Hy's Steakhouse - Toronto

4.7
1296 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$51 and over
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Steakhouse
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for a Date
  • Romantic
Hy's Toronto has everything you could expect from a classic steakhouse in an elegant, upscale atmosphere. At the entrance, the elegant lounge lures with the sounds of contemporary live music and perfectly chilled martinis. Each unique dining area is more beautiful than the last, from the front room, centered by the famous steak grill, through the open and light-filled atrium to the intimate mezzanine with cozy fireplace and mahogany wine cabinets. Our servers will guide you with professionalism and care, and our award winning, Wine Spectator recognized wine list will tempt you with well chosen labels from around the world. Sink into a plush banquette, enjoy our famous cheese toast and a caesar salad, then savor one of the classic cuts of Canadian Prime beef...and you'll know why Hy's is Canada's premier steakhouse.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Steakhouse, Seafood, Steak
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm and Sunday 4pm-10pm.
Happy Hour weekdays 4-8pm.
For special events, please call the restaurant.

icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(416) 364-6600
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Saku Velummylum
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Hy's is happy to accommodate take out requests. Please call us for details.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
York
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Valet parking on Adelaide St. starting at 5:00pm, Monday to Saturday
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Hy's is located on the Path system and can be accessed through the underground.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Hy's sumptuous cocktail lounge features live entertainment Tuesday through Saturday. Sink into one of the cozy leather sofas, signature martini in hand, and enjoy to the sounds of contemporary Canadian musicians.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Hy's managers are expert party planners. From weddings and rehearsal dinners to important client meetings, to landmark birthday and anniversary celebrations, our team would be delighted to help you make your event perfect.

Private Dining Rooms:
The Richmond Room
DETAILS
Private / Seats 40 (50 Standing)
DESCRIPTION
Warm wood paneling and a spectacular hand painted mural create an inviting oasis in the heart of Toronto’s glass and steel financial district.

Adelaide Room
DETAILS
Private / Seats 75 (90 for Cocktails)
DESCRIPTION
On the second level, tucked above the main floor dining room, your guests can enjoy exclusivity while still sharing the stunning décor and gracious atmosphere of the restaurant.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 1296 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.7based on recent ratings
4.7
food
4.7
service
4.7
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Quiet
92% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 21 hours ago

Wonderful as always.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

The Beef Wellington was great. The place is beautiful and the service was awesome

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Mickey was our waiter and he was AMAZING! He saw that we weren’t from Toronto and he automatically spoke to us in french. The Food was great as always.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Thank you so much for helping us celebrate my husband earning his PhD! The food was incredible (we were still talking about it days later!) and the service was fantastic! We will most definitely be return patrons!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 7 days ago

We returned after many years to find the same ambience, great quality food, and pleasant service. We were 4 people, there on a Sunday for Father’s Day dinner and thoroughly enjoyed our evening. The food was piping hot to the last bite, the steak was done to perfection and the tableside flambéd bananas foster were delish! The server was very personable and friendly and provided attentive service throughout. The only thing that marred the experience a little was the state of the men’s washroom. In a place like Hy’s you expect everything to be impeccable, so the cleanliness of the washroom requires better and regular attention. Overall though we were quite happy and will return again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

Todo estuvo delicioso, el servicio Excelente... fue un verdadero gusto cenar en hy’s

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

Wait staff is exceptional. We were there with our 3 young children and they were so accommodating! Shout out to Dorian and Sandra! Food is top notch as well!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

Great food. Awesome service. My favourite steakhouse in Toronto

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 14, 2018

This is my third time that I am disappointed by the quality of the meal - not tender and chewy. when you buy there best and recommended cut and you have it cooked to the chef's recommendation there are no excuses for disappointment.

Not recommended and will not be returning.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 14, 2018

Hy's is an amazing place - It's certainly a Fine Dining Experience like no other.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 13, 2018

It was great!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 13, 2018

Great service (Mikey was our server), excellent food and wonderful ambiance. Tables are spaced far enough apart so that one can't overhead adjacent conversation. Worthy of a visit.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

Amazing service our server was amazing all throughout the meal experience !

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 6, 2018

+++ Fantastic food. Excellent variety on the menu. Tables are nicely spaced (can't overheard the next table's conversations). Drink menu is great. Service is superb, always there if needed but don't disturb the meal experience or conversation with questions like "how's everything"x15. Meal portions just perfect!

--- I must admit I'm not a big fan of the drink menu on a tablet (especially if the app is low-cost, slow and not quite user friendly).

I will definitely be back for a steak, cocktail and pistachio creme brulee (mmmm).

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Amazing service as always. The cocktails are exceptional and the wine list extensive. Excellent food and a wonderful place to linger over several courses. My favourite restaurant in Toronto.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

Excellent!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 1, 2018

We had a great time! My boyfriend and I went for our anniversary and they went above and beyond to help us celebrate! It was a great experience!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 31, 2018

The ambience was great. Service was the best and of course the food was great. Steaks done exactly right great place

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 30, 2018

We had a wonderful dining experience, thank you!

The steak - 20 oz rib bone in was flavourful and grilled just right.

The mushrooms, wine were great and service was impeccable! We will be back soon

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 25, 2018

Fantastic - excellent service and food

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 21, 2018

This restaurant was great. The service was outstanding and the food was delicious. There was another party who were all obnoxious and vulgar. For a restaurant where ambiance is a selling point, they need to learn to control their guests.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 20, 2018

Good location in the heart of the business district, but not much around there on a weekend.
The food was extremely pricey. Just because you can charge a kings ransom, does not mean you should.

Presentation of the food was disappointing, given that you are spending more than $100/person on average.

Our servers were pleasant and outgoing...
But for what we spent, impossible to justify the value...

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

The staff, service and food were amazing! Our server was fantastic!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

Took my spouse here for his birthday as he loves steak houses and what can I say Hy's totally delivered. From the time we checked in for our reservation to our desert coffee. The service was impeccable. Loved it from start to finish.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 20, 2018

Been twice to this location and I must admit my first time was far superior. I ate the exact same thing. This time my steak was overdone and while they offered to make me another one, I passed because everything else gets cold. They did offer dessert but didn’t feel like it. Maybe it was an off night. The appetizers and salads were excellent. I could have stopped after them and been very happy. The ambiance makes the evening.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 19, 2018

We enjoyed our evening. I was very impressed with the service. Would definitely come back and recommend Hy’s to friends and family

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 16, 2018

Love the extensive wine & cocktail list. The food was top notch as well and our servers were excellently attentive.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Your service reminded me of the old world service; Outstanding.
However, being a food snob, my wife's salad was bathing in dressing and one of my portions of lamb was 80% fat. Purhaps a little more quality control would put you over the top.
Other than these disappoining facts, the taste of the lamb was very good and worth ordering. The salad was unfortunetly unedible. My other two quests, were very satisfied.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Loved this restaurant. Service friendly and did not feel rushed. Great steakhouse menu. Beautiful restaurant with charm. The staff did tell me they are moving in 2019.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Love this restaurant. Always good food, friendly wait staff and not too noisy that it easy to have a conversation.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Classic steakhouse. And my favorite. Lots of leather and wood. Martini seated in a wing back chair followed by spectacular service, amazing food and great wine. Beautiful steaks, classic table side prepped caesar salad and topped off with bananas foster. Love love love this place.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Amazing. I reserve 5 stars for above and beyond. The service was great but it could be slightly improved. Regardless, still one of my favourites and I will keep going back. Nothing was lacking.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 9, 2018

Birthday celebration, great experience

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

one of the best meals that I have ever had. fantastic steaks and they make the caesars salad in front of you. highly recommended.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Great service! Outstanding food

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

A wonderful birthday celebration! Great food, great wine, great service!
Thanks so much for making the evening so special!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Excellent food, excellent service. Great location for a special meal. Very happy.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Everything was lovely and I do enjoy Hys every time but I do have to say that charging for plain bread is really a cheap move at this price point.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 3, 2018

We had a wonderful dinner. Steak and lobster were suburb. Always love this place.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 3, 2018

Awesome night. Our food was excellent and service was personal and authentic.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
33

Tweets by Hy's Steakhouse - Toronto