Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.41mi
  2. Distance: 0.52mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.68mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.41mi
  2. Distance: 0.52mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.68mi

About Hult's

Hult’s is an award winning casual fine dining restaurant serving California cuisine with Swedish influences. The interior offers an upscale, casual atmosphere, with a warm and welcoming wrap-around full bar while the newly built outdoor patio features comfortable seating surrounded by ambient glass fire tables. Open for Lunch, Dinner and Sunday Brunch. In addition to a seasonal al a carte menu, the “Hult’s Experience” offers a five course tasting menu, made from the freshest seasonal ingredients. Pair your meal with a wide variety our Californian boutique wines, authentic French Champagnes, specialty cocktails or craft beers. With an ever changing menu, we invite you to discover the Hult’s Experience. See for yourself why Hult’s was awarded “Small Business of the Year” 2016 in Silicon Valley by the State Goverment

165 Los Gatos Saratoga Rd
Los Gatos, CA 95030
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Swedish

Hours of Operation:
Monday Closed
Tuesday: 4:30pm-9:00pm
Wednesday: 4:30pm-9:00pm
Thursday: 4:30pm-9:00pm
Friday: 4:30pm-10:00pm
Saturday: 4:30pm-10:00pm
Sunday: 10:00am-2:00pm, 4:30-9:00pm

Cross Street:
University Ave / Highway 9

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(408) 354-3434

Website:
http://www.hultsrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is available in our private lot.
On Fridays and Saturdays we have valet service. $6 for Hult's guests.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Wine Wall Wednesday's ALL bottles of wine are 50% OFF

Happy Hour Tuesday-Sunday INCLUDING WEEKENDS 4.30pm - 6.30pm

"Julbord" a Swedish Christmas Smorgasbord, first 3 Sundays in December.
5:00-9:00pm.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Hult's is perfectly located for private dining, with ample parking and easy access right off HWY 17. At Hult's we pride ourselves in being an industry leader in private dining. No room fees, no minimums and the owner, Alex Hult, will help make your event special.

Hult's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Quiet

82% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (37)
Special Occasion (30)
Good for Anniversaries (27)
See All
Creative Cuisine (26)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Notable Wine List (19)
Great for Outdoor Dining (19)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Romantic (17)
Casual (16)
Business Meals (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Authentic (13)
Bar Seating (13)
Good for Groups (13)
Tasting Menu (13)
Local Ingredients (12)
Happy Hour (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Fun (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Cozy (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Seasonal (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Great for Brunch (3)
Organic (3)
People Watching (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Tapas (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great Beer (1)
Live Sports (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Scenic View (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
904 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

A unique menu offering delicious starters and entrees. Was difficult to select because so many sounded good. Definitely would return.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Nice ambience, good food, great service. Phyllo prawns starter was delicious and the scallops main was pretty good too. The filet steak was a tad over cooked on the outside but then that's what you get if you want it medium well cooked.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Overall we were very disappointed again. It's been some time since we tried Hult's so we thought to give it another try....in short it was a fail for the money.
The service was very spotty, you'd think two of four dinners having empty wine glasses might be a signal they need my wine. The meatball appetizer was very good, which helped because the rest of the meal was underwhelming. I was excited about the Elk filet until it showed up cold, the salmon was overcooked but the filet was pretty good. The wine selection was pretty good but all in $450 for a dinner for four was over priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

The Salomon entree was superb delicate and flavorful ... the pumpkin ravioli as an appetizer with sprinkled pecans - fantastic!!! Melt in your mouth good...

Our table request by the window never happened... new bartender so drinks were slow and often had to be re-made... and dessert plate had whip cream which was not fresh - taste like sour milk-bummer

We came at my suggestion after having a nice brunch there and we celebrating a birthday ... I plan to come again for the food and hopefully they can fix the service, bar, and ingredients for freshness...

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Pretty good brunch menu (Sunday). Eggs Benedict was good, side of potatoes were pretty plain (seasoned, but not all cooked through), probably needs some additions e.g. onions, veggies. Chicken & Waffles were OK, a little meager on the chicken (white nuggets, breaded) and waffles needed a bit more crunch. A bottomless Mimosa was a huge hit.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Disabled Access, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 17, 2017

This has become one of our favorite spots. Easy to get to and consistent food and welcoming service. Totally recommend it but hope it stays quaint.

Tags: Casual, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Healthy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 17, 2017

We love this restaurant for its imaginative and stylish presentation, delicious and healthy food, and interesting menu items. Well worth the expense, whether for a special occasion or just the impulse to enjoy the dining experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 16, 2017

The meatballs were horrible! Tasted like day old hamburger overcooked...hard as a rock! They were on a bed of mashed potatoes saturated in what was to be gravy! Never again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Went to Hults on a date night. We had the beat and goat cheese salad that was super good. As entres we had the filet and the braised short rib. Both were really good. Almost forgot they make a nice Manhattan and have a solid wine selection. Waiter was attentive and new his craft. Will definitely go again.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Swedish Meatballs were fabulous. Will be my entree next time. Mashed potatoes were wonderful. Cocktails made exactly as we requested. Wonderful Wait staff!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 9, 2017

First time diners. Celebrating an anniversary. Server learned of this and promptly brought us complimentary champagne. Server also very knowledgeable about the menu, how best to order meats (if considering), wines to match, etc. Very efficient kitchen. Attentive water and plate removal service. Never felt rushed. Creative menu, though not very expansive. All in all a lovely evening. Definitely will try again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

My wife and I have been celebrating all of our special occasions at Hult's since they opened. We also enjoy the happy hour. The staff is very knowledgable about wines and cocktails. Their pairing is great. We still have a special table we used the first time we went there. An awesome place to relax with fine dining and friendly staff.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Been to Hult's many times. Food is always great in taste and presentation department. Service has always been friendly, too, though it is not always efficient or careful/attentive. Big disappointment this time was that the restaurant's signature appetizer (toast skagen) and one of its best desserts were not available/sold out. Really? Not that many customers... Poor planning on the restaurant's part and not the first time something has been sold out. Still, I really like this place overall despite some of its occasional kinks.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

Arriving early, we sat down at the bar to take advantage of the happy hour before it ended at 6:30pm. Our drinks: Sangria and an old fashioned were good, and very well priced. We opted not to get food at the bar since we dining shortly thereafter. Our service from the bartender was great, unfortunately after that, it was all downhill from there.

We were not greeted by our server for 7 minutes. For appetizers we ordered the grilled octopus and beets with goat cheese. The Octopus was the highlight of the evening. While not as good as Odeum's spanish octopus in Morgan Hill, it was still delicious 4.5/5. The beets with goat cheese was good, but there was a disproportionate amount of goat cheese and not enough beets.

For our entrees, my in-laws enjoyed their salmon and scallops, they're not exactly foodies, but I take their word for it. My wife's risotto was overpriced at $27 as it did not include a protein. I appreciate the inclusion of a vegetarian dish on the menu, but it's a terrible value. Additionally the rice was undercooked. My elk was clearly either seared or they forgot to put it into the sousvide early enough as it was just cooked on the outside and raw on the inside. I would have sent mine back to be cooked longer, but our server was nowhere to be seen. He did not check on us after receiving our appetizers or our entrees. We saw our busser more often than our server, clearing our plates, and grinding pepper for the beet & goat cheese salad.

There were no more than 9 tables dining at the same time among the two servers working. Later we observed our server talking with the hostess, seemingly flirting with her.

Most of the time I'm willing to give a restaurant a 2nd chance, but not Hults. The HH hour is good, but find another place to dine. There are plenty of other good restaurants in Los Gatos that offer attentive service and great food.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 4, 2017

What a treat. Bartender Jonathan took great care of us, the cocktails and tasting menu were outstanding, but the dessert was entertaining as well as crazy delicious. Some kind of chocolate thing that changed shape as waitress poured hot chocolate syrup on it. Fun to watch but better to eat.

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Live Sports, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fun, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

We made our first wedding anniversary reservation at Hult's because we have had such refreshing, amazing experiences here before. While the service wasn't bad, we missed the extra touch of the server being knowledgeable about what we were ordering and the chef coming out to greet us like we had experienced in previous times before. That's what set Hult's apart for us from the beginning- we felt special in a packed dining room. The food is great, so we'll dine here again, but it's (unfortunately) noted that we won't be sharing special events here anymore. Don't let this defer from a great date night, though!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Michael was the best wait staff person we've ever had there. But, after being greeted by name when we arrived and stated our reservation, it was irritating to get a "no show" email from Open Table!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Perfect for an interesting take on Scandinavian/American/modern cuisine. Outdoor seating by fire is cozy. Indoor is cozy too, but sleek.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Quick Bite, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Disabled Access, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 27, 2017

We enjoyed our dinner at Hult's. The menu is a refreshing change from that of some restaurants that try too hard to be trendy. The chicken piccatta was perfectly cooked and very flavorful. I would also recommend the Swedish Meatballs.

Tags: Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

We got the beets and goat cheese salad. All goat cheese and small sliced beets. Was disappointed. We order the scampi pasta which was described as shrimp skewer with garlic,cream, fresh herbs. Pasta very dry. No cream or fresh herbs. Very spicy with red pepper flakes. Diffently not what you would expect. Looked at the desert menus which we could find nothing we wanted, which is very rare for us. Very dispointed in the meal and will never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Overall the meal was too expensive given the quality. The ahi poke and the filet were both salty and even after taking out the cost of the wine the meal was way too expensive given the overall quality and execution problems. I really want to like the restaurant but the cost quality points have taken Hults off our dining list. The only extremely positive thing I can say is that the bar was really great.

Tags: Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Excellent dishes and superb service. We enjoyed their specialty meatball appetizer, as well as the duck, scallops, fillet mignonette, and risotto for our entrees. All of the dishes were delicious. We look forward to returning.

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Had a reservation for 11am. We arrived at ten and they were happy to seat us early. Thank you!!

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 20, 2017

The drinks and appetizers were very good. The entrees would benefit from more attention to detail.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Both N.Y. Beef and duck breast are salty.
The beef is bit over done.
The pork belly appetizer is very good.
The chocolate sphere ice cream is delicious
but portion is small and expensive for $14.00.
Tables in the main dining area have no table
cloth. Outdoor tables have table cloth but some of the customers are not probably dresssed with T shirts and slippers.
I can find better food, price and ambience some where else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Celebrated our 10th wedding anniversary here and had a great time. Hult's made the night really special. Great food, great service, definitely worth the money.

Tags: Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Decent flavors but several of the dishes are way overpriced ($14 for 5 small cracker crostini!?) and an overcooked filet just isn't ok. I will say the Melting Chocolate Sphere was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Overpriced for value (one of the three scallops in one entree was bad, nitrate-taste bad). Short rib was very good. Elk ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Super chill place. The food was really good and different...and Wednesday is 1/2 off on bottles of wine up to a certain dollar amount. I will be back again for sure!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Went on a Tuesday evening so there wasn't many people there. However, service was still extremely slow for us. The wait staff was fine but the food took forever. When it did arrive the food was excellent but portion sizes varied between dishes. The outside seating was spacious and inside was well appointed. Overall mixed feelings and the day could have contributed to the experience.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Dependably good food and a menu that will appeal to most. California cuisine with a Swedish veneer. Ambience: Cozy, dark, cool interior that will leave you breathing a sigh a relief when you come in from the heat and bright sun. Sleeveless diners may want to bring a wrap.

Depending on your entree, an appetizer might be too much food, less you share. That said, leave room for desert if you want to celebrate a special occasion. The coffee is drinkable!

Cocktails here have not disappointed.

I wouldn't recommend this restaurant for children--especially not young children under 12; older children and teens might fare well, but why take a chance? Adults, come and enjoy yourselves!

Attentive wait staff. Water glasses kept filled, utensils provided without having to remind.

Reservations can be made conveniently at OpenTable.

We were there around 6:30 on a Saturday. Quiet enough that my hearing impaired date had no trouble with the volume.

Goes on my "keeper" list.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 3, 2017

my meat dish was average. Overall, overpriced for the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Great food as always and very generous servings and Michel was a great server. The restaurant was packed which is always a good sign for a restaurant.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 27, 2017

The meat balls and octopus are both delicious. As a starter, the octopus is definitely to share. It's a hearty serving. The accompanying salad was a little too acidic. The raspberry sorbet has an intense raspberry flavor - delicious. Enjoyable dining once again at Hult's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

Absolutely wonderful everything! Food, ambiance, service. Now one of my fav places for American fine dining:)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

Potatoes were under cooked for brunch service. Coffee wasn't very hot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Had my sister and hubby visiting from Canada and we all loved everything! Thanks...

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Hults was as better than the last time we went. The short ribs were melt in your mount delicious. The service was outstanding and the ambiance was just what we needed, low level of noise allowing us to talk with our friends.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 22, 2017

It was such a delicious experience. The service was phenomenal and I loved everything I had from appetizer to entree. I can't wait to come back and try something new.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 20, 2017

We shared the grilled octopus appetizer which we both loved. It came with a side of greens and was very flavorful and tender. My husband had the N.Y. Strip Steak which came out cooked perfectly. The potato cake needed some salt, but that was an easy fix. The brocolini was a tad over cooked, but still very pleasant. I had the seared scallops. OMG, fabulous! Three lg. scallops on top of parsnip sauce plus chimichurri sauce with each topped with a parsnip chip. It was a much lighter meal than the steak, but that was perfect for me.

We sat in the patio, as we had our puppy with us. The noise and gas fumes from the traffic were unfortunate, but that's the price we paid for having the pooch with us.

On Wednesdays, all wine is 1/2 price, but we choose to bring a bottle of Sea Smoke Pinot. The corkage fee was $20.

Our server, Michael, was attentive and friendly but fell short on two counts. She asked if it was a special occasion, and we said it was a birthday, as well as noting it in the reservation. It was never acknowledged past that. Secondly, I also noticed that the tables inside were served bread baskets, which none of the patio tables had. We didn't need the carbs, but it would have been nice to have the option.

The food was served promptly and everything was fresh and piping hot. The prices are top notch, but so is the quality. It was the third time we have dined there and would return, but without canine companionship, so we could sit inside.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.