Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.41mi
  2. Distance: 0.52mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.68mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.41mi
  2. Distance: 0.52mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.68mi

About Hult's

Hult’s is an award winning casual fine dining restaurant serving California cuisine with Swedish influences. The interior offers an upscale, casual atmosphere, with a warm and welcoming wrap-around full bar while the newly built outdoor patio features comfortable seating surrounded by ambient glass fire tables. Open for Lunch, Dinner and Sunday Brunch. In addition to a seasonal al a carte menu, the “Hult’s Experience” offers a five course tasting menu, made from the freshest seasonal ingredients. Pair your meal with a wide variety our Californian boutique wines, authentic French Champagnes, specialty cocktails or craft beers. With an ever changing menu, we invite you to discover the Hult’s Experience. See for yourself why Hult’s was awarded “Small Business of the Year” 2016 in Silicon Valley by the State Goverment

165 Los Gatos Saratoga Rd
Los Gatos, CA 95030
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Swedish

Hours of Operation:
Monday Closed
Tuesday: 11:00am-2:30pm, 4:30-9:00pm
Wednesday: 11:00am-2:30pm, 4:30-9:00pm
Thursday: 11:00am-2:30pm, 4:30-9:00pm
Friday: 11:00am-2:30pm, 4:30-10:00pm
Saturday: 11:00am-2:30pm, 4:30-10:00pm
Sunday: 10:00am-2:00pm, 4:30-9:00pm

Cross Street:
University Ave / Highway 9

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(408) 354-3434

Website:
http://www.hultsrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is available in our private lot.
On Fridays and Saturdays we have valet service. $6 for Hult's guests.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Wine Wall Wednesday's ALL bottles of wine are 50% OFF

Happy Hour Tuesday-Sunday INCLUDING WEEKENDS 4.30pm - 6.30pm

"Julbord" a Swedish Christmas Smorgasbord, first 3 Sundays in December.
5:00-9:00pm.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Hult's is perfectly located for private dining, with ample parking and easy access right off HWY 17. At Hult's we pride ourselves in being an industry leader in private dining. No room fees, no minimums and the owner, Alex Hult, will help make your event special.

Hult's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.8

ambience

3.9

value

3.4

noise

Moderate

70% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (22)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Good for a Date (17)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Romantic (14)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Bar Seating (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
Local Ingredients (11)
Seasonal (10)
Happy Hour (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Casual (9)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Cozy (9)
Modern Decor (8)
Authentic (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Fun (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Business Meals (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Healthy (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Hot Spot (2)
People Watching (2)
Family Style (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Great Beer (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Fireplace (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Vegan (1)
Organic (1)
Live Sports (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
820 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Halibut was overlooked and cold. Short rib tough - disappointing tonight

Tags: Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

The restaurant was uncrowned at 7:00 PM on the Thursday we arrived. Unfortunately, the air conditioning made our indoor seating very uncomfortable. After the second time we mentioned it, they turned it off. Our two appetizers and two main dishes were all excellent. The service was spotty, even though the restaurant was not at all crowded.
Overall, our experience was very good, and we will return in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Hults owner always on hand. Service getting better. Great neighborhood feel. A bit elegant but friendly.

Tags: Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Sunday brunch
20 Minutes waiting for the table to be ready even with a reservation
Credit card used for reservation with unclear cancellation policy
Food was below average (weird recipe with waffle and chicken..., roasted potatoes reheated, fries over cooked)
Service sluggish
Bathrooms not clean at all...
All for a very expensive price ($50/person + drinks)
Not a good experience
Will not return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Amazing food with great service! The outdoor ambiance was very nice with ample shade for those sunny days and outdoor heaters when it's a little chilly.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Granted this was Mother's Day, and crowded, but the service had a lot to be desired.
My 98 year old aunt and I sat for a good ten minutes before even water was brought to the table.
Then we had to wait for the waiter to come back and take our order. He was friendly enough just not very efficient. The food was tasty and well prepared...only problem, the waiter brought us the check before we even had dessert, which was part of the prix fixe brunch menu for Mother's Day.
I have eaten there before, though not on a holiday, and both service and food were good, so I would give it another try, just not when they're slammed, because the service did suffer.

Tags: Live Sports, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I should preface with the fact that their happy hour and regular menu are both great. The Mothers Day prix fixe menu, however, was sorely disappointing. Plain salad, thin soggy waffles, and dense bread pudding with no drink. The "special" menu was more expensive than the regular a la carte menu and less tasty. I will return for sure but not for the prix fixe menus.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Overall the food was pretty good. The appatisers were all very good. We got the pork belly, swedish meatballs, and phyllo dough shrimp. For main courses, The scallops were tasty, The short ribs very good, but the chicken marsala had no flavor and the chicken was very dry. I'd probably go back since most of the food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Considering there were many open tables, the service was pretty slow - even to get seated, despite our reservation.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 8, 2017

The ravioli was the best dish of all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The caramelized banana waffle was not caramelized. It was a waffle with fruit on top. The poached eggs on the Benedict were over cooked and the dish arrived at the table cold. There were perhaps 8 very small pieces of potato accompanying it. I asked for the Hollandaise on the side. It arrived on my dish. I would not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Nothing we had at Hult's was bad. The service was friendly and professional. Some of the food was quite remarkable.

The elk was excellent. I loved the lemon cake. The pork belly was delicious.

The scallops were very good, but that is where we start to get into a little bit of an issue. The portion size on the scallops was ridiculously small for a main dish. 3 u-10 scallops and 3 parsnip chips for $34, that seems a bit stingy.

And in short, that was the problem with Hult's. For $100/head (we'd cocktails, but no wine. The bill, with valet and tip was an even $500, for the 5 of us.), I expect more.

For example, the table was very slightly wobbly. No big deal. But for this kind of scratch, why is it wobbly at all.

Had this meal been in the $50-$70/head range, I would recommend Hult's heartily.

To sum up, we'd a very nice meal in a good atmosphere that did not come up to par for the price point.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The service was on point, very friendly and fast. The food and drinks were amazing, I had the filet mignon and my parents had the salmon and halibut. The wait for our food wasn't too long considering they made everything from scratch. We will definitely be coming back, and hopefully soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Over priced but decent food. The cocktails were very weak.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We tried the Spring tasting which was 6 of the most favorite items from their menu. Overall the food was delicious, but the steak was overcooked. The pacing was uneven.
Our server was attentive and friendly. The restaurant was cool to cold, with guests putting on their jackets or asking to be moved to another location in the dining room. They finally turned off the A/C

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2017

I have experienced this establishment 8 times 2016....this past dining experience was some of the worst service and customer care I ever experienced...7 diners were served entrees and 1 remained without food for 10 minutes before server returned to the area..we were told "mistake in kitchen".That can happpen, but not to inform the guest? Told food coming right out...8 long minutes later. One of the points in dining out is to experience it all together, is it not? Should I mention the host's credit card was charged twice! A letter was sent to the restaurant owner and in follow up phone conversation he said "perhaps he had too much on his plate at present with a new baby and opening another restaurant" to give direction to staff; I will add that there was no manager or person in charge that evening. Owner said next time I come in and he is there (that already sounds hard to coordinate) to let him know and he'd send 'special treats' to our table....that's one 'favour' he'll not be taken up on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Jim our server made the experience great. We ordered the pork belly as a starter, it was great. For the entrees we ordered the filet mignon medium rare, and the Scallops. The filet came out medium but Jim made it right by offering to try again, we declined because the cut of meat was good enough that the flavor was not harmed. The scallops were perfectly cooked, and enjoyable. We exercised a coupon that came in the mail for a buy one get one entree, such a deal. We also split a bottle-half priced on Wednesday's, great wine selection. Jim and also Rojo were both attentive and made us feel very taken care of.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Great as always, I had the Filet and my wife had the duck and both meals were great as usual!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Best duck breast ever! Small portion but rich, tendy and very tasty! Filet was unremarkable but good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Molecular Gastronomy, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Top of my fillet mignon was burned but overall food was all right. 3 of us ordered 3 appetizer, 2 entrees and one glass of wine for total of $170 was a bit pricy for everyday dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 23, 2017

My 3rd time here and the food is not good. It's a beautiful restaurant with great service and great location but the food has always been not good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Overrated and underwhelmed!

Go for a cocktail and small plates! Nice ambiance! Our food was overcooked and dry! Not sure we would go back. They also forgot to check us in on Open Table. I received an email from Open Table on my phone an hour after leaving saying we didn't show-up! I called the restaurant and the manager informed us "Of course we were checked in and within a very short time we received an email from Open Table asking for a review! Some kind of disconnect going on there!!

Tags: Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Food was not good. Service was good. Not a great experience for a business lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 19, 2017

We always have Elise serve us when we're there. She's very attentive without being cloying, and has a great memory! Holt's is a wonderful place for a business lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Lunch. My salmon was good but turkey bacon sandwich on Texas white bread toast. ...Are you kidding. ? Other dishes were smothered in gravy. Too fat and heavy for lunch. Flavors need a boost. My second visit. Last time dinner. Still hoping it can be more creative

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We came here for Easter brunch. I was able to book a table only a couple days ahead when other places were already full, but noticed at arrival that the restaurant seems to be pretty popular since the line was all the way to the door. Hult's three course Brunch menu has limited options, so choosing the meal was not overwhelming. The food was served relatively fast, the staff was delightful, and the meal was just perfect! My friend is really big on Scandinavian food, and I actually come from there, so we both had fun eating Swedish pancakes.
Portion sizes are moderate, so if you are looking for an all you can eat brunch menu, this is not your place. We will definitely come back for the Swedish menu night on a Tuesday!

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We had to wait for our coffee for a long time. It looks like it needs more organizational adjustment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We went for Easter brunch and had the 3 course fixe menu. It seemed like all the food was cooked the day before and reheated. THe waffles with the chicken and waffles dish were soft and the gravy made them soggy and gross. All the food was cold. None of it was hot. I'm assuming from the other reviews that the regular dishes on a regular night are good, but our special Easter brunch was disappointing and at $50 a person I'm sad we chose this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Wonderful food and service. Not cheap, but definitely worth it.

Tags: Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Molecular Gastronomy, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Everything is wonderful at Hults--food, ambiance, service!

Tags: Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 14, 2017

This was our first time to Hult’s. The food, we chose “The Experience” pre fixe menu (6 course), was fabulous! It was a lot of food, but not ridiculous. It was a great way to try a little of everything for $85 per person. The service provided by Rury and Rojo was SUPERBLY PERFECT! They were both exceptionally kind, had perfect timing on food delivery, kept our water/wine glasses full, and were generally wonderful! We will be back.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Disappointing. A dry dry halibut with practically uncooked carrots and a flavorless polenta. A waitress who couldn't care less. A $300 bill. We used to love this place, but it has fallen apart.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Quite disappointing as pretty much most of the dishes were bland and devoid of any flavour except for the Toast Skagen, which was the only saving grace in an otherwise disappointing brunch. The service was even more appalling as we waited for too long a time between the food service and for any attention from the server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Great service and food was on time. Appetizers of meatballs and the shrimp were great. I don't like my NY to be cut up for me, that was a bummer. Chicken Marsala was okay not awesome. Bit over priced for basic stuff.
Dessert were great. My husband and I took home left overs and the they were all put in one container-that really sucked. It was a huge mess. We are going to give one more try.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Great location and outdoor area. Entrees were good but the salads and desserts were mediocre. Ill stick to their happy hours for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Both the salad and the entree were expertly prepared and presented. I remarked to my wife that I was not sure I could bring myself to actually eat the food because the presentation was so beautifully constructed. But the taste matched the presentation! Beet salad with goat cheese and clementines was a perfect balance of ingredients. My wife said the chicken marsala was the best she's ever had. My lime stuffed salmon was cooked through to perfection.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Great food (as usual), but the service was really poor, given the $100 a person (w/drinks and a 15% tip), just too many other choices. Alex needs to get the staff working a bit and not socializing with each other...on a slow Thursday night).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Heard good things about the restaurant, so we decided to check it out. It was one of the worst "dining" experiences ever, primarily because we didn't eat anything.

First, the hostess couldn't find our reservation. She instructed us to wait at the bar, until a table opened up. Interesting, since we saw a handful of open tables.

Second, our bartender was unfriendly. We waited for about 10 minutes for our drinks. She made us pay for our drinks before we sat at our table, with no option to transfer the bill.

Third, when a table opened up, the hostess came back over twice and called me by two different names - neither of which belong to me.

Fourth, even though we were finally seated, a waiter never came to see us. We waited for 15 minutes before we got up and left...45 minutes after our scheduled reservation.

Here's the kicker. As we exited the restaurant, the hostess thanked us for dining with them. Clueless!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Tried the tasting menu for the first time, since it had a lot of their features on it. Stand-outs included the ahi tuna poke, the ravioli (with walnuts and sweet potato filling), the filet and the wonderful chocolate dessert. If you're not that hungry, you can get everything a la carte (though beware, portions may be bigger that way). We found the portions perfectly sized; we made it through all of them (though I admit I skipped the mashed potatoes :-).

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Great food and service

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.