dinner, meeting UT son, ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Was a wonderful dinner, meeting UT son, friends. They were not scared of an expensive, excellent steak.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The best meat in AUSTIN by far. It is t ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 2, 2017

The best meat in AUSTIN by far. It is the only steakhouse for us. Consistently fabulous. Love the oysters and extensive wine list and specialty cocktails!! Best service ever.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Private Room, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been to 3 Forks several times. Food is ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Been to 3 Forks several times. Food is always very good but steak was over-seasoned. Also, getting food ordered was a little slow - not sure why cause we arrived around 6 and they were not yet busy.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Great meal at III Forks. It was a busin ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Great meal at III Forks. It was a business dinner during a conference for 8 people. Our reservation got screwed up, but they worked with us and accommodated our group. Our waiter, Nevell, was excellent!!!! I might be a bias due to the Irish brogue, but that was just an extra bonus to his attention to our table. Thanks III Forks!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Family Style, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Our waitress Sherry was fun, lively, cut ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Our waitress Sherry was fun, lively, cute and on the ball. she was knowledgeable and courteous yet fun. The food was excellent. When the potatoes were not hot enough for our liking, she brought us a piping hot plate of fresh ones. Wine was excellent, however they did not have enough of our first bottle in stock for us to have a second.

Tags: Business Meals, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The rib eye was very good but the strip ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The rib eye was very good but the strip was disappointing. I would recommend the rib eye to anyone going there but would tell them not to get the strip.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

food was good, service was excellent. th ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 29, 2017

food was good, service was excellent. the manager stopped by to visit. liked the personal touch.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Comfortable seating, prompt service & de ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Comfortable seating, prompt service & delicious food--great way to dine for post theatre outing. The jazz band was wonderful too!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

III Forks has always been consistently a ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 28, 2017

III Forks has always been consistently amazing. From the time you walk in the door, you are greeted with a warm smile. The waitstaff across the board are fun and attentive, treating you like a friend, rather than a customer.

Management stays engaged, walking around ensuring each and every dining experience is excellent. We don't go there as much as we should, but in 2017 I resolve myself to eliminate all who have gotten too big for themselves. III Forks has not allowed for time to negatively impact their product.

Thank you for another amazing night out!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

View was wonderful, waitress paired our ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 27, 2017

View was wonderful, waitress paired our wine with meal, sea bass was best we have ever tasted. Even went with trio deserts, decadent! Music was wonderful in background. We recommend highly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was the outstanding. Service w ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 27, 2017

The food was the outstanding. Service was the best.

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The level of service at this restaurant ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 25, 2017

The level of service at this restaurant is exceptional. Slight changes in the reservation were met with ease and professionalism. My clients stated that this was one of the best meals they ever had and I agree wholeheartedly. I highly recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting Austin and can't wait to return in the near future.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I travel across the country and have bee ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 23, 2017

I travel across the country and have been to hundreds of steakhouses. The steak was in the top 3 I've ever had

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

very nice and comfortable. Excellent ov ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 22, 2017

very nice and comfortable. Excellent over the top service. All the food was great. First time at this location and will go back for sure.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful as always! Will be back for V ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Wonderful as always! Will be back for Valentine's Day!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Incredible food and outstanding service! ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Incredible food and outstanding service! Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.