Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.45mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.45mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.45mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.45mi

About House 406

House 406 is a Modern American Steakhouse located in Northbrook, Illinois set to open in Spring 2014

1143 1/2 Church St
Northbrook, IL 60062
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Organic

Hours of Operation:
Sunday-Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday-Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(847) 714-0200

Website:
http://www.house406restaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Eloin Amador

Private Party Facilities:
Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, House 406 can accommodate all your special event needs.

Private Party Contact:
Private Event Coordinator: (847) 714-0200

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

House 406 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (25)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Fit for Foodies (20)
See All
Special Occasion (16)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Good for a Date (14)
Local Ingredients (13)
Notable Wine List (13)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Cozy (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Romantic (12)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Casual (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Business Meals (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Authentic (6)
Seasonal (5)
Fun (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Organic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
441 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

Their Brussels sprouts/kale salad (don’t remember the name) was excellent and the service was very attentive, but everything else... My overpriced scallops did not flake and were rather rubbery. Brussels sprouts were fair as were my wife’s fries. Her overpriced burger was undercooked (rare vs medium rare). We didn’t bother with dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent across the board. Food, ambience, wine. Very friendly. The Proprietor usually stops by every table at some time during your meal and very helpful waitstaff.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Fully enjoyed my dining experience! Loved the raspberry margarita & would go back just for those. Caprese salad, gnocchi & chicken were all excellent & topped it all off with cinnamon bread pudding. I'm looking forward to going back.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Friendly staff and good food plus quiet enough for conversation. If I have one complaint I found some entrees a bit overpriced.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 16, 2017

food was very good, drinks were expensive..

Hubby had a titos with olives which was $11 I had tito's stone sour and it was $14 - for a splash of bitters??

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 14, 2017

We dined for lunch, the first time I had tried lunch at House 406. We started with my favorite cocktail, when the clock strikes midnight. Looking forward to the winter when the fir branch reappears in the glass. I had the fish tacos, which were exactly what I had wanted and a generous serving. We lingered well past lunchtime and were made to feel at home the entire time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 14, 2017

I didn't like the food. The pasta was too dry. The pizza had too much tomato sauce. The seafood in my pasta was not washed and cleaned properly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Decided to try someplace we've never been, and we were glad we did. Great menu, great service and lovely atmosphere. There is also outdoor seating available while it's warm.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Another enjoyable evening eating el fresco at House 406. The food is great and the service top notch!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Delightful find in the suburbs, excellent wine list and wonderful food to go along with great service!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Nice addition to Northbrook. Great overall local place to dine. Had the scallops with risotto. Delicious only to make bacon for me.

Tags: Cozy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

Had dinner Friday night. This was our second time. The food was outstanding and our waiter was probably one of the best we ever had. I like bourbon and he was very knowledgeable and a great help in recommending from their extensive offerings. The meal was topped off with a delicious peach crisp that was excellent. We will be going back soon.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Excellent food. Excellent service! Fantastic atmosphere. One of my favorite local spots!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 28, 2017

This place is really busy on the weekends, but during the week it can be a terrific location for great food and conversation. Our only minor nit was that several of our choices didn't match the menu description, e.g., missing/different ingredients, but everything was really yummy nonetheless. Unobtrusive, non-hurried service too. Friendly and welcoming when we walked in.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 21, 2017

This was our first visit to the restaurant. We hadn't talked to anyone about it. We were pleasantly surprised by the menu and food we ordered. The weather was great, so we could eat outside, the service was wonderful, and the wine was great also. We will be back!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Excellent food and service. Somewhat noise but not to bad.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Very nice hidden gem. All staff were warm and welcoming. Love the unique options on the menu and everything was fresh and delicious. Highly recommend! :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

I recommended House 406 for a get-together for a group of friends. Each and everyone enjoyed the entire experience and several stated they will be back. The food was delicious and the service was great! Keep up the good work!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Casual, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 12, 2017

We thought the entries were a bit over priced for the portions that we received. My wife had the scallop's and they were awful gritty. I had the white fish which was the better choice....very flavorful. We also shared a desert that was just marginal, chocolate cake served with some vanilla ice cream and a peanut butter cup........nothing special.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Would like to love this place, because it is conveniently located, and good for a neighborhood go to spot. The food, while creative, needs to be better executed. Was there on a not busy week night, and the salmon was way overcooked, and dry. The steaks were fair, though slightly over done. The scallops were good, and though there were only three, they were large. Salads were good, and the peach cobbler is excellent. We were waiting a very long time after ordering dessert, and then the waiter brought our bill, completely forgetting the dessert, in spite of having brought us each a plate and fork to share the cobbler. We had already asked twice about our dessert, but still, he forgot, so he grabbed the bill back, and then brought out the cobbler. He probably shouldn't have added that to the bill! So, the kitchen and the staff need to step it up if they want return business. This place charges too much to have these mistakes tolerated.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 9, 2017

My second visit after almost a year. Brought a friend who shares a passion for good, healthy ingredients prepared in interesting ways that highlight the fresh ingredients. The fish tacos were amazing and the shaved brussel sprout salad perfect for a summer lunch! The waiter was knowledgeable about preparation and was willing to make recommendations. The service was spot on. We dined outdoors and even though it fronts a parking lot, the arrangement conceals the noise and the visual distraction. Both of us look forward to another visit soon!
Please, Jennifer, keep this going!

Tags: Organic, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Casual, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 6, 2017

The lamb chops had no taste and way too over cooked I came home and was sick all night
Also my headband ordered steak med. rare and. It was well done

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 4, 2017

We love our visits to House 406. They pay attention to the small details and are accommodating for special dietary needs when needed. Our family had and a great night and enjoyed our meals thoroughly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Our favorite local restaurant! the food & service are always excellent.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Great food and service! It's a nice spot for a date night.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 22, 2017

The atmosphere was nice and I had the burata salad and my husband had the mussels for our first course. Both of those were excellent. We were both disappointed with our entrees. I had the potato gnocchi and it did not resemble gnocchi at all. The taste was okay, but it was too rich to eat very much and it was mushy. I really didn't get the gnocchi part it was like very rich gooey mashed potatoes. My husband had the blackened whitefish. He was disappointed that it wasn't more blackened and the cauliflower/spinach dish that was served with it tasted okay, but again it was very rich and did not compliment the fish. We had the peach cobbler for dessert and it was excellent. I would be willing to give it another try, but when you spend that kind of money you expect the entrees to be very good.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 15, 2017

While there are a number of mainstay entries on the menu remain, farm to table concept dictates changes. Accordingly, a few notable current options are cream of mushrooms soup with truffle oil, a peach anchored salad, oysters, and scallops with risotto. After coming here 3 times I am convinced their entires offer the worst value. For example, the scallops dish had 3 (three) scallops, and smaller than u12 size, more like 12-15, toward 15 size. That combined with smallish lump of risotto (don't get me wrong- all tasty and cooked right) goes for $31. A bit much.
That is why I took a star off.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 14, 2017

We loved our dining experience here which was consistently top notch. We had a couple of fish dishes including a miso sauced red snapper with scrumptious black rice, a chicken Marsala, burrata salad with great touches like grilled peaches. The cream of mushroom soup was decedent even before the truffle oil garnish. Our server was helpful and attentive, and was happy to tweak my whitefish from blackened to "unblackened"!
The atmosphere is "grown up" and cozy. We are looking forward to our next meal there. It's great to have House 406, independently owned and nicely creative.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Absolutely fantastic dinner from start to finish. Oysters, pizza, scallops, snapper, whitefish and filet were all cooked perfectly and served hot. Deserts were also excellent. A great neighborhood jewel.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Very nice dinner. We have enjoyed before and will enjoy again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 29, 2017

I was excited to try this place as it seemed to be an upscale neighborhood gem including farm to table delights. We ordered the oysters and mushroom soup to start....the soup was most delectable and flavorful, really amazing. Each oyster tasted worse than the last until I couldn't even eat anymore :( I ordered the lamb chops which were extremely small, over seasoned and dry. My fiancé ordered the pork chop, it was a nice size and good but nothing I couldn't grill at home. The deserts were meh - chamomile flan, choc lava cake with ice cream...nothing special, the only thing that stuck out in our minds was the price of our meal vs the quality & flavor.......ridiculous!

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 24, 2017

A charming local bistro with good food and friendly atmosphere. Low key and laid back but a pleasant place to gather.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Our new favorite neighborhood awesome restaurant. Fantastic menu and amazing food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Went on a Saturday night during the dinner hour. We were waited on quickly. Once we got our food, we both ordered fish, one cod and one halibut - both deliciously prepared, it seemed we fell off our waiters radar. Without even asking us if we were interested in having dessert, he presented us with our check. Also, the restaurant got so loud we could hardly hear each other's conversation. But, the food was delicious. So, we left with mixed feelings about returning.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Best dishes were the oysters and the black cod special. Scallops were good but not as good as the cod. Very friendly service. Nice place for dinner

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Inspired cocktails, extraordinary food, great service. Couldn't have asked for anbetter experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 15, 2017

All of our food exceeded expectations. Our only complaint (very minimal) was that it was a little noisy when we first arrived, but as the night went on and people filtered out, the noise level re-adjusted to a more date-friendly level. If you plan on coming here for a date and noise is a concern of yours, I suggest coming later in the night to avoid this problem (it quieted down by 8:15).

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 14, 2017

I am already planning my return. Food and service were fantastic

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Healthy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 13, 2017

One of the best whitefish preparations I have ever had.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Too expensive the lunch is much better than dinner

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.