Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.45mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.45mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.45mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.45mi

About House 406

House 406 is a Modern American Steakhouse located in Northbrook, Illinois set to open in Spring 2014

1143 1/2 Church St
Northbrook, IL 60062
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Organic

Hours of Operation:
Sunday-Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday-Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(847) 714-0200

Website:
http://www.house406restaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Eloin Amador

Private Party Facilities:
Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, House 406 can accommodate all your special event needs.

Private Party Contact:
Private Event Coordinator: (847) 714-0200

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

House 406 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (29)
Special Occasion (29)
Good for a Date (24)
See All
Creative Cuisine (21)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Cozy (16)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Romantic (13)
Notable Wine List (12)
Bar Seating (12)
Great for Lunch (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
Local Ingredients (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Business Meals (10)
Healthy (8)
Casual (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Fun (6)
Seasonal (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Authentic (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Disabled Access (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
People Watching (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Family Style (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Vegan (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
398 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Have eaten here a few times and have always thoroughly enjoyed it.
But , on Sunday some of the dishes were good and some were mediocre.
Our waitress was pleasant and took care of our requests, no complaints here.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Casual, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Kate the owner was great. They seated us right away. The noise level was through the roof. Food was very good but a bit less than I am used too. Especially at these prices. Jill our server was a bit dismissive, did not come by for a while to check on things, and tossed the bill on our table on the way to another. Not a bad experience but not great either.

Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Everything was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

While they are trying to be an upscale restaurant, these are the things I noticed.
The soup was not hot, only warm. While the salmon listed spinach, it wasn't a leaf spinach, but a blended spinach. The quinoa, plate, and coulis on the plate were cold, only the salmon on top was hot. The molten cake, while tasty, was not molten (slightly liquidy) in the center, but cooked all the way through.
I think the most uncomfortable thing was the waiter returned the paid check and left it on the table without saying a word, like thank you? Or have a nice evening. I've lived in this town 34 years and was hoping for a good restaurant. We won't return .

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

It was excellent as always. There Good Hunting cocktail is worth the trip by itself. Scallops dish you will be licking the plate clean. The filet and lobster was cooked to perfection. We have eaten here half a dozen times and never been disappointed. Highly recommended

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The food at House 406 was excellent! The lobster crostini appetizer was fantastic. All of our meals were delicious. It had a nice atmosphere and a cute patio. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Worst brunch ever!!! Very little food to choose from and overpriced, two adults and two kids (7 and 4) one beer and a glass of wine $170 they even charged $25 tip just for bringing drinks since it was a buffet, so the tip was more then the drinks .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

It's obvious they don't do brunch or breakfast. It felt like they walked over to Sunset and picked up a few things to throw a brunch together. A very poor showing for those prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Well, I will keep it short. Mother's Day brunch for 3= $150. Way overpriced in my opinion, they also took the liberty of adding 21% gratuity for a buffet. Wouldn't complain about the price, but the only real proteins they had were cheap, short ribs and whitefish, the bacon was a soggy mess. Salads were good, but again for $50 a head the spread was lackluster. Won't be patronizing for brunch in the future!! Not even shrimp or prime rib. Very disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The food was deicious. Great salads, pork chops, pasta with shellfish. But the noise was so deafening that 4 of us could not carry on a conversation. Our ears were still ringing the next day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Service, food and ambiance were superb! We were there on a Monday night which quite and romantic. I'm sure the place gets packed on weekends. The yummiest cream of mushroom I have ever tasted.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, People Watching, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Good beer selection, cocktails were great, food was pretty good although my filet mignon was slightly overdone outside. But well cooked inside. Overall, very nice experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Really impressed with House 406. Glad we discovered it and will definitely return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 6, 2017

A great place and great fun. Always attentive staff.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Went for lunch. Nice to have good food instead of turkey sandwich or hot dog!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Everything was delicious! Great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Food was cooked perfectly but completely over flavored. The lobster appetizer had a piece of cheese on it, literally a piece of melted cheese on top. Many dishes had bacon in them?? Scallops were perfectly prepared but was saturated with a heavy cream butter cheese sauce. You couldn't taste the actually entree. My stomach hurt when we left. Has potential if they kept the food simplified. Cheese, butter and cream not necessary if you are serving good quality lobster, scallops and other fish. Disappointed And was expensive.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Great spot. Our meal started with a surprise of complementary proseco as we were celebrating an anniversary. Then we split a 1/2 dozen Kusshi oysters that were fantastic. The wine list is very good, thought could benefit from some better options in the less than $50/btl range. Our Ripasso Valpolicella choice at $57/btl was very good, though. We then each ordered an entree. Mine was a special that consisted of a 12oz strip steak and grilled asparagus and hers was seared Boston scallops over an asparagus rissotto. Both were fantastic. We also split an order of super tasty brussels sprouts with lemon and bacon that were probably the best I've ever had. I happen to be a very good cook when it comes to making great steak and prefer a steak charred on the outside but rare to medium rare on the inside and that is often tricky for restaurants that don't specialize in steak to create but I will state that my steak at House 406 was better tasting and cooked better than a steak I had at a famous downtown amphibian bar on Rush Street a few days earlier. This was a really good meal and was topped off with a really delicious strawberry rhubarb cobbler with vanilla gelato and two coffees. We will be back for sure. Our only regret was waiting so long to try this place!

Tags: Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Went for lunch twice - one week apart. Great menu with fantastic choices and nice price point. May become my new favorite lunch spot! Quiet too!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Cozy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Fabulous menu and great tasting food (whitefish). Love the farm to table, as well. Will keep coming back!

Tags: Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Vegan, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Best restaurant in the area for fine food. Always fresh fish.

Tags: Bar Seating, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Had the brisket and it was wonderful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Love House 406. Food has continued to develop and is outstanding. Craft cocktails and a wine list to die for.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Great food- and EXCELLENT drinks. The service is wonderful and the ambiance is perfect.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Fantastic neighborhood restaurant. A definite favorite!

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Excellent food with innovative and fresh sauces, etc. Would go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 27, 2017

I had the halibut, which was very good, but not hot. I think the fruit on top (which was very tasty), cooled the fish. My friend had pasta with shrimp, which she enjoyed. They served two rolls (one pretzel and one white) ... I think the basket should have had more than 2 rolls. I also had to ask for more butter ... very little was given. I felt that a little salad/soup would have been nice for the price of the entrée. Would I go back ... I'm not sure.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 25, 2017

The brussel sprout salad was good, not great. I ordered scallops that came w/risotto. The risotto was good but the scallops were overcooked & were like rubber! My husband enjoyed his burger. He had a burata salad first, thought it was small. The wine by the glass was very good. Overall, for what we had it was very expensive. Would not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Jen and staff went above and beyond making our Anniversary special!!!
Thank you!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 17, 2017

House 406 is a charming neighborhood restaurant. Food is outstanding.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 12, 2017

This was my 4th time at House 406, and it seems that some of the creative presentation is missing in their entrees. Also, the appetizers are very thin at best - only 5 were listed, and two of those were soups. Service was attentive, but it seems like House 406 has slipped a bit with their delivery.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Always a delicious meal and great cocktails in a warm, intimate setting. Highly recommend for a special dinner.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Our second visit- can't figure out why it took us so long to return.
Love House 406- the server patiently explained many dishes to us- she was excellent in every way
menu varied and very interesting
salads all sound yummy, but I loved the Caesar and others had the mixed greens with pear
kitchen was willing to prepare a simple mixed green salad without the fruit
expansive choices of salad dressings
the Chilean Sea Bass was a huge portion- the vegetable cake that it sits on is absolutely delicious and is perfect with the fish
two people had the chicken and enjoyed
and I heard the crab cakes were delicious
unfortunately we did not have dessert- the Academy Awards were calling

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 26, 2017

House 406 has a city pulse in a quiet suburban town!
Great food, great atmosphere, and lots of fun!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 23, 2017

A very nice ambiance, good food and professional staff. Would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 21, 2017

We went to House 406 to celebrate our 18th wedding anniversary. I indicated that when I made the reservation, not thinking that they'd do something, and to my surprise they gave us each a complimentary glass of champagne! It was very nice of them. We both had the fish, salmon and the whitefish and both dishes were DELICIOUS!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Excellent service and delicious food. A bit pricey though for the suburbs but we will be back for the right occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 18, 2017

7:00 on a Friday and it is dead. Should have been my 1st clue. $19 for mediocre cheeseburger accompanied by previously frozen fries? Never again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Friends and I stopped by early one Friday night for only cocktails. While we did consider having some food, we were a bit astounded by the high prices, so we held back. $46 for a steak entree?! The space was small and intimate, dimly lit, furnished in dark woods. A couple of us love martini cocktails and were disappointed there were little to choose from, however, they did offer to make whatever we wanted. I wish they could offer a list to choose from as I really couldn't list the ingredients of my favorite martinis. Service was excellent though, waiter and staff were attentive and kind.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I had high hopes for this place since it had been well-rated. Not sure what the fuss is about. Charging high-end prices doesn't always mean the experience is going to be worth it. Some of the wines by the glass are well-priced, some not. They have some very, very pricey bottles on their wine list! So, we had the burrata salad - nice, simple (not the one they have online) and then the Chilean sea bass ($36), which was very good, if a bit bland, and the scallops ($31), which had a slight bitter taste, though the prep was artistic. I think they were very busy this evening, as we were asked if we would like some bread, and after 4 trips by the waiter to the table next to us without bringing the bread, I had to ask for it when he delivered the salad. We had a reservation for 730p and had to wait by the door and bar for about 20 minutes. It was just not the gracious dining we were looking forward to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.