About House 406

House 406 is a Modern American Steakhouse located in Northbrook, Illinois set to open in Spring 2014

1143 1/2 Church St
Northbrook, IL 60062
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Organic

Hours of Operation:
Sunday-Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday-Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(847) 714-0200

Website:
http://www.house406restaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Eloin Amador

Private Party Facilities:
Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, House 406 can accommodate all your special event needs.

Private Party Contact:
Private Event Coordinator: (847) 714-0200

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

House 406 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (32)
Good for a Date (29)
Neighborhood Gem (29)
See All
Special Occasion (25)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Romantic (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Cozy (16)
Healthy (15)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Local Ingredients (14)
Worth the Drive (13)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Seasonal (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Organic (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Business Meals (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Fun (7)
Casual (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Authentic (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Family Style (1)
Private Room (1)
Great Beer (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
365 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

House 406 has a city pulse in a quiet suburban town!

Great food, great atmosphere, and lots of fun!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

A very nice ambiance, good food and professional staff. Would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 21, 2017

We went to House 406 to celebrate our 18th wedding anniversary. I indicated that when I made the reservation, not thinking that they'd do something, and to my surprise they gave us each a complimentary glass of champagne! It was very nice of them. We both had the fish, salmon and the whitefish and both dishes were DELICIOUS!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Excellent service and delicious food. A bit pricey though for the suburbs but we will be back for the right occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 18, 2017

7:00 on a Friday and it is dead. Should have been my 1st clue. $19 for mediocre cheeseburger accompanied by previously frozen fries? Never again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Friends and I stopped by early one Friday night for only cocktails. While we did consider having some food, we were a bit astounded by the high prices, so we held back. $46 for a steak entree?! The space was small and intimate, dimly lit, furnished in dark woods. A couple of us love martini cocktails and were disappointed there were little to choose from, however, they did offer to make whatever we wanted. I wish they could offer a list to choose from as I really couldn't list the ingredients of my favorite martinis. Service was excellent though, waiter and staff were attentive and kind.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I had high hopes for this place since it had been well-rated. Not sure what the fuss is about. Charging high-end prices doesn't always mean the experience is going to be worth it. Some of the wines by the glass are well-priced, some not. They have some very, very pricey bottles on their wine list! So, we had the burrata salad - nice, simple (not the one they have online) and then the Chilean sea bass ($36), which was very good, if a bit bland, and the scallops ($31), which had a slight bitter taste, though the prep was artistic. I think they were very busy this evening, as we were asked if we would like some bread, and after 4 trips by the waiter to the table next to us without bringing the bread, I had to ask for it when he delivered the salad. We had a reservation for 730p and had to wait by the door and bar for about 20 minutes. It was just not the gracious dining we were looking forward to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Food and service were very good and well paced. My only disappointment came in the wine list. I had looked online and found a couple of bottles I was familiar with and well priced. They were not on the menu in the restaurant and most were higher priced. Maybe they failed to change their online list or wanted more expensive wines for their busier Valentine's Day. That being said, it's a very nice restaurant and pleasant people

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Food was outstanding from appetizer through dessert. Noise level at 1st table was bothersome (sat near kitchen); accommodated a move to a different table, then perfect.

Tags: Disabled Access, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 14, 2017

It was a first date for us and our server Sean make us feel at home. We look forward to our second date at house 406

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Best craft cocktails on the Northshore. The food is made with excellent ingredients and well-prepared.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Salads were great.

Loved the vegetarian French onion soup.

Whitefish was not whitefish and very bland. Sea bass was good, but on expensive side.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Everything was delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Our waiter was rude . He got everything wrong . It was so bad it was funny

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Great find for northwest suburbs! Creative cocktails and knowledgeable & friendly bar staff. Intimate setting and you can actually have a conversation and hear yourself talk. Menu bills itself as a steak house and they do have very good steaks but they also offer plenty of non-beef alternatives. Fresh and seasonal.

Tags: Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The food was amazing. I found this restaurant while reading reviews and we were so happy we went. The owner/hostess and her daughter were wonderful. When we arrived we were not able to be seated at our reservation time. They did a wonderful Job communicating that the table we were to be seated at had just paid and they were waiting for them to leave. The scallops were amazing and the sea bass perfectly cooked with a wonderful crust. My daughter had the shrimp with linguine and that was great too!

Service was wonderful. We will be back. I cannot say enough good things. Enjoy!

Tags: Organic, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 22, 2017

One of the best meals we ever had. The food was exceptional, atmosphere was quaint and service was great. Highly recommend.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 21, 2017

My wife and I like to reward our selves with a night out on Fridays after a long work week...House 406 definitely delivered what we were looking for. A cozy intimate place that take pride in local ingredients and tweak there menu based on the season. Food was excellent.....slightly on the pricy side, but worth it. Will be back for sure!

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Excellent food, flavors and spices fresh, conscientious wait staff, very impressed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Birthday celebration

Tags: Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Quick Bite, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on January 15, 2017

First time and won't be our last! Everything was great....service a bit slow and loud.... but the food was delicious and worth it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 15, 2017

I cannot wait to come back and have the Parmesan and horseradish encrusted whitefish again! It was fabulous. Kind of odd that they do not serve and bread with the meal but that is a minor point. The food is excellent and because it is a small venue it never gets too noisy. Love it here!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 15, 2017

House 406 has made some great changes! The entry to the restaurant now turns right into the bar, with the other two sides being drywalled in. Therefore, the tables that used to trend cold during the winter months should not be affected by the temperature when the front door opens. Also a closet was taken out of the center of the room, making the room more cozy and the flow feels just right. Loved the food as usual! Started with a craft beer, then moved on to the lobster bisque and sea bass on risotto. Jen, the owner, mingles with her clientele and listens/is responsive to feedback. We each had two drinks, a bowl of soup, and an entree, and the total cost was $140, which is pricey but worth every penny. We will be back, we love our neighborhood gem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The service was very good and food was delicious!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Best White Fish I ever had! Next time I would try the pear salad.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 12, 2017

We went here for a celebration! The main dishes were interesting, cooked to our specifications & great tasting. We had the Pork Ribeye, a Hamburger, & the Chicken all were very, very good! Our server was attentive & efficient. However, I would be wary of the desserts!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Very delicious, a little expensive. Very healthy options available.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Never disappointing

Great food

Awesome drinks and creative

Cozy atmosphere

Ez everything

They take reservations and are most gracious

Tags: Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We went for New Year's Eve but we are regular customers to House 406. The food is excellent. The service is excellent but not overly formal. The ambiance is wonderful. The owner and hostesses make everyone feel welcomed. Certainly the best restaurant in Northbrook/Glenview area and it's not even close. It could very well be the best restaurant on the North Shore. I can't say enough about this place, it is a shining light amidst the watered down overpriced corporate restaurants that litter the area.

Tags: Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Fun, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Organic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great service and desserts are homemade! Whitefish A+, Lamb Chops A+, Sea Bass A+, Apple Crostini A+, fried oysters were a surprise A, drinks were well made!

Tags: Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Seasonal, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2016

A pleasant evening. Could benefit from a larger menu. Just not enough variety to keep you interested in visiting more often.

Tags: Organic, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We went there for dinner on Friday night, Dec. 30th for the first time. Our friends who were supposed to go with us that night became very ill with the flu, so we went anyway. Our waiter was very attentive and knowledgeable and answered all of our questions very well. We enjoyed the food, the wine that he recommended and the two entrees that we ordered.

We will go there again for dinner very soon and will come with the other couple who were sick.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Excellent service and both meals; shrimp with pasta and lamb chops, were very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Quite a find in downtown Northbrook. We had a great lunch and terrific service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We went for our anniversary and splurged. We are vegetarian and there were tons of delicious options. We also never drink but we had a couple of delicious mixed drinks that our waiter helped us pick. The person who sat us was the owner and she took our coats while chatting with us. Expensive but overall great for a special occasion.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Really nice menu. Great bartender, nice wine list. Great service and ambience. Food was a little under seasoned, but the chef is clearly talented. We'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The cocktails and homemade liqueurs are to-die-for--worth the trip just for that. The food is creative and fresh, loaded with vegetables and interesting pairings. The crab cakes are the best I've ever had.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Organic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Food was fresh and not overdone. The sea bass natural flavor was prominent with the risotto and sauce adding dimension without taking away from the fish. Service was very attentive, friendly and relaxed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 25, 2016

good meal, good service til dessert. We brought in a cake - had asked about it in advance and waited at least 15 minutes before the cake was served. No one informed us about a cake service charge and it was served Very late in the meal experience. Seating was too close to a larger and noisy table and the hostess did not seem concerned or interest about helping our special guest who is disabled with making her way to the table. More attention to the needs of your clients is very important if you are to attract people wanting a 'fine dining experience.'

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Fabulous food! Can't get enough! Everything I have tried is amazing!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Friendly owners who care greatly about quality of their food (which is among best in the north suburbs) and creating a great environment for their customers. Been twice in the last month and both times food was just wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Unique, healthy, delicious dishes

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Great for a romantic dinner. Food was excellent as well as the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The menu offers many creative and unusual choices. Everything is prepared to be a very artistic creation. The pear salad was very delicious especially with the pecans and cranberries and assorted greens. The whitefish with Parmesan crust was very flavorful. The skirt steak was very tender and deliciously prepared. The apple dessert was wonderful. I would definitely recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Authentic, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Very nice waiter, made my daughter's birthday very special! We both enjoyed the food very much. Also very nice setting. Quiet and cozy, good food. My daughter who is very picky found many choices for herself. I should of called to book for more people and not to do it online. I am sure they would accomodate bigger company on short notice too. But it still was a nice time with my kid coming home from college who was starved for normal food.

Tags: Seasonal, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Organic, Authentic, Late-night Find, Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Outstanding Value, Casual, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Very knowledgeable wait and bar staff. Scallops with risotto is a must try. Would go back for sure.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 13, 2016

We were celebrating a birthday this past week, and House 406 seemed like a good choice. Warm bread (sourdough and pretzel) were brought to the table with a mustard seed butter. They were a nice starter. We skipped soup and salads and went right to the entrees (scallops, skirt steak, lamb chops, and short ribs) All were enjoyed. Temperatures were a little uneven, but that was really the only complaint. The brussels sprouts were a nice side dish. Desserts, especially the apple crostada, were delicious. For us, it is definitely an "occasion" restaurant. Four entrees, two cocktails, one side, and two desserts came to $240 with tip.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Very nice evening, food very good. WE will return

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 10, 2016

House 406 continues to deliver the reliably decent selections. Some are outstanding, some are just good. Gnocchi my wife had were very good, bass I had was way overdone, not quite to the rubber consistency, but it took some effort to separate pieces with the fork. Ahi tuna appetizer was very good. If the consistency here improves, it would be truly great place.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.