Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.04mi
  2. Distance: 1.71mi
  3. Distance: 1.80mi
  4. Distance: 1.83mi
  1. Distance: 1.04mi
  2. Distance: 1.71mi
  3. Distance: 1.80mi
  4. Distance: 1.83mi
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

Miku RestaurantMiku Restaurant
(2243)
$$$$
Japanese | Coal Harbour, Vancouver
Booked 131 times today
YEW seafood + bar - Four Seasons Hotel - VancouverYEW seafood + bar - Four Seasons Hotel - Vancouver
(1740)
$$$$
Seafood | Downtown, Vancouver
Booked 52 times today
Hawksworth RestaurantHawksworth Restaurant
(2072)
$$$$
Canadian | Downtown, Vancouver
Booked 59 times today
Blue Water CafeBlue Water Cafe
(3418)
$$$$
Seafood | Yaletown, Vancouver
Booked 66 times today
L'Abattoir RestaurantL'Abattoir Restaurant
(2052)
$$$$
French | Gastown, Vancouver
Booked 41 times today
Gyu-Kaku - Broadway - VancouverGyu-Kaku - Broadway - Vancouver
(220)
$$$$
Japanese | Fairview, Vancouver
Booked 50 times today
forageforage
(1668)
$$$$
Northwest | West End, Vancouver
Booked 66 times today
Joe Fortes Seafood & Chop HouseJoe Fortes Seafood & Chop House
(3337)
$$$$
Seafood | West End, Vancouver
Booked 73 times today
NightingaleNightingale
(900)
$$$$
Canadian | Coal Harbour, Vancouver
Booked 105 times today
The Keg Steakhouse + Bar - YaletownThe Keg Steakhouse + Bar - Yaletown
(611)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Yaletown, Vancouver
Booked 28 times today
Minami RestaurantMinami Restaurant
(981)
$$$$
Japanese | Yaletown, Vancouver
Booked 56 times today
The Keg Steakhouse + Bar - DunsmuirThe Keg Steakhouse + Bar - Dunsmuir
(385)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Downtown, Vancouver
Booked 66 times today
The Keg Steakhouse + Bar - BurnabyThe Keg Steakhouse + Bar - Burnaby
(97)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Burnaby, Vancouver Suburbs
Booked 11 times today
Osteria Savio VolpeOsteria Savio Volpe
(683)
$$$$
Italian | Mount Pleasant, Vancouver
Booked 58 times today
The Observatory at Grouse MountainThe Observatory at Grouse Mountain
(1427)
$$$$
Northwest | North Vancouver, Vancouver Suburbs
Booked 22 times today

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.04mi
  2. Distance: 1.71mi
  3. Distance: 1.80mi
  4. Distance: 1.83mi
  1. Distance: 1.04mi
  2. Distance: 1.71mi
  3. Distance: 1.80mi
  4. Distance: 1.83mi

About Hugos - West Vancouver

Hugos offers diners an array of globally influenced delights to share among family and friends. The menu boasts authentically flavoured and specially prepared dishes that the owners have discovered during more than 20 years living and travelling around the world. From South East Asian curries and Neapolitan style pizzas to Chinese porcupine prawns and smoked hickory ribs, there is something for everyone. The staff provides professional yet friendly service to both newcomers and its large following of return guests in the warm ambiance of fireside dining during winter and one of the best covered decks for lounging during warmer weather.
There is usually at least one special event each month throughout the year celebrating occasions such as Chinese Mid-Autumn Festival, Oktoberfest, New Year"s Eve and Summer Equinox. With it's comfortable seating, original art and decor, terrific food and service, Hugos is a much loved neighbourhood gem that is fast becoming a dining destination.

5775 Marine Dr
West Vancouver, BC V7W 2S1
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Global, International, Southeast Asian

Hours of Operation:
Morning Coffee Daily : 8:30am - 11:30am
Lunch Daily : 11:30 - 2:30
Dinner: Daily: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Primrose Street and Marine Drive

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 281-2111

Website:
http://www.eagleharbour.ca/

Entertainment:
Hugos supports local talent and happily hosts live music events such as open mic nights and other performing local artists. We are proud to offer entertainment appropriate for all ages and musical styles.

Catering:
Going out on the boat for the day? Traipsing on the trails in the forest? Hanging out at the beach? Why not order a lunch box from Hugo's to take with you? Great made to order sandwiches, salads, assorted flavoured sparkling water and homemade desserts. Call one day ahead and we'll have it all ready for your excursion.

Public Transit:
Hugos is located across from the Thunderbird Marina on Marine Drive and Primrose Street.

Private Party Facilities:
With the dim lighting, fully stocked bar, comfortable couches by the fire, coffee table books and children's books scattered around the room, Hugos is called home by many. Why not book our beautiful living room for your next event and let us take care of the cooking and the mess?

Private Party Contact:
Bonita Sauder: (604) 281-2111

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Hugo's is hosting a Summer Solstice event on the weekend of June 20th -21st. Stay tuned for more information.

Sort By:
S
21 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 29, 2014

By chance 4 of us went here for dinner. It has a cozy comfortable feel. Service was perfect. Food was mostly great. Burgers excellent. Pizza excellent. Ribs tasted good but were a bit 'stale'. Also a tad pricey but we'll go back. Nice place.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 8, 2014

This was the third time we have come to Hugos to see the Flamenco dancers and enjoy the latin music. We had a great time with my kids and mother. Food was great and we had lots to share. Will look forward to experiencing more live music again here!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 6, 2014

Our group enjoyed every aspect of Hugo's - the food, cozy space, and wonderful music on offer. Service was excellent and the Thai green curry and pizzas we ordered were just delicious. Hard to believe we live in West Van and didn't find this convivial gem earlier. The patio must be amazing in the summer right there in front of the Eagle Harbour Marina, but it's a lovely spot (and nice alternative to Olive and Anchor) to warm up and enjoy a drink and fine food in the colder months as well. The open mike music (on Thursdays) was such festive fun - great idea. We will definitely become regulars - and try a Saturday music night, as well.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 21, 2014

I was taking my nieces and nephew out for dinner and we picked this place because their menu offered a little bit of everything, saving us from fighting over what type of food everyone wanted. We sat outside, the patio is very nice, cozy and quiet with a decent view. We started with their herb fries which came out hot and cooked to the right amount of crispy. I had the Tom Kha soup which was flavorful and had a lot of chicken. One niece had the lemon chicken which was crispy and tasty. The other 2 had ribs, which they both enjoyed but couldn't finish, so took home for a tasty lunch the next day.

A great, clean, friendly place with a great selection on the menu.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 21, 2014

Most restaurants are just copycats of each other, loud music, tv's and always the same menus. Hugo's in not the best, but is very good and part of it is just for being different and original. It reminds me of the small restaurants that I love in many parts of Europe.The decor is west coast as is the ambiance, service is so warm and friendly that you do not care if it is a bit slow, you even enjoy the extra time like a drive in a scenic highway.The food is not outstanding, but is good and presented in a fun way and the eclectic menu allows you to rest from the usual boring menus in most other places.I would not go there for a business meeting, but for a Sunday lunch or dinner with my family it is just perfect.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 29, 2014

It's so nice to finally have a restaurant that seems to work with this location. When I used to have my boat at Eagle Harbour, I always wondered why this great location across from the marina never had a restaurant appropriate to the crowd. The restaurants in this location before Hugo just didn't quite work for the 'just off the boat' crowd - but Hugo's does. It has a great casual but funky menu. You feel comfortable in casual clothes. There is a really nice deck to sit out on. And there are so few restaurants looking out on to water in West Van - this is very nice. Even if you aren't coming off your boat - it's worth a drive to get to Hugo's.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 16, 2014

A very eclectic variety of food. The deep dish vegetarian pizza is excellent. The service is very attentive without interfering with conversations. The Saturday night entertainment is very enjoyable and low key. Hugo's is a wonderful addition to the neighborhood.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 5, 2014

The food was very good and reasonably priced. It is a great environment for larger groups as the music noise level is rather high. We had a big group and thoroughly enjoyed the food, drink and ambiance.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 30, 2014

I love coming here with my family and just with friends. Service is great, and food is creative and very good. There is a great combination of menu items and each one is done with an attention for being unique, artful and flavourful. The chocolate fondue is a family favourite! Service is with a real passion for good food and good times.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 30, 2014

Very friendly service.
Nice big screen tv.
Big menu with lots of options.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 24, 2014

My 8 year old daughter and I had dinner at Hugos on a Saturday night where they had a Flamenco band and dancers. The entertainment was truly wonderful and both my daughter and I thoroughly enjoyed our evening. Our food was excellent as always with my daughter enjoying the schnitzel and myself enjoying the spicy tan tan noodles. Our server was friendly and efficient. Hugos was celebrating their first anniversary of being open which was very fun to celebrate since many regulars were there on hand to applaud their success. Happy 1st Anniversary Hugos!!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 19, 2014

The service was very friendly
It was our first time
I would recommend the burger
It was live music night (I did not know that went I booked)
I am not a fan as i always find live music too loud if one is having a conversation.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 2, 2014

this place is really a nice spot for locals in west vancouver. the food is good. interesting combo of menu items from fondu to indian. We shared the fondu and it was average But the indian dishes were very delicious. ( they should focus on this as it was the best from all the options we had at our table). The thin crust pizza looks fantastic, but the crust is just ok. Its more like a cracker bread than a good chewy thin traditional crust.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 22, 2014

Had a yummy Thai soup, with scrumptious thin-crust pizza afterward. The White Sting is a delicious citrusy drink with just a hint of a heat-bite…a must try for the adventurous. Apparently the cocktails are 'designed in-house' and worth the trip just to check them out ;D But they also offer 'Movie Monday', 2-1 pizza Tuesday, Thursday Open Mike Night, and live jazz on Saturdays…many good reasons to make the trip!!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 3, 2014

If you're looking for a fun night out chatting and listening to local talent over interesting drinks and fun food, try Hugo's!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 21, 2014

Nice place friendly staff food was sub par. I had pizza my wife had spicy prawn pasts. Quality was reasonable but issues with both meals.
Pasta prawns were tasty and spicy pasta sauce flavors did not complement the prawns overall dish was disjointed.
Pizza style requires a hotter oven than they used so badically tasted under cooked. Pizza sauce had an unusual spice and while interesting at first long term was out of place. Choices made in dish creation just did not provide any reason we would like to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 14, 2014

Everything was great except the cumbersome menus. Felt like i was looking for a phone number, but other than that all was great!. Decent prices all for a west vancouver restaurant.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 14, 2014

We did the Valentine's day set menu. Flank steak was very tough but lots of flavor, the soup and salad was excellent and the deserts were really tasty, chocolate fondue and crepes. Lots of people in the restaurant and service was a little slow out of the gate but came on strong. We were in no hurry and enjoyed the ambiance and company all in all it was a nice evening. Hugo ' s still needs to work the kinks out to get their ratings higher.a

Tags: Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 8, 2014

I've eaten here twice in the past two months. The menu is not vast but is varied. There could be more vegetarian options. Hugo's seem to specialize in pizzas. They offer one size pizza with sauce and cheese for around $13. Each additional topping is paid for. The pizz was tasty. The dessert menu is about two items long - disappointing. I had the fondue for two which was shared between two adults and two children and it was a great deal. The burger is tasty and the puttanesca was alright. The location is not ideal but I'm just glad Hugo's is around as an alternative to Park Royal and Horseshoe Bay dining in West Van.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 19, 2014

Nice cosy wooden and bright interior set on a quiet road near the sea and a nearby marina. Good menu with a variety of comfort foods. They play chilled out music and have a nice big wooden fireplace. They also have an outdoor patio for the warmer months. The area is great to drive through and go for a walk (amazing views of the ocean and nearby hills and some of Vancouver's most exclusive properties).

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 6, 2014

Always enjoy myself at Hugos. Food is good and staff very friendly and accommodating.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.