Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 45 times today

Hy's Steakhouse - Toronto

4.6
1276 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$51 and over
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Steakhouse
Top Tags:
  • Romantic
  • Good for a Date
  • Special Occasion
Hy's Toronto has everything you could expect from a classic steakhouse in an elegant, upscale atmosphere. At the entrance, the elegant lounge lures with the sounds of contemporary live music and perfectly chilled martinis. Each unique dining area is more beautiful than the last, from the front room, centered by the famous steak grill, through the open and light-filled atrium to the intimate mezzanine with cozy fireplace and mahogany wine cabinets. Our servers will guide you with professionalism and care, and our award winning, Wine Spectator recognized wine list will tempt you with well chosen labels from around the world. Sink into a plush banquette, enjoy our famous cheese toast and a caesar salad, then savor one of the classic cuts of Canadian Prime beef...and you'll know why Hy's is Canada's premier steakhouse.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Steakhouse, Seafood, Steak
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm and Sunday 4pm-10pm.
Happy Hour weekdays 4-8pm.
For special events, please call the restaurant.

icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(416) 364-6600
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Saku Velummylum
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Hy's is happy to accommodate take out requests. Please call us for details.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
York
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Valet parking on Adelaide St. starting at 5:00pm, Monday to Saturday
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Hy's is located on the Path system and can be accessed through the underground.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Hy's sumptuous cocktail lounge features live entertainment Tuesday through Saturday. Sink into one of the cozy leather sofas, signature martini in hand, and enjoy to the sounds of contemporary Canadian musicians.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Hy's managers are expert party planners. From weddings and rehearsal dinners to important client meetings, to landmark birthday and anniversary celebrations, our team would be delighted to help you make your event perfect.

Private Dining Rooms:
The Richmond Room
DETAILS
Private / Seats 40 (50 Standing)
DESCRIPTION
Warm wood paneling and a spectacular hand painted mural create an inviting oasis in the heart of Toronto’s glass and steel financial district.

Adelaide Room
DETAILS
Private / Seats 75 (90 for Cocktails)
DESCRIPTION
On the second level, tucked above the main floor dining room, your guests can enjoy exclusivity while still sharing the stunning décor and gracious atmosphere of the restaurant.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 1276 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.7
service
4.7
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Quiet
89% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined 3 days ago

This restaurant was great. The service was outstanding and the food was delicious. There was another party who were all obnoxious and vulgar. For a restaurant where ambiance is a selling point, they need to learn to control their guests.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 4 days ago

Good location in the heart of the business district, but not much around there on a weekend.
The food was extremely pricey. Just because you can charge a kings ransom, does not mean you should.

Presentation of the food was disappointing, given that you are spending more than $100/person on average.

Our servers were pleasant and outgoing...
But for what we spent, impossible to justify the value...

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

The staff, service and food were amazing! Our server was fantastic!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Took my spouse here for his birthday as he loves steak houses and what can I say Hy's totally delivered. From the time we checked in for our reservation to our desert coffee. The service was impeccable. Loved it from start to finish.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 4 days ago

Been twice to this location and I must admit my first time was far superior. I ate the exact same thing. This time my steak was overdone and while they offered to make me another one, I passed because everything else gets cold. They did offer dessert but didn’t feel like it. Maybe it was an off night. The appetizers and salads were excellent. I could have stopped after them and been very happy. The ambiance makes the evening.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 5 days ago

We enjoyed our evening. I was very impressed with the service. Would definitely come back and recommend Hy’s to friends and family

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 16, 2018

Love the extensive wine & cocktail list. The food was top notch as well and our servers were excellently attentive.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Your service reminded me of the old world service; Outstanding.
However, being a food snob, my wife's salad was bathing in dressing and one of my portions of lamb was 80% fat. Purhaps a little more quality control would put you over the top.
Other than these disappoining facts, the taste of the lamb was very good and worth ordering. The salad was unfortunetly unedible. My other two quests, were very satisfied.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Loved this restaurant. Service friendly and did not feel rushed. Great steakhouse menu. Beautiful restaurant with charm. The staff did tell me they are moving in 2019.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Love this restaurant. Always good food, friendly wait staff and not too noisy that it easy to have a conversation.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Classic steakhouse. And my favorite. Lots of leather and wood. Martini seated in a wing back chair followed by spectacular service, amazing food and great wine. Beautiful steaks, classic table side prepped caesar salad and topped off with bananas foster. Love love love this place.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Amazing. I reserve 5 stars for above and beyond. The service was great but it could be slightly improved. Regardless, still one of my favourites and I will keep going back. Nothing was lacking.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 9, 2018

Birthday celebration, great experience

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

one of the best meals that I have ever had. fantastic steaks and they make the caesars salad in front of you. highly recommended.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Great service! Outstanding food

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

A wonderful birthday celebration! Great food, great wine, great service!
Thanks so much for making the evening so special!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Excellent food, excellent service. Great location for a special meal. Very happy.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Everything was lovely and I do enjoy Hys every time but I do have to say that charging for plain bread is really a cheap move at this price point.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 3, 2018

We had a wonderful dinner. Steak and lobster were suburb. Always love this place.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 3, 2018

Awesome night. Our food was excellent and service was personal and authentic.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Service and food was excellent. Mikey was attentive and had a great personality. Not our first time there and not our last :)

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Great food as always. Can't wait to go back. Very good suggestion on the wine.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 26, 2018

Great food - really enjoyed our dining experience. Would highly recommend. We will be back for sure!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Beautiful old school interior...Classic steakhouse and cool bar for drinks and conservation. Food top notch, with excellent service. Staff friendly and professional.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Always good food and service! Thank you !

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

The food and the service were both well above ordinary. Really, Hye's is in a class by itself. I'll definitely go again.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 21, 2018

The setting was grand, dignified and somber: colours, muted tones. There were hushed voices in the background, perfect for romantic conversation. We sat in a bench seat. I would have loved to have had a cushion for my back. Service was very attentive and pleasant. I didn’t have enough food to really judge, only a Caesar salad and a steak, but they were both excellent. But it is VERY pricey.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

We had a lovely evening, wonderful meal, and great service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Amazing service. Great food. Expensive.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

Exceeded expectations of a quiet, relaxing environment with super deluxe staff, and a great menu.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 19, 2018

The service, food and ambience is one of the best in Toronto. Highly recommend it!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 18, 2018

Great as usual

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 16, 2018

Hadn't been to HY's in quite awhile and it excellent. Food, service, environment were all great. Would highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 12, 2018

Enjoyed some cocktails and shared a few appetizers tonight. Great service and atmosphere and always great food

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 11, 2018

The food was delectable, and the ambiance was very relaxing. The service was oustanding; our server Torey was just the right amount of attentive and had good instincts for our needs. We will definitely return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 10, 2018

I took my husband to Hy's for his birthday recently and to say we were very happy with everything is a complete understatement! We were absolutely blown away! From the food, to the service, to the ambiance and over all experience, Hy's Steakhouse went above and beyond to ensure we were taken care of from start to finish. Our waiter was very attentive and went the extra mile to make our dining experience one to remember. Not only was I happy, but my husband was beyond amazed. He stated that this was the first steak house he ever went to that actually got his order completely right and exceeded his overall expectation. He typically orders his steak "Chicago Blue" which for many restaurants can be a little tricky- not for Hy's! We will definitely be back in the very near future! Thank you again to the awesome team at Hy's for making my husbands birthday one for the books!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

My wife and I have been coming here for years , we do try several resturants in T.O , and we always seem to have a special spot for this one .. Staff is great and the foord is always on the mark...

We will keep coming back (total is about 25 times) over the last few years... you wont be dissapointed..

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 8, 2018

The waiter was not accommodating at all, he was dismissive and we asked to have our main course brought out a bit later, like 30min and he said it’s not possible. Seemed they wanted to just turn the table, even though we spent over $500 for two ppl just for dinner.

Bottom line, one good experience and one terrible.
With so many great steakhouses with Michael’s, Harbour 60, Morton’s, etc... I’m willing to give Hy’s one more chance to make a difference one way or the other.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Amazing experience. The table-side cooking service is very impressive. Food quality is awesome. Highly recommend

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

It was our anniversary and we had a marvelous time. From the welcome at the front door to the quiet cozy table. From the friendly and knowledgeable staff to the fabulous meal, our experience was unforgettable. We'll be back for sure and would highly recommend Hy's to our friends.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
32

Tweets by Hy's Steakhouse - Toronto