Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

About i Ricchi

A restaurant specializing in the preparation of "Cucina Rustica" - Tuscan country-style, scratch cooking. Attentive service from experienced and caring staff. Italian wine list. Outdoor dining on the Piazza. Free valet parking.

1220 19th Street, NW
Washington, DC 20036
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Modern Tuscan, Contemporary Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 1:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
19th & Jefferson Pl.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 835-0459

Website:
http://www.iricchidc.com/

Catering:
We cater small & medium sized events in office or at home.

Parking Details:
Free Valet Parking is available at Dinner.

Public Transit:
Dupont Circle South

Executive Chef:
Christianne Ricchi

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Beer Garden, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Nightly Happy Hour with reduced prices & free hors d'oeuvres. See our Weekly / Monthly Calendar for special events. Wine Tastings, Dinners, Ladies Nights, and many special promotions. Sign Up and receive special deals !!

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Fri 11:30AM - 11:45AM 5:30PM - 5:45PM

Sat 5:30PM - 5:45PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

i Ricchi provides private rooms and special menus for parties of 12 or more.

i Ricchi Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Quiet

96% would recommend it to a friend

Business Meals (46)
Special Occasion (42)
Romantic (41)
See All
Authentic (39)
Good for a Date (38)
Good for Anniversaries (33)
Good for Birthdays (33)
Quiet Conversation (32)
Fit for Foodies (31)
Great for Outdoor Dining (24)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Good for Groups (20)
Cozy (19)
Great for Lunch (16)
Notable Wine List (14)
Worth the Drive (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Happy Hour (9)
Casual (7)
People Watching (7)
Healthy (6)
Fun (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Scenic View (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Organic (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
3023 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Phenomenal service made the food taste even better if you know what I mean. From the hostess on the phone who handled our delayed arrival and addition of one diner at last minute on a Saturday night to the waiter who perfectly orchestrated the course delivery and birthday dessert at the end, we all had a great time. Filet was delicious as were pastas but they could have been somewhat larger to facilitate sharing. Countless baskets of delicious bread were another highlight.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 3 days ago

Nice meals and early dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

Exceptional, as always, from Evan's warm greeting to the last plate - never disappoints!

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

We are back for a Groupon lunch. It is very flexible. We chose two appetizers and two entrees. There is no limitation on what you can pick from the menu. They are welcoming from the minute we walked in the door. Our server was friendly, attentive and very knowledgable. The mussels were wonderful. Th sauce was delicious with both the mussels and sopped up with bread. The mushrooms (four different kinds) sautéed with garlic was excellent. The pappardelle special with rabbit was very good (though not great). I had pounded thin, fried veal. It was not really dry but definitely would have been improved with a light sauce. I added some lemon and it improved the dish. It is served with a huge pile of greens and some chopped tomatoes. On the whole, we were happy with our meal and will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Another great meal at I Ricci! The food is always great. I had a new server this time who was OK, but not as seasoned as some of my favorites. Nonetheless, he was nice. The food is exemplary and the ambiance superb. An all time favorite among my DC restaurants. One should not miss it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Great Service, food and value. We have been coming to this restaurant for several years. We were attracted by their Groupon offering which is still the best deal in town. When most restaurants are cutting back on their Groupon discounts, I'Ricchi continues to offer better than 50% off. If you don't pick the busiest night, their service is awesome. This time we got to try a couple of new desserts. While the chocolate mousse with chocolate meringue was good, the strawberry cream cake with gelato was excellent.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Our first visit and it was great! Great appetizers and entre. Desert was good also. We had a new waiter and he was great. The owner makes sure that all waiters have a complete knowledge of the menu and ours knew it all. He gave a complete description of the meal and it's ingredients and how it was cooked. He made us want to have one of each - they sounded that good. (We even had three appitizers for 2 people.)

Tags: Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 11, 2017

The food was absolutely fantastic. Started with the pasta sampler and progressed to lamb, steak, and veal for those at the table. Cannot over emphasize how friendly the hostess was and the owner stopped by to talk with us - she very nice. The meal, the staff and the atmosphere - quite - were all great. Well spent time - great experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 11, 2017

This place was awesome, had the best Italian meal I've had in forever!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 11, 2017

Very good, best cheesecake I ever had

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Mississippi)·Dined on September 6, 2017

The food was excellent as well as the service. Great place for Italian.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Fantastic Service, Meal, Restaurant...We'll be back!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 29, 2017

I Ricci is one of Washington's joys. Great for lunch or dinner with impeccable service and food. Wonderful atmosphere and you can hear the conversation at your own table unlike so many restaurants.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Business Meals, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Fabulous service! Great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Probably my all time favorite in DC. Every aspect is amazing, food, service and ambiance. I can't say enough. I had an absolutely wonderful dinner here this time, as I always do. It is a restaurant one can call home and feel as if they are always welcome with open arms. A definite must to diners with high standards. Do not miss it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Always excellent at I Ricchi - gracious and welcoming service, delicious flavorful dishes and a comfortable setting make for a great lunch or dinner

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

Fabulous restaurant. We used a groupon which was a fantastic deal (got about $150 of food for almost half the price). Best calamari I've ever had, octopus (appetizer) was even better. Everything had flavor!! (Big plus). Veal was delicious, lamb chops were cooked very well. Tiramisu is a must!! Server was excellent, extremely polite and had great recommendations. Also found out about this great deal for ladies on Tuesdays - 50% off for everything with free valet parking, will definitely be going back for that. Really glad I found this place, best Italian food I've had in DC.

Tags: Cozy, Scenic View, Kid-friendly, Fun, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Happy Hour, People Watching, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 23, 2017

This definitely ended up on my D.C. Favorites list! The service was excellent and the house made rigatoni dish was perfectly cooked with a great taste The weather was so nice we ate outside but I'm looking forward to joining the setting inside the restaurant once the weather gets a bit cooler.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Birthday dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 18, 2017

The fixed menu for RW was disappointing , unlike the regular menu. The corn risotto was quite tasteless and trout was not memorable. Would not go there for RW again but only when the whole menu is opened.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

Amazing Restaurant with Amazing Food! - A friend and I traveled to D.C. from NC for a short vacation. We found a Groupon for the restaurant for $76. This deal includes 2 glasses of wine, 2 appetizers, 2 entrees, and 2 deserts. The food was great and came to the table at intervals. The wait staff clears the table after each course and provides new silverware. Portions are great as you get full, but not stuffed! 10 out of 10! I will be coming back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Bar Seating, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Very welcoming and friendly service. The food and service was excellent!! Much thanks.
Mr. J.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Unbelievably great food and incredible service!! This restaurant came highly recommended by a family friend (she said it was the best Italian food in the country) and it did not disappoint! Not only was our friend right about the food being authentically delicious (my parents are Italian so it's rather challenging to find anything comparable) but the professional, prompt and kind service could not have been better. Wish we lived in Washington DC so we could come more often.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 15, 2017

It's becoming our favorite "date night" restaurant in DC. We love everything about it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Very nice meal. Recommend the restaurant. Strong service.

Tags: Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Hands down, this restaurant 's food offerings continue to be outstanding and we'll worth the price point . I continue to enjoy the innovative events that are scheduled for the pleasure of the restaurant's guests...and that is how everyone is treated-as a guest!

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 5, 2017

The food was excellent, as well as the service. Nice ambiance and the noise level was not too loud. We'll go back

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 4, 2017

While I have been to this restaurant many times over the last 10 years, this last visit was disappointing. We were using an OpenTable reward, and this occasion felt like we were being rushed, with sub par attention to detail on the plate, garnishes, side dishes etc. Won't be returning. Sad, as I really had enjoyed my previous experiences there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Among the many options for fine dining in the nation's capital, Ristorante iRicchi is easily the finest of them all. As grand as that sounds, it is the result of getting the essentials right -- location, menu, service, and philosophy -- and combing those elements in ways that best serve the diner.

First: Plan to walk, cab, or Uber to this convenient location in downtown D.C. If you are driving, use the curbside valet and leave the parking to them.

You can dine inside or out on the front terrace in good weather -- each has its advantages. In my last visit, the best spot was a table tucked in the corner of the bar area, right by the windows. Bright and open and yet cozy at the same time.

Owner/chef Christianne Ricchi's appreciation of the Tuscan culinary tradition are in evidence everywhere at iRicchi. Food and wine make culture in her book, and you will enjoy being part of the world she has created in the restaurant that bears her name.

My recommendations include Cozze Farcite Con Salsicce E Finocchio (Prince Edward Island mussels served with homemade sausage, fennel, and roasted tomato). Start with a salad: for a traditional taste, choose Caprese, served w/tricolored heirloom tomatoes, buffalo mozzarella, and balsamic reduction; as an option, consider Tonno E Fagioli (Olive oil poached tuna conserva, cannellini beans, arugula, roasted peppers). Wine selections deserve their own review, but just go with an Italian wine selected by your server. For dessert, try Meringata di Cioccolato Amaro Dolce (Chocolate meringue torte, whipped frozen chocolate mousse).

The service at iRicchi is superior, including respect for the occasion. There is no rush to free up the table, so just savor the experience.

I recommend a visit to the bar. Look for Eric, who is among the best bartenders anywhere. My advice is ask for a recommendation, with a bias toward a classic using the original ingredients.

.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Coffee, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Organic, People Watching, Fun, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Been going there for years. They remain consistently good in all aspects: food and service. If Only They had a nice courtyard.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Upscale Italian. The pastas are freshly made and are really good. Sea scallop appetizer was outstanding, albeit pricy. Servers always friendly and attentive. If you can find a special online, it is well worth a visit.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 2, 2017

We were so full we had to take dessert home. Everything was good, but the rigatoni were perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Service always impeccable and friendly. Food always is fresh and hearty. My new go to business meal location

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Possibly the best Italian food we have had in the states. We live in both Italy 1/2 of the year & the US the other half. If you want true excellent Italian food, THIS is the place to go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 31, 2017

We always enjoy eating at this restaurant. Everyone will remember you if you return. It's a very homey feeling at a very nice restaurant. It is owned by a woman...that may have something to do with the nice touch you get with your food.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 29, 2017

We always go to U Ricchi for special occasions. Thanks to their regular Groupon offers, we're able to enjoy a 3-course meal and a glass of wine without breaking the bank. My highlights were the pasta with fresh corn, mushrooms and ricotta. So delicious and complex. Hubby loved his filetto. The mascarpone cheesecake and strawberry meringue-gelato were deliziosi!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Mixed feelings here. I did not care for the wine or cocktail. Our apps were mediocre. We did not care for the salad or soup. The entrees were very good (rigatoni and cavitappi) the desserts were the star of the show. Nice location and ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

I took my boyfriend to iRicchi for his birthday. We enjoyed the experience from talking to Eric, the bartender, to our waiter, Carlos. Everyone was absolutely hospitable! We ordered the Rigatoni...Delicious...and the tenderloin...Cooked to perfection! We finished the night with two lemoncello shots suggested by Tia. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Dinner was wonderful as usual. I had caprese salad and lamb chops. My hubby had sautéed mushrooms and grilled salmon

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 28, 2017

A neighborhood Italian restaurant near DuPont Circle that is worth adding to your favorites. We have been coming to I Ricci for several years. The food is always good and the service is quite attentive. One of the best features is valet parking. 19th Street is next to impossible to park on, so the valet parking makes it a more pleasant experience.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.