Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi
  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi
  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi

About Hutch American Bistro - Lakeview

Hutch offers a great place to celebrate any occasion or event at our laid-back restaurant in Chicago, IL.

Melt into casual comfort with a backdrop of warm chocolate browns and deep espresso leather booths. Located just south from Wrigley Field in vibrant East Lakeview neighborhood, our conveniently located American bistro invites you to enjoy great American food. Experience panoramic city street views while joining us for small bites, crafted cocktails, full dinners or lively brunches. For great food, good times and lasting memories; relish in the Hutch experience… where you Eat. Laugh. Belong.

3301 N Clark St
Chicago, IL 60657
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Barbecue, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Weekday Brunch Hours:
Monday - Friday: 10:00 am - 3:00 pm
$2 mimoas $8 bloodys $10 carafes

Happy Hours:
3-6 pm Bar Area Only

Dinner Hours :
Monday - Thursday 5:00 pm - 9:00pm

Friday - Saturday: 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Sunday: 5:00 pm - 9pm

Brunch served Daily
10:00 am - 3:00 pm

WE DON'T TAKE RESERVATION FOR OUR PATIO OR BAR !

Cross Street:
Aldine/School

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(773) 248-1155

Website:
http://hutchchicago.com/

Public Transit:
#22 Clark Bus
2 blocks from the Belmont El Stop

Private Party Facilities:
Hutch offers a great place to celebrate any occasion or event at our laid-back restaurant in Chicago, IL

Melt into casual comfort with a backdrop of warm chocolate browns and deep espresso leather booths.

Private Party Contact:
Jude Abella: (855) 808-5713

Special Events & Promotions:
Hutch offers a great place to celebrate any occasion or event at our laid-back restaurant in Chicago, IL.

Hutch American Bistro - Lakeview Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

Noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (23)
Casual (20)
Fun (19)
See All
Good for Groups (17)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Comfort Food (14)
Happy Hour (10)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Cozy (10)
People Watching (9)
Good for a Date (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Bar Seating (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Authentic (5)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Romantic (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Healthy (2)
Seasonal (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Business Meals (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Sort by
S
694 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

had drinks and light dinner with a friend. we love going there during the week, not too crowded, but fun atmosphere. the wine is fantastic, martinis great! and the food was remarkable. always find a chance to go back!

Tags: Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Fun, People Watching, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Biggest takeaway was the fact that we waited an hour for our table past our reservation time. There is nowhere to stand and we kept checking in with no update. Once we sat down our experience got way better but an hour wait time when you have a reso is really frustrating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

The fried chicken and biscuit was not good. Will not be returning here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

There was nothing that set this place above every other corner. I expected better food as it was over complicated.

Noisy place

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 2, 2018

I went to Huxth with two girlfriends and it was the perfect brunch spot. The mimosa special ($2 singles, $10 bottle) was hard to beat! Cute atmosphere, not too loud. My meal was very good. Our waiter was so wonderful and very attentive to us.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on January 1, 2018

We made a reservation on New Years Day for 2:30pm and weren't seated until about 3pm even though we did arrive 15 minutes early. It was somewhat understandable only because it was a holiday and they were extremely busy; however, we made reservations for a reason. Once we were seated it was directly in front of the DJ they had playing. Only good thing, the DJ was done about 10 minutes later. The food was AMAZING! It took a little longer than usual to get our drinks but they were also extremely good. Would for sure recommend getting the jalapeno/pineapple tequila shot. I could have sat there all day and had them. LOL! I also liked that they are open for brunch every day. Will be visiting again soon!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

 
·Dined on January 1, 2018

We were seated in front of the loud DJ speakers so had to shout to hear each other. The table wobbled so much that our drinks spilled. Food was OK, not great. $6 for 3 silver dollar pancakes for a child is excessive.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 29, 2017

Excellent food, service and atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 28, 2017

Great meal. We had the hutch fries (truffle cheese fondue was killer), the potato soup of the day and the tomato soup (both warm and hearty on a freezing Chicago night), the steak + baguette sandwich, and the kale and beet salad. The sandwich was huge and delicious. The salad looked incredibly filling as well.

We were on a time crunch for a show because we hit a lot of unexpected traffic. The wait staff and kitchen team were able to make sure we had drinks, an appetizer, and our meals in time. The service was top notch.

Highly recommend overall!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 24, 2017

It was Christmas Eve brunch. The staff were friendly and efficient. The food was delicious. I’ll definitely be back and recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 22, 2017

Hutch has never failed to be a nice, engaging place to have brunch with friends or to dine solo. The staff at Hutch are fantastic and friendly people and I always know I will be taken care of. Also- they have delicious and affordable mimosas! I love Hutch! It's one of my favorite restaurants in Chicago!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 21, 2017

It is one of our favorite brunch and dinner places,
Consistently good with great service.

Tags: Comfort Food, Quick Bite, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 20, 2017

Great friendly restaurant with good food. You always feel very welcome there. The Happy Hour from 4-6 is one of the best around. So worth it!!!! Maura the bartender is great...

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 18, 2017

Waited an hour for our food even though the restaurant wasn't busy. Server didn't come to the table to refill drinks or check on us the whole time we were waiting for our food. My friend ordered a second cocktail once our food arrived and the server didn't bring the drink to our table until we were all finished with our food and then was charged $4 for the ice that went into my friend's cocktail.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 10, 2017

Great place to get together with friends. A twist on some old favorites and great drinks. Friendly wait staff

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 9, 2017

My friends and I were visiting from out of town and came across Hatch on Open Table. We are so thankful that we chose to go here! Celebrating 2 birthdays, the waitress was wonderful, gracious and incredibly helpful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 8, 2017

Second time at Hutch. Always great service and food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 7, 2017

Sad to say this was a flop. We just moved to the area and were eager to try Hutch. Great drinks and happy hour in the bar, then moved to the dining room for dinner. It wasn’t full but was loud...can’t imagine what it’s like at capacity. We were very clear that one of us had allergy to gluten - steak first cake with onion rings on top (not safe). They remade a steak they came super well done and so dry (we ordered medium+). Ended up just comping it and I had a sandwich when I got home.

Strengths: happy hour.
Weaknesses: food prep and noise.

We may try it again but not for awhile!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 3, 2017

We came for brunch on boyfriend’s birthday. Despite the restaurant being full (Sunday brunch) our waitress was amazing! Callie was quick, attentive, and always was available when needed. The mimosas were flavorful and strong (we tried pineapple and blood orange - easily the best one) and the carafes (enough for 7 full flights) have an entire bottle of champagne in them for only $16. The food was also amazing. I had the pulled bacon Benedict, my boyfriend had the chicken and waffles. At the end they gave him a bottle of champagne and a $10 gift card! Definitely recommend coming here for brunch any day of the week.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 2, 2017

Food was good, service was as well. Just extremely noisy in there. You really can't hold a conversation with someone across the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 2, 2017

I've been to Hutch many times for dinner and loved it. This was our first time there for lunch and the noise level was just unbearable. It was hard to hear any conversation. I would recommend it for dinner but take a pass at Saturday/Sunday brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 26, 2017

This restaurant is nice, but VERY LOUD! I couldn't hear the person sitting across the table from me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 26, 2017

Food is delicious and creative! Had a minor issue but the server was attentive, courteous and immediately took care of it. Will definitely be coming back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 18, 2017

Despite having a reservation, the host sat 3 of us at a 2 top with me sticking out into the middle of the walkway. I was bumped into every 3 seconds and felt uncomfortable the entire time. All other service was great, but that one host who made a weird decision ruined my time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 18, 2017

We have been to Hutch a couple times prior and have enjoyed it. Everything was fine with this visit until I received my braised short ribs. The plate had a huge serving of mashed potatoes and 2 very small slices of the short rib ( each piece was one bite). At the price of $26.95 I was surprised and mentioned to my husband I spent a lot on potatoes. The waitress inquired as to our satisfaction,and I did mention that although the short ribs were excellent I was disappointed in the size of the serving. She must have mentioned this to the manager and in about 15 min another plate of short ribs appeared. This serving was 3x the size of the first. Needless to say I was more than satisfied and will definitely return for their fabulous short ribs again.
My husband had the double cut pork chop with the bourbon glaze and it was to die for!!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 12, 2017

The atmosphere was loud and energetic. The food choices were good. The wait staff was attentive and not overly pushy. A good portion for brunch and the cheesy potatoes are a mandatory choice as they are sooo yummy!

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 12, 2017

The food was delicious but the service was terrible.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 11, 2017

We had a huge party that kept on growing in size. Hutch took care of us amazingly. Food is good, drinks were better. They got our order and us out of the the place right in time for our next event. Definitely would come here again. Service was spot on.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Really nice waiter and a good solid menu with some fun options, like lobster nachos which were good if you love won tons the way I do.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 10, 2017

A great burger, literally, and wonderful service to match. TJ was very kind and helpful! Would definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 9, 2017

One of our favorites!
We like it for brunch and for dinner!
Highly recommmended.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 6, 2017

Horrible food!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Friendly and fun staff! Loved the food and extra accommodations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 2, 2017

Raisin or Fig that is the question. Great prosciutto flat bread, menu said figs came out with raisins. Hmm, if you don’t have figs in house I get it, just say so. Server said always comes with raisins. Meatloaf said homemade, maybe, seemed too perfect, tasty but needed some lumps. While not a salt adder, turkey burger slightly salty, sauce made the difference.
Their happy hour and apps are great and would go back for those, maybe not for dining.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 29, 2017

Food was just ok. Service was great but it was way too crowded for comfort. Tables were tiny and it was overwhelming.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 29, 2017

Amazing food great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 29, 2017

This restaurant is garbage. A 90 minutes table limit is just poor policy. The champagne glasses are plastic. Food was mediocre at best and it came out cold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on October 28, 2017

This is one of my most favorite brunch spots in the area, it never lets me down and I love that most dishes come with the hash brown casserole, it's just the best. I also very much suggest the Iced Mexican Macchiato it's fantastic, try everything, I've never had a bad meal here any time of the day.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 22, 2017

I came here for my birthday and they made it so special! Instead of dessert, they give bottles of champagne! What a wonderful treat. :) Thanks for adding some extra joy to my 25th!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 22, 2017

Great brunch!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.